约伯:在苦难中上帝启示自己

伯38:1-42:6

数月以来,约伯忍受着全身生疮流脓的折磨。与此同时,他还承受着不幸失去七个儿子和三个女儿的痛苦。他的财富也在一个下午尽都丧失。 他的妻子讨厌他,弟兄们 嫌弃他,他在城外卧在炉灰中就连小孩子都嬉笑他。

约伯信心动摇 对上帝发怨言

起初,约伯虽饱受灾祸却仍令人钦佩地依旧顺服:“赏赐的是耶和华,收取的也是耶和华;耶和华的名是应当称颂的 ……难道我们从上帝手里得福,不也受祸吗?”

但随着痛苦持续数月,约伯有些动摇,上帝是否真的与他同在?在反驳以利法 、比勒达和琐法对上帝的错误认识、为自己辩屈的过程中,他对上帝说了不诚不敬的话。为了表明自己的清白无辜,他竟开始陷上帝于不义。

譬如在13章23到24节他说:“我的罪孽和罪过有多少呢?求你叫我知道我的过犯与罪愆。你为何掩面,拿我当仇敌呢?”约伯认为上帝无视他的敬虔,以他为敌。

像他自己承认的那样(19:25-27),他甚至认为自己死后必会见到救赎主上帝。但约伯想――如今上帝并不是把他当作朋友或孩子,而是以他为仇敌。

所以他向上帝发怨言说:“唯愿我能知道在哪里可以寻见上帝,能到他的台前;我就在他面前将我的案件陈明,满口辩白…… 全能者既定期罚恶,为何不使认识他的人看见那日子呢?”(23:3-4,24:1; 参见13:23-24)

约伯朋友们对上帝的肤浅认识

三位朋友都一致认为约伯既然受了这么大的痛苦,那他肯定是犯了什么滔天大罪。上帝在惩罚约伯!约伯却驳得他们哑口无言,指出这个世界正义与昌盛、罪恶和苦难之间并没有什么直接关联。义人常比恶人受苦更多,而恶人又常比义人更发达。在驳斥朋友们那肤浅的认识中,约伯大获全胜。

以利户的责备和忠告

从32到37章,年轻的朋友以利户斥责约伯和他的三个朋友。他责备约伯的三个朋友,是因为他们没有能用自己对上帝的认识来解答为什么这个世界好人会受苦;责备约伯则是因为他为了替自己辩护,对上帝说了鲁莽、自以为是的话。

以利户认为约伯是一个义人,虽不完全, 却被上帝深深地爱着。上帝并没有以他为敌,而是把他当作自己的孩子和朋友。

起初,上帝允许约伯受苦是为了向撒旦和众天军显明约伯以上帝为至宝,胜过他的财产、家庭和健康。当约伯表现出自己爱上帝真的胜过世上一切之后,上帝就通过允许约伯受更长一些时日的痛苦来达到另外一个目的。

那个目的,据以利户形容就是要肃清那深隐在他生命中的残余的骄傲。当约伯因长时间受苦信心开始动摇的时候,那残余的骄傲就在他生命中被搅动起来,为了试图证明自己是义的,而置帝于不义之中。

苦难在约伯生命中的双重目的

至此,我们可以看出约伯受苦的双重含义:起初的目的是要彰显上帝那无上的价值和荣耀,随后则是要炼净约伯的义。他的受苦不是惩罚,不是上帝震怒的一个记号。约伯的疼痛不是行刑人的鞭打,而是外科医生动手术时的自然反应。切除骄傲的病患是上帝大爱的举动,无论所花的代价有多么大。

记得主耶稣曾说:宁可忍受把眼剜出来的剧痛,也强如让罪残留在我们内心。如果这对你还不够明显――即人为了成圣是值得忍受世上任何的痛苦的――很可能是因为你并不是像上帝那样,也不像基督徒本应该有的那样憎恶罪恶,渴慕圣洁。让我们在这一点上好好地反省自己吧。

暴风骤集 上帝斥责约伯

就在以利户的发言(32章至37章)快要结束时,暴风骤集,这不免让他战兢,他好像意识到上帝在狂风中来临,而结束了自己的发言。果真如此,从旋风中传来了上帝对约伯说话的声音(38章至41章)。

在38章1至2节上帝登场:“那时,耶和华从旋风中回答约伯说:‘谁用无知的言语使我的旨意暗昧不明?’”可能有人会以为上帝在责备以利户的言论,并非如此。上帝是在对约伯说话,在责备约伯。

从42章3节,我们可以知道,约伯引用38章2节上帝的话应用到了自己身上。他说:“谁用无知的言语使你的旨意隐藏呢?”这正是38章2节上帝向约伯发问的。然后,约伯回答说(见3节后半句):“我所说的是我不明白的;这些事太奇妙是我不知道的。”

所以,上帝在38至41章中的话不是在斥责以利户。没有什么地方,上帝要斥责或批评以利户的。以利户所说的完全正确。就连约伯也是一直在安静地洗耳恭听。以利户讲完以后,上帝就开始对约伯说话,而不是对以利户说话。这样,我们就要听听上帝到底跟约伯说了什么。让我们一起来听听吧。

约伯在上帝面前接受审讯

《约伯记》38章3节说:“你要如勇士束腰,我问你,你可以指示我。”约伯已经质问上帝够多时间了,现在应该是让约伯接受审问、让上帝发言的时候了。

现在我们不需要阅读整个过程,仅仅尝试着来把上帝的诸多发问总结一下,或许和你想象的会有所不同。

关于下面世界的问题

在38章4至7节,上帝专注在地:“我立大地根基的时候,你在哪里呢?你若有聪明,只管说吧!”约伯,那时你并不在场,你不知道我是如何做的。

在38章8至11节,上帝专注在海:“海水冲出,如出胎胞,那时谁将它关闭呢?”是我,约伯,是我而不是你,为它设定了界限。那时你并不在场,你不知道我是如何做到的。

在38章12至15节,主专注在晨光:“你自生以来,曾命定晨光,使清晨的日光知道本位……”你从不曾做过,你也根本做不到。你不知道该怎么做。是我一直在做着,我会一直按着自己的意思来做。

在38章16至18节,上帝专注在海的深隐和地的广大。约伯,你从未进入海的深渊或走遍全地。你还以为自己什么都知道,可以和上帝来理论。

关于上面世界的问题

在38章后半部分,上帝将焦点从下面的世界移向上面的世界。

首先,在19至21节,他就光与暗的本源向约伯发问:“光明的居所从何而至?黑暗的本位在于何处?”你不知道在哪儿,也不知道如何到那里去。但我知道,约伯。是我创造的光。

然后,在22至30节,上帝问他关于雪、雹、雨、霜:你知道如何收雪入仓为争战的日子预备吗?你知道如何在天空开渠,使雨降在无人之地吗?

或者,约伯,你放眼更高(31-33),看看那些星宿:昴星、参星、十二宫、北斗!“你知道天的定例吗?能使地归在天的权下吗?”

如果你不知道,那么就让我们回头再谈谈雨(34-38)。你能叫天下雨吗?你知道如何呼唤闪电,使它随传随到,说:“我们在这里!”你能凭智慧数算云彩吗?我在地上的作为拓展了你的视野吗?

所以,我们无论着眼于地、或海、或晨光、或雪、或雹、或星宿、或雨,结果都表明约伯的无知和渺小。他不知道它们从何而来,不知道如何让它们运作。从上面的世界到下面的世界,他彻彻底底被包围在奥秘当中。我们也同样如此。近两百年来的科技发展不过像是从上帝智慧的海洋里舀取几小桶盐水、倒在岸边的沙坑里,海潮袭来,必要回归大海。上帝才不以为然呢!我们应该看到自己的无知,而不是有点儿科学就得意忘形。

关于动物世界的问题

随之而来的是关于动物世界的问题。

在38章39至41节,上帝问约伯他以为是谁在喂养雄狮和雀鸟。“乌鸦之雏,因无食物飞来飞去,哀告上帝;那时,谁为它预备食物呢?”是我,约伯――是我在喂养全地的动物。你能做得到吗?

或者想想动物幼崽的降生(39:1-4)。“山岩间的野山羊几时生产,你知道吗?母鹿下犊之期,你能察定吗?”想想吧,约伯!我高高在上掌管着这一切。明尼苏达的野鹿产崽时――我在那儿;瑞士和尼泊尔的野山羊生产的时候, 我都在那儿;我知道它们的下犊之期,看顾那些幼崽。

想想看,约伯!当一个人看到上帝的工作,譬如你所经受的苦难, 他是否可以像我一样看到它实际上与世界上其他成千上万的事情之间的关联呢?如果这都不行,他又怎能评判其中的智慧呢!

再想想野驴(39:5-8)“谁放野驴出去自由?”你想世界上怎么会有一些动物野生不受驯服,约伯?你猜怎么着?是我解开它们的绳索,是我给它们野性,让它们以山地为牧场。它们都是我手中的作品。万物有序!而你跟这一切作为一点关系都没有。

接下来讲野牛(39:9-12) 你不知道如何用套绳拴住它,也不知道如何让它服侍你。它是我的。

还有那愚笨的鸵鸟(39:13-18): 它离弃自己的蛋,忍心待雏。是谁让她没有智慧。是我,约伯,就连愚笨的事物都是有设计的!鸵鸟、明尼苏达的蚊子、黑苍蝇,他们全部都是我的完美设计。

当然,并不是所有的动物都是愚蠢的、无用的。就以战马(9:19-25)为例:“马的大力是你所赐的吗?它颈项上’Ÿ挲的鬃是你给它披上的吗?”你不知道该怎样做,约伯。唯有我知道。

最后,约伯,39:26-30:“鹰雀飞翔,展开翅膀一直向南,岂是借你的智慧吗?大鹰上腾,在高处搭窝,岂是听你的吩咐吗?”

绝对不是! 无论我们留意雄狮的猎物、野山羊的生崽、野驴的自由、野牛的不驯服、鸵鸟的愚笨、战马的大力或鹰雀的飞翔,结果都一样: 约伯无知而又渺小。这一切都不是他造的,他不知道如何掌控他们,不了解它们在做些什么。而这个无知的约伯竟敢对上帝的做法提出质疑!

上帝稍作停顿 让约伯回应

在40章开头,上帝稍作停顿,给约伯一个回应的机会。

耶和华又对约伯说:“强辩的岂可与全能者争论吗?与上帝辩驳的,可以回答这些吧!”于是约伯回答耶和华说:“我是卑贱的!我用什么回答你呢?只好用手捂口。我说了一次,再不回答;说了两次,就不再说。”

约伯现在抓住了重点:一个有限的受造物,没有智慧去运作这个世界,对于这个过程也99.999%的无知。他根本就没有资格来指点他的创造者和掌管者该如何运作这个世界,更没有资格对上帝的做法指手画脚。

上帝继续责问约伯

当上帝在旋风中再次说话时,他在40章6至9节继续责问约伯。

你要如勇士束腰;我问你,你可以指示我。你岂可废弃我所拟定的?岂可定我有罪,好显自己为义吗?你有上帝那样的膀臂吗?你能像他发雷声吗?

上帝做得对仅仅是因为他是上帝吗?

这一点颇具困扰。难道就因为上帝有全能的膀臂,我们就非要服从他,认为他所作的都是公义的吗? 难道就因为他有权柄,我们就要认定他所做的全部都对吗? 难道仅仅因为是上帝做的,这件事就是好的和正确的吗?

我想,这个问题的答案既是对的、也是错的。一方面,没有比上帝更伟大的存有,我们可以用来评判上帝的作为。如果他还要让位给自己以外的其他什么存有,那么他就不是上帝了。

但另一方面,当我们说“上帝是美善的”、或说“上帝所做的从来都是正确的”的时候,上帝不仅是想让我们知道“上帝就是上帝”。他想让我们知道他之所以正确不仅是因为他至高的权柄,不是即使他做得多么不经思考、随意无常、不可理喻,却依然有理的那种正确。相反,他想让我们看见他使用自己的权柄所做的事都是有目的、有智慧的。

上帝圣洁而又有目的的权柄

在40章10至14节,上帝挑战约伯,让约伯来参与他的圣洁和有目的的权柄。

你要以荣耀庄严为妆饰,以尊荣威严为衣服;要发出你满溢 的怒气,见一切骄傲的人,使他降卑;见一切骄傲的人,将他制伏。把恶人践踏在本处,将他们一同隐藏在尘土中,把他们的脸蒙蔽在隐密处;我就认你右手能以救自己。

这和说“无论我做什么,你都要认定我所做的是对的”是很不一样的。相反,上帝说:“我以能力披戴光明,使骄傲的降卑,使卑微的升高”。 换言之,上帝主权的公义不只是因为这是上帝做的,而是因为他良善的目的和他的尊荣完全相符。

上帝的美善就是:让骄傲的降卑来彰显他的荣耀,在自己的尊荣中将喜乐赐给卑微的人。

约伯心悦诚服地敬拜上帝

为了帮助约伯臣服,上帝不是简单地说:“权力决定对错,不准你对我的做法指手画脚、品头论足。”他是说,首先, 要运作这个世界的有成千上万的事儿,你都难知一二。所以你来指教我要怎样管理出一个更加公义的世界实在是自以为是。你根本就不了解要为我名的荣耀和我民的喜乐来运作这个世界所需要考虑的因素有多少!

其次,上帝表明他的权能不是随机的而是有目的的。其目的就是使骄傲的降卑、谦卑的蒙福,以彰显他的荣耀。因此,约伯没有资格来指责上帝是随意无常、不加思考、不可理喻的。他自己应该臣服于上帝作为的智慧和美善,紧紧地抓住他的应许――“他未尝留下一样好处不给那些行动正直的人”(诗84:11)。

约伯表达顺服的三个行动

《约伯记》42章1至6节表明他也的确如此。让我们来看看他表达顺服的三个行动:

  1. 第1至2节“约伯回答耶和华说:‘我知道你万事都能作,你的旨意不能拦阻。’”他顺服上帝的绝对主权:相信只要上帝愿意,他万事都能做,不受任何外在事物的限制;
  2. 第3节“谁用无知的言语使你的旨意隐藏呢?我所说的是我 不明白的;这些事太奇妙是我不知道的。”他完全臣服于上帝那无限伟大的智慧和知识:承认他所说的,是他所不明白的;
  3. 第4至6节,他再次引用上帝的话并且作答。“求你听我,我 要说话;我问你,求你指示我。我从前风闻有你,现在亲眼看见你。因此我厌恶自己,在尘土和炉灰中懊悔。”

四个功课

这儿所带给我们的四个功课虽然朴实简单,却也意义深刻:

  1. 全心信靠上帝绝对的主权,祈求上帝赐给你这样坚定的信心;
  2. 完全相信他所做的一切都是正确的和美善的,祈求上帝赐给你这份确据;
  3. 什么时候你对上帝产生疑问、或认为他对待你有不公之处,什么时候你就要悔改,祈求上帝让你看见这样的怨言完全是罪;
  4. 学习欣然接受上帝圣洁的旨意而不发怨言。

让我们一同来效法伟大的英国布里斯托尔(Bristol)的乔治・慕勒(George Mueller)。在1870年2月6日的主日,他的妻子玛丽死于风湿(性)热。那时他们在婚姻生活中一同走过了39年零4个月。上帝赐给他力量,在妻子的追思礼拜上讲道。乔治・慕勒说:

我对她有无尽的思念,并且这份思念正与日俱增。但作为上帝的子民和主耶稣的仆人,我要屈膝, 欣然接受天父的旨意,我要追求完全顺服于他圣洁的旨意,以此来荣耀他。我要不住地亲吻那只施给我苦楚的手。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Job: The Revelation of God in Suffering

Job had been lying in unrelieved misery for months with open sores all over his body. During this time he bore the grief of seven dead sons and three dead daughters. All of his wealth had vanished in one afternoon. He had become repulsive to his wife, loathsome to his brothers, and even little children despised him as he lay on the ash heap outside of town.

Job's Wavering Faith and Complaints to God

At first Job bore these calamities with amazing submission: "The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away, blessed be the name of the Lord . . . Shall we receive good at the hand of the Lord, and shall we not receive evil?"

But as the misery drug out over the months, Job wavered in his confidence that God was for him. In defending himself against the bad theology of Eliphaz, Bildad, and Zophar, he said things about God that were not true. He began to insist on his own righteousness at the expense of God's justice.

For example, in 13:23–24 he said, "Make me know my transgression and my sin. Why dost thou hide thy face, and count me as thy enemy?" Job could only think that God was ignoring his faithfulness and treating him as an enemy.

He did reach the point where he confessed (in 19:25–27) that after death he would see God as his Redeemer. But for now God was treating him as an enemy, not a friend or a child—so Job thought.

And so he complains to God: "Oh, that I knew where I might find him, that I might come even to his seat! I would lay my case before him and fill my mouth with arguments . . . Why are not times of judgment kept by the Almighty, and why do those who know him never see his days?" (23:3–4; 24:1; cf. 13:23–24).

The Superficial Theology of Job's Friends 

Job's three friends had taken the position that the severity of Job's suffering must be the sign of some grievous sin in his life. God is punishing Job. But Job silences these three by showing that is no correlation in this world between righteousness and prosperity or between wickedness and suffering. The righteous often suffer more than the wicked and the wicked often prosper more than the righteous. Job is victorious over the superficial theology of his friends.

Elihu's Rebuke and Counsel 

In chapters 32–37 the younger friend Elihu rebukes both Job and his three friends. The three friends of Job had not been able to account for the suffering of this good man with their theology. And Job had said rash and presumptuous things about God in order to justify himself.

Elihu's point of view is that Job is a righteous man, though not perfect, and that he is loved by God. God is not treating him as his enemy but as his child and friend.

God originally allowed Job's sufferings to commence in order to show Satan and the armies of heaven that Job cherished the worth of God more than his possessions and his family and his health. But after Job showed that he did in fact love God more than all else in the world, there was another purpose that God sought to achieve by letting his suffering drag on for several months.

That purpose, according to Elihu, was to purge out of Job's life a residue of pride that had lain quietly at the bottom of his life. When Job was shaken by suffering long enough, the sediment of pride was stirred up into his life and showed itself when Job tried to justify himself at God's expense.

A Twofold Purpose of Suffering in Job's Life 

What we have seen so far, then, is that Job's suffering has a twofold explanation: its purpose at the outset was to demonstrate God's value and glory, and its ongoing purpose was to refine Job's righteousness. His suffering is not punishment. It is not a sign of God's anger. Job's pain is not the pain of the executioner's whip but the pain of the surgeon's scalpel. The removal of the disease of pride is the most loving thing God could do, no matter what the cost.

Remember the words of the Lord: Better to suffer the excruciating pain of a gouged out eye than to let any sin remain in your heart. If this does not seem obvious to you—namely, that sanctification is worth any pain on this earth—it is probably because you don't abhor sin and prize holiness the way God does and the way you should. Let us examine ourselves carefully at this point.

A Gathering Storm and God's Rebuke of Job

Toward the end of Elihu's speech (32–37) a thunderstorm had gathered and filled him with awe. It is as though he senses the approach of God in this storm and brings his words to a close. And sure enough, somehow, out of the whirlwind comes the voice of God to Job (chapters 38–41).

In 38:1–2 God begins: "Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind: 'Who is this that darkens counsel by words without knowledge?'" Someone might think that God is criticizing the words of Elihu here, but that is not the case. He is speaking to Job and criticizing Job.

We know this because in 42:3 when God is through speaking, Job quotes these words from 38:2 and applies them to himself. He says, "Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?" That is a quote from God in 38:2. And then Job responds (in the second half of verse 3), "Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know."

So the words of God in chapters 38–41 are not a rebuke of Elihu. Nowhere does God rebuke or criticize Elihu. Elihu had been right. Job listens in silent agreement. And when Elihu is finished, God speaks to Job and not to Elihu. And so now we want to know what more God has to say to Job. Let's look and see.

Job on Trial Before God 

Job 38:3, "Gird up your loins like a man, I will question you, and you shall declare to me." God has been questioned by Job long enough. Now it is time for Job to be put on trial. It's time for God to be the questioning attorney.

Let's try to summarize the interrogation without reading the whole thing. It is not exactly what you would expect.

Questions About the World Below

In 38:4–7 God focuses on the earth: "Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Tell me, if you have understanding." You weren't there, Job, and you don't know how I did it.

In 38:8–11 God focuses on the sea: "Who shut in the sea with doors, when it burst forth from the womb?" It was I, Job, I set its limits not you. You weren't there and you don't know how I did it.

In 38:12–15 the Lord focuses on the dawn: "Have you commanded the morning since your days began, and caused the dawn to know its place?" You never did it. You can't do it. You don't know how to do it. I have always done it. I always will.

In 38:16–18 God focuses on the depth and breadth of the sea and land. Job, you have never even been to the bottom of the ocean or around the world. And you think you know enough to argue with God.

Questions About the World Above

Then in the last half of chapter 38 God takes his focus off the world below and turns it to the world above.

First, in verses 19–21 he queries Job about the origin of light and dark: "Where is the way to the dwelling of light, and where is the place of darkness?" You don't know where it is or how to get there. But I do, Job. I made the light.

Then, in verses 22–30 God asks him about snow and hail and rain and frost: Do you know anything about how to store up hail for the day of battle? Would you know how to cut a channel in the sky to make it rain on a land where no man is?

Or lift your eyes even higher, Job, (verses 31–33) and look at the constellations: Pleiades, Orion, Mazzaroth, the Bear! "Do you know the ordinances of the heavens? Can you establish their rule on the earth?"

If not, come back down then and we will just talk about the rain again (verses 34–38). Can you make it rain? Do you know how to whistle for the lightning so it comes and says, "Here we are!"? Can you count the clouds with your wisdom? Or do my earthly pastimes stretch your mind a bit too far?

So whether we focus on the earth or the sea or the dawn or the snow or hail or constellations or rain, the upshot is that Job is ignorant and impotent. He doesn't know where they came from. He doesn't know how to make them work. He is utterly surrounded, above and below, by mysteries. And so are we, because the scientific advancements of the last two hundred years are like sand-pails of saltwater hauled from the ocean of God's wisdom and dumped in a hole on the beach while the tide is rising. God is not impressed. And we should be overwhelmed with our ignorance, not impressed with science.

Questions About the World of Animals

Then come the queries about the world of animals.

In 38:39–41 God asks who Job thinks provides lions and birds with their food? "Who provides for the raven its prey, when its young ones cry to God, and wander about for lack of food?" I do, Job—all over the world. Can you do that?

Or consider the birth of the young (39:1–4). "Do you know when the mountain goats bring forth? Do you observe the calving of the hinds?" Think of it, Job! I am on top of all these things. Every wild deer in northern Minnesota that gives birth—I am there. Every mountain goat in Switzerland and Nepal—when they bring forth, I am there; I know their months. I care for the young.

Think of it, Job! When a man sees a work of God, like your suffering, can he see its connection to ten thousand other realities in the world like I can? If not, how will he dare to judge its wisdom!

Consider the wild ass (39:5–8). "Who has let the wild ass go free?" Do you think there are wild and unpredictable creatures in the world, Job? Guess what? I set them loose. I give them a wilderness for running and the mountain for pasture. They are the work of my hands. Things are quite in order! And you have nothing to do with it.

And so it goes. The wild ox (39:9–12): you don't know how to bind him or use him. He is mine.

The stupid ostrich (39:13–18): she walks away from her eggs; she treats her young cruelly. Who made her forget wisdom? I did, Job. Even the foolish things are by design. Ostriches and Minnesota mosquitoes and black flies. I govern them all by perfect design.

Of course not all animals are foolish and useless. Take the war horse (39:19–25), for example. "Do you give him his might? Do you clothe his neck with strength?" You don't know how to do it, Job. I am the only one who does.

Finally, Job, (39:26–30) "Is it by your wisdom that the hawk soars, and spreads his wings toward the south? Is it at your command that the eagle mounts up and makes his nest on high?"

No! Whether we consider the prey of lions, the birth of mountain goats, the freedom of the wild ass, the insubordination of the wild ox, the stupidity of the ostrich, the might of the war horse, or the flight of the hawk and eagle, the upshot is the same: Job is ignorant and impotent. He did not make them. He does not know how to control them. He cannot see what they are doing. And yet this ignorant Job presumed to question the ways of God!

God Pauses for Job's Response 

So at the beginning of chapter 40, God pauses in his interrogation to give Job a chance to respond.

And the Lord said to Job, "Shall a faultfinder contend with the Almighty? He who argues with God, let him answer it." Then Job answered the Lord: "Behold, I am of small account; what shall I answer thee? I lay my hand on my mouth. I have spoken once, and I will not answer; twice, but I will proceed no further."

Job is getting the point: a finite creature who has no wisdom to run this world and is utterly ignorant of 99.999% of its processes has no business instructing his Maker and Ruler how to run the world, even condemning God for the way he runs it.

God Continues His Case Against Job 

God presses his case further against Job in 40:6–9 as he speaks again out of the whirlwind.

Gird up your loins like a man; I will question you, and you declare to me. Will you even put me in the wrong? Will you condemn me that you may be justified? Have you an arm like God, and can you thunder with a voice like his?

Are God's Ways Right Simply Because He Is Almighty God? 

This is disturbing argument. Does God mean that we are to submit to the justice of his ways simply because he has a powerful arm? Are we supposed to acknowledge his right simply because he has might? Is something right and good just because God does it?

I think the answer to that question is yes and no. On the one hand, there is no greater reality than God with which we can judge God's actions. He would not be God if he submitted to something outside himself.

But on the other hand, when we say the sentence, "God is good," or, "God always does what is right," God wants us to mean more than simply, "God is God." He wants us to see that his might does not make right in the sense that it could be capricious and arbitrary and irrational and nevertheless right. Instead he wants us to see that his might is purposeful.

God's Holy and Purposeful Might

So in 40:10–14 he challenges Job to join him in this holy and purposeful might.

Deck yourself with majesty and dignity; clothe yourself with glory and splendor. Pour forth the overflowings of your anger, and look on every one that is proud, and abase him. Look on every one that is proud, and bring him low; and tread down the wicked where they stand. Hide them all in the dust together; bind their faces in the world below. Then will I also acknowledge to you, that your own right hand can give you victory.

This is very different from saying, "Acknowledge that my might is right no matter what I do." Instead, God says, "I employ my might to clothe myself with splendor and to abase the proud and (by implication) to exalt the humble." In other words the rightness of God's might is not merely that it is God's, but also that its purposes are consistence with his excellence.

The goodness of God is just this: that he upholds his glory by abasing the proud and giving the humble delight in his excellence.

Job Brought to Submission and Worship 

So in bringing Job to submission, God did not simply say, "Might makes right. So stop condemning my ways." He said, in the first place, there are ten million things about running the world of which you don't know the first thing, but I know perfectly. So it is presumptuous to assume you can counsel me about how to run a more just world. You can't begin to know all that has to be taken into account in making decisions about how to run the world for my glory and for the joy of my people!

And in the second place, God showed that his might is not arbitrary but purposeful. And the purpose is to uphold his glory by abasing the proud and blessing the humble. Therefore Job should not presume to accuse God of being arbitrary or capricious or irrational. He should submit to the wisdom and goodness of God's dealings and hold fast to the promise that "God withholds no good thing from those who walk uprightly" (Psalm 84:11).

Three Acts of Job's Submission 

Which in fact he did in Job 42:1–6. Notice the three acts of submission:

  1. Verse 1–2: "Then Job answered the Lord: 'I know that thou canst do all things, and that no purpose of thine can be thwarted.'" He submits to God's absolute sovereignty: that can do whatever he pleases, and is not constrained by anything outside himself.
  2. Verse 3: He quotes God and then gives his response. "'Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?' Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know." He submits to God's infinitely greater wisdom and knowledge: he has spoken about things of which he is very ignorant.
  3. Verses 4–6: He again quotes God and then gives his own response. "'Hear, and I will speak; I will question you, and you declare to me.' I had heard of thee by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees thee; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes."

Four Lessons

The lessons for us are plain and simple and profound:

  1. Believe with all your heart in the absolute sovereignty of God. Pray that God would give you that conviction.
  2. Believe with all your heart that everything he does is right and good. Pray that God will give you that assurance.
  3. Repent of all the times you have questioned God or found fault with him in the way he has treated you. Pray that God would humble you to see these murmurings as sinful.
  4. Be satisfied with the holy will of God and do not murmur.

Be like the great George Mueller of Bristol England. On the Lord's Day, February 6, 1870, his wife Mary died of rheumatic fever. They had been married 39 years and 4 months. The Lord gave him the strength to preach at her memorial service. He said,

I miss her in numberless ways, and shall miss her yet more and more. But as a child of God, and as a servant of the Lord Jesus, I bow, I am satisfied with the will of my Heavenly Father, I seek by perfect submission to His holy will to glorify Him, I kiss continually the hand that has thus afflicted me.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org