在布道事工中基督的目的

「那时,我领了祭司长的权柄和命令,往大马色去。王啊,我在路上,晌午的时候,看见从天发光,比日头还亮,四面照着我并与我同行的人。我们都仆倒在地,我就听见有声音用希伯来话向我说:『扫罗!扫罗!为什么逼迫我?你用脚踢刺是难的!』我说:『主啊,你是谁?』主说:『我就是你所逼迫的耶稣。你起来站着,我特意向你显现,要派你作执事,作见证,将你所看见的事和我将要指示你的事证明出来。我也要救你脱离百姓和外邦人的手。我差你到他们那里去,要叫他们的眼睛得开,从黑暗中归向光明,从撒但权下归向神;又因信我,得蒙赦罪,和一切成圣的人同得基业。』」「亚基帕王啊,我故此没有违背那从天上来的异象;先在大马色,后在耶路撒冷和犹太全地,以及外邦,劝勉他们应当悔改归向神,行事与悔改的心相称。”

上帝的布道策略

当耶稣展望未来,预言门徒将遇到的事情时,说了一些相当严肃、冷静又鼓舞人的话。他说(参见路21:12-13),

“但这一切的事以先,人要下手拿住你们,逼迫你们,把你们交给会堂,并且收在监里,又为我的名拉你们到君王诸侯面前。但这些事终必为你们的见证。”

严峻的事实是,尽管基督的救赎大业必将在全地获胜——因为他活着,并且掌管万有,然而短时间里,对于某些门徒来说,跟随耶稣就意味着拘捕和逼迫。

这些话语中令人鼓舞的事情是,上帝的心意乃是让这些逼迫和监禁,成为策略性的机会,好为福音的真理作见证。《路加福音》21:13——“这些事终必为你们的见证。”监禁可能会中断你个人的布道策略,但绝不会中断上帝的布道策略。

保罗的计划和上帝的计划

你有没有想过,保罗为基督所作的见证,有多少是在他自己未曾计划过的场合中作出的?我不是否定作计划的重要性。计划很重要,保罗曾作过许多非常清晰的传福音计划,这可以从《罗马书》15章和《使徒行传》中清楚地看出来。然而我的要点是:上帝才是那位最完美的布道大计的策划者。他期待的,是那些把预备好的鞋子穿在脚上的人,也就是能够随时根据福音的需要而行动的人(弗6:15)。而一旦我们怀着关爱失丧灵魂的心采取行动,就必然会遭受搅扰和意外——但那些事情一定有其布道方面的目的。

“人要下手拿住你们,逼迫你们,把你们交给会堂,并且收在监里……拉你们到君王诸侯面前。但这些事终必为你们的见证。”换言之,无论何时,无论怎样的景况——特别是那些出乎意料,令人丧胆的事情发生时——我们都要做好准备,为基督作见证。

保罗是如何站在亚基帕王面前的?

这里的经文来自《使徒行传》26章,当时保罗在亚基帕王面前作见证。他如何得着机会呢?一个无名小卒,犹太裔的基督徒宣教士,怎么有机会让巴勒斯坦全地的君王当他的听众呢?

的确,保罗真没有这个计划!大约两年前,保罗在耶路撒冷被人诬告而入狱。那时,他有机会给犹太公会领袖们作见证,正如耶稣预言的——你们将被囚禁,并且这将成为作见证的机会。后来,有人设计要谋害保罗,于是他被押送到靠近海边的该撒利亚。这样一来,他又有机会对罗马政府的官员,巡抚腓力斯作见证。在该撒利亚的监狱里呆了两年后,新上任的罗马巡抚非斯都把保罗带到亚基帕王面前,好叫他们都有机会聆听保罗为自己辩论。

于是,整个犹太立法部门的领导,巴勒斯坦地区职位最高的官员中的三位政治人物(腓力斯,非斯都,亚基帕),就都有机会听到福音,这都是因着保罗被诬告入狱的缘故。肯定的是,从耶稣在《路加福音》21:13的话语,以及从保罗的人生历程所验证的道理,都给我们指出一个很明显的属灵功课:我们生命中经历的所有磨难和挫折,都有上帝在福音方面的目的。

我们应该从中学习的教训有哪些?

你们有没有人,也正处在一个两年期的徘徊之中,是原先从没计划的?如果有,不要苦恼,以为这于福音事工毫无意义。你要信靠上帝的智慧,有他许可,这些事才发生。并且,你依然要把预备好的鞋子穿上,跟着福音的指向标行动,是的,在迂回当中。千万不要脱下那预备好的鞋子,以为无事可做了。耶稣说,“这些事终必为你们的见证!”

这里我看到许多令人鼓舞的道理,足以鼓励我们在满有主权的上帝的护理中,激昂地、充满期待地生活。你可以在早晨祷告时,做出一天的计划。但你接下来要再次祷告说,“主啊,我知道我不能掌控这一天——我的车子会发生什么事情,上班时谁会给我打电话,中饭时会见到谁,还有其他无法预料的事。所以,我求你来管理这一天,好叫所有计划之外的事,都成就其属灵的价值。求你帮助我,在那些撒旦希望我只看到麻烦和打扰的地方,看到奇妙神圣的机会。”

这样,生活就像我们在市区跑步那样。周二早上,我决定跑步锻炼一下,想穿越整个市区。我当时大致知道往哪里跑——那就是我的计划。但实际上——我觉得生活本身就是这样——是让那些红绿灯来决定我的方向。如果往西跑时遇到红灯,我就会朝着绿灯的方向过马路,朝北边跑。往北遇到了红灯,我就会往西跨越街道。大概就是这样。

当我跑到一处街角,靠近路德宗兄弟会的教堂时,猛然撞见大卫•李文斯敦,耶利米•桑伯格,和大卫•老里昂(David Livingston and Jerry Sundberg and David Laurion),他们刚刚结束一个早餐聚会回家。事后我想,这事真神奇。那天早上我可能会经过的街道有好几百条,那些红绿灯——象征着上帝的主权之护理——在看似无意当中,居然很精确地把我径直带到这些弟兄面前。

所以,我盼望你们每天都怀着期待生活,随时预备好,跟着平安的福音来行动。在该撒利亚的监狱里经历了两年的弯路之后,照着上帝神圣的约定,保罗此时此刻站在亚基帕王面前。在他原本计划的罗马之旅中,遇到了一些上帝护理的“红灯”的拦阻,结果到了适当的时刻和地点,他就站在巴勒斯坦地区的王面前了。这正是耶稣说的,这些事情的发生,是要为主作见证。

这样,今天的经文就以两种方式论述及要点:首先,这些事的出现,是为着上帝那令人兴奋的护理大工,以及保罗在传福音方面的时刻准备之状态,来作见证的;其次,这些事情正是对基督想在布道过程中达成的结果,所作的见证。

基督要借保罗成就的五件事情

现在我们来考察经文,看看基督要借着保罗的人生,为自己做见证,是要成就哪五件事情。我们不见得都蒙召去做保罗一样的事情——跨文化宣教、创建教会、全时投身福音事工,等等。但上个星期我已经讲过,每个人都要用平安的福音当作预备走路的鞋穿上,随时随福音而动(弗6:15)。今天的经文指示我们,当我们按此行,进入人们的生活时,应该有什么期待,怎么祷告。

《使徒行传》26章,保罗把他的个人经历告诉亚基帕王。当讲到在去往大马士革的路上遇见耶稣时,他告诉亚基帕——也告诉我们——耶稣跟他说过的话。我们一起来查看16-18节经文。

“你起来站着,我特意向你显现,要派你作执事,作见证,将你所看见的事和我将要指示你的事证明出来。我也要救你脱离百姓和外邦人的手。我差你到他们那里去,要叫他们的眼睛得开,从黑暗中归向光明,从撒但权下归向神;又因信我,得蒙赦罪,和一切成圣的人同得基业。”

这里所说的,就是基督要借他子民的见证来成就的,也是我们应该常常祷告的内容,并且要怀着极大的自信祷告,因为我们乃是按照圣经启示的上帝旨意来祷告的。

1. 走出去宣扬

第一件要明白的事情就是,基督要我们走出去宣扬福音,而不只是等待别人来观看。根据是17节后半句:“……我差你到他们那里去。”

在基督再次降临之前,我们完成使命的策略就是:道成肉身。耶稣基督降世,为要拯救罪人。他舍弃了天家的荣华和舒适,就是要到世人所在之处,告诉他们有关父神的真理。就像他自己说的,“父怎样差遣了我,我也照样差遣你们。”

伯利恒教会在明尼阿波利斯市的使命,绝不应该以“你们来看”为主。而要以“走出去宣扬”为主。想想看,你们一千人的“织帐篷”的宣教团队,刚来明尼阿波利斯。——“织帐篷”是指那些要工作养家,同时在职场传福音的人。

再想想,这一千人聚在一起,彼此说,我们都在这儿,而且没有工作,没有住处。我们如何去为主赢得这里的民众呢?我的答案是:先到处去找工作,找各样的工作。还要认真祷告,让圣灵来指导我们,又分散到市里市郊找地方住。千万别都挤在一个公寓里。也别去建一个基督徒工业区。恰恰相反,我们要分散住到我们的同胞当中,和他们一起工作。换言之,我们要“走出去宣扬”,而不要“你们来看”,不去集中“兜售”福音,而是渗透到社会的每个角落。这是绝好的思路和策略!

令人鼓舞的是,上帝早已采取这个策略。我们是为福音作见证的一千个“织帐篷的”的基督徒,在城市人群中居住工作——而不是整天聚在教会里——上帝要我们在大家当中。这也正是基督要借他的见证人达成的首要目标——叫他们出去宣扬,而不是仅仅等待别人来观看。

2. 要打开未信之人的眼睛

" 基督要在我们的见证当中完成的第二件事情,就是打开未信之人的眼睛。第18节说:“……要叫他们的眼睛得开。”

保罗在《哥林多后书》4:4写道,“此等不信之人被这世界的神 [撒旦] 弄瞎了心眼,不叫基督荣耀福音的光照着他们。基督本是神的像。”但这段经文中基督告诉我们,他就是要医好这种瞎眼的。这正是福音布道的目标。

但我们会问,怎样做呢?怎么能使瞎子的眼睛睁开?我们自己当然无能为力。《哥林多后书》4:6说,“那吩咐光从黑暗里照出来的神,已经照在我们心里,叫我们得知神荣耀的光显在耶稣基督的面上。”起初,上帝说:要有光!借着这大能的宣告,就有了光。今天,我们照样要倚靠上帝,让那些灵里瞎了眼的人,能够看见。

但是,《使徒行传》26:18说,基督差派保罗来完成这件事:“我差你到他们那里去,要叫他们的眼睛得开。”我认为,作为基督徒,在使瞎子看见的事工上,我们跟圣灵同工。关键之一是,我们要祷告,让上帝打开瞎子的眼睛。其二,我们要讲述关乎基督的真理的话语,以至于当眼睛打开之后,人可以有相信的对象和具体的真理。若不预备好福音真理,圣灵不会打开某人心中的眼睛。而这就是我们的工作,我们借着一些见证,把关乎基督的真理告诉人;并且我们也祷告神迹,就是有属灵视力赐给那些心眼瞎了的人。而上帝也必然会在他的时间、以他的方式,在人们心灵的领域,呼喊道,“要有光!”

我们不要做力不能及的事,但不要连该当的责任也不负。

3. 要叫未信之人从黑暗中归向光明

第三,借我们的见证,基督要叫未信之人从黑暗当中归向光明,从撒但权下归向神。18节说:“……要叫他们的眼睛得开,从黑暗中归向光明,从撒但权下归向神。”

关于打开眼睛的这两个转变,我作两个评论。

3.1. 在你的眼睛被打开之前,黑暗看起来并不奇怪

我和妻子诺丽(Noël )在德国时,接待过一位盲人朋友。我们同住了一段日子。有天晚上我走到外面的大厅,这里一片漆黑,我还听到这位客人在大厅尽头的卫生间发出声响,但里面没有灯。我刚要告诉她电源开关在哪里,马上意识到她看不见,是不需要开灯的。那时,我有了某种特别的感触。

要点是:这位朋友从没觉察黑暗,只要看不见,黑暗对她就很正常。但她的眼睛若被打开,看见光线,她就会从黑暗归向光明。属灵事物也是同样道理。处在属灵黑暗中时,他们很自如,很习惯那种罪恶下的黑暗处境。你告诉他们,“快开灯啊,不然你会受伤的。”他们听不懂。所以,首先要打开他们的眼睛,然后他们才会调整方向,在光明中行走。

3.2. 欺骗,撒旦唯一能战胜我们的伎俩

另一个评论关乎从撒但权下归向神。从经文中你看到撒旦的权势怎样运作吗?经文暗示,眼睛被打开后,我们就想脱离撒旦的控制了。保罗要打开他们的眼睛,叫他们从撒但权下归向神。隐含的道理是,撒旦掌控世人的唯一方法,就是欺骗——混淆事情的真相。

因此,当人们睁开眼睛,正确认识基督,上帝,世界,罪恶,工艺,天堂以及地狱等等,这时,撒旦的权势就被破除,被真理的灵击败了。记得保罗在《以弗所书》6章列出的武器吗?那些保护你不受执政的、掌权的以及恶魔伤害,并且能有效地跟他们争战的,其中第一件和最后一件武器,就是真理的腰带和圣灵的宝剑——神的话。

在为基督的真理作见证的过程中,上帝的目标就是要打开瞎子的眼睛,把他们从撒旦的权下拯救出来,因为掌控你的唯一方式,就是欺骗,引你去渴望和追逐那些没有真正价值的东西。

4–5. 得蒙赦罪,并同得基业

18节末尾,提及基督借着我们的见证要达成的第四和第五个目的,即:那些从黑暗中归向光明,从撒但权下归向神的人,将有机会因信基督,“得蒙赦罪,和一切成圣的人同得基业。”

总结

总之,在我们为福音真理作见证的时候,基督的目的是:打开人们属灵的眼睛;让他们从罪的黑暗里归向义的光明中;从撒旦(只能借着谎言来捆绑人心的恶者)的权下归向神;一切罪得着赦免;借着信心,而不是靠律法主义的重担,让他们加入圣徒的行列里,一同追求圣洁。

看到了吧,当我们走出去宣扬耶稣基督的真理时,上帝要借我们达成的,是何等伟大永恒的目标啊!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Christ's Purpose in Evangelism

"In this connection I journeyed to Damascus with the authority and commission of the chief priests. At midday, O king, I saw on the way a light from heaven, brighter than the sun, that shone around me and those who journeyed with me. And when we had all fallen to the ground, I heard a voice saying to me in the Hebrew language, 'Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting me? It is hard for you to kick against the goads.' And I said, 'Who are you, Lord?' And the Lord said, 'I am Jesus whom you are persecuting. But rise and stand upon your feet, for I have appeared to you for this purpose, to appoint you as a servant and witness to the things in which you have seen me and to those in which I will appear to you, delivering you from your people and from the Gentiles - to whom I am sending you to open their eyes, so that they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.' "Therefore, O King Agrippa, I was not disobedient to the heavenly vision, but declared first to those in Damascus, then in Jerusalem and throughout all the region of Judea, and also to the Gentiles, that they should repent and turn to God, performing deeds in keeping with their repentance."

God's Evangelistic Strategy

When Jesus looked into the future and predicted what would happen to his disciples, he said something very sobering, but also very encouraging. He said (in Luke 21:12–13),

They will lay their hands on you and persecute you, delivering you up to the synagogues and prisons, and you will be brought before kings and governors for my name's sake. This will be a time for you to bear testimony.

The sobering thing here is the fact that, even though the cause of Christ will eventually triumph in the whole universe because he is alive and sovereign, nevertheless in the short run following Jesus will definitely mean arrest and persecution for some of his disciples.

The encouraging thing in these words is that God intends the persecution and imprisonments to be a strategic opportunity for witness to the truth of the gospel. Luke 21:13—"This will be a time for you to bear testimony." Imprisonment will interrupt your evangelistic strategy, but it will not interrupt God's evangelistic strategy.

Paul's Plans and God's Plans

Have you ever stopped to think how much of Paul's witness to Christ was given in circumstances he did not plan? I'm not debunking planning. It's essential. Paul had very clear evangelistic plans. That's obvious from Romans 15 and from the book of Acts. The point I'm making is that God is the master evangelistic planner. What he wants is people who wear the shoes of readiness to move with the gospel (Ephesians 6:15). And once we are moving with a heart for lost people, there will be many interruptions and surprises—but none of them without evangelistic purpose.

"They will deliver you up to prisons and take you before governors and kings. That will be a time for witness." In other words, always and in every circumstance—especially the unexpected ones, and the frustrating ones—be ready to bear witness to Christ.

How Paul Got Before King Agrippa

Our text today is taken from Paul's testimony to king Agrippa in Acts 26. How did Paul get here? How does it come about that an obscure, Jewish-Christian missionary has an audience with the king of all Palestine?

Well, it was not Paul's plan! Two years earlier he had been arrested on false charges in Jerusalem. At the time he got to give his testimony to the whole Jewish Sanhedrin, just like Jesus said he would—they will arrest you and this will be a time for testimony. Then there was a plot against his life and so he was moved to Caesarea on the coast. This time he gave his testimony to Felix the Roman governor. After two years in prison in Caesarea, the new Roman governor Festus puts Paul before king Agrippa so they can hear what he has to say.

So the whole Jewish legal council, and three of the highest political officials in Palestine (Felix, Festus, Agrippa) all hear the gospel because Paul was arrested and imprisoned on false charges. Surely the lesson we should learn from the words of Jesus in Luke 21:13 and from the way they were fulfilled in the life of Paul is that God has gospel purposes in all the set backs of our lives.

The Lesson We Should Learn

Is any of you in the midst of a two year set back today? Anybody on a two year detour that you had not planned? Don't fret as though God has no gospel purpose in it. Trust his wisdom to allow what has happened. And put on those shoes of readiness to move with the gospel ON THE DETOUR. Don't take off the shoes of readiness thinking that detours don't have any gospel purpose. Jesus said, "This will be a time for testimony!"

I see so much encouragement here for an exciting way to live your life expectantly under the providence of a sovereign God. You get up in the morning and you pray and make your plan for the day. But then you pray again and say, "Lord, I know that I do not control this day—what will happen to my car, who will call me at work, whom I will see at lunch, and a hundred other unexpected details. Would you govern my day so that all its unplanned detours are spiritually valuable? Help me to see divine appointments where Satan may only want me to see interruptions and irritations."

Then life would be like jogging in downtown Minneapolis. Tuesday morning I decided to take a run through downtown. I had a general idea of where I wanted to go—that was my plan. But what I did—and I think this is a lot like life—was let the stoplights determine where I took my turns. If west was red, I'd cross the street on the green and run farther north. When I hit a red going north, I'd cross the street west and run west. And so on.

As I came to a corner near the Lutheran Brotherhood building, I ran right into David Livingston and Jerry Sundberg and David Laurion on their way home from a breakfast meeting. I thought to myself afterward. Of all the hundreds of routes I could have gone that morning, the stoplights—symbolizing the providence of God—guided me straight to this group of guys.

So I hope you live your days with a sense of expectancy and readiness to move with the gospel of peace. Paul is standing here before Agrippa by God's divine appointment after a two year detour in a Caesarean prison. A few providential red lights on the way to Rome, and here he stands before the king of Palestine. And Jesus says, the reason things like this happen is for a testimony.

And so our text today makes its point in two ways: its existence is a testimony to God's exciting providence and Paul's readiness with the gospel; and its content is a testimony to what Christ aims to accomplish in the process of evangelism.

Five Things Christ Aims to Do Through Paul

Let's look at the content now and try to get a clear vision of the five things Christ told Paul that he aims to do through his life as a witness to Christ. Every individual is not called to do exactly what Paul did—crossing cultures and planting churches and devoting full time to the gospel ministry. But we saw last week that we are all to put on the shoes of readiness to move with the gospel of peace (Ephesians 6:15). What our text today can show us is what we should expect and what we should pray for when we move like this into people's lives.

Paul begins to tell his story to Agrippa in Acts 26. When he gets to that part of his story about meeting Jesus on the Damascus road, he tells Agrippa—and us—what Jesus said to him. That's what we want to look at. Verses 16–18,

Rise and stand upon your feet; for I have appeared to you for this purpose, to appoint you to serve and bear witness to the things in which you have seen me and to those in which I will appear to you, delivering you from the people and from the Gentiles—to whom I send you to open their eyes, that they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.

Here is what Christ aims to accomplish through the witness of his people. This is what we should pray for with great confidence that we are praying according to the revealed will of God in Scripture.

1. To Go and Tell

The first thing we need to see is that Christ aims for us to go and tell, not just wait or others to come and see. This comes from verse 17b: " . . . to whom I send you."

From the first coming of Christ to the second coming of Christ the strategy of our mission is incarnation. Jesus Christ came into the world to save sinners. He left one place and went to another place. He gave up the glories and comforts of his heavenly home in order to go where the people were and tell them about the Father. And he said, "As the Father has sent me so send I you."

Bethlehem's mission in Minneapolis must never be mainly a come and see mission. It must be a go and tell mission. Suppose that all 1,000 of you had just arrived on the scene in Minneapolis as a team of tent-making missionaries. You know what they are—people who will work at secular jobs to support themselves and their families and to penetrate a given population with the gospel.

And suppose that we all got together and said, Well, here we are, and we have no jobs yet and no place to live and there are 1,000 of us. What should we do to reach this metropolitan area for Christ? I think the answer would be, Let's all go out and find jobs. All different kinds of jobs all over the cities. And let's pray and let the Spirit guide us to houses and apartments all over the cities and the surrounding suburbs. Let's not all live together in one apartment complex. And let's not make a Christian industry. But let's live among the nationals and get jobs where they work. In other words let's develop a go and tell model of penetration instead of a come and see model of concentration. Great idea! Terrific strategy!

Well isn't it encouraging that that's just what God has already done. We are a church of 1,000 tent-making witnesses to the gospel of Christ. We don't live or work at church. We live and work among the natives. And that is just where God wants us. That is the first thing Christ aims to do with his witnesses—cause them to go and tell, not just wait for others to come and see.

2. To Open the Eyes of Unbelievers

The second thing Christ aims to accomplish in our witness is the opening of the eyes of unbelievers. Verse 18: " . . . to whom I send you to open their eyes."

Paul says in 2 Corinthians 4:4, "The god of this age [Satan] has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the likeness of God." But Christ tells us in this text that he aims for this blindness to be healed. He aims to give sight. That's the goal of evangelism.

But we ask, how can I do that? How can I open the eyes of the blind? The answer of course is that in ourselves we can't. 2 Corinthians 4:6 says, "It is God who said, 'Let light shine out of darkness,' who has shone in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ." It is God who created light in the beginning with an omnipotent, "Let there be light!" And it is God who now can open the eyes of the spiritually blind.

But Acts 26:18 says that Christ sends Paul to do it: "I send you to open their eyes." I take this to mean that we Christians are partners with the Holy Spirit in opening the eyes of the blind. We do two key things. We pray for God to open the eyes of the blind. And we speak words of truth about Christ so that when the people's eyes are opened, there is something to believe. The Holy Spirit never opens the eyes of the heart until there is gospel truth in the mind to believe. That's our job. We put the truth of Christ into a person's mind with a testimony; we pray for the miracle of spiritual sight for the blind. And God in his time and in his way says, "Let there be light!"

Don't take on more than is your human responsibility in this process. But far more urgent for us is: DON'T TAKE ON LESS!

3. That Unbelievers Turn from Darkness to Light

The third purpose of Christ through our testimony is that unbelievers turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God. Verse 18: " . . . to open their eyes, that they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God."

Let me make two comments about how these two turnings relate to the opening of the eyes.

3.1. Darkness Isn't Strange Until Your Eyes Are Opened

Noël and I had a guest once in our little apartment in Germany. She was totally blind and lived with us for a few days. One night I walked out into the hall and noticed that the hall was totally dark and I could hear our guest at the end of the hall in the restroom but there was no light on. I opened my mouth to call out where the switch was and then caught myself. She's blind. She never turns on the light. It was a strange sensation.

Here's the point: our friend will never treat the darkness as something strange until her eyes are opened. Darkness is her native land. If her eyes were opened to know light, she would turn from darkness to light. And so it is in the spiritual realm. Where there is spiritual blindness, people are at home in the darkness of sin. If you say, "Hey, turn on the light, you're going to hurt yourself," they won't know what you are talking about. First the eyes must be opened. Then they will turn and walk in the light.

3.2. Satan's Only Power over Us Is Through Deception

The other comment has to do with the turning from the power of Satan to God. Do you see what it implies about the power of Satan that we will turn from him when our eyes are opened? Paul says, I want you to open their eyes that they might turn from the power of Satan. It implies that the only power Satan has over men and women is through deception—through making things look like something they are not.

So when the eyes are opened to see Christ the way he really is, and to see God and the world and sin and righteousness and heaven and hell they way they really are, then the power of Satan is broken. The power of Satan is broken by the Spirit of truth. What are the first and last pieces of armor Paul lists in Ephesians 6 to protect you from the principalities and powers and make you effective in fighting them? Answer: the belt of TRUTH and the sword of the Spirit which is THE WORD OF GOD.

In your witness to the truth of Christ God aims to open the eyes of the blind and to deliver them from Satan because the only way Satan can hold you is by deceiving you about what is really desirable.

4–5. To Grant Forgiveness and a Place

The fourth and fifth things Christ aims to accomplish through our testimony are mentioned at the end of verse 18: that people who turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God might "receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me."

Summary

So there it is—a summary of what Christ aims to do through you and me when we testify to the truth of the gospel. He aims to open the eyes of the spiritually blind; he aims that they would then turn from the darkness of sin to the light of righteousness; he aims that they would turn from the power of Satan who can only hold them by lies, and come to God. He aims that all their sins be forgiven. And he aims that by faith, not legalistic burdens, they would join the saints in the pursuit of holiness.

O what great, eternal things God aims to do through us as we go and tell about the truth of Jesus Christ.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org