冒险与上帝的事业:在今天

“连你们的父母、弟兄、亲族、朋友也要把你们交官;你们也有被他们害死的。”

上周的讲道是冒险与上帝的事业。中心思想就是,为上帝的事业去冒险,是正确的。

如果为个人富足或为着公共领域的声望去冒很大风险,可能就不对了。另外,就算为上帝的事业冒险,也不见得每个冒险都是对的。耶稣就拒绝了从圣殿顶上跳下去的试探,保罗也曾为躲避追捕,被人从城墙上缒下,逃离大马士革。

不过,为上帝的事业冒险通常都是正确的。

为着上帝的事业而冒险:回顾

众将士为耶和华而争战,有人制定了军事策略,然后切实施行,并且说:“愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!”他那样做是正确的(撒下10:12)。

当上帝子民的利益受到威胁,可以用一个人的性命去拯救众人时,有人起来接受了这个挑战,并像以斯帖那样说,“我若死,就死吧!”那样做就是正确的(帖4:16)。

还有,当世人不明白福音真道,甚至充满敌意时,若有人像使徒保罗那样说:“我却不以性命为念,也不看为宝贵,只要行完我的路程,成就我从主耶稣所领受的职事,证明神恩惠的福音。”那就是正确的(徒20:24)。

而且我们也考察过反面的例子,上帝的选民拒绝为上帝的事业冒险,然后怎么样了呢?迦勒和约书亚说,那应许之地迦南是流奶与蜜之地,虽然要争战,但一定可以得胜,因为神与他们同在。但百姓却宁可相信所谓埃及的安全迷梦,不愿去冒险,结果是在旷野飘荡了40年。在这里我忍不住问自己,今天又会有多少人,因不愿为上帝的事业冒险,从而被宣判在令人厌烦的生活里兜圈子,虚度此生呢?

为上帝的事业而冒险:展望未来

今天要讲的主题,跟上个礼拜一样。只不过这一次,我们主要不是看圣经中冒险的例证,而是要往前看,我们要来考虑当下上帝可能正呼召你我去冒险的事情。

经文在《路加福音》21:16。

你们的父母、弟兄、亲族、朋友也要把你们交官;你们也有被他们害死的。

我要请你关注这节经文中的关键词“你们也有人(some)”这几个字。“你们也有被他们害死的。”这就使门徒在地上的生活中,有了极大的不确定性。不是每个人都会因基督的缘故而受死,也不是每个人都会平安生活。肯定有些人要为主殉道,而另一些人却能寿终正寝。这就是我所说的冒险的意思。上帝的旨意就是让我们不能确定,到底今生的生命会以什么方式来展开和结束,因此,我们为上帝的事业,必须冒一些险。

那么作为基督徒,我们应该冒什么样的险呢?我会提到圣经鼓励我们面对的,四大类或四个层面的冒险,好让你们开始计划这些事情,并为这些计划祷告。大家一定要记得,我提到的冒险,都是为上帝的事业,为义的缘故。

1. 为着义的缘故

首先,圣经勉励我们,当义受到威胁时,我们要在我们的各种关系当中去冒险。

我想到的有两种冒险,一是承认自己有问题,并且寻求帮助来解决它。另一种是告诉别人,他们有问题,并且找机会帮助他们。圣经对这两方面都有教导。而其中关键的词,在这一方面是“认罪,”在另一方面则是“警告。”

认罪之冒险

不过今天我只讲前面这个词“认罪”,即承认自己的罪。《箴言》28:13说,“遮掩自己罪过的,必不亨通;承认离弃罪过的,必蒙怜恤。”此外,《雅各书》5:16也说,“所以你们要彼此认罪,互相代求,使你们可以得医治。”

但是,这样作相当冒险。更保险的做法——至少短期来看——是对内心挣扎保持沉默,比如,不让人知道你有情欲方面的问题,或有同性恋倾向,或酗酒、贪食、恼怒之类。当然,我并不是说,你灵里每个小冲突都要公诸于众。但另一个方面来看,雅各的确说,“你们要彼此认罪。”意思指对罪采取隐私性的保护,会使人彻底瘫痪,会毁掉我们的信心。

我本人的一个例子

大概一年前,《同道》(Partnership)杂志编辑打电话问我,她和一位摄影师能否来我家采访我和诺丽,他们想写一篇专题报导。这个杂志主要是给牧师的妻子们看的,总是在封面上刊登某些满脸堆笑的牧师夫妇的合影。

诺丽答复说,她要跟我商量一下再决定。其实当时我们家并不太平,我们彼此间有些嫌隙,有点紧张。所以我回答说:算了,别让他们来采访了!我既然对当时的夫妻状态不满意,怎么能硬着头皮,好像模范牧师和模范师母一般做在一起,挤出笑容让摄影师拍照呢。

那我们该怎么办呢?编辑可是在等我们回话呀。换成你会怎么做呢?假如我把真相告诉那位编辑,她又会怎么想呢?难道直接跟她说,“我家里的情况有些糟糕,我觉得我们不适合接受采访。因为那样会有虚情假意的成分”?我要说了那样的话,说不定她以为我们在闹离婚呢,然后这话传开,特别是在《今日基督教》(Christianity Today)的总部办公室那儿,全天下都会知道约翰•派博的婚姻触礁啦。

事情好像不大,但那实在是多年来最为难的一通电话。然而对我来说,公义与正直——上帝的事业——分量更重。于是我们选择了冒险,我们取消了采访,事情也这样过去了。

合乎圣经的真实性与认罪

你们有些人已经在这整个关系领域中冒了更大风险,也因此大大获益。另一些人可能仍在伤害自己以及上帝的事业,继续掩盖某些应该让人知道的事——比如怨恨、失败、恶习及某些懊悔,等等。当然,过分沉溺于自我剖析(self-exposure)是不健康的,但也有那种符合圣经的,为真实和认罪的缘故而采取的冒险。愿主给我们智慧,分辨这两者之间的区别。

2. 我们如何使用自己的钱财

圣经呼召我们的第二种冒险,是关于钱财方面的——不是去追求更加富有,而是使我们的资源得到最大化的利用,为上帝的事业。例如,不要为自己65岁后的退休生活中有更多存款去冒险。

穷寡妇的两个小钱

《路加福音》21章1-4节,有这样一个故事:

耶稣抬头观看,见财主把捐项投在库里, 又见一个穷寡妇投了两个小钱, 就说:“我实在告诉你们,这穷寡妇所投的比众人还多; 因为众人都是自己有余,拿出来投在捐项里,但这寡妇是自己不足,把他一切养生的都投上了。”

换一种方式来讲述,可以这么说:“财主没有为上帝的事业在钱财方面冒险,但这位寡妇却敢于冒险。”

那么,耶稣为什么要指出这个情况?福音书的作者路加为什么觉得这个故事很重要,值得记录下来,让后世学习呢?我觉得原因很简单:耶稣想要他的百姓用他们的钱财为上帝的事业冒险。

从过量的钱财之中释放自己

《路加福音》12章里,耶稣称呼一位财主是愚蠢的人,因为那人选择的是安全和保障,而不是为上帝的事业冒险。那人说,“灵魂哪,你有许多财物积存,可作多年的费用,只管安安逸逸的吃喝快乐吧!”换句话说,何必去冒险呢,何必牺牲安逸生活,把钱财捐献到福音传播与天国建设的事业中呢?好好为自己预备一堆钱财吧,可以享用许多年呀!但是上帝对他说什么呢?“无知的人哪,今夜必要你的灵魂;你所预备的要归谁呢?”(路12:19-20)。

接着,几节经文之后耶稣又说,“所以我告诉你们,不要为生命忧虑…… 你们只要求他的国”(12:22, 31)。再后面他又说,“你们要变卖所有的周济人,为自己预备永不坏的钱囊,用不尽的财宝在天上。”(12:33)。

一次又一次,耶稣劝勉和鼓动他的门徒脱离钱财的迷惑,不要拼命积财。我不知道,你为着上帝的事业和福音捐了多少钱。所以不能具体给你提供什么建议。但我的确知道一点,对大多数人来说,基督的旨意是要我们勇于去冒险,愿意更大程度地捐献钱财,为着世界上最伟大的事业。假如你们家还没有至少做到十一奉献的话,那就请你以此作为起点吧。这听起来有点冒险是吗?那我就要催促你好好默想《路加福音》里的那位寡妇。

3. 见证福音当中上帝的恩惠

圣经鼓励我们去冒险的第三个领域,就是去见证福音中上帝的恩惠。

比如今天选的经文中,《路加福音》21:12-13,耶稣说,“但这一切的事以先,人要下手拿住你们,逼迫你们,把你们交给会堂,并且收在监里,又为我的名拉你们到君王诸侯面前。但这些事终必为你们的见证。”

换句话说,耶稣说基督徒将被逮捕,这样就有机会给那些狱卒、法官和政府官员作见证了。我们可能不太喜欢上帝这种策略,就是在帝国坚硬的土壤上去撒盐,但上帝比我们更有智慧,他的旨意也很明显,就是要我们做好准备,为他的恩典和荣耀作见证,尽管为此“你们也有被他们害死的。”

换言之,假如某些糟糕的事真的发生了,你被带到某些你从未计划去的地方,并且几乎灭顶,你依然可以相信,上帝把你带到那地步,至少有一个目的很清楚,正如耶稣在13节所说:“这些事终必为你们的见证。”

这一点不用多说,因为每个真正的基督徒都会感受到那种从内心涌出的冲动,积极述说福音中上帝的恩典。所以我只简单这样说:千万不要等到一切看起来都很安全时,才去行动。这段经文的要点是,耶稣不想让我们在安全中行动,他就是要我们愿意为上帝的事业并为其他人的益处,敢于去冒险。

4. 服事工作上的冒险和探索

最后,圣经鼓励我们为上帝的事业,在教会事工领域冒险,并且勇于开拓。

这在真正的意义上,乃是其它三方面的总结。当我们梦想开始上帝为我们预备的事工时,可以想象各种可能的冒险,比如关系上可能要付出代价,钱财或者生活标准上可能要做出牺牲,或者,在我们的声誉或安全保障方面可能会有些影响,等等。如果我们真愿意为他的恩典作见证,必然会有些风险的。

我多么想鼓励大家,在为我们教会事工和宣教工梦想时,能够更加大胆和充满盼望呀!今天看很有意义的服事工作,哪个是未曾因为某些人愿意冒险而开始的呢?而且,我真的怀疑,上帝会在一个事工计划开始前,就全然保证它成功,以至于我们一点风险都不用承担。

美国普世宣教中心(US Center for World Mission)的故事

上周五我带着四个儿子去参加本地的一场棒球赛,我还带了一本书,以便把比赛中的某些空隙时间利用起来。我带上的是《国度的反击》(The Kingdom Strikes Back),是关于拉夫•温特与罗伯塔•温特1976年创建美国普世宣教中心的故事。

而那场棒球比赛也实在精彩极了。竞争激烈,甚至有一个球棒都被打裂了,差点把投手戳伤。但是坦白讲,比赛虽然精彩至极,却依然比不上我读的那本书。美国普世宣教中心的故事对我更有吸引力。

拉夫•温特50岁时已是令人称羡的教授,但他辞了职,要建立一个机构,动员福音派众教会参与开荒式的前线宣教工作。他拿着一份爱心捐献的款项,只有一万五千美金,要去购买坐落在洛杉矶附近帕萨迪纳(Pasadena)的一个价值八百五十万美金的校园。对方居然接受了他的请求。他那时连员工也没有,也没有人帮他去募捐,甚至连基本的组织架构都没有到位。他拥有的仅仅是一个梦想,以及一个奇妙而确定的信念,就是,总得有人做点什么,为世上20多亿失丧的灵魂呐喊,因为他们被当时的宣教工作者忽视了。

过去十年间,普世宣教方面发生了显著变化,因为上帝要祝福这对勇于冒险的夫妇,因着他们愿意为上帝的事业承担风险。你难道不想去尝试一下,为上帝的事业,在某些事工上勇于探险和开拓吗?

其实,你们当中有些人已经在冒险了!最近一期《世界基督徒》杂志(World Christian,美国普世宣教中心出版)登载了我们教会丹•林恩(Dan Lehn)的故事,他为服事留学生购买了一套房子,这整个故事就是一场冒险。今天他依然在冒险。而我们已经看到上帝的祝福了。当我们愿意为他的荣耀去冒险时,上帝就会欢喜地参与进来。

作为教会,我们对将来的一些计划

所以,我们目前的状况是,大卫•李文斯敦(David Livingston)作为我们新聘用的牧师候选人,加入到牧者团队中来负责关怀事工,而他的工资并没有纳入今年的预算。我们怎么能知道有没有能力来支付这份额外的费用呢?而当初我们又怎么知道会有足够的薪水,供应我们不断增长的牧师团队呢,比如当增加了迪恩,查尔,史蒂夫,科特,以及大卫-迈克尔等全职工人时,或是当我们开始那个两万美金的学徒项目时?我们又怎么知道,三年前把我们的预算提高了35%,今年又提高了20%,与此同时,我们还要把宣教支出额度增加差不多30%,而这些钱都能及时到位,怎么能知道呢?

答案就是,我们当时并不知道,今天依然不知道!然而,上帝并不指望我们能事先知道,到底我们在事工中承担多少责任。上帝的意思是,要我们把整个世界装在心里,并且为着他的荣耀不断地去冒险。

不久前我跟另一家教会的董事会成员交谈,他说他们有些替牧师担心,因为他们的牧师必须做许多额外工作。但他说董事会还是想再等等,不考虑增加更多全职同工,因为他们并不确定今年冬天教会的供暖设备是否需要修理,这关系到有没有足够的钱剩下来聘请另一位工人。

如果这种心态和思维模式不改变的话,这个教会一定很麻烦的。那种谨小慎微的做事方式不会赢得上帝所赐的荣耀,尽管他们也口口声声说自己是为上帝的事业。上帝喜爱的,是类似威廉•凯里(William Carey)的,在宣教战场上的呐喊声:“从主期待大事,为主图谋大事。”非要等到钱包鼓起来,我们就根本不需要上帝了。

尽我们的全力去从事上帝的事业

结束的时候,我要对我们的长远规划委员会说些什么好呢——事实上,也包括这里愿意委身教会使命的每个人,目前来看,只有以下这些话:

我们在敬拜中所尽情享受的关于上帝的异象——圣洁,主权,自由,恩典——值得我们拿出全部的力量去追随吗?

我们是否愿意尽全力好好浇灌、培育这个异象,在我们心中,也在我们的孩子心中?

我们是否愿意献身,靠上帝在我们里面激发的无穷大能,把这个关乎上帝恩典之荣耀的异象,传扬到我们的城市以致世界上所有未得之民当中。

如果是这样,就不要再迟疑和动摇了!让我们把手放在犁上吧,而且不要再向后看。为这伟大的事业,还有什么样的大风险不敢尝试呢?从主期待大事,为主图谋大事!愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Risk and the Cause of God: Today

You will be delivered up even by parents and brothers and kinsmen and friends, and some of you they will put to death.

Last week our subject was Risk and the Cause of God. Our main point was that it is right to risk for the cause of God.

It may not be right to risk much for the cause of personal prosperity or public prestige. And not every risk for the cause of God is necessarily right, either. Jesus refused to jump off the temple, and Paul snuck out of Damascus in a basket to escape the governor.

But even so, it is right to risk for the cause of God.

Risk for the Cause of God: Looking Back 

When the battle of the Lord is at hand, it is right for someone to rise up with a strategy, put it into practice and then say with Joab: "May the Lord do what seems good to him" (2 Samuel 10:12).

When the good of God's people is at stake, and one life could save many, it is right for someone to take the challenge and say with Esther, "If I perish, I perish" (Esther 4:16).

And when the world is without the gospel, and perhaps even hostile to it, it is right for someone to say with the apostle Paul, "I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may accomplish my course and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God" (Acts 20:24).

And we looked at one example of what happened once when the people of God refused to take a risk for the cause of God. Caleb and Joshua said the promised land of Canaan was beautiful and rich; it would take a battle but they could conquer it because God was with them. But the people preferred the mirage of Egyptian security. And so they wandered in the wilderness for 40 years. And I have asked myself how many of us have been sentenced just to wander through life in boring circles because we refused to take a risk for the cause of God.

Risk for the Cause of God: Looking Forward 

My subject today is the same as last week. Only instead of pointing you back to the risk-takers of the Bible, I want to point you forward to some possible risks that God may be calling you and me to take.

Our text is Luke 21:16.

You will be delivered up even by parents and brothers and kinsmen and friends, and some of you they will put to death.

The key word here for my purpose this morning is the word "some." "Some of you they will put to death." What this word does is put the earthly life of the disciples in great uncertainty. Not all will die for the cause of Christ. But then not all will live either. Some will die. And some will live. This is what I mean by risk. It is the will of God that we be uncertain about how life on this earth will turn out for us. And therefore it is the will of the Lord that we take risks for the cause of God.

Now what are the kinds of risks that we should be taking as Christians? I want to start you praying and planning by mentioning this morning four kinds or categories of risk that the Bible urges us to take. And keep in mind that I always mean risk for the cause of God, risk for righteousness' sake.

1. For the Sake of Righteousness

First, the Bible urges us to take risks in our relationships when righteousness is at stake.

I have in mind here two kinds of things. One is the risk of admitting that you have a problem and seeking help to solve it. The other is the risk of telling someone else they have a problem and seeking to help them. Both of these are taught in Scripture. The key words are "confession" on the one hand, and "admonition" on the other.

The Risk of Confession

But I'll only focus on the first one this morning—namely, admitting our sins. Proverbs 28:13 says, "He who conceals his transgressions will not prosper, but he who confesses and forsakes them will obtain mercy." And James 5:16 says, "Confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed."

But this is risky business. It's much safer—in the short run—to keep quiet about your struggle with lust or homosexual feelings or alcohol or food or anger. And I don't mean to say that every skirmish of the soul should go public. But on the other hand, James does mean something when he says, "Confess your sins to each other." There is a kind of privacy with sin that paralyzes. There is a kind of concealing that can kill faith.

A Personal Example

About a year ago the editor of Partnership magazine called and asked if she and a photographer a could come to our house to interview Noël and me for one of their feature articles. They always feature some smiling pastoral couple on the front of their magazine for pastors' wives.

Noël said she would check with me and let her know. Well, it just so happened that things were not good on the home front at that time. We were upset with each other and there were unresolved tensions between us. And so my response was: No way! I could no more sit down like a model pastor's couple and smile for pictures than I could feel happy about the way things were.

What are we going to do? She expected us to call back. What would you have done? What would the editor think if I called and said, "Things aren't good here and I don't think we should do the interview. It would be too inauthentic"? Would she think we were about to get divorced, and spread the word around the Christianity Today offices that John Piper's marriage is on the rocks?

It may sound like a small thing, but that was one of the hardest phone calls I have had to make in years. But to me righteousness and integrity—the cause of God—were at stake. And so we took the risk. We called off the interview. And that is all I know to this day.

Biblical Authenticity and Confession

Some of you have taken significant risks in this whole area of relationships and are much the better for it today. Others of you are hurting yourselves and the cause of God by bottling up something that someone should know about—some grudge, some failure, some habit, some remorse. May the Lord give us the wisdom to know the difference between an unhealthy indulgence in self-exposure on the one hand and the biblical risk of authenticity and confession on the other.

2. How We Use Our Money

And second kind of risk that the Bible calls us to take is with our money—not with a view to getting rich, but with a view to maximizing our resources for the cause of God not for a thicker pad when you are 65.

The Poor Widow's Two Coins

In Luke 21 just before our text, in verses 1–4 we read this story:

Jesus looked up and saw the rich putting their gifts into the treasury; and he saw a poor widow put in two copper coins. And he said, "Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all of them; for they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all the living that she had."

One way to paraphrase this story would be to say, "The rich took no risk with their money for the cause of God, but the widow did."

Now why did Jesus point this out? And why did Luke think the story important enough to record it for us? I think the reason is simple: Jesus wants his people to take risks with their money for the cause of God.

Freeing Ourselves from Excess Money

In Luke 12 Jesus calls the man a fool who chooses security over risk for the cause of God. The man says, "Soul, you have ample goods laid up for many years; take your ease eat, drink, be merry." In other words, don't risk your ease by giving away your money to spread the gospel or build the kingdom. Keep a very thick pad for years to come. But God says to him, "You fool! This night your soul is required of you" (12:19–20).

Then a few verses later he says, "Do not be anxious about your life . . . Seek the kingdom of God" (12:22, 31). And a few verses later he says, "Sell your possessions, and give alms; provide yourselves with purses that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail" (12:33).

Again and again Jesus pushed his disciples to free themselves from excess money. I don't know what you give away to the cause of God and the gospel. And so I can't be specific with you. But I do know that for most of us it is the will of Christ that we risk giving more than we do to the greatest cause in the world. If you don't at least tithe your income as a family, that would be a good place to start. Does it sound risky? I urge you to meditate on the widow in Luke 21:4.

3. Witnessing to the Grace of God in the Gospel

The third kind of risk the Bible urges us to take is in the area of witnessing to the grace of God in the gospel.

Here in our text, for example, Luke 21:12–13, Jesus says, "They will lay their hands on you and persecute you, delivering you up to the synagogues and prisons, and you will be brought before kings and governors for my name's sake. This will be a time for you to bear testimony."

In other words, Jesus says that Christians will get arrested so that they can witness to jailers and judges and governors. We may not like God's strategy to sprinkle his salt in the tough places of the empire, but he is wiser than we are. And it is clearly his will that we be constantly ready to witness to his grace and glory, even though he goes on to say, "Some of you they will kill."

In other words, if anything ever goes wrong in your life and you wind up some place you never planned, and it seems like a total catastrophe, you can know at least one of God's purposes for having you there. As he says in verse 13: "This will be a time for you to bear testimony!"

I don't need to dwell on this because every true Christian feels an impulse from within that he should speak out about the grace of God in the gospel. So let me just say, Don't wait until it feels safe. The point of this text is that Jesus does not always mean it to be safe. He means for us to take a risk for the cause of God and the good of other people.

4. Ministry Ventures

Finally, the Bible urges us to risk for the cause of God in the area of ministry ventures.

Really this is the sum of the other three areas. When we dream of a ministry that God may have for us, we can think of risks it may cost in our relationships, and risks it may cost with our money or standard of living, or risks it may cost with our reputation or safety as we witness to his grace.

O, how I want to encourage us today to be bold and hopeful in our dreams for ministry and missions at Bethlehem! Can you think of any significant ministry today that began without someone taking a risk? I doubt that God ever so fully guarantees the success of a ministry venture ahead of time that no risk is necessary.

The Story of the US Center for World Mission

I took my four sons to the Twins game last Friday night, and I took a book along to read between pitches. The book I took was The Kingdom Strikes Back, the story of how Ralph and Roberta Winter founded the US Center for World Mission back in 1976.

Well, the Twins game was good. Four home runs. Nine strike outs for Blyleven. A broken bat almost stabbed the pitcher. An overthrow from right field into the dugout. But, frankly, the Twins could not compete with the story of the US Center for World Mission.

Ralph Winter resigned his prestigious professorship at the age of 50 to found an organization to mobilize the evangelical church for the cause of frontier missions. With a gift of $15,000 he offered to pay for an option to buy an 8.5 million dollar campus in Pasadena. They accepted his offer. He had no staff. No fund raising people. Not even any organizational structure yet. Only a dream. And an amazing conviction that someone must do something to get attention for the two billion people lost outside the scope of present mission efforts.

The story of the last ten years is simply phenomenal because God has chosen to bless the risk of one venturesome couple for the cause of God. Doesn't it make you just want to try something daring for the cause of God?

And some of you are! The most recent World Christian carries the story about how Dan Lehn pursued the idea of purchasing a house for International Students until the idea became a reality. That was a risk. And still is. And God is blessing it. God loves to come through when we take a risk for his glory.

Our Future Plans as a Church

So here we are today with David Livingston in our midst as a candidate for a position in pastoral care that is not even in the budget for this year. How do we know we can afford this pastoral addition? How did we know we could afford to add Dean or Char or Steve or Kurt or David Michael or a $20,000 apprenticeship program? How did we know we could make a 35% budget increase three years ago and a 20% increase this year and at the same time get our mission commitment up to 30%?

The answer is that we didn't know and we don't know! And God doesn't mean for us to know beforehand what we can afford in ministry. He means for us to get the world on our heart and to keep on risking for his glory.

I was talking to a board member of another church recently, who said that they were concerned about how much extra work their pastor seems to have to do. But he said the board wanted to wait before they add any other staff because they are not sure about how the heating system will perform this winter so they can know if they can afford it.

If that mentality doesn't change in that church, they are in big trouble. God does not honor that kind of tidy caution for the cause of God. God loves the mission battle cry of William Carey: "Expect great things from God, attempt great things for God." If we wait until we have success in our back pocket, we won't need God any more.

Pursuing God's Cause with All Our Might 

So what is the closing word to our long range planning committee—indeed, to all of us whose lives are dedicated to the mission of this church? For now, only this:

Is the vision of God that we savor in worship—holy, sovereign, free, gracious—is this vision worthy of all our might?

Are we committed with all our strength to instilling and supporting and nurturing this vision in each other's hearts and in the hearts of our children?

And are we dedicated with all the power God mightily inspires within us to spread this vision of the glory of the grace of God across this city and to all the unreached peoples of the world?

If so, then let us be done with wavering. Let us put our hand to the plow and stop looking back. What risk have we ever dreamed of that would be too great for this cause? Expect great things from God and attempt great things for God! And may the Lord do what seems good to him!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org