Dieu nous affermit par l’Evangile

Romains 16:25–27

25 A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir selon mon Évangile et la prédication de Jésus-Christ, conformément à la révélation du mystère tenu secret dès l’origine des temps,
26 mais manifesté maintenant par les Écrits prophétiques, d’après l’ordre du Dieu éternel, et porté à la connaissance de toutes les nations en vue de l’obéissance de la foi, — 27 à Dieu, seul sage, la gloire, par Jésus-Christ, aux siècles des siècles! Amen!

Aujourd’hui nous commençons l’étude du dernier paragraphe de la lettre la plus importante qui ait été écrite, la lettre de Paul aux Romains.

Une conclusion graduelle

Ce dernier paragraphe (Romains 16:25-27) rassemble tant de thèmes cruciaux présentés dans cette lettre qu’il offre une très bonne occasion de conclure graduellement. Nous n’allons pas terminer cette étude de façon abrupte. J’ai l’intention de passer cinq sessions sur ces trois versets, ce qui signifie que je terminerai l’étude de l’épître aux Romains le Dimanche 24 décembre, la veille de Noël. Priez avec moi que Dieu fasse de ce temps de l’avent un moment fort pour élever Christ et pour voir des personnes venir à la foi et être édifiées en lui.

La doxologie attire notre attention sur la gloire de Dieu

Les trois derniers versets de l’épître aux Romains sont ce que nous appelons généralement une doxologie. Ce mot vient du grec doxa, qui signifie gloire, et logos qui signifie parole. Une doxologie est une parole qui donne gloire à Dieu. La conviction derrière les doxologies du Nouveau Testament est que tout existe et tout arrive pour attirer notre attention sur la gloire de Dieu. C’est pourquoi les doxologies ont tendance à être formulées à des moments cruciaux ou bien en fin de prédications ou d’écrits. Je me joins à Paul pour dire que tout ce que j’ai dit jusqu’ici attirera toute l’attention sur la gloire de Dieu, c’est ma prière.

Paul commence donc la doxologie qui conclut son message au verset 25 (« A celui qui a le pouvoir… »). En écrivant cela, il veut terminer par une doxologie et donner gloire à Dieu, mais il ne peut se résoudre à terminer simplement par « à Lui soit la gloire. » Au lieu de cela, il insère une plusieurs phrases parlant de Dieu le Père, et de l’Evangile qu’il a écrit dans les seize chapitres précédents. Puis il revient au fait de rendre gloire à Dieu dans le verset 27, les derniers mots de la lettre. Mettons côte à côte le début et la fin de ce paragraphe à partir du verset 25 et le verset 27 : « A celui qui a le pouvoir… [27] à Dieu, seul sage, la gloire, par Jésus-Christ, aux siècles des siècles! Amen! »

Ce n’est pas le seul endroit où Paul a écrit une doxologie. Il y en a une dans Romains 11:36 à l’apogée des onze premiers chapitres avant que Paul ne commence à parler des implications plus immédiates de ce qu’il venait d’enseigner : « Tout est de lui, par lui et pour lui! A lui la gloire dans tous les siècles. Amen! » (Voire aussi Philippiens 4:20 et Ephésiens 3:20-21).

Paul n’était pas le seul à aimer les doxologies. Pierre dit dans 1 Pierre 4:11 : « afin qu’en toutes choses Dieu soit glorifié par Jésus-Christ, à qui appartiennent la gloire et la puissance aux siècles des siècles. Amen! » L’apôtre Jean dit dans Apocalypse 1:5-6 : « A celui qui nous aime, qui nous a délivrés de nos péchés par son sang, et qui a fait de nous un royaume, des sacrificateurs pour Dieu son Père, à lui la gloire et le pouvoir aux siècles des siècles! Amen! » Et Jude, le frère du Seigneur, a écrit la doxologie la plus connue (Jude 1:24-25) : « A celui qui peut vous préserver de toute chute et vous faire paraître devant sa gloire, irréprochables dans l’allégresse, à Dieu seul, notre Sauveur, par Jésus-Christ notre Seigneur, soient gloire, majesté, force et autorité dès avant tous les temps, maintenant et dans tous les siècles! Amen! »

Lorsque vous entendez une doxologie prononcée ou chantée, sachez que c’est une forme de langage biblique et apostolique enracinée dans l’affirmation que toutes choses existent afin que nous rendions gloire à Dieu.

C’est de cela dont nous allons parler ces cinq dernières semaines à partir de l’épître aux Romains. C’est une longue période à passer sur une doxologie très dense de vérité sur Dieu et l’Evangile. On est en droit de penser que pour conclure ce que Paul considère comme la plus longue et la plus importante des lettres qu’il ait jamais écrites, il n’utiliserait pas de paroles en l’air. Chaque mot compte. Il s’agit de ses dernières paroles aux Romains. Il pourrait s’agir des dernières paroles qu’il vous adresse. J’espère que vous écouterez attentivement et j’espère que vous reviendrez pour ces dernières semaines de l’année afin de connaître les cinq aspects de cette doxologie.

Dieu utilise l’Evangile pour affermir les croyants

Aujourd’hui, je voudrais me concentrer sur l’affirmation selon laquelle Dieu affermit son peuple à partir de l’Evangile. Le verset 25 dit : « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir selon mon Évangile. » Tout ce que Paul dit dans les versets 25 et 26 parle de l’Evangile qui affermit les croyants. Cet évangile qui affermit est « la prédication de Jésus-Christ » (v.25b). Jésus est la réalité centrale de l’Evangile. Cet évangile est « conforme à la révélation du mystère tenu secret dès l’origine des temps » (v.25c). C’est le mystère que les païens, les nations, sont des concitoyens à part entière, comme les croyants juifs, par la foi en Jésus (Ephésiens 3:6). Cette bonne nouvelle a maintenant été manifestée (v.26a), et même si elle a été cachée dans le passé, elle est présente dans « les Écrits prophétiques » de l’Ancien Testament (v.26b) que Paul utilise pour révéler le mystère de « toutes les nations » (v.26b). Et toute cette bonne nouvelle pour les nations a été ordonnée par le Dieu éternel en vue de « l’obéissance de la foi » (v.26c).

Tout cela est un développement de l’Evangile dans le verset 25 que Dieu utilise pour affermir les croyants afin qu’ils persévèrent dans l’obéissance de la foi et qu’ils fixent toute leur attention sur la gloire de Dieu.

Nous nous concentrons aujourd’hui sur ce fait étonnant : A la fin de ce livre, alors que Paul prononce les dernières paroles de doxologie, il choisit de dire que Dieu est capable de nous affermir par son Evangile. Lorsqu’il termine en attirant toute notre attention sur la gloire de Dieu, il le fait de telle façon que cette gloire brille d’une manière plus intense lorsque Dieu nous affermit, nous, son peuple qui croit en l’Evangile.

Le Dieu qui affermit pour sa gloire

Il y a ici quelque chose de si merveilleux que je ne veux pas aller trop vite, de peur que vous le manquiez. Laissez-moi parler tout d’abord de ce qui est évident, puis en tirer ce qui est moins évident. Le fait le plus évident parmi tout ce qu’il pouvait dire à propos de ce que Dieu fait et a fait pour attirer notre attention vers sa gloire, de toutes les dizaines de grands actes de Dieu et de toutes ses capacités, il en a choisi une en particulier : « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir… la gloire aux siècles des siècles… » Paul ajoute que Dieu est sage : il a caché quelque chose pendant des siècles, et il a révélé ces choses pour le bien des nations, et il a fait tout cela sur ordre de l’Eternel. Oui. Mais vue la façon dont Paul a construit cette doxologie, tout cela sert à soutenir et expliquer une idée principale : Dieu est capable de vous affermir. « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir… la gloire au siècle des siècles… »

Maintenant, voici ce qui est moins évident mais pourtant aussi clair que de l’eau de roche une fois que notre attention a été attirée sur ce point. De nombreux rois au fil de l’histoire et de nombreux dictateurs aujourd’hui veulent attirer la gloire sur eux-mêmes. Ils veulent être connus comme forts, riches et sages. Comment réussissent-ils ? En faisant tout pour que leur peuple reste faible, pauvre et coupé de toute éducation. Un peuple éduqué est une menace pour un dictateur. La classe moyenne est une menace pour un dictateur. Un peuple fort est une menace pour la force d’un dictateur. Alors que font-ils ? Ils assurent leur propre pouvoir en maintenant leur peuple dans la faiblesse. Ils tirent leur gloire de la vie brisée du peuple. Regardez au régime d’Islom Karimov en Ouzbékistan. Et nous pourrions en mentionner beaucoup d’autres, des petits rois qui maintiennent leur peuple dans la faiblesse afin de rester eux-mêmes riches et forts.

La gloire de Dieu dans la force que procure l’Evangile

Mettons maintenant en contraste la façon dont Paul attire notre attention vers la gloire de Dieu. Si un roi avait le droit de montrer sa gloire en écrasant un peuple rebelle, c’est bien Dieu. Mais que fait-il ? Il montre sa gloire en affermissant son peuple. « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir… la gloire aux siècles des siècles… » Dieu magnifie sa gloire en vous affermissant dans son Evangile. Dieu ne se sent pas menacé du tout par notre force. En fait, plus vous devenez fort dans votre foi, dans votre espérance et dans votre amour, par l’Evangile de Jésus-Christ, plus Dieu est magnifié. Dieu n’assure pas sa force en gardant son peuple dans la faiblesse. Il magnifie la gloire de sa force en affermissant son peuple. « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir… la gloire. »

Donc, lorsque Paul fait de la gloire de Dieu, le but ultime de l’Evangile, en terminant la plus importante de toutes les lettres, en attirant notre attention sur la valeur suprême de la gloire de Dieu, il ne s’agit pas d’une mauvaise nouvelle pour nous. A moins que nous voulions cette gloire pour nous-mêmes. Pourquoi est-ce bon pour nous ? Parce que Dieu attire notre attention sur sa gloire en rendant plus fort son peuple qui ne le mérite pas. Plus la gloire de Dieu est forte, plus notre force a de chance de grandir. Plus la gloire de Dieu est merveilleuse et étendue, plus merveilleuse et étendue est la source de notre force : « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir… la gloire aux siècles des siècles. »

Affermis selon l’Evangile

Quelle est cette force que Dieu est capable de nous donner, comme le dit Paul ? Dieu peut donner tout type de force qu’il désire. « Avec mon Dieu je saute une muraille. » (Psaume 18:29). Mais ici il parle du même genre de force que dans Romains 1:11-12 : « Car je désire vivement vous voir, pour vous communiquer quelque don spirituel, afin que vous soyez affermis, ou plutôt, afin que, chez vous, nous soyons encouragés ensemble par la foi qui nous est commune, à vous et à moi. » La substance de cette force est la foi en Jésus-Christ.

Une force pour les femmes selon l’Evangile

Ce n’est pas une force que le monde connaît ou peut nous donner. Les femmes, les jeunes filles, à quoi pensez-vous lorsque vous voulez être fortes ? Ou bien les petites filles, lorsque vous réfléchissez à votre vie future, pour devenir fortes, quel est votre rêve ? Il est important que ceci soit clair pour vous, car Dieu veut que vous soyez fortes. La Bible autant que l’expérience nous disent que dans un sens vous êtes les plus faibles (1 Pierre 3:7) : sur le plan mondial, 95% des hommes adultes sont plus forts que 95% des femmes adultes. Comment pouvez-vous devenir fortes ?

Le monde vous donnera trois solutions pour trouver cette force : 1) en étant sexy, en vous habillant de façon sexy, en agissant de façon sexy, car les hommes sont si avides que vous pouvez être plus puissantes qu’eux en agissant de cette façon. 2) Un autre moyen est de paraître sûre de soi, volontaire, agressive, avoir confiance en soi. 3) En étant intelligente et active dans tous les domaines d’influence afin d’obtenir des postes importants. Aucun de ces moyens ne représente la force dont Paul parle lorsqu’il dit : « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir… »

Paul pense en fait à la force intérieure que Pierre mentionne pour les femmes dans 1 Pierre 3:6 lorsqu’il dit aux femmes d’être comme Sarah et comme les saintes femmes de l’ancien temps : « C’est d’elle que vous êtes devenues les descendantes, si vous faites le bien, sans vous laisser troubler par aucune crainte. » et le genre de force que Proverbes 31:25 mentionne lorsqu’il est dit : « Elle est revêtue de force et de dignité, Elle se rit de l’avenir. »

Autrement dit, les femmes, les jeunes filles rêvent d’être remplies de confiance en Dieu. Vous rêvez de savoir qui vous êtes en Dieu, une fille du roi de l’univers, ce qu’il a fait pour vous et promis de faire et d’être pour vous en Jésus-Christ, afin que vous ne craigniez rien ni personne d’autre que Dieu et que vous vous riiez de l’avenir, quoi qu’il arrive. Sexy, je vous promets que vous ne le resterez pas, et l’homme que vous attirerez n’est pas le genre d’homme dont vous avez besoin. En vous affirmant vous-même, vous éloignerez les personnes dont vous voulez vous entourer. Les allées du pouvoir sont comme les grandes herbes : une fois que le vent est passé, il ne reste plus rien. Mais la force qui vient de Dieu au travers de l’Evangile reste à jamais. « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir… la gloire aux siècles des siècles. »

Une force pour les hommes selon l’Evangile

Les hommes, les garçons, et vous ? Quel est votre rêve lorsque vous réfléchissez sur la manière dont vous pouvez devenir forts ? En étant le meilleur joueur de votre sport ? Ou en étant le courtier le plus audacieux pour devenir le plus riche possible ? Ou en devenant très cultivé pour placer des mots très compliqués dans vos conversations ?

Non. Seul les insensés cherchent ce genre de puissance éphémère. Seuls les insensés veulent le genre de puissance qui vous laisse tomber au moment où vous en avez besoin. Laissez-moi vous parler du genre de puissance que Dieu peut vous donner au travers de l’Evangile. C’est le pouvoir de conduire votre femme et votre famille à passer du temps avec Dieu. Le pouvoir de dire une simple parole de vérité lorsque vous êtes entourés de complexité venant d’une éducation élevée, séculière et élitiste. Le pouvoir de rester ferme sur vos positions et de dire « non » à un comportement de pécheur alors que tout le monde dit que vous êtes faible. Le pouvoir de persévérer malgré l’adversité, pour une cause juste et pour la vérité quand vous sentez que vous avez perdu toute motivation.

Une force selon l’Evangile dans tous les domaines

Dieu est capable de vous affermir, hommes et femmes, de cette force intérieure par la foi en Christ qui vous rend plus fort dans un fauteuil roulant que dix mille moutons entraînés par le courant de la culture moderne. Nous voulons le genre de force qui reste lorsque nous sommes paralysés et ne pouvons répondre qu’en clignant des paupières. Et nous savons d’où vient cette force : « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir… la gloire aux siècles des siècles. »

Nous ne serons jamais trop forts pour ne plus avoir besoin de l’Evangile

Une dernière observation cruciale dont nous avons parlé tout au long de l’étude de l’épître aux Romains, depuis sept années que nous l’étudions ensemble, et pour encore quatre autres sermons, et je prie, pour chaque sermon jusqu’au retour de Jésus, Dieu nous affermit au travers de l’Evangile. « A celui qui a le pouvoir de vous affermir selon mon Évangile. »

Le cœur de l’Evangile est que Jésus-Christ, le juste, est mort pour nos péchés et qu’il est ressuscité, éternellement triomphant de tous ses ennemis, afin qu’il n’y ait plus de condamnation, mais une joie éternelle, pour ceux qui mettent leur confiance en lui. Jamais, jamais, vous ne serez assez forts pour ne plus avoir besoin de cet Evangile. Il ne s’agit pas de commencer la vie chrétienne avec l’Evangile, puis de continuer avec autre chose pour devenir plus fort. Dieu nous affermit grâce à l’Evangile jusqu’au jour de notre mort.

La force de l’Evangile plus forte que le cancer

Je terminerai par une illustration venant de ma propre vie, et beaucoup d’entre vous avez des histoires encore plus puissantes car votre force aura été testée encore plus profondément. Mais je vais vous parler de ce que Dieu a fait pour moi en février lorsque le diagnostique du cancer m’a été annoncé. Dieu m’a affermi par son Evangile. Souvenez-vous des versets qu’il a utilisés. Aucun n’est plus important pour moi. I Thessaloniciens 5:9-10 : « En effet, Dieu ne nous a pas destinés à subir sa colère, mais à posséder le salut par notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ. Le Christ est mort pour nous afin de nous faire vivre avec lui, que nous soyons vivants ou morts quand il viendra. »

Depuis, tout en moi dit et espère dire lorsque le diagnostique final viendra : « A celui qui a le pouvoir de m’affermir selon mon Evangile… la gloire au siècle des siècles ! Amen ! »

Notre Dieu a agi dans l’histoire pour vaincre le péché, Satan, l’enfer et la mort. Il a fait cela par l’Evangile de Jésus-Christ. Attachez-vous à cet Evangile comme au plus grand trésor de votre vie. Dieu magnifiera sa gloire en vous affermissant.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

God Strengthens Us by the Gospel

Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery that was kept secret for long ages 26 but has now been disclosed and through the prophetic writings has been made known to all nations, according to the command of the eternal God, to bring about the obedience of faith—27 to the only wise God be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.

Today we begin the last paragraph of the greatest letter ever written, Paul’s letter to the Romans. At least some of you will be asking the question: Are we almost finished with the book of Romans? Most of you were not here when we started the book on April 26, 1998, seven-and-a-half years ago. Many of you date your arrival at Bethlehem by the chapter of Romans in which you came. Now the end is drawing near. To remove all suspense and help you prepare for the transition, I will tell you the plan.

A Slow, Gradual Landing in Advent

This last paragraph (Romans 16:25-27) draws together so many crucial themes of the letter that it provides a very good way to come in for a slow, gradual landing. Our seven-year flight together will not end with a steep descent. It’s a big jet and doesn’t drop out of the sky like a Piper-Cub. My plan is to spend five weeks on these three verses, which means that I hope to complete the book of Romans on Sunday, December 24, the day before Christmas—Christmas Eve seems like a fitting climax. Would you pray with me that God would make these advent Sundays (starting next week) the most powerful season we have ever known in exalting Christ, and seeing people converted to faith and built up in him.

Doxologies Draw Attention to the Glory of God

The last three verses of the book of Romans are what we usually call a doxology. The word doxology comes from the Greek words doxa, which means glory, and logos, which means word. So a doxology is a word that ascribes glory to God. The conviction behind New Testament doxologies is that everything exists and everything happens to draw attention to the glory of God. That’s why doxologies tend to occur at climactic and final moments of preaching or writing. I join with Paul in saying that everything I have said up till now will, I pray, draw all attention to the glory of God.

So Paul begins his closing doxology in verse 25 (Now to him . . .”), and as he writes that, he has in mind the final words of the doxology about ascribing glory to God, but he can’t bring himself to sign off so simply as, “Now to him be glory.” Instead, he inserts phrase after phrase about him, that is, God the Father, and about his gospel that he has been writing about for sixteen chapters. Then he comes back to the ascription of glory in verse 27, the last words of the book. So put the beginning and the ending together from the beginning of verse 25 and from verse 27: “Now unto him . . . [27] to the only wise God be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.”

This isn’t the only place Paul used a doxology. There was one in Romans 11:36 at the climax of the first eleven chapters before Paul began to unfold the more immediate implications of what he had taught: “For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.” (See also Philippians 4:20 and Ephesians 3:20-21).

And Paul wasn’t the only one who loved doxologies. Peter said in 1 Peter 4:11, “To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” John the apostle said in Revelation 1:5-6, “To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood and made us a kingdom, priests to his God and Father, to him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” And Jude, the Lord’s brother, wrote the most famous doxology of all (Jude 1:24-25), “Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.”

So when you hear a doxology pronounced or sung, know that it is a biblical, apostolic form of speaking rooted in the all-important and all-embracing truth that everything exists to draw attention to the glory of God.

That is what we are dealing with in the last five weeks of Romans. It is very long for a doxology and very dense with truth about God and the gospel. You may be sure that as Paul ends what for him was the longest and greatest letter he had ever written, he would not use throw away words. Every word matters. These are his last words to the Romans. They could be his last words to you. I hope you will listen carefully and I hope you will come back in these final weeks of the year to see all five angles on this doxology.

God Uses the Gospel to Strengthen Believers

Today, I mainly want to focus on the statement that God strengthens his people according to his gospel. Verse 25: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel.” Everything Paul says in verses 25 and 26 is an unpacking of the gospel which strengthens believers. This gospel which strengthens is “the preaching of Jesus Christ” (v. 25b). Jesus is the central reality of the gospel. This gospel is “according to the revelation of the mystery that was kept secret for long ages” (v. 25c). That’s the mystery that the Gentiles—the nations—are full fellow citizens with Jewish believers by faith in Jesus (Ephesians 3:6). That good news “has now been disclosed” (v. 26a), and even though it was hidden in past ages, it is the very Old Testament “prophetic writings” (v. 26b) themselves that Paul uses to reveal the mystery to “all nations” (v. 26b). And all of this good news for the nations was “the command of the eternal God” and aims at “the obedience of faith” (v. 26c).

All of that is an unpacking of the gospel in verse 25 which God uses to strengthen believers so that they will indeed persevere in the obedience of faith and draw all attention to the glory of God.

So the focus today is on this amazing fact: At the end of this book, as Paul puts the words of his final doxology on his lips, what he chooses to ascribe to God is that God is able to strengthen you with his gospel. When he ends by calling all attention to the glory of God, he does so in a way that makes that glory shine more brightly in God’s strengthening you, his people who believe the gospel.

The God Who Strengthens to His Glory

Now there is something here so wonderful I don’t want to pass over it too quickly lest you miss it. So let me say the obvious again and then draw out the less obvious. The obvious fact is that of all the things he could have said about what God does or has done that draws attention to his glory, of all the dozens of great acts of God and all the great abilities of God, he chooses to highlight one thing: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore . . . .” He does say that God is wise, and that God hid something for ages, and that he revealed something for the sake of the nations, and that he did all this by his eternal command. Yes. But the way Paul has set up this doxology, all of that is serving to support and explain this one main thing: God is able to strengthen you. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory for evermore . . . .”

Now that is the obvious fact. Here’s what is less obvious but crystal clear once someone draws it to our attention. Many kings in history and many dictators today intend to get glory. They want to be known as strong and rich and wise. And how have they done it? By keeping their citizens weak and poor and uneducated. An educated people is a threat to a dictator. A prosperous middle class is a threat to a dictator. A strong people is a threat to the strength of a dictator. So what do they do? They secure their own power by keeping their people weak. They get their glory by standing on the backs of a broken people. Just look at the regime of Islom Karimov in Uzbekistan. And we could mention many others—little kings who keep their people weak so that they can be strong and rich.

The Glory of God in Gospel Strength

But now contrast the way Paul draws attention to the glory of God. If any king ever had the right to display all his glory by stepping on the backs of a rebellious people, it is God. But what does he do? He displays his glory by making his people strong. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore . . . .” God magnifies his glory by making you strong with his gospel. God feels no threat from your strength at all. In fact, the stronger you are in faith and hope and love through the gospel of Jesus Christ, the greater he appears. God does not secure his strength by keeping his people weak. He magnifies the glory of his strength by making his people strong. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory.”

Therefore, when Paul makes the glory of God the ultimate goal of the gospel—when he closes his greatest of all letters by drawing attention to the supreme worth of the glory of God—this is not bad news for us. Unless we want to have that glory for ourselves. Why is this not bad news for us? Because our God draws attention to his glory by making his undeserving people strong. The greater the glory of God, the more resources for our strength. The more manifold and wonderful the glory of God, the more manifold and wonderful the source of our strength. “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory for evermore.”

Strength in the Gospel

What kind of strength does Paul mean that God is able to give? Well, God can give whatever kind of strength he wants—“By my God I can leap over a wall” (Psalm 18:29). But here he means the same kind of strength that he referred to in Romans 1:11-12, “I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen (stērikthēnai, the same word as in 16:25) you—that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other's faith, both yours and mine.” The substance of this strength is faith in Jesus Christ.

Strength for Women in the Gospel

It’s not a strength that the world knows or gives. Women, teenage girls, what do you think of when you think of being a strong woman? Or little girls, when you think of growing up to be a strong woman what do you dream? Getting this clear is important because God wants you to be strong, and both the Bible and experience tell you that in one sense you are the weaker vessel (1 Peter 3:7)—95% of the adult males in the world are physically stronger than 95% of the adult females. When you dream about being a strong woman what should you dream?

The world will tell you three ways to pursue your strength: One is by being sexy, dressing sexy, acting sexy, because men are such suckers, you can get power over them that way. Another is by being assertive, forceful, aggressive, self-confident. And third, be smart and move through all the channels of influence into positions of power. None of those is the strength Paul is talking about when he says, “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . .”

Paul has in mind the inner strength that Peter mentioned for women in 1 Peter 3:6 where Peter tells the women to be like Sarah and the holy women of old: “You are her children, if you do good and do not fear anything that is frightening.” And the kind of strength that Proverbs 31:25 is talking about when it says, “Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.”

In other words, women, young girls, dream of being so confident in God, and who you are in God as the daughter of the king of the universe, and what he has done for you and promises to do for you and be for you in Jesus Christ, that you fear nothing but God and laugh at the time to come—no matter what it holds. Sexiness—I promise you will lose it—and the man you get with it is not the kind of man you want. Assertiveness, you will alienate the very kind of people you want to be around. Halls of power, they are like grass: The wind passes over it and it is gone. But the strength that God gives through the gospel abides forever. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel . . . be glory forevermore.”

Strength for Men in the Gospel

Men, boys, what about you? What do you dream of when you dream of being strong? That you can someday hold an Altoids tin and look “curiously strong”? Or to be the best player in a sport? Or to be the most shrewd stock broker and wield the power of money? Or to be educated and read Atlantic Monthly and listen to NPR and drop obscure names in cocktail conversations?

No. Only a fool wants fading power. Only a fool wants power that gives out just when you need it most. I’ll tell you the kind of power God is able to give you through the gospel. It’s the power to lead your wife and family in devotions; the power to say a simple word of truth when highly educated, secular, elitist complexity is all around you; the power to stand your ground and say no to a sinful behavior when everyone else is calling you weak; the power to press on against all obstacles in a cause of justice and mercy and truth when you feel that you have no more motivation.

Strength for All in the Gospel

God is able to strengthen all of you—men and women—with a kind of inner strength of soul through faith in Christ that makes you stronger in a wheelchair than ten thousand moral jellyfish drifting on two legs with the current of modern culture. What we want is the kind of strength that will be here when we are paralyzed and can only answer questions with our eyelids. And we know where it comes from: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore.”

We Never Outgrow Our Need for the Gospel

And one final crucial observation that we will be have been unfolding for seven years and will be unfolding for four more sermons from Romans and I pray every sermon till Jesus comes—God strengthens us through the gospel: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel.”

The heart of the gospel is that Jesus Christ, the righteous one, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation, but everlasting joy, for those who trust him. You never, never, never outgrow your need for this gospel. You don’t begin the Christian life with this and then leave it behind and get stronger with something else. God strengthens us with the gospel to the day we die.

Gospel Strength over Cancer

I’ll give you one closing illustration from my own life—and many of you have greater stories to tell than I do because your strength has been tested more deeply. But I will remind you of what God did for me back in February when the cancer diagnosis came. God strengthened me with the gospel. You may recall the very verses he used. None were more important for me. First Thessalonians 5:9-10, “God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him.”

Therefore, everything in me says, and hopes to say when the final diagnosis comes, “Now to him who is able to strengthen me according to my gospel . . . be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.”

Our God has worked in history to defeat sin and Satan and hell and death. He did this through the gospel of Jesus Christ. Embrace this gospel as the greatest treasure of your life. God will magnify his glory in making you strong.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org