讲道在敬拜中的位置

“圣经都是神所默示的(或作:凡神所默示的圣经),于教训、督责、使人归正、教导人学义都是有益的, (17) 叫属神的人得以完全,预备行各样的善事。 (4:1) 我在神面前,并在将来审判活人死人的基督耶稣面前,凭着他的显现和他的国度嘱咐你: (2) 务要传道,无论得时不得时,总要专心;并用百般的忍耐,各样的教训,责备人、警戒人、劝勉人。 (3) 因为时候要到,人必厌烦纯正的道理,耳朵发痒,就随从自己的情欲,增添好些师傅, (4) 并且掩耳不听真道,偏向荒渺的言语。 (5) 你却要凡事谨慎,忍受苦难,作传道的工夫,尽你的职分。”

集体敬拜时,为什么把神的话语特别重要?

在关于敬拜的讲道系列中——还要两周才能讲完,我们要来问这样一个问题:在集体敬拜中,为什么把讲道摆在那么显著的地位?在典型的主日崇拜中,差不多要用一半或更多时间传讲上帝的话语。那是个很大的比例,所以我们要作些解释。

然而,这又不是神学院,你们不用准备讲道,为什么我要来教大家关于讲道的事情呢?我有三个简单的理由。首先,如果你明白了圣经关于讲道的教训,就会在听道时更好地配合。其次,如果你明白了圣经所说的讲道应该是什么样子,你就能评估所听的道是不是正确、有价值。第三,如果你知道了真正的讲道是什么样子,就会在我退休后,懂得去分辨和邀请那些合适的传道人来这里服事了。因此,讲道这事情,对你的生命、你的家庭以及教会的未来,都有很深远的意义;而且不只咱们教会,对所有的教会都有借鉴意义!所以,上帝的百姓都应该知道,什么是合乎圣经的真正的讲道,以及为什么它在集体敬拜中那么重要。

“为什么讲道在集体敬拜中如此重要?”这个问题其实包含两个部分。一:为什么上帝的话语那么重要?第二:为什么这种呈现上帝话语(讲道)的方式那么重要?人们完全可以自己读半小时圣经,而不需要去听讲道,不也算很看重上帝的话语吗?或者,有人可以带领大家花半个小时讨论圣经,或者,可以把这时间花在对圣经的学术研究上,比如分析当中的词汇、语法、历史背景等等,不是也很好吗?因此,我们就必须同时问这两方面的问题,不仅要问为什么话语很重要,而且要问为什么讲道这个方式也很重要?

先来回答第一个问题:为什么在我们的集体敬拜中,上帝的话语要摆在重要位置。

上帝将他自己作为话语并且借着话语而启示出来

第一个原因就是,上帝把自己当做话语并借着话语启示出来。《约翰福音》1:1说,“太初有道(英文译做‘话语’。——译注)。”在最初就有的,不是诗歌,不是戏剧,上帝向我们启示他的儿子,就是神,是作为话语(道)出现的。这一点至关重要。“太初有道。”上帝的儿子就是上帝的话语(道)。圣子就是上帝要向世人传达的,就是上帝的话语。

上帝不仅作为话语,而且也借着话语启示他自己。一起看今天的经文,《提摩太后书》3:16,“圣经都是神所默示的。”这就意味着,上帝命定的方式,就是通过记录下来的他所默示的话语,对我们说话,启示他自己,解释他在历史中的作为。“经卷(scripture)”的词意就是文字记载(writings)。圣经“都是”,就是说所有的圣经——犹太教与基督教正典书卷——都是默示的(inspired),是上帝呼气了的(God-breathed)。或者,正如《彼得后书》1:21所说的,“因为预言从来没有出于人意的,乃是人被圣灵感动,说出神的话来。”新旧约圣经,就是上帝向我们启示他自己的书卷。

因此,为什么要把话语摆在敬拜程序中的重要位置,我们首先的回答是,上帝正是作为话语,也是借着话语,启示了他自己。如果敬拜要成为属灵层面跟上帝的交流,并且是对上帝之尊敬和爱的回应,那么,敬拜的核心位置必须是上帝的启示,而他已经命定,这启示主要通过话语让世人认识。

上帝借着他的话语成就他的工作

但是,我们还有更多理由。敬拜,乃是对上帝工作的一种回应,而上帝在世上的工作,主要就是借助他的话语进行的。起初就是这样,上帝以话语创造万物(来11:3)。那以后也是这样,上帝借着话语施行他奇妙的作为。比如我们都知道,耶稣简单地说话,海浪就平息了(可4:39),发烧的人降温了(路4:39),污鬼被赶出去了(可1:25),罪得赦免了(可2:10),瞎子的眼睛看见了(路18:42),连死人也复活了(路7:14)。上帝借着他的话语来工作!

而且我们还知道,上帝仍然在借着他的话语工作。再来看看今天的主题经文:《提摩太后书》3:16-17:“圣经都是神所默示的,于教训、督责、使人归正、教导人学义都是有益的,叫属神的人得以完全,预备行各样的善事。”换句话说,上帝是借着他的话语,教他的百姓行善。也正因此,耶稣会说,当人们看见你们的好行为,便将荣耀归给你们在天上的父(太5:16)。连贯起来表达就是:上帝借着他的话语,通过他的百姓,在世上做成他的工作。

在圣经中,我们一次又一次看到这样的例子。比如,《诗篇》1:3说,若有人昼夜思想神的话语,他就“要像一棵树栽在溪水旁,按时候结果子,叶子也不枯干。凡他所做的尽都顺利。”可见,神的话语会结出果子来,并且使人在上帝的旨意当中顺利发展。或者,《希伯来书》4:12,“神的道是活泼的,是有功效的,比一切两刃的剑更快,甚至魂与灵,骨节与骨髓,都能刺入、剖开,连心中的思念和主意都能辨明。”可见神的话语乃是上帝的工具,可以完成让人知罪和审判的伟大工作。还有《约翰福音》17:17的经文,耶稣向天父祷告说,“求你用真理使他们成圣;你的道就是真理。”上帝也是通过话语让人成圣的。这样的例子不胜枚举。

这里的要点就是,敬拜乃是从他的工作中认识、称赞以及享受神。而他的工作就在他的话语中显明,也借着他的话语施行。所以,我们就应该把这话语摆在敬拜的重要位置上。

上帝借着他的话语让人重生

为什么把神的话语摆在敬拜的重要位置,还有一个理由。敬拜,最终取决于那使人重生、使人信心不断复苏的持续的属灵奇迹。而这些神迹,都是上帝借着话语达成的。例如,《彼得前书》1:23,“你们蒙了重生,不是由于能坏的种子,乃是由于不能坏的种子,是藉着神活泼常存的道。”重生乃是上帝的工作,而且同样借着话语来完成。这就意味着,我们之真诚敬拜所需要的生命,是借着话语而来的。没有生命,就没有敬拜。而没有话语,就不会有生命。

不仅如此,我们的信心一周又一周持续获得复苏和更新,也是借着聆听基督的话语成就:“可见信道是从听道来的,听道是从基督的话来的。”(罗10:17)——不只第一次是这样,而且日复一日,都是如此。

因此,在新教的教会中,上帝的话语被摆在集体敬拜中最显著的地位,这是因为,敬拜是仰望与享受上帝,而上帝又是作为话语且借着话语来启示自己的。特别要指出的是,上帝在世上的工作,就是借着他的话语来施行的,而且,他又借着话语赐下新的重生的生命,使人的信心不断更新。离开上帝的话语,就不会有新生命,也不会有信心,工作,启示,也就没有敬拜可言了。上帝的话语对于敬拜来说,就像空气之于呼吸那么重要。

为什么讲道在集体敬拜当中如此重要?

现在来看第二个问题:就算上帝的话语应该在敬拜中占据突出地位,那么,这个特别的传讲话语的形式——“讲道”,又为什么被特别强调呢?

请留意今天的经文,紧接在宣称圣经都是神所默示的之后(提后3:16-17),出现的是什么。保罗紧接着说的是(4:1-2),而且以非常严肃和慎重的口吻,“我在神面前,并在将来审判活人死人的基督耶稣面前,凭着他的显现和他的国度嘱咐你:务要传道。”因此,很明显的,对于提摩太这位服事话语的年轻传道人来说(参见,提后2:15),传道,也就是传讲神的话语,必须是他的首要工作。而3:16-17的上下文也好像在暗示,传道不仅是布道家在街头巷尾,或在犹太会堂里领人归主时需要的,而且也应该是蒙恩得救的圣徒需要的,因为他们需要(正如4:2所言)被“教训,责备、警戒、和劝勉。”

简单说,我们之所以讲道,是因为《提摩太后书》4:2说了,我们应该如此行。不过,我想再进一步,继续问下去,为什么会这样呢?在上帝对于各样事物的计划中,非要让讲道在敬拜中突显出来,为什么在神看这是最合适的呢?

旧约和新约当中的先例

答案是,在圣经里已经有先例,人们会在公众敬拜的过程中,宣读和解释上帝的话语。比如《尼希米记》8:6-8,记载,“以斯拉称颂耶和华至大的神;众民都举手应声说:‘阿们!阿们!’就低头,面伏于地,敬拜耶和华。 耶书亚、……和利未人使百姓明白律法;百姓都站在自己的地方。他们清清楚楚地念神的律法书,讲明意思,使百姓明白所念的。”可见,当时不仅宣读律法,而且还有蒙召被指派的人“使百姓明白律法”,“讲明意思。”,而根据记载,这一切都是在特别情境中进行的——伴随着称颂神、举手以及面伏于地的敬拜。

新约圣经记载,犹太人的会堂沿袭了这个模式。例如,《路加福音》4:16及下文,耶稣服事的早期,来到拿撒勒,并且在安息日进入那里的会堂,朗读先知以赛亚的经文,乃是关乎他自己的降临,之后就坐下来,而且开口解释道:“今天这经应验在你们耳中了”(路4:21)。那就是当时很典型的会堂里的模式:人们宣读上帝的话语,然后加以解释,然后大家去应用。

你们也可以在《使徒行传》中看到这样的例子。保罗来到彼西底的安提阿,进入会堂,《使徒行传》13:14-15记载,“他们离了别加往前行,来到彼西底的安提阿,在安息日进会堂坐下。读完了律法和先知的书,管会堂的,叫人过去,对他们说:‘二位兄台,若有什么劝勉众人的话,请说。’”于是,保罗就站起来对他们讲道(16-31节)。

因此,使讲道成为教会核心事工的第一个理由是,在旧约和新约时代的会堂,这模式已经确立。

敬拜的双重本质

但是,讲道如此重要,还有两个比这更深刻的原因,它们涉及敬拜的双重本质:明白神,以及以神为乐。约拿单•爱德华兹(Jonathan Edwards)这样来解释上帝在敬拜中的目的:

上帝也是在两个层面上在他的创造物中荣耀自己:1. 在头脑理解层面。2. 在他们的心里传递和表达他自己,让他们喜爱、享受和欢庆神的显现……上帝之得着荣耀,不仅因为他的荣耀显现,而且还因为他的荣耀被人享受。当看到这荣耀的人也能享受它时,上帝就会得着极大的荣耀,胜过只被人看到。那时他的荣耀将会被人的全部生命接纳,包括理智悟性层面,也包括心灵情感层面。1

因此,真正的敬拜,总是由两部分组成的。我们可以用对应方式表达:一边是注目上帝,另一边是尽情享受上帝。你不能把这两者分开。若要享受他,就必须看见他。而且,假如你在看见他的时候不去享受他,就是在侮辱他。或者用另一个对应方式表达:敬拜中总是同时有头脑理解的层面,和心灵感受的层面。理解力和悟性,必须作为感情的基础,否则我们就只有毫无根基的感情主义。而另一方面,如果只有对上帝的理解,却未能转化或升华为对上帝的情感,那么我们拥有的就只是理智主义和死寂的沉闷。这就是为什么圣经一直在呼召我们,要一方面用头脑思考、计算、默想、记念,而另一方面,也要用心灵去享受、敬畏、哀哭、欢喜、盼望以及快乐等等。这两方面对于敬拜而言都是非常关键的。

这样,讲道之所以成为敬拜中传讲上帝话语的主要方式,正是因为真正的讲道,会始终把敬拜的这两个层面结合在一起,无论是在表达方式上,还是要达成的目标上。当保罗对提摩太说(提后4:2)“务要传道”时,所使用的“传”这个动词,意思乃是“通报”、“宣布”或“传扬”(希腊文是κηρυξον)。它不单包含教导或解释这个意思。而且有点像传令官或街头公告员的意思:“大家听着!注意听好啦!国王要对效忠他的臣民宣布一个好消息,凡是信靠和爱他儿子的人,他就赐给他永生!”我把这种通报称之为“狂喜。”讲道就是一种公众场合的,针对其所宣讲之真理的——狂喜!它不应该是那种事不关己的、冷酷的、中性的言辞。讲道的人应该对所传讲的内容充满激情。

当然,这种通报也包含着教导的成分。回头看看《提摩太后书》3:16的经文,就会看到这个道理——圣经(讲道的根基)于“教训”……是有益的。并且,继续往前看,在后续的《提摩太后书》4:2剩下的经文中,同样可以看到这个道理,“务要传道,无论得时不得时,总要专心;并用百般的忍耐,各样的教训,责备人、警戒人、劝勉人。”因此,讲道应该是释经性的。它涉及和处理的乃是上帝的话语。真正的讲道,不会只是从人而来的各种观念,而应该是对上帝话语忠实的讲解。

释经的狂喜

所以,如果用一个短语来表述,讲道就是“释经的狂喜。”

做个结论吧,讲道在敬拜中如此突出和重要,乃是因为敬拜不只是悟性的,也是感性的。它不只要人观看神,也要人去享受神。它不仅是头脑的回应,也是心灵的回应。因此,上帝命定的,在集体敬拜中所采用的分享上帝话语的方式,就不能只是针对头脑的解释,或只是针对心灵弄些刺激;上帝的话语应该同时指向头脑的教导与心灵的触摸这两方面;要显示基督的真理,也享受基督的荣耀;要解开上帝的话语,也让人在上帝的话语中狂喜与快乐。

这就是讲道应有的样式。也是讲道在敬拜中如此重要之原因。它不仅是人的工作。更是圣灵的恩赐与作为。因此,在大家祷告并且在属灵层面上有所预备的时候,它才会得到最好与最大的发挥。而这是我们下周要探讨的课题。就此刻而言,请大家为我祷告,也为你们自己祷告。让我们一起,尽我们所能来寻求,成为一群按照神的话语之大能而生活和敬拜的子民——让上帝的话语被阅读、背诵、教导,并且借着我们的讲道宣扬出去。阿们。

1Jonathan Edwards, The “Miscellanies,” ed. by Thomas Schafer, The Works of Jonathan Edwards, Vol. 13 (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1994), p, 495. Miscellany #448; see also #87, pp. 251-252; #332, p. 410; #679 (not in the New Haven Volume). Emphasis added. 约拿单•爱德华兹,The “Miscellanies,” 托马斯•薛华(Thomas Schafer)所编辑,《约拿单•爱德华兹全集》 ,第13卷(New Haven: Yale University Press, 耶鲁大学出版社,1994年),495页。Miscellany #448; 还有#87, 251-252页; #332, 410页; #679 (not in the New Haven Volume). 所强调部分乃笔者所标记的。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

The Place of Preaching in Worship

All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; (17) so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work. (4:1) I solemnly charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by His appearing and His kingdom: (2) preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction. (3) For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but wanting to have their ears tickled, they will accumulate for themselves teachers in accordance to their own desires, (4) and will turn away their ears from the truth and will turn aside to myths.

Why Is God's Word so Prominent in Corporate Worship?

In our series on worship, which will come to an end in two more weeks, we need to ask this question: Why is preaching so prominent in our corporate worship services? Almost half the time of a typical morning worship service is taken up with preaching the Word of God. That is a remarkable proportion and demands some explanation.

But why should I spend time teaching you about preaching, when you are not in seminary preparing to preach? There are three simple answers. First, you will know better what to do with preaching if you understand biblically why it is here. Second, you will be able to assess whether you are, in fact, hearing the right kind of preaching if you know biblically what it is supposed to be. Third, if you know what true preaching is, you will be able to discern and call the right kind of preacher when my time is up in this pulpit. So it has huge implications for your life and family and the future of the church - and all the churches - if the people of God know what true biblical preaching is and why it is so prominent in corporate worship.

Now this question - Why is preaching so prominent in corporate worship? - is really two questions. One is: Why is the Word of God so prominent? And the other is: Why is this form of presenting the Word of God so prominent? Someone could simply read the Bible for half an hour rather than listen to preaching, and that would certainly make the Word of God prominent. Or one could lead a discussion of the Bible for a half-hour. Or one could do mainly academic analyses of vocabulary and grammar and historical circumstances in the Bible. So we must ask not only why is the Word so prominent, but why is preaching, as such, so prominent.

Let's take the first question: Why the prominence of God's Word in our corporate worship?

God Revealed Himself as the Word and by the Word

The first reason is that God has chosen to reveal himself as the Word and by the Word. John 1:1 says, "In the beginning was the Word." Not in the beginning was the song, or in the beginning was the drama. God identifies his Son, who himself is God, as the Word. This is tremendously important. "In the beginning was the Word." The Son of God is the Word of God. He is God's communication to the world, God's Word.

God has also chosen to reveal himself not only as the Word but also by the Word. Look at our text, 2 Timothy 3:16, "All Scripture is inspired by God." This means that God ordained to speak to us and reveal himself to us and interpret his deeds in history for us by inspiring written words. That's what "scripture" means: writings. All the Scripture - all the writings in the Jewish-Christian canon - are inspired, God-breathed. Or as 2 Peter 1:21 says, "No prophecy was ever made by an act of human will, but men, moved by the Holy Spirit, spoke from God." The scriptures of the Old and New Testament are God's revelation of himself to us.

So the first two answers to why the Word is so prominent in worship is that God revealed himself as the Word and by the Word. If worship is meant to be a spiritual communion with God and a reverent, loving response to God, then at the heart of worship must be the revelation of God himself, and he has ordained to be known mainly by his Word.

God Performs His Work by His Word

But we can say more. Worship is a response to God's work, and the Word of God is the means by which he works in the world. This is the way it was in the beginning when God created by his Word (Hebrews 11:3). And this is the way it has been ever since as God performs great acts by his Word. For example, we know that Jesus simply spoke and seas were calmed (Mark 4:39), fevers were cooled (Luke 4:39), demons were cast out (Mark 1:25), sins were forgiven (Mark 2:10), the blind received their sight (Luke 18:42), the dead were raised (Luke 7:14). God worked by means of his Word!

But we also know that God goes on working by his Word. Consider our text again: 2 Timothy 3:16-17, "All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work." In other words, the way God brings about the good works of his people is by the Word. This is why Jesus said that men will see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven (Matthew 5:16). God works by his Word to do his works through his people in his world.

You can see this again and again in the Bible. For example, Psalm 1:3 says that the man who meditates on the Word of God day and night will "be like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither; and in whatever he does, he prospers." So the Word brings fruit and makes a person prosper in the will of God. Or consider Hebrews 4:12, "For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart." The Word is God's agent in the great work of conviction and judgment. Or recall John 17:17, where Jesus prays to his Father, "Sanctify them in the truth; Your word is truth." The great work of sanctification God does by the Word of God. And the list could go on and on.

The point is that worship is about knowing and admiring and savoring God through his works. And these works are seen in his Word and performed by his Word. Therefore the Word is prominent in worship.

God Brings About New Birth by His Word

Let me mention one other reason why the Word is so prominent in worship. Worship depends utterly on the spiritual miracle of the new birth and the ongoing work of reawakening faith. And these miracles God does by the Word. For example, 1 Peter 1:23, "You have been born again not of seed which is perishable but imperishable, that is, through the living and enduring word of God." New birth is worked by God through the Word. This means that the life we need to worship authentically comes by the Word. No life, no worship. No Word, no life.

Not only that, the constant reawakening of faith Sunday after Sunday comes by hearing the Word of Christ: "So faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ" (Romans 10:17) - not just the first time, but over and over again.

So the Protestant church has put the Word of God at the most prominent place in corporate worship because worship is a seeing and savoring of God himself, and God reveals himself as the Word, and by the Word. In particular, God does his works in the world by his Word and gives new life by his Word and awakens faith by his Word. Without the Word of God, there would be no life, no faith, no work, no revelation and no worship. The Word of God is to worship as air is to breathing.

Why Is Preaching so Prominent in Corporate Worship?

Now the second question is: Granted that the Word of God should be so prominent in worship, why is this particular form of the word called "preaching" so prominent?

Notice what follows in our text right after declaring that all Scripture is inspired by God (in 2 Timothy 3:16-17). Immediately Paul says (4:1-2), with amazing solemnity and high seriousness, "I solemnly charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by His appearing and His kingdom: preach the word." So it is clear that for this young minister of the Word (see 2 Timothy 2:15), preaching was to be a prominent activity. And the context of 3:16-17 seems to imply that preaching is not just for evangelism on the street corner or in the synagogue, but for the saints who need (as verse 2 says) "reproof, rebuke, exhortation, patience and instruction."

So we could say, we preach because 2 Timothy 4:2 says we should. But I want to go beneath that and ask Why? Why is it so fitting in God's scheme of things that preaching be so prominent in worship?

Old Testament and New Testament Precedents

One answer is that there is a biblical precedent for explaining the Scriptures in public worship. For example, in Nehemiah 8:6-8 it says, "Ezra blessed the LORD, the great God; and all the people answered, 'Amen, Amen,' lifting up their hands; and they bowed their heads and worshiped the LORD with their faces to the ground . . . the Levites, helped the people to understand the law, while the people remained in their places. And they read from the book, from the law of God, clearly; and they gave the sense, so that the people understood the reading" (RSV). So there was not only the reading of the law, but there were called and appointed men who "gave the sense" and "helped the people understand the law." And all that was in the context of blessing the Lord and lifting the hands and falling down in worship.

In the New Testament, the Jewish synagogue continued this pattern. For example, in Luke 4:16ff, Jesus came to Nazareth early in his ministry and entered the synagogue on the Sabbath and read from the prophet Isaiah about his own coming, and then sat down and began his interpretation: "Today this Scripture has been fulfilled in your hearing" (Luke 4:21). This was the typical synagogue pattern: the Word read and then an interpretation and application of the Word.

You see it also in the book of Acts. Paul comes to the synagogue in Pisidian Antioch and in Acts 13:14-15 it says, "On the Sabbath day they went into the synagogue and sat down. After the reading of the Law and the Prophets the synagogue officials sent to them, saying, 'Brethren, if you have any word of exhortation for the people, say it.'" And Paul stands up and preaches (verses 16-31).

So the first reason that preaching became central in the church was that this was the pattern established in the Old Testament and in the New Testament synagogue.

The Twofold Essence of Worship

But there are two reasons for the prominent place of preaching in worship that go deeper than this. They have to do with the twofold essence of worship: understanding God and delighting in God. Jonathan Edwards explains God's goal in worship like this:

God glorifies Himself toward the creatures also in two ways: 1. By appearing to . . . their understanding. 2. In communicating Himself to their hearts, and in their rejoicing and delighting in and enjoying the manifestations which He makes of Himself . . . God is glorified not only by His glory's being seen, but by its being rejoiced in. When those that see it delight in it, God is more glorified than if they only see it. His glory is then received by the whole soul, both by the understanding and by the heart.1

So there are always two parts to true worship. We can say it in two pairs: there is seeing God and there is savoring God. You can't separate these. You must see him to savor him. And if you don't savor him when you see him, you insult him. Or another pair would be this: in worship there is always understanding with the mind and there is always feeling in the heart. Understanding must always be the foundation of feeling, or all we have is baseless emotionalism. But understanding of God that doesn't give rise to feeling for God becomes mere intellectualism and deadness. This is why the Bible continually calls us to think and consider and meditate and remember on the one hand, and to rejoice and fear and mourn and delight and hope and be glad on the other hand. Both are essential for worship.

Now preaching is the form that the Word of God takes in worship because true preaching is the kind of speech that consistently unites these two aspects of worship, both in the way it is done and in the aims that it has. When Paul says to Timothy in 2 Timothy 4:2, "Preach the word," the word for "preach" is a word for "herald" or "announce" or "proclaim" (κηρυξον). It is not a simple word for teach or explain. It is what a town crier did: "Hear ye, Hear ye, Hear ye! The King has a proclamation of good news for all those who swear allegiance to his throne. Be it known to you that he will give eternal life to all who trust and love his Son." I call this heralding "exultation." Preaching is a public exultation over the truth that it brings. It is not disinterested or cool or neutral. It is passionate about what it says.

Nevertheless this heralding contains teaching. You can see that as you look back to 2 Timothy 3:16 - the Scripture (which gives rise to preaching) is profitable for "teaching." And you can see it as you look ahead to the rest of 2 Timothy 4:2, "Preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction." So preaching is expository. It deals with the Word of God. True preaching is not the opinions of a mere man. It is the faithful exposition of God's Word.

Expository Exultation

So in a phrase, preaching is "expository exultation."

In conclusion, then, the reason that preaching is so prominent in worship is that worship is not just understanding but also feeling. It is not just seeing God, but also savoring God. It is not just the response of the mind, but also of the heart. Therefore God has ordained that the form his Word should take in corporate worship is not just explanation to the mind and not just stimulation to the heart. Rather the Word of God is to come teaching the mind and reaching the heart; showing the truth of Christ and savoring the glory of Christ; expositing the Word of God and exulting in the God of the Word.

That is what preaching is. And that is why it is so prominent in worship. It is not a mere work of man. It is a gift and work of the Holy Spirit. And therefore it happens most and best where a people are praying and spiritually prepared for it. That is what we will talk about next week.

For now, pray for me and pray for yourselves. And let us seek with all our might to become a people who live and worship by the power of the Word of God - read and memorized and taught and preached. Amen.

1 Jonathan Edwards, The “Miscellanies,” ed. by Thomas Schafer, The Works of Jonathan Edwards, Vol. 13 (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1994), p, 495. Miscellany #448; see also #87, pp. 251-252; #332, p. 410; #679 (not in the New Haven Volume). Emphasis added.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org