为什么耶稣被处死而且又复活了?

“所以,这就算为他的义。‘算为他义’的这句话不是单为他写的,也是为我们将来得算为义之人写的,就是我们这信神使我们的主耶稣从死里复活的人。耶稣被交给人,是为我们的过犯;复活,是为叫我们称义(或作:耶稣是为我们的过犯交付了,是为我们称义复活了)。”

留给下个星期的三个问题

我原计划用这短短的四节经文,22-25节,只讲一篇道。但是在我思索这些经文,尤其是它们跟圣餐主日的关系,而且尤其是看到在这一章的末尾有一个类似于高潮的结构,我就想说,我们应该花两个主日在这段伟大的经文上。以下就是一些问题,是我希望提出来分析的,有一个问题今天要解答,其余的三个留给下个主日。

1)为什么信心在亚伯拉罕身上,也在我们身上,被算为义呢?第22节开头的那个“所以,”到底什么意思:“所以,这(信心) 就算为他 (亚伯拉罕) 的义。”

2)在亚伯拉罕身上和在我们身上用来算为义的信心,是哪一种信心呢?是最初的那个信心的行动吗(当时上帝开始跟亚伯拉罕说话,叫他离开迦勒底的吾珥)?或者是《创世记》15:6所记他对神的信心(当时上帝给亚伯拉罕应许,说他的后裔将会像天上的星星那样多)?或者,是《创世记》17章的信心(当时上帝应许亚伯拉罕,预告说他在次年会有一个儿子,尽管他年事已高,并且撒拉的生育已经断绝)?或者,是《创世记》22章的信心(当时亚伯拉罕照神的吩咐,献上儿子以撒)?换言之,我们能够被称为义,是在最初眨眼之间完成的,还是靠一生来持守的信心呢?

3)信心又是如何归算到亚伯拉罕和我们的身上的?是不是说把信心归算为义,指的是信心本身就是一种的义,乃是我们所作出的,于是上帝就掂量数算之并认定是足够的好了,以至于当做是一种的功劳而将称义回报给我们——就好像是说称义所需要的代价是五百万美元,而我只能够交纳一百万,于是上帝就满有怜悯地说,他可以数算我的那一百万,就如同那是五百万一般,而把其余的亏空给消除了呢?或者是,称义在其真实的意义上,乃是上帝把自己的义在基督里归算到我的身上,如果真的是这样,那么,信心被算为义的说法,又具体是指的什么意思呢?

所有以上这些,都要等到下周再分享。

若要被称义我们必须相信谁或相信什么?

现在我想要大家关注的是:若要被称义,我们必须相信谁或相信什么。因此让我们从24节的中间来讨论这个问题。23-24节的经文说,《创世记》15:6所记,亚伯拉罕的信心被算为义,不仅指着他,也是为我们的缘故写的。“(算为他义)的这句话不是单为他写的,也是为我们将来得算为义之人写的。”可不要看错或者忽视这一点。在《罗马书》这里,耶稣基督的使徒告诉我们,当初上帝赐给摩西灵感写下这些文字的时候,上帝就已经把后世的我们考虑到了。“这就算为他的义。”上帝其实是希望你把这句话以非常个人性的方式来接受。他希望你来读、来听这句话,并且能明白,他在对你说话。

上帝现在对你说的就是:“信心将会使你跟我有合宜的关系。来信靠我吧。我会把你的信心算为义的。”你听见他的话了吗?“信靠我。在我里面安息吧。靠着我的肩膀。把我当成你的好朋友吧。一切都会变好的。我为你预备了一个义。你没有什么要给我。我却要把所有属于我的都给你。对我有信心吧。这就会算为你的义。”

接着,在24节的中间,他开始告诉我们,到底我们必须信靠谁:“……神使我们的主耶稣从死里复活……耶稣被交给人,是为我们的过犯;复活,是为叫我们称义。”这就是那位我们要来信靠的对象,好叫我们得以称义。保罗用神已经作过的事,来定义我们所信靠的那位神。所以当他说,“信心就([被神] 算为义”时,并且说这道理被写在圣经当中,就是为了我们这些有信心的人,而且,接下来他告诉我们,上帝已经作成的是什么,这样一来,我们就必须明白,到底我们信心的根基和内容是什么。

让我们用三句话总结一下关于神的这些道理。1)我们信靠的神施行了超然的大能。2)我们信靠的神成就了满有怜悯的救赎。3)我们信靠的神展现了得胜的公义。这一章的经文,都是关于称义的途径,而不是关于因信称义的基础。但是现在,在这章经文的最后一节,保罗又回到那个因信称义的基础(就像他在《罗马书》3:24-26所作的那样)。这个称义的基础,就是上帝在历史当中,在基督的工作当中所成就的。而那个称义的途径,就是指我们如何借助信心,跟那伟大的作为联系起来。这两者都是极其重要的,但这个基础则是一切之中最为重要的。

约翰·穆勒(John Murray)曾经在威斯敏斯特神学院教课——他已经安息主怀了,他写过一本不太厚的书,名字是《救赎:完成与应用》(Redemption: Accomplished and Applied)。我大概在25年前读到这本书。我盼望你们都读一下它。他会在你的信仰之树里,植入强有力的纤维。那两个词——“完成了并且应用了,”指的就是我在这里所讲论的事情之根基和途径。救赎已经完成了——上帝在基督里所作的一切之根基;它的完成没有我们参与,且在我们以外。救赎已经应用了——上帝今天继续他的工作,要把我们连接到那个伟大的、完成了的救赎之工上,是对我们作的,也是在我们里面作的。

保罗用一个强有力的陈述句来结束这一章,一个关于救赎已经成就的陈述句——这乃是那个根基,那个奠基石,是支撑着这一章其余经文的,该章主要是论述那借着信心而得的救赎之应用。我们所信靠的,就是那位在我们出生之前,就替我们成就了救恩的神。他就是我们所相信的,是我们所信靠的,是我们信心的依托。

因此,这就是我们准备简要考察的:他就是施行了无法想象的大能,成就了仁慈的救赎,以及展现了得胜之公义的那位。让我们按照经文线索,逐一查看,并且好好思考,用心品味。

1. 我们信靠的这位施行了超乎想象的大能

24节后半句说,我们乃是“信神使我们的主耶稣从死里复活”的。之所以把耶稣的复活摆在首位,乃因它能够跟17节所提到的那使得以撒出生的大能联系起来。让我们再来看一下17节中的那些词语:“亚伯拉罕所信的,是那叫死人复活、使无变为有的神。”亚伯拉罕所相信的那位,是能够赐生命给死人的,并且也能够使无变为有。对于亚伯拉罕来说,当时最关注的是上帝的特别应许——他要给亚伯拉罕一位儿子,就是后来的以撒。尽管那时亚伯拉罕已经100岁,他的妻子又不能生育。这完全是不可能发生的事。但是,这也正是亚伯拉罕的信心成为我们的榜样之原因所在。19节说,“他将近百岁的时候,虽然想到自己的身体如同已死,撒拉的生育已经断绝,他的信心还是不软弱。”

所以保罗说,我们今天信靠的,是这同一位神,并且上帝用来算我们为义的信心,就是对能让死人复活的神的信心,那死里复活的,指的乃是我们的主耶稣基督。这就是我们所信靠的、使我们的主耶稣从死里复活的神。

我称呼它为“无法想象”之大能,不是因为你也许想不到它,而是因为我们正走到一个世纪的末尾,而这个世纪的标志就是自然主义——该观念,或者说信仰,认为除了自然之外就没有任何的现实——这种信仰宣称,不会有超自然的事情存在——那些事情无法想象。自然主义者的进化论就是这种信仰的最普遍的表现形式——亦即试图解释万物的起源,同时却把任何自然界以外存在的超自然的造物主排除在外。

此外,本世纪还有一个普遍的做法,就是以自然主义的方式来研究历史。在圣经研究的领域,这样的信念简直带来毁灭性的灾难。其中有一个最著名的陈述,代表了这种信仰的,乃是由鲁道夫·波特曼(Rudolf Bultmann)所说的,“一个历史性的事实,里面却又包含着死里复活,那是完全无法想象的”(引用于卡尔·亨利的《上帝,启示和权威》,Carl F. H. Henry, God, Revelation, And Authority,第四卷,[Wheaton: Crossway Books, 1999, orig. 1979],333页)。我就是从那儿捡到了“无法想象”这个词的。

那被神算为我们之义的信心,就是对于这位能够施行无法想象之大能者的信心。他所作的,正是被波特曼称为“无法想象”的事情——他居然让死人复活。他所作的,乃是人们所说不可能做到的事情。他把以撒从一位90岁的不能生育的妇人腹中领出来。又把死去三天三夜的耶稣基督从坟墓里领出来,并且让他成为全宇宙的主人。所以,上帝完全有能力成就每个应许。因此我们信靠他。

2. 我们信靠的这位成就了仁慈之救赎

请注意25节前面半句:“耶稣被交给人,是为我们的过犯。”这里要我们注意的要点就是,上帝所复活的那位之死亡,乃是一个特别设计的死亡。上帝绝不是单纯的为着要彰显他那无法想象的大能,就随便找了一个被杀害之人来,使他从死里复活。上帝乃是亲自设计了该死亡事件,并且是按照一个特定的目的来设计的。

你可以从25节前半句的那两个关键的短语看到这个情况:“(1) 耶稣被交给人,(2) 是为我们的过犯。”耶稣乃是“被交给人”的——被谁?是被兵丁吗?还是被彼拉多呢?是被希律王吗?还是被犹太人的暴民呢?都不是。最终不是因为这些人,而是按照经文所说的那样,他被交给人,乃是因“为我们的过犯。”兵丁们和彼拉多,希律王和犹太人,都没有“为我们的过犯”而把耶稣出卖或“交”出去。

《使徒行传》2:23给出一个清楚明白、直截了当的回答:“他既按着神的定旨先见被交与人。”很明显,是上帝把他交于死地。《罗马书》8:3说,“神就差遣自己的儿子,成为罪身的形状,作了赎罪祭。”《罗马书》8:32说,“神既不爱惜自己的儿子,为我们众人舍了。”因此耶稣基督的死,乃是上帝预先设计好的。上帝安排了他的死亡。他不单单是死去了而已。他乃是被上帝交给死亡的。

而这个设计乃是有其目的的(25节前半句):“为我们的过犯。”上帝的设计乃是为了处理我们的诸多过犯。他想要针对我们的过犯做些事情。什么事情呢?他希望给我们提供一个替代性的死亡,好叫我们不用再为自己的过犯而受到死亡的刑罚。而那唯一能够达成这个果效的死亡,就是他儿子的死。因此,《罗马书》8:3说,“神就差遣自己的儿子,成为罪身的形状,作了赎罪祭,在肉体中定了罪案。”所以,我们的罪恶过犯,神没有忽视或者闭目不看,也没有被塞到地毯底下藏起来。它们被定了罪案,并执行了审判,只是这审判却没有落在我们头上,而是落在了基督头上。

我们就是按照这个方式,借着基督的死得着救赎的。也就是说,我们被从自己的罪恶中拯救出来了。我们从地狱的刑罚中被抢救出来了。我们被从上帝的审判中买赎出来了。而所有这一切的救赎,都不是我们配得的。我们所得的乃是死亡、走向地狱以及承受上帝的审判。但是,这是一个仁慈的、满有怜悯的救赎。这就是我们为着称义之故而信靠的上帝——一位成就了仁慈之救赎的上帝。他定意设计,要借着他儿子的死,来拯救我们脱离各样的过犯。

3. 最后,我们信靠的这位展现了得胜之公义

我们信靠了一位能够施行无法想象之大能者,能够成就满有怜悯的救赎者,现在,我们来看一下这位展现了得胜之公义者。这话时什么意思呢,我又是从哪里得出这样的结论呢?这结论是从25节的最后那部分得出的。我们所信靠的神是谁?他就是“为我们的称义”而使耶稣从死里复活的那位。我对此的理解就是,当耶稣为着我们的过犯而死的时候,一个完满的和充足的赎金已经被交付了,好叫我们得着赦免与称义。因此,若是继续把基督留在坟墓里,那将是不公平的、不公正的,因为他已经为我们的罪付出了全额的赎金。于是上帝让他从死里复活,就是维护了基督之赎罪和顺服的完备性。基督从死里复活,就是在宣告说:他借死亡要成就的——以生命为赎价使我们称义,已经毫无瑕疵地成就了。

或许可以这么表述:当基督为我们流出宝血,为我们死去,他就把那些罪恶买赎了,正是这些罪杀了他。现在,这些罪都得了遮盖并且已被偿付,就再也没有理由让基督继续留在死亡状态。他的死,单单是为了我们的诸般罪恶付出赎价。而当它们被完全偿付之后,就没有任何正当理由要耶稣死亡了。继续把耶稣留在坟墓里就不公平了。他不能够待在坟墓里,“因为他原不能被死拘禁”(徒2:24)。

所以,我们所信靠的神,乃是那位展现了得胜之公义者。耶稣的复活就是胜利,因为它征服了死亡。它是得胜的公义,因为公平公义所要求的,就是要叫耶稣从死里复活。他已经替罪恶——那些把他交付死地的罪恶——付出了完备的代价。既然我们的罪恶,就是把他带入死亡的诸多罪恶,已经在十字架上被完全彻底偿付了,那么,那个唯一需要基督死去的理由就不再成立。这样,我们的称义就彻底地胜券在握了(虽然还未最终达成信心之果效,但已经是安全的、无罪债的)。因此,再把基督留在死亡中,就是不公平的,就是毫无理由的惩罚。所以,上帝使基督从死里复活,乃是公平、正确的。这就是得胜的公义。(参看来13:20)。

若要被称义我们必须相信谁呢?

好吧,我想用开始提出的问题来结束:若要称义,要和神和好,我们必须相信谁或者相信什么。这个答案就是,我们必须相信神——1)在让他儿子耶稣从死里复活了这件事上,他施行了无法想象的大能,2)他为了拯救我们脱离过犯,在设计他儿子的死亡上成就了满有怜悯的救赎,以及3)他在让耶稣从死里复活上展现了得胜的公义,要让我们知道,我们之称义的根基,已经在他儿子的死上完美地立定了。

所以我们今天要来信靠他。打开你的心门来接受这个救恩的荣耀吧:无法想象的大能、满有怜悯的救赎、全然得胜的公义。相信此事,上帝就会把你的信心归算为义。你将会很安全地跟他在一起。你就会拥有一个不是因着你自己而来的义,并且得以站立在一个不可摇动的、存到永远的磐石之上。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Why Was Jesus Put to Death and Raised Again?

Therefore it was also credited to him as righteousness. 23 Now not for his sake only was it written that it was credited to him, 24 but for our sake also, to whom it will be credited, as those who believe in Him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead, 25 He who was delivered over because of our transgressions, and was raised because of our justification.

Three Questions for Next Week

I had originally intended to preach one message on these four small verses, 22-25. But as I pondered them, especially in relation to communion Sunday, and especially in view of coming to a kind of climax at the end of this chapter, I thought that we should spend two Sundays on this great text. Here are the questions I want to raise, one today and three next Sunday.

1) Why is faith credited to Abraham and to us as righteousness? What is the meaning of "therefore" at the beginning of verse 22: "Therefore, it [faith] was also credited to him [Abraham] as righteousness."

2) What sort of faith is credited to Abraham and to us as righteousness? Was it the first act of faith when God first spoke to Abraham and told him to leave Ur of the Chaldees, or the faith of Genesis 15:6 when God promised to make Abraham's descendants like the stars, or the faith of Genesis 17 when God promised him a son in the next year in spite of his age and Sarah's barrenness, or the faith of Genesis 22 when Abraham offered his son Isaac? Are we justified in the very first twinkling of faith or by a lifetime of faith?

3) How is faith credited to Abraham and to us? Does crediting faith as righteousness mean that faith itself is the kind of righteousness we perform and God counts that as good enough to merit justification - as if justification costs five million dollars and I can come up with one million dollars, so God mercifully says he will count my one million as five million and cancel the rest? Or is justification really the imputation to me of God's own righteousness in Christ, and if so, what does it mean to say that faith is credited as righteousness?

All that next week.

Who or What Must We Believe in Order to Be Justified?

What I want us to focus on this week is this: Who or what must we believe in order to be justified? So we pick up on this in the middle of verse 24. Verses 23-24 say that the reason it was written in Genesis 15:6 that Abraham's faith was credited as righteousness was for our sake, not just for his. "Now not for his sake only was it written that it was credited to him, but for our sake also." Don't miss this. Here is the apostle of Jesus Christ telling us that God had us in view when he inspired Moses to write the words "It was credited to him as righteousness." God wants you to take this very personally. He wants you to read this and hear this and know that you are being addressed very personally.

God is saying to you now: "Faith will set you right with me. Trust me. I will count your faith as righteousness." Do you hear him? "Trust me. Rest in me. Lean on me. Count on me. It will be all right. I have a righteousness for you. You don't have any for me. I have mine for you. Trust me. It will be credited as your righteousness."

Then in the middle of verse 24 he begins to tell us who it is that we must trust: ". . . Him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead, He who was delivered over because of our transgressions, and was raised because of our justification." This is the One in whom we have faith to be justified. Paul identifies the God we trust by what he has done. So when he says, "Faith is credited [by God] as righteousness," and says this was written for us who have faith, and then tells us what God has done, we are to learn the basis and the content of our faith.

Let's sum it up in three statements about God. 1) The God we trust performs inconceivable power. 2) The God we trust performs merciful redemption. 3) The God we trust performs triumphant justice. All of this chapter has been about the means of justification, not the basis of justification by faith. But now in the last sentence of the chapter, Paul returns to the basis (where he was back in Romans 3:24-26) of justification by faith. The basis of justification is what God did in the work of Christ in history. The means of justification is how we get connected with that great work through faith. Both are tremendously important, but the basis is most important of all.

John Murray, who is with the Lord now, but used to teach at Westminster Seminary, wrote a great little book called Redemption: Accomplished and Applied. I read it about 25 years ago. I wish every one of you would read it. It would put strong fiber in the tree of your faith. Those two words, "accomplished and applied," refer to the basis and the means that I am talking about here. Redemption accomplished - that is the basis of what God did in Christ; it is accomplished, apart from us and outside of us. Redemption applied - that is what God does to connect us to the great, accomplished work of redemption, something he does to us and in us.

Paul ends this chapter with a strong statement about redemption accomplished - the basis, the foundation of all the rest of the chapter, which has been about the application of redemption through faith. The one we trust is one who accomplished redemption for us before we were ever in existence. He is the one we believe, the one we trust, the one we put our faith in.

So here is what we will look at very simply and briefly: He is one who performs inconceivable power, merciful redemption and triumphant justice. Let's take those one at a time and see them in the text and savor them in our minds and hearts.

1. We Trust One Who Performs Inconceivable Power

Verse 24b says that we "believe in Him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead." The point of putting the resurrection of Jesus in first place is that it links up with the power that it took to give birth to Isaac in verse 17. Look again at those words in verse 17: ". . . Him whom he [Abraham] believed, even God, who gives life to the dead and calls into being that which does not exist." Abraham believed in one who gives life to the dead and calls into being that which does not exist. For Abraham the immediate focus was on the promise of God to give birth to Isaac when Abraham was 100 years old and his wife was barren. This was impossible. But that is what made Abraham's faith exemplary. Verse 19: "Without becoming weak in faith he contemplated his own body, now as good as dead since he was about a hundred years old, and the deadness of Sarah's womb."

So now, Paul says, we today trust this same God, and the faith that God reckons for righteousness is faith in a God who raises the dead, namely, our Lord Jesus Christ. That is who we trust, the one who raised our Lord Jesus from the dead.

I call this "inconceivable" power, not because you may not be able to conceive of it, but because we are coming to the end of a century that has been marked by naturalism - a view, or a faith, that there is no reality that is not part of nature - the faith that there is no supernatural reality. It is inconceivable, they say. Naturalistic evolution is the most pervasive form of this faith - the effort to explain the origin of all things without belief in a supernatural Creator from outside of nature.

But also pervasive in this century has been a naturalistic way of studying history. In Biblical studies this faith is devastating. One of the most famous statements of this faith was made by Rudolf Bultmann who said, "An historical fact which involves a resurrection from the dead is utterly inconceivable" (Quoted in Carl F. H. Henry, God, Revelation, And Authority, Vol. IV [Wheaton: Crossway Books, 1999, orig. 1979], p. 333). That is where I am getting the word "inconceivable."

The faith that God credits to us as righteousness is faith in one who performs inconceivable power. He does just what Bultmann said is "inconceivable" - he raises the dead. He does what people say cannot be done. He brought Isaac out of a dead womb of a 90-year-old woman. And he brought Jesus Christ out of a tomb after three days and made him Lord of the universe. Thus God can fulfill every promise. So we trust him.

2. We Trust One Who Performs Merciful Redemption

Notice the first half of verse 25: "He who was delivered over because of our transgressions." The main thing to see here is that the death of the one God raised is a death by design. God did not simply want to demonstrate his inconceivable power and so find some murdered person to raise from the dead. God himself designed this death and designed it for a purpose.

You can see this in the two key phrases of verse 25a: "(1) He who was delivered over (2) because of our transgressions." Jesus "was delivered over" - by whom? By soldiers? By Pilate? By Herod? By the Jewish mob? Not, finally, by any of them because it says he was delivered over "for our transgressions." Soldiers and Pilate and Herod and Jews did not hand Jesus over "for our transgressions."

Acts 2:23 gives a clear and forthright answer: "This Man [was] delivered over by the predetermined plan and foreknowledge of God." God delivered him over to death. Romans 8:3 says, "God [sent] His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and for sin." Romans 8:32 says, "He . . . did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him over for us all." So the death of Jesus Christ was by the design of God. God planned his death. He did not just die. He was delivered over to death by God.

And the design had a purpose (verse 25a): "Because of our transgressions." God's design was to deal with our transgressions. He wanted to do something about our transgressions. What? He wanted to provide a substitute death so that we would not have to die for our own transgressions. And the only death that could do that was the death of his Son. So Romans 8:3 says, "God sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and for sin, condemned sin in the flesh." So our transgressions are not swept under the rug. They are not overlooked. They are condemned. They bring about an execution. But not ours. Christ's.

In this way we are redeemed by the death of Christ. That is, we are saved from our sins. We are rescued from the penalty of hell. We are ransomed from the judgment of God. And all of this redemption we did not deserve. We deserve to die and go to hell and endure the judgment of God. But this is a merciful redemption. This is the God we trust in order to be justified -the God who performs a merciful redemption. He designed to save us from our transgressions through the death of his Son.

3. Finally, We Trust One Who Performs a Triumphant Justice

We trust One who performs inconceivable power, merciful redemption, and now triumphant justice. What do I mean by that, and where do I get it? I get it from the last part of verse 25. Who is the God we trust? He is the One who raised Jesus "because of our justification." I take that to mean that when Jesus died for our transgressions, a full and sufficient payment was made for our forgiveness and justification. Therefore, it would have been unjust to leave Christ in the grave, since he had so fully paid for our sin. So God raised him from the dead to vindicate the perfection of Christ's atonement and obedience. The resurrection of Jesus was the declaration that what he accomplished in his death was flawlessly successful, namely, the purchase of our justification.

Maybe we could say it like this: When Christ died and shed his blood for our transgressions he atoned for the sins that killed him. Since those sins are now covered and paid for, there is no reason for Christ to remain dead. His death was solely to pay for our sins. When they were perfectly paid for, there remained no warrant for his death any more. It would be unjust to keep him in the grave. He could not stay in the grave, "it was impossible for Him to be held in its power" (Acts 2:24).

So the God we trust is One who performs a triumphant justice. The resurrection of Jesus is triumphant because it conquers death. It is triumphant justice because justice demanded that Jesus be raised from the dead. He had paid for sins perfectly, namely, the sins that brought him to death. If the sins that brought him to death - our sins - were perfectly and completely paid for on the cross, then the only reason for Christ's death was past. Our justification was completely secured (not yet effected by faith, but secured and paid for). So it would be unjust for Christ to stay dead. It would be a penalty without cause. Therefore, it was just and right that God raise Christ from the dead. It was triumphant justice. (See Hebrews 13:20.)

Who Must We Believe to Be Justified

So I close with the question I raised at the beginning: Who or what must we believe in order to be justified - to be right with God? The answer is we must believe God - 1) that he performed inconceivable power in raising his Son Jesus from the dead, 2) that he performed merciful redemption in designing the death of his Son to save us from our transgressions, and 3) that he performed triumphant justice by raising Jesus from the dead to show that the basis of our justification was perfectly accomplished in the death of his Son.

So trust him today. Open your heart and receive the glory of this salvation: inconceivable power, merciful redemption, triumphant justice. Believe this and God will credit your faith as righteousness. You will be safe with him. You will have a righteousness not of your own and an unshakable, everlasting rock to stand on.


©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org