被呼召去受苦和喜乐:为那永恒极重的荣耀

“ 我们有这宝贝放在瓦器里,要显明这莫大的能力是出于神,不是出于我们。我们四面受敌,却不被困住;心里作难,却不至失望;遭逼迫,却不被丢弃;打倒了,却不至死亡。身上常带着耶稣的死,使耶稣的生也显明在我们身上。因为我们这活着的人是常为耶稣被交于死地,使耶稣的生在我们这必死的身上显明出来。这样看来,死是在我们身上发动,生却在你们身上发动。但我们既有信心,正如经上记着说:『我因信,所以如此说话。』我们也信,所以也说话。自己知道那叫主耶稣复活的,也必叫我们与耶稣一同复活,并且叫我们与你们一同站在他面前。凡事都是为你们,好叫恩惠因人多越发加增,感谢格外显多,以致荣耀归与神。所以,我们不丧胆。外体虽然毁坏,内心却一天新似一天。我们这至暂至轻的苦楚,要为我们成就极重无比、永远的荣耀。原来我们不是顾念所见的,乃是顾念所不见的;因为所见的是暂时的,所不见的是永远的。”

今天早上在场的每个人,都希望经历第16节所说的某些东西。保罗说,“我们不丧胆。外体虽然毁坏,内心却一天新似一天。”这段经文里的某些东西大家不想经历,而另外又有些东西,每个人都想得到。

没有人想要的东西和每个人都想要的东西

在这里的人,没人想要丧胆(《新译本》作,沮丧)。来到这里的人,谁会说,“我特别希望这里的歌曲和讲道,能让我变得更沮丧。真希望派博牧师今天的讲道让我更灰心。”不会有这样的人吧,谁愿意让生活的勇气大受创伤啊?我可不想,保罗也不想这样伤害你。

相反,每个人都想心灵不断更新。我们都知道,那些对于力量、新鲜事物、盼望、活力、勇气的感觉,以及对生命的热情,等等,都只能延续一小段时间,然后会逐渐消褪。假如我们希望心里坚强,常有盼望和喜乐,有源源不断涌流的爱去爱别人,我们就必须不断更新才行。大家明白,生命不是静止的,往往会有高低起伏、盈亏兴衰、更新拓展、再更新再拓展。而每个人都想得着更新的能力。在这里的,应该没有一个人想一直留在衰竭的谷底,一直被空虚沮丧折磨吧。假如有一个秘诀,能让我们刚强、有盼望、喜乐、有爱心,而且日复一日持续下去,你一定很想知道这秘诀是什么。

两个关键性词:“所以”和“因为”

就是说,这段经文中有两个词语,应该特别引起我们的注意:16节开头的“所以”和17节开头的“因为。”它们为什么这么关键呢?(中文和合本圣经,并没有把17节开头的连词“因为”翻译出来。——译者注。)

第16节作为一个三角形的顶端

请把16节想象成一个三角形的顶点,被两条边所支撑。就是说,我们所渴望的,“我们不丧胆……内心却一天新似一天”的境界,就是被这两条线支撑的:这种境界,也正是大家想要达到的——都能够这么说,也能够这么确信。

16节:我们不丧胆……却一天新似一天。

第7-15节作为支持该顶点的一条边

该节经文开头用“所以”这个词,是因为保罗在此前已经说到的事情,带来这样的体会,并且支持了这样的观点:亦即在7-15节中,他提到“这些,这些,还有这些,都是真的……”“所以我们不丧胆……所以我们一天新似一天……”7-15节的真理,导致和支持了这个结论,这就是第一条边。我们应该充分重视这些经文,从中寻觅,发现对我们今天的指导意义!

第17-18节,支持该顶点的另一条边

接下来,后一节经文开头的“因为”(17节),意味着保罗为了支持16节的意思,将继续补充某些事情。“我们不丧胆……而且一天新似一天”就是因为这是真的,这也是真的,并且这个也是真的……这17-18节的真理,就是三角形另外的一条边,同样支持他刚刚所描述的那种经历。

明白了吗?我们渴望得到的那种经历,就坐落在这个三角形的顶端,用两条边支持着。第7-15节所说的是真的,“所以我们不丧胆……却一天新似一天。”这是其中一条边。“我们不丧胆,却一天新似一天”是真的,还因为第17-18节说的也是真的。

所以我们下面的重点,是要仔细看看这两条边,好让那支撑了保罗的真理,同样来支撑我们。

第16节乃是发生在患难当中的

不过,让我们先来简要观察第16节,里面说,那不丧胆和一天新似一天的状态,乃是在患难中产生的。“我们不丧胆。外体虽然毁坏,内心却一天新似一天。”保罗清楚知道,他正在走向死亡——每个人都在走向死亡。他还遭受了极大的苦难,从中他看到自己地上的生命正在毁坏和消逝。他经历了各样的软弱、疾病、伤害、劳苦、压力、沮丧和失望,每一个遭遇都蚕食着他的生命。换句话说,就是“死是在我们身上发动”(参见第12节)。

有了这段经文,然后才引入“我们不丧胆……内心却一天新似一天”这句话。因此,我们现在所询问的,并不仅仅是,“我怎样才能在生活中不丧胆?”或是,“我怎样才能被更新,一天新似一天?”,而是说,“我怎么能在身体不断衰败、地上的生命不断消逝的同时,还可以不丧胆,有从心里发出的更新的力量,满怀喜乐地在爱里行动,并且坚持到底?”

现在我们仔细来看看保罗对这个问题的答案。先是7-15节,然后是17-18节。

第7-15节:不会丧胆的四个理由

在7-15节的经文中,保罗列出了至少四个理由,来说明“所以,我们不丧胆”。其中每一个,都涉及他属地生命的不断废坏。他从来不曾忘记,自己正在走向死亡,生命每时每刻都被消耗着。所以这里他要说的就是:尽管他的身体逐渐废坏,真理仍然必须申明。

1. 上帝的能力和上帝的儿子要得着荣耀

首先,虽然他的肉体和心肠渐渐衰退,但是就在这苦难里面,而且是借着这痛苦的经历,上帝的大能和神儿子的生命被彰显出来,得了荣耀。

第7节说:“我们有这宝贝放在瓦器 [指正在毁坏中的,软弱的身体] 里,要显明这莫大的能力是出于神,不是出于我们。”所以我们不丧胆……因为神的能力正是在我们的软弱上彰显出来。

第10节说:“身上常带着耶稣的死 [那是外在身体毁坏的另一个层面],使耶稣的生也显明在我们身上。”所以我们不丧胆……因为神儿子的生命,就在我们每日的死去当中,得着了高举。

第11节说:“因为我们这活着的人是常为耶稣被交于死地,使耶稣的生在我们这必死的身上显明出来。”所以我们不丧胆……因为神儿子的生命,就在我们不断衰退毁坏的身体上,得着了彰显和荣耀。

因此,当外体渐渐毁坏时,保罗仍不丧胆,第一个原因是:尽管他软弱,尽管他为着别人的缘故而每日经历死亡,上帝的大能和神儿子的生命却得着了荣耀,而这正是让保罗最喜乐的事情。

2. 使教会得着坚固

其次,虽然外体渐渐衰退,但借着苦难,并且就在这苦难中,生命却经由他而流淌到教会里去了。许多基督徒因着保罗的软弱得了坚固。

第12节说:“这样看来,死是在我们身上发动,生却在你们身上发动。”所以我们不丧胆……因为不仅上帝得了荣耀,而且你们——我所心爱的人,也在获得生命、力量和盼望。

第15节说:“凡事都是为你们,好叫恩惠因人多越发加增 [尽管保罗正在替他们受苦],感谢格外显多,以致荣耀归与神。”所以我们不丧胆……因为(请留意,这第15节是如何把前面的两个理由放在一起的)因为我在苦难中的服事,恩典就被传播到你们当中,而且荣耀就归与神。把恩典带给他人,把荣耀归与上帝,这两件工作,是保罗生命中的挚爱——而这节经文说到,它们产生在同一个经历中。所以保罗就不会丧胆。

3. 上帝那支撑性的同在

第三,虽然他的外体渐渐衰退,但是就在这苦难中,并且借着这苦难,上帝却在支撑着他,让他不至倒下。

第8-9节(请留意,在每个配对的陈述句中,保罗真正要表达的是:没错,我们的外体在渐渐毁坏,但是我们并不丧胆):“我们四面受敌,却不被困住;心里作难,却不至失望;遭逼迫,却不被丢弃;打倒了,却不至死亡。”所以我们不丧胆……因为上帝的支撑,没有人能打败我们。

4. 我们得以从死里复活

第四,虽然他的外体逐渐衰退,但他将与教会一起,从死里复活,并要与耶稣同在。

第14节说:“[我们] 自己知道那叫主耶稣复活的,也必叫我们与耶稣一同复活,并且叫我们与你们一同站在他面前。”所以我们不丧胆……因为结果一切都会很美好。就算死亡,也不能让这个故事变成悲剧。我要复活;而且会跟你们——我所爱的人一起生活;我也会跟耶稣一起生活,永远分享他的荣耀。

所以……支持那个美妙经历(不会丧胆,而且一天新似一天)的第一条边(7-15节)。

  1. 我正在不断被更新,因为上帝的能力和神儿子的生命,就在我不断衰退的软弱中,得了彰显和荣耀。
  2. 我正在不断地被更新,因为生命借着我的患难,流淌到我深爱的教会里去。
  3. 我正在不断地被更新,因为上帝会在我的苦难中支撑我,让我不至倒下。
  4. 我正在不断地被更新,因为我知道,我会跟你们和耶稣一起,从死里复活,直活到永永远远。.

所以我不丧胆。

第17-18节:不会丧胆的另外四个理由

现在,让我们来看看支持16节经文(保罗那美好经历)的另外一条边,这就是第17-18节的经文。他之所以不会丧胆,而且一天新似一天,就是因为17-18节所说的都是真实的。这里又给我们提供了保罗不至丧胆的四个理由,尽管他的外体渐渐衰退——包括他的软弱、疾病、伤害、以及艰难等等。

1. 至暂的苦楚

他之所以不丧胆,是因为他所受的苦楚是暂时性的。

第17节说:“这至暂至轻的苦楚……”不是说几十秒就过去了,而是说仅仅一辈子而已(和千百万年计的千年国度比较,人生岂不就是一瞬间的事吗),很快就会过去的。这里“暂时”一词指的是“现今”——“我们现今的苦楚”——也就是仅限于今生的诸多苦楚。我真的不会丧胆……因为我的苦楚不久就会结束,不会跟我进入永恒的生命。

2. 至轻的苦楚

他之所以不丧胆,因为这苦楚是轻微的。

第17节说:“这至暂至轻的苦楚……”这话可不是生活在安逸中的美国人说的。而是保罗说的。保罗不会忘记自己那些痛苦的经历(林后11:23-28)。

“他们是基督的仆人吗?(我说句狂话,)我更是。我比他们多受劳苦,多下监牢,受鞭打是过重的,冒死是屡次有的。被犹太人鞭打五次,每次四十减去一下;被棍打了三次;被石头打了一次,遇著船坏三次,一昼一夜在深海里。又屡次行远路,遭江河的危险、盗贼的危险,同族的危险、外邦人的危险、城里的危险、旷野的危险、海中的危险、假弟兄的危险。受劳碌、受困苦,多次不得睡,又饥又渴,多次不得食,受寒冷,赤身露体。除了这外面的事,还有为众教会挂心的事,天天压在我身上。”

保罗说那些苦楚都是轻微的,他并不是说它们都很容易承受,没有带来任何痛楚。他的意思是,跟那将要来的事物比较,这些就显得微不足道了。跟日后极重无比的荣耀相比,它们就如同天平上的羽毛一般。“我想,现在的苦楚若比起将来要显于我们的荣耀就不足介意了”(罗8:18)。我不会丧胆……因为我的苦楚(相对来说)都是很轻微的。

3. 极重无比、永远的荣耀

保罗之所以不丧胆,因为苦楚中生出了极重无比永远的荣耀。

第17节说:“我们这至暂至轻的苦楚,要为我们成就极重无比、永远的荣耀。”等待着保罗的,不是暂时,而是永恒。不是轻微,而是极其重大。也不是苦楚,而是荣耀。而且这荣耀无与伦比。乃是眼睛未曾看见,耳朵未曾听见,人心也未曾想到的,是神为爱他的人所预备的(林前2:9)。

并且这里的要点在于,苦楚绝不仅仅是“黎明前的黑暗”,在它里面要产生出荣耀来!这里面有一个必然而真切的关联,即,我们现今的艰难劳苦,直接决定了将来享受荣耀的多寡。因此,对痛苦的忍耐,没有一刻会白白浪费。我之所以不丧胆……是因为我所遭受的一切麻烦,正在为我制造出极重无比永远的荣耀。

4. 那眼所未见的、将来永恒的荣耀

保罗所以不丧胆……因为他专注于那眼所未见的、将来永恒的荣耀。

第18节说:“原来我们不是顾念所见的,乃是顾念所不见的。”为让你不至于丧胆,为使你的心意不断更新,上帝会把宇宙中所有的荣耀都赐给你,但是,你若从来不去注目它,它对你就毫无帮助!

上帝那丰盛的邀请

事实上,上帝正通过这篇讲道在邀请你!这段经文,就是上帝向你们发出的慷慨的邀请,要你来察看这种种理由(使你不断更新的所有这些理由),以至于不灰心不丧胆。

  • 看哪!上帝的大能和神儿子的生命,正是借着你的软弱而得以彰显。
  • 看哪!耶稣的生命正在借着你所受的苦难而流淌到其他人的生命当中。
  • 看哪!上帝会在你经受苦楚时支撑着你,他必定不让你遭受毁灭。
  • 看哪!你的各样苦楚并不是画上句号的终点;你将会跟耶稣以及神的教会一起,从死里复活,并要永永远远活在喜乐当中。
  • 看哪!你的苦楚都是暂时的。它们只在今生,而不会延续到将来的世代。
  • 看哪!你的苦楚都是轻微的。跟那将要来的诸般快乐相比,显得微不足道。
  • 看哪!这些苦楚正在为你制造出一份极重无比、永远的荣耀。

所以,看吧!注目观看吧!沉思吧!好好思考这些事情吧!你要相信上帝所说的话。这样,你就不至于丧胆,你的心灵就会天天被更新。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Called to Suffer and Rejoice: For an Eternal Weight of Glory

But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the surpassing greatness of the power may be of God and not from ourselves; we are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not despairing; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying about in the body the dying of Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body. For we who live are constantly being delivered over to death for Jesus' sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. But having the same spirit of faith, according to what is written, "I believed, therefore I spoke," we also believe, therefore also we speak; knowing that he who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus and will present us with you. For all things are for your sakes, that the grace which is spreading to more and more people may cause the giving of thanks to abound to the glory of God. Therefore we do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day. For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison, while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.

Verse 16 expresses something everybody here this morning wants to experience. Paul says, "We do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day." There is something here nobody wants and something everybody wants.

What Nobody Wants and What Everybody Wants 

Nobody here this morning wants to lose heart. Nobody came in here saying, "I sure hope we sing some songs and hear a sermon that helps me lose heart. I really want to be discouraged this morning by what John says." Not a one of you. Nobody wants the heart for living knocked out of you. Neither did Paul.

On the contrary, everybody wants inner renewal day-by-day. We all know that feelings of strength and newness and hope and vitality and courage and zest for life last for a little while, and then they tend to drain away. If we are going to be strong on the inside and have hope and joy and resources to love, we are going to have to be renewed day by day. We know that. Life is not static or unfluctuating. It is up and down and up. It is fill and deplete and fill again. It's renew, expend, renew, and expend and renew. And every one of us wants the power of renewal. Nobody here wants to be left in the valley of depletion and emptiness and discouragement. If there is a secret to being made strong and hopeful and joyful and loving again and again and again day-by-day, we're interested.

Two Crucial Words: "Therefore" and "For" 

Which means that there are two words in this text that should get our attention. The word "therefore" at the beginning of verse 16 and the word "for" at the beginning of verse 17. Why are they so crucial?

Verse 16 as the Top of a Triangle

Picture verse 16 at the top of a triangle with two sides supporting it. So there is our longing supported by these two lines: "We do not lose heart . . . but our inner person is being renewed day by day." That's what we all want this morning—to be able to say that and really mean it.

Verse 16: We do not lose heart . . . but are renewed day by day.

Verses 7–15 as One Side Supporting the Top

The word "therefore" at the front of the verse means that Paul has been saying some things that lead him to this experience and support it: "this is true and this is true and this is true" in verses 7–15, "THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . THEREFORE we are being renewed day by day." So the first line of the triangle is the truth of verses 7–15 that leads up to this experience and supports it. That should get our attention and send us hunting in those verses for what it is. Maybe it is meant for us too!

Verses 17–18 as Another Side Supporting the Top

Then the word "for" at the beginning of the following verse (v. 17) means that Paul is about to say some things that are the reason for verse 16. "We do not lose heart . . . and we are renewed day by day" FOR (BECAUSE) this is true and this is true and this is true. So the second line of the triangle coming down on the other side is the truth of verses 17–18 that support the experience he just described.

So can you see it now? The experience we long for is sitting there on the point of this triangle with two supporting sides. Verses 7–15 are true, "THEREFORE we do not lose heart but are renewed day by day." That's one side. "We do not lose heart, but are renewed day by day" FOR verses 17–18 are true.

So our aim then is to look at the two sides of this triangle and make the truth that sustained Paul the truth that sustains us.

Verse 16 Happens in the Midst of Suffering 

But first, one brief observation: verse 16 acknowledges that not losing heart and being renewed day by day are happening in the midst of suffering. "We do not lose heart, but though our outer person is decaying our inner person is being renewed day by day." Paul knew that he was dying—and that everybody is dying. He experienced tremendous suffering, and in it he saw the decay and the wasting away of his earthly life. There were weaknesses and sicknesses and injuries and hardships and pressures and frustrations and disappointments. And every one of them cost him a piece of his life. One way to say it was that "death was at work in him" (cf. v. 12).

That was the context for saying, "We do not lose heart . . . we are always being renewed." So what we are really asking now is not just, "How can I not lose heart in life?" and "How can I be renewed day-by-day?" but "How can I prepare to suffer without losing heart?" "How can I accept the decaying of my body and the ebbing away of my earthly life and at the same time not lose heart, but find renewed inner strength to go on with joy to the end with acts of love?"

Now we are ready to see Paul's answer to this question. First in verses 7–15 and then in verses 17–18.

Verses 7–15: Four Reasons Not to Lose Heart

In verses 7–15 there are at least four reasons that lead Paul to say, "THEREFORE we do not lose heart." And every one of them takes into account the decaying of his earthly life. He never loses sight that he is a dying man and that his life is being spent. So what he is doing in these verses is to show what is true in spite of and even because his outer nature is decaying and wasting away.

1. The Glorification of God's Power and God's Son

First, though his outer nature is decaying, yet in and through this suffering God's power and the life of God's Son are being manifested and glorified.

Verse 7: "WE have this treasure in earthen vessels [that is, decaying, weak, outer persons], that the surpassing greatness of the power may be of God and not from ourselves." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because God's power is exalted in our weakness.

Verse 10: "Always carrying about in the body the dying of Jesus [that's another aspect of the decaying of the outer man], that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because the life of God's Son is exalted in our daily dying.

Verse 11: "For we who live are constantly being delivered over to death for Jesus' sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because the life of God's Son is manifested and glorified in our decaying bodies.

So the first reason Paul doesn't lose heart, as his outer nature decays, is that in his weakness and his daily dying for the sake of others God's power and the life of God's Son are glorified and that's what Paul loves more than anything.

2. The Strengthening of the Church

Second, though his outer nature is decaying, yet in and through this suffering life is flowing from him to the church. Christians are being strengthened by Paul's being weakened.

Verse 12: "So death is at work in us, but life in you." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because not only is God being glorified, but you, my loved ones, are receiving life and strength and hope.

Verse 15: "For all things are for your sakes, that the grace which is spreading to more and more people [through Paul's suffering for them] may cause the giving of thanks to abound to the glory of God." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because (and notice how verse 15 puts the first two reasons together) in my ministry of suffering grace is spreading to you and glory is going to God. These are the two great loves of Paul's life: bringing grace to others and bringing glory to God—and this verse says they happen in the very same experience. THEREFORE Paul does not lose heart.

3. God's Sustaining Presence

Third, though his outer nature is decaying, yet in and through this suffering God sustains him and does not let him be overcome.

Verses 8–9 (notice in each of these pairs what he is really saying is: Yes, our outer nature is decaying, but, No, we do not lose heart): "We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not despairing; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because God sustains us and does not let us be overcome.

4. Our Resurrection from the Dead

Fourth, though his outer nature is decaying, yet he will be raised from the dead with the church and be with Jesus.

Verse 14: "[We know] that he who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus and will present us with you." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because it's going to be all right. Not even death can make the story have a bad ending. I'm going to live again; and I am going to live with you, the people I love; and I am going to live with Jesus and share his glory forever and ever.

THEREFORE . . . that's the first line of the triangle (verses 7–15) that supports the great experience of not losing heart but being renewed every day.

  1. I am being renewed because God's power and the life of God's Son are being manifested and glorified in my decaying weakness.
  2. I am being renewed because life is flowing from my suffering into the church that I love so much.
  3. I am being renewed because God sustains me in my suffering and does not let me be overcome by it.
  4. I am being renewed because I know I will be raised from the dead with you and with Jesus to live together forever and ever.

THEREFORE I do not lose heart!

Verses 17–18: Four Reasons Not to Lose Heart

Now look at the other line of the triangle that supports Paul's wonderful experience in verse 16, namely, verses 17–18. He does not lose heart, and he is being renewed day by day FOR verses 17–18 are true. Again there are four reasons for Paul's not losing heart in spite of his decaying outer man—his weaknesses and sicknesses and injuries and hardships.

1. Momentary Affliction

He does not lose heart FOR his affliction is momentary.

Verse 17: "For momentary light affliction . . . " This does not mean it lasts 60 seconds. It means it only lasts a lifetime (which is momentary compared with a million ages of millenniums) and that's all. The word means "present"—"The present afflictions"—the afflictions that will not outlive this present life. I do not lose heart . . . FOR my afflictions will end. They will not have the last say in my life.

2. Light Affliction

He does not lose heart FOR his affliction is light.

Verse 17: "For momentary light affliction . . . " This is not the judgment of a comfortable modern American. This is Paul's own judgment. Nor had Paul forgotten what he says in 2 Corinthians 11:23–27.

In far more labors, in far more imprisonments, beaten times without number, often in danger of death. Five times I received from the Jews thirty-nine lashes. Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked, a night and a day I have spent in the deep. I have been on frequent journeys, in dangers from rivers, dangers from robbers, dangers from my countrymen, dangers from the Gentiles, dangers in the city, dangers in the wilderness, dangers on the sea, dangers among false brethren; I have been in labor and hardship, through many sleepless nights, in hunger and thirst, often without food, in cold and exposure. Apart from such external things, there is the daily pressure upon me of my concern for all the churches.

When Paul says his afflictions are light, he does not mean easy or painless. He means that compared to what is coming they are as nothing. Compared to the weight of glory coming, they are like feathers in the scale. "I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared to the glory to be revealed to us" (Romans 8:18). I do not lose heart . . . FOR my afflictions are light.

3. An Eternal Weight of Glory

He does not lose heart FOR his affliction is actually producing for Paul an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison.

Verse 17: "For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison." What is coming to Paul is not momentary, but eternal. It is not light, but weighty. It's not affliction, but glory. And it is beyond all comprehension. Eye has not seen nor ear heard what God has prepared for those who love him (1 Corinthians 2:9).

And the point is not that the afflictions merely precede the glory; they help produce the glory. There is a real causal connection between how we endure hardship now and how much we will be able to enjoy the glory of God in the ages to come. Not one moment of patient pain is wasted. I do not lose heart . . . FOR all my troubles are producing for me an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison.

4. The Unseen, Eternal Glory to Come

Paul does not lose heart FOR he sets his mind on the unseen, eternal glory to come.

Verse 18: "We look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen." God might offer you all the glory in the universe to keep you from losing heart and to renew your soul day by day, but if you never looked at it, nothing would come of it.

God's Lavish Invitation 

In fact that is what God is doing right now in this sermon. This text is one lavish invitation from God for you to look at all the reasons why you don't have to lose heart—all the reasons why you can be renewed day by day.

  • Look! The power of God and the life of his Son are manifested in your weakness.
  • Look! The life of Jesus is flowing through your suffering into the lives of other people.
  • Look! God sustains you in your afflictions and will not let you be destroyed.
  • Look! Your afflictions will not have the last word; you will rise from the dead with Jesus and with the church of God and live in joy forever and ever.
  • Look! Your afflictions are momentary. They are only for now, not for the age to come.
  • Look! Your afflictions are light. Compared to the pleasures of what is coming they are as nothing.
  • Look! These afflictions are producing for you an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison.

So LOOK! Focus! Meditate! Think on these things! Believe what God says. And you will not loose heart, but your inner person will be renewed day by day.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org