亚撒的愚昧

“从前所写的圣经都是为教训我们写的,叫我们因圣经所生的忍耐和安慰可以得着盼望。”(罗15:4)

把希望寄托于上帝,并单单依赖他

上帝把《旧约》赐予我们,为的是要借着其中的故事和教导来帮助我们把希望寄托于他身上。我今天想借用亚撒王的故事来帮助我们仰望神。与亚撒的愚昧相对立的,就是仰望神。如果我们明白,亚撒把希望寄托于人身上而非上帝身上是愚昧的,我们就会更加坚定地去倚靠主,相信他可以为我们成就大事,而非我们自己或是别人可以为我们做什么。上帝不但可以为我们成就万事,而且他非常乐意为我们做这一切。

预备讲章

比如,当我坐下来预备这篇讲章时,我很清楚亚撒的愚昧在哪里。所以,我停了下来,低头祷告说:

主啊,我有一个主题、一个想法、一个头脑、一双手、一台电脑、健康和精力、自由的一天和清静的时间。如果我依赖这些事物――你所赐予我的这些美好事物――那么,人们在星期日早上得到的将会是从人而来的信息。但是,主啊,他们不需要更多从人而来的东西。这一整周,他们接触的都是从人而来的事物和想法。你的子民所需要的(也是我所需要的),是人不能供应的东西。我们需要一些从你而来的、超自然的事物。
我现在放弃对这些东西的依赖。我知道讲章的主题是好的,我的想法是好的,我的头脑、手指和电脑都是好的,我的健康、精力和自由也是好的;但是,我放弃对这些事物的依赖,我乃是要仰望你。求你借着这些美好的事物,来做你自己深奥、果断和恩慈的工作,让我在星期日传讲的不是人的作为,而是你的作为和话语。

亚撒王在以色列王巴沙上来攻击他的时候,没有倚靠上帝。但是,上帝却要你越来越多地在生活的各个方面去倚靠他――有意识地去倚靠他,而非倚靠自己或你的人脉。

骑自行车

而且,这不单单针对你的属灵生命。因为我是一名传道人,所以我用讲道打比方。但是,我在上周六出去骑自行车前,也做了一模一样的一个祷告。在我的脚登上脚踏板时,我祷告说:

主啊,我有腿可以骑自行车去明尼哈哈瀑布(Minnehaha Falls),然后再回来,我有双眼、双手、双耳、一辆牢固的自行车、一个自行车头盔、一个打气筒和备用的轮胎。我已经多次骑车去过那里,这对我来说已经没有任何问题了。但是主啊,我放弃倚靠我的双脚、双手、双眼和我的自行车,我现在祈求你,如果我单单倚靠你,求你让这次的出行成为前所未有的一次。求主与我同行、保护我、开我的双眼,让我看到你的荣耀;求主教导我、刚强我,让我可以作工;求主今早用出人意料的方式向我传道。现在,一切都是属于你的。主啊!我倚靠你。我们出发吧。

所以,在今天的讲道中,我希望你们之后可以如此行――在你的生活中有越来越多的平安、自由、勇气和力量,去越来越深地依靠上帝、把希望寄托于上帝。而且,我相信这也是上帝所希望看到的。

故事背景

为什么说亚撒不依靠耶和华是愚昧的?我想与你们一起看看《历代志下》的经文,这里告诉我们两个原因。在这之前,首先让我们了解当时的情景。

在耶稣出生前1000年,大卫是以色列国的王,那时以色列全国统一、国力昌盛。在大卫之后,他的儿子所罗门统治以色列联合王国。但是,所罗门死后,以色列国出现了冲突和分裂,分裂为北国和南国。南国由犹大支派和便雅悯支派组成,北国与南国分隔,由其他10个支派组成。南国通常被称为犹大,北国通常被称为以色列。犹大国第一个国王是罗波安。罗波安死后,他的儿子亚比雅登基做犹大王三年。之后,亚比雅的儿子亚撒接续他做王。

亚撒在耶路撒冷做王41年。在他做王的41年间,有35年都没有争战的事。耶和华与他同在,耶和华以奇妙的方式祝福他、保护他、使他昌盛。但是,在那些年之后,在亚撒王的生命里面发生了一些事。问题出现的时候,亚撒王不再信靠耶和华了。

巴沙围城,亚撒求救

《历代志下》16章描绘了亚撒做王第36年发生的事。第1节记载:“以色列王(北国)巴沙上来攻击犹大(亚撒王)。”巴沙修筑了一座防御城拉玛,作为攻击犹大的堡垒和封锁工事,通过拉玛这个城,以色列人可以封锁道路,不允许人自由去往犹大。

此时此刻,亚撒应该呼求耶和华,可惜他却没有求助于耶和华,反而立即求助于人。第2节记载了亚撒王的反应:“于是亚撒王从耶和华殿和王的府库里拿出金银来,送与住大马色的亚兰王便哈达。”

换句话说,亚撒用钱(献给耶和华的钱!)收买大马色的亚兰王,让亚兰王从北部去攻击以色列,使巴沙离开他。便哈达完全按照亚撒的要求而行。第4节记载了便哈达派军去攻击以色列城邑的事情,这一招果然有效。第5节:“巴沙听见就停工,不修筑拉玛了(封锁犹大的工事)。”这样,亚撒王就拆毁了拉玛,问题解决了――至少看起来如此。犹大安全了,重新有了安宁,巴沙被羞辱了。

亚撒错失的祝福和自找的麻烦

这里有一个很重要的功课。许多的时候,当我们依赖自己和我们自己的资源时,事情会暂时看起来进展顺利。但是,当我们不再仰望神,而开始倚靠人的能力时,事情就糟了。我们错失了巨大的祝福,招来不必要的麻烦。第7节后半部分记载了亚撒错失的祝福:“因为你仰赖亚兰王,没有仰赖耶和华――你的神,所以亚兰王的军兵脱离了你的手。”如果亚撒仰赖耶和华,耶和华不单单会保护亚撒不受以色列王巴沙的攻击,还会将整个大马色的军队交到亚撒的手里。但是,亚撒把这个祝福扔掉了,他选择了去信靠金钱、使用阴谋,而不是去信靠耶和华。

接下来我们一起看一下亚撒王要面对什么,本来他一直是平安的,如今却要面对争战。第9节后半部分记载:“你这事行得愚昧;此后你必有争战的事。”我们从《罗马书》8章28节可以知道,如果我们起初不信靠神,之后悔改,上帝甚至会将责罚变成我们的益处,责罚也就不再是公义的审判,而成为天父管教我们的方式。但是,亚撒王从始至终都没有悔改,他把他的愚昧一起带到坟墓中去了。

亚撒从始至终都没有悔改

第12节记载:“亚撒作王三十九年,他脚上有病,而且甚重。病的时候没有求耶和华,只求医生。”亚撒的生命中出现了一些不幸的事。在亚撒受耶和华祝福做王35年期间,亚撒逐渐成为一个“世俗的人道主义者”,在这个名词出现的2800年前。

当国家遇到军事威胁时,你没有想到上帝,你想到的是国库里的钱、政治上的盟友和武装力量。当你的健康出现问题时,你没有想到上帝,你想到的是医生和药物。勿庸置疑,亚撒王国通行的钱币上还有“我们信靠上帝”这几个字(译者注:这里是个隐喻,在美元上有“我们信靠上帝”这几个字,派博牧师是在隐喻美国的信仰状况也处在相似的景况中。);勿庸置疑,亚撒王还参加安息日的圣殿崇拜;但是,他已经不再每时每刻实际地爱慕和信靠他的上帝,信靠上帝、仰赖上帝、把希望寄托于上帝的特质,已经从亚撒的生命中消失了。

为什么说这是极其愚蠢的

经文中提到两个原因,说明为什么亚撒的做法极其愚蠢。

1.上帝先前向亚撒所显明的

第一个原因是:耶和华先前已经向亚撒显明了,当亚撒信靠他时,奇妙的恩典会临到他身上。第8节:“古实人、路比人的军队不是甚大么?战车马兵不是极多么?只因你仰赖耶和华,他便将他们交在你手里。”当亚撒信靠耶和华时,耶和华便为他争战。

让我们看一下14章里面对这个故事的记载。第9节记载:“有古实人谢拉率领军兵一百万,战车三百辆,出来攻击犹大人(亚撒)。”第10节记载:“于是亚撒出去与他迎敌。”但是,在第11节里面有个至关重要的不同点:

亚撒呼求耶和华他的神说:“耶和华啊,唯有你能帮助软弱的,胜过强盛的。耶和华我们的神啊,求你帮助我们;因为我们仰赖你,奉你的名来攻击这大军。耶和华啊,你是我们的神,不要容人胜过你。”

看好了:亚撒有一批军队(就像我有一台电脑和一辆自行车一样),但是他在耶和华面前呼求说,军队不是决定性的因素。而你,哦,主啊,是决定性的因素!我们不仰赖自己的军队。(顺便说一下,如果你去看医生,这是上帝允许的。医生没有错,军队也不一定有错,但把你的希望寄托在他们身上,而不像亚撒在14章11节那样祷告是愚蠢的。)

亚撒王谦卑自己,把希望寄托在耶和华身上,他向耶和华呼求。第12节描述了结果:“所以耶和华使古实人败在亚撒和犹太人面前。”15章1节记载神的灵感动一名先知去帮助亚撒去明白事情的经过。15章2节记载:“亚撒和犹大、便雅悯众人哪,要听我说:你们若顺从耶和华,耶和华必与你们同在;你们若寻求他,就必寻见;你们若离弃他,他必离弃你们。”

所以,亚撒仰赖金钱、军事力量、政治联盟和医生是愚昧的,首先是因为上帝在亚撒作王的起初就曾清清楚楚地告诉过他,如果他信靠耶和华、不离弃耶和华,耶和华必为他们成就大事。亚撒没能仰赖耶和华是极其愚昧的,因为耶和华先前是那么恩待他,在他呼求和信靠的时候帮助他。

2.上帝热忱地帮助那些信靠他的人

为什么说亚撒信赖人是愚昧的?经文给我们的第二个原因是:因为上帝本身非常渴望且乐意向那些信靠他的人显示他的大能。他不但在亚撒面对古实人的攻击时帮助亚撒,而且一直以来他的本性就是这样。这就是全知、全能、毫无缺乏的上帝,他满有能力和荣耀。上帝――正因为他是上帝――他喜爱显大能,帮助信靠他的软弱者。

从第9节里我们可以看出这点。在整本《圣经》里,《历代志下》16章9节是我最喜爱的经文之一,我希望你们可以用心学习这节经文:“耶和华的眼目遍查全地,要显大能帮助向他心存诚实的人(此处‘诚实’相当于完全,指那些仰赖他的人)。”

今天早上,上帝希望你从这节经文里面学到一个关乎他的奥秘。他希望这节经文可以改变你的生命,让你不重蹈亚撒的覆辙――因耶稣的缘故,你可以有更多的平安、自由、勇气和能力。

那么,上帝想要你认识他的哪个方面呢?先打个比方来说吧,如果我说“缉毒探员的眼目遍布整个城市,为要逮住毒贩子,保证社区的平安”,我的意思是:这是他们的工作,是他们应该做的。对于一名缉毒探员而言,去抓毒贩子是他们的职分。

或者,如果我说“‘大十联盟’(Big Ten,美国一个大学运动联盟)的‘星探’在美国各个高中里穿梭,四处寻找最好的运动员”,我的意思是:这是他们的工作,他们需要这样去行。对于一名运动探员而言,去寻找好的运动员并聘请他们,这是他们的职分,所以我们才管他们叫“星探”。

同样,“耶和华的眼目遍查全地,要显大能帮助向他心存诚实的人(也就是倚靠他的人)”,当那位先知那样说的时候,他的意思是:这就是上帝的工作,他必须这么做。对于上帝而言,显大能帮助信靠他的人,是他的职分之一,所以我们才称呼他为“上帝”。

上帝并不是在周末才做这些事,也并不是只在教会或圣洁之地才做。这不是上帝的爱好或休闲活动。这是上帝时时刻刻都在做的事(参见亚4:10)。上帝的眼目一直鉴察全地,任何时间、任何地方,只要有信赖他而非信赖人的人,上帝就会显大能帮助他们。因此,我们说亚撒的不信是愚昧的。

这是为我们舍命、爱我们的主耶稣的上帝和父亲;这是垂听我们所有祷告的上帝;这是创造宇宙和管理宇宙的上帝;这是现在就在我们当中、借着我的教导来教导你们的上帝;这是呼召你在你的需要当中去信靠他、呼求他的上帝。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Asa's Folly

Whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that by steadfastness and by the encouragement of the scriptures we might have hope. (Romans 15:4)

Hope in God and Rely on Him Alone

So God's purpose for giving us the Old Testament with all its stories and teachings is to help us hope in him. That's my purpose today in looking at the story of king Asa. The opposite of Asa's folly is hoping in God. So if we can see why it was so foolish for Asa to hope in man instead of hoping in God, then we will be strongly encouraged not to rely on ourselves or what man can do for us, but on God and what he can do for us. And not only can do for us but is eager to do for us.

Preparing This Message

For example, when I sat down to prepare this message, I had Asa's folly clearly in mind. So I stopped and bowed my head and said,

Lord, I have a text and I have an idea and a mind and hands and a computer and health and energy and a free day and safety from interruption. If I rely on these things—these good things that you yourself have given me—then what the people will get on Sunday morning will be what a man can produce. And, Lord, they don't need another man-made thing. They live with man-made things and ideas all week long. What your people need—what I need—is something beyond what man can make. Something supernatural from you.

So I now renounce reliance on these things. I know the text is good, the idea is good, my mind and fingers and computer and health and energy and freedom are good. But I renounce reliance on them and look to you, and ask that in and under and over and around and through all those good things you would work so deeply and so decisively and so graciously that what I say on Sunday would not be the work of a mere man, but the work and the word of God.

That is what Asa failed to do when Baasha came against him. But that is what God wants you to do in more and more areas of your life—to consciously rely on him and not on yourself and your human resources.

Riding a Bike

And I don't mean only in religious areas of your life. I used the sermon for an example because I am a preacher. But I did the very same thing as I began my bike ride Saturday morning. As I put my foot in the pedal strap I said,

Lord, I have my that legs can get me to Minnehaha Falls and back, I have eyes and arms and ears and a sturdy bike and a helmet and a pump and extra tube. I have done this many times now. I can do it. But Lord, I renounce reliance on my legs and my arms and my eyes and my bike, and look to you now to make this ride more than it ever could be if I only depended on me. Would you go with me and protect me and open my eyes to see your glory and teach me and strengthen me for my work and minister to me in ways that I don't even know I need this morning. Everything is from you now, Lord, I rely on you. Let's go.

So my aim in this message—and I believe God's aim in this story—is that you will do that—rely on God, hope in God—in more and more areas of your life with more and more peace and freedom and courage and power.

The Situation

I want to look at the two reasons mentioned in this text why it was folly for Asa not to rely on God. But first let's make sure we have the situation clear.

From David to Asa

A thousand years before Jesus was born, David was the king of Israel, and the kingdom was united and prosperous. After him Solomon, his son, reigned over the united kingdom. But when Solomon died, there was conflict and division, and the southern kingdom, made up of the tribes of Judah and Benjamin, separated from the northern kingdom made up of the other ten tribes. The southern kingdom is usually called Judah and the northern kingdom is usually called Israel. The first king of Judah was Rehoboam. When he died, his son Abijah ruled for only three years. And after Abijah, his son Asa became king in Judah.

Asa ruled for 41 years, and 35 years of that reign were almost totally peaceful. God was with him and blessed him and protected him and prospered him in wonderful ways. But something happened in Asa's life over those years, and when trouble came, he no longer trusted God.

Baasha's Siege and Asa's Recourse

Chapter 16 describes what happened in the 36th year of Asa's peaceful reign. Verse 1 says that Baasha the king of Israel (the northern kingdom) went up against Judah (i.e., against Asa). He built a fortified city named Ramah as a kind of siege and blockade against Judah, so that he could control access to Asa's land.

Now here is where Asa should have stopped and cried out to the Lord. But instead of turning to the Lord, he turned immediately to human resources. Verse 2 describes what he did: he "took silver and gold from the treasures of the house of the Lord and the king's house, and sent them to Benhadad king of Syria."

In other words Asa pays the king of Syria (with temple money!) to attack Israel from the north and get Baasha off his back. Benhadad does exactly that. Verse 4 describes Benhadad's campaign against the cities of Israel. And it works. Verse 5: "When Baasha heard of it, he stopped building Ramah [the blockade of Judah], and let his work cease." So Asa tears down Ramah, and all is well—or so it seems. Judah is secure. There is peace. Baasha is humiliated.

The Blessing Asa Missed and the Hardship He Brought

There is a great lesson here. So many times when we rely on ourselves and our own resources, things seem to go well for a season. But things are not well when we have stopped hoping in God and started hoping in what man can do. We miss tremendous blessings and we bring unnecessary hardship on ourselves. Look at the blessing Asa missed in verse 7b: "Because you relied on the king of Syria, and did not rely on the Lord your God, the army of the king of Syria has escaped you." God would not only have protected Asa from Baasha and Israel, he would given the entire Syrian army into the hand of Asa. But Asa threw it away by trusting in money and intrigue instead of God.

And look at the hardship that will now come into his peaceful life. Verse 9b: "You have done foolishly in this; for from now on you will have wars." Now we know from other Scriptures (e.g., Romans 8:28) that if we repent after such unbelief, God will even take the chastisements of hardship and turn them for our good, and they will be fatherly discipline and not judicial condemnation. But it seems that Asa never did that. He carried his folly with him to the grave.

Asa Never Repents

Look at verse 12: "In the thirty-ninth year of his reign Asa was diseased in his feet, and his disease became severe; yet even in his disease he did not seek the Lord, but sought help from physicians." Something tragic had happened in Asa's life. In the 35 years of God's blessing on his reign he had gradually (it seems) become a secular humanist 2,800 years before the term was invented.

When there is military threat, you don't think of God, you think of money in the treasury and political alliances and armed forces. When there is a threat to your health, you don't think of God, you think of doctors and medicine. No doubt Asa still had "In God We Trust" on his coins. And no doubt he still went to Sabbath services at the temple. But God was gone out of his life as a moment by moment loved and trusted Reality. Trusting God, relying on God, hoping in God were not part of his life any more.

Two Reasons Why This Is a Great Folly

I said there are two reasons mentioned in the text why this is a great folly.

1. What God Had Proved to Asa in the Past

The first reason is that God had proved to Asa in the past that when he trusted him, great things happened for his good. Verse 8: "Were not the Ethiopians and the Libyans a huge army with exceedingly many chariots and horsemen? Yet because you relied on the Lord, he gave them into your hand." God fought for Asa when Asa trusted him.

Let's look at this story in chapter 14. Verse 9 says that Zerah the Ethiopian came out against them [Asa] with an army of a million men and three hundred chariots. Verse 10 says Asa went out to meet him in battle. But in verse 11 there is the crucial difference:

And Asa cried to the Lord his God, "O Lord, there is none like thee to help, between the mighty and the weak. Help us, O Lord our God, for we rely on thee, and in thy name we have come against this multitude. O Lord, thou art our God; let not man prevail against thee."

Notice well: Asa had an army (just like I have a computer and a bike). But he was on his face before God saying that armies are not the decisive thing. You are, O Lord! We are not trusting in our army but in you. (If you go to a doctor, by the way, that is the spirit God approves. Doctors are not wrong. Armies are not necessarily wrong. But banking your hope on them, and not praying the way Asa prayed in 14:11 is folly.)

But he did pray. He humbled himself and hoped in God. And verse 12 describes what happened: "So the Lord defeated the Ethiopians before Asa and before Judah." And in 15:1 God sends a prophet to Asa to tell him how to understand what just happened. Verse 1b: "Hear me, Asa, and all Judah and Benjamin: The Lord is with you, while you are with him. If you seek him, he will be found by you, but if you forsake him, he will forsake you."

So the first reason Asa's trust in money and military might and political alliances and human physicians was folly is because God had made it so clear early in Asa's reign that he would do great things for him if he would simply trust him and not forsake him. Asa's failure to rely on God was folly because God had been so amazingly good to him and helped him in the past simply for crying out and trusting.

2. God's Eagerness to Help Those Who Trust Him

The second reason given in the text for why Asa's reliance on man was folly is that the very nature of God is that he is eager to show his power on behalf of people who trust him. He not only did it once in the past when Asa needed it with the Ethiopians, but it's the way he is. This is what it means to be an absolutely all-knowing, all-powerful, all-sufficient God who over-flows with might and glory. God—just because he is God—loves to show off his power on behalf of the weak who trust him.

I get this from verse 9. It's one of my favorite verses in all the Bible. I hope you will all learn it by heart. "The eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show his might in behalf of those whose heart is blameless [= whole, i.e., wholly relying on him, that's what the context requires] toward him."

God means for you to know something very profound about him from this verse this morning. And he means for it to change your life so you don't commit Asa's folly—so that you have more peace and freedom and courage and power for Jesus' sake.

Now what does God want you to see about himself? Consider this: if I say, "The eyes of the narcotic agents run to and fro throughout the city seeking to capture drug dealers and make the community drug free," what I mean is that this is their job and they are really out to do it. It belongs to the very nature of being a narcotic agent that you are out to get drug dealers.

Or if I say, "The eyes of the scouts of the Big Ten athletic departments run to and fro throughout the high schools of America seeking to find the best athletes," what I mean is that this is their job, and they are really out to do it. It's the very nature of a scout to seek and find good athletes and try to recruit them. That's the meaning of scout.

Well, that is the way we should read verse 9: "The eyes of the Lord [God, the Creator of the universe] run to and fro throughout the whole earth to show his might on behalf of those whose heart is wholly relying on him"—on people who trust him. When the prophet says that, what he means is that this is God's job, and he is really out to do it. It belongs to the very nature of God that he overflow with divine power in the lives of people who trust him. This is right at the heart of what it means to be God.

This is not something God does on the weekends. It is not something he does just in church or holy places. It's not his hobby or after-hours recreation. This is what God is doing all the time everywhere (cf. Zechariah 4:10). God's eyes are everywhere always, so that he never misses one single opportunity any time, anywhere to demonstrate his power on behalf of weak people who rely on him and not man. This is why Asa's unbelief was folly.

This is the God and father of our Lord Jesus who loved us and gave himself for us. This is the God who hears all your prayers. This is the God who created the universe and holds it all together. This is the God who stands in this room right now teaching through my teaching and calling you to trust him and call upon him for every need that you have.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org