耶稣是基督是神的儿子

“扫罗和大马色的门徒同住了些日子,就在各会堂里宣传耶稣,说他是神的儿子。凡听见的人都惊奇,说:‘在耶路撒冷残害求告这名的,不是这人吗?并且他到这里来,特要捆绑他们,带到祭司长那里。’但扫罗越发有能力,驳倒住大马色的犹太人,证明耶稣是基督。”

去年,我的讲道是循序渐进的按照使徒行传的经文来编排的,并且已经讲道第9章保罗归主的故事。接着夏天来了,我们也搬到新的教堂,于是从去年春天开始就有了那些特别的关注点。现在,我很强烈地感到被引领,要把那个系列再讲下去。

恢复使徒行传的讲道系列

我越是为此思考和祷告,就越是确信,如果进入新教堂的第一年,我们把在旧教堂开始的《使徒行传》系列,接着讲下去,就能把我们上个星期信息中的要点彻底阐明了,就是说,在这些教堂建筑物里开展的崇拜活动,其真实性必须借着我们如何在教堂外传播对上帝的赞美,才能得到验证。

而《使徒行传》这卷书,就是神所默示的故事,讲述了在第一世纪对上帝的颂赞是如何传播开来的。因此,对于崇拜将会带动我们做些什么,本书提供了极好的榜样,也给我们极大的激励。事实上,宇宙万物以及我们作为教会的事工,终极目标就是崇拜上帝。然而,同样真实的是,只要世界上还有罪恶、痛苦和迷失,崇拜就不仅仅是事工和宣教的目标,而且也是其动力。

因此,假如上帝使用《使徒行传》这本书,在崇拜当中点燃服侍和宣教的火焰,那就证明,我们的崇拜是正确有效的,而且我们在老教堂的记忆将得着荣誉,并且盖这个新教堂的目的也将得以实现。

大数的扫罗之归主经历

大家还记得,扫罗是个法利赛人,狂热委身于消灭新兴的基督教之运动。但是耶稣满有主权地介入到他的生命当中,在去往大马士革的路上,用大光猛烈地惊吓和震撼了保罗。保罗当即双目失明,然后整整三天不吃不喝,眼看着自己面前的世界都颠倒过来。

那位在他看来已经死去的耶稣,居然没有死。不但没有死,他竟然还是宇宙中永活的主宰。耶稣能够叫光照到世界里,并且对世上的人用听得见的声音说话,还能够击打人使他眼瞎,又在祷告中赐下异象,而且差派一个名叫亚拿尼亚的人来传话,说扫罗乃是耶稣所拣选的器皿,要来把颂赞传扬到列邦当中。所以保罗整个的世界观都在大马士革崩溃,而且又被重新建造起来,用的是那些巨大的、不可摇动的,关于耶稣之真理的石头柱子。

扫罗新世界观的核心

保罗跟大马士革的门徒在一起呆了几天(19节),接着,不可思议地,他开始在各会堂里讲道和辩论。而且路加借着两个简洁干脆的陈述句,告诉我们,扫罗的新的世界观的核心是什么:耶稣,那位被人憎恶、拒绝、钉死在十字架上的罪犯,原来就是上帝的儿子和众人盼望已久的弥赛亚。20节:“就在各会堂里宣传耶稣,说他是神的儿子。”还有22节:“但扫罗越发有能力,驳倒住大马色的犹太人,证明耶稣是基督(意思是弥赛亚,那位受膏者,是来实现上帝对以色列的一切的应许的)。”

保罗归主之前,我们从他嘴里听到的最后一句话是,“主啊!你是谁”(5节);而归主之后,他首先说出的话语是,“耶稣是神的儿子”(20节)。这难道不令人啧啧称奇吗?很显然,路加希望我们明白,这对于做一个基督徒,乃是根基性的,并且对于保罗剩下的人生,以及他之所以能够成为历代以来最伟大的宣教士,也都是根基性的。“耶稣是神的儿子。”

我所祷告的,也是希望目前在这个信息里面能够达成的,就是求上帝以崭新的方式,将他的儿子启示给你,以至于你能够享受在他里面的团契和生命。

耶稣是神的儿子指的是什么意思呢?

1. 耶稣乃是神

它的意思就是,他是神。

保罗在歌罗西书2:9说,“因为神本性一切的丰盛都有形有体的居住在基督里面”(参见,1:13, 19)。他在腓立比书2:6说,“他本有神的形像,不以自己与神同等为强夺的。”希伯来书1:2-3也写道,“就在这末世借着他儿子晓谕我们;又早已立他为承受万有的,也曾借着他创造诸世界。他是神荣耀所发的光辉,是神本体的真像,常用他权能的命令托住万有。他洗净了人的罪,就坐在高天至大者的右边。”希伯来书1:8-9又写道,“论到子 [子神] 却说:神啊,你的宝座是永永远远的。”另外约翰也写道,“太初有道,道与神同在,道就是神……道成了肉身,住在我们中间,充充满满的有恩典有真理”(约翰福音1:1, 14)。

当保罗说耶稣就是神的儿子,我们知道他的意思就是,耶稣乃是神。他不只是一位世人而已,或者只是一位以人形显现的级别很高的天使。他乃是完全的人并完全的神。

当我们称呼他为神的儿子,我们的意思就是,他跟上帝乃是同一个本质的。做父亲的人们,能够制造出某些跟他们自己不一样的事物,但是,他们生下来的儿子们,就必然是像他们的。鲁益师(C. S. Lewis)乃是这样来论述的:

“你所生的,跟你自己是一样的种类。人会生下人类的婴孩,海狸生下来的就是小海狸,鸟蛋会孵化成为小鸟。然而当你制造(或者创造)的时候,制造出的东西跟你自己不一样。鸟会制造鸟巢,海狸会建造一座水坝,人能够制造一个无线电的装置(或者一台电脑)… ”

所以,当我们说耶稣是神的儿子,就是说,上帝已经生下了他的儿子,那是在永恒里面生的,并且完全有上帝一样的神性,一点也不少。出生,乃是一个比喻的说法,是一幅图画,尝试着要把两个真理结合在一起:(1) 父神不是子神,子神也不是父神;他们是独特的位格,彼此能够区分开来的意识中心,并且又能够彼此联系和互动。然而 (2) 这位父亲和儿子又是一位神,而不是两位神,是一个本质,同一个神性。在永恒的过去,根本没有时间的起点可言,这位父亲就一直都有一个自己的完美的形象,并且是一个神圣的返照或者说光辉,乃是与他自己同等的,这就是圣子。

因此,当我们说,“耶稣是神的儿子”时,首先是在说:他乃是神。

2. 上帝对于耶稣有着情有独钟的爱

这第二个意思就是,上帝对于耶稣这位儿子,乃是情有独钟的。

《歌罗西书》中,保罗把耶稣描写上帝的爱子,隐含的意思是说,他对于圣子的爱,乃是非常独特的,跟他对所有那些从人类收养的孩子的爱,很不一样。“他救了我们脱离黑暗的权势,把我们迁到他爱子的国里。”

耶稣在世间生活时,有两次——一次在耶稣受洗时,另一次在他登山变像时——父神打破沉默,大声宣告:“这是我的爱子。”此外《以弗所书》1:6,耶稣直接被简单明了的称呼为“爱子([英文译本通常作,蒙神所爱的那位]”。

因此,当我们称呼耶稣为神的儿子,应该基于这样的真理,即,他就是神,并且,在父神和子神之间,有着一层无限的爱的关系,那是跟所有其它的爱不同的。

为什么这是保罗首先要来传扬的事?

不过我们要问,为什么这对于扫罗和路加来说是如此意义重大,以至他们要把它放在保罗之服事事工的最前面。扫罗一开始就宣告,“耶稣是神的儿子。”为什么呢?

考虑以下四条跟神的儿子有关的真理,然后看看你是否认为这个关于耶稣的儿子身份之真理,配得上这第一位的位置。

  1. 《约翰一书》5:12说,“神赐给我们永生;这永生也是在他儿子里面。人有了神的儿子就有生命,没有神的儿子就没有生命。”

  2. 《约翰一书》2:23说,“凡不认子的,就没有父;认子的,连父也有了。 ”因此如果要跟父神建立关系,并且获得永生,你就必须承认耶稣是神的儿子,并且以其神儿子的身份而拥“有”耶稣——也就是,要跟他相交、团契(1:3; 哥林多前书 1:9)。

  3. 《加拉太书》4:4-5提供了所有这盼望的根基,“及至时候满足,神就差遣他的儿子……要把律法以下的人赎出来,叫我们得著儿子的名分。”那位父亲差派了他独一的圣子,好叫他能够借着收养,拥有许许多多从人类而来的儿子。“我们……借着神儿子的死,得与神和好”(罗5:10)。

  4. 最后,《加拉太书》2:20又说,我们“因信神的儿子而活;他是爱我,为我舍己。”

因此,正是这位儿子的降生和死亡,白白赐给我们被收养的福分。故而,假如你承认儿子,就连父亲也有了——以神为你的父亲。而一旦你有了圣子和圣父,你就获得了永恒的生命。那并不只是在将来的诸多世代里,更是在现在,上帝的儿子正在为我们工作,好使我们活出在神儿子里因信而生的样式来。

所以,一点也不奇怪,扫罗和路加会把这个真理摆在最前面,亦即在保罗宣教途中讲道的最前面:“耶稣是神的儿子。”

这也必须在我们生命中处于前沿位置

耶稣就是神的儿子,这个认识也必须放在我们基督徒生命的首位,在我们对现实世界的认识里,做为基础的支柱之一。

我希望大家都来认识这位神的儿子,并且跟他建立个人的、亲密的、每时每刻的、信靠的、带来救赎的团契;并且与他一同拥有父神;并且在他们里面得着生命;又能借着这儿子的灵得以享受那崇高的领养的位份,那白白的救赎、和好、以及效法圣子等厚恩,还有那足以击败恶者的得胜之权能。“神的儿子显现出来,为要除灭魔鬼的作为”(约一3:8)。

你如何来认识这位儿子呢?

我希望你可以得着所有的这一切。那么,你怎么认识并拥有这位儿子呢?《马太福音》11:27耶稣说,“除了父,没有人知道子。”这样我怎么能够认识耶稣呢?另外,《马太福音》16:15,耶稣问门徒说,“你们说我是谁?”彼得回答,“你是基督,是永生神的儿子。”

你还记得耶稣是怎样回答彼得的吗?“西门巴约拿,你是有福的!因为这不是属血肉的指示你的,乃是我在天上的父指示的。”能够认出耶稣是神的儿子,单靠人本性中的理性和情感是做不到的。必须借助于超越血肉之躯的神圣恩典的工作,所以,我们能看到圣子的荣耀,乃是通过和靠着圣经、讲道以及神迹奇事。借着超自然的方式,我们才得以体验那关于上帝的事实并且来认识他的。

《加拉太书》1:16,保罗这样来描写他的归主过程,“ 既然乐意将他儿子启示 (‘启示!’当初耶稣用来描述彼得之体验时所采用的同一个字)在我心里,叫我把他传在外邦人中,我就没有与属血气的人商量……惟独往亚拉伯去,”这难道只是偶然说说的吗?就像耶稣对彼得所说的:“这不是属血肉的指示(原文是,启示]你的,乃是我在天上的父指示的。”

如此看来,你怎么能认识到耶稣就是神的儿子,并且跟他相交,在他里面靠着信心生活,并得着生命呢?

我们一定要有明白易懂的、关乎耶稣的圣经故事的讲道、教导或是见证分享。圣经说(徒9:22)扫罗“驳倒住大马士革的犹太人,证明耶稣是基督。”能够让人理解的、有效的关于耶稣的讲论,是很重要的。但是,单单用一些有说服力的语句并不能够打开心灵的眼睛。当时在大马士革就有人想杀害保罗。“西门……这不是属血肉的指示你的,乃是我在天上的父指示的。”

“那吩咐光从黑暗里照出来的神,已经照在我们心里,叫我们得知神荣耀的光显在耶稣基督的面上。”(林后4:6)。

那么,怎样才能认识、拥有并且在团契中与神的儿子相交呢?你要聆听他的话语,他的故事(加9:35)。你还要祷告,求父神赐给你启示——好使你的眼睛看得见那荣耀(可9:24)。而且,靠着恩典,你要相信,并要得胜。“胜过世界的是谁呢?不是那信耶稣是神儿子的吗?”(约一5:5)。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Jesus Is the Christ the Son of God

For several days he [Saul/Paul] was with the disciples at Damascus. And in the synagogues immediately he proclaimed Jesus, saying, "He is the Son of God." And all who heard him were amazed, and said, "Is not this the man who made havoc in Jerusalem of those who called on this name? And he has come here for this purpose, to bring them bound before the chief priests." But Saul increased all the more in strength, and confounded the Jews who lived in Damascus by proving that Jesus was the Christ.

In preaching through the book of Acts last year I arrived at the story of Paul's conversion in chapter 9. Then came the summer and our move to the new sanctuary and all the special focuses we have had since last spring. Now I feel very strongly led to pick up the series again.

Resuming the Series on Acts 

The more I thought and prayed about it, the more convinced I became that to preach from the book of Acts during the last year in our old sanctuary and the first year in our new sanctuary would drive home the point of last week's message, namely, that the authenticity of worship in these buildings must prove itself in how we spread the praise of God outside these buildings.

And the book of Acts is the inspired story of how the praise of God was spreading in the first century. So it is a great model and a great incentive for what worship should move us to do. It's true that worship is the ultimate aim of all the universe and all our ministry as a church. But it's also true that as long as there is sin and pain and lostness in the world, worship will not only be the goal but also the fuel of ministry and missions.

So if God uses the book of Acts in worship to ignite the fires of ministry and missions, then our worship will be vindicated, and the memory of our old sanctuary will be honored, and the purpose of our new sanctuary will be realized.

The Conversion of Saul of Tarsus 

You recall that Saul was a Pharisee utterly devoted to stamping out the new Christian movement. But Jesus sovereignly intervened in his life and utterly shocked and stunned him with a bright light on the Damascus road. Paul was blinded and didn't eat or drink for three days as he watched his whole world turn upside down.

The Jesus that he thought was dead was not dead. And not only was he not dead, but he was the living Lord of the universe. Jesus was able to make light shine into the world, and speak audibly to humans on earth, and strike a man blind, and give visions in prayer, and send a man named Ananias with the word that Saul was Jesus' chosen instrument to spread praise to the nations. So Paul's whole worldview collapsed in Damascus. And was rebuilt with the great, unshakable, stone pillars of truth about Jesus.

The Heart of Saul's New Worldview 

For several days he spends time with the disciples in Damascus (v. 19) and then, incredibly, he starts to preach and debate in the synagogues. And Luke tells us in two crisp statements what was at the heart of Saul's new worldview. Jesus, the hated, rejected, crucified criminal, is the Son of God and the long hoped-for Messiah. Verse 20: "And in the synagogue immediately he proclaimed Jesus, saying, 'He is the Son of God.'" And verse 22: "But Saul increased all the more in strength, and confounded the Jews who lived in Damascus by proving that Jesus was the Christ [which means Messiah, the anointed one, the fulfiller of all God's promises to Israel]."

Isn't it amazing that the last words we hear coming out of Saul's mouth before his conversion are, "Who are you, Lord" (v. 5); and the first words we hear coming out of his mouth after his conversion are, "Jesus is the Son of God" (v. 20)? Surely Luke wants us to see that this is foundational to being a Christian and foundational to the rest of Paul's life as the greatest missionary who ever lived. "Jesus is the Son of God."

What I am praying will happen now in this message is that God will reveal his Son to you in new ways so you can enjoy fellowship and life in him.

What Does It Mean That Jesus Is the Son of God?

1. Jesus Is God

It means that he is God.

Paul said in Colossians 2:9, "In him the whole fullness of deity dwells bodily" (cf. 1:13, 19). He said in Philippians 2:6, "Though he was in the form of God he did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped but emptied himself." Hebrews 1:2–3 says, "In these last days God has spoken to us by a Son, whom he appointed the heir of all things, through whom also he created the world. He is the radiance of [God's] glory and the very stamp of his nature, upholding the universe by his word of power." Hebrews 1:8–9 says, "Of the Son [God] he says, "Your throne, O God, is for ever and ever." And John writes, "In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God . . . and the Word became flesh and dwelt among us full of grace and truth" (John 1:1, 14).

When Paul said that Jesus is the Son of God, we understand him to mean that Jesus is God. He is not a mere man or a high-ranking angel in human form. He is truly man and truly God.

When we call him Son of God, we mean that he is of the same nature as God. Fathers create things unlike themselves, but they beget sons like themselves. C. S. Lewis puts it like this:

When you beget, you beget something of the same kind as yourself. A man begets human babies, a beaver begets little beavers, and a bird begets eggs which turn into little birds. But when you make (or create), you make something of a different kind from yourself. A bird makes a nest, a beaver builds a dam, and man makes a wireless set (or a computer) . . .

So when we say that Jesus is the Son of God, we mean that God has begotten his Son in his very same divine nature, nothing less, from all eternity. Begetting is a metaphor, a picture, that tries to hold two truths together: (1) God the Father is not God the Son and God the Son is not God the Father; they are distinct persons, distinct centers of consciousness, and can relate to each other. But (2) the Father and the Son are one God not two Gods, one essence, one divine nature. From all eternity, without any beginning, the Father has always had a perfect image of himself and a divine reflection or radiance equal to himself, namely, the Son.

So the first thing we mean when we say, "Jesus is the Son of God," is that he is God.

2. God Has a Unique Love for Jesus

The second thing it means is that God has a unique love for Jesus as his Son.

In Colossians Paul describes Jesus as the Son of God's love, implying that the love for his divine Son is utterly unique from the love God has for all his human children by adoption. "God has delivered us from the dominion of darkness and transferred us into the kingdom of the Son of his love."

And two times in the earthly life of Jesus—once at Jesus' baptism and once on the mount of transfiguration—God the Father broke in and said, "This is my beloved Son." And in Ephesians 1:6 Jesus is simply called God's "loved one."

So when we call Jesus the Son of God, we should have in our minds the truth that he is God and that there is a relationship of infinite love between God the Father and God the Son that is different from all other loves.

Why Is This the First Thing Saul Proclaims? 

But let's ask why this was so crucial for Saul and for Luke that they put it right at the front of the ministry. The first thing Saul proclaims is, "Jesus is the Son of God." Why?

Consider these four truths about the Son of God and see if you don't think the truth of Jesus' Sonship deserves first place.

  1. 1 John 5:12 says, "God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. He who has the Son has life; he who has not the Son of God has not life."
  2. 1 John 2:23 says, "No one who denies the Son has the Father. He who confesses the Son has the Father also." So to have a relationship with God the Father and to have eternal life you have to confess Jesus as the Son of God and "have" Jesus as the Son of God—that is, be in fellowship with him (1:3; 1 Corinthians 1:9).
  3. Galatians 4:4–5 gives the foundation of all this hope: "When the time had fully come, God sent forth his Son . . . to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons." The Father sent his one and only divine Son so that he might have many human sons by adoption. "We were reconciled to God by the death of his Son" (Romans 5:10).
  4. Finally, Galatians 2:20 says that we "live by faith in the Son of God who loved us and gave himself for us."

So it was the coming and the dying of the Son that gave us the gift of adoption. So if you confess the Son, you have the Father also—have him as Father. And if you have the Son and the Father, then you have everlasting life. And not only for the ages to come, but right now the Son of God works for us so that our lives should be described as living by faith in the Son of God.

So it is not surprising that Saul and Luke would put this truth at the very beginning of Paul's missionary preaching: "Jesus is the Son of God."

It Must Be at the Front End of Our Lives Too 

It needs to be right at the front end of our Christian lives too. It needs to be one of the central pillars in our understanding of reality. Jesus is the Son of God.

I want you all to know the Son of God and to have personal, intimate, hour-by-hour, trustful, saving fellowship with him; and to have the Father with him; and to have life in them; and to enjoy the exalted place of adoption through the Spirit of the Son; and the gift of redemption and reconciliation and conformity to the Son; and the power of victory over the devil. "The Son of God appeared to destroy the works of the devil" (1 John 3:8).

How Do You Come to Know the Son? 

I want all this for you. So how do you come to know and have the Son like that? Jesus said in Matthew 11:27, "No one knows the Son except the Father." So how will I ever come to know him? Then in Matthew 16:15 Jesus asks the disciples, "Who do you say that I am?" Peter answered, "You are the Christ, the Son of the living God."

Do you remember how Jesus responded? "Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jona! For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven." Knowing Jesus as the Son of God is not something that happens by the mere mental and emotional powers resident in human nature. There must be a divine work of grace beyond flesh and blood, so that in and through and behind the Bible and the preaching and the miracles we see the glory of the Son. We taste the divine reality and know him supernaturally.

Is it an accident that Paul describes his conversion like this in Galatians 1:16, "When God was pleased to reveal his Son to me ["reveal"! the same word Jesus used to describe Peter's experience], in order that I might preach him among the Gentiles, I did not confer with flesh and blood . . . but I went away into Arabia"? Just like Jesus said to Peter: "Flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father in heaven."

So how do you come to know Jesus as the Son of God and to have fellowship with the Son and walk by faith in the Son and have life in the Son?

There does have to be intelligible preaching or teaching or witnessing about the biblical story of Jesus. Our text says (Acts 9:22) that Saul "confounded the Jews who lived in Damascus by proving that Jesus was the Christ." An intelligible, valid presentation of Jesus is essential. But persuasive words alone do not open the eyes of the heart. They tried to kill Paul in Damascus. "Flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, Simon, but my Father who is in heaven."

"The God who said, Let light shine out of darkness, has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ" (2 Corinthians 4:6).

How then do you come to know and to have and to fellowship with the Son of God? You listen to his Word, his story (Luke 9:35). And you pray for the revelation of the Father—the eyes to see the glory (Mark 9:24). And by grace you believe and triumph. "Who is it that overcomes the world but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?" (1 John 5:5).

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org