预知,预定,效法基督

“我们晓得万事都互相效力,叫爱神的人得益处,就是按他旨意被召的人。因为他预先所知道的人,就预先定下效法他儿子的模样,使他儿子在许多弟兄中作长子。预先所定下的人又召他们来;所召来的人又称他们为义;所称为义的人又叫他们得荣耀。”

我们为着《罗马书》8:28那宏伟华丽的经句(“我们晓得万事都互相效力,叫爱神的人得益处,就是按他旨意被召的人。”),呈献了三篇的信息。而且我们也曾经说过,《罗马书》8:28乃是保罗为着罗马书8:18所作的论述的一部分,“我想,现在的苦楚若比起将来要显于我们的荣耀就不足介意了。”换句话说,我们遭受的所有患难,都是可以承受的,因为每一件事情,甚至包括那些苦难,都将会互相效力,使我们得着益处。

现在我们继续分析经文的下一节(29节),它是用一个连接词“因为”引入的。我们于是就知道了保罗所陈设的那厚重的根基——亦即他在28节的应许之下所安放的大柱子——那些支持他这个宣称的真理和事实,使得这个应许不至于落空或者说倒塌——免得我们也会一同倒塌下去。

他说,我们应该知道,万事——无论是苦涩的还是甜蜜的事情——都是为着我们的益处而工作的(28节),“因为”——这就是29节为前面之应许所提供的根基——“因为他预先所知道的人,就预先定下效法他儿子的模样,使他儿子在许多弟兄中作长子。”在这里提到了上帝作的三件很伟大的事情,也是我们今天早晨要来关注的——上帝所采取的三个行动,好叫你们的信心得以更加坚固,相信所有的事情都是互相效力的,并且是为着你们的好处。相对而言,今生任何的苦难,跟那将来要显与我们的荣耀相比,都变得不足挂齿,微不足道了。

上帝的三个行动,是借着以下这几个字词来描述的,1)“他预先知道,”2)“他预先定下,”以及3)“让我们效法基督的模样。”我们之所以晓得万事都互相效力,而且是为着我们的益处,就是因为上帝预知了我们,预定了我们,并且正在使我们效法基督。其中两个行动是过去发生的(预知我们和预定我们),而另一个行动则是现今并将来层面的(使我们效法基督的模样)。

不过说到这里,我可以想象得到,你们当中会有一些人,大概会说,你对此并没有什么兴趣。原因是什么呢?我大概也可以猜得到,至少有两方面的原因。首先,你们有些人会说,“坦白地讲,我实在是不怎么关心那在很早以前作出的决定——比如说上帝在创造世界以先所预知和预定之类的。我所关心的是眼前的事情。还有呢,我这个人,也不觉得有任何的必要,非要把自己卷进去,对那些难解的圣经教义来进行争论,比如针对预定论这样的话题。”

其次,你们当中有些人或许又会说,“坦白地讲,我还真的不是很想变成基督的模样。第一关就过不去,你看,他从来都没有体验过性生活,而且,还有呢,他是那样的满脸严肃,饱经风霜的样子,我认为他从来都不曾体验过快乐;并且,他在当时候还是个很令人捉摸不定的公众人物,以至于把自己的命都丟啦。所以呢,假如要借着变成基督的模样,我才能够感到自信,好去明白万事为我的益处而效力,那么,还是算了吧;肯定不看好的。”

让我对以上所提到的两个反对意见,谈一下我的看法吧。

“我不关心那在过去所作出的决定”

假如今天早上有人来找你,对你说,“我想要给你一百万美金,”你当然有权对他表示怀疑和猜测,他的动机到底是什么。但是,如果他们拿出一张皱巴巴的发黄的纸条,然后指着上面的字据说,“我那位富有的父亲几个月以前去世了,他曾经在遗嘱当中写下来,要把其中的部分遗产留给你,其数目是一百万美元。”那时,难道你还是照样无动于衷吗?你难道会说,“我不关心那些在很早以前所作出的决定,我只关心眼前的事情。此外嘛,对于一份陈旧的文件,要确定其真实的意义,会颇费心机的啊,特别是遗嘱之类的,常常会令人争论不休的。所以呢,算了吧,管它什么一百万。”是这样吗?大概不会的吧。而且,我敢向你保证,上帝所预先知道和预先定下的,远远比继承一百万元钱,要更加的跟你今天的生活有关系,甚至其相关性要超出千万倍。

“我不想成为基督的模样”

而如果你要说,“坦白地讲,我不想变得像基督那样。”那可能是因为你所构想出来的这个基督的模样,要不是被你搞错了误解了,就是你想得太狭隘了,(以至于对你没有吸引力。——译者注。)比如说,当你的死期来到的时候,你怎么办?你希望自己去世的时候,能够像基督吗?——你是宁可被那位宇宙的主宰和审判官拒之门外,遭受永远的刑罚,因为你拒绝接受他的儿子呢?还是,你想要从死人当中复活,领受上帝的爱与接纳呢?也就是说,你想要效法基督从而复活得生命,还是,保持老样子,不想变得像基督,从而走向灭亡?这绝对不是一件小事。所以我恳请你,留心听下去。

让我们先来看一下,上帝在遥远的过去所采取的那两个行动,然后,我们再一起来分析,上帝今天正在作的以及明天还要继续作的工作。

“那些他所预先知道的”

29节说:“因为他预先所知道的人,就预先定下效法他儿子的模样。”这里的“预先知道”是什么意思呢?有人以为,这里指的是上帝很早就预见到了某些人是会信靠他的(译者注,因为他不受时间的限制),然后就把这些人预定了,使他们成为耶稣的模样。但是这个看法假设了两件事情,却都是不正确的。首先,这就好像是说,上帝预先看见某人会相信他,那个信心是来自于人的——在其终极的和决定性的层面上,而不是上帝的作为。换言之,这种解释的问题在于,上帝没有给人赐下信心,他只不过是提前看到了人自己所生发的信心。

但是,这并不是圣经所教导的,不仅仅是这段经文的上下文里面没有这个意思,其它的圣经经文也不是这么说的(参见,《腓立比书》1:29;《以弗所书》2:8-9;《提摩太后书》2:24-26;《马太福音》16:17)。当保罗在《罗马书》8:30说道,“预先所定下的人又召他们来;所召来的人又称他们为义;”他的意思是所有被召的人都要被称为义。但是要能够被称义,我们就必须相信(《罗马书》5:1)。因此他说的意思是,那些被召的人都会相信神,从而被称为义。然而我们怎么能够说,所有被召的人都会相信呢?原因就在于,正如我在28节的解经当中试图说清楚的“被召”之含义,这个呼召乃是神大能的工作,一定要把他所愿望的事情成就。这是一个会产生出效果的呼召。这个呼召,会创造出它所要求的内容。这个呼召就类似于“拉撒路,出来!”的那个呼唤,结果就是,那死人就活过来了。所以,我要表达的意思是,为着称义而需要的信心,并不是我凭己之力可以做到的。乃是上帝给我能力之后,我才能作出的。这乃是是神自己的作为。虽然,我必须要参与其中。“相信神”这件事是我要去做的。但是,我之所以能够去信,乃是上帝的礼物。我最终是毫无功劳可言的。于是我会为此感谢上帝。我完全就是借助于那主权性的恩典而得救的,从始至终皆然。

所以,我们对于《罗马书》8:29的理解,如果认为,“上帝预知”某些人会信主,只不过是上帝预先看到他们将来的情况,是这些人凭自己的能力而信神,这样的假设是错误的。这个“信靠神”的行动,乃是源于上帝赐下的能力。这样看来,这里面所涉及到的,不仅仅是上帝预知和预见了我们的行为,而是要比这层意思更多一些。那么,该观点之另一个错误的假设是什么呢?它所假设的,关于“预知”的意思,并不符合该词在许多的新旧约圣经经文当中所使用的情况,圣经在用词方面是前后一致和相当严谨的。请你来看一下这些例子,并问问你自己,当中的“知道”指的是什么意思。在《创世记》18:19,神对亚伯拉罕说,“我眷顾[认识]他,为要叫他吩咐他的众子和他的眷属遵守我的道。”几乎所有的英文圣经译本,这里都把眷顾翻译成“我拣选他。”在《阿摩司书》3:2上帝对以色列的百姓说,“在地上万族中,我只认识你们。”神当然是认识地上的万族,只不过他拣选的是以色列。在《马太福音》7:23,耶稣对那些假冒为善的人说,在审判的日子他会说,“我从来不认识你们,你们这些作恶的人,离开我去吧!”《诗篇》1:6说,“因为耶和华知道义人的道路;恶人的道路却必灭亡。”其实耶和华也知道那些恶人的道路。但是对于义人的道路,他不仅知道,而且带着赞许、认可和喜爱之心。在《何西阿书》13:5,神也对以色列说,“我曾在旷野干旱之地认识你。”意思是说,神注意到你的辛劳,他关心你的疾苦。另外,《创世记》4:1说,“有一日,那人和他妻子夏娃同房[原文直译是,认识],夏娃就怀孕,生了该隐。”指的就是,亚当(通过这样的“认识”)使夏娃属于自己,他很亲密地认识她,并且爱她。

因着所有这些经文,我认为约翰·斯托德(John Stott)和约翰·穆烈(John Murray)说得很对,他们都表示,“知道(认识)”……在它实用的层面上的意思是跟“爱”同义的……“他预先知道的”……因此就实际上等同于“他预先所爱的。”预知,就是指“主权性的,区别对待的那份爱”(约翰·斯托德,引述了穆烈的《罗马书》,249页)。实际上这就等于说,把你的喜爱放在某件事物上,为自己而拣选之。

因此,上帝在《罗马书》8:29那里的第一个行动,就是预知了他自己的百姓,这意味着他拣选了他们,深爱着他们,并且关心体恤着他们。保罗在后面的章节当中,将会继续探讨这些思想,他会使用“选择”或者“拣选”等词汇(《罗马书》8:33;9:11;11:5,7)。

你若是被神所召,又爱神,那么,万事万物就都会互相效力,使你得着益处,因为,正如29节所说的,神已经知道你了,并且拣选你了,又已经爱上你了,甚至是在创世以先(《以弗所书》1:4及下文;《提摩太后书》1:9;《彼得前书》1:20;《启示录》13:8;17:8)。

“他就预先定下”

上帝在很早以前就作了的第二件事情,为着保证他的应许必然会实现,亦即万事互相效力叫爱神的人得益处,这件事就是,“他预定。”正如经文所说,“他预先所知道的人,就预先定下。”这句话的意思并不复杂,乃是指,既然神已经为自己的缘故拣选了你,把他的爱放在你身上,并且眷顾你,于是在你还没有来到世界之前,他就相应的,已经作出了决定,要让你将来成为怎样的人,具体地说,就是要把你转化成他儿子的模样。

“预定”的意思就是,事先就决定或者命定你将会有怎样的终局。这节经文之所以能替《罗马书》8:28提供一个厚实的根基,就在于那些爱神的人(按照神的应许被召的人),乃是被命定了要跟耶稣相像的——就是要转变成为基督的模样。万事互相效力,为着你的益处,就因为你是蒙拣选的,是已经被神所爱的,而且早在你来到世间之前神就如此决定了的。并且,上帝的拣选和爱,是借此表达出来的,那就是,要命定你拥有一个无法言说的美好前程,用圣经的话说,就是效法基督。万事万物都在为着你的益处而效力,因为万事万物都是在努力使你成为耶稣的样子。为此,你被神所爱,为此,你被神所预定。

这就类似于前面例子中提到的,你朋友之父,在遗嘱当中留下的那句关乎百万资财的条款。就像那份具有法律效力,不可违背的条款,保证了你有权在地上继承那些财富,同样的,上帝那不可违抗的预知和预定,就是对你的荣耀和你在永恒里的喜乐的保证。

“要把我们变成他儿子的模样”

这就带来了之前提出过的那个反对意见。或许,变得像耶稣,是个令人沮丧,而不是让人欢欣鼓舞的事情。或许,变成耶稣的样子,并不能够真的就使得当今的各样苦楚,跟永恒的荣耀比起来显得不足挂齿。到底真相如何呢?让我们来看一下29节提到的、上帝最后的那个行动:上帝正在工作,为的是让我们“效法他儿子的模样,使他儿子在许多弟兄中作长子。”

而关于这一点,我们打算留到下一个星期再讨论,原因有两个:第一,是因为今天的时间不是很富余了;第二呢,是因为29节的效法基督,跟30节末尾所说的得荣耀,是非常紧密地联系着的,把它们放在一起,刚好可以为下个礼拜的信息提供开头和结尾。

但是,我还是要用一些简短的话语,来为今天的这段经文,以及效法基督,作一个小结。这是相当要紧的。原因是,除非你的心思意念能够效法基督的思想,这段经文的教导就有可能在你里面带来冲突,而不是积极的更新和转变。这段经文的目的,是要来安慰你,坚固你,并且给你充足的自信。因为你的生活当中最棒的事情也好,最糟糕的事情也罢,都将会是为着你的益处而效力的,就是因为你爱基督的缘故,而且因为你是被神所拣选和预定要得荣耀的。但是,要达到这个境界,必须借助于上帝赐给你相应份量的、基督的心意和基督的灵。

我这么说,不是要来责备你,或者在你有挣扎的时候给你定罪。恰恰相反,我这么说是要来鼓励你,正如行为方面的效法耶稣乃是一辈子的争战,就是跟那些错误的行为作斗争,又如情感方面的效法耶稣,也是跟错误感情的一辈子的争战,照样的,理性方面的效法耶稣,也是跟错误思想的一辈子的争战。所以,如果有一些弟兄姐妹在圣经的某些难懂的教导上面绊倒了,我一点也不会觉得惊讶。效法基督,无论是在其行为的方面,或是情感的方面,还是理智的方面,都绝对不可能一蹴而就。

所以,我们就必须彼此代祷,借着我们不断地来效法他,让基督在每个方面都被高举。而且,我们也可以因此而享受那充足的确据,那就是,因着我们的拣选和预定,一切的事物都将会是为着我们的益处而运作的。另外,假如你坐在那儿,心里犯疑惑:我到底是否在这个被拣选被预定被呼召的行列当中呢?这里有一个办法使你知道:你是否越来越觉得耶稣是你所喜爱的,超过所有其它的事物,并且你确信,只有他才具备足够的能力来拯救你脱离罪恶,并且永远满足你的心灵?这就是上帝儿女的标记。“人有了神的儿子就有生命”(《约翰一书》5:12)。“凡接待他的……他就赐他们权柄,作神的儿女。”(《约翰福音》1:12)。就请你来接受他吧!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Foreknown, Predestined, Conformed to Christ

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. 29 For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren; 30 and these whom He predestined, He also called; and these whom He called, He also justified; and these whom He justified, He also glorified.

We devoted three messages to the magnificent Romans 8:28 ("And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose."). And we said that Romans 8:28 was part of Paul's argument for Romans 8:18, "I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us." In other words, all our sufferings are endurable because everything, even these sufferings, are going to work together for our good.

Now we move to the next verse (29) which begins with "for" which means "because." We move to Paul's massive foundations — his pillars under the promise of verse 28 — the truth and reality that hold it up and keep it from falling — and keep us from falling with it.

He said, We know all things — the bitter things and the sweet things — work for our good (v. 28), "BECAUSE — this is verse 29, the foundation of that promise — "because those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren." Here are three great works of God that we are going to focus on this morning — three acts of God that are done to give you more confidence that all things will work together for your good and all the sufferings of this life are not worth comparing to the glory that will be revealed (8:17).

The three acts of God are seen in the words, 1) "He foreknew," 2) "He predestined," and 3) "We become conformed to Christ." We know that all things work together for our good because God foreknew us, predestined us, and is conforming us like Christ. Two of these are past (foreknowing us and predestining us) and one of these is present and future (conforming us to the image of Christ).

Now I can imagine right now at least two reasons why some of you might say this is of no interest to you. First, some of you might say, "Frankly I don't really care about what decisions made a long time ago — like before creation in God's foreknowledge and predestination. I care about now. And I, what's more, I don't see any point in getting involved in disputes about Biblical doctrines like predestination."

Second, some of you might also say, "Frankly, I don't want to be like Christ. For one thing, he never had sex, and, what's more, he was so dadgum serious I don't know if he ever had fun; and he was so controversial he got himself killed. So if becoming like Jesus is supposed to make me feel confident that everything is working for my good, forget it; it doesn't."

Let me say something to those two hang-ups.

"I Don't Care About Decisions Made in the Past"

If somebody came up to you this morning and said, "I'm going to give you a million dollars," you would have a right to be suspicious and doubtful. But what if they pulled out a wrinkled old sheet of paper and pointed to it and said, "My wealthy father died several months ago and wrote in his will that you were to receive part of the inheritance, a million dollars"? Would you say, "I don't care about decisions made a long time ago. I care about now. And besides settling the meaning of old documents, especially wills, can be very contentious. So let's just forget about the million dollars"? I promise you, what God foreknew and predestined is ten thousand times more relevant to your life now than inheriting a million dollars.

"I Don't Want To Be Like Christ"

And if you say, "Frankly, I don't want to be like Christ," it may be because you are thinking of this likeness in a way that is not only mistaken, but way too narrow. What about when you die? Do you want to be like Christ when you die: Do you want to be rejected by the Judge of the universe and condemned to everlasting punishment because you rejected his Son, or do you want to rise from the dead loved and accepted? Do you want to rise like Christ or stay unlike Christ and perish? It's not a small question. And I plead with you to listen.

So let's look first at the two acts of God that happened a long time ago first, and then turn to what God is doing today and tomorrow.

"For Those Whom He Foreknew"

Verse 29: "For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son." What does "foreknew" mean? Some have taken it to mean that God simply foresees who will believe on him and these are the ones he predestines to be like Jesus. But this assumes two things that are not true. One is that the faith God foresees is ultimately and decisively our work, not his work. In other words, the point of this interpretation is that God does not cause our faith, he only foresees the faith which we cause.

Now this is not what the Bible teaches, not elsewhere (Philippians 1:29; Ephesians 2:8-9; 2 Timothy 2:24-26; Matthew 16:17), nor here in the context. When Paul says in Romans 8:30, "Those whom he predestined he also called, and those whom he called he also justified," he means all the called are justified. But to be justified we must believe (Romans 5:1). So he is saying all those who are called believe and are justified. But how can he say ALL who are called believe? The reason, as I tried to show in the exposition of "called" in verse 28, is that the call is the powerful work of God to bring about what he demands. It's an effective call. It's a call that creates what it commands. It's a call like "Lazarus, come forth!" and the dead man lives. So the point is, believing for justification is not some thing I do on my own. God enables me. God empowers me. I must do it. Believing is something I do. But my doing is a gift of God. I do not take ultimate credit for it. I thank God for it. I am saved by sovereign grace from first to last.

So it is wrong to assume that when Romans 8:29 says, "God foreknew" some, it means he simply foresaw that they would believe by their own power. He gave that power, and so some something more is going on here than the mere foreseeing of what we do.

Here's the other mistaken assumption of this view. It assumes that the meaning of "foreknowing" is not the meaning it has in many Old and New Testament texts that would give a more coherent meaning to this passage. Listen to these uses of "know" and ask yourself what each means. In Genesis 18:19 God says of Abraham, "I have known him, so that he may command his children and his household after him to keep the way of the Lord." Virtually all the English versions translate this, "I have chosen him." In Amos 3:2 God says to the people of Israel, "You only have I known among all the families of the earth." He knew about all the families, but only chose Israel. In Matthew 7:23 Jesus said to the hypocrites at the judgment day, "I never knew you; depart from me, you who practice lawlessness." Psalm 1:6 says, "The Lord knows the way of the righteous, But the way of the wicked will perish." He knows about the way of the wicked too. But he knows the way of the righteous in the sense of approving and recognizing and loving. In Hosea 13:5 God says to Israel, "I knew you in the wilderness, In the land of drought," meaning he took note of your plight and cared for you. And Genesis 4:1 says, "Now Adam knew Eve his wife, and she conceived and bore Cain." That is, he made her his, and knew her intimately and loved her.

Because of all those texts I think John Stott and John Murray are exactly right when both of them say, ""Know' . . . is used in a sense practically synonymous with "love' . . . "Whom he foreknow' . . . is therefore virtually equivalent to "whom he foreloved.'" Foreknowledge, is "sovereign , distinguishing love" (John Stott, quoting Murray, Romans, p. 249). It's virtually the same as set your affection on and choose for your own.

So the meaning of the first act of God in Romans 8:29 is that God foreknows his own people in the sense that he chooses them and loves them and cares for them. Paul will speak of this later in the language of "choosing" or "election" (Romans 8:33; 9:11; 11:5,7).

All things will work together for your good if you are called, and love God, because, as verse 29 says, God has known you, and chosen you, and loved you, from before the foundation of the world (Ephesians 1:4f; 2 Timothy 1:9; 1 Peter 1:20; Revelation 13:8; 17:8)

"He Also Predestined"

The second act of God done long ago to put certainty under the promise that all things will work for your good is "he predestined." "For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined." This simply means that, having chosen you for his own and set his love on you and cared for you before you ever existed, he decided what would become of you, namely, you would be conformed to the image of his Son.

"Predestine" means decide or ordain ahead of time what destiny you will have. And the reason this verse puts such a massive foundation under the promise of Romans 8:28 is that that those who love God and are called according to his promise are destined to be like Jesus — destined to be conformed to the image Christ. All things work together for your good because you were chosen and loved before you existed, and the way his choice and love expresses itself is in ordaining for you an unspeakably great future, namely, to be like Christ. All things work for your good because all things work to make you like Jesus. For this you were loved, and for this your predestined.

This is the million-dollar clause in the will of your friend's father. Just like that legally unbreakable clause guarantees your wealth on earth, so God's unbreakable foreknowing and predestining guarantees your glory and your everlasting joy.

"To Conform Us to the Image of His Son"

Which brings us to the objection raised earlier. Maybe it won't be joy to be like Jesus. Maybe becoming like Jesus doesn't make all the suffering of this present time not worth comparing to the glory to be revealed. So we must turn to the last act of God mentioned in verse 29: God is working to "conform us to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren."

And for that we are going to wait until next week for two reasons: one, is there is not enough time today; and two, conformity to Christ in verse 29 and glorification at the end of verse 30 are so closely linked, they will make a beginning and end to next week's message.

But let me close with a brief word about conformity to Christ and today's text. It is very relevant for this reason. Until your mind is conformed to the mind of Christ, the teaching of this text will probably produce conflict, not comfort. This text is meant to comfort you and strengthen you and give you confidence that the best and worst things in your life will work for your good, because you love Christ and are chosen and predestined for glory. But it will only have this effect when God grants you a measure of the mind and spirit of Christ.

I don't say this to scold you or condemn you if you struggle. Just the opposite. I say it to encourage you that just like behavioral conformity to Jesus is a life-long battle with wrong deeds, and emotional conformity to Jesus is a life-long battle with wrong feelings, so intellectual conformity to Jesus is a life-long battle with wrong thinking. So I am never surprised when some folks stumble over the harder teachings of Scripture. Conformity to Christ does not come all at once, neither, behavioral, nor emotional, nor intellectual.

So let's pray for each other, that in every way Christ might be exalted through our conformity to him, and we might enjoy the massive assurance that because of our election and predestination everything will work together for our good. And if you sit there wondering: am I among the chosen, the predestined, the called, here's how you can know: Do you see Jesus as more to be desired than anything else, and sufficient to save you from your sin, and satisfy your heart forever? That is the mark of God's child. He who has the Son has life (1 John 5:12). To as many as received him, to them God gave the right to be become the children of God (John 1:12). Receive him!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org