为完成基督患难的目标,被呼召去受苦和喜乐

主题:苦难

“现在我为你们受苦,倒觉欢乐;并且为基督的身体,就是为教会,要在我肉身上补满基督患难的缺欠。我照神为你们所赐我的职分作了教会的执事,要把神的道理传得全备,这道理就是历世历代所隐藏的奥秘;但如今向他的圣徒显明了。神愿意叫他们知道,这奥秘在外邦人中有何等丰盛的荣耀,就是基督在你们心里成了有荣耀的盼望。我们传扬他,是用诸般的智慧,劝戒各人,教导各人,要把各人在基督里完完全全的引到神面前。我也为此劳苦,照着他在我里面运用的大能尽心竭力。”

大家注意第24节保罗所说的,“补满基督患难的缺欠。”难道基督的患难还会有任何缺欠吗?他替我们受难和牺牲,不是已经完全足够了吗?因此我们要问,保罗在24节所说的到底是什么意思,还有,这个道理如何应用在我们身上?

总结该段落的意思

但是,要准确理解24节,我们要查考其余的经节,以及它们之间的联系。先从第29节开始,然后回溯总结保罗这段经文中的主题。

保罗在29节说,他的劳苦,是为着一个目的。并且那些坚持、患难、劳苦,都不仅靠他自己的能力,而是基督的能力在他里面大大运行的结果。

28节谈到,保罗劳苦努力,就是要把他得着的每个人,“在基督里完完全全的引到神面前。”为达成这个目标,保罗不断地去传扬基督,劝诫、教导每个人。保罗不停地辛苦做工,正是来源于基督的激励。

26-27节,保罗更明确地定义了他宣扬和教导的内容。26节称为“奥秘”的,并不是说它难以理解,而是说它在过去一直是隐藏着的,现在才被启示给圣徒。接下来,27节描述了这奥秘之荣耀的丰富——“基督在你们 [外邦人] 心里成了有荣耀的盼望。”从前世代没有清楚显明的,就是这位犹太人的弥赛亚——基督——竟会欢迎外邦人也来承受救恩,并且还要住在他们当中——实实在在住在他们中间,又要把亚伯拉罕的应许赐给他们——跟所有圣徒一起在神的国度里享受荣耀的盼望。

但如今这奥秘正被显明出来,并且保罗也在努力宣扬基督,到处教导人说,弥赛亚的内住、以及上帝荣耀的盼望,乃是属于一切愿意来信靠他、真正仰望上帝荣耀之人的(1:4, 23)。

第25节简要提到,宣讲基督是保罗履行作为管家的职责,就是说,上帝已经赐给他使命去传扬神的话语。他是教会的仆人,也是上帝的管家。他遵命要把上帝的话语传到万民中,赐给他们荣耀的盼望,并且呼召他们来信靠神。因此,作为教会的执事(传道人),他要把上帝的选民从万国万民中召聚起来,教导他们,劝诫他们,把他们在基督里完完全全带到神的面前。

第24节说,把基督的奥秘并荣耀的盼望传到万民中,以及劝诫和教导他们,必然会经历劳苦和患难。“现在我为你们受苦,倒觉欢乐;并且为基督的身体,就是为教会,要在我肉身上补满基督患难的缺欠。”

“补满欠缺”是什么意思呢?

当保罗为着教会而受苦——把荣耀的盼望传达给越来越多的人,让他们明白基督的奥秘,并且为此去受苦。他说自己乃是在“肉身上补满基督患难的缺欠。”这到底是什么意思呢?基督的患难诚然是彻底和足够的,岂能有什么人来“补足”呢?

上下文给我们点明了这当中的意思

刚才看过的上下文,已经告诉我们,保罗所说的那个能够补满基督患难之缺欠的经历,并不是在基督的患难上,再去加添什么价值,而是把该价值延伸到更多的人身上,好成为这些人的祝福。基督患难的欠缺,不在于其价值或功德方面,好像不足以遮盖所有信主之人的罪恶。真正的欠缺在于,基督之诸般患难中无限的价值,并没有被所有人认识。对于许多族群来说,这依然是(隐藏的)奥秘。而上帝要揭开这奥秘,并广传到外邦人中。因此,说这些患难仍有缺欠,指的就是它们还没有被广传于列国中。还要借助于那些服事上帝话语的人来传扬出去。而他们在传扬这些患难的意义和价值时,就是在补满基督患难的缺欠。

《腓立比书》2:30中类似的话语

对于这个道理,《腓立比书》2:30那里,有类似的话语,同样强调和确定了这个意思。腓立比教会中有一个叫以巴弗提的人。教会把大家给保罗的资助(可能有钱财、物品供给或是书籍)收集在一起,委托以巴弗提送给在罗马监狱中的保罗。然而在旅途中,以巴弗提几乎丧命。第27节说,以巴弗提病了,而且几乎要死,好在上帝向他施了怜悯,保全了他的性命。

接着在29节,保罗吩咐腓立比的教会,在以巴弗提回到他们中间时,要多多尊重他,并且在30节中给出的理由,跟《歌罗西书》1:24非常相似。“因他为做基督的工夫,几乎至死,不顾性命,要补足 [亦即,补满] 你们供给我的不及 [亦即,缺欠] 之处。”而在原文当中,教会供给保罗方面的“补足……不及”这个短语,跟《歌罗西书》1:24所提到的,在基督的患难方面的“补满……缺欠”,几乎一模一样。

那么,在何种意义上,腓立比的信徒对保罗的供给和服侍存在着“不足”,并且,又是在何种意义上,被以巴弗提“补足”了?一百年前的一位圣经注释学家,马维•文生特(Marvin Vincent)说过的话,我认为非常准确。

送给保罗的礼物,乃是教会集体提供的。那是一份牺牲的爱的表达。其中缺欠的(而且保罗和教会都要感恩的),就是这份礼物要亲自呈送,而那几乎不可能办到,于是保罗就把以巴弗提充满爱心与热心的服事,当做对这缺欠的切实补足。(《腓立比书并腓利门书注释》,ICC注释书系列,第78页)。

我们如何来“补满基督患难的缺欠”

我认为,《歌罗西书》1:24也正是这个意思。基督借着自己的患难,代替罪人领受了死亡,为世人预备了一份爱的礼物。这份礼物完美而毫无缺欠——除了一点即,基督本人要亲自把这礼物呈送到万国之中,包括你们在职场中遇到的每位同事的手上。上帝对于这个缺欠的答案就是,呼召基督的子民(像保罗这样的人),把基督的患难,呈献到世人中——从耶路撒冷开始,直到地极。

我们如此行,就是在“补满基督患难的缺欠。”就是在完成那起初设计的救赎计划,也就是在世人面前作出个人化的呈献,帮助人们认识到他们在神眼中那无限的价值。

不过,请留意保罗在24节对这事的表述:他说那是在他的患难和他的肉体当中——亦即,借着他的实际的、受苦的身体,来分担和补满基督患难的缺欠。因此保罗看到,在他的受苦与基督的患难之间有着非常紧密的联系。我认为,这里的意思就是,上帝的计划就在于,要借着他百姓的受苦,把基督的患难呈献给整个世界。上帝真切地想要让基督的身体,就是教会,来经历某些患难,正如神自己经历的,这样,当我们把十字架上的基督介绍给世人的时候,人们会在我们身上看到十字架上的基督。我们要借着传扬基督的过程中经受的某些苦楚,以及活出基督那充满爱的生命,把基督的患难真实呈现在世人面前。

“现在我为你们受苦,倒觉欢乐……要在我肉身上补满基督患难的缺欠。”基督的意愿,就是把他的患难,亲自呈现给世人。而作为受苦者,把自己为世界、向世界所受的苦难呈现出来的方法,就是借助子民——那些像他一样,甘心为世人受苦的人。基督的患难就是在我们的患难中得到成全,因为在我们的患难中,世人可以看到基督的患难,从而达成这些患难的最终目标和果效。基督对于罪人的那份牺牲,和甘愿受苦的爱,就在他的百姓对罪人的牺牲和甘愿受苦的爱里面,表明出来了。

我觉得,我们在《歌罗西书》1:24看到的,就是把耶稣在《马可福音》8:35的教导活出来了,“因为,凡要救自己生命(或作:灵魂)的,必丧掉生命;凡为我和福音丧掉生命的,必救了生命。 ”救赎的通道就是“为着福音丧掉生命”。这里的要点是,要把福音带到世人当中去(不管是跨越一个办公室,还是远渡重洋),通常要付出牺牲,遭受苦楚,亦即借着某种程度的丧掉生命,或舍己的行动。这就是基督所指的,借着他百姓的受苦,要把他的救赎性的患难带到世界各地去。

保罗在这呼召上的欢喜快乐

而保罗说,他为此大大喜乐。第24节写道:“现在我为你们受苦,倒觉欢乐。”各各他的十字架道路,并不是一条毫无喜乐的道路。没错,那是一条苦路,但又是一条极其幸福的道路。当我们选择了尘世间那稍纵即逝的快乐、安逸和安全,胜过那些宣教、布道、服事和爱心行动要求我们付出的牺牲和患难时,我们的选择就背离了真正的喜乐之源。我们就选择了一个破裂不能存水的池子,而离弃了那永不枯竭的活水泉源(赛58:11)。

世上最幸福和快乐的人,就是那些认识到基督的奥秘,并且以此作为他们心中荣耀盼望的人。这样的人,就能够使自己内心最深的渴望得着满足,并且他们那自由的生命被释放出来,愿意借着自身的努力和受苦,要把基督的患难带到世界各地去。

在这段经文中,上帝在呼召我们,为着福音的缘故而生活,并且要借着受苦来完成福音的使命。基督诚然是自己选择了受苦,那不是发生在他身上的偶然事件。他选择借着受苦这条道路来创建和成全教会。现在,他也呼召我们,为把基督的患难呈献给世人,为服事众教会,主动选择患难——背起我们的十字架去跟从他,走上各各他的道路,舍己、牺牲。

不久前,我听到罗马尼亚的牧师兼宣教领袖曾约瑟(Joseph Tson)说,“基督的十字架是为着挽回祭;我们的十字架则是为着传扬它。”这说法令我印象深刻。基督受苦,是为了完成救恩;我们受苦,则是为了传扬这救恩。这样,当我们愿意为他人的益处去承受艰难,就是在补满基督患难的缺欠,因为我们所作的,就是把基督的患难延伸到更广大的人群当中,使人们都能看见,能明白。

一位印度本土宣教士的故事

五月份我正编写《宣教手册》的时候,有一次听了孙德生(J. Oswald Sanders)的讲座。他的信息深刻触及苦难这个主题。他已经89岁,依然在全世界各处旅行和演讲。从70岁之后,他每年都写一本书!我提这件事,唯一的目的就是要推崇这种彻底奉献的精神。这是一个全然为着福音而倾倒出来的生命,从来不会想到他自己的享受,从没想过安享退休生活。

他讲述了一位本土宣教士的故事,那位宣教士在印度,光着脚从一个村庄走到另一个村庄传福音,经受了很多艰难。当他走了许多路,历经了各样的沮丧,在长长的一天快要结束时,好不容易来到一个村子,开口要传扬福音,却被人家赶出来,他的信息被人断然拒绝。于是,他只好走到村边,灰心失望地在一棵树下躺倒,精疲力竭地睡着了。

当他醒来时,发现人们都围绕在他身旁,几乎整个村里的人都来了,聚集着要听他说话。那个村子的首领解释说,就在这位宣教士睡觉的时候,他们来仔细观察他。当看见他那肿胀的布满水泡的双脚,他们就得出结论:这一定是某位圣人,他们之前拒绝听他的话,肯定犯了大罪。他们自惭形秽,很想听他的信息,因为,这个人居然愿意受这么多苦,就是为了给他们传递这个信息。

因此,这位布道者,就用他那布满水泡和伤痕的双脚,补满了基督患难的缺欠。

一位名为约瑟的马赛族勇士的故事

在阿姆斯特丹市,由葛培理布道团(Billy Graham Association)赞助举办的巡回布道大会中,有个名不见经传的参会者,他是马赛族人,名叫约瑟。但他的故事却吸引了葛培理博士,并被麦克•卡德(Michael Card)讲述出来。

有一次,约瑟冒着炎热走在肮脏的非洲土路上,他碰到一个人,那人跟他分享了耶稣基督的福音。他当即欣然接受了耶稣作为他的救主和生命的主。圣灵的大能立刻开始更新和转变他的生命;他被巨大的兴奋和喜乐充满,首先想的就是回村去,把这好消息分享给部落成员。

约瑟把耶稣十字架(苦难!)的故事,还有这里提供的救恩,挨户去告诉每个人,期待着那些人的脸面也会像他那样被照亮。令他诧异的是,村里人不但不接受,甚至异乎寻常的暴躁。男人们把他按倒在地上,女人们用钢丝网上面的铁丝来鞭打他。后来他被人拖出村子,扔进树丛,任凭他孤独的死去。

约瑟挣扎着爬到一个水洞里,以后几天中,他多次昏厥,又醒过来,知觉若有若无,最终,他鼓起勇气站了起来。他不明白,为什么这些他一生中都很熟悉的同村人,会对他那般敌视和抵挡。他想,必定是他把耶稣的故事讲得不够正确,或是漏掉了什么。于是,他再次预演了听到的那些信息,之后回村里再次向人分享他的信仰。

遭受第一次鞭打还能活下来,已经不可思议了。第二次鞭打之后居然照样活下来,实在是个奇迹。然而,数天之后,伤痕累累的约瑟在野地里又苏醒过来,决心再回村里去。

他又回到那个小村子,这一次,没等他开口,人们就开始打他。当他们第三次——或许是最后一次——鞭打他的时候,他又一次对他们传讲耶稣基督——天地的主。就在他昏厥之前,他看到的最后一件事情就是,那些鞭打他的妇女开始哭泣。

而这一次他醒来,是躺在自己的床上。那些曾经凶狠地鞭打他的人,正在努力拯救他的性命,并且在照顾他,好叫他恢复健康。原来,那整个村庄都已经因他而信主了。

这个生动的例子,真切印证了保罗所说的那层意思,“并且为基督的身体,就是为教会,要在我肉身上补满基督患难的缺欠。 ”

当我们意识到,基督呼召我们是要为福音的缘故而作出牺牲,就能够感受到极大的自由、释放和安稳。我们在遭受患难时,就不至于因着毫无预备而丧失平衡。并且它释放我们,凭基督的爱激励,自由地选择受苦,而且能帮我们脱离美国式财富梦的巨大诱惑,得胜有余。

在海地的一个关于无私奉献的故事

要叫美国人真正明白耶稣对于穷寡妇的奉献所作的评论,几乎没可能。那位寡妇“是自己不足,把她一切养生的都投上了”(路21:4)。耶稣没有指责她不负责任,而是称赞她为上帝的事业而甘愿付出。想看到这种精神活生生的体现,我们或许在美国以外的其它地方找。斯坦福•凯里(Stanford Kelly)为我们描绘了发生在海地的一个例子。

教会正在举办一场感恩节的宴席,每一位基督徒都受邀,需要带一份爱心奉献来。有个信封来自一个海地男人爱德曼德(Edmund),里面装着13美金。那个数目相当于当地工人三个月的收入。凯里相当吃惊,因为这就好像美国本土教会里,礼拜天某位数算奉献的同工,打开一个奉献的信封,发现里面居然有六千美元现金。于是凯里就开始寻找这位爱德曼德,却一直找不到他。

后来在村里,凯里遇见了爱德曼德,就询问他,要他作出解释,结果发现原来他为福音奉献这13元钱,卖掉了自己的马。但是,那天他自己为什么没来到宴会上呢?爱德曼德却犹犹豫豫不想回答。

最后他终于坦白,“我没有可穿的衣服。”

这几个礼拜我讲的,就是上帝呼召我们来为患难做好预备……这不仅仅是因为那些道德层面的果效,比如让我们更纯洁,被炼净;也不仅仅是因为可以跟耶稣有更加深入的交往,可以更好地认识主,有那个亲密的因素;而且也是因为在基督的患难当中所缺欠的部分,必须借着那些愿意把这些患难带到世界各地的人,来补满,也就是说,要借着上帝子民的因着爱而做出的种种牺牲,来彰显出基督那“爱的牺牲”。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Called to Suffer and Rejoice: To Finish the Aim of Christ's Afflictions

Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I do my share on behalf of his body (which is the church) in filling up that which is lacking in Christ's afflictions. Of this church I was made a minister according to the stewardship from God bestowed on me for your benefit, that I might fully carry out the preaching of the word of God, that is, the mystery which has been hidden from the past ages and generations; but has now been manifested to his saints, to whom God willed to make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. And we proclaim him, admonishing every man and teaching every man with all wisdom, that we may present every man complete in Christ. And for this purpose also I labor, striving according to his power, which mightily works within me.

I want us to focus on verse 24 and Paul's "filling up that which is lacking in Christ's afflictions." How could anything be lacking in Christ's afflictions? Was not his suffering and death for us utterly all-sufficient? So what does he mean in verse 24 and how does it apply to us?

Summarizing This Paragraph

But to see verse 24 properly let's look at it in connection with the rest of the verses. Starting at verse 29 let's go backward and sum up what Paul is saying in this paragraph.

Verse 29: Paul says that there is a purpose for which he labors. And the striving, the agonizing, of this labor is not merely his own energy. It is the power of Christ mightily working in him.

Verse 28 describes the purpose that Paul labors for, namely, to present everyone that he reaches "complete in Christ." And he does this by proclaiming Christ, admonishing everyone, and teaching everyone. This is Paul's ceaseless labor which Christ energizes.

Verse 26–27 defines more explicitly what Paul proclaims and teaches. It's called a "mystery" in verse 26, not because it can't be understood, but because it has been hidden for ages and has now been revealed to the saints. Then verse 27 describes the riches of the glory of this mystery. It is "Christ in you [Gentiles], the hope of glory." What was not revealed fully in past ages was that the Jewish Messiah—the Christ—would actually reach out to non-Jewish nations and indwell non-Jewish people—that he would actually live in them and give them the promise of Abraham, the hope of glory in the kingdom of God with all the saints.

But now the mystery is being revealed and Paul is proclaiming Christ and teaching everywhere that the indwelling of the Messiah and the hope of the glory of God belong to all who trust Christ and really hope in the glory of God (1:4, 23).

Verse 25 simply says that this proclamation of Christ is the fulfilling of a stewardship that God has given to Paul to spread God's Word. He is a servant of the church and a steward of God. His charge is to take the Word of God to the nations, offer them the hope of glory, and call them to faith. And so he is a minister of the church by gathering God's chosen ones from among the nations, and by teaching and admonishing them so that they can be presented complete in Christ.

Verse 24 says that this ministry of extending the mystery of Christ and the hope of glory to the nations, and then admonishing and teaching them involves suffering. "Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I do my share on behalf of his body (which is the church) in filling up that which is lacking in Christ's afflictions."

What Does "Fill Up What Is Lacking" Mean?

Now what does this mean that when Paul suffers for the church—extending the hope of glory to more and more people, and teaching them about the mystery of Christ, and suffering in doing this—he is "filling up what is lacking in Christ's afflictions"? How can any man fill up what is surely as full as any suffering could be?

The Context Suggests the Meaning

I think the context that we just looked at suggests that Paul's sufferings fill up Christ's not by adding anything to their worth, but by extending them to the people they were meant to bless. What is lacking in the afflictions of Christ is not that they are deficient in worth or merit, as though they could not sufficiently cover the sins of all who believe. What is lacking is that the infinite value of Christ's afflictions are not known in the world. They are still a mystery (hidden) to most peoples. And God's intention is that the mystery be revealed, extended to all the Gentiles. So the afflictions are lacking in the sense that they are not seen and known among the nations. They must be carried by ministers of the Word. And those ministers of the Word fill up what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ by extending them to others.

Similar Words in Philippians 2:30

There is a strong confirmation of this in the use of similar words in Philippians 2:30. There was a man named Epaphroditus in the church at Philippi. When the church there gathered support for Paul (perhaps money or supplies or books), they decided to send them to Paul in Rome by the hand of Epaphroditus. In his travels with this supply Epaphroditus almost loses his life. Verse 27 says he was sick to the point of death, but God spared him.

Then in verse 29 Paul tells the church in Philippi to honor Epaphroditus when he comes back, and he gives his reason in verse 30 which has words very similar to Colossians 1:24. "Because he came close to death for the work of Christ, risking his life to complete [i.e., fill up] what was deficient [i.e., lacking] in your service to me." Now in the original the phrase "completing what was deficient" in your service to me is almost the same as "filling up what is lacking" in Christ's afflictions in Colossians 1:24.

In what sense, then, was the service of the Philippians to Paul "lacking" and in what sense did Epaphroditus "fill up" what was lacking in their service? A hundred years ago a commentator, Marvin Vincent, I think gets it exactly right.

The gift to Paul was a gift of the church as a body. It was a sacrificial offering of love. What was lacking, and what would have been grateful to Paul and to the church alike, was the church's presentation of this offering in person. This was impossible, and Paul represents Epaphroditus as supplying this lack by his affectionate and zealous ministry. (Epistle to the Philippians and to Philemon, ICC, p. 78)

How We "Fill Up What Is Lacking" in Christ's Afflictions

I think that is exactly what the words mean in Colossians 1:24 as well. Christ has prepared a love offering for the world by suffering and dying for sinners. It is full and lacking in nothing—except one thing, a personal presentation by Christ himself to the nations of the world and the people of your workplace. God's answer to this lack is to call the people of Christ (people like Paul) to present the afflictions of Christ to the world—to carry them from Jerusalem to the ends of the earth.

In doing this we "fill up what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ." We finish what they were designed for, namely, a personal presentation to the world of people who do not know about their infinite worth.

But notice how Paul says this in verse 24: He says that it is in his sufferings and in his flesh—that is, his actual, suffering body that he does his share in filling up the afflictions of Christ. So Paul sees a very close connection between his sufferings and Christ's afflictions. What this means, I think, is that God intends for the afflictions of Christ to be presented to the world through the afflictions of his people. God really means for the body of Christ, the church, to experience some of the suffering he experienced so that when we offer the Christ of the cross to people, they see the Christ of the cross in us. We are to make the afflictions of Christ real for people by the afflictions we experience in offering him to them, and living the life of love he lived.

"I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake . . . filling up that which is lacking in the afflictions of Christ." Christ wills to have a personal presentation of his sufferings to the world. And the way he means to offer himself as a sufferer for the world to the world is through his people who, like him, are willing to suffer for the world. His sufferings are completed in our sufferings because in ours the world sees his, and they have their appointed effect. The suffering love of Christ for sinners is seen in the suffering love of his people for sinners.

I think what we see in Colossians 1:24 is the living out of Jesus' words in Mark 8:35, "Whoever wishes to save his life shall lose it; and whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel's shall save it." The pathway of salvation is the pathway of "losing one's life for the sake of the gospel." The point is that taking the gospel to people (across the office or across the ocean) ordinarily requires sacrifice and suffering, a losing of life or a denying of self. This is the way Christ means for his saving sufferings to be taken to the world, through the sufferings of his people.

Paul's Joy in This Calling

And Paul says he rejoices in that. Verse 24: "Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake." The Calvary road is not a joyless road. It is a painful one, but it is a profoundly happy one. When we choose the fleeting pleasures of comfort and security over the sacrifices and sufferings of missions and evangelism and ministry and love, we choose against joy. We choose broken cisterns that can hold no water and reject the spring of water whose waters never fail (Isaiah 58:11).

The happiest people in the world are the people who know the mystery of Christ in them the hope of glory, satisfying their deep longings and freeing them to extend the sufferings of Christ through their own to the world.

God is calling us in this text to live for the sake of the gospel and to do that through suffering. Christ chose suffering, it didn't just happen to him. He chose it as the way to create and perfect the church. Now he calls us to choose suffering. That is, he calls us to take up our cross and follow him on the Calvary road and deny ourselves and make sacrifices for the sake of presenting his suffering to the world and ministering to the church.

I just heard a memorable way of saying this from the Romanian pastor and mission leader Joseph Tson. He said, "Christ's cross was for propitiation; ours is for propagation." That is, Christ suffered to accomplish salvation; we suffer to spread salvation. And our willingness to endure hardship for the good of others is a filling up of Christ's afflictions because it extends them to others and makes them visible.

The Story of an Indigenous Indian Missionary

While I was working on the missions book in May, I had an opportunity to hear J. Oswald Sanders speak. His message touched deeply on suffering. He is 89 years old and still travels and speaks around the world. He has written a book a year since he turned 70! I mention that only to exult in the utter dedication of a life poured out for the gospel without thought of coasting in self-indulgence from 65 to the grave.

He told the story of an indigenous missionary who walked barefoot from village to village preaching the gospel in India. His hardships were many. After a long day of many miles and much discouragement he came to a certain village and tried to speak the gospel but was driven out of town and rejected. So he went to the edge of the village dejected and lay down under a tree and slept from exhaustion.

When he awoke, people were hovering over him, and the whole town was gathered around to hear him speak. The head man of the village explained that they came to look him over while he was sleeping. When they saw his blistered feet, they concluded that he must be a holy man, and that they had been evil to reject him. They were sorry and wanted to hear the message that he was willing to suffer so much to bring them.

So the evangelist filled up the afflictions of Jesus with his beautiful blistered feet.

The Story of a Masai Warrior Named Joseph

One of the least likely men to attend the Itinerant Evangelists' Conference in Amsterdam sponsored by the Billy Graham Association was a Masai Warrior named Joseph. But his story won him a hearing with Dr. Graham himself. The story is told by Michael Card.1

One day Joseph, who was walking along one of these hot, dirty African roads, met someone who shared the gospel of Jesus Christ with him. Then and there he accepted Jesus as his Lord and Savior. The power of the Spirit began transforming his life; he was filled with such excitement and joy that the first thing he wanted to do was return to his own village and share that same Good News with the members of his local tribe.

Joseph began going from door-to-door, telling everyone he met about the Cross [suffering!] of Jesus and the salvation it offered, expecting to see their faces light up the way his had. To his amazement the villagers not only didn't care, they became violent. The men of the village seized him and held him to the ground while the women beat him with strands of barbed wire. He was dragged from the village and left to die alone in the bush.

Joseph somehow managed to crawl to a water hole, and there, after days of passing in and out of consciousness, found the strength to get up. He wondered about the hostile reception he had received from people he had known all his life. He decided he must have left something out or told the story of Jesus incorrectly. After rehearsing the message he had first heard, he decided to go back and share his faith once more.

Joseph limped into the circle of huts and began to proclaim Jesus. "He died for you, so that you might find forgiveness and come to know the living God" he pleaded. Again he was grabbed by the men of the village and held while the women beat him reopening wounds that had just begun to heal. Once more they dragged him unconscious from the village and left him to die.

To have survived the first beating was truly remarkable. To live through the second was a miracle. Again, days later, Joseph awoke in the wilderness, bruised, scarred—and determined to go back.

He returned to the small village and this time, they attacked him before he had a chance to open his mouth. As they flogged him for the third and probably the last time, he again spoke to them of Jesus Christ, the Lord. Before he passed out, the last thing he saw was that the women who were beating him began to weep.

This time he awoke in his own bed. The ones who had so severely beaten him were now trying to save his life and nurse him back to health. The entire village had come to Christ.

This is one vivid example of what Paul meant when he said, "I complete what is lacking in Christ's afflictions, for the sake of his body."

There is something profoundly freeing and stabilizing to know that Christ calls us to sacrifice for the sake of the gospel. It stabilizes us from being thrown off guard when it comes. And it frees us to choose it when love beckons us. And it begins to free us from the incredible seduction of American prosperity.

A Story of Sacrificial Giving in Haiti

It is almost impossible for Americans to come to terms with Jesus' commendation of the widow who "out of her poverty put in all the living that she had" (Luke 21:4). He actually praised her. He didn't accuse her of irresponsibility. He praised her sacrifice for the cause of God. To see this spirit fleshed out, we may have to leave America and go elsewhere. Stanford Kelly illustrates it from Haiti.2

The church was having a Thanksgiving festival and each Christian was invited to bring a love offering. One envelope from a Haitian man named Edmund held $13 cash. That amount was three months' income for a workingman there. Kelly was as surprised as those counting a Sunday offering in the United States might be to get a $6,000 cash gift. He looked around for Edmund, but couldn't see him.

Later Kelly met him in the village and questioned him. He pressed him for an explanation and found that Edmund had sold his horse in order to give the $13 gift to God for the sake of the Gospel. But why hadn't he come to the festival? He hesitated and didn't want to answer.

Finally Edmund said, "I had no shirt to wear."

What we are seeing in these weeks is that God is calling us to prepare to suffer . . . not only because of the moral effects of purification and refining; and not only because of the intimacy factor of going deeper with Jesus and knowing him better; but also because what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ must be filled up by those who take those sufferings to the world and show the loving sacrifice of Christ through the loving sacrifices of his people.


1 Michael Card, "Wounded in the House of Friends," Virtue, March/April, 1991, pp. 28–29, 69.

2 Norm Lewis, Priority One: What God Wants (Orange, California: Promise Publishing, 1988), p. 120.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org