万有都是本于神,倚靠神,归于神,荣耀全是神的

“深哉,神丰富的智慧和知识!他的判断何其难测!他的踪迹何其难寻!谁知道主的心?谁作过他的谋士呢?谁是先给了他,使他后来偿还呢?因为万有都是本于他,倚靠他,归于他。愿荣耀归给他,直到永远。阿们!”

今天,我们要来结束这个花了六年时间的查经之旅,其间依次查考了《罗马书》1到11章。借助于罗马书1-3:19的经文,我们已经看到自己内心可怕的罪恶——以及所有人类的心灵状况;而基督在十字架上做了伟大的工作,为我们献上自己为祭,并成就了义,使我们单单靠着信心就可以得称为义,而不是借着遵行律法,正如《罗马书》3:20-5:21所说的;并且在接下来的6-8章,我们看到了圣灵那强大的使人成圣的力量,使我们能够胜过罪,并且在基督的爱里满有保障;然后,9-11章为我们提供了有力的辩护,是关乎上帝的主权性恩典,以及他在遵守承诺上的信实,并在11:32那振聋发聩的话语中达到了顶峰:“因为神将众人都圈在不顺服之中,特意要怜恤众人。”

用赞美来回应《罗马书》1-11章

因着要回应所有这些关乎上帝的道路和判断之启示,保罗在《罗马书》 11:33–36中,情不自禁发出毫不掩饰的感叹和赞美:

“深哉,神丰富的智慧和知识!他的判断何其难测!他的踪迹何其难寻!谁知道主的心?谁作过他的谋士呢?谁是先给了他,使他后来偿还呢?因为万有都是本于他,倚靠他,归于他。愿荣耀归给他,直到永远。阿们!”

这正是上帝希望我们听完了《罗马书》1-11章的信息之后,所应该达到的境界。即:惊叹于如此的慈悲怜悯,从而借着耶稣基督,对上帝发出由衷的敬拜。正是这样的回应,能够帮助我们活出那些实际的道德层面的要求,就是《罗马书》12-15章所提出的方方面面。

在基督徒的生活当中,道德不仅仅是说,我们需要有意志力,去做那些正确的事情,因为上帝有权柄命令我们去遵行。基督徒的道德,乃是一个自然的生命的流露,源自于我们对那位有主权的、怜悯人的上帝之敬拜。基督徒的生命,乃是其被更新之后的思想和心灵所结出的果子,其之所以被更新,乃是因为看到和享受到了上帝的自足、主权、和怜悯等属性,也就是借着耶稣基督启示出来的。当我们翻开《罗马书》12章的时候,这一点马上就一目了然了。

反复思想《罗马书》11:33-36的那些颂赞

然而,我们现在先继续花点时间,漫步在11章的末尾,细细思想一下保罗内心所发出的那些赞美之词。

33节前半句

上一次我们看到,上帝的丰富、智慧和知识是极其深邃的,世人无法测度(33节前半句)。无论你对于上帝的丰富、智慧或知识,研究到何等深入的地步,你依然没有办法触底,似乎到达上帝之下的根基。我们无法解释明白,上帝之下有什么事物。其实上帝之下一无所有。同样的,上帝之上也是飘渺无物。而在上帝的深度和高度之间,依然不会存在任何的能够跟他匹敌的有决定性的存在物。

36节 - 35节

因此,保罗会在36节说:“因为万有都是本于他,倚靠他,归于他。”并且这个真理又把我们带入到35节的真理,“谁是先给了他,使他后来偿还呢?”答案是:没有人。换言之,你没有办法提供给上帝任何事物,因为万有都归于他。假如你做得到,那就是上帝要给你打欠条了。但是你做不到,因此上帝就不欠你任何东西,以后也永远不会。万事万物都是从神而来,依靠神而存留的。上帝是绝对自由,独行其是的。

35节 - 34节

这又引领保罗在34节感叹道,“谁知道主的心?谁作过他的谋士呢?”答案仍然是:没有人。换言之,你不但没有能力给上帝任何的礼物,是那本来不曾属于他的;你也不能够给上帝提供任何的建议,是他原先所不知道的。因为,万事万物都是从神而来,依靠神而存留的。

34节 - 33节后半句

这又带领保罗在33节后半句说道:“他的判断何其难测!他的踪迹何其难寻!”换言之,既然上帝的丰富、智慧和知识,是无比深邃的,那么,我们就不能够给他任何的东西,是他所不曾拥有的,或者告诉他任何的事物,是他原先所不知道的,难怪乎,对于上帝的判断和踪迹,我们常常会困惑,苦思不得其解,甚至手足无措,却又常常赞叹不已。

33-35节 - 36节

那最后的设计和果效,就在36节的末尾呈现出来了:万有不仅仅是本于他和倚靠他,并且也是“归于他。”因此,“愿荣耀归给他,直到永远。”我们的生命,应该是心甘情愿地,为着上帝的荣耀而活。否则,我们若是心不甘情不愿地为上帝的荣耀而服事,不过是自招亏损,神的荣耀却仍会彰显。我们之被创造和呼召,乃是要对全世界宣扬上帝的荣美和伟大。我们之存在的理由,就是要尊崇和彰显上帝,并且让万国万民都来承认,耶稣基督是主,“使荣耀归与父神”(《腓立比书》2:11)。

这段信息的大纲:五个步骤

于是,我们今天就有了这段信息的大纲:

根据我们上次所看到的,即上帝的丰富、智慧和知识是不可言喻般的深邃;所以:

  1. 万事万物都是本于他和倚靠他;因此

  2. 没有人能够给神什么礼物,以至于使神成为欠债者;并且

  3. 没有人能够给上帝任何的建议,告诉神他应该怎样做事;这就是为什么

  4. 对于我们有限的头脑,神的判断和踪迹是无法测度或寻找的;于是,最后,

  5. 我们应该把一切的荣耀都归给上帝,并且带着满足和喜乐的心,完全倚靠神并高举基督。

我们依次来介绍这五个步骤。

1. 万有都是本于他,倚靠他,归于他

首先,因为上帝的丰富、智慧和知识是无法测度之深奥,36节说得对:“万有都是本于他和倚靠他。”我对这句话的理解是,那最根本的起源,或说最初的原因,或说最终那决定性的缘由,使得万有得以存在的,就是上帝。万事万物之所以能够存在,都是需要倚靠上帝的——开始是这样,发生发展当中的任何时刻也都是如此(本于他和倚靠他)。

《以弗所书》1:11谈及这个道理如此说:“这原是那位(神]随己意行、做万事的。”《罗马书》9:16这么说:“据此看来,这不在乎那定意的,也不在乎那奔跑的,只在乎发怜悯的神。”《箴言》16:33说,“签放在怀里,定事由耶和华。”可见,“万有都是本于他和倚靠他”的意思就是,如果要在神之外,或者站在与神同等的决定性地位,想要来解释事物的存留,或者寻找其发生的根本原因,是超出了世人的能力的。因此我们说,只有上帝才拥有绝对的主权。

类似的,那魔鬼并非象上帝一样,永恒存在,从其最根本的层面上说,他也不能够脱离上帝而独立自存。魔鬼的存在,以及所有那些从他发出的事物——比如世界上诸般的邪恶——也要取决于上帝的许可。只有神允许的情况下,魔鬼才能够存在,并且做出他想要做的事情,每时每刻都是如此!上帝能够预见到万事,并允许它们的发生。而且我们知道,上帝做事不会漫无目的,也不会任性无常,因此,无论是上帝直接地导致其发生的事情,还是间接地允许其发生的事情,都必然是有神的旨意在其中的。所以,从某种程度上,我们可以说,即使是世界当中的邪恶和灾难(例如,《罗马书》11:7-10),都包含在第36节的经文里面,“万有都是本于他和倚靠他。”

不过,我们必须适可而止,不能说得太过火,超出我们所应该说的。因为换到另外一个角度来看,我们就不应该说,一切都是从神而来的。让我们来看一个例子,请大家思考一下《约翰一书》2:15-16的经文:

“不要爱世界和世界上的事。人若爱世界,爱父的心就不在他里面了。因为凡世界上的事,就像肉体的情欲,眼目的情欲,并今生的骄傲,都不是从父来的,乃是从世界来的。”

在这里,使徒约翰说,“肉体的情欲”、“眼目的情欲”和“今生的骄傲”,都“不是从神来的”。因此,某种程度上,“一切的事物”都是“从神而来,本于神”的。但是,从另一个意义上说,那些邪恶的事情,都不是从神来的。

我对此的理解是,罪恶不是从神的本性而来的。也就是说,罪并不是神的属性或者品格的延伸,或者表现了其中的某个方面。上帝是圣洁的,在他里面毫无玷污或瑕疵。上帝是光明的,在他里面毫无黑暗。罪恶的特点,其黑暗和不圣洁,都不是从神的属性或品格当中生发出来的,也不是来自于其中的某个部分。从这个意义上说,它们不是从神而来的。我们可以说,在其终极和决定性的层面,罪也是由神而来,甚至说也是本于他倚靠他,但是,却绝对不能够说,罪是从神的本性和品格生发出来的。上帝允许罪之存在,但是他自己却从不犯罪。并且,即使上帝因着他无穷的智慧和圣洁,命定了罪的出现,这也不是上帝的罪过。作为那位命定罪的神,我们可以说,罪是“从神而来”,但是,作为神的本性的表达,我们却必须说,罪“不是从神而来”。

这两个说法有什么区别吗?让我们来看一个不太完美的例子。你可以用以下这两种方式,使自己的眼眶变黑。一种就是,你的眼睛被一个白色的雪球击中,于是眼眶变黑了。或者呢,你可以用皮下注射的方式,在你的眼皮下面注入一些黑色的染料,这样你的眼眶也会呈现出黑色来。在第二种方式当中,你的黑眼眶乃是从染料的黑色本性而来。而在第一种情况下,眼眶的黑色却不是从雪球所含的任何色素而来。

我之所以用这个比方,就是想让你知道,我们可以用两个方式,来思考某件事物是否“从神而来。”我们可以从上帝命定万事的角度来看,于是,一切就都是出于神的啦。但是,我们又可以说,任何的罪恶的行径,却都不是出于神的,因为它们跟神的本性相违背。

在实际生活的层面,随之而来的结果就是,我们在一切的事上都要倚靠上帝,同时,又要为着我们心中的罪恶,承担全部的责任和罪咎。这事实应该让我们完全谦卑下来。正如《哥林多前书》4:7所言,“使你与人不同的是谁呢?你有什么不是领受的呢;若是领受的,为何自夸,彷佛不是领受的呢? ”一切都是本于神和倚靠神,这个事实,就把任何的自夸都排除在外了。

2. 没有人能够给神什么礼物,以至于使神成为欠债者

其次,这就暗示着35节的信息:“谁是先给了他,使他后来偿还呢?”答案是:没有人。既然一切都是本于神和倚靠神,神就拥有着万物,并且我们不能够给神任何东西,是本来不属于他的。这也就意味着,我们永远都不可能让神欠我们什么债。我们在神面前,就是这样,没有任何的可以用来讨价还价的地位。我们是被上帝全然拥有的,我们是他的领土上面的寄生者。我们所呼吸的每一口空气,都是上帝所赐予的礼物。我们所展示的任何的一个美德,都是来自于恩典。“(神)也不用人手服事,好像缺少什么;自己倒将生命、气息、万物,赐给万人”(《使徒行传》17:25)。

3. 没有人能够给上帝任何的建议,告诉神他应该怎样做事

第三,保罗举了一个具体的例子,来说明我们为什么我们不能够给神任何东西,使神对我们有什么亏欠,而且,我们也不能够给神加添些什么。34节说道:“谁知道主的心?谁作过他的谋士呢?”答案是:没有人能够对神的心意知道得那么清楚,以至于可以成为神的谋士。诚然,我们,借助于上帝的自我启示,可以获得关于神心意的某些知识。保罗在《罗马书》前面的那11章的经文,告诉我们上帝的诸般心意。那些就是要我们去弄明白的。但是,没有人能够对神的心意了如指掌,以至于可以充当神的谋士。

所以这里所说的具体的事情,就是给上帝提供谋略。有意思的是,就是这件事——谋略,乃是自大的罪人们常常最热衷于献给上帝的。他们给神献上的,不是热爱,或者喜悦,或者信靠,或者盼望。他们居然总是想要给神献上谋略。他们要么直统统地告诉上帝,要么给上帝暗示说:“我不喜欢你运作这个世界的方式;我觉得你应该如此如此才对。”这个世界,真的是充满了这些给上帝做谋士的人。保罗很明确地指出的一件事,且认为是我们不能够做、也不应胆敢去做的,就是这些傲慢的罪人频频献上的:他们要告诉上帝如何来运行这个世界,并且又警告上帝,如果他不按照他们的建议而行,那他们就不会来相信这位神。这就好像,一个得了糖尿病的小孩,对那位治疗他的儿科医生说:“不要再给我打针了。假如你胆敢再用那根装满胰岛素的针管来戳我,我就再也不来你的诊所玩啦。”似乎,这样就可以威胁神,敲诈他一下!

可别再提这样的建议啦。不要再咄咄逼人地威胁上帝啦。你应该信靠神。除此以外的做法,都无异于自杀。

4. 对于我们有限的头脑,神的判断和踪迹是无法测度或寻找的

第四,既然一切都是本于神和倚靠神,以至于我们根本不能够给神任何原本不属于他的东西,而且也不能够成为神的谋士,所以(根据33节后半句),难怪我们常常对于上帝的道路(踪迹)和判断,迷惑不解,理不清头绪。“他的判断何其难测!他的踪迹何其难寻!”这并不是说上帝是完全不可捉摸的。神的诸多奥秘,都借着圣经启示出来了。并且,圣灵被赐下给我们,就是要来光照我们的理解力(《哥林多前书》2:14-15)。只不过呢,“我们如今彷佛对着镜子观看,模糊不清(原文作如同猜谜);到那时就要面对面了。我如今所知道的有限,到那时就全知道,如同主知道我一样。”(《哥林多前书》13:12)。

5. 把一切的荣耀都归给上帝,直到永远

这就把我们带到整个事情最后的结论(第五点)——有关这个段落以及那所有的11章经文的结论。不仅万有都是本于神和倚靠神,还有,如同36节后半句所言,“万有都是……归于他。愿荣耀归给他,直到永远。”

你是否乐意接受这个想法,你的存在就是为了使上帝看起来满有荣耀?你是否乐意承认,万物的存在,都是为着彰显上帝的荣美?你是否喜欢这个宣称,说从古至今的历史,都是被上帝精心设计,为的是到某一天,尘埃落定,这幅历史的长卷,用最好的方式,描画出了上帝的伟大和华丽?你是否喜爱这个事实,耶稣基督来到世间,为的是证明和维护上帝的义,以及要修复那因着我们的亏缺,而给上帝的荣耀之名声所带来的伤害?你是否喜欢这个陈述,你之所以要存活于世,就是要使上帝看起来更加像他本来的样子——荣耀无比?让我再问一遍:你是否喜爱这个事实,那就是,你的救恩,乃是为着把神的恩典之荣耀,彰显和展示出来?你真的喜欢看到和展示神的荣耀吗?

这就是上帝创造整个宇宙的原因,这就是上帝命定历史的原因,这就是上帝差派他儿子的原因,这就是你之所以存在的原因!为的是永永远远来观看、来体验并展示基督的荣耀——基督乃是神的像。在《罗马书》1-11章的末尾,留给读者的问题就是:你是否乐意接受这份呼召,并把它当成你的至宝和你的喜乐之源?

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

All Things Are from God, Through God, and to God. The Glory Is All His

Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways! 34 “For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor?” 35 “Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid?” 36 For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.

Today we complete our six-year journey through Romans 1-11. We’ve seen the terribly sinful condition of our hearts—and the hearts of all humanity—in Romans 1-3:19; and the great work of Christ on the cross to provide a righteousness and a sacrifice so that we could be justified by faith alone apart from works of the law in Romans 3:20-5:21; and the mighty sanctifying work of the Holy Spirit to conquer sin and make us secure in the love of Christ in Romans 6-8; and then the great defense of the God’s sovereign grace and promise-keeping faithfulness in Romans 9-11, climaxing now with the stunning words in Romans 11:32, “God has consigned all to disobedience, that he may have mercy on all.”

Response of Praise for Romans 1-11

And in response to all this revelation of the ways and judgments of God, Paul breaks into explicit wonder and praise in Romans 11:33-36:

Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways! 34 ‘For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor?’ 35 ‘Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid?’ 36 For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.”

This is where God wants us to be when we have heard Romans 1-11. Amazed at mercy, and worshipping God through Jesus Christ. This is the response that will make us able to live out the practical moral demands of Romans 12-15.

Morality in the Christian life is not simply the willpower to do right things, because God has the authority to command them. Christian morality is the overflow of worshipping the sovereign, merciful God. Christian life is the fruit of a mind and heart transformed by seeing and savoring the all-sufficiency and sovereignty and mercy of God revealed in Jesus Christ. That will become plain as soon as we turn to chapter 12.

Lingering Over the Praises of Romans 11:33-36

But for now we linger one more time over the praises of Paul’s heart here at the end of chapter 11.

Verse 33a

We saw last time that the riches and wisdom and the knowledge of God are unfathomably deep (v. 33a). No matter how far down into God’s wealth or into God’s wisdom or into God’s knowledge you go, you never get beneath God. There is no explanation for anything beneath God. There is nothing beneath God. And there is nothing above God. And there is nothing decisive over against God between his depths and his heights.

Verse 36 - Verse 35

And that is why Paul says in verse 36, “For from him and through him and to him are all things.” And this truth leads to the truth of verse 35, “Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid?” Answer: Nobody. In other words, you can’t give to God anything that is not already his. If you could, he would owe you. But you can’t. So he doesn’t owe you anything. And never will. All things are from him and through him. He is absolutely free.

Verse 35 - Verse 34

This also leads Paul to say in verse 34, “Who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor?” Answer again: Nobody. In other words, not only can’t you give God a gift that he doesn’t already own; you can’t give him advice he doesn’t already know. For from him and through him are all things.

Verse 34 - Verse 33b

Which leads Paul to say in verse 33b: “How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways!” In other words, since God’s riches and wisdom and knowledge are very deep, so that we can’t give him anything he doesn’t have, or tell him anything he doesn’t know, it is no wonder that we are often confounded, bewildered, perplexed, and amazed by the ways and the judgments of God.

Verses 33-35 - Verse 36

The final design and effect of it all is at the end of verse 36: All things are not only from him and through, but also “to him.” Therefore, “To him be glory forever.” Our lives are to be lived willingly to the glory of God. Or we will serve his glory unwillingly in our damnation. We are created and called to make the beauty and greatness of God known in the world. Our reason for being is to make much of God, and bring all the nations to confess that Jesus is Lord “to the glory of God the Father” (Philippians 2:11).

An Outline of This Message: Five Steps

So that is the outline of the message today:

Based on what we saw last time, that God’s riches and wisdom and knowledge are unfathomably deep; therefore:

1. all things are from him and through him; therefore
2. no one can give a gift to God so as to make him a debtor; and
3. no one can give any counsel to God about how he should do things; which is why
4. his ways and judgments are unsearchable and inscrutable to our finite minds; so that, finally,
5. we should give all glory to God, and be content with an utterly dependent Christ-exalting happiness in God.

Let’s take these five steps one at a time.

1. All Things Are From, Through, and To God

First, because God’s riches and wisdom and knowledge are unfathomably deep, verse 36 is true: “From him and through him . . . are all things.” I take this to mean that the ultimate origin or the ultimate cause or the ultimately decisive reason for everything is God. Everything is dependent for its existence on God—at its beginning and all the way along (from him and through him).

Ephesians 1:11 puts it like this: “[God] works all things according to the counsel of his will.” Romans 9:16 puts it like this: “So then it depends not on human will or exertion,but on God, who has mercy.” Proverbs 16:33 puts it like this, “The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord.”All things are from him and through him” means that there is no explanation for what is or what happens that is deeper or more decisive than God. This is what we mean when we say that God is absolutely sovereign.

The devil is not co-eternal with God, and he is not ultimately independent of God. His existence and all that comes from it—so much of the evil in the world—depends on God’s willing him to exist and allowing him moment by moment to do what he does. God sees it coming and he permits it to happen. And since he does nothing aimlessly or capriciously, there is always a purpose for what he causes to happen directly and what he permits to happen indirectly. So in that sense we can say that even the evil and the calamity of the world (e.g. Romans 11:7-10) are included in verse 36, “All things are from him and through him.”

But let’s not say more than we should here. There is another sense in which we must not say that all things are from God. For example, think of 1 John 2:15-16,

Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16 For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world.

Here John says that “the desires of the flesh” and “the desires of the eyes” and the “pride in possessions” is “not from God.” So in one sense “all things” are “from God.” But in another sense these evil things are not from God.

I take this to mean that sin does not come from God’s nature. That is, it’s not an extension or aspect of God’s nature or character. God is holy, and there is no unholiness in him. God is light, and in him is no darkness. The darkness and unholiness of sin do not arise as part of God’s nature or character. They don’t come from him in that sense. Sin can be from God and through God in the sense of ultimate and decisive cause, but not in the sense that sin comes from his nature or character. God wills that sin be, without himself sinning. It is not a sin when God, with infinite wisdom and holiness, ordains that sin exist. Sin is “from him” as the one who ordained it, but “not from him” as an expression of his nature.

Here’s an imperfect illustration of the difference. You can get a black eye in two ways. You can be hit in your eye with a white snowball, and your eye will turn black. Or you can be injected above your eye with a hypodermic needle full of black dye, and your eye will turn black. In the second case the darkness comes from the nature of the dye. In the first case the darkness does not come from any darkness in the snowball.

All I want you to see from that illustration is that there are two different ways to think about something being “from God.” All things are from God in the sense that he ordains all that comes to pass. But all sinful acts are not from God as an expression of his nature.

The practical upshot of this is that we are utterly dependent on God for all things and that we are utterly responsible and guilty for the evil in our hearts. The effect this should have is deep humility. 1 Corinthians 4:7, “What do you have that you did not receive? If then you received it, why do you boast as if you did not receive it?” The fact that all things are from God and through God, excludes boasting.

2. No One Can Give a Gift to God so as to Make Him a Debtor

Second, this implies verse 35: “Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid?” Answer: No one. Since all is from God and through God, he owns all things and we can never give him anything that is not already his. Which means that we can never put him in our debt. There is absolutely no negotiating with God. We have no bargaining position. We are utterly owned and we are squatters on his territory. Every breath we take is a gift. Every virtue we perform is grace. “God is not served by human hands as though he needed anything, for he himself gives to all men life and breath and everything” (Acts 17:25).

3. No One Can Give Any Counsel to God About How He Should Do Things

Third, Paul gives one specific example of how we can’t give God anything to obligate him or enrich him. Verse 34: “For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor?” Answer: Nobody has known his mind in such a way as to be his counselor. We know something of his mind because of revelation. Paul has given us 11 chapters of the mind of God. We are meant to understand it. But no one knows the mind of God in a way that can become his counselor.

So the specific thing you cannot give to God here is counsel. And this is the one thing that sinners presume most often to give God: counsel. They don’t offer love or delight or faith or hope. They offer counsel. They tell God outright or by implication: “I don’t like the way you run the world; I think you should do it like this.” The world is filled with God-advisers. The one thing Paul explicitly says we cannot give, and dare not give, is what proud sinners most often give: they tell God how he should run the world, and warn him that if he doesn’t run it their way they won’t believe in him. As if a diabetic child should say to his pediatrician: Don’t give me any more shots. And if you stick me with that insulin needle again, I’m never coming back. As if that were a threat to God!

Don’t advise. Don’t threaten God. Trust him. All else is suicide.

4. His Ways and Judgments Are Unsearchable and Inscrutable to Our Finite Minds

Fourth, since all is from God and through God so that we can’t give him what is not already his and can’t be his counselor, therefore (according to verse 33b), no wonder we are often confounded and perplexed by the ways and the judgments of God. “How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways!” This does not mean that God is totally unintelligible. The mysteries of God are being revealed in Scripture. And the Holy Spirit is given to us to illuminate our understanding (1 Corinthians 2:14-15). But “now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known” (1 Corinthians 13:12).

5. To God Be the Glory Forever

Which leads us finally (fifth) to the conclusion of the whole matter—the paragraph and the 11 chapters. Not only are all things from God and through God, but, as verse 36b says, “To him are all things. To him be glory forever.”

Do you love the thought that you exist to make God look glorious? Do you love the thought that all creation exists to display the glory of God? Do you love the truth that all of history is designed by God to one day be a completed canvas that displays in the best way possible the greatness and beauty of God? Do you love the fact that Jesus Christ came into the world to vindicate the righteousness of God and repair the injury that we had done to the reputation of the glory of God? Do you love the truth you personally exist to make God look like what he really is—glorious? I ask again: Do you love the fact that your salvation is meant to put the glory of God’s grace on display? Do you love seeing and showing the glory of God?

This is why God created the universe. This is why he ordained history. This is why he sent his Son. This is why you exist. Forever to see and savor and show the glory of Christ, who is the image of God. The question at the end of Romans 1-11 is. Do you embrace this calling as your treasure and your joy?

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org