困境中的呼求和感恩的祷告――约拿的祷告

公元前8世纪上半叶,耶罗波安二世在以色列(北方王国)作王四十一年。《列王纪下》第14章25节写道:“他收回以色列边界之地,从哈马口直到亚拉巴海,正如耶和华以色列的神藉他仆人迦特希弗人亚米太的儿子先知约拿所说的。”《约拿书》1章1节写明约拿是亚米太的儿子,由此我们得知约拿就是那位公元前8世纪中叶时生活在以色列北方王国的先知。

上帝的呼召和约拿的叛逆

根据第1章1-2节,耶和华的话临到约拿,“你起来往尼尼微大城去,向其中的居民呼喊。”上帝对约拿说的这话究竟是什么意思呢?了解一点背景知识或许会帮助我们更好地理解:同一时期的先知阿摩司得神的默示论以色列的罪,又预言耶和华必兴起一国攻击以色列,这个国家就是亚述(摩6:14),而尼尼微正是亚述的首都。也就是说,当阿摩司宣告以色列将被亚述攻击的命运时,耶和华让约拿到亚述的尼尼微去传讲他的话语。

你们很多人应该都记得故事的大致经过。约拿并没有服从上帝的旨意往东行去到底格里斯河上的尼尼微,而是在约帕上了一条前往他施(大约在西班牙境内)去的船。耶和华使海中起大风,船只陷入危险之中。当船上水手们的祷告无法使海浪平息时,他们便叫醒约拿让他向他的神祷告。之后他们又掣签,看这灾难是由于谁的缘故而临到他们,结果掣出约拿来。当船员们问他是什么人时,约拿回答说:“我是希伯来人。我敬畏耶和华那创造沧海旱地之天上的神”(拿1:9)。船员们问他当怎样行才能使海浪平静,约拿对他们说:“你们将我抬起来,抛在海中,海就平静了”(拿1:12)。约拿如此情愿地舍命救船上的异教徒(拿1:5)船员们,然而几个星期后却因为上帝拯救了十二万尼尼微异教徒们而发怒,约拿的行为让我们感到困惑。或许约拿情愿丧生于大海主要是出于懊悔和羞愧。他意识到自己想“躲避耶和华”(拿1:3)的行为愚蠢之至――耶和华是创造沧海旱地的神(拿1:9),我们怎么可能逃得掉呢?上帝找到了约拿并显明了他的愚蠢,约拿罪孽昭彰,索性要一死了之。

船员们将他抛在海中,于是海浪便平息了,而约拿沉到了海里。之后发生了什么呢?紧接着发生的并不是一条大鱼将约拿吞下,在这条大鱼出现之前还有约拿在困境中的呼求。尽管约拿很清楚他有罪,尽管他深知自己该死,尽管他已经将自己的生命交给上帝的公义审判,然而当死亡向他逼近时,他想到那位他并没有尽心尽力侍奉的神是“有恩典、有怜悯的神,不轻易发怒,有丰盛的慈爱,并且后悔不降所说的灾”(拿4:2)。因此,他求告耶和华,请求他的怜悯。于是上帝安排了一条大鱼来解救约拿,上帝怜悯他的先知并且奇迹般地让他在鱼腹中得救。

《约拿书》第2章讲述的便是约拿在鱼腹中的祷告。他详述了自己在海里遭遇患难时的求告,并对上帝的解救献上感恩。

《约拿书》的史实性

在我们分享这一章经文以前,我想简单说明一下为何我认为这一卷书是一段史实而非一则寓言。我们不仅可以从《列王纪下》14:25节看到历史上确有约拿其人,我们还在新约中看到耶稣也将约拿的故事当作史实来对待。《马太福音》12:40里,耶稣这样说道:“约拿三日三夜在大鱼肚腹中,人子也要这样三日三夜在地里头。当审判的时候,尼尼微人要起来定这世代的罪,因为尼尼微人听了约拿所传的,就悔改了。看哪,在这里有一人比约拿更大。”所有敬畏耶稣智慧的人都不会质疑他的判断。耶稣认为约拿的故事是真实的,我们同样也应当相信。你若问我怎么可能有人在鱼腹中呆了三天却存活下来,那么我的答案是――这或许不大可能,但是相比之下,有人在坟墓里呆了三天却又复活的可能性似乎更小。这也就是为什么耶稣称约拿的故事为“神迹”。耶稣在《马太福音》12:39里说道:“一个邪恶、淫乱的世代求看神迹,除了先知约拿的神迹以外,再没有神迹给他们看。”耶稣知道这并不是一个寻常事件,而是仁慈上帝的伟大神迹。尝试用科学道理来解释约拿的故事就像尝试去解释耶稣传道时所行的神迹一样毫无疑义。事实就是:约拿向上帝寻求帮助,于是上帝借助一条大鱼奇迹般地解救了他。

上帝应允他的儿女在患难中的呼求

约拿在鱼腹中是清醒的,即使清醒的时间并不长,这段时间也足以令他意识到上帝已经将他从深海中解救出来。在他清醒的这段时间里(或许是时断时续的),约拿一直在祷告,第2章就是讲述他是如何祷告的。所以,当你在读这个祷告时,请记住约拿所提到的患难指的是他被投在海里,而非他被吞到鱼腹中。海水带来了死亡的威胁,而这条大鱼就是为他带来救赎的避难所。在约拿的祷告中,他在患难中的呼求(在海中)用的是过去时态,而他的信靠与感恩的祷告用的是现在时。下面我们来看看这个祷告。

《约拿书》2:1-2节写到:“约拿在鱼腹中祷告耶和华他的神,说:‘我遭遇患难求告耶和华,你就应允我;从阴间的深处呼求,你就俯听我的声音。’”可以用一句话来总结约拿沉入海里时所发生的事情:他向上帝呼求,于是上帝应允了他的祷告安排了一条大鱼。我希望你们能够体会到这其中所蕴含的极大激励,而我希望向大家传达的最重要的一点是:上帝应允他的儿女在患难中的呼求。今天我们要分享的这一章就是在讲,当我们在患难中呼求上帝的时候,他为什么会应允我们,以及他怎样回应我们。第一,尽管我们有罪,上帝仍然应允我们的呼求;第二,上帝应允我们的呼求,尽管他审判罪恶;第三,上帝应允我们的呼求,能够将我们从无可指望的境况中解救出来;第四,上帝总是在最紧要的关头应允我们;第五,上帝一步步地应允我们的呼求,而并不是每一步都让人感到舒服;第六,上帝应允我们是为要赢得我们对他的忠诚和感恩;第七,我们因为自己的罪而陷入困境,但上帝仍然应允和帮助我们是因为他希望我们能够变得像他那样仁慈。下面我们来一一分析这几点,好使我们能更有信心地求告上帝。

尽管我们有罪

第一,上帝应允我们在患难中的呼求,尽管我们是有罪的。当约拿落入海里时,他并不是在前往尼尼微的路上,而是在躲避耶和华的途中。也就是说他犯了不顺服神的罪,这就是他落入海里的原因。或许你们当中现在正有人因为不顺服而陷入困境之中,你现在可能正有这样的疑问:“我还有希望吗?上帝还会怜悯我、听我在患难中的呼求吗”,那么就请你从约拿的故事中获得勇气吧。约拿陷入困境就是因他的罪造成的,但是上帝依然应允了他的祷告,给了他改过的机会。

圣经中这样的教导并不是只有这一处,《诗篇》第107章第10-15节经文写到:

那些坐在黑暗中死荫里的人,被困苦和铁链捆锁,是因他们违背神的话语,藐视至高者的旨意(比如约拿)。所以他用劳苦治服他们的心;他们仆倒,无人扶助。于是,他们在苦难中哀求耶和华,他从他们的祸患中拯救他们。他从黑暗中和死荫里领他们出来,折断他们的绑索。但愿人因耶和华的慈爱和他向人所行的奇事,都称赞他。

假若你因不顺服神而陷入现在的困境,那么请你悔改并向上帝呼求吧。尽管你是有罪的,上帝也依然会应允你的祷告。

尽管他对罪有审判

第二,上帝应允我们的呼求,尽管他对罪有审判。请注意第3节经文:“你将我投下深渊。”根据1:15节所说的,应该是船员们将约拿抬起,抛在海中。然而,约拿深知这一切是上帝的作为。上帝对约拿的不顺服感到非常生气,于是要惩罚约拿。我想陷在困境中的人,没有什么比想到上帝因愤怒而把患难加在我们身上而更感到绝望的了。我猜我们当中的大多数人也许会说:假如上帝将我放在这么糟糕的境况中是因为他不喜悦我,那么向他祷告寻求帮助又有什么用呢?然而约拿却敢于向那位将他抛入大海的上帝祈求帮助,而正是这位将他抛入大海的上帝垂听了他的祷告,施行神迹来解救他。即使是在上帝不喜悦我们的行为时,他也绝不是仅仅为了惩罚我们而让我们经历苦难的折磨。救赎永远是他行事的目的之一。正如《约伯记》36:15所写的:“神藉着困苦救拔困苦人,趁他们受欺压,开通他们的耳朵,”灾难不仅仅是惩罚,更是救赎。所以,即使困境中的你感到上帝的手加害于你,也请你不要绝望,仍然求告他的名。上帝应允他儿女的呼求,尽管他对罪有审判。

从无可指望的境况中解救我们

第三,上帝应允我们的呼求,能够将我们从无可指望的境况中解救。第5和第6节经文描述了约拿当时的处境极为险恶:“诸水环绕我,几乎淹没我;深渊围住我,海草缠绕我的头。我下到山根,地的门将我永远关住。”在风平浪静的时候被抛到海里应该是一件够糟糕的事情了,那么当海上狂风大作,海面卷着八、九米高的巨浪时被抛入海中该有多么可怕啊,你感觉自己沉得很深,你觉得自己死定了。但是就好像这一切还不够似的,当你拼命地挣扎想要浮出水面时,一团海草紧紧地缠住了你的头和脖子。这是多么惊心动魄的画面啊。境况差到几乎无可挽回的时候,上帝开始了他对约拿的拯救。

我不能确定是出于什么原因,但是在基督徒的生命里困苦和烦恼似乎常常接踵而至。它们不会依据我们应对困难的能力而放慢节奏。我们的处境时常糟糕到让我们看不到任何希望,在这样的时刻,我们应当铭记约拿的境遇。在那样的境况下获救看起来似乎不可能的,但是“在神却不然”(可10:27)!当我们在患难中呼求上帝的时候,上帝会听我们的祷告,将我们从无可指望的境况中救出来。

在最紧要的关头

第四,上帝总是在最紧要的关头应允我们。第7节经文写道,“我心在我里面发昏的时候,我就想念耶和华。我的祷告进入你的圣殿,达到你的面前。”用更直白的话说:“当我渐渐失去意识的时候,我就想念耶和华。”事实上,他可能真的昏迷了,几天后醒过来才知道自己被一条大鱼解救。上帝总是在危急关头才回应我们的祷告。许多圣徒同哈巴谷一样曾这样诉苦:“耶和华啊,我呼求你,你不应允,要到几时呢?”(哈1:2)但是约拿却给了我们恒切祷告的勇气,即使我们快要失去知觉也要坚持祷告,并且要坚信上帝一定会在最紧要的关头回应我们的祷告。

分阶段的应允

第五,上帝一步步地应允我们的呼求,而且并不是每一个步都是令人舒适的。我们总怀有“要么全部要么没有”的极端心态,觉得上帝要么干脆应允我们的祈求,要么拒绝,而这样的观念是要不得的。我们可以确定当约拿呼求上帝的时候,他绝对不是说:“上帝啊,请让我在鱼腹中呆三天吧!”他或许会说:“救救我啊,上帝,我离开了你的面,但求你怜悯我!”然而上帝的回应是分阶段的。尽管鱼腹看起来怎么也不像是上帝的救赎,但是确实是它拯救了约拿:鱼腹中的约拿能清楚地知道他活下来了,他仍有盼望。约拿并没有抱怨他的处境,而是接受了上帝第一步的拯救――一片“陆地”。于是他在鱼腹中用这样的一句话坚定地结束了他的祷告:“救恩出于耶和华。”

请不要轻视上帝阶段性的工作。假若上帝选择分步骤来拯救和治愈我们,那他一定有他的美好意图,而我们也应当对境况的任何改善感到感恩。尽管比不上回到巴勒斯坦,但比起在海底被海草缠绕溺水而死,呆在鱼腹中要好的多。上帝分步应允我们的呼求,但并不是每一个步骤都是令人舒适的。

为要赢得我们的忠心与感恩

第六,上帝应允我们是为要赢得我们对他的忠诚和感恩。感谢上帝拯救的祷告应当怎样结尾呢?第8和第9节经文是一个很好的范例:“那信奉虚无之神的人,离弃怜爱他们的主;但我必用感谢的声音献祭与你。我所许的愿,我必偿还。救恩出于耶和华。”上帝回应约拿的祷告,让约拿产生了美好的改变,约拿开始惊异为何会有人离弃怜爱他们的主,而去信奉虚无之神。上帝让约拿明白:当你离弃耶和华时,你也远离了他的怜悯。上帝同时也使约拿的心中充满了感恩。上帝应允我们的祷告是为了使感恩归于他的荣耀,也就是说上帝乐意应允所有满怀感恩的祷告(腓4:6)。保罗在《哥林多后书》1:11里写到:“你们以祈祷帮助我们,好叫许多人为我们谢恩,就是为我们因许多人所得的恩。”在《诗篇》50:15节里耶和华这样说:“并要在患难之日求告我,我必搭救你,你也要荣耀我。”上帝应允我们在患难中的呼求是为要赢得我们对他忠诚和感恩。

为要使我们像他那样仁慈

最后,我们因为自己的罪而陷入困境,但上帝仍然应允和帮助我们是因为他希望我们能够变得像他那样仁慈。为了让大家了解这一点,我们必须将这个故事看完。第3章里,约拿回到陆地上,上帝再一次让约拿前往尼尼微。于是约拿踏上行程,去传讲耶和华将要审判尼尼微人的信息。第3章第5节写到:“尼尼微人信服神。”接着第10节里我们看到上帝的回应:“于是神察看他们的行为,见他们离开恶道,他就后悔,不把所说的灾祸降与他们了。”

现在我们来看看前3章都发生了哪些事情:约拿违背上帝的旨意;上帝让他处于毁灭的危险之中;约拿在患难中呼求上帝,上帝应允了他的呼求使他的生命得以延续。同样的事情也发生在了尼尼微人身上:他们违背上帝的旨意(1:2);上帝让他们处于毁灭的危险之中(3:4);他们在患难中呼求上帝,上帝应允了他们的呼求使他们的生命得以延续。上帝怜悯约拿是为让约拿学会像他那样怜悯尼尼微人。

《约拿书》这卷书蕴含了一个清晰宏伟的信息:上帝并不仅仅向以色列人施慈爱,他的慈爱覆蔽所有信靠他并且愿意悔改的人们。使人得救赎的不是他的国籍而是他的信仰,这是《旧约圣经》里一个伟大的福音信息。但是,这不是这卷书的重点。我认为这卷书是关于约拿,关于你和我的,它告诉我们面对这般仁慈的上帝我们应当怎样行。《约拿书》的要点并不是“耶和华是有怜悯的神,”而是要告诉我们“要像你们的天父那样有怜悯之心。”所以,《约拿的祷告给我们的最后一个启示就是:上帝仍然应允和帮助我们是因为他希望我们能够变得像他那样仁慈。

关于这一点启示,当我们看完在第4章里上帝是如何在约拿身上行事时就能明白了。第1、2节讲述了约拿并没有从鱼腹的经历中汲取教训:上帝宽恕了尼尼微人,约拿对此大大不悦。但约拿虽然是一个叛逆的器皿,上帝仍使用约拿彰显他的仁慈。约拿出了城,坐在城外等待。请注意上帝在第6节里的作为。上帝才安排了一条大鱼来拯救他的先知(1:17),现在又安排了一棵蓖麻使约拿不被日头暴晒(4:6)。上帝决定再给约拿上一课,只是这一课的内容有些不同。这一次,约拿不是从患难走向救赎(如他在海里的经历),而是从救赎走向患难。第6节经文写到约拿因这棵蓖麻而大大喜乐,就像他当初在海里获救一样。

然而,第二天上帝却安排一条虫子咬这蓖麻使之枯萎,之后又安排炎热的东风和暴晒的日头让约拿感到十分难受。这让约拿很生气。然后神来了,神的话让约拿的心思意念暴露出来。实际上,耶和华在第4章结尾所说的那段话的意思是:“你爱惜那棵蓖麻,所以我让它干死使你很生气;我怜悯尼尼微城里不能分辨左手右手的十二万人,你又为何生气呢!”

假如《约拿书》继续讲述上帝与约拿的对话,我想它应该会这样结束(这段话也同样适用于我们):“约拿啊,当我应允你在患难中的呼求,安排了一条大鱼解救你的时候,你难道没有体会到我想要给你的启示吗?尽管你有罪,我仍然应允了你的呼求。尽管我对罪有公义的审判,我仍然应允了你的呼求。我将你从无可指望的境况中解救出来,在最紧要的关头应允你的呼求。我安排了一条大鱼救了你的命,你也心怀感恩地用诗歌赞美了我的仁慈,并发誓会忠诚于我。约拿啊,约拿,你要有怜悯的心,要像我怜悯你那样去怜悯人。”

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Cry of Distress and Voice of Thanks

The Prayer of Jonah

Jeroboam II was a king in Israel (the northern kingdom) for 41 years during the first half of the 8th century BC. It says in 2 Kings 14:25, "He restored the border of Israel from the entrance of Hamath as far as the Sea of the Arabah, according to the word of the Lord, the God of Israel, which he spoke through his servant Jonah, the son of Amittai the prophet, who was of Gath-hepher." Since Jonah 1:1 identifies the prophet as Jonah, son of Amittai, we can safely infer that this is the same man and that he lived in the northern kingdom of Israel in the early to middle 700's BC.

God's Call and Jonah's Rebellion

According to 1:1, 2, the word of the Lord came to Jonah saying, "Arise, go to Nineveh, that great city, and cry against it." To understand what this meant for Jonah, it may help to remember that about this time Amos was crying out against the sins of Israel and saying that God was going to raise up a nation against her, namely, Assyria (Amos 6:14). Nineveh was the chief city of Assyria. So just about the time Amos was prophesying the doom of the homeland at the hand of Assyria, God told Jonah to go preach to Assyria's chief city, Nineveh. Which was a little like God telling Ronald Sider to predict World War III while sending Jerry Falwell to hold revival meetings in Moscow. (Though I am hopeful that we will be more responsive to Sider than Israel was to Amos and that Jerry Falwell would head for Moscow more readily than Jonah did for Nineveh.)

Most of you remember the general outline of what happened. Jonah did not go east to Nineveh on the Tigris River. He got on a boat in Joppa bound for Tarshish (probably in Spain). God hurls a storm against the ship. When the prayers of the crew prove useless, they awaken Jonah and tell him to pray. Then they cast lots to see whose guilt brought the storm, and the lot fell to Jonah. When they asked who he was, he said, "I am a Hebrew, and I fear the Lord, God of heaven, who made the sea and the dry land" (1:9). When the crew asked what might still the storm, Jonah said, "Pick me up and throw me into the sea. Then the storm will become calm for you" (1:12). It is a puzzle to me why Jonah should so readily offer to give his life for the sake of pagan (1:5) sailors, when a few weeks later he gets angry that God saves the life of 120,000 pagan Ninevites. Probably Jonah's willingness to die in the Mediterranean Sea was owing mainly to remorse and shame. He realizes what a fool he was to try to flee "from the presence of the Lord" (1:3). How can you flee from the Lord who made the sea and the dry land (1:9)? God has tracked him down and exposed his folly. His guilt is so obvious he simply surrenders himself to the sentence of death—or so it seems.

The crew threw him overboard, and the storm ceased. Jonah sinks in the water. And what happens? The first thing that happens is not the appearance of a great fish to swallow Jonah. Before the fish comes the cry of distress. Even though Jonah knew that he was guilty; even though he knew he deserved death; even though he had surrendered his life to the justice of God, yet in the moment when death was imminent, Jonah remembered that the God whom he had served so imperfectly was still "gracious and compassionate, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love, and repenting of evil" (4:2). And he cried out to the Lord for mercy. And then the Lord appointed a great fish for Jonah's rescue. The Lord had mercy on his prophet and saved him miraculously in a fish's belly.

Chapter 2 is what Jonah prayed while still conscious in the fish. He recounts his cry of distress in the water and lifts a voice of thanks for deliverance.

The Historicity of Jonah

Before we look at this chapter, let me mention briefly why I regard the book as historical rather than as a parable. Not only was Jonah a historical person, as we saw from 2 Kings 14:25, but also in the New Testament Jesus treats Jonah's story as historical. He says in Matthew 12:40, "Just as Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the sea monster, so will the Son of man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth. The men of Nineveh will arise at the judgment with this generation and condemn it; for they repented at the preaching of Jonah; and behold, something greater than Jonah is here." Those of us who respect the wisdom of Jesus will be very slow to call his judgment into question. He thought the story was historical. We should, too. If you ask how a man can survive in the belly of a fish three days, the answer is, he probably can't—any more than a person can stay three days in the grave and live again. That's why Jesus called it a "sign." In Matthew 12:39 he says, "An evil and adulterous generation craves for a sign; and yet no sign shall be given to it but the sign of Jonah, the prophet." Jesus knew this was no ordinary event. It was a miraculous sign of God's gracious and powerful intervention. There is no point in trying to explain it scientifically any more than the miraculous signs of Jesus' ministry. Jonah cried for help, and God saved him miraculously with a fish.

God Answers His Children's Cries of Distress

At least briefly, Jonah was conscious in the fish—long enough to realize that God had saved him from drowning in the sea. And during that period (or perhaps periods) of consciousness, Jonah prays. Chapter 2 is what he said. So when you read this prayer, keep in mind that when Jonah refers to the distress of the past, he means the time he spent in the water, not the time he spent in the fish. The water is the threat of death. The fish is the refuge of salvation. The cry of distress is past tense (in the water!); the voice of confidence and thanks is present (in the fish). Let's look at the prayer.

Jonah 2:1, 2: "Then Jonah prayed to the Lord his God from the belly of the fish, saying, 'I called to the Lord, out of my distress, and he answered me.'" There is the simple statement that sums up what happened when Jonah sank in the water: he cried out to God, and God answered him by sending the fish. There is a lot of encouragement for us here that I want you to see. The general point I want to make is that God answers his children when they cry to him in distress. Then I think the text gives us some specific pointers to how and why God answers us when we call on him in distress. First, God answers us in spite of our guilt. Second, God answers us in spite of his judgment. Third, God answers us and delivers us from impossible circumstances. Fourth, God answers us in the nick of time. Fifth, God answers us in stages, not all of which are comfortable. Sixth, God answers us in order to win our undivided loyalty and thanks. Finally, God answers us in our guilty distress to help us become merciful like he is. Let's look at these in order to encourage ourselves to call on God with more confidence.

In Spite of Our Guilt

First, God answers our cry of distress, even when we are guilty. Jonah was not on his way to Nineveh when he fell overboard. He was running from God. He was guilty of disobedience. That's why he was in the water. Some of you are in trouble right now precisely because of your disobedience. And if you are wondering, "Is there hope? Will God have mercy on me and hear my cry of distress?" take heart from Jonah. His distress was the fruit of his guilt, but God answered him and gave him another chance.

That is not an isolated teaching in Scripture. Listen to the same scenario in Psalm 107:10–15:

Some sat in darkness and in gloom, prisoners in affliction and in irons, for they had rebelled against the words of God, and spurned the counsel of the Most High [like Jonah] . . . Their hearts were bowed down with hard labor; they fell down, with none to help. Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress; he brought them out of darkness and gloom, and broke their bonds asunder. Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love, for his wonderful works to the sons of men!

If your disobedience is the cause of your distress, repent and cry to the Lord. He will answer you in spite of your guilt.

In Spite of His Judgment

Second, God answers us in spite of his judgment. Notice verse 3: "For thou didst cast me into the deep." According to 1:15, it was the ship's crew who picked Jonah up and threw him into the sea. But Jonah knows that it was all of God. God was angry at Jonah's disobedience, and he was going to require chastisement. I suppose nothing makes us despair in our distress like the thought that God put us there because he is angry with us. And I guess most of us might say, if God has put me in this rotten situation because he is displeased with me, then there is no point in praying for his help. But Jonah ventured to pray for deliverance from the very God who threw him into the water. And the God who threw him in heard his prayer and performed a miracle to save him. Even when God is displeased with us, he never brings us into affliction merely for the sake of punishment. His purposes always include redemption. Job 36:15 says, "God delivers the afflicted by their affliction, and opens their ear by adversity." Adversity is redemptive, not merely punitive. Even if you have felt as though the very hand of God is against you in your distress, do not despair to call upon him. He answers his children in spite of his own judgment.

In Impossible Circumstances

Third, God answers us and delivers us from impossible circumstances. Verses 5 and 6 describe the extremity of Jonah's plight: "The waters closed in over me, the deep was round about me; weeds were wrapped about my head at the roots of the mountains. I went down to the land whose bars closed upon me forever." It would be a terrible thing to fall overboard and be left behind when the sea is placid. How much worse to be thrown into a raging storm with 20 or 30 foot waves and feel yourself sucked so deep you know you're done for. And, as if that were not enough, as you struggle toward the air, you hit a mass of seaweed, and it tangles all around your head and neck. It's a terrifying scene. God let the circumstances become impossible before he delivered Jonah.

I don't know for sure why it is, but it seems that in the Christian life distresses and troubles come in batches. They don't get spaced out in proportion to our powers to cope. Often circumstances develop to the point where we can't see any way out. But then we need to remember Jonah's plight. It was impossible. But not with God (Mark 10:27)! When we cry to the Lord in our distress, he answers us and delivers us from impossible situations.

In the Nick of Time

Fourth, he answers us in the nick of time. Verse 7 says, "When my soul fainted within me, I remembered the Lord; and my prayer came to thee into thy holy temple." More starkly we would say, "As I was losing consciousness, I remembered the Lord." Jonah was still praying without an answer in sight just before he blacked out. In fact, he probably did black out and regain consciousness several days later, realizing he had been spared in the belly of a fish. God often answers our prayers at the eleventh hour. Many a saint has groaned with Habakkuk, saying, "O Lord, how long shall I cry for help, and thou wilt not hear?" (Habakkuk 1:2). But Jonah gives us courage to be unrelenting in our prayer, to keep on crying out to God even as we go unconscious, and to believe that God will answer in the nick of time.

In Stages

Fifth, God answers our cries of distress in stages, not all of which are comfortable. We must get out of our head the all or nothing notion of answered prayer. We can be fairly sure that when Jonah cried out to God, he did not say: "O God, put me in the belly of a fish for three days!" He probably said, "God save me, I am cast out from your presence, have mercy!" But God's answer came in stages. The belly of a fish hardly seems like salvation. But it was: Jonah is granted enough consciousness to realize he has been spared from drowning and that there is hope. He does not complain about his surroundings. He accepts God's first stage of salvation as a guarantee of dry land, and concludes his prayer in the fish's belly with the great affirmation, "Deliverance belongs to the Lord."

Don't disregard the partial works of God. If he chooses to save and to heal by stages, he has his good purposes, and we ought to be grateful for any improvement in our condition. A fish's belly is better than weeds at the bottom of the sea, even if it is not yet Palestine. God answers us in stages, not all of which are comfortable.

In Order to Win Our Loyalty and Thanksgiving

Sixth, God answers our cry of distress in order to win our undivided loyalty and thanksgiving. Verses 8 and 9 show how a prayer to God after deliverance should end: "Those who pay regard to vain idols forsake their true loyalty (or: forsake their mercy). But I with the voice of thanksgiving will sacrifice to thee; what I have vowed I will pay. Deliverance belongs to the Lord!" The answer to Jonah's prayer has produced its proper effect. It has filled Jonah with wonder that anyone would forsake the Lord and keep idols. God taught Jonah that if you leave the Lord, you leave mercy. And he has filled Jonah's mouth with thanksgiving. God answers prayers in order that thanksgiving will abound to his glory. Which means that people who have a spirit of thanksgiving are the best candidates for answered prayer (Philippians 4:6). Paul said in 2 Corinthians 1:11, "You must help us by prayer, so that many will give thanks on our behalf for the blessings granted us in answer to many prayers." And the Lord said in Psalm 50:15, "Call upon me in the day of trouble; and I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me." God answers us in distress in order to win our undivided loyalty and fill us with thanksgiving for his mercy.

In Order to Make Us Merciful Like Him

Finally, God answers us in our guilty distress to help us become merciful like he is. To show you where I get this idea, we need to finish the story. In chapter 3, after Jonah is back on land, God sends him again to Nineveh. Jonah goes and preaches judgment. And in 3:5 it says, "The people of Nineveh believed God." Then verse 10 gives God's response, "When God saw what they did, how they turned from their evil way, God repented of the evil which he had said he would do to them; and he did not do it."

Now look what's happened in the first three chapters. Jonah disobeyed God. God put him under the threat of destruction. Jonah cries out in his distress, and God answers him and gives him a new lease on life. So with the Ninevites. They disobeyed God (1:2). God put them under the threat of destruction (3:4). They cry in their distress, and God answers them and gives them a new lease on life. God showed mercy to Jonah so that Jonah would learn to show mercy to the Ninevites.

The book of Jonah has a message that is loud and clear about God, namely, his mercy is not confined to Israel but extends to any people who will trust him and repent of their sin. What saves is not nationality but faith. That's a great gospel message coming out of the Old Testament. But I don't think it is the main point of this book. The book is really about Jonah—about you and me and the way we ought to be if we have a God with mercy like this. The main point of the book of Jonah is not, "God is merciful." The main point is, "You be merciful as your heavenly Father is merciful." The ultimate lesson about prayer in the book of Jonah is that God answers us in mercy to make us merciful.

This is confirmed if we just watch God finish his work on Jonah in chapter 4. Verses 1 and 2 show that Jonah had failed to learn the lesson of the fish: he is angry that God forgave the Ninevites. He is still a rebellious instrument of mercy. So he goes out of town to wait. And notice what God does in verse 6. Just as (in 1:17) God appointed a fish to save his prophet, so in 4:6 he appoints a plant to save Jonah from the discomfort of the sun. God will try to teach him one more time. Only this time the lesson plan is reversed. Jonah will not move from distress to deliverance (as he did in the water), but from deliverance to distress. Verse 6 says that Jonah was exceedingly glad with the plant, just like he was glad to be saved from the water.

But the next day God appointed a worm that made the plant wither, and then he appointed a sultry east wind and a hot sun and made Jonah miserable. And Jonah got angry. Then God comes and with his word lays bare the heart of Jonah. In essence, what he says at the end of chapter 4 is this: "You pity the plant and get angry when I destroy it, but when I pity 120,000 people who don't know their right hand from their left, you get angry with me!"

And if the book had recorded the rest of God's dealings with Jonah, I think it would have ended like this (and it's just as relevant for us): "Jonah, don't you see what I was trying to teach you when I answered your cry of distress and sent the fish to save you? I had mercy on you in spite of your guilt. I had mercy on you in spite of my own sentence of judgment. I saved you from impossible circumstances. I delivered you in the nick of time. I commanded a fish to save your life. You were filled with a song of thanksgiving for my mercy and vowed your loyalty to me. Jonah, Jonah, be merciful, even as I have been merciful to you!"

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org