永恒的确据是个团体项目

“弟兄们,你们要谨慎,免得你们中间或有人存着不信的恶心,把永生神离弃了。 (13) 总要趁著还有今日,天天彼此相劝,免得你们中间有人被罪迷惑,心里就刚硬了。 (14) 我们若将起初确实的信心坚持到底,就在基督里有份了。 (15) 经上说:「你们今日若听他的话,就不可硬着心,像惹他发怒的日子一样。」 (16) 那时,听见他话惹他发怒的是谁呢?岂不是跟著摩西从埃及出来的众人吗? (17) 神四十年之久,又厌烦谁呢?岂不是那些犯罪、尸首倒在旷野的人吗? (18) 又向谁起誓,不容他们进入他的安息呢;岂不是向那些不信从的人吗? (19) 这样看来,他们不能进入安息是因为不信的缘故了。”

两个大大的“假如”(“若”)

上周我们集中探讨了第6节和第14节中两个大大的假如(若)。今天我们再来关注它们,然后要思考,如何让伯利恒教会的集体生活,帮助我们来实现这些重要的假如。

第六节后半句写道:“我们若将可夸的盼望和胆量坚持到底,便是他 [基督] 的家 [=他的家人,他的子民] 了。”请仔细留意。这里并没有说:假如将盼望坚持到底,我们将来会成为基督的家。这里所说的明明是:假如把盼望坚持到底,我们现在就是他的家。换言之,“能够坚持我们的盼望”这件事,就成为表征和证据,显明我们现在就是他的家了。

接着看14节那里的假如(若):“我们若将起初确实的信心坚持到底,就在基督里有份了。”请再一次仔细留意这里的用词。不是说:“我们将来会在基督里有份,假如将我们确实的信心坚持到底。”而是说,“我们 [过去已经] 在基督里有份了,假如将我们确实的信心坚持到底。”换言之,将起初确实的信心坚持到底,就证明某些真实的和持久的事情已经发生在我们身上,亦即,我们已经在基督里有份了。我们已经真的重生,已经真的归信基督,已经真的成为基督的家的一部分了。

那么,假如我们不将起初确实的信心坚持到底,又会怎样呢?答案不是:你就不再是在基督里有份的;而是:你从来就不曾成为在基督里有份之人。仔细地读一下:“我们若将起初确实的信心坚持到底,就在基督里有份了。”于是就有了,“我们若不将起初确实的信心坚持到底,就不是在基督里有份之人。”

希伯来书教导的是永恒的安全保障

我上周说过,根据这段圣经,本书教导的是永恒的安全保障。意思是,假如你已经真的成为在基督里有份之人,你就永远都会是这样的人。他(神——译者注)将会在你的里面工作,要保守你的信心和盼望。换个说法就是,假如你是上帝的孩子,就不可能终止这个身份,不再作他的孩子。但是,我们都知道,有许多人在基督徒生活当中有过一个开头,后来却流失了,并且背弃了主。本书作者特别关注这类人。他知道会发生这类事情,并且此处的经文就是处理这类事情,他还告诉人们如何避免这类事情发生。然而,当事情不可避免地发生时,他的解释就是,这类人并不是真的在基督里有份之人,相反,他们从起初就不是真正的在基督里有份之人。假如我们将确实的信心坚持到底,我们 [就已经] 在基督里有份了;假如我们不能够坚持自己的信心,就还没有变成在基督里有份之人。

换言之,坚持信心和盼望,坚固对上帝的信靠,并不是避免使自己失去在基督里的位份的途径;而是显明你的确在基督里拥有位份的途径。在基督里的位份是永远不会再失去的,因为你乃是因着上帝白白的恩典而获得这地位的,并且也是因为基督已经应许,而且是以立约和起誓的方式确立了(来6:17-19),他会保守那些属于他的人(来13:5, 20-21)。换句话说,我的安全和确据并不在于我记得的某个过去作出的决定或是祷告;我的安全和确据乃是因着上帝的信实和大能,好让我在他里面可以持续地拥有盼望,且延续到将来。我的保障就是,“那在我的心里动了善工的,必成全这工,直到耶稣基督的日子”(腓1:6)。

假如你从来都不曾真正信主,怎么还会“离弃神”呢?

这样一来,就出现了好几个问题。其中之一是:好啊,我们若是不能够坚持盼望和确信,就意味着我们从来不曾在基督里有份,那么,12节所说的离弃神,又是什么意思呢?(既然未曾拥有,何言失去呢?——译者注。)

弟兄们,你们要谨慎,免得你们中间或有人存着不信的恶心,把永生神离弃 [转背离开] 了。

如果我们从来都没有真正属于神,那么在何种意义上,会出现一个离弃神,或者说转背离开神的情况呢?

简单说,的确会有一种真实和痛苦的对于未婚妻的离弃,但那并不等于对妻子的离弃。(也就是说,没有进入婚姻的人,同样会真实经历到类似婚姻里那种感情割离的痛苦。——译者注。)我认为,希伯来书作者想让我们思考的角度,在7-11节(= 诗篇95)的以色列人的例子当中表明了。他在第9节指出,百姓们“观看我的作为有四十年之久,”但仍然硬着心抵挡神(第8节),心里常常迷糊(第10节)。换言之,他们已经见过上帝如何把红海的水分开,又是怎样对他们显出极大的怜悯,救他们脱离埃及的。他们也看到神如何使磐石出水,从天上赐下吗哪,用云柱和火柱引领他们,一路上救护他们脱离仇敌的追杀,赐给他们美好的律法来指导生活的各个层面,而且对于他们的悖逆,神也总是以宽大和仁慈相待。然而,经历了这么多,他们的心里还是变得刚硬,并不仰望神。他们居然想回到埃及去,居然很快制造了偶像,又常常发怨言。这就是希伯来书作者所谓“把永生神离弃了”的涵义。

他们已经在上帝强大的作为当中腾空而起。已经品尝他的大能大力,并且从他的圣灵和美善获益。他们已被上帝的启示光照,大大超越了地上万民。然而他们却跌倒了,把神离弃了。同样,新约时代的一些人,也有类似遭遇。今天仍有这样的事情发生。这些百姓也是已经被各样神迹奇事环绕,正如《希伯来书》2:4所说。他们已经品尝了来世的权能,已经被邀请进入一个满有爱心的团体,并且经历了圣灵在他们中间和他们生活当中的某些工作。他们也已经瞥见了福音的亮光,甚至也受了洗,吃了圣餐,听了讲道,甚或已经作出一些可圈可点的好行为来。

但是,就像当初的以色列人,他们的心却变得刚硬,而且那不信的恶心占了上风,于是他们就把盼望摆到其它事物之上,而不是在基督上,渐渐的,他们就离弃了神,从那围绕在他们身旁所有的美善当中,转背离开。而《希伯来书》对这个现象的解说就是,他们是一些“未曾在基督里有份之人。”他们曾经参与的,乃是某种程度的光照、能力和喜乐;但是(借用耶稣的话说)他们如同植物没有根,结果就枯干了,而另外一些人,则被今生的思虑,以及钱财的迷惑和虚荣浮华的引诱给挤住了。

换句话说,你之所以会离弃神,因为你已经在近距离的程度上体验了上帝的作为——他子民的爱心,他话语的亮光,祷告的特权,他榜样的道德力度,他圣灵的恩赐和奇迹,他在供应上的祝福,以及日常生活当中借着阳光雨露所启示的恩典,等等。很可能,你品尝到这些事物,深受影响,然而你却还是落入不信之中,因为你没有把耶稣基督他自己,当成你内心的喜悦、盼望、确信和奖赏。

耶稣曾一而再再而三地教导这些事,提醒人们不要倚靠虚假的确据。例如《马太福音》7:21-23那里,他说,

「凡称呼我『主啊,主啊』的人不能都进天国;惟独遵行我天父旨意的人才能进去。 当那日必有许多人对我说:『主啊,主啊,我们不是奉你的名传道,奉你的名赶鬼,奉你的名行许多异能吗?』 我就明明的告诉他们说:『我从来不认识你们,你们这些作恶的人,离开我去吧!』」

奉主的名传道,赶鬼,行许多异能,并不能够证明耶稣已经“认识”我们,或者说我们就必然是在基督里有份之人。有可能人们作这些事情,依然带着一颗刚硬、未曾改变的心。怎样能显明我们真的被耶稣“认识”了呢?证据就是,耶稣成了我们的盼望、确信、宝藏和我们的奖赏(来10:24;11:25-26)。正是这内在的实质才能改变我们的生命。

这就是第一个问题:假如你从没在基督里有份,又怎么能说你离弃了神,或者转背离开神呢?答案就是:的确有许多的途径让人接近神,享受与神亲近的好处,但他从没真正信靠神,或者将盼望与爱戴归给神。所以这类情形下,人虽未曾在基督里有份,却依然“背弃了基督”,也并不奇怪。

我们如何能够对于我们的永恒的保障有确据呢?

于是有了第二个问题:我们该怎么做?我们如何能够知道、享受和确定那永生的保证呢?第12节和第13节给我们提供了两个答案:一个比较笼统,另一个比较具体。

先看12节中笼统的回答:“弟兄们,你们要谨慎,免得你们中间或有人存着不信的恶心,把永生神离弃了。”这个较为笼统或说较为普通的答案就是,“要谨慎!”或者说,“请注意”,或者“当心点!”换言之,对于你的内心状态,不要无动于衷,或漠不关心,或不够留意。要常常省察它。就如保罗在《哥林多后书》13:5所说的,“你们总要自己省察有信心没有。”或者像彼得在《彼得后书》1:10所说的,“应当更加殷勤,使你们所蒙的恩召和拣选坚定不移。”千万不要过着一种心不在焉、随波逐流的生活,把“信仰的坚忍”当成是想当然的事情。其实每一天,都有各种替代性质的激情和私欲,在对你的灵魂宣战,想夺走你的信心,想用其它的财宝来替换基督。真的要谨慎!要常常警醒啊!要诚实和勤奋,要省察和保守你的心灵啊!正如《箴言》4:23所言,“你要保守你心,胜过保守一切,因为一生的果效是由心发出。”这就是第12节当中的答案。要谨慎!

有些人也许会问,“好,如果我真的在基督里有份,确信自己已经得救,那为什么还要谨慎和警醒呢?因为你已经说过,我的永生是有保证的,而且我在基督里的位份也不能够再丧失。”我觉得,这个问题带着一些先入为主的假定,而这些假定被新约圣经认为是不正确的。它假定说,上帝让那些蒙拣选之人进入天堂,乃是不需要警醒、谨慎、自我省察以及使用某些方法去努力的。然而耶稣怎么说呢,《路加福音》13:24说,“你们要努力进窄门。我告诉你们,将来有许多人想要进去,却是不能。”并且彼得也说,“务要谨守,警醒。因为你们的仇敌魔鬼,如同吼叫的狮子,遍地游行,寻找可吞吃的人。”(彼前5:8)。按照圣经真理,并没有说真正的基督徒就不需要心中警醒或者谨守;而是说,如果你心灵里的确是警醒和谨守的,那么你就可以知道自己是一个真实的基督徒。

只有那些漫不经心的基督徒,才需要担心自己的位份,这些人受过洗,走到讲台前接受了基督,做过认罪祷告,领受过圣餐,也参与教会活动,心里却不真正爱耶稣,他们或不把耶稣当至宝,或不把自己的盼望全然放在基督身上,或并不期待着见耶稣然后说,“活着就是基督,死了就有益处。”这些就是自以为有确据,然而却实在应该感到“不安全”的人(参看申29:19)。这些人常常在教会,却把他们的救恩当做免疫针。似乎多年前接受过免疫接种,就以为从此万事大吉,再也不关心身旁存在的那些不信之危险。他们说,“我在生下来8天的时候——或者6岁的时候,就接种了疫苗,免除了地狱之害。”于是,对于他们,去往天堂就不再是需要警醒和谨慎的事情,不再需要保守心灵,以免变得刚硬,甚至转为不信。救恩被简单化,好像只要保证自己打过预防针就够了。这就是那些处于极大危险之中的人。

这样,关于我们如何确信自己拥有永生,第一个回答是:你心里要谨慎。要防范不信的恶心。就是说,要警醒,好好维护在基督里的确信和盼望,抵挡所有假财宝的诱惑。

第二个答案更加具体了,第13节:“总要趁著还有今日,天天彼此相劝,免得你们中间有人被罪迷惑,心里就刚硬了。”这第二个答案就是,永生的保障,乃是一个团体项目(community project.,或译,群体项目,教会项目)。我们应该在伯利恒教会做些什么,才能避免产生“不信的恶心,”避免心变得刚硬?因为,每天都有各样的罪来诱惑我们,企图欺骗我们,要让我们去珍惜它们胜过珍惜耶稣。

教会如何帮助我们,避免产生“不信的恶心”?

答案是,我们必须成为彼此相顾的教会。而教会为此主要能做些什么呢?那就是,要彼此劝勉,以各种方式交通,好帮助我们不被罪的引诱所欺骗。或者积极一点说,我们彼此交谈,都是为使大家拥有信靠的心灵,相信基督那至高的价值。我们要借着引人认识真理和耶稣之宝贵价值的话语,为维护彼此共同的信仰争战。这就是防范不信之恶心的方式。“不信,”意思就是没把耶稣作为至宝,安息在他里面。因此,彼此帮助来信靠,就是指通过互相帮助,看到耶稣至高的价值,都来宝贵他,信靠他,爱戴他。

正是在这里,我们明白了上帝的旨意,他命定基督徒去过“个人性”与“群体性”的警醒生活,并且把永生的保障,安排成一个团体项目。我们明白了,这样的基督徒生活方式,能使基督的荣耀成为我们所有互动的核心。假如永恒的保障只像一个疫苗,那么,基督只在接种疫苗的那天被尊崇,在那之后就可以被遗忘,就像我们忘掉打过的预防针那样。然而,如果永恒的保障涉及每天面对不信的争战,而所使用的制胜武器,乃是建立信心的各种劝勉,让人们看到基督的可靠、伟大,以及超越万有的价值,那么,事情就成为另外一种状况了。如果我们必须以这种方式天天彼此劝勉,好保证大家都可以持久信靠他,那么,他就是在我们每天的生活里被高举了。他就永远是我们所讲述的对象,也永远是我们注意的中心。因此,上帝命定了,永恒的保障乃是一个团体项目,因为他不愿意让他的儿子像一支免疫针那样被人遗忘,而是要被当成宇宙中最珍贵的财宝,天天被人庆祝。

从12节和13节我们很明显地看到,这里所指的途径,不仅讲道而已。没错,我在讲道中也试图这么作——每周劝勉你们不要有不信的恶心。但是,这里的经文说到了另外两件事情。一个(13节当中)是,这样的相劝每天都要有的,是“天天……相劝,”而不是每周一次。另一个就是,这样的相劝乃是“彼此”进行的(13节)——就是说,你们要彼此相劝,而不是单单从讲道人那里去获取。

这样的确认——即如此的彼此服事,对于你的信仰之坚忍,以及救恩,绝对是至关重要的——这样的确认,促使咱们教会的长老们作出决定,今年秋天要在伯利恒开始细胞小组的事工。我们相信,在这样大的一间教会当中,再也没有比细胞小组更加有效的方式,可以来鼓励大家参与到集体性的信仰争战中,所以我们要让细胞小组在我们的教会事工当中扮演重大的角色,而且要让更多人参加小组。因此从9月份开始,每个星期天晚上都分别出来,作为小组的时间,而且每星期三晚上,都把时间奉献出来,作为周间大家彼此连接的机会,借着食物,教会集体的崇拜,在小组当中分享一些使信心得以建立的故事,也就是见证神的作为的故事,并且还要对孩子、青少年、以及成人们,教导神的话语,免得在我们当中任何人的心里,生发出不信的恶心,以至于把永生神给离弃了。

我对这两方面事工的潜能和前景非常乐观,也很兴奋:1)积极推动小组事工,使每个星期天的晚上都能拿出来用于小组聚会,并盼望更多小组成长得更像服事性质的团队,可以每天达成彼此劝勉的功效;以及2)星期三晚上的模式,包含团契,敬拜,教导以及对上帝大能的各种见证。

我诚心地,郑重地劝你们,要把这段经文认真存放在你的心中,好好思考,你的生命和生活,是否已经跟这样一个基督徒生活模式相匹配。借着有规律地参加信徒组成的小组(当中每一位都是定意为着彼此的信仰而争战的),这会带给你巨大的享受,使你的确据和安全感得以加强,超过其它任何你所知道的方式,并且让你得释放,能在今天这世界中为主作出勇敢的见证和服事,不是这样吗?我觉得,这正是上帝召唤我们去做的事情。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Eternal Security Is a Community Project

Take care, brethren, lest there should be in any one of you an evil, unbelieving heart, in falling away from the living God. 13 But encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called "Today," lest any one of you be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. 14 For we have become partakers of Christ, if we hold fast the beginning of our assurance firm until the end; 15 while it is said, "TODAY IF YOU HEAR HIS VOICE, DO NOT HARDEN YOUR HEARTS, AS WHEN THEY PROVOKED ME." 16 For who provoked Him when they had heard? Indeed, did not all those who came out of Egypt led by Moses? 17 And with whom was He angry for forty years? Was it not with those who sinned, whose bodies fell in the wilderness? 18 And to whom did He swear that they should not enter His rest, but to those who were disobedient? 19 And we see that they were not able to enter because of unbelief.

Two Big Ifs

Last week we focused on the two big ifs in verse 6 and verse 14. Let's put them before us again and then focus on how our life together at Bethlehem can help us fulfill the big ifs.

Verse 6b: "We are his [Christ's] house [= his household, his people] if we hold fast our confidence and the boast of our hope firm until the end." Notice carefully. It does not say: we will become Christ's house if we hold fast to our hope. It does say: we are his house if we hold fast to our hope. In other words the holding fast to our hope is the demonstration and evidence that we are now his house.

Then look at the if of verse 14: "We have become partakers of Christ, if we hold fast the beginning of our assurance firm until the end." Again, notice the wording carefully. It does not say: "We will become partakers of Christ in the future if we hold fast to our assurance." It says, "We have become partakers [in the past] if we hold fast our assurance." In other words, the holding fast to our assurance verifies that something real and lasting has happened to us, namely, we became partakers of Christ. We were truly born again. We were truly converted. We were truly made part of Christ's house.

What then would be the conclusion if we do not hold fast to our assurance? The answer is not that you stop being a partaker of Christ, but that you had never become a partaker of Christ. Read it carefully: "We have become partakers of Christ if we hold fast to our assurance." And so, "If we do not hold fast to our confession, then we have not become partakers of Christ."

Hebrews Teaches Eternal Security

On the basis of this text I said last week that this book teaches eternal security. That is, it teaches that if you have truly become a partaker of Christ, you will always be one. He will work in you to preserve your faith and hope. Another way to say it is that if you are a child of God, you cannot cease to be a child of God. But we all know that there are many people who make a start in the Christian life and then fall away and forsake the Lord. That kind of person is very much on this writer's mind. He knows that happens and he deals with it in this text and how to keep it from happening. But when it happens, his explanation is not that the person really was a partaker of Christ, but that he never had become a true partaker of Christ. If we hold fast to our assurance, we have become a partaker of Christ; if we do not, then we have not become a partaker of Christ.

In other words persevering in faith and hope, holding fast to your confidence in God, is not a way to keep from losing your standing in Christ; it is a way of showing that you have a standing in Christ. That standing can never be lost, because you have it by the free grace of God, and because Christ has promised with a covenant and an oath (Hebrews 6:17–19) to keep those who are his (Hebrews 13:5; 20–21). In other words, my security and assurance is not a decision or a prayer that I remember doing in the past; my security and assurance is the faithfulness and power of God to keep me hoping in him in the future. My security is that "he who began a good work in me will complete it to the day of Christ" (Philippians 1:6).

How Can You "Fall Away from God" if You Never Were a Believer?

Now this raises several questions. One is: Well, if our failure to hold fast our hope and confidence means we never were really partakers of Christ, what are we falling away from in verse 12?

Take care, brethren, lest there should be in any one of you an evil, unbelieving heart, in falling away [or turning away] from the living God.

In what sense can there be a falling away or a turning away from God if we never truly belonged to God?

One simple answer is that there can be real and painful falling away from a fiancée that is not a falling away from a wife. I think the way the writer wants us to think about this is given in the example of the people of Israel in verses 7–11 (= Psalm 95). He points out in verse 9 that the people "saw my works for forty years" and still they hardened their hearts against God (v. 8) and went astray in their hearts (v. 10). In other words they had seen God divide the Red Sea and show them great mercy to save them from Egypt. They had seen him give water from a rock, manna from the sky, guidance with pillars of cloud and fire, deliverance from enemies, good laws to live by, leniency for their rebelliousness. But in spite of all this they became hard in heart and stopped hoping in God. They wanted to go back to Egypt, they made idols and they murmured. This is what the writer means by "falling away from the living God."

They had been swept up into the mighty workings of God. They had tasted his power and benefited from his Spirit and goodness. They had been enlightened with God's revelation way beyond any people on the earth. And they had fallen away. So it was with some of the people in New Testament times. And so it is today. These people had been swept up in the signs and wonders mentioned in Hebrews 2:4. They had tasted the power of the age to come. They had been folded into a loving people and experienced measures of the Spirit's work in their midst and in their lives. They had glimpsed the light of the gospel. They had been baptized and eaten communion and listened to preaching and probably had done some remarkable works themselves.

But, as with Israel, their hearts became hard, and an evil heart of unbelief got the upper hand, and they began to put their hope in other things rather than Christ, and over time they fell away from all the goodness that they had been surrounded with. And Hebrews says that the explanation of this is that they "had not become a partaker of Christ." They had partaken of certain measures of enlightenment and power and joy; but (to use the words of Jesus) there was no root to the plant and it withered, while others were choked with worries and riches and pleasures of this life (Luke 8:13–14).

In other words, you can fall away from God to the degree that you have come close to the work of God—the love of his people, the light of his Word, the privilege of prayer, the moral force of his example, the gifts and miracles of his Spirit, the blessings of his providence and the daily revelation of sun and rain. It is possible to taste of these things, be deeply affected by them, and to be lost in unbelief, because Jesus Christ himself is not your heart's delight and hope and confidence and reward.

Jesus taught these things over and over to warn against false assurance. For example, he said in Matthew 7:21–23,

Not every one who says to me, "Lord, Lord," shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. On that day many will say to me, "Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?" And then will I declare to them, "I never knew you; depart from me, you evildoers."

Prophesying, casting out demons, and doing mighty works in the name of Jesus do not prove that Jesus has "known" us, or that we are partakers of Christ. It is possible to do those things with a hard, unchanged heart. The evidence of "being known" by Jesus is that Jesus is our hope, our confidence, our treasure, our reward (Hebrews 10:24; 11:25–26). That is the inner reality that transforms our lives.

That's one question: How can you fall away from or turn away from God, if you never were a partaker of Christ? And the answer is: there are many ways to partake of the nearness of God without trusting him and hoping in him and loving him. And so there are many ways to turn from Christ without having ever been a partaker of Christ himself.

How Can We Be Assured of Our Eternal Security?

So the second question is: What shall we do? How shall we know and enjoy and be assured of our eternal security? Verses 12 and 13 give two answers: one more general and the other more specific.

First the general answer in verse 12: "Take care, brethren, lest there should be in any one of you an evil, unbelieving heart, in falling away from the living God." The general answer is, "Take care!" or "Take heed!" or "Look!" In other words, don't be careless or nonchalant or inattentive about the condition of your heart. Look at it. As Paul says in 2 Corinthians 13:5, test yourselves to see if you are in the faith. Or like Peter says in 2 Peter 1:10, "Be diligent to confirm your election and your calling." Don't coast or drift and take your perseverance in faith for granted. All kinds of alternative passions are making war on your soul every day to steal your faith and replace Christ with other treasures. Take care! Be on the look out! Be earnest! Be watchful over your heart. As Proverbs 4:23 says, "Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flow the springs of life." That's the answer of verse 12. Take heed!

Someone may ask, "Well, if I am a true partaker of Christ, as I believe I am, why do I have to take heed and be so vigilant, when you have said that I am eternally secure and can't lose my standing in Christ?" I think the question assumes something that the New Testament says is not true. It assumes that God's way for his chosen ones to get to heaven is without vigilance and watchfulness and self-assessment and diligent use of means. But in fact Jesus says, in Luke 13:24, "Strive to enter by the narrow door; for many, I tell you, will seek to enter and will not be able." And Peter says, "Be sober, be watchful, your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion seeking someone to devour" (1 Peter 5:8). The truth is not that true Christians don't have to be vigilant and watchful over their hearts; but that you can know you are a true Christian if you are vigilant and watchful over your heart.

It's the cavalier Christians who need to be worried about their standing. It's those who were baptized and walked an aisle or prayed a prayer and took communion and came to church, but do not love Jesus or count him their dearest treasure or bank their hope on him and look forward to seeing him and can say, "To live is Christ and to die is gain." These are the self-assured ones who need to feel insecure (see Deuteronomy 29:19). They are people, often in the church, who treat their salvation like a vaccination. They got the vaccination years ago and assume all is well without giving any thought to the dangers of unbelief around them. They say, "I got inoculated against hell when I was eight days old—or six years old." And so getting to heaven is not a matter of vigilance over their heart to keep it from becoming hard and unbelieving. It's simply a matter of making sure that the inoculation happened. These are the ones that are in tremendous danger.

That's the first answer to how we stay assured of our eternal security: Take heed to your heart. Guard against unbelief. That is, be vigilant to maintain your confidence and hope in Christ against all competing treasures.

The second answer is more specific in verse 13: "But encourage [or exhort] one another day after day, as long as it is still called 'Today,' lest any one of you be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin." The second answer is that eternal security is a community project. What shall we do at Bethlehem to avoid an "evil heart of unbelief" and not be hardened by the deceitfulness of the sins that tempt us every day to treasure them more than we treasure Jesus?

How Does the Church Help Us Avoid an "Evil Heart of Unbelief?"

The answer is that we must be the church for each other. And what is the main thing that the church does for each other? We speak to each other in ways that help us not be deceived by the allurements of sin. Or to put it positively, we speak to each other in ways that cause us to have hearts of faith in the superior value of Christ over all things. We fight to maintain each other's faith, by speaking words that point people to the truth and value of Jesus. That's how you guard against an evil heart of unbelief. Unbelief means failing to rest in Jesus as your greatest treasure. So helping each other believe means showing people reasons why Jesus is more to be desired and trusted and loved than anything else.

Right here is one explanation why God would ordain that the Christian life be a life of individual and community vigilance, and why he would plan for eternal security to be a community project. The explanation is that this way of living the Christian life makes the glory of Christ the center of all our interaction. If eternal security were like a vaccination, then Christ might be honored on the day of the inoculation, but after that he may be forgotten, the way we forget our vaccinations. But not so if eternal security involves a daily battle against unbelief where the weapons of victory are faith-building exhortations about the trustworthiness of Christ and the greatness of Christ and the value of Christ over all things. If we must speak this way to each other every day to make sure that we all keep trusting him, then he is made much of day after day. He is always spoken of and always the center of attention. So God ordains that eternal security be a community project because he does not want his Son forgotten like a vaccination, but celebrated daily as the greatest treasure in the universe.

Now it is plain from verses 12 and 13 that something more than preaching is in view here. I try to do this in my preaching—exhort you weekly not to have an evil heart of unbelief. But this text says two things more than that. One (in v. 13) is that this exhorting is to happen "day after day," not just once a week. And the other is it is to be done by "one another" (v. 13)—that is, you are to do it to each other, not just get it from the preacher.

This conviction—that such a one-another ministry is utterly crucial to your perseverance in faith, and your salvation—this conviction is the reason that the elders have decided to dial up the small group ministry this fall at Bethlehem. We believe there is no better way in a church this size to encourage this kind of corporate fight of faith than to make a larger place for small groups and work toward large participation. That is why beginning in September every Sunday night will be set aside for small groups and every Wednesday night will be devoted to connecting with each other at midweek over food, worshiping together as a church, telling faith-building stories of what God is doing in the groups, and teaching the Word of God to our children, youth, and adults lest there be in any of us an unbelieving heart leading us to fall away from the living God.

I am excited about the ministry potential of both these moves—1) the dialing up of small groups by making every Sunday night available in the hope that many groups will become more and more like ministry teams that exhort each other every day; and also 2) the Wednesday evening pattern of fellowship, worship, teaching, and stories of God's present power.

I urge you with all my heart to take this passage of Scripture seriously as you ponder whether your life matches this pattern of Christian living. Might not regular gathering with a small group of believers, who are bent on fighting for each other's faith, bring you to an enjoyment of assurance and security beyond anything you have known and release you for courageous witness and ministry in the world? I think that is what God is calling us to.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org