深思與守謙:心靈的生命與傲慢的禍害

以下是摘自於會議中的紀錄

哥林多前書8:1-3

關於祭過偶像的食物,我們曉得我們都有知識。但知識會使人自高自大,唯有愛心能造就人。如果有人自以為知道些甚麼,那麼,他應該知道的,他還是不知道。如果有人愛神,這人是神所知道。

這一段經文讓我反省到的事,我是多麼經常在對著人說話的時候,卻沒有愛這些正在我面前的人,我祈禱神能幫助我,當我在與人說話的時後能夠正視對方並且能真正地關心對方。因為我在說話的時候會很容易分心與緊張,我在說話之前便會問自己七個問題。其中的一個問題是:「我是否會擔心別人是怎樣看我的訊息?神又會怎樣看?」另外的一個問題是:「我是否真的愛這些人?」

這一段經文的對象正是那些雖然有正確的神學,但是因為沒有愛心,以致在神面前仍然是錯誤的那些人。保羅談到祭過偶像的食物,許多哥林多人是來自於祭拜偶像的異教背景,他們當中一些較成熟的基督徒知道偶像事實上是虛空的,所以食用祭過偶像的食物並沒有什麼關係,但是另一些較軟弱的基督徒卻在這方面比較有問題。

那些成熟的基督徒企圖向那些較軟弱的基督徒施壓,要他們吃肉。保羅對這些成熟基督徒的回應是:「你並沒有為了你的弟兄著想,他的良心並不覺得吃肉是對的,但是你卻逼迫他去吃。」保羅問道:「你為什麼要這樣做?如果我知道吃肉會傷害到我的弟兄,那我就絕對不再吃肉。」

我對於保羅感覺他人的方式很感到欽佩,他在羅馬書9:3中寫到:「為我的同胞,就是我骨肉之親,就算自己受咒詛,與基督隔絕,我也甘心。」你對於在你生活中的其他人也有同樣的感覺嗎?保羅的一生顯示他確實做到了他所說的。

你們之中有一些人會對聖經經文有很深的思考,我要對你提出的挑戰是,你對於人的思考有多深?對於那些失落的人呢?你前一次對失落之人的哭泣是什麼時候?

從失落人群的世界將自己隔絕出來是非常容易的一件事,我們會有一段期間走出這個世界,深思聖經經文,甚至在學校中繼續學習,最後到了一個階段,我們理解到我們不再像我們應該的一樣去愛那些失落的人。這裡的重點並不是說我們不應該追求學習,而是我們應該要兩者兼顧,愛人,也更加認識聖經。

約翰麥克阿瑟(John MacArthur)牧師在幾年前寫到:「知識誠然重要,但是並不足夠。」保羅在哥林多前書13:2中說:「我若有先知講道的恩賜,也明白各樣的奧祕,各樣的知識;並且有全備的信,叫我能夠移山,卻沒有愛,我就算不得甚麼。」

你們當中某些人可能優秀卻無用,你可能會像是一位百發百中的傑出籃球員,但卻老是將球投入對方的籃網,他是偉大的射手,卻毀掉整個的團隊。

神為何要用特別的方式恩賜你?這是為了我們的緣故,不是為了你的緣故。我們應該經常想,我要如何造就他人?

保羅在哥林多前書8:2中說:「如果有人自以為知道些甚麼,那麼,他應該知道的,他還是不知道。」如果你真的知道,你會更明白事理,你會用你的知識去愛。膨脹自己並且想像你自己是某一位優秀人士是一件危險的事。

保羅接著說:「如果有人愛神,這人是神所知道的。」(哥林多前書8:3),這裡不僅僅只是一個訊息,當你愛神的時候,你不僅僅是知道許多有關於祂的事實,你愛祂,這裡面有一個關係,而且祂也愛你。

我最喜愛的聖經經文之一是加拉太書4:9:「現在你們既然認識神,更可以說是神所認識的 … 」保羅在這裡轉換他表述的方式使我感到很驚訝,宇宙的創造者認識我!我是真正的與神說話,祂也回答我!

你有想要誇耀某些事物麼?那就誇耀神認識你的事實,不要自誇你知道多少,但要對宇宙之神能按著名稱呼你的事實誇口。

你們當中有些人已經對基督研究了許多年,但是你的生命看起來有點像基督嗎?你能夠像保羅一樣地說:「你們應該效法我,好像我效法基督一樣」?你看起來像耶穌嗎?你的愛像耶穌一樣嗎?

© Desiring God

Permissões: Você tem permissão e nosso incentivo para reproduzir e distribuir este material em qualquer formato contanto que não altere de maneira alguma as palavras e não cobre valor algum além do custo de reprodução. Para postar na internet, preferimos um link para este documento no nosso site. Quaisquer exceções às regras ditas devem ser aprovadas pelo Desiring God.

Think Hard, Stay Humble: The Life of the Mind and the Peril of Pride

The following are notes taken during the session.

1 Corinthians 8:1-3

Now concerning food offered to idols: we know that “all of us possess knowledge.” This “knowledge” puffs up, but love builds up. If anyone imagines that he knows something, he does not yet know as he ought to know. But if anyone loves God, he is known by God.

This passage convicted me about how often I will speak without loving the person that is right in front of me. I have prayed that God would help me to look someone in the eyes when I’m talking to them and really care. I have seven questions I ask myself before I speak because it’s so easy for me to be distracted and to be nervous about speaking. One of the questions is, “Am I worried about what people will think of my message, or what God thinks?” Another is, “Do I genuinely love these people?”

This passage is addressing people that technically have the right theology but were still wrong before God because of their lack of love. Paul talks about food that is offered to idols. A lot of Corinthians had come out of a pagan background where they worshiped idols. Some of the more mature Christians understood that idols were nothing and that it was okay to eat meat that had been sacrificed to them. Some weaker Christians, however, had problems with it.

The mature Christians were pressuring the weaker Christians to eat the meat, and Paul responds to the mature Christians by saying, “You weren’t thinking about your brother. He didn’t feel right in his conscience about eating the meat, and yet you pushed him to eat.” Paul asked, “Why would you do that? If I knew that I could hurt my brother by eating meat, I would never eat meat again.”

I admire Paul so much for the way he feels toward people. In Romans 9:3 he writes, “For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, my kinsmen according to the flesh.” Do you feel that way about the people in your life? Paul’s life showed that he really meant what he said.

Some of you in this room think really hard through the Scriptures. My challenge to you is, How hard do you think about people? About the lost? When was the last time you wept for the lost?

It’s so easy to seclude ourselves from the world of lost people. We step out of it for a season to think hard about the Scriptures and keep going on in school to learn more, and we eventually get to the point where we realize that we don’t love the lost like we should. The point isn’t that we shouldn’t pursue learning, but we ought to be able to do both, to love people and know the Bible better.

John MacArthur wrote years ago, “Knowledge is essential, but it’s not sufficient.” Paul writes in 1 Corinthians 13:2, “And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.”

Some of you could be brilliant and worthless. You could be like a great basketball player that never misses a shot but always shoots at the other team’s basket. He’s a great shooter, but he’s killing the team.

Why did God gift you the way that he did? It’s for us, not for you. We should constantly be thinking, How can I build up other people?

Paul writes in 1 Corinthians 8:2, “If anyone imagines that he knows something, he does not yet know as he ought to know.” If you really knew, you would know better and you would use your knowledge to love. There is a danger in puffing yourself up and imagining yourself to be some brilliant person.

Paul then says, “But if anyone loves God, he is known by God” (1 Corinthians 8:3). It’s not just about information. When you love God, you don’t just know a lot of facts about him. You love him. There’s a relationship and he knows you.

One of my favorite verses is Galatians 4:9, “But now that you have come to know God, or rather to be known by God...” It amazes me that Paul changes his expression like that. The creator of the universe knows me! I actually talk to God and he answers me!

Do you want to brag about something? Brag about the fact that God knows you. Don’t boast about how much you know. Boast about the fact that the God of the universe calls you by name.

Some of you have been studying Christ for years. But does your life look anything like his? Can you say like Paul, “Imitate me as I imitate Christ?” Do you look like Jesus? Do you love like Jesus?

©2014 by the Author. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following information on any distributed copy: the author’s name and the source: desiringGod.org