مدعوّوين لنتألم ونفرح: لثقل مجدٍ أبدي

وَلكِنْ لَنَا هذَا الْكَنْزُ فِي أَوَانٍ خَزَفِيَّةٍ، لِيَكُونَ فَضْلُ الْقُوَّةِ ِللهِ لاَ مِنَّا. مُكْتَئِبِينَ فِي كُلِّ شَيْءٍ، لكِنْ غَيْرَ مُتَضَايِقِينَ. مُتَحَيِّرِينَ، لكِنْ غَيْرَ يَائِسِينَ. مُضْطَهَدِينَ، لكِنْ غَيْرَ مَتْرُوكِينَ. مَطْرُوحِينَ، لكِنْ غَيْرَ هَالِكِينَ. حَامِلِينَ فِي الْجَسَدِ كُلَّ حِينٍ إِمَاتَةَ الرَّبِّ يَسُوعَ، لِكَيْ تُظْهَرَ حَيَاةُ يَسُوعَ أَيْضًا فِي جَسَدِنَا. لأَنَّنَا نَحْنُ الأَحْيَاءَ نُسَلَّمُ دَائِمًا لِلْمَوْتِ مِنْ أَجْلِ يَسُوعَ، لِكَيْ تَظْهَرَ حَيَاةُ يَسُوعَ أَيْضًا فِي جَسَدِنَا الْمَائِتِ. إِذًا الْمَوْتُ يَعْمَلُ فِينَا، وَلكِنِ الْحَيَاةُ فِيكُمْ. فَإِذْ لَنَا رُوحُ الإِيمَانِ عَيْنُهُ، حَسَبَ الْمَكْتُوب:«آمَنْتُ لِذلِكَ تَكَلَّمْتُ»، نَحْنُ أَيْضًا نُؤْمِنُ وَلِذلِكَ نَتَكَلَّمُ أَيْضًا. عَالِمِينَ أَنَّ الَّذِي أَقَامَ الرَّبَّ يَسُوعَ سَيُقِيمُنَا نَحْنُ أَيْضًا بِيَسُوعَ، وَيُحْضِرُنَا مَعَكُمْ. لأَنَّ جَمِيعَ الأَشْيَاءِ هِيَ مِنْ أَجْلِكُمْ، لِكَيْ تَكُونَ النِّعْمَةُ وَهِيَ قَدْ كَثُرَتْ بِالأَكْثَرِينَ، تَزِيدُ الشُّكْرَ لِمَجْدِ اللهِ. لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ، بَلْ وَإِنْ كَانَ إِنْسَانُنَا الْخَارِجُ يَفْنَى، فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا. لأَنَّ خِفَّةَ ضِيقَتِنَا الْوَقْتِيَّةَ تُنْشِئُ لَنَا أَكْثَرَ فَأَكْثَرَ ثِقَلَ مَجْدٍ أَبَدِيًّا. وَنَحْنُ غَيْرُ نَاظِرِينَ إِلَى الأَشْيَاءِ الَّتِي تُرَى، بَلْ إِلَى الَّتِي لاَ تُرَى. لأَنَّ الَّتِي تُرَى وَقْتِيَّةٌ، وَأَمَّا الَّتِي لاَ تُرَى فَأَبَدِيَّةٌ.

توضح الآية 16 شيئا يريد كل واحد منا هنا في هذا الصباح أن يختبره. يقول بولس: "لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ، بَلْ وَإِنْ كَانَ إِنْسَانُنَا الْخَارِجُ يَفْنَى، فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا." يوجد شيء هنا لا أحد يريده وشيء الكل يريده.

ما لا يريده أحدٌ وما يريده الجميع:

لا أحد هنا هذا الصباح يريد أن يفشل. لم يأتِ أحد هنا قائلا: "أنا آمل بثقة أن نرنم بعض الترانيم ونستمع إلى عظة تساعدني أن أفشل. أريد حقا أن أحبط هذا الصباح بما يقوله جون". لا أحد منكم. لا أحد يريد أن يُنتزع منه قلب الحياة. ولا بولس أيضا.

على عكس ذلك، فالجميع يريد "الداخل" أن يتجدد يوما فيوما. نحن نعلم جميعا أن مشاعر القوة والتجديد والأمل والحيويّة والشجاعة وحب الحياة تستمر لبعض الوقت، ومن ثم فإنها تتجه إلى التلاشي. إذا أردنا أن نكون أقوياء في الداخل ويكون لنا رجاءً وفرحاً ومصادر للحب، يجب أن نتجدد يوماً فيوماً. إننا نعرف ذلك. الحياة ليست ثابتة أو بدون تموجات. فهي في صعود ونزول ثم صعود. إنها ملء ثم استنزاف ثم ملء مرة أخرى. إنها تجديد وإنفاق، وتجديد، وإنفاق وتجديد. وكل واحد منا يريد قوة التجديد. لا أحد هنا يريد أن يُترك في وادي الاستنزاف والفراغ والإحباط. إذا كان هناك سرا لكي نصبح أقوياء وممتلئين بالرجاء والفرح والمحبة مرارا وتكرارا يوما بعد يوم، فيجب أن نهتم بالأمر.

كلمتان حاسمتان: "لِذلِكَ"، و"لأَنَّ":

مما يعني أن هناك كلمتين في هذا النص يجب أن تحظيان باهتمامنا. كلمة "لِذلِكَ" في بداية الآية 16 وكلمة "لأَنَّ" في بداية الآية 17. لماذا هما هكذا حاسمتين؟

الآية 16 كرأس المثلث:

تخيّل الآية 16 في رأس مثلث مع جانبين داعمين له. وهنا يوجد شوقنا مدعم بعبارتين: "لاَ نَفْشَلُ... فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا." هذا ما نريده جميعا في هذا الصباح، أن نكون قادرين على قول ذلك ونعنيه حقا.

الآية 16: لاَ نَفْشَلُ... فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا.

الآيات 7-15 كجانب يدعم الرأس:

كلمة "لِذلِكَ" في بداية الآية تعني أن بولس كان يتحدث عن بعض الأشياء التي قادته إلى هذا الاختبار وتدعيمه: "هذا صحيح، وهذا صحيح، وهذا صحيح" في الآيات 7-15، "لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... لِذلِكَ فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا." وبالتالي فإن الخط الأول في المثلث هو حقيقة الآيات 7-15 التي تؤدّي إلى هذا الاختبار وتؤيده. لهذا ينبغي أن يحصل على اهتمامنا ويرسلنا للبحث في تلك الآيات على ما هي عليه. ربما مقصودة لنا أيضا!

الآيات 17-18 كالجانب الآخر الذي يدعم الرأس:

ثم كلمة "لأَنَّ" في بداية الآية التالية (آية 17) تعني أن بولس على وشك أن يقول بعض الأشياء التي هي سببا لآية 16. "لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا" لأن (بسبب) هذا صحيح وهذا صحيح وهذا صحيح. وبالتالي فإن الخط الثاني في المثلث النازل على الجانب الآخر هو حقيقة الآيات 17-18 التي تؤيد الاختبار الذي وصفه للتو.

لذا هل تراه الآن؟ الاختبار الذي نتطلع إليه يكمن في فكرة هذا المثلث مع الجانبين الداعمين له. الآيات 7-15 هي حقيقية "لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا." هذا جانب واحد. "لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا." لأن الآيات 17-18 هي حقيقية.

لذلك فإن هدفنا إذا هو أن ننظر إلى جانبيّ هذا المثلث ونجعل الحقيقة التي ساندت بولس حقيقة تقوينا وتسندنا.

تأتي الآية 16 في خضم الألم:

لكن أولا، ملاحظة واحدة موجزة: تعلن الآية 16 بأن عدم الفشل والتجديد يوما فيوما يتم في خضم الألم. "لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ، بَلْ وَإِنْ كَانَ إِنْسَانُنَا الْخَارِجُ يَفْنَى، فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا." عرف بولس أنه كان يحتضر، وأن الكل سيموت. واجه معاناة هائلة، وفيها رأى فساد وفناء حياته الأرضيّة. كان هناك ضعفات وأمراض وجروح وضغوط ومصاعب وإحباطات وخيبات الأمل. وكل واحدة منها كلّفته جزءاً من حياته. إحدى الطرق للتعبير عن ذلك هي بالقول أن "الْمَوْتُ يَعْمَلُ فِينَا" (راجع آية 12).

كان ذلك سياق قوله "لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... فَالدَّاخِلُ يَتَجَدَّدُ يَوْمًا فَيَوْمًا." لذلك فسؤالنا الآن ليس فقط "كيف يمكنني ألا أفشل في الحياة؟" و"كيف يمكنني أن أتجدد يوما فيوما؟" ولكن "كيف يمكنني الاستعداد لأتألّم دون أن أفشل؟" "كيف أقبل فساد جسدي وانحطاط حياتي الأرضية، وفي الوقت نفسه لا أفشل، ولكن أجد قوة تجديد داخليّة للاستمرار بفرح إلى النهاية بأعمال المحبة؟"

نحن الآن على استعداد أن نرى إجابة بولس على هذا السؤال. أولا في الآيات 7-15 ثم في الآيات 17-18.

الآيات 7-15: أربعة أسباب لعدم الفشل:

في الآيات 7-15 هناك على الأقل أربعة أسباب جعلت بولس يقول "لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ." وكل واحد منهم يأخذ بعين الاعتبار فناء حياته الأرضيّة. لم يغب عن عينيه أنه رجل يحتضر، وأن حياته قد أُفنيت. لذلك ما يفعله في هذه الآيات هو إظهار ما هو حقيقي على الرغم من، وبسبب أنّ، طبيعته الخارجيّة تفنى.

1. تمجيد قدرة الله وابن الله:

أولا، على الرغم من أن طبيعته الخارجية تفنى، إلا أنه في آلامه ومن خلالها تستعلن وتُمجّد قوة الله وحياة ابن الله.

الآية 7: "لَنَا هذَا الْكَنْزُ فِي أَوَانٍ خَزَفِيَّةٍ [أي، الإنسان الخارج والضعيف والفاني]، لِيَكُونَ فَضْلُ الْقُوَّةِ ِللهِ لاَ مِنَّا." لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... لأن قوة الله تتمجد في ضعفنا.

الآية 10: "حَامِلِينَ فِي الْجَسَدِ كُلَّ حِينٍ إِمَاتَةَ الرَّبِّ يَسُوعَ [وهذا جانب آخر من فناء الإنسان الخارج]، لِكَيْ تُظْهَرَ حَيَاةُ يَسُوعَ أَيْضًا فِي جَسَدِنَا." لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... لأن حياة ابن الله تتمجد في إماتتنا اليوميّة.

الآية 11: "لأَنَّنَا نَحْنُ الأَحْيَاءَ نُسَلَّمُ دَائِمًا لِلْمَوْتِ مِنْ أَجْلِ يَسُوعَ، لِكَيْ تَظْهَرَ حَيَاةُ يَسُوعَ أَيْضًا فِي جَسَدِنَا الْمَائِتِ." لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... لأن حياة ابن الله تظهر وتتمجد في أجسادنا الفانية.

لذلك فإن أول سبب يجعل بولس لا يفشل، برغم أن طبيعته الخارجيّة تفنى، هو أنه من خلال ضعفه وموته اليومي من أجل الآخرين، تتمجد قوة الله وحياة ابن الله وهذا ما يحبه بولس أكثر من أي شيء.

2. بنيان الكنيسة:

ثانيا، على الرغم من أن طبيعته الخارجيّة تفنى، ولكن في آلامه ومن خلالها تتدفق الحياة منه إلى الكنيسة، فيتشدد المسيحيون بضعف بولس.

الآية 12: "إِذًا الْمَوْتُ يَعْمَلُ فِينَا، وَلكِنِ الْحَيَاةُ فِيكُمْ." لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... لأنه ليس فقط يتمجد الله، ولكن أنتم، أحبائي، تستقبلون حياةً وقوةً ورجاءً.

الآية 15: "لأَنَّ جَمِيعَ الأَشْيَاءِ هِيَ مِنْ أَجْلِكُمْ، لِكَيْ تَكُونَ النِّعْمَةُ وَهِيَ قَدْ كَثُرَتْ بِالأَكْثَرِينَ [من خلال آلام بولس من أجلهم]، تَزِيدُ الشُّكْرَ لِمَجْدِ اللهِ." لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... لأن (ولاحظ كيف تضع الآية 15 أول سببين معا) في خدمة الألم التي أقوم بها، تكثر النعمة لكم والمجد يكون لله. هذان أمران محبوبان جدا لحياة بولس: تقديم النعمة للآخرين وتقديم المجد لله، وهذه الآية تقول أنهم يتمّون في نفس الاختبار. لذلك بولس لا يفشل.

3. الحضور المساند لله:

ثالثا، على الرغم من أن طبيعته الخارجية تفنى، مع ذلك فإنّ الله يسانده في آلامه، ومن خلالها، ولا يجعله يُقهر.

الآيات 8-9 (لاحظ في كل هذه الازدواجات ما يقوله حقا هو: نعم، طبيعتنا الخارجيّة تفنى، ولكن، لا، نحن لا نفشل): "مُكْتَئِبِينَ فِي كُلِّ شَيْءٍ، لكِنْ غَيْرَ مُتَضَايِقِينَ. مُتَحَيِّرِينَ، لكِنْ غَيْرَ يَائِسِينَ. مُضْطَهَدِينَ، لكِنْ غَيْرَ مَتْرُوكِينَ. مَطْرُوحِينَ، لكِنْ غَيْرَ هَالِكِينَ." لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... لأن الله يسندنا ولا يجعلنا نُقهر.

4. قيامتنا من بين الأموات:

رابعا، على الرغم من أن طبيعته الخارجية تفنى، مع ذلك سيُقام من بين الأموات مع الكنيسة، ويكون مع المسيح.

الآية 14: "عَالِمِينَ أَنَّ الَّذِي أَقَامَ الرَّبَّ يَسُوعَ سَيُقِيمُنَا نَحْنُ أَيْضًا بِيَسُوعَ، وَيُحْضِرُنَا مَعَكُمْ." لِذلِكَ لاَ نَفْشَلُ... لأن الأمر سيكون على ما يرام. فلا يمكن حتى للموت أن يجعل للقصة نهاية سيئة. أنا سأحيا من جديد، وسأحيا معكم، الشعب الذي أحبه، وسأحيا مع المسيح وأكون في مجده إلى أبد الآبدين.

لذلك... هذا هو الخط الأول في المثلث (الآيات 7-15) الذي يدعم الاختبار العظيم لعدم الفشل بل التجديد كل يوم.

  1. أتجدد لأن قوة الله وحياة ابن الله تستعلن وتتمجد في ضعفي الفاني.
  2. أتجدد لأن الحياة تتدفق من آلامي إلى الكنيسة التي أحبها كثيرا.
  3. أتجدد لأن الله يساندني في آلامي ولا يجعلني أُقهر من خلالها.
  4. أتجدد لأنني أعرف أنني سأقوم من بين الأموات معكم ومع المسيح لنحيا معا إلى الأبد.

لذلك لا أفشل!

الآيات 17-18: أربعة أسباب لعدم الفشل:

انظر الآن إلى الخط الآخر من المثلث الذي يدعم الاختبار الرائع لبولس في الآية 16، وهي الآيات 17-18. فهو لا يفشل، ويتجدد يوما فيوما لأن الآيات 17-18 هي حقيقة. مرة أخرى هناك أربعة أسباب لعدم فشل بولس على الرغم من أن إنسانه الخارج يفنى، أي ضعفاته وأمراضه وجروحاته وشدائده.

1. ضيقة وقتيّة:

هو لا يفشل لأن ضيقته وقتيّة.

الآية 17: "لأَنَّ خِفَّةَ ضِيقَتِنَا الْوَقْتِيَّةَ... " هذا لا يعني أنها تستمر 60 ثانية. لكنه يعني أنها لا تدوم إلا في العمر (وهذا وقتّي مقارنة بملايين الدهور من آلاف السنين)، وهذا كل شيء. الكلمة تعني "الحاضر" -- "الضيقة الحاضرة"، أي الضيقة التي لن تعمّر في هذه الحياة الحاضرة. أنا لا أفشل... لأن ضيقاتي ستنتهي. لن تكون الكلمة الأخيرة في حياتي.

2. ضيقة خفيفة:

هو لا يفشل لأن ضيقته خفيفة.

الآية 17: "لأَنَّ خِفَّةَ ضِيقَتِنَا الْوَقْتِيَّةَ..." هذا ليس تقييم شخص أمريكي مستريح. إنه تقييم بولس نفسه. ولم ينسى بولس ما قاله في 2 كورنثوس 11: 23-27.

فِي الأَتْعَابِ أَكْثَرُ، فِي الضَّرَبَاتِ أَوْفَرُ، فِي السُّجُونِ أَكْثَرُ، فِي الْمِيتَاتِ مِرَارًا كَثِيرَةً. مِنَ الْيَهُودِ خَمْسَ مَرَّاتٍ قَبِلْتُ أَرْبَعِينَ جَلْدَةً إِلاَّ وَاحِدَةً. ثَلاَثَ مَرَّاتٍ ضُرِبْتُ بِالْعِصِيِّ، مَرَّةً رُجِمْتُ، ثَلاَثَ مَرَّاتٍ انْكَسَرَتْ بِيَ السَّفِينَةُ، لَيْلاً وَنَهَارًا قَضَيْتُ فِي الْعُمْقِ. بِأَسْفَارٍ مِرَارًا كَثِيرَةً، بِأَخْطَارِ سُيُول، بِأَخْطَارِ لُصُوصٍ، بِأَخْطَارٍ مِنْ جِنْسِي، بِأَخْطَارٍ مِنَ الأُمَمِ، بِأَخْطَارٍ فِي الْمَدِينَةِ، بِأَخْطَارٍ فِي الْبَرِّيَّةِ، بِأَخْطَارٍ فِي الْبَحْرِ، بِأَخْطَارٍ مِنْ إِخْوَةٍ كَذَبَةٍ. فِي تَعَبٍ وَكَدٍّ، فِي أَسْهَارٍ مِرَارًا كَثِيرَةً، فِي جُوعٍ وَعَطَشٍ، فِي أَصْوَامٍ مِرَارًا كَثِيرَةً، فِي بَرْدٍ وَعُرْيٍ. عَدَا مَا هُوَ دُونَ ذلِكَ: التَّرَاكُمُ عَلَيَّ كُلَّ يَوْمٍ، الاهْتِمَامُ بِجَمِيعِ الْكَنَائِسِ.

عندما يقول بولس أن ضيقاته خفيفة، لا يعني أنها سهلة أو غير مؤلمة. لكنه يعني أنها بالمقارنة بما هو آت فهي كلا شيء. مقارنة بثقل المجد القادم، فهي تشبه الريش في الميزان. "فَإِنِّي أَحْسِبُ أَنَّ آلاَمَ الزَّمَانِ الْحَاضِرِ لاَ تُقَاسُ بِالْمَجْدِ الْعَتِيدِ أَنْ يُسْتَعْلَنَ فِينَا." (رومية 8: 18). أنا لا أفشل... لأن ضيقاتي خفيفة.

3. ثقل مجد أبديّا:

هو لا يفشل لأن ضيقته في الواقع تنتج لبولس ثقل مجد أبديّ إلى ما هو أبعد من كل مقارنة.

الآية 17: "لأَنَّ خِفَّةَ ضِيقَتِنَا الْوَقْتِيَّةَ تُنْشِئُ لَنَا أَكْثَرَ فَأَكْثَرَ ثِقَلَ مَجْدٍ أَبَدِيًّا." ما هو آتٍ لبولس ليس وقتيّا، ولكنه أبديّا. ليس خفيفا، ولكن ثقيلا. ليس ضيقة، ولكنه مجدا. وهذا كله يفوق كل فهم. مَا لَمْ تَرَ عَيْنٌ، وَلَمْ تَسْمَعْ أُذُنٌ، وَلَمْ يَخْطُرْ عَلَى بَالِ إِنْسَانٍ: مَا أَعَدَّهُ اللهُ لِلَّذِينَ يُحِبُّونَهُ (1 كورنثوس 2: 9).

والفكرة الأساسيّة ليست أن الضيقات ببساطة تنشئ المجد، بل إنها تساعد في إنشاء المجد. هناك علاقة سببيّة حقيقية بين كيفية تحمّلنا الشدائد الآن وكيفية مقدرتنا للاستمتاع بمجد الله في الدهور الآتية. لا تَضِيع لحظة واحدة من آلام الصّبر. أنا لا أفشل... لأن جميع مشاكلي تنشئ لي ثقل مجد أبديّا بما لا يُقارن.

4. المجد الأبدي الآتي الذي لا يُرى:

بولس لا يفشل لأنه يثبت نظره على ما لا يُرى، على المجد الأبدي الآتي.

الآية 18: "وَنَحْنُ غَيْرُ نَاظِرِينَ إِلَى الأَشْيَاءِ الَّتِي تُرَى، بَلْ إِلَى الَّتِي لاَ تُرَى." قد يقدم لك الله كل المجد في الكون كي يحفظك من الفشل ويجدد نفسك يوما فيوما، ولكن إن لم تنظر إليه أبدا، فلا شيء يأتي منه.

دعوة الله السخيّة:

في الواقع هذا ما يفعله الله الآن في هذه العظة. هذا النص هو دعوة سخيّة من الله لك لكي تنظر إلى كل الأسباب التي لأجلها لا يجب أن تفشل، وكل الأسباب التي لأجلها تستطيع أن تتجدد يوما فيوما.

  • انظر! تستعلن قوة الله وحياة ابنه في ضعفك.
  • انظر! تتدفق حياة المسيح من خلال آلامك إلى حياة الناس الآخرين.
  • انظر! يسندك الله في ضعفاتك، ولن يدعك تتدمر.
  • انظر! لن يكون لضعفاتك الكلمة الأخير، ستُقام من بين الأموات مع المسيح ومع كنيسة الله وتحيا في فرح إلى أبد الآبدين.
  • انظر! إن ضيقاتك وقتيّة. هي فقط في الوقت الحاضر، وليست للدهر الآتي.
  • انظر! إن ضيقاتك خفيفة. بالمقارنة بمسرات ما هو آت فهي كلا شيء.
  • انظر! هذه الضيقات تنشئ لك ثقل مجد أبديّ أكثر فأكثر.

لذلك انظر! ركّز! تأمّل! فكّر في هذه الأمور! صدّق ما يقوله الله. ولن تفشل، بل إنّ إنسانك الداخلي سيتجدّد يوما فيوما.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Called to Suffer and Rejoice: For an Eternal Weight of Glory

But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the surpassing greatness of the power may be of God and not from ourselves; we are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not despairing; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying about in the body the dying of Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body. For we who live are constantly being delivered over to death for Jesus' sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. But having the same spirit of faith, according to what is written, "I believed, therefore I spoke," we also believe, therefore also we speak; knowing that he who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus and will present us with you. For all things are for your sakes, that the grace which is spreading to more and more people may cause the giving of thanks to abound to the glory of God. Therefore we do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day. For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison, while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.

Verse 16 expresses something everybody here this morning wants to experience. Paul says, "We do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day." There is something here nobody wants and something everybody wants.

What Nobody Wants and What Everybody Wants 

Nobody here this morning wants to lose heart. Nobody came in here saying, "I sure hope we sing some songs and hear a sermon that helps me lose heart. I really want to be discouraged this morning by what John says." Not a one of you. Nobody wants the heart for living knocked out of you. Neither did Paul.

On the contrary, everybody wants inner renewal day-by-day. We all know that feelings of strength and newness and hope and vitality and courage and zest for life last for a little while, and then they tend to drain away. If we are going to be strong on the inside and have hope and joy and resources to love, we are going to have to be renewed day by day. We know that. Life is not static or unfluctuating. It is up and down and up. It is fill and deplete and fill again. It's renew, expend, renew, and expend and renew. And every one of us wants the power of renewal. Nobody here wants to be left in the valley of depletion and emptiness and discouragement. If there is a secret to being made strong and hopeful and joyful and loving again and again and again day-by-day, we're interested.

Two Crucial Words: "Therefore" and "For" 

Which means that there are two words in this text that should get our attention. The word "therefore" at the beginning of verse 16 and the word "for" at the beginning of verse 17. Why are they so crucial?

Verse 16 as the Top of a Triangle

Picture verse 16 at the top of a triangle with two sides supporting it. So there is our longing supported by these two lines: "We do not lose heart . . . but our inner person is being renewed day by day." That's what we all want this morning—to be able to say that and really mean it.

Verse 16: We do not lose heart . . . but are renewed day by day.

Verses 7–15 as One Side Supporting the Top

The word "therefore" at the front of the verse means that Paul has been saying some things that lead him to this experience and support it: "this is true and this is true and this is true" in verses 7–15, "THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . THEREFORE we are being renewed day by day." So the first line of the triangle is the truth of verses 7–15 that leads up to this experience and supports it. That should get our attention and send us hunting in those verses for what it is. Maybe it is meant for us too!

Verses 17–18 as Another Side Supporting the Top

Then the word "for" at the beginning of the following verse (v. 17) means that Paul is about to say some things that are the reason for verse 16. "We do not lose heart . . . and we are renewed day by day" FOR (BECAUSE) this is true and this is true and this is true. So the second line of the triangle coming down on the other side is the truth of verses 17–18 that support the experience he just described.

So can you see it now? The experience we long for is sitting there on the point of this triangle with two supporting sides. Verses 7–15 are true, "THEREFORE we do not lose heart but are renewed day by day." That's one side. "We do not lose heart, but are renewed day by day" FOR verses 17–18 are true.

So our aim then is to look at the two sides of this triangle and make the truth that sustained Paul the truth that sustains us.

Verse 16 Happens in the Midst of Suffering 

But first, one brief observation: verse 16 acknowledges that not losing heart and being renewed day by day are happening in the midst of suffering. "We do not lose heart, but though our outer person is decaying our inner person is being renewed day by day." Paul knew that he was dying—and that everybody is dying. He experienced tremendous suffering, and in it he saw the decay and the wasting away of his earthly life. There were weaknesses and sicknesses and injuries and hardships and pressures and frustrations and disappointments. And every one of them cost him a piece of his life. One way to say it was that "death was at work in him" (cf. v. 12).

That was the context for saying, "We do not lose heart . . . we are always being renewed." So what we are really asking now is not just, "How can I not lose heart in life?" and "How can I be renewed day-by-day?" but "How can I prepare to suffer without losing heart?" "How can I accept the decaying of my body and the ebbing away of my earthly life and at the same time not lose heart, but find renewed inner strength to go on with joy to the end with acts of love?"

Now we are ready to see Paul's answer to this question. First in verses 7–15 and then in verses 17–18.

Verses 7–15: Four Reasons Not to Lose Heart

In verses 7–15 there are at least four reasons that lead Paul to say, "THEREFORE we do not lose heart." And every one of them takes into account the decaying of his earthly life. He never loses sight that he is a dying man and that his life is being spent. So what he is doing in these verses is to show what is true in spite of and even because his outer nature is decaying and wasting away.

1. The Glorification of God's Power and God's Son

First, though his outer nature is decaying, yet in and through this suffering God's power and the life of God's Son are being manifested and glorified.

Verse 7: "WE have this treasure in earthen vessels [that is, decaying, weak, outer persons], that the surpassing greatness of the power may be of God and not from ourselves." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because God's power is exalted in our weakness.

Verse 10: "Always carrying about in the body the dying of Jesus [that's another aspect of the decaying of the outer man], that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because the life of God's Son is exalted in our daily dying.

Verse 11: "For we who live are constantly being delivered over to death for Jesus' sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because the life of God's Son is manifested and glorified in our decaying bodies.

So the first reason Paul doesn't lose heart, as his outer nature decays, is that in his weakness and his daily dying for the sake of others God's power and the life of God's Son are glorified and that's what Paul loves more than anything.

2. The Strengthening of the Church

Second, though his outer nature is decaying, yet in and through this suffering life is flowing from him to the church. Christians are being strengthened by Paul's being weakened.

Verse 12: "So death is at work in us, but life in you." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because not only is God being glorified, but you, my loved ones, are receiving life and strength and hope.

Verse 15: "For all things are for your sakes, that the grace which is spreading to more and more people [through Paul's suffering for them] may cause the giving of thanks to abound to the glory of God." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because (and notice how verse 15 puts the first two reasons together) in my ministry of suffering grace is spreading to you and glory is going to God. These are the two great loves of Paul's life: bringing grace to others and bringing glory to God—and this verse says they happen in the very same experience. THEREFORE Paul does not lose heart.

3. God's Sustaining Presence

Third, though his outer nature is decaying, yet in and through this suffering God sustains him and does not let him be overcome.

Verses 8–9 (notice in each of these pairs what he is really saying is: Yes, our outer nature is decaying, but, No, we do not lose heart): "We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not despairing; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because God sustains us and does not let us be overcome.

4. Our Resurrection from the Dead

Fourth, though his outer nature is decaying, yet he will be raised from the dead with the church and be with Jesus.

Verse 14: "[We know] that he who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus and will present us with you." THEREFORE we do not lose heart . . . because it's going to be all right. Not even death can make the story have a bad ending. I'm going to live again; and I am going to live with you, the people I love; and I am going to live with Jesus and share his glory forever and ever.

THEREFORE . . . that's the first line of the triangle (verses 7–15) that supports the great experience of not losing heart but being renewed every day.

  1. I am being renewed because God's power and the life of God's Son are being manifested and glorified in my decaying weakness.
  2. I am being renewed because life is flowing from my suffering into the church that I love so much.
  3. I am being renewed because God sustains me in my suffering and does not let me be overcome by it.
  4. I am being renewed because I know I will be raised from the dead with you and with Jesus to live together forever and ever.

THEREFORE I do not lose heart!

Verses 17–18: Four Reasons Not to Lose Heart

Now look at the other line of the triangle that supports Paul's wonderful experience in verse 16, namely, verses 17–18. He does not lose heart, and he is being renewed day by day FOR verses 17–18 are true. Again there are four reasons for Paul's not losing heart in spite of his decaying outer man—his weaknesses and sicknesses and injuries and hardships.

1. Momentary Affliction

He does not lose heart FOR his affliction is momentary.

Verse 17: "For momentary light affliction . . . " This does not mean it lasts 60 seconds. It means it only lasts a lifetime (which is momentary compared with a million ages of millenniums) and that's all. The word means "present"—"The present afflictions"—the afflictions that will not outlive this present life. I do not lose heart . . . FOR my afflictions will end. They will not have the last say in my life.

2. Light Affliction

He does not lose heart FOR his affliction is light.

Verse 17: "For momentary light affliction . . . " This is not the judgment of a comfortable modern American. This is Paul's own judgment. Nor had Paul forgotten what he says in 2 Corinthians 11:23–27.

In far more labors, in far more imprisonments, beaten times without number, often in danger of death. Five times I received from the Jews thirty-nine lashes. Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked, a night and a day I have spent in the deep. I have been on frequent journeys, in dangers from rivers, dangers from robbers, dangers from my countrymen, dangers from the Gentiles, dangers in the city, dangers in the wilderness, dangers on the sea, dangers among false brethren; I have been in labor and hardship, through many sleepless nights, in hunger and thirst, often without food, in cold and exposure. Apart from such external things, there is the daily pressure upon me of my concern for all the churches.

When Paul says his afflictions are light, he does not mean easy or painless. He means that compared to what is coming they are as nothing. Compared to the weight of glory coming, they are like feathers in the scale. "I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared to the glory to be revealed to us" (Romans 8:18). I do not lose heart . . . FOR my afflictions are light.

3. An Eternal Weight of Glory

He does not lose heart FOR his affliction is actually producing for Paul an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison.

Verse 17: "For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison." What is coming to Paul is not momentary, but eternal. It is not light, but weighty. It's not affliction, but glory. And it is beyond all comprehension. Eye has not seen nor ear heard what God has prepared for those who love him (1 Corinthians 2:9).

And the point is not that the afflictions merely precede the glory; they help produce the glory. There is a real causal connection between how we endure hardship now and how much we will be able to enjoy the glory of God in the ages to come. Not one moment of patient pain is wasted. I do not lose heart . . . FOR all my troubles are producing for me an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison.

4. The Unseen, Eternal Glory to Come

Paul does not lose heart FOR he sets his mind on the unseen, eternal glory to come.

Verse 18: "We look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen." God might offer you all the glory in the universe to keep you from losing heart and to renew your soul day by day, but if you never looked at it, nothing would come of it.

God's Lavish Invitation 

In fact that is what God is doing right now in this sermon. This text is one lavish invitation from God for you to look at all the reasons why you don't have to lose heart—all the reasons why you can be renewed day by day.

  • Look! The power of God and the life of his Son are manifested in your weakness.
  • Look! The life of Jesus is flowing through your suffering into the lives of other people.
  • Look! God sustains you in your afflictions and will not let you be destroyed.
  • Look! Your afflictions will not have the last word; you will rise from the dead with Jesus and with the church of God and live in joy forever and ever.
  • Look! Your afflictions are momentary. They are only for now, not for the age to come.
  • Look! Your afflictions are light. Compared to the pleasures of what is coming they are as nothing.
  • Look! These afflictions are producing for you an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison.

So LOOK! Focus! Meditate! Think on these things! Believe what God says. And you will not loose heart, but your inner person will be renewed day by day.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org