圣经:点燃基督教快乐主义的火焰

《诗篇》19篇7-11节
耶和华的律法全备,能苏醒人心;
耶和华的法度确定,能使愚人有智慧;
耶和华的训词正直,能快活人的心;
耶和华的命令清洁,能明亮人的眼目;
耶和华的道理清洁,存到永远;
耶和华的典章真实,全然公义。
都比金子可羡慕,且比极多的精金可羡慕;
比蜜甘甜,且比蜂房下滴的蜜甘甜。
况且你的仆人因此受警戒;
守着这些便有大赏。

基督教快乐主义深深地知道,并不是每个与耶稣同在的日子都会“花香常漫”。有些日子我们会经历苦涩;另些日子我们会感受到撕心裂肺的哀伤;还有些日子,我们会感到害怕或恐惧;有时我们还会因为气馁和沮丧,想坐下来大哭一场。 并不是每个与耶稣同在的日子都会天色常蓝,这一点我们从自身的经历以及所读的经文都有所了解。《诗篇》十九篇七节说:“耶和华的律法全备,能苏醒人心。” 如果与耶稣同在的日子不再有苦涩,我们的灵魂又何需苏醒呢。

圣经点燃快乐

大卫之所以写出“他领我到可安歇的水边,他使我的灵魂苏醒” 这样颂赞上帝的《诗篇》,是因为他也经历过苦痛的日子。那些日子是大卫的灵魂需要得到修复的日子。他在这节经文使用了他在《诗篇》十九篇七节“耶和华的律法全备,能苏醒人心”同样的表述。基督徒的正常生活就是一个不断修复和更新的过程。我们的快乐不是一个静止的状态,它会因现实生活的影响而上下波动。 就像撒旦藉恐怖事件向我们发起的攻击,同样容易影响到我们的快乐。 保罗在《哥林多后书》一章二十四节这样说:“我们并不是辖管你们的信心,乃是帮助你们的快乐。”我们可以这样理解这句话:“我们所做的一切都是为了让你们快乐。”保守我们在主里的快乐必须付出努力,这是一场争战。我们的仇敌魔鬼如同吼叫的狮子遍地游行,想要吞灭我们因信而有的喜乐。然而圣灵赐给我们信心的藤牌、神话语的宝剑和祷告的能力,使我们的喜乐得以保守并加添。换句话说,当撒旦试图借着恫吓和威胁吹灭我们喜乐的火焰时,上帝的话语总能将它重新点燃。即使在那些完全心灰意冷的日子,只要我们肯挣扎着就近神的话,呼求神垂听我们的祷告,属灵的灰烬仍会复燃并迸发出生命的火花,因为“耶和华的律法全备,能苏醒人心,”圣经是点燃基督教快乐主义的火焰。

我希望通过早上的分享,激发大家用圣灵的宝剑——神的话将自己武装起来,用神的话保守我们在主里的喜乐。我们会依此分享三点内容。首先,我们需要明白为什么圣经是神的话? 世界上差不多所有人都会同意,如果这位真实存在的上帝真的在说话,不听他的话只能让我们自找苦吃。然而很少有人相信,圣经就是这位永活上帝所说的话,如果没有充分的证据证明圣经就是神的话,他们也是不能信。其次,我们需要看几个令人鼓舞的实例,查看神的话如何点燃并保守我们的喜乐。最后,我激励大家每天默想神的话语,使我们心意更新而变化。 ,使我们能以真理束腰,让神的话语须臾不离开我们。

耶稣 – 圣经中信心的根基

1)限于我们分享的时间有限,因此我首先和大家分享是 为什么我认为圣经就是神的话。耶稣基督就是我信心的根基。我们并不需要先相信圣经是准确无误的之后,才能认识它所记载的那位非凡的历史人物。对我来说,这位历史人物耶稣既不可能是骗子也不可能是疯子,我只能相信他就是他就自己所宣称的那一位。他所宣称的既不是骗子的谎言,也不是疯子的狂话,他带着权柄说出这些话,他赦免人的罪、医治患病的人、赶出魔鬼、鉴察敌对者的内心,他爱他的仇敌、为罪人而死并从死里复活。他做这一切并不是要欺名盗世,而是因为他就是永活的上帝之子,为拯救世人来到这个世界 。他的一言一行让我深信他就是自己所宣称的那一位。

以耶稣为主线我读了旧约,又读了新约。新约四福音书从不同的角度证实了耶稣认为旧约就是神的话的看法。耶稣在《马太福音》五章十七节中说他来不是要废掉律法与先知,而是要成全;耶稣在《马太福音》二十二章二十九节中说那些撒都该人错了,因为他们不明白圣经;耶稣在《马可福音》七章八至九节,拿人的遗传与旧约中神的诫命做了比较;耶稣在《路加福音》二十四章四十四节告诉门徒摩西律法、先知书和《诗篇》上凡指着他所说的话,都必应验;耶稣在《约翰福音》十章三十五节直接说:“经上的话是不能废的。” 可见,我所读的旧约是神的话,因为耶稣就是这么说的。

关于新约是神的话的六个观察

但是耶稣并没有继续在地上生活,以证实新约就是神的话。

我坚信新约就是神的话是基于我所观察到六个事实,这些事实足以证实新约就是神的话的可信性。

1)耶稣拣选了十二个门徒代表他的权柄在地上建立教会。他离世的时候应许说:“圣灵…要将一切的事指教你们,并且要叫你们想起我对你们所说的一切话”(约14:26;16:13)。

2)然后使徒保罗解释说,他和其他使徒们受复活的基督所托,传讲“不是用人的智慧所指教的言语,乃是用圣灵所指教的言语,用属灵的话解释属灵的事” (林后2:13) ——耶稣离世时关于“圣灵保惠师”的应许在此得以成就,而保罗本身所经历的从迫害基督徒到建造信徒的归正也令人惊诧 。

3)彼得在《彼得后书》三章十六节说到保罗书信时,也确认感动保罗写出这些书信的灵(彼后1:21),正是感动人们写出旧约的灵。

4)所有新约书卷都是出于那些早期领受的圣灵的特别启示,并由使徒以及与他们关系密切的同工之手写作成书。

5)这些书卷中所表达的真理印证了我们在现实生活中的经历,它一方面讲到上帝的圣洁和人类的罪,这是我们的肉眼可以看见的;另一方面它讲到基督的死与复活是我们唯一的盼望,这是我们需要凭着信心去经历的,圣经真理契合了我们眼见的现实和眼所不见的心之盼望。

6)最后,正如浸信会问答集里所说:“圣经见证自己是上帝的话语,是因为它蕴涵着使罪人悔改、使圣徒得蒙造就的力量。”

基于这些原因,每当我读旧约和新约的时候,都会把它们当作神的话来读。在我的生命中上帝并不静默,他总是适时地提醒并指教我各样事情。我知道这是他按己意向我所施的奇异恩典,使我能够一生致力于解明他的话语并教导他的教会。 当圣经向我们说话时,就是上帝在向我们说话,就是说圣经所说的一切关于上帝话语的内容都是真实可信的。我在准备这篇信息时清楚地感受到圣经对神话语至高价值的肯定。神话语中蕴涵着何等丰富的宝藏! “都比金子可羡慕,且比极多的精金可羡慕;比蜜甘甜,且比蜂房下滴的蜜甘甜”(诗19:10)。

神的话是我们的生命

2)下面我们来看今天早上分享的第二点,这里有一些例子能够说明圣经对我们具有何等重要的价值。为什么默想神的话会带给我们生命的喜乐? 我今日与你们所分享的大部分细节,你们可能很快就会忘记,但是我希望你能记住圣经具有多么宝贵的价值 , 这会让你们更殷勤,更深入、更愉快地研读圣经。想一想这将为你生命带来何等的益处。

摩西在申命记三十二章四十六至四十七节说:“我今日所警教你们的,你们都要放在心上,要吩咐你们的子孙谨守遵行这律法上的话。因为这不是虚空与你们无关的事,乃是你们的生命。” 圣经所讲述的不是虚空的事,而是关乎人生死的大事。人若忽视神的话,就等于放弃了自己的生命。我们的肉体生命是由神的话生的,神用他的话创造了我们(诗33:9;来11:3),并“用他权能的命令托住万有”(来1:3)。我们属灵的生命也是由神生的:“他按自己的旨意用真道生了我们”(雅1:18); “你们蒙了重生…..是借着神活泼常存的道”(彼前1:23)。我们不仅靠神的话语而生,而且靠神的话语而活:“人活着不是单靠食物,乃是靠神口里所出的一切话”(太4:4;申8:3)。我们肉体的生命由神的话语而出,也由神的话语托住;我们属灵的生命由神的话语重生,并靠的话语存活。 总之,圣经所讲的不是“一件可有可无的事,而是关乎我们生命的事!”

神的话生出信心与盼望

生命是由神的话生的,也是由神的话维系的,因为使人生出信心并使这个信心得以维系的正是神的话。约翰说:“但记这些事,要叫你们信耶稣是基督,是神的儿子,并且叫你们信了他,就可以因他的名得生命”(约20:31)。使徒保罗也说:“信道是从听道来的,听道是从神的话来的”(罗10:17)。我们重生的信心以及活出真道的信心都是从我们所听到的神的话而来。如果信心在我们每天的生活中都具有永恒的重要价值,圣经也同样对我们每一天的生命具有永恒的价值。

圣经有时讲到信心和盼望其实是同一个词。“信是所望之事的实底”(来11:1)。如果我们对未来没有盼望,那么我们就会沮丧气馁并失去喜乐的心。 盼望使基督徒大有喜乐(罗15:13)。我们如何使自己常存盼望呢? 《诗篇》的作者这样说:“他在雅各中立法度,在以色列中设律法,是他吩咐我们祖宗要传给子孙的……好叫他们仰望神”(诗78:5-7)。保罗则直接说:“从前所写的圣经都是为教训我们写的,叫我们因圣经所生的忍耐和安慰,可以得着盼望”(罗15:4)。建立神百姓心中的盼望,这正是整本圣经的主旨和大能。

神的话语使人得自由和智慧

生命的另一个重要的组成要素就是自由。如果我们不能脱离仇恨的捆绑,如果我们被心中所爱束缚,我们就不能快乐。那么我们到哪里找寻真正的自由呢?《诗篇》一百一十九篇四十五节说:“我要自由而行,因我素来考究你的训词。” 耶稣说:“你们必晓得真理,真理必叫你们得以自由”(约8:32)。 为了使我们不致遗漏他话里的重点,耶稣在《约翰福音》十七章十七节中又说:“求你用真理使他们成圣,你的道就是真理。” 神的话就是真理,使我们免受欺骗。 神的话破除一切虚假的快乐,使我们的脚步不致因愚昧犯罪而绊跌。“你的话是我脚前的灯,是我路上的光”(诗119:105)。 “我将你的话藏在心里,免得我得罪你”(诗119:11;比较 诗119:9)。神的应许使我们得着释放,使我们能被神的灵所引导:“他已将又宝贵、又极大的应许赐给我们,叫我们既脱离世上从情欲来的败坏,就得与神的性情有份”(彼后1:4;比较 约15:3)。 当我们默想并信靠圣经中神的话语时,我们就得着释放,且能被圣灵引导,使我们更像神。

当然,圣经并没有解答我们在生活中所遇到的每一个问题。神并没有为我们遇到的每一个选择提供具体的圣经指导。这时我们需要运用自己的智慧,但我们的智慧也是源于神话语的恩赐。就像经文所说:“耶和华的法度确定,使愚人有智慧……耶和华的命令清洁,能明亮人的眼目”(《诗篇》19:7-8; 比较 《诗篇》119:98)。那些心中充满神的话语且顺服他旨意的人,便拥有神永恒的智慧,这智慧远胜于世上一切人的智慧。

神的话语具有修复和安慰的功效

然而,我们弯曲悖逆的本性以及对事物不完全的认识,常使我们一再地陷入愚蠢的行为和危险的境地之中。 这时我们会遭遇患难,极需得着恢复与安慰。我们到哪里寻求安慰呢? 让我们再来看看《诗篇》的作者怎么说:“这话将我救活了。我在患难中,因此得安慰……耶和华啊,我记念你从古以来的典章,就得了安慰”(诗119:50,52)。当失败与患难威胁到我们的信心时,我们当转向哪里去重建这失落的信心呢? 约翰邀请我们转向神的话:“我将这些话写给你们信奉神儿子之名的人,要叫你们知道自己有永生”(约一5:13)。圣经就是证明我们有永生的确据。

撒旦最大的目标就是摧毁我们因信而有的喜乐,我们抵挡牠的武器就是圣灵的宝剑——神的话(弗6:17)。然而许多基督徒尚未意识到,这宝剑必须佩戴在自己身上。我们如果没有佩戴圣灵的宝剑 —— 将神的话存在我们心里(约15:7),就会在撒旦的攻击面前束手无策;我们如果没有佩戴圣灵的宝剑,就没有办法挥舞圣灵的宝剑保护自己。 但是如果我们配带了圣灵的宝剑,就会成为一名大能的勇士! “少年人哪,我曾写信给你们,因为你们刚强,神的道常存在你们心里,你们也胜了那恶者”(约一2:14)。

专注神的话

3)可见圣经是神的话,神的话并不是可有可无的,它是我们的生命、信仰、盼望、自由、引导、智慧、安慰,是我们得胜仇敌撒旦的保证和确据。 那些最熟识神话语的人会由衷地说“耶和华的训词正直,能快活人的心”这样的话时会感到惊奇吗?“我要在你的律例中自乐,我不忘记你的话”(诗119:16);“我何等爱慕你的律法,终日不住地思想”(诗119:97);“我以你的法度为永远的产业,因这是我心中所喜爱的”(诗119:111);“我得着你的言语,就当食物吃了,你的言语是我心中的欢喜快乐,因为我是称为你名下的人”(耶15:16)。然而我们是在追求那些基督教快乐主义者所追求的快乐吗? 我们是用神的话语点燃喜乐的火焰吗? 我们是借着每日思想神的话追寻至高的喜乐吗? 是的,我们的确是这样做的。因为主说:“这些事情我已经对你们说了,是要叫我的喜乐存在你们心里,并叫你们的喜乐可以满足”(约15:11)。

在今天这样一个纪念改教运动的主日,我恳求大家不要让那些殉道者的血白流;不要让马丁·路德、墨兰顿、加尔文、慈运理的努力白费。上帝兴起这些人,为的就是让我们能够明白圣经。我们若是以轻忽怠慢的态度对待圣经,那无异于对上帝的蔑视和对圣徒的侮辱。马丁·路德与其他曾经在世上生活过的人一样清楚地知道,每个与耶稣同在的日子并不总是幸福甜蜜。据史学家罗伦·培登的著作,下面这些文字是在路德最忧伤的日子里写出来的:

尽管世界鬼魔当道,
他却威胁不到我们丝毫,
我们无所畏惧,因为神已定意
借我们显明他在真理上的胜利。
黑暗之子的严酷,
不能使我们吓倒—
面对他的狂怒,我们心无畏惧,
看哪,他的结局已定:
神的话语必使他倾覆殆尽。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

The Bible: Kindling for Christian Hedonism

The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul; the testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple; the precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart; the commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes; the fear of the Lord is clean, enduring forever; the ordinances of the Lord are true, and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold, even much fine gold; sweeter also than honey and drippings of the honeycomb. Moreover by them is thy servant warned; in keeping them there is great reward.

Christian Hedonism is very much aware that every day with Jesus is not "sweeter than the day before." Some days with Jesus our disposition is as sour as raw persimmons. Some days with Jesus we are so sad we feel our heart will break open. Some days with Jesus fear turns us into a knot of nerve ends. Some days with Jesus we are so depressed and discouraged that between the garage and the house we just want to sit down on the grass and cry. Every day with Jesus is not sweeter than the day before. We know it from experience and we know it from Scripture. For the text says (Psalm 19:7), "The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul." If every day with Jesus is sweeter than the day before, we wouldn't need to be revived.

The Bible Kindles Joy

The reason David praised God with the words, "He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul," is because he had bad days. There were days when his soul needed to be restored. It's the same phrase used in Psalm 19:7—"the law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul." Normal Christian life is a repeated process of restoration and renewal. Our joy is not static. It fluctuates with real life. It is as vulnerable to Satan's attacks as a Lebanese marine compound to a suicide bomber. When Paul says in 2 Corinthians 1:24, "Not that we lord it over your faith, but we are workers with you for your joy," we should emphasize it this way: "We are workers with you for your joy." The preservation of our joy in God takes work. It is a fight. Our adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, and he has an insatiable appetite to destroy one thing: the joy of faith.

But the Holy Spirit has given us a shield called faith and a sword called the Word of God and a power called prayer to defend and extend our joy. Or, to change the image, when Satan huffs and puffs and tries to blow out the flame of your joy, you have an endless supply of kindling in the Word of God. And even though there are days when we feel that every cinder in our soul is cold, yet if we crawl to the Word of God and cry out for ears to hear, the cold ashes will be lifted and the tiny spark of life will be fanned, because, "The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul." The Bible is the kindling of Christian Hedonism.

My aim this morning is to motivate you to wear the sword of the Spirit, the Word of God, and to wield it for the preservation of your joy in God. There are three steps we need to climb together. First, we need to know why we accept the Bible as the word of God. Almost everybody in the world would agree that if the one and true God has spoken, then there will be no lasting happiness for people who ignore his word. But very few people really believe that the Bible is the word of the living God. Nor should they believe it without sufficient reasons. Second, we need to see some encouraging examples of how the Bible kindles and preserves our joy. Finally, we need to hear a practical challenge to renew our daily meditation in the Word of God, and to bind that sword so close around our waist that we are never without it.

Jesus—The Foundation for Confidence in the Bible

1) In the limitations of time that we have, perhaps the best way to take the first step is for me to commend to you why I accept the Bible as the word of God. The foundation of my confidence is Jesus Christ. You don't need to believe first that the Bible is infallible in order to know that it presents you with a historical person of incomparable qualities. The possibility that the historical Jesus was a con artist or a lunatic is to me so remote that I am drawn to confess that he is true. His claims are not the propaganda of a deceiver or the presumption of a schizophrenic. He speaks with authority, forgives sin, heals the sick, casts out demons, penetrates the hearts of his opponents, loves his enemies, dies for sinners, and leaves behind an empty grave, not because he pulled the wool over the eyes of the world but because he is the ever-living Son of God who came to save the world. He has won my trust through his words and deeds.

From Jesus I move backward to the Old Testament and forward to the New Testament. All four gospels present different evidence that Jesus considered the Old Testament to be the word of God. In Matthew 5:17 Jesus says he came not to abolish but to fulfill the law and the prophets, and in Matthew 22:29 he says that the Sadducees err because they don't know the Scriptures. In Mark 7:8–9 Jesus contrasts man-made traditions with the commandment of God in the Old Testament. In Luke 24:44 he tells the disciples that everything written about him in the law of Moses and the prophets and the psalms must be fulfilled. And in John 10:35 he said simply, "Scripture cannot be broken." Therefore, I read the Old Testament as the word of God because Jesus did.

Six Observations on the New Testament as God's Word

But Jesus did not stay on earth to endorse the New Testament. My confidence in the New Testament as God's word rests on a group of observations which taken together provide a reasonable ground of confidence.

1) Jesus chose twelve apostles to be his authoritative representatives in founding the church. He promised them at the end of his life, "The Holy Spirit . . . will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said" (John 14:26; 16:13).

2) Then the apostle Paul, whose stunning conversion from a life of murdering Christians to making Christians demands some special explanation, explains that he (and the other apostles) have been commissioned by the risen Christ to preach "in words not taught by human wisdom but taught by the Spirit" (1 Corinthians 2:13). Christ's prediction is being fulfilled through this inspiration.

3) Peter confirms this in 2 Peter 3:16 by putting Paul's writings in the same category with the inspired (2 Peter 1:21) Old Testament writings.

4) All the New Testament writings come from those earliest days of promised special revelation and were written by the apostles and their close associates.

5) The message of these books has the ring of truth because it makes sense out of so much reality. The message of God's holiness and our guilt on the one hand, and Christ's death and resurrection as our only hope on the other hand—that message fits the reality we see and the hope we long for and don't see.

6) Finally, as the Baptist Catechism says, "The Bible evidences itself to be God's word by . . . its power to convert sinners and edify saints."

For these reasons, when I read the Old and New Testaments, I read them as the word of God. God is not silent in my life. He is uncomfortably vocal and precise about all kinds of things. I count it as a singular act of grace on his part that he has appointed for me that my life work is to understand his word and teach his church. When the Bible speaks, God speaks. Which means that the things said about the word of God in the Bible apply to the Bible. And I have been simply overwhelmed in preparing for this message by how much the Bible has to say about the value of the word of God. What a treasure we have in the very words of God! "More to be desired are they than gold, even much fine gold, sweeter also than honey and drippings of the honeycomb" (Psalm 19:10).

The Word of God Is Your Life

2) That leads us to the second step this morning, namely, some examples of how the Bible has so much value for us. Why is a life of meditation on Holy Scripture a life of joy? Most of the specifics I want to give you may soon be forgotten, but I hope the total impact of the Bible's value will make you want to read it more regularly, more deeply, and more joyfully. Consider these benefits.

In Deuteronomy 32:46–47 Moses says, "Lay to heart all the words which I enjoin upon you this day, that you may command them to your children, that they may be careful to do all the words of this law. For it is no trifle for you, but it is your life." The Bible is not a trifle; it is a matter of life and death. If you treat the Word of God as a trifle, you forfeit life. Our physical life depends on God's Word because by his word we were created (Psalm 33:9; Hebrews 11:3), and "he upholds the universe by the word of his power" (Hebrews 1:3). Our spiritual life begins by the Word of God: James 1:18, "By his own will he brought us forth by the word of truth." "You have been born anew . . . through the living and abiding word of God" (1 Peter 1:23). And not only do we begin to live by God's Word, we go on living by God's Word: "Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God" (Matthew 4:4; Deuteronomy 8:3). Our physical life is created and upheld by the word of God, and our personal-spiritual life is born anew and lived by the word of God. Therefore, the Bible is "no trifle for you, it is your life!"

The Word of God Begets Faith and Hope

The Word of Christ begets and sustains life because it begets and sustains faith. "These things are written," John says, "that you might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that believing you may have life in his name" (John 20:31). "Faith comes by hearing," writes the apostle Paul, "and hearing by the word of Christ" (Romans 10:17). The faith that starts our life in Christ and the faith by which we go on living come from hearing the Word of God. If faith is of eternal importance for your daily life, so is the Bible.

Sometimes faith and hope are virtually synonyms in Scripture. "Faith is the assurance of things hoped for" (Hebrews 11:1). Without this hope for the future we get discouraged and depressed and our joy drains away. Hope is absolutely essential to Christian joy (Romans 15:13). And how do we maintain hope? The psalmist puts it like this (78:5–7), "He established a testimony in Jacob and appointed a law in Israel which he commanded our fathers to teach to their children . . . so that they might set their hope in God." Paul puts it so plainly: "Whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that by the steadfastness and by the encouragement of the scriptures we might have hope" (Romans 15:4). The whole Bible has this aim and this power: to create hope in the hearts of God's people.

The Word of God Sets Free and Provides Wisdom

Another essential element of life is freedom. None of us would be happy if we were not free from what we hate and free for what we love. And where do we find true freedom? Psalm 119:45 says, "I shall walk in freedom, for I sought thy precepts." And Jesus says, "You shall know the truth and the truth shall make you free" (John 8:32). And lest we miss the point, he says later in John 17:17, "Sanctify them in the truth; thy word is truth." The word of God is divine truth that frees us from deception. It breaks the power of counterfeit pleasures, and keeps us free from stumbling into the stupidity of sin. "Thy word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path" (Psalm 119:105). "I have laid up thy word in my heart that I might not sin against thee" (Psalm 119:11; cf. v. 9). The promises of God are the liberating, guiding power of godliness: "Through his precious and very great promises you escape from the corruption that is in the world . . . and become partakers of the divine nature" (2 Peter 1:4; cf. John 15:3). Freedom, guidance, likeness to God—all these come to us as we meditate upon and trust the Word of God, the Bible.

Of course, the Bible does not answer every question about life. Every fork in the road does not have a biblical arrow. We have need of wisdom in ourselves. But that, too, is a gift of Scripture. As the text says, "The testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple . . . the commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes" (Psalm 19:7–8; cf. 119:98). People whose minds are saturated with God's Word and submissive to his thoughts have a wisdom that eternity will prove to be superior to all the secular wisdom in the world.

The Word of God Restores and Comforts

Nevertheless, our bent will and imperfect perceptions lead us time and again into foolish acts and harmful situations. That day is not sweeter than the day before, and we need restoration and comfort. Where can we turn for comfort? We can follow the psalmist again: "This is my comfort in my affliction, that thy promise gives me life . . . When I think of thy ordinances from of old, I take comfort, O Lord" (Psalm 119:50, 52). And when our failures and our afflictions threaten our assurance of faith, where do we turn to rebuild our confidence? John invites us to turn to the Word of God: "I write this to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternal life" (1 John 5:13). The Bible is written to give us assurance of eternal life.

Satan's number one objective is to destroy your joy of faith. You have one offensive weapon: the sword of the Spirit, the Word of God (Ephesians 6:17). But what many Christians fail to realize is that you can't draw the sword from someone else's scabbard. If you don't wear it, if the Word of God does not abide in you (John 15:7), you will reach for it in vain. If you don't wear it, you can't wield it. But if you do, what a mighty warrior you will be! "I write to you, young men, because you are strong and the word of God abides in you, and you have overcome the evil one" (1 John 2:14).

Devote Yourselves to the Word of God

3) So the Bible is the Word of God, and the Word of God is no trifle. It is the source of life and faith and hope and freedom and guidance and wisdom and comfort and assurance and victory over our greatest enemy. Is it any wonder, then, that those who knew best said, "The precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart" (Psalm 19:8)? "I will delight in thy statutes, I will not forget thy word" (Psalm 119:16). "Oh, how I love thy law, it is my meditation all the day" (Psalm 119:97). "Thy testimonies are my heritage for ever, yea, they are the joy of my heart" (Psalm 119:111). "Thy words were found, and I ate them, and thy words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart; for I am called by thy name" (Jeremiah 15:16). But are we to pursue this joy like Christian Hedonists? Are we to throw the kindling of God's Word on the fire of joy? Are we to pursue our holy pleasure by meditating on the Word of Christ? Indeed, we are. For the Lord himself has said, "These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you and your joy may be full" (John 15:11).

On this Reformation Sunday I beseech you not to let the blood of the martyrs be spilled in vain. Don't let the labors of Luther, Melanchthon, Calvin, and Zwingli be spent out in vain. God raised them up to free the Holy Scriptures for us. We despise God and insult his saints if we treat the Bible as a trifle in our lives. Martin Luther knew as well as any man who ever lived that every day with Jesus is not sweeter than the day before. And according to Roland Bainton, he wrote these words in the year of his deepest depression:

And though this world with devils filled
Should threaten to undo us,
We will not fear, for God has willed
His truth to triumph through us.
The prince of darkness grim,
We tremble not for him—
His rage we can endure,
For lo, his doom is sure:
One little word shall fell him.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org