饥渴慕义的人有福了

《马太福音》5章6节

饥渴慕义的人有福了,
因为他们必得饱足。

《传道书》3章11节是旧约中最打动人心的经文之一。

神造万物,各按其时成为美好,又将永生安置在世人心里(永生原文作永远)。然而神从始至终的作为,人不能参透。

这句话是什么意思呢?神将永生安置在人的心里,然而他从始至终的作为,人无法参透。

不安和渴慕

圣·奥古斯丁说过:

你为自己而创造我们,
并让我们的心无处安歇,
直到我们安歇在你里面。

不安和渴慕是人类心理的共同特征。乔治·赫伯特是我在上大学期间喜欢上的一名诗人。他写过一首诗叫《滑轮》(The Pulley),诗中写道:

神起初造人时,
预备了一杯满满的祝福,
他说,愿尽我们所能倾倒这祝福;
愿这世界遍地的丰盛
集于这小小造物一身

 

神首先赐下力量
随后美就流淌,智慧、荣誉和快乐随之而来:
当几乎所有的祝福都已倾泻而出时,他迟疑了,
因为这最后的祝福,也是所有祝福中最美的一份,
就是心灵的安息。
他说,如果我把这一件珍宝也赐给人,
人将爱这些祝福超过我,
他们将流连在大自然中,而不是安息在创造自然的神里面:
我们就会失去彼此。
于是他留下这份美物,
让人在劳苦愁烦中无处安息,在富足中充满忧虑

 

神说,如果美善无法把人引到我这里,
至少忧虑可以让他们投入我的怀抱。

神将永生放置我们心中,使我们有永不能满足的渴望。我们却试着用旅游度假、科技成果、超级大片、性放纵、体育狂热、迷幻药、禁欲苦修和卓越管理等等来满足这个渴望。然而,我们心中却依然干渴不得饱足。

《以赛亚书》55章2至3节写道:

你们为何花钱〔原文作平银〕买那不足为食物的,
用劳碌得来的买那不使人饱足的呢。
你们要留意听我的话,就能吃那美物,得享肥甘,心中喜乐。
你们当就近我来,侧耳而听,就必得活。

《耶利米书》2章12至13节写道:

我的百姓,做了两件恶事,
就是离弃我这活水的泉源,
为自己凿出池子,是破裂不能存水的池子。

今早来到这里的人中,大多数也是这样。你的灵饥饿,你的心干渴。无论你去哪里,都觉得这不是你真正向往的地方。你的心不满足,你渴望能有什么东西能填满心灵的空洞。然而,对你们当中的一些人来说,最大的悲剧是:即使上帝的灵不停地呼唤你到他身边,你也总是一次又一次地躲开,而去寻找那暂时的快乐,比如去看色情光盘或三级电影,或是沉溺毒品、酒精、美貌,或是什么新的刺激。

但是,所有这一切都转眼成空。纵欲带来的快感之后不过是沉淀的罪恶感和孤独感。毒品和酒精不能让你一直逃避,你还得回来面对现实世界当中糟糕的人际关系;沙滩浴晒出的古铜肤色并不那么自然,且很快就褪色了;任何新鲜刺激也会在几周后变得索然无味。

我们喝水,但是水却干涸;吃饼,但是永不饱足。C.S.路易斯的话越来越真实地在我耳边响起,他说:

“如果在我的心中有一个渴望,是这个世界的任何事物都无法满足的,那么最有可能的解释是:我属于另一个世界。”

耶稣对渴慕的看法

今天早上,耶稣要对我们谈一谈为什么人心总是不得饱足。他要谈论人们心灵中无法消除的饥饿,以及灵魂极度的干渴。

在《马太福音》5章6节里,他说,“饥渴慕义的人有福了,因为他们必得饱足。”

我所要做的很简单,就是和你一同默想以下这两件事:

  1. 耶稣眼中“义”的本质。
  2. 我们渴慕“义”的天性,及这种渴慕如何变成他所应许的满足。

一、耶稣所说的 “义”

首先,什么是“义”?耶稣说“饥渴慕义的人有福了” 。

上周我们引用《诗篇》31篇11节解释了温柔的含义。原因是,在《马太福音》5章5节中,耶稣几乎是逐字地引用了诗篇31篇的话。除此之外,“温柔”一词没有在登山宝训中再出现过。

但今天谈到的主题并非从旧约引用而来,且“义”一词在登山宝训中出现过五次(5:6、10、 20, 6:1、 33)。因此,要理解登山宝训中这个词的意思,最好的方式就是看看它在其他几处的用法。

由于时间关系,我们只会看两个例子,两个用法最相近的例子。

为义受逼迫

“义”这词第二次出现在第10节中。“为义受逼迫的人有福了,因为天国是他们的。”这里的“义”是什么意思?

“八福”的结构

让我们再看一次“八福”的结构,来帮助我们回答这个问题。你可以回想一下:总共有8个福,第10节是最后一福,第11节是“八福”的延伸。第一福(第3节)和最后一福(第10节)给出了同样的确据:“因为天国是他们的。”这看起来像一块三明治的结构:面包的最上层和最下层都说,“因为天国是他们的。”

我们还要注意到:“八福”分为两部分,第一部分和第二部分最后都谈到“义”。第一部分以第6节作结尾:“饥渴慕义的人有福了。”第二部分则以第10节作结尾:“为义受逼迫的人有福了。”

空虚和渴望满足

进一步思考,你会发现这节经文的更深刻的含义。注意,前三种“福气”是为第6节的“饥渴慕义”做准备的,描述的是虚己或一种受让的状态:灵里面的穷乏(第3节);为我们的罪和苦难哀恸(第4节);温柔地接受批评,不加报复或抵挡(第5节)。这三节经文所描述的不是某种充满和丰盈的状态,它们只是人因站在恰当的位置而显出良善和美好。但这还不是我们所渴望的充足、完全,因满了良善而有的作为。因此在前三福之后,耶稣自然而然地会说:“饥渴慕义的人有福了。”他指的就是那些渴望被“义”充满的人。

换句话说,当耶稣赐福给一个认识到自己心灵空虚、愿意忏悔、并不自以为义或自我辩护的人之后,这个人便从空虚转向满足,说:“饥渴慕义的人有福了。”

满足和逼迫

现在,一起来看接下来的三福。在第6节的饥渴和饱足之后,第7节的“怜恤人的人有福了”随之而来。现在,受祝福的人是满足的,而且满有怜悯。他不再只是破碎的、哀恸的和温柔的,而是充满动力的,他发出更多怜悯的行为。第8节说他的心是清洁的,第9节说他不仅安稳平静,也是带来和平的人。

当然,第二部分的四福也谈到“义”。不同的是,这里谈到的不是我们渴慕所缺乏的“义”,而是我们因心中充满“义”而愿意去“为义受逼迫”。

“义”的一个定义

你明白“八福”的结构了吗?前面四个福描述的是哀恸、伤心、安静且饥渴慕义的人;后四福描述的是有怜悯、为义受逼迫和缔造和平的人。这样的结构难道没有让我们明白“义”的定义吗?如第6节所述,如果我们饥渴慕义,是因为我们空虚;然后,在第10节中我们受逼迫,是因为我们已得饱足;所以,“义”就是怜恤、清心和使人和睦。

胜于法利赛人的义

我们再来看登山宝训中另外一处的“公义”,看它是否与这个定义相符。

在5章20节中耶稣说,“我告诉你们,你们的义,若不胜于文士和法利赛人的义,断不能进天国。”接着,第5章接下来的内容阐述的是:我们的“义“必须超过当时恪守律法教条之人的“义”。

  • 21-26节中教导我们不仅不可杀人,而且不可向弟兄动怒,相反,要寻求和睦。
  • 27-30节中谈到我们不仅不可奸淫,而且不可动淫念。
  • 31-32节中谈到我们不可因为旧约中有可以离婚的律法,就容忍离婚。我们必须以“义”融化刚硬的心,持守盟约,不与那些不持守这盟约的人结婚。
  • 33-37节中谈到我们不单要信守诺言,而且要做不需要发誓也能使人信任我们的那种人。
  • 38-42节中谈到我们不仅不可以眼还眼,反而我们要以善胜恶,当有人打你的左脸时,连右脸也要给人打。
  • 43-48节中我们不仅爱邻舍,而且要爱我们的仇敌,并为那些逼迫我们的人祷告。

耶稣在5章20节中说,我们的义要超过文士和法利赛人的义。他的意思是很明显的。我们的公义与施行怜悯,内心纯全,喜好和平、不报复有关。所以,这也确认了我们通过八福的结构对公义的理解是正确的。公义是怜悯他人;公义是在唯一能监察人心的神面前保持清洁的心;公义是努力寻求和平。

公义的含义可能不止如此。但公义的上述几点含义是这几节经文以及这一章所重点强调的。因此我们思考的重点就放在公义是怜悯、清心与制造和平这三个方面上。

二、渴慕的天性

我们第二个要简短默想的内容是渴慕的天性,以及如何将渴慕转化为满足。

为现实惊叹

我们先思考一下有关孩子的事。通过观察孩子,我们可以学到很多。在座的年轻人也可以听一听,看你是否能在我讲的内容里面找到自己的影子。让我给你们念念G.K·切斯特顿在八十年前写的一些话:

“我们都喜欢令人惊奇的故事,因为这些故事能触动了我们最原始的本能――惊奇的本能。你还记得我们很小的时候,根本不用讲神话故事,只讲故事就可以了,生活本身已经足够有趣。 七岁的孩童听到汤米打开门、看见大龙,就会兴奋不已了;但三岁的孩子只要听到汤米打开门就会兴奋不已。男孩们喜欢有浪漫传奇的故事;而更小的孩子则喜欢现实的故事,因为对他们来说生活本身就是传奇了……所以那些唱给婴儿的童谣只是唤起了他们在母腹中的欢喜雀跃,当说到金色的苹果,他们会想起苹果还青着的样子;当我们说河里流动着的都是酒的时候,他们会想起河里满了汩汩流去的水。”――引自《回到正统》第53页(Orthodoxy, p. 53f.)

我知道这是真的,因为我给自己的儿子讲了13年的故事。在故事中,我们有几个想象出来的男孩,他们的名字是困头, 困吉, 夸比和夸尼。我记得抱着听得入神的、两岁大的儿子,讲述说:

很久很久以前,有一个男孩叫困头。有一个早晨他醒得很早。他起床后,穿上红拖鞋和蓝睡衣,然后下楼吃早餐。在餐桌上有妈妈刚煮好的热鸡蛋,上面还冒着热气。黄灿灿的蛋黄,周围是白色的 ,它的味道棒极了。早餐后,困头穿上衣服,走出门外,到阳光下去玩。他一整天都玩得很开心。

这是故事的全部。就是这样的现实故事,让小孩子着迷得不行。但现在,可能必须编造出离奇的怪物和打斗,配搭特殊声效来吸引人。但是,对于两岁的巴拿巴而言,他仍认为阳光和冒着热气的鸡蛋,以及红拖鞋,非常具有传奇色彩。

渴望终极现实

这说明什么呢?是不是说我们对新鲜事物的渴慕应当像两岁孩童那样单纯:为小河流水和长颈鹿有长脖子,及鸡蛋的中间有蛋黄而惊奇?

那是不是说,当你在日内瓦看到那些伟大改教家的雕像时,你在想,我真想回到那个时代,去看看那个时代的路德、加尔文和慈运理。 不,这不是我们真正想要的。我们要的是真正的加尔文、路德和慈运理。我们想要亲身经历那个时代叱咤风云,自己体会伟人们的所思所想。我们不要巨人的塑像。我们向往拥有他们那有血有肉的现实生命和理想。

当谈到世界的现象时,我们并不需要小河流水最初带给我们的惊奇。我们要的是小河流水后面的终极事实。河流只是一张老照片,一个指向标, 它唤醒我们的内心,而我们真正渴慕的是有一条河畅流在上帝居住的圣城里,那里流淌着生命的活水,如同羔羊和上帝宝座里的水晶一样明亮。

你生命的饥渴无法通过这个世界的任何东西来满足,这是上帝对你所定的旨意,为让你明白你是为另一个世界而造的,你是为上帝而造的。

不是远离世界

但是,我们在这点上要很小心,因为我们可能会犯很严重的错误。我们可以远离这个世界。我们可以变成和尚、尼姑或修士。也就是在这里,耶稣的话显得尤为重要――防止我们犯那个错误。

耶稣说,最后真正能得到满足的人不是独自在森林里与神交通的人,而是饥渴慕义之人。那些渴望怜悯的恩典、清洁的思想和感受、以及充满热情地去制造和平的人。

只渴慕神就行了?

如果有人问为什么满足的应许是给那些饥渴慕义的人,而非给那些独自寻求神的人。这有两个原因。

  1. 什么是“上帝的义”

    首先,耶稣指的是上帝的公义 。《马太福音》6章33节说:“先求他的国和他的义。”就是说,我们要“饥渴慕义。”当我们渴慕公义时,我们不会定睛在自己的破碎上 ,而是定睛在神身上。别无选择,我们要单单渴慕上帝的义。

  2. 这篇讲道结尾说了什么?

    但为什么耶稣应许让渴慕神的义的人得到满足,而没有应许独自寻求神的人必得满足呢?其中有更深刻的缘由。

在7章22至23节耶稣用如下的几句话结束了这篇讲道:

当那日必有许多人对我说,主啊,主啊,我们不是奉你的名传道,奉你的名赶鬼,奉你的名行许多异能吗?我就明明的告诉他们说,我从来不认识你们,你们这些作恶的人,离开我去吧。

他们称耶稣为主;他们似乎有超自然的能力和恩赐。他们奉耶稣的名赶鬼和行神迹。但耶稣最后却赶走他们,并否认这些人和他有任何关系,因为他们是恶人,他们没有“义”。

他们以为自己认识耶稣,也以为耶稣认识他们。但他们与耶稣是陌路人――“我从来不认识你们”。为什么呢?因为他们从来未曾渴慕过耶稣的义,他们只是宗教人士!他们去教会,参与许多宗教活动,但他们生活的激情和渴望不是义的。因此,他们不会满足,也永远不可能满足。

我们灵魂深处的、永恒的满足并非来自世界的愉悦,也不是来自仅仅是宗教化的或与上帝的纵向关系之中。对那些在世上挣扎着要有他的样式、以全部生命的热情去追求他的人来说,真正的满足来源于上帝。

让公义成为你的激情和满足

所以,今早我要对年轻人说的话是:“不要装作自己是领导军队抵挡邪恶力量的王子,冒着生命危险去拯救国家。不要假装你是被俘的王子,从恶棍的手下逃脱出来,跨过恶臭的河流和毒蛇滋生的沙漠去警告国王危险将近。不要满足于向往中的欲望!要成为那样的王子!要成为那样的公主!那些饥渴慕义,并且全然委身于上帝的公义的人,将会谱写出最伟大的未来。

为上帝的公义行大事――让它点燃你生命的激情和渴慕吧。不要再三心二意的样子,好像成为一个百万富翁就可以让你满足!

因此我要对你们说:“改变你的饮食习惯永远不会晚。你明天打算吃饭吗?那么,为什么不打算以“义”为饼呢?你明天要喝东西吗?那么,就去喝“义”的活水吧。”

为什么在你的生命中你总是“这山望着那山高”?会不会是因为你没有敬虔地追求义,而是追求其他的事物?让我们思考一下我们是如何不间断、不松懈、饥渴地、日复一日地追求日用的饮食。让我们祈祷说,让我们以同样渴慕,在我们的灵性生活中、人际关系中,在我们所在的环境中,在整个世界去建立上帝的“义”。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Blessed Are Those Who Hunger and Thirst for Righteousness

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

Some of the most evocative words in the Old Testament come from Ecclesiastes 3:11,

God has made everything beautiful in its time; also he has put eternity into man's mind, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.

What does this mean: that God has put eternity in man's mind and yet has withheld from us the vision of what he has done from everlasting to everlasting?

Restlessness and Longing 

St. Augustine said,

Thou madest us for Thyself,
and our heart is restless,
until it rest in Thee.

Restlessness and longing are universal traits of the human heart. George Herbert, one of the poets I came to love during my college days, wrote a poem called The Pulley which goes like this:

When God at first made man,
Having a glass of blessings standing by—
Let us (said he) pour on him all we can;
Let the world's riches which dispersed lie,
Contract into a span.
So strength first made a way;
Then beauty flow'd, then wisdom, honour, pleasure:
When almost all was out, God made a stay,
Perceiving that, alone, of all His treasure,
Rest in the bottom lay.
For if I should (said He)
Bestow this jewel also on My creature,
He would adore My gifts instead of Me,
And rest in nature, not the God of Nature:
So both should losers be.

Yet let him keep the rest,
But keep them with repining restlessness;
Let him be rich and weary, that at least
If goodness lead him not, yet weariness
May toss him to My breast.

God has put eternity in our hearts and we have an inconsolable longing. We try to satisfy it with scenic vacations, accomplishments of creativity, stunning cinematic productions, sexual exploits, national sports extravaganzas, hallucinogenic drugs, ascetic rigors, managerial excellence, etc., etc. But the longing remains.

Isaiah put it like this in 55:2–3:

Why do you spend your money
        for that which is not bread,
and your labor
        for that which does not satisfy?
Hearken diligently to me, and eat what is good,
        and delight yourselves in abundance.
Incline your ear, and come to me;
        hear that your soul may live.

And Jeremiah, like this in 2:12–13:

My people have committed two evils:
        They have forsaken me,
the fountain of living waters,
        and hewed out cisterns for themselves,
broken cisterns, that can hold no water.

Many of you here this morning are like this. Your soul is hungry and your heart is thirsty. You feel an insatiable longing for something. You are restless. Almost everywhere you turn, the grass is greener than where you stand. And the great tragedy for some of you is that even though this is the Spirit of God beckoning you to himself, you turn away again and again to short-run, temporary, backfiring pleasures of R-rated video cassettes or movies, or drugs or alcohol or tanning parlors or a new toy.

And everything turns to ashes in your hands. The thrill of lust leaves the sediment of guilt and loneliness. The drugs and alcohol can't keep you from waking up in the real world again and again with your messed-up relationships. The tan looks so artificial and fades so quickly. And the new toy is so boring in just a few weeks.

We drink at broken cisterns. And we eat bread which does not satisfy. And the words of C.S. Lewis ring more and more true. He said,

If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.

Jesus Has Something to Say About Longing 

Jesus has something to say to us this morning about this universal experience of an inconsolable longing. He has something to say about the insatiable hunger of the human heart, and about the relentless thirst of our soul.

His words are found in Matthew 5:6 where he says, "Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied."

What I would like to do is simply meditate with you on two things:

  1. the nature of the righteousness that Jesus has in view, and
  2. the nature of our hunger and thirst for it, and how that hunger turns into the satisfaction which he promises.

1. What Is the Righteousness Jesus Is Talking About?

First, then, what is this righteousness? "Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for RIGHTEOUSNESS."

Last week we explained the meaning of meekness by going back to Psalm 37:11. The reason was that Jesus seemed to be quoting that psalm almost verbatim in Matthew 5:5. And, besides that, the word "meekness" does not occur again in the Sermon on the Mount.

But today's beatitude is not a quote from the OT and the word "righteousness" occurs five times in this sermon (5:6, 10, 20; 6:1, 33). So the best way to catch on to Jesus' meaning in this sermon is to look at these other instances of the word righteousness.

But we will only have time to look at a couple. So let's look at the ones that are closest.

Persecuted for Righteousness' Sake

The next use is found in verse 10. "Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven." What does righteousness mean here when it says, "persecuted for righteousness' sake"?

The Structure of the Beatitudes

To answer this, it helps to see the structure of the beatitudes again. You recall that there are eight beatitudes with verse 10 as the last one and verse 11 as an expansion of it. The first beatitude (verse 3) and the last beatitude (verse 10) give the same words of assurance: "For theirs is the kingdom of heaven." It looks like a kind of sandwich: the top piece of bread and the bottom piece of bread both say, "Theirs is the kingdom of heaven."

What we didn't notice yet is that there are two groups of four, and the first four and the second four end with a reference to "righteousness." The first group of four ends with verse 6: "Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness." And the second group of four ends with verse 10: "Blessed are those who are persecuted the sake of righteousness."

Emptiness and Longing for Fullness

The more you ponder it, the more significant this becomes. Notice that the three beatitudes leading up to hunger for righteousness in verse 6 are descriptions of emptiness or passivity: poverty-stricken in spirit (verse 3), mourning over our sin and our misery (verse 4), meekly accepting criticism without retaliation or defensiveness (verse 5). These are not characteristics of overflowing fullness. They are beautiful and good in their proper place, but they are not yet the richness and fullness and overflowing activity of goodness that we long for. And so isn't it natural that following these first three beatitudes the Lord would say, "Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness"—those who long to be filled with righteousness?

In other words, after pronouncing a blessing upon those who recognize their emptiness and grieve over it and don't try to justify or defend themselves, Jesus now makes a transition from emptiness to fullness by saying that hunger and thirst for righteousness is also blessed.

Fullness and Persecution 

Then look at the next three beatitudes. This is just what we find. After hunger and satisfaction in verse 6 comes, "Blessed are the merciful" (in verse 7). Now the blessed person is full and overflowing in mercy. He is not merely broken and sorrowful and meek. He is now active and overflowing with deeds of mercy. Verse 8 says that he is pure in heart and verse 9 says that he is not just peaceful, but a peacemaker.

Then this second group of four beatitudes ends with another reference to righteousness. Only this time it is not a hunger for righteousness which we were lacking, but a persecution for righteousness with which we are overflowing.

A Definition of Righteousness

Do you see the structure? The first four beatitudes describe the broken, grieving, quiet person who hungers and thirsts for righteousness. And the next four beatitudes describe the merciful, pure peacemaker who gets persecuted for his righteousness. Doesn't this structure, then, give us the definition of righteousness? If we were hungering for righteousness in verse 6 because we were empty, and then we get persecuted for righteousness in verse 10 because we've been filled, isn't it proper to define righteousness as that with which we have been filled?—namely, mercy, purity, and peacemaking?

Righteousness Exceeding That of the Pharisees

Well, let's look at one other use of "righteousness" in the sermon to see if it confirms this understanding.

In 5:20 Jesus says, "I tell you, unless your righteousness exceeds that of the scribes and Pharisees, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven." Then what follows in the rest of chapter 5 are six illustrations of how our righteousness must surpass the righteousness of the scrupulous law keepers of the day.

  • In verses 21–26 we must not only not kill, but more, we must not sustain anger against a brother but seek peace.
  • In verses 27–30 we must not only not commit adultery, but more, we must not look upon a person lustfully.
  • In verses 31–32 we should not condone divorce just because there is a legal provision for it in the Old Testament. We should surpass the righteousness that makes peace with hardness of heart, and keep our covenant commitments and not marry those who don't.
  • In verses 33–37 we should not only keep our oaths, but more, we should be the kind of people who do not need to take oaths in order to be believed.
  • In verse 38–42 we should not only not poke out an eye because one of ours was poked out, but more, we should turn the other cheek and return good for evil.
  • And in verses 43–48 we should not only love our neighbor, but more, we should love our enemy and pray for those who persecute us.

So it is pretty clear what Jesus meant back in 5:20 when he said that our righteousness must exceed that of the scribes and Pharisees. It has to do with showing mercy, and being radically pure in your heart, and making peace instead of retaliating. So our understanding of righteousness from the structure of the beatitudes is indeed confirmed. Righteousness is showing mercy to other people; and righteousness is being pure in heart before God who alone can see the heart; and righteousness is the effort to make peace.

Now there may be much more to it than that. But that seems to be the focus of these verses and this chapter, and so we will leave our focus on this: mercy, purity and peacemaking.

2. What Is the Nature of Our Hunger and Thirst? 

The second thing we want to meditate on briefly is the nature of hunger and thirst and how they turn into satisfaction. "Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness."

Astonished by Reality

Let's think about children for a moment. We can learn much about ourselves by watching the children. You children listen to this too. See if you don't find yourself in what I have to say. Let me read from G.K. Chesterton who wrote these words 80 years ago:

We all like astonishing tales because they touch the nerve of the ancient instinct of astonishment. This is proved by the fact that when we are very young children we do not need fairy tales: we only need tales. Mere life is interesting enough. A child of seven is excited by being told that Tommy opened a door and saw a dragon. But a child of three is excited by being told that Tommy opened a door. Boys like romantic tales; but babies like realistic tales—because they find them romantic . . . This proves that even nursery tales only echo an almost pre-natal leap of interest and amazement. These tales say that apples were golden only to refresh the forgotten moment when we found that they were green. They make rivers run with wine only to make us remember, for one wild moment, that they run with water. (Orthodoxy, p. 53f.)

I know this is true because I have been telling stories to my sons for 13 years. We have some imaginary boys named Quintle, Quingy, Quabe, and Quarney. I can remember holding two year old Karsten spellbound with a narrative that would go something like this:

Once upon a time there was a little boy named Quintle. One morning he woke up very early. He got out of bed and put on his red slippers and his blue bathrobe and came downstairs to breakfast. There on the plate was a hot egg that mommy had just cooked. Smoke curled up in the air from it. It was yellow in the middle and white around the edges, and tasted sooo good. After breakfast Quintle got dressed and went outside in the sunshine to play, and had fun all day.

That's all it took. He was spellbound by the romance of reality. But now, I have to produce accurate descriptions of monsters and weapons with complicated plots and sound effects. But not with Barnabas, the two year old. He still thinks sunshine and smoking eggs and red slippers are really amazing.

Longing for Absolute Reality 

What does this mean? Does it mean that the longings we all feel for greener grass are really longings to go back to that two year old simplicity when we were awed by the fact that rivers run with water and giraffes have long necks and eggs are yellow in the middle?

No. That would be like a man who looked at my photograph of the Reformer's wall in Geneva and said, "O, to return to the day that you stood there and took that picture! O, to be there like you were there and to see those great towering figures of Calvin and Luther and Zwingli in Geneva!" No. That is not what we really want. We want the real Calvin and Luther and Zwingli. We want to be swept up in the realities they were swept up in. We don't want a great statue. We want the flesh and blood reality of these men and their cause.

So it is with the world. We don't really want the first thrill of wonder that rivers run with water. We want the eternal reality behind the river. The reason the river awakens wonder in us and then leaves us thirsty again is because the river is just a picture. It is just a pointer. There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy habitation of the Most High. It flows with the water of life, bright as crystal from the throne of God and from the Lamb.

The hunger and the thirst of your life that cannot be satisfied by anything in this world is the constant beckoning of God to remember that you were made for another world, you were made for God.

Not Withdrawal from the World 

But let us be very careful at this point. For just here we could make a very dangerous mistake. We could withdraw from the world. We could become monks or nuns or forest rangers. But just here is where the words of Jesus become all-important—to keep us from making that mistake.

Jesus says that the people who will be satisfied in the end are not people who have gone off into the woods to find solitary communion with God. Rather they are the people whose hunger and thirst has been for righteousness, people who have craved for the grace to be merciful, people who have yearned for radical purity of thoughts and feelings, people who have passionately desired to make peace.

Why Not Simply Hungering for God? 

And if someone should ask why the promise of satisfaction is made to those who hunger for righteousness and not to those who simply hunger for God, there are two reasons.

1. God's Righteousness in View

One is that Jesus surely means God's righteousness—a righteousness like God's, and a righteousness that God gives. Matthew 6:33 says, "Seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness." Surely that is basically the same as saying, "Hunger and thirst for righteousness." When we hunger and thirst for righteousness, we don't look to the broken cisterns of our own resources. We look to God. So it is not either-or: we hunger for righteousness in God.

2. How the Sermon Ends

But there is a deeper reason why Jesus promises satisfaction to those who hunger for God's righteousness instead of promising satisfaction to those who simply hunger for God.

The Sermon on the Mount ends in 7:22–23 with these words of Jesus:

On that day many will say to me, "Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?" And then will I declare to them, "I never knew you; depart from me, you evildoers."

They called him Lord. They seemed to have the charismatic gift of prophesy. They were engaged in exorcisms of demons and miracles in Jesus' name. And he turned them away at the last day saying he never knew them, because they were doers of evil and not righteousness.

They thought they knew him. They thought he knew them. But they were strangers: "I never knew you." Why? Because they had not hungered and thirsted for his righteousness. They had been religious! They had gone to church. They had gotten involved in many religious activities. But the passion, the hunger, the thirst of their lives was not righteousness. And therefore they will not be satisfied, neither in this age nor in the age to come.

Deep and lasting satisfaction for our souls comes not from the delights of the world nor from a merely religious or vertical relationship with God. Satisfaction comes from God to those whose passion in life is to know him in the struggle to be like him in the world (5:48).

Make Righteousness Your Passion and Be Satisfied 

So to children this morning I would say: Don't just make believe that you are that prince who leads his army out against the forces of evil and risks his life to do what is right and to save the kingdom. Don't just pretend that you are that captive princess who escapes from the villain's dungeon and crosses swollen rivers and snake-infested deserts to warn the king of danger. Don't settle for the desires of make believe! BE that prince someday! BE that princess someday! The great tales of the future will be written of real men and women who were passionately committed to one thing—the righteousness of God.

Make it the passion and the hunger and the thirst of your life to do great acts of righteousness. Don't settle for the little half-hearted satisfaction of being a millionaire.

And to the rest of us grownups I would say: It is never too late to change your diet. Do you plan to eat tomorrow? Then why not plan to eat righteousness? Do you plan to drink tomorrow? Then why not plan to drink righteousness?

Could it be that one of the reasons the grass is greener everywhere you look is that your life is not devoted to the central pursuit of righteousness, but to the pursuit of other things? Let us consider with what regularity and perseverance and strong urges we pursue food and drink day after day. And let us make it our prayer that we will hunger and thirst in that same way to establish righteousness—in our own souls and in all our relationships and in our land and in the world.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org