虚心哀恸的人有福了

《马太福音》5章3至4节

虚心的人有福了
因为天国是他们的。
哀恸的人有福了,
因为他们必得安慰。

1978年,我在科罗拉多州的阿斯本讲道,听众是基督徒校园团契的学生和街头流浪汉。在讲道的结尾,有一个学生问了一个很多人都会问的问题。他说:“基督教不就是弱者的精神寄托吗?”

我的回答很简单。我说:“是。”完了。

精神寄托有什么不好?

我不记得接下来的对话如何。所以,我就在这里接着对话。我会反问:“为何认为基督教是一种精神寄托的看法这样让人反感呢?”人们通常不会反感一副拐杖不好,说:“它不就是一个拐杖嘛!”同样,人们也并不认为精神寄托本身有什么不好。那么,为什么基督教是精神寄托却成为一件不好的事?”

我想大多人可能会说:如果基督教只是一种精神寄托,那么,它是给精神残疾的人预备的。但我们不喜欢把自己看作残疾的。因此,给基督教贴上精神寄托的标签让我们觉得自己好像不是那么健康正常。

但耶稣说:“健康的人用不着医生,有病的人才用得着。我来本不是召义人,乃是召罪人。”(可2:17)换言之,只有患病的人才会来到耶稣面前,寻求他的帮助。就是那些知道自己在灵性上、道德上和甚至是身体上都有“残疾”的人。

人人都有一个信条

每个人都有自己的信念,就是说每个人都是相信一些东西的,并以这些相信支撑起他们的生活。即使是不可知论者也坚定地相信:不该坚定地相信任何东西(这一点也说明为什么人很难成为一个彻底的不可知论者)。其实,我们都靠某种信条生活,虽然我们不一定清楚自己的信条是什么。

如果说基督教只是一种精神寄托,那么这种确信背后的信条是什么呢?我想答案是这样:人们不能接受基督教是一种寄托,是因为他们认为自己并不是瘸子,他们可以在努力追求自主、自助、自信以及自尊中找到人生快乐和满足。

如果降世的弥赛亚叫人以孩子般对神的依赖来代替自助;以信靠神替代替自信;以至高神的恩典替代自主;以怜悯卑微的人来代替自高――这样的弥赛亚将是自我崇拜信条的威胁。自从亚当和夏娃在蛇的眼中看到他们自己的形象,听到蛇说:“你们不会死,你会像神一样懂得分别善恶。”他们就开始迷恋上自己潜在的独立形象;从那时起,自我崇拜的宗教就开始统治世界了。

自助的信条

拉尔夫·沃尔多·爱默生,是一位100多年前就已去世的美国诗人和哲学家;他有一篇著名的文章《自助》。这篇文章的问世俘虏了那个时代和我们这个时代的很多灵魂。

“相信自己,生命因相信自己而顽强地跳动。抱怨是一种意志的软弱,当你抱怨的时候,更要奋发努力。”

好,我们现在看到批判基督教是一种精神寄托背后的信条了。根据爱默生的说法,这世界之所以如此脆弱是因为缺乏自助。所以,对他来说,基督的降生并没有让他感到欣慰:基督并不是医治疾病的妙方,他只是一种精神寄托而已。对艾默生以及当今特丽·科尔·惠特克的追随者来说,基督是一块绊脚石和一种对自由的威胁。是的,甚至我们也有同样的感受:基督并没有直接医治我们最恶恨的疾病――无助,他把无助变为我们通向天国的大门。

虚心的人有福了,
因为天国是他们的。

圣经中虚心的圣徒们

这节经文是什么意思呢?虚心有什么含义?让我们来看看圣经是怎样描写那些神所重用的伟人的。

亚伯拉罕

在面对神要惩罚所多玛和蛾摩拉的事情上,他说:“我虽然是灰尘,还敢对主说话。”(创18:27)

雅各

当雅各经历二十年的放逐生活后回到应许之地,他在祷告中与神摔跤,并说:“你向仆人所施的一切慈爱和诚实,我一点也不配得。我先前只拿着我的杖过这约旦河,如今我却成了两队了。(创32:10)

摩西

当神来到摩西面前,托付给他带领以色列人出埃及的使命时,他说:“摩西对神说,我是什么人,竟能去见法老,将以色列人从埃及领出来呢?……摩西对耶和华说,主啊,我素日不是能言的人,就是从你对仆人说话以后,也是这样。我本是拙口笨舌的。”(出3:11,4:10)

神向摩西发怒的原因不是因为他对自己的能力自惭形秽,而是他对神的能力缺乏信心。神对摩西说:“耶和华对他说,谁造人的口呢,谁使人口哑,耳聋,目明,眼瞎呢?岂不是我耶和华吗?现在去吧,我必赐你口才,指教你所当说的话。”(出4:11-12)

对自卑性瘫痪症的解答

如果一个人被罪恶、自卑或自弃感所缠累,圣经有什么解决的办法?我绝对相信,解决的办法一定不是自尊。神从没对摩西说:“不要贬低自己,你是个人物,你口才很好。”这可不是圣经的方式。神是这样说的:“不要把自己看得一文不值,要把眼光转到我这边。我是造人口的,我会与你同在,帮助你,教导你当说的话。现在看着我,打起精神来!”

圣经解决自卑问题的答案不是高度自尊;而是至高的恩典。你可以通过重复诵读《以赛亚书》41章13节的话:“因为我耶和华你的神,必搀扶你的右手,对你说,不要害怕,我必帮助你。”这节经文来,看你是否能开心地读出来,以此来测试你是否同意这个观点。换句话说,神释放和鼓励那些觉得自己只不过是蠕虫的人的方式,不是说他们是美丽的蝴蝶,相反地,他会说:“我会帮助你。我是你的救主……现在起身去埃及,我会与你同在。”

威廉·凯里的秘密

威廉·凯里不是一个高度“自尊”的人。他不断地责备自己所犯的罪。当1812年那场大火烧毁了他大量的宝贵手稿时,他并不责备魔鬼。他说:“神的路是多么难寻啊!”然后他责备自己在工作中存有太多的自负心理,说:“神重重击打我们了,他有权这么做,被他责罚是我们应得的。”

凯里在他的四名宣教伙伴去世后,写信给安德鲁·福勒,说:“我不知道为何这样一棵贫瘠的树被保留下来;但我知道神不会做错决定。”当他于1834年在印度塞兰坡去世时,按照他生前的要求,他的坟墓上只刻有一句简单的碑文。你知道吗,威廉·凯只是一个相貌平常、不断染上热病、且又在1817年因受伤多年跛脚的人。然而正是这样的一个人,他在四十年中坚忍地克服所有的阻碍。把整本圣经翻译成6种语言,和部分圣经翻译成其他29种语言――这样一个对天国有作为和贡献之人,他的奥秘何在呢?答案在他的墓碑上可以找到。

威廉·凯里的墓碑

1761年8月17日出生
1834年6月9日去世
一只被厌弃、穷困和无助的蠕虫,
在他的膀臂中找到安歇。

威廉·凯里的秘密是不自大。一直到人生的终点,他一直是个虚心的人。他称自己为“一只被厌弃、穷困和无助的蠕虫”,他非常清楚自己的罪和失败。

他的秘密就在他墓志铭上的最后一行字上:“在他的膀臂中找到安歇。”这就是他无论是生或是死的的秘密。他把自己看作是神怀抱中穷困、无助和卑贱的器皿。因为他知道耶稣的应许:虚心的人有福了,因为他们属于有怜悯又有大能的万王之王。

圣经中其他虚心的圣徒

我祷告祈求神说:“伯利恒教会的全会众都可以找到奉献、自我价值以及喜乐的秘诀――不是在自尊的快乐中,而是在神权能的恩典中。神说“不要担心,雅各,我会帮助你。”

大卫

“神所要的祭,就是忧伤的灵。神啊,忧伤痛悔的心,你必不轻看。”(诗51:17)如果你犯了奸淫和谋杀罪后,忧伤痛悔的灵蒙神悦纳。但当你做好事的时候又怎样呢?当建圣殿的材料预备好之后,大卫祷告说:“我算什么,我的民算什么,竟能如此乐意奉献。因为万物都从你而来,我们把从你而得的献给你。”(代上29:14)

换言之,即使当大卫和他的子民施行美德,大卫也没产生自大的念头。相反,他降伏于至高者的恩典下:我们算什么会这样去甘心奉献!自尊归于至高神,归于至高神!不归于我们,即使在我们施行美德时。

所罗门

“耶和华我的神啊,如今你使仆人接续我父亲大卫作王。但我是幼童,不知道应当怎样出入。”(王上3:7)。

约伯

“我从前风闻有你,现在亲眼看见你;因此我厌恶自己,在尘土和炉灰中懊悔。”(伯42:5-6)

以赛亚

“那时我说,祸哉,我灭亡了。因为我是嘴唇不洁的人,又住在嘴唇不洁的民中。又因我眼见大军王万军之耶和华。”(赛6:5)

我们从约伯和以赛亚那学到,谦卑的来源之一是看见神的大能和圣洁。

施洗约翰

“我是用水施洗,但有一位站在你们中间,是你们不认识的,就是那在我以后来的,我给他解鞋带,也不配……他必兴旺,我必衰微。”(约1:27,3:20)因为耶稣说过“凡妇人所生的,没有一个大过约翰的.然而,神国里最小的比他还大”(路7:28)以及“若有人愿意作首先的、他必作众人末后的、作众人的用人。”(可9:35)

税吏

耶稣讲了个两个上圣殿祷告的税吏和法利赛人的比喻。关于税吏,耶稣说:“那税吏远远地站着,连举目望天也不敢,只捶着胸说,神啊,开恩可怜我这个罪人。我告诉你们,这人回家去,比那人倒算为义了,因为凡自高的,必降为卑,自卑的,必升为高。”(路18:13-14)用另一种方式来说:“虚心的人有福了。”

百夫长

“耶稣就和他们同去。离那家不远,百夫长托几个朋友去见耶稣,对他说,主啊,不要劳动。因你到我舍下,我不敢当。我也自以为不配去见你,只要你说一句话,我的仆人就必好了。因为我在人的权下,也有兵在我以下,对这个说去,他就去。对那个说来,他就来。对我的仆人说,你做这事,他就去做。耶稣听见这话,就希奇他,转身对跟随的众人说,我告诉你们,这么大的信心,就是在以色列中我也没有遇见过。”(路7:6-9)

迦南妇女

耶稣先是拒绝了她的求助,因为她不是犹太人。妇人说:“主啊,不错。但是狗也吃它主人桌子上掉下来的碎渣儿。”耶稣听后回应说:“妇人,你的信心是大的!”

我们可以从这位百夫长和迦南妇人那里学习到,灵里贫穷是真实信仰的核心。

彼得

当他看见耶稣在革尼撒勒湖上所行的大能时,“就俯伏在耶稣膝前,说,主啊,离开我,我是个罪人。”(路5:8)

保罗

“我也知道,在我里头,就是我肉体之中,没有良善。因为立志为善由得我,只是行出来由不得我。”(罗7:18)

“我们有这宝贝放在瓦器里,要显明这莫大的力,是出于神,不是出于我们。”(林后4:7)

“我栽种了,亚波罗浇灌了。惟有神叫他生长。可见栽种的算不得什么,浇灌的也算不得什么。只在那叫他生长的神。”(林前3:6-7)

“基督耶稣降世,为要拯救罪人。这话是可信的,是十分可佩服的。在罪人中我个是罪魁。然而我蒙了怜悯,是因耶稣基督要在我这罪魁身上,显明他一切的忍耐,给后来信他得永生的人作榜样。”(提前1:15-16)

什么是灵里贫穷?

一种自我的无力感。

一种在神面前的灵里匮乏和无助感。

一种在神面前的道德污秽感。

一种在神面前的不配感。

是认识到若说我们拥有生命,拥有喜乐或人生有什么意义,全是因为神和他的恩典。

客观来说,我提到人的有限感、匮乏感、污秽感和不配感,都是源自人灵里的贫穷。不论人是否意识到,事实是人没有神就会全然无助,所有人在神面前都是匮乏、无助、污秽和不配的。然而,不是所有这样的人都能“蒙福”。

谁是有福的?

当耶稣说:“虚心的人有福了,”他并不是指所有“虚心”的人,唯有那些认识到这一点的人才是有福的。这让我们看到,八福的第一和第二福放在一起是再合适不过了。“哀恸的人有福了,”显明了灵里贫穷的人的主观认识。

虚心哀恸的人有福了。福份属于那些能敏锐感觉到自己亏缺、罪恶、失败、无助、不配和空乏的人――那些不用自负外袍遮掩事实,且诚恳面对真相并和虚心痛悔寻求神恩典的人。

你们是有福的!因为你们将受安慰。不要怕,软弱的雅各!摩西、耶利米(耶1:6-8)、以赛亚和彼得,不要惧怕!我会与你们同在,我会帮助你,坚固你,用我得胜的右手托住你。神的国属于你。阿们。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Blessed Are the Poor in Spirit Who Mourn

Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.

Back in 1978 I spoke in Aspen, Colorado, to a gathering of Inter-Varsity students and people off the street. At the end of my talk one of the students asked a very common question. He said, "Isn't Christianity a crutch for people who can't make it on their own?"

My answer was very simple. I said, "Yes." Period.

What's Bad About a Crutch? 

I can't remember how the conversation went from there. So let me just pick it up here. My return question would be, "Why is the thought that Christianity is a crutch considered to be a valid criticism of Christianity?" People don't usually look at a crutch and say, "That's bad. It's just a crutch." People don't in general think that crutches are bad things. Why does a crutch become a bad thing when it's Christianity?

I think the answer that most critics would give is this: if Christianity is a crutch, then it's only good for cripples. But we don't like to see ourselves as cripples. And so it is offensive to our self-sufficiency to label Christianity as a crutch.

But Jesus said, "Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick; I came not to call the righteous, but sinners" (Mark 2:17). In other words, the only people who will ever come to get what Jesus has to give are sick people, people who know that they are spiritually and morally and very often physically crippled.

Everybody Has a Creed 

Everybody has a creed. All people believe in something and shape their lives around it. Even agnostics believe very strongly that you ought not believe anything very strongly (which is why it is so hard to be a consistent agnostic). We all have a creed that we live by, whether we can articulate it or not.

What is the creed behind the conviction that if Christianity is a crutch, it is undesirable and unworthy of acceptance? I think the answer is this: the creed behind this criticism of Christianity is the confidence that we are not cripples, and that real joy and fulfillment in life are to be found in the pursuit of self-reliance, self-confidence, self-determination, and self-esteem.

Any Messiah who comes along and proposes to replace self-reliance with childlike God-reliance, and self-confidence with submissive God-confidence, and self-determination with sovereign grace, and self-esteem with magnificent mercy for the unworthy—that Messiah is going to be a threat to the religion of self-admiration. That religion has dominated the world ever since Adam and Eve fell in love with the image of their own independent potential when they it saw reflected back to them in the eye of the serpent: "You will not die; you will be like God."

The Creed of Self-Reliance 

Ralph Waldo Emerson, an American poet and philosopher who died about 100 years ago, wrote a famous essay called "Self-Reliance." It captured the spirit of the age, and the spirit of our age.

Trust thyself, every heart vibrates to that iron string. Discontent is the want of self-reliance. It is infirmity of will.

Ah-ha! Now we see the creed behind the criticism of Christianity as a crutch. The real infirmity of the world, according to Emerson, is lack of self-reliance. And so, to his dismay, along comes Christ, not with a cure for the disease, but a crutch! Christ is a stumbling block and an offense to Emerson and to all the Terry Cole-Whittaker's of our day—yes, and even to us—because it takes the disease that we hate most, namely, helplessness, and instead of curing it, makes it the doorway to heaven.

Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Saints in Scripture Who Were Poor in Spirit 

What does this mean? What does it mean to be poor in spirit? To find out let's look at some great men of God in Scripture.

Abraham

In dealing with the Lord about Sodom and Gomorrah, he said, "Behold, I have taken upon myself to speak to the Lord, I who am but dust and ashes" (Genesis 18:27).

Jacob

When Jacob returned to the promised land after spending 20 years in exile, he wrestled with God in prayer and said, "I am not worthy of the least of all the steadfast love and all the faithfulness which thou hast shown to thy servant, for with only my staff I crossed this Jordan; and now I have become two companies" (Genesis 32:10).

Moses

When God came to him with a mission to lead his people out of Israel, he said, "Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh, and bring the sons of Israel out of Egypt? . . . Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either heretofore or since thou hast spoken to thy servant; but I am slow of speech and of tongue" (Exodus 3:11; 4:10).

The reason God got angry at Moses is not because of his humble assessment of his own abilities, but of his lack of faith in God's ability. God responded and said to Moses, "Who made man's mouth? Who makes him dumb, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak" (Exodus 4:11–12).

The Answer to the Paralysis of Low Self-Esteem 

What is the biblical solution when a person is paralyzed by a sense of guilt or unworthiness or uselessness? I believe with all my heart that the solution is not self-esteem. God did not say to Moses, "Stop putting yourself down. You are somebody. You are eloquent." That is not the biblical way. What God said was, "Stop looking at your own unworthiness and uselessness and look at me. I made the mouth. I will be with you. I will help you. I will teach you what to say. Look to me and live!"

The biblical answer to the paralysis of low self-esteem is not high self-esteem; it is sovereign grace. You can test whether you agree with this by whether you can gladly repeat the words of Isaiah 41:13, "Fear not, you worm Jacob . . . I will help you, says the Lord; your Redeemer is the Holy One of Israel." In other words, God's way of freeing and mobilizing people who see themselves as worms is not to tell them that they are beautiful butterflies but rather to say, "I will help you. I am your redeemer . . . Go to Egypt now, and I will be with you."

William Carey's Secret 

William Carey did not have high self esteem. He castigated himself again and again for his sin. When the fire of 1812 destroyed dozens of his precious manuscripts, he didn't blame the devil. He said, "How unsearchable are the ways of God!" And then he accused himself of too much self-congratulation in his labors, and said, "The Lord has smitten us, he had a right to do so, and we deserve his corrections."

When he had outlived four of his comrades in mission, he wrote back to Andrew Fuller, "I know not why so fruitless a tree is preserved; but the Lord is too wise to err." When he died in 1834 in Serampore, a simple tablet was put on his grave with the words he requested. And when you hear these I want you to ask, What was William Carey's secret? How could he persevere for 40 years over all obstacles—as a homely man, suffering from recurrent fever, limping for years from an injury in 1817, and yet putting the entire Bible into six languages and parts of it into 29 other languages—what was the secret of this man's usefulness and productivity for the kingdom? The tablet on his grave reads,

WILLIAM CAREY
Born August 17the, 1761
Died June 9the, 1834
A wretched, poor, and helpless worm,
On Thy kind arms I fall.

The secret for William Carey was not self esteem. He was poor in spirit to the very end. "A wretched, poor, and helpless worm," he calls himself, knowing very well his sin and failures.

His secret was in the last line of his epitaph: "On Thy kind arms I fall." This was his secret in dying and this was his secret in living. He cast himself, poor, helpless, despicable on the kind arms of God. For he knew the promise of Jesus: Blessed are the poor in spirit, for to them belong the merciful and mighty arms of the King of kings.

More Saints from Scripture Who Were Poor in Spirit 

My prayer is that all of us at Bethlehem will find the secret of productivity and usefulness and happiness NOT in the pleasures of self esteem, but in the power of sovereign grace. "Fear not you worm Jacob . . . I will help you, says the Lord."

David

"The sacrifice acceptable to God is a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise" (Psalm 51:17). Everyone agrees that this is the spirit that pleases God after you are taken in adultery and murder. But what about the times when you are doing good?

When the collection for the temple was being taken, David prayed, "Who am I, and what is my people, that we should be able thus to offer willingly? For all things come from thee, and of thy own have we given thee" (1 Chronicles 29:14).

In other words, even when David and his people were performing an act of virtue, David did not yield to the impulses of self-esteem. Instead he was carried away by the impulses of sovereign grace: "Who are we that we should be able thus to offer willingly! To God be the esteem, to God! and not to us, even in our virtue.

Solomon

"O Lord my God, thou hast made thy servant king in place of David my father, although I am but a little child; I do not know how to go out or come in" (1 Kings 3:7).

Job

"I had heard of thee by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees thee; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes" (Job 42:5–6).

Isaiah

"Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!" (Isaiah 6:5).

So we learn from Job and Isaiah that one source of lowliness is to see God in his power and holiness.

John the Baptist

"I baptize with water; but among you stands one whom you do not know, even he who comes after me, the thong of whose sandal I am not worthy to untie . . . He must increase, I must decrease" (John 1:27; 3:30). Could this be why Jesus said, "Among those born of women, none is greater than John" (Luke 7:28)? "If anyone would be first he must be last of all and servant of all" (Mark 9:35).

The Tax Collector

Jesus told a parable of a Pharisee and a tax collector who went up the Temple to pray. Concerning the tax collector he said, "But the tax collector, standing far off, he would not even lift up his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, 'God, be merciful to me a sinner!' I tell you this man went down to his house justified" (Luke 18:13–14). Which is just another way of saying, "Blessed are the poor in spirit."

The Centurion

"When [Jesus] was not far off from the house, the centurion sent friends to him, saying to him, 'Lord do not trouble yourself, for I am not worthy to have you come under my roof; therefore I did not presume to come to you. But say the word, and let my servant be healed.' . . . When Jesus heard this, he marveled at him, and turned and said to the multitude, 'I tell you, not ever in Israel have I found such faith'" (Luke 7:6–9).

The Canaanite Woman

When Jesus at first refused her request for help, since she was not a Jew, she said, "Yes, Lord, yet even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their master's table." To which Jesus responds, "O woman, great is your faith!"

So we learn from the centurion and the Canaanite woman that poverty of spirit is right at the very heart of what true faith is.

Peter

When he saw the power of Jesus on the Lake of Gennesaret, "Simon Peter fell down at Jesus' knees, saying, 'Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord'" (Luke 5:8).

Paul

"I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh" (Roman 7:18).

"We have this treasure in earthen vessels to show that the transcendent power belongs to God and not to us" (2 Corinthians 4:7).

"I planted, Apollos watered, but God gave the growth. So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God who gives the growth" (1 Corinthians 3:6–7).

"I am the foremost of sinners; but I received mercy for this reason, that in me, as the foremost, Jesus Christ might display his perfect patience for an example to those who were to believe in him for eternal life" (1 Timothy 1:15–16).

What Then Is Poverty of Spirit?

  • It is a sense of powerlessness in ourselves.
  • It is a sense of spiritual bankruptcy and helplessness before God.
  • It is a sense of moral uncleanness before God.
  • It is a sense of personal unworthiness before God.
  • It is a sense that if there is to be any life or joy or usefulness, it will have to be all of God and all of grace.

The reason I say it is a SENSE of powerlessness and a SENSE of bankruptcy and a SENSE of uncleanness and a SENSE of unworthiness, is that, objectively speaking, everybody is poor in spirit. Everybody, whether they sense it or not, is powerless without God and bankrupt and helpless and unclean and unworthy before God. But not everybody is "blessed."

Who Is Blessed?

When Jesus says, "Blessed are the poor in spirit," he does not mean everybody. He means those who feel it. That is why it is so appropriate to take the first and second beatitudes together. "Blessed are those who mourn," clarifies the subjective side of being poor in spirit.

Blessed are the poor in spirit who mourn. Blessed are the people who feel keenly their inadequacies and their guilt and their failures and their helplessness and their unworthiness and their emptiness—who don't try to hide these things under a cloak of self-sufficiency, but who are honest about them and grieved and driven to the grace of God.

Blessed are you! because you are going to be comforted. Fear not, you worm, Jacob! Fear not, Moses, Jeremiah (Jeremiah 1:6–8), Isaiah, Peter! For I will be with you, I will help you, I will strengthen you, I will uphold you with my victorious right hand. Yours is the very kingdom of God. Amen.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org