怜恤人的人有福了

《马太福音》5章7节
怜恤人的人有福了,因为他们必蒙怜恤。

我们今天要在很有限的时间里,讨论一个非常重要的主题。怜恤人的人有福了,因为他们必蒙怜恤。我想通过以下四个问题来展开今天的信息:

一、人心如何能充满怜恤呢?或者说,怜恤是从哪里来的?

二、什么是怜恤?或者说,一个怜恤人的人是什么样的?

三、一个怜恤人的人应该一直施予怜恤吗?或者说,基督徒可以做律师去控告人有罪吗?

四、如果得救是本乎恩、也因着信,那么为什么只有怜恤人的人在末日审判时能得到神的怜恤?

你可以看到,这些都是很重要的实际问题。为了回答第一个问题,我们一起先来看一下本节经文的上下文。

一、人心如何能充满怜恤?

让我们一起回忆上周的讲道,《马太福音》5章3-5节“八福”中的前三福,那里描述有福之人如何倒空自己――第3节说他们是“虚心的人”(英文为“灵里贫穷之人”);第4节说他们为罪和自己可悲的景况哀恸;第5节说他们面对生活中的艰辛和困扰时,心存温柔、并不反抗。

这种蒙福的虚己,还包括紧接着的第6节所说的“饥渴慕义”。接下来是3个描述,“义”如何充满一颗渴慕的心:第7节说“怜恤”,第8节说“清心”,第9节说“使人合睦”。

因此,第一个问题的答案是:怜恤来自这样的一颗心――首先感到灵里的匮乏,然后为罪懊悔,并且学会了谦卑等候主,在渴慕中呼求主来怜恤我们,以他的义来来满足我们。

神所赐的怜恤本身就是神的祝福。它就像一枚果实,在破碎的心、温柔的灵和渴慕上帝怜恤的魂中成熟。只有怜恤才能产生怜恤,我们对彼此的怜恤来自神对我们的怜恤。

要成为一个怜恤人的人,首先要成为一个破碎的人。怜恤人的力量来自你内心真实的感受――你为自己所做的一切深感亏欠,不得不寻求从神来的怜恤。因此,如果我们想成为怜恤人的人,我们就必须认识神和我们自己,使我们可以全心宣告:“我们所有的喜乐、美德,甚至我们生活中的痛苦都是上帝对我们的怜恤;他白白地怜恤我们,这本是我们所不配得的。”

二、什么是怜恤?

或者说,一个怜恤人的人是什么样的?有时候,如果我们从反面去思考问题,就会更容易明白。因此,我也试着发现“怜恤”的反面是什么。《马太福音》和《路加福音》的描述给了我们一些帮助。首先,让我们看一下《马太福音》9章10-13节的经文。

耶稣在屋里坐席的时候,有好些税吏和罪人来,与耶稣和他的门徒一同坐席。法利赛人看见,就对耶稣的门徒说:“你们的先生为什么和税吏并罪人一同吃饭呢?”耶稣听见,就说:“康健的人用不着医生,有病的人才用得着。 经上说:‘我喜爱怜恤,不喜爱祭祀。’这句话的意思,你们且去揣摩,我来本不是召义人,乃是召罪人。”

怜恤和献祭的比较

在这个例子中,怜恤的反面是献祭。第13节说:“我喜爱怜恤,不喜爱祭祀。”这是引用《何西阿书》6章6节,主耶和华指责百姓的爱就像草上的甘露,甘露只在清晨时短暂停留,然后便迅速消散,百姓的爱也是如此,最后剩下的只不过是形同虚设的燔祭。

重点是,神要他子民的心活着。他要他们对他有爱慕之情、对彼此有怜恤之心,而不是例行公事地、刻板地履行宗教义务。

在《马太福音》第9章中,耶稣把罪人当作需要医生的病人和不幸者。即使他们是当时的税吏,非常富有,他们仍是有病的人,唯有耶稣有医治的妙方。可法利赛人看到的却是仪式上的问题,认为和罪人吃饭就会让人变得污秽。他们的生活只是机械地遵行着律法。这里潜伏着一个巨大的危险,但他们却看不见也感受不到。那永久的疾病现在可以得医治了,他们却被洁净礼的繁文缛节捆绑着。

所以,怜恤的反面是宗教的繁文缛节。

怜恤与滤出蠓虫之间的比较

让我们再来看一个这样的例子。《马太福音》23章23-24节:

你们这假冒为善的文士和法利赛人有祸了。因为你们将薄荷、茴香、芹菜、献上十分之一,那律法上更重的事,就是公义、怜悯、信实、反倒不行了。这更重的是你们当行的,那也是不可不行的。你们这瞎眼领路的,蠓虫你们就滤出来,骆驼你们倒吞下去。

在主耶稣这些刺耳的话中,与怜恤相反的是什么呢?就是“滤出蠓虫来”。换句话说,与怜恤相对的是,你把全部的信仰热情都耗费在思考这类问题上――我是应该按照全部的收入来奉献呢,还是按照净收入奉献?还有,生日礼物要不要算在内?

当耶稣说“我喜爱怜恤,不喜爱祭祀”和“蠓虫你们就滤出来,骆驼你们倒吞下去”时,我们学到的功课是:怜恤之心的最大障碍和敌人,就是任凭我们的生活被繁文缛节占据。被繁文缛节捆绑,这就是对无怜恤之人的诅咒。

当耶稣说“更重的是你们当行的”,他是想说:“要谨慎,不要在琐事上消磨光阴、所思所想都是无关紧要的事。”神要我们保持警醒,免得我们欢欢喜喜地抱着电视机过日子,却从不去思考该如何怜恤别人这样的大事。

怜恤人的人有福了。因此,如果你想要得到祝福,你就必须抵挡宗教和世俗琐事的捆绑,并将你的生命贡献给律法中更重要的事:公义、怜恤、信实。怜恤不是无关紧要的琐事,它是我们生命中最重要的事情之一。

在“好撒玛利亚人的比喻”中体现的怜恤。

在《路加福音》10章25-37节中有一个“好撒玛利亚人”的比喻,也是在讲什么是毫无怜恤。

有一个律法师,起来试探耶稣说:“夫子,我该作什么才可以承受永生。耶稣对他说:“律法上写的是什么,你念的是怎样呢?”他回答说:“你要尽心、尽性、尽力、尽意、爱主你的神,又要爱邻舍如同自己。”耶稣说:“你回答的是,你这样行,就必得永生。”

那个人问耶稣说,一个人应该做什么,才能期待在审判的日子得到怜恤、承受永生。耶稣回答说:“那些尽心爱神、爱人如己的人,可以领受永生的怜恤。”换句话说,“怜恤邻舍的人有福了,因为他们要在将来蒙永生的怜恤。”

所以,这个故事和我们今早的经文有紧密的联系:“怜恤人的人有福了,因为他们必蒙怜恤。”

当我们继续看下面的比喻时,这一点将变得更加明显。那个律法师问道:“谁是我的邻舍呢?”耶稣接着用第30-37节中“好撒玛利亚人”的比喻回答他。

耶稣回答说:“有一个人从耶路撒冷下耶利哥去,落在强盗手中,他们剥去他的衣裳,把他打个半死,就丢下他走了。偶然有一个祭司,从这条路下来,看见他就从那边过去了。又有一个利未人,来到这地方,看见他,也照样从那边过去了。 惟有一个撒玛利亚人,行路来到那里,看见他就动了慈心。上前用油和酒倒在他的伤处,包裹好了,扶他骑上自己的牲口,带到店里去照应他。第二天拿出二钱银子来,交给店主说:‘你且照应他,此外所费用的,我回来必还你。’你想这三个人,那一个是落在强盗手中的邻舍呢。”
他说:“是怜悯他的。”
耶稣说:“你去照样行吧。”

在比喻中怜恤的四个特征

在这里,《圣经》为我们呈现出一张非常鲜明的画面,怜恤和无怜恤形成鲜明对比。在此故事中,怜恤有四个特征。

首先,怜恤人的人能看到不幸(第33节:“惟有一个撒玛利亚人,行路来到那里,看见他”)。

第二,他从心底深深地怜悯和同情一个不幸的人(第33节:“看见他就动了慈心”)。

第三,他用看得见的、实际的努力去减轻这个人的不幸(第33节:“上前用油和酒倒在他的伤处,包裹好了,扶他骑上自己的牲口,带到店里去照应他”)。

第四,即使那个不幸的人在宗教和种族上是自己的敌人,怜恤仍然出现(第33节:“惟有一个撒玛利亚人……”)。一个在扭曲的宗教传统下的混血犹太人,停下来帮助恨他的犹太人。

一双看顾不幸的眼睛,一颗同情的心,一份施以援手的努力,一种不计前嫌的态度――那就是怜恤。

在这个比喻中怜恤的反面

在这里,怜恤的反面是什么呢?

这个比喻和《马太福音》9章13节表达了同样的意思,这难道不令人深思吗?在那节经文中耶稣说:“‘我喜爱怜恤,不喜爱祭祀。’这句话的意思,你们且去揣摩。”在这个比喻中他说:“你去照样行吧。”在比喻中,祭司和利未人与《马太福音》9章13节中的“祭物”象征着同样的事物,即空洞的宗教形式主义。

这个故事是耶稣编的,那他为什么选择用祭司和利未人来举例说明什么是无怜恤呢?就像是以牧师和同工为例似的?这难道不是牧师、长老以及我们所有人发出的警告吗?我们往往太在意仪式化的宗教活动,对那些不幸的人,却眼不看顾,心无同情,也不想施以援手,好让他们靠着福音得解救。

怜恤是生命中最重大的事情之一

那么,现在回答我们的第二个问题。什么是怜恤?我们应该说怜恤是生命中最重大的事情之一 。在琐事缠累中变得冷漠是危险的,无论是世俗的琐事,如看太多的电视,还是把你的精力耗费在一些闲暇爱好或者宗教琐事上。什么是宗教琐事呢?可能是任何的宗教活动,从讲道到祷告、从教导到“什一”奉献――任何不能培养我们关注生命中其他重要事情(比如怜恤)的宗教活动都是宗教琐事。宗教活动是否美好在于我们是否能看到不幸、生出同情、给予帮助,甚至怜恤我们的仇敌。

我们问的第三个问题是――

三、一个怜恤人的人应该一直施予怜恤吗?

或者说,基督徒可以做律师控告人吗?

在这个充满罪恶的世界中,现实生活对那些想认真活出信仰的基督徒来说是很复杂的。

  • 如果一个基督徒拒绝容让孩子的无礼,而施以体罚,那他还是一个满有怜恤的基督徒吗
  • 一个老板奖励优秀员工,也惩罚消极怠工的人员,那他还是一个满有怜恤的基督徒吗?
  • 如果一名立法者制定法律条款,从严处罚酒后驾车者和虐童者,那他还是一个满有怜恤的基督徒吗?
  • 如果一个基督徒领袖遵照圣经对教会的治理原则,把公然犯罪且不悔改的会友逐出教会,那他还是一个满有怜恤的基督徒吗?

这四个问题关系到生活的各个领域:家庭领域、商业和经济领域、政府和执法领域以及教会领域。对于这些问题,我的答案是:在所有这些领域里,怜悯和公义并存。从古至今,这一直是上帝的旨意。

公正和怜恤并存于这个世代中

神有时要我们给予别人他们所当得的惩罚或奖赏(这就是所谓的公正),但是有时,神要我们以过于人所当得的报偿别人(这就是所谓的怜恤)。在坚持公义的时候,我们见证了神是一位公义的神;当我们心怀怜恤的时候,就见证了神是怜恤人的神。

  • 一个顺服《圣经》教导的家长通常会有智慧地遵循用杖管教孩子的教导(箴13:24,弗6:4);但很多时候,当一个孩子犯错后,家长没有惩罚他,为要教导他什么是怜恤,并把他带到基督的面前。
  • 一个遵循《圣经》教导的法官,会时时小心翼翼,根据罪犯作恶的程度公正地审判(罗13:4);但有时他也会为了更好的结局而从宽处理。
  • 一位相信《圣经》的老板通常会付给员工合理的工资,坚守正确的工作原则(帖后3:10)。但有时,他可能会支付一个人更多,超过他所当得的,甚至更进一步,他愿意怜恤那些生病、上了年纪、十分困苦或尚未成熟的员工。
  • 一名遵照圣经教导的执事,会在教会内要求会友为他们公然犯的罪付上代价,他会执行纪律,甚至把干犯纪律的人从团契中赶出去(林前5:1-13)。但是,他也会牢牢记得稗子和麦子的比喻,耐心地教导不完美的教会,直到世界的末了(太13:24-30)。

何时应公正,何时应怜恤?

那么,什么时候该公正、什么时候要怜恤呢?我的答案是:当你亲近耶稣的时候就会明白。《圣经》并没有针对所有情况的现成条规,这并不出乎我的意料。《圣经》乃是为要培育一种特定类型的人,而非给每个情况无休止地提供规条。

“八福”说“怜恤人的人有福了”,而非“在任何时候和情况下都知道该怎么施怜恤的人有福了。”即使在严厉地施行公正时,我们也要对人有怜恤之心。也就是说,我们必须:

  • 虚心
  • 为罪哀恸
  • 以温柔取代自我防御和自大
  • 渴慕做正确的事
  • 看到他人的不幸与悲痛
  • 同情他人的痛苦
  • 尽力向更多的人做最正确的事

所以,“一个有怜恤人的人必须始终怜恤吗”,这个问题的答案是坚决的“不”。不,你将时常拥护公正的宣言,给予别人所当得的,见证神是公义的这一真理,然后尽力向更多的人做最正确的事。

我说是一个坚决的“不”,因为如果你是个怜恤人的人,那么即使你打孩子屁股、审判罪犯或解聘员工,你的方式也会变得不同,怜恤会自然而然地流露出来。家长可能会哭出来,律师也许会去看望罪犯和罪犯的家人,老板也可能会付让员工接受培训的费用,怜恤之心会展现出来。

我们问的第四个问题,也是最后一个问题是――

四、那么,得救是本乎恩也因着信怎么解释?

如果得救是本乎、也因着信,那么为什么只有怜恤人的人在末日审判时能得到神的怜恤?

《马太福音》5章7节说:“怜恤人的人有福了,因为他们必蒙怜恤。”换言之,当我们在末世与神面对面时,得到神怜恤的人,是那些怜恤人的人。

这是说救恩是靠行为得来的吗?我们是否要靠我们的怜恤赢得神的怜恤呢?不,因为既是怜恤,就不能是挣来的。挣来的怜恤不是怜恤,而是一份工价。要确信,如果我们在审判那日得到任何益处,那将是 神完全的怜恤!

当神在审判之日查看你的怜恤记录,他不会问,你怜恤了多少。你也不会说:“看哪,我行了八小时的怜恤,我的工资在哪儿?”

相反,神会向你要病例。你将谦卑柔和地把自己的病例档案交给他。那时,他会宣读你是怎么信靠他为你神圣的医生,他话语的妙方和他圣灵的医治如何在你的生命中工作,因为你依靠这一切来医治你毫无怜恤的性情。当他看见你的信心和他的医治凭证时,他会完全地医治你,并欢迎你永远住在天国中。因此,“怜恤人的人有福了,因为他们必蒙怜恤。”

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Blessed Are the Merciful

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

In the brief time that we have for such an important subject, I would like to answer four questions.

  1. First, how does a heart become merciful? Or: where does mercy come from?
  2. Second, what is mercy? Or: what is a merciful person like?
  3. Third, should a merciful person always show mercy? Or: can a Christian be a prosecuting attorney?
  4. Fourth, why will only merciful people find mercy from God in the judgment day, if salvation is by grace through faith?

You can see that these are very practical and immensely important questions. To answer the first question let's look at the immediate context.

1. How Does a Heart Become Merciful?

Recall from last week how we saw the first three beatitudes in verses 3–5 describing the emptiness of the blessed person: verse 3: poverty-stricken in spirit, verse 4: grieving over the sin and misery of his condition, and verse 5: accepting the hardships and accusations of life in meekness without defensiveness.

This condition of blessed emptiness is followed in verse 6 by a hunger and thirst for the fullness of righteousness. Then come three descriptions of how righteousness abounds in the heart of the hungry. Mercy in verse 7, purity in verse 8, and peacemaking in verse 9.

So the answer to the first question is that mercy comes from a heart that has first felt its spiritual bankruptcy, and has come to grief over its sin, and has learned to wait meekly for the timing of the Lord, and to cry out in hunger for the work of his mercy to satisfy us with the righteousness we need.

The mercy that God blesses is itself the blessing of God. It grows up like fruit in a broken heart and a meek spirit and a soul that hungers and thirsts for God to be merciful. Mercy comes from mercy. Our mercy to each other comes from God's mercy to us.

The key to becoming a merciful person is to become a broken person. You get the power to show mercy from the real feeling in your heart that you owe everything you are and have to sheer divine mercy. Therefore, if we want to become merciful people, it is imperative that we cultivate a view of God and ourselves that helps us to say with all our heart that every joy and virtue and distress of our lives is owing to the free and undeserved mercy of God.

The second question is,

2. What Is Mercy?

Or: what is a merciful person like? Sometimes it helps get something clear if we can see it over against its opposite. So I have tried to find where mercy is contrasted with its opposite. Matthew and Luke give some very helpful illustrations. First let's look at Matthew 9:10–13.

And as he sat at table in the house, behold, many tax collectors and sinners came and sat down with Jesus and his disciples. And when the Pharisees saw this, they said to his disciples, "Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?" But when he heard it, he said, "Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. Go and learn what this means, 'I desire mercy, and not sacrifice.' For I came not to call the righteous, but sinners."

Mercy Contrasted to Sacrifice

In this illustration, the opposite of mercy is sacrifice. Verse 13: "I desire mercy and not sacrifice." This is a quote from Hosea 6:6 where God accuses the people that their love is like the dew on the grass. It is there for a brief morning hour, and then is gone, and all that is left is the empty form of burnt offerings.

The point is that God wants his people to be alive in their hearts. He wants them to have feelings of affection toward him and mercy toward each other. He does not want a people who do their religious duties in a perfunctory or merely formal way.

Here in Matthew 9 Jesus saw sinners as sick and miserable people in need of a physician, even though they were the rich money movers of the day, the tax collectors. They were sick. He had medicine.

But all that the Pharisees saw was a ceremonial problem with becoming contaminated by eating with sinners. Their life seemed to be a mechanical implementation of rules. Something huge was at stake here. But they could not see it or feel it. They were enslaved to the trivial issues of ceremonial cleanness when eternal sickness was about to be healed.

The opposite of mercy is bondage to religious trivia.

Mercy Contrasted to Straining Out Gnats

Let's look at another example of this same thing in Matthew 23:23–24.

Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for you tithe mint and dill and cummin, and have neglected the weightier matters of the law, justice and mercy and faith; these you ought to have done, without neglecting the others. You blind guides, straining out a gnat and swallowing a camel!

What is the opposite of mercy in these stinging words of the Lord? The opposite of mercy is the straining out of gnats. The opposite of mercy is when your religious impulses are exhausted after you have decided whether to tithe your gross income or your net income or your birthday gifts.

The lesson we learn from the words of Jesus when he says, "I desire mercy not sacrifice," and when he says, "You strain out a gnat and swallow a camel," is that a great obstacle and enemy to mercy is the preoccupation with trifles in life. The bondage to triviality is the curse of the unmerciful.

When Jesus says, "Don't neglect the weightier matters of the law," he means, "Beware of going through the day doing only trivial things, thinking only trivial thoughts, feeling only trivial feelings. The Lord wants us to pinch ourselves again and again lest we be found swooning in front of the television, making no plans for the weighty matter of mercy.

Blessed are the merciful. Therefore, if you want to be blessed, you must make war against the bondage of religious and secular trifles, and devote your life to the weightier matters of the law: justice, mercy, faith. Mercy is no trifle. It is one of the weightiest matters in all of life.

Mercy in the Parable of the Good Samaritan

Another illustration of the opposite of mercy is found in the parable of the Good Samaritan in Luke 10:25–37.

And behold a lawyer stood up to put him to the test, saying, "Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?" He said to him, "What is written in the law? How do you read?" And he answered, "You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all you mind; and your neighbor as yourself." And he said to him, "You have answered right; do this, and you will live."

The man asked Jesus how a person should act who may expect to find mercy at the judgment day and inherit eternal life. And Jesus answers that the persons who will receive the mercy of eternal life are those who have loved God with all their hearts and their neighbor as themselves. In other words, "Blessed are those who are merciful now to their neighbor, for they shall receive the mercy of eternal life in the future."

So this story is very relevant to our text this morning: "Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy."

This will be even more obvious when we look at the parable that follows. The lawyer asks, "Who is my neighbor?" And Jesus answers with the parable of the Good Samaritan in verses 30–37.

Jesus replied, "A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho [and so he was probably a Jew and thus hated by the Samaritans], and he fell among robbers, who stripped him and beat him, and departed, leaving him half dead. Now by chance a priest was going down that road; and when he saw him he passed by on the other side. So likewise a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. But a Samaritan, as he journeyed, came to where he was; and when he saw him, he had compassion, and went to him and bound up his wounds, pouring on oil and wine; then he set him on his own beast and brought him to an inn, and took care of him. And the next day he took out two denarii and gave them to the innkeeper, saying, 'Take care of him; and whatever more you spend, I will repay you when I come back.' Which of the three, do you think, proved neighbor to the man who fell among the robbers?" [The lawyer] said, "The one who showed mercy on him." And Jesus said to him, "Go and do likewise."

Four Dimensions of Mercy in This Parable

Here we have a very sharp photograph of mercy and its opposite. Mercy has four dimensions in this story.

  1. First, it sees distress (verse 33: "A Samaritan, as he journeyed, came to where he was; and he saw him").
  2. Second, it responds internally with a heart of compassion or pity toward a person in distress (verse 33: "When he saw him, he had compassion on him").
  3. Third, it responds externally with a practical effort to relieve the distress (verse 33: "He went to him and bound up his wounds, pouring oil and wine; then he set him on his own beast and brought him to an inn, and took care of him").
  4. And the fourth dimension of mercy is that it happens even when the person in distress is by religion and race an enemy (verse 33: "But a Samaritan . . . "). A half-breed Jew with a warped religious tradition stops to help the Jew who hates him.

An eye for distress, a heart of pity, an effort to help, in spite of enmity—that's mercy.

The Opposite of Mercy in This Parable

And its opposite?

Isn't it remarkable that this parable makes the same point as Matthew 9:13? There Jesus said, "Go and learn what this means, 'I desire mercy and not sacrifice.'" Here he says, "Go and show mercy like the Samaritan, not like the priest and the Levite." The priest and the Levite stand for the same thing in the parable that the word "sacrifice" stands for in Matthew 9:13, namely, empty religious formalism.

Jesus made up this story. Why did he choose to illustrate the opposite of mercy with a priest and a Levite? With a pastor and a minister of music? Is it not a warning to me and Dean and all of us that there are far too many people who are caught up in the mechanics of religious activity with no eye to see distress, no heart to respond with compassion, and no effort to bring the relief of the gospel?

Mercy Is One of the Weightier Matters of Life

So in answer to our second question, What is mercy? we should say that mercy is one of the weightier matters of life. It is always in danger of being neglected because of our preoccupation with trifles, whether secular trifles like watching too much television or consuming yourself with some hobby, or religious trifles. What's a religious trifle? A religious trifle is any religious activity (from preaching to praying, from teaching to tithing)—any religious activity at all that does not cultivate a heart that is taken up with the weightier matters of life, like mercy. The proof of the religious pudding is in the power to see distress, feel pity, perform relief, and all of that even toward an enemy.

The third question we asked was,

3. Should a Merciful Person Always Show Mercy?

Or: can a Christian be a prosecuting attorney?

Real life is very complex for Christian people who seriously want live out their faith in a sinful world. What would you answer to these questions?

  • Can a Christian be consistently merciful and yet be a parent who spanks a child for disobedience instead of turning the other cheek to the child's insolence?
  • Can a Christian be consistently merciful and yet be an employer who pays good wages for excellent work but dismisses irresponsible employees who do shoddy work?
  • Can a Christian be consistently merciful and yet be a legislator who enacts laws that give stiff penalties for drunk driving and child abuse?
  • Can a Christian be consistently merciful and yet be on a Council of Deacons who follow the biblical mandate for church discipline and excommunicate a member for unforsaken, public sin?

Each of these four questions corresponds to a sphere of life: the sphere of the family, the sphere of business and economics, the sphere of government and law enforcement, and the sphere of the church. And my answer to the questions is that it is God's will that as long as this age lasts there be a mingling of mercy and justice in all these spheres.

A Mingling of Both Justice and Mercy in This Age

God's will is that sometimes we recompense people with what they deserve, whether punishment or reward (call that justice). And God's will is that sometimes we recompense people with better than what they deserve (call that mercy). In upholding the claims of justice, we bear witness to the truth that God is a God of justice. And in showing mercy we bear witness to the truth that God is a God of mercy.

  • A biblical parent will usually follow the wisdom that sparing the rod spoils the child (Proverbs 13:24; Ephesians 6:4). But there will be times when a child's fault will be forgiven without punishment to teach the meaning of mercy and woo the child to Christ.
  • A biblical judge will usually be scrupulously just by impartially sentencing criminals according to the grievousness of their crimes (Romans 13:4). But there will be times when he will dispense clemency for some greater good.
  • A biblical employer will usually pay a fair wage and insist on good workmanship (2 Thessalonians 3:10). But there will be times when he will pay more than a person's work deserves, and go an extra mile, with a sick or aging or distressed or inadequately trained employee.
  • And a biblical Deacon will call public sin in the church to account and exercise discipline and even exclusion from the fellowship (1 Corinthians 5:1–13), but will also remember the parable of the wheat and the tares that teaches patience with the imperfection of the church till the end of the age (Matthew 13:24–30).
How Can We Know When to Show One or the Other?

If we ask, How shall we know when to do justice and how to show mercy? I would answer, by getting as close to Jesus as you possibly can. I know of no hard and fast rules in Scripture to dictate for every situation. And I don't think this is an accident. The aim of Scripture is to produce a certain kind of person, not provide and exhaustive list of rules for every situation.

The beatitude says, "Blessed are the merciful," not, "Blessed are those who know exactly when and how to show mercy in all circumstances." We must be merciful people even when we act with severity in the service of justice. That is, we must be

  • poor in spirit,
  • sorrowful for our own sin,
  • meekly free from defensiveness and self-exaltation,
  • hungering and thirsting for all that is right to be done,
  • perceptive of a person's distress and misery,
  • feeling pity for his pain,
  • and making every effort to see the greatest good done for the greatest number.

So the answer to our third question (Should a merciful person always show mercy?) is a qualified "no." No, you will often support the claims of justice and recompense a person the way he deserves, in order to bear witness to the truth of God's justice and to accomplish a greater good for greater numbers of people.

But I say it is a qualified "no" because if you are a merciful person, then even the way you spank a child or prosecute a criminal or dismiss an employee will be different. The mercy will show. The parent may cry. The attorney may visit the criminal and his family. The employer may pay for remedial training. The heart of mercy will show. 

The fourth and final question we asked was,

4. What About Salvation by Grace Through Faith? 

Why will only merciful people find mercy from God in the judgment day, if salvation is by grace through faith?

The text (Matthew 5:7) says, "Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy." In other words, in the age to come when we meet God face to face, the people who will receive mercy from him are people who have been merciful.

Is this a salvation by works? Do we earn his mercy by our mercy? No, because an "earned mercy" would be a contradiction in terms. If mercy is earned, it is not mercy; it's a wage. Be assured, if we get anything good at the judgment, it will be mercy, 100% mercy!

When God asks for a record of your mercy at the judgment day, he will not be asking for a punched time card. You won't say, "Here it is. Eight hours of mercy. Now where's my wage?"

Instead, God will be asking for your medical charts. You will hand them to him in all lowliness and meekness, and there he will read the evidences of how you trusted him as your divine Physician, and how the medicine of his Word and the therapy of his Spirit took effect in your life because you relied on them to heal you of your unmerciful disposition. And when he sees the evidence of your faith and his healing, he will complete your healing and welcome you into the kingdom forever. Therefore, "Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy."

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org