上帝用福音坚固我们

“惟有神能照我所传的福音和所讲的耶稣基督,并照永古隐藏不言的奥秘,坚固你们的心。这奥秘如今显明出来,而且按着永生神的命,藉众先知的书指示万国的民,使他们信服真道。愿荣耀因耶稣基督归与独一全智的神,直到永远。阿们!”

人类书信中最伟大的一封,就是保罗的《罗马书》,今天,我们要用其中最后一段,来开始这篇释经讲道。你们有些人心里会这么问:我们是否很快就要把《罗马书》讲完了?七年半以前,1998年4月26日开始讲解这卷书的时候,你们大部分人还不在这里。你们好多人甚至把自己来到伯利恒教会的时间,用当时在教会讲台上所讲解的罗马书的章节来界定。现在,这个结尾终于临近了。为了消除所有的悬念,帮助你们预备好这个过渡,我会把计划告诉你们。

缓慢、渐进地迎接基督降临节的来到

这最后的段落(《罗马书》16:25-27),把书信中许多关键主题融合在了一起,以至于给我们一个很好的机会,可以作一个缓慢、渐进的软着陆。我们同行七年的这个航班,不会以一个急剧降落的方式来结束。这是一个很大的喷气式飞机,不会从天空突然落地,就像派珀飞机制造公司的轻型飞机(Piper-Cub)那样。我计划要花五周时间在这三节经文上,就是说,我希望在12月24日的主日,来结束整个罗马书的讲道。那是圣诞节的前一天——平安夜,对我们是个很合适的高潮。请大家跟我一同祷告,求神使用这些个基督复临节的礼拜天(从下周开始),让它们成为我们有史以来最有能力的季节,一同来高举基督,并且得以看到更多的人归信基督,能够在他里面有信心,被建立。

颂歌往往是让人们来关注上帝的荣耀

《罗马书》中最后的三节经文,通常被称为颂歌。颂歌(doxology)这个词在希腊文中,是由doxa,其意思是荣耀,再加上logos,其意思是话语,来组成的。因此颂歌就是把荣耀归与上帝的话语。新约圣经里面那诸多颂赞背后的信念就是,万事万物的存在和发生,都是为了引领人们去关注上帝的荣耀。因此颂赞常出现于一些讲道和写作的高潮和结尾处。我也想加入保罗的行列,要述说这样的话,但愿到今天为止我所说的一切,都能够照着我所祷告的,把人们的关注点引到上帝的荣耀上来。

因此,保罗在25节开始了他最后那段颂歌(“惟有神……”),当他这么写的时候,脑海中应该已经有了这段颂歌的最后那些字句,也就是把荣耀归给神,但是,他却不能够用简短的话语来匆匆作出结论,只是说,“愿荣耀归与神。”反而呢,他插入了好多短语,来描写这位神,也就是这位父神,以及关于他的福音,也就是他花了十六章来论述的福音。在此之后,他才在27节回过头来,完成赞美神荣耀的话语,那也就是这本书的最后的话。所以,如果我们把这里的开头和结尾放在一起,亦即把25节的开头和27节联系起来,就有了:“惟有神……[27] 愿荣耀因耶稣基督归与独一全智的神,直到永远。阿们! ”

这并不是保罗采用颂歌的唯一之处。在《罗马书》11:36那里已经有一处,那是之前十一章经文的高潮处,也是在保罗进一步展开关于他前面所写的内容之实际应用之前,“因为万有都是本于他,倚靠他,归于他。愿荣耀归给他,直到永远。阿们!”(参腓4:20,弗3:20-21)。

喜欢使用颂歌的不止保罗一位。彼得在《彼得前书》4:11写道,“原来荣耀、权能都是他的,直到永永远远。阿们!”使徒约翰在《启示录》1:5-6写道,“他爱我们,用自己的血使我们脱离(有古卷:洗去)罪恶,又使我们成为国民,作他父神的祭司。但愿荣耀、权能归给他,直到永永远远。阿们!”还有耶稣的弟弟,犹大,写下了那最为著名的三一颂(犹1:24-25),“那能保守你们不失脚、叫你们无瑕无疵、欢欢喜喜站在他荣耀之前的我们的救主独一的神,愿荣耀、威严、能力、权柄,因我们的主耶稣基督归与他,从万古以前并现今,直到永永远远。阿们。”

因此,当你听到一首颂歌被人宣告或者歌唱出来时,应该明白,那实在是从使徒时代就有的一种说话方式,根植于那个无比重要、囊括一切的真理,就是:万事万物的存在,都是为着把人们的注意力,吸引到上帝的荣耀上面。

这也就是我们在最近五个星期里学习的《罗马书》的信息。对于一个颂赞的表达来说,这里的篇幅是相当长的了,并且它还包含了很深邃的关于上帝和福音的真理。你可以很确定地知道,这是保罗书信中最长也是最伟大的一篇,因此结束这样一封书信时,他肯定不会随便用些陈芝麻烂谷子的词汇,每个字都必定是精雕细琢之后特选的。这些就是他要对罗马人所说的最后的话语了——也可能成为他要对你说的最后的话语了。我希望你能很仔细地聆听,并且我希望你在年终这最后几个礼拜继续回来聚会,好从所有的五个角度来察看这首颂歌。

上帝使用福音来坚固信徒

今天,我想把注意力集中在这个陈述句上,那就是,上帝按照他的福音来坚固自己的百姓。25节说:“惟有神能照我所传的福音……坚固你们的心。”保罗在25节和26节所说的每一件事,都是要分解福音真道,来坚固信徒。这个能够坚固人的福音乃是“讲的耶稣基督”(25节中的短语)。耶稣就是福音的核心事实。这个福音乃是“照永古隐藏不言的奥秘”(25节中的短语)。那奥秘就是:所有外邦人——列国和万族的人——借着在耶稣里的信心,都可以跟犹太人的信徒一样,成为完全符合资格的神国公民(弗3:6)。这个好消息“如今显明出来”(26节前半句),并且,尽管这是在过去的时代被隐藏了的,却也正是借着旧约“众先知的书”本身,被保罗所使用,要来揭开这奥秘,而且向“万国的民”指示出来了(26节中间)。而这个给万国的好消息,整个的就是“永生神的命令”,并且其目标就是要“使他们信服真道”(26节后半句)。

所有这些都是在解明25节的福音,而上帝就是用这个福音来坚固信徒的,好叫他们在信服真道方面,可以确实地忍耐到底,并且把所有的注意力,都吸引到神的荣耀上面。

因此今天的聚焦点就在这个令人称奇的事实上面:在这本书的末尾,当保罗把他的最后之颂歌的词句提到嗓子眼的时候,他所选取、要归功于上帝的,乃是:上帝能够用他的福音来坚固你。当他在文章的结尾,呼召人们把全部注意力集中在神的荣耀上时,他采用的方式就是,要借助于论述“神对你们的坚固”(即那些相信福音的神的百姓)这个事实,使那个荣耀更加强烈地照射出来。

那位为着他的荣耀而坚固人的上帝

其实这里有一些非常奇妙的事情,我可不想轻易地一语带过,恐怕你来不及掌握。因此,先让我把那明显的部分重复一下,然后再带出那些不太明显的部分。这个明显的事实就是,为着把读者的注意力吸引到上帝的荣耀上,保罗在其论述中本来可以有许多选择,他本来可以述说上帝曾经的作为或是现今的作为,或是述说上百件关于上帝的伟大行动和上帝那诸般的大能,但是,他却单单突出强调一件事情:“惟有神能……坚固你们的心……愿荣耀……归与……神,直到永远……”他的确也说到上帝的独一全智,并且上帝从万古以来都在做着某些事,以及上帝为着万国万民的缘故指示了某些事,以及上帝所作的这一切都是按着永恒的命令。没错。但是呢,保罗架构这个颂歌的方式,是要告诉我们,所有这些都是要来支持和解释一件主要的事情:上帝能够坚固你们。“惟有神能……坚固你们的心……愿荣耀……归与……神,直到永远……”

这就是那明显的事实。接下来是那个不太明显的,然而却也是如水晶般清晰的,一旦有人帮我们把注意力放准确了。在历史当中有许多君王,并且今天也有许多独裁者,都很想让自己得着荣耀。他们希望被人们推崇,让人们说他们强大、富足、有智慧。他们如何做到这些的呢?往往是借助于把他们的国民保持在一种脆弱、贫穷和缺乏教育的状态。任何一群受过教育的人,都会对独裁者构成威胁。并且,一群富有的中产阶级也会对独裁者构成威胁。强大的人民对于独裁者的权力,也构成威胁。因此,他们怎么做呢?他们就是要借助于让百姓们软弱,好保证他们自己的权力不受挑战。他们得着荣耀的方式,就是要靠着站在那些心酸疲弱的百姓的背脊上面。只要看一下乌兹别克斯坦的总统伊斯拉姆·卡里莫夫和他的政权,就可以得到印证。而且我们还可以举出许多的其它的例子来——那些只有小人之心的君王借着迫使百姓们疲弱而让自己显得强大和富有。

福音力量当中的神的荣耀

现在我们来对照一下,保罗是怎么以上帝的荣耀来吸引人们的注意。按说,有史以来最有权利,站在一群悖逆的百姓的脊背上,来彰显自己荣耀的君王,应该是非上帝莫属了。然而上帝作的是什么呢?他彰显自己荣耀的方式,竟然是借着让自己的百姓们力量坚固。“惟有神能……坚固你们的心……愿荣耀……归与……神,直到永远……”上帝就是要用他的福音,来使得你们坚强,好彰显他的荣耀。上帝从来都不会因着你们有力量,而受到任何的威胁。事实上,你们越是借着耶稣基督的福音,在信、望、爱方面变得刚强,就越发显示出上帝的伟大。上帝不需要借助于迫使他的百姓们柔弱,来确保自己的地位和权柄。他诚然是借着使他的百姓强壮,来彰显他能力之荣耀。“惟有神能……坚固你们的心……愿荣耀……归与……神……”

所以,当保罗把神的荣耀当做福音的终极目标时——也就是当他就要结束其最伟大的书信之时,借着把读者的注意力吸引到上帝的荣耀那无比超越的价值上面时——这对我们而言绝不是个坏消息。除非有人想把那个荣耀据为己有。为什么说,这对于我们不是坏消息呢?因为,我们的神,在邀请人们关注他自己的荣耀时,乃是借助于让他的那些原本不配的百姓得着坚固。这样一来,上帝越是有荣耀,我们力量的源泉就越发丰富。上帝的荣耀越是多姿多彩、越是奇妙非常,我们力量的源泉也就更加多样化和神奇。“惟有神能……坚固你们的心……愿荣耀……归与……神,直到永远……”

福音中的力量

保罗提到的那个上帝能够赐下的力量,是怎样的力量呢?我们知道,上帝能够按照自己的心意赐下各式各样的力量——“我……藉着我的神跳过墙垣”(诗18:29)。但是在这里,他所说的力量,就如同《罗马书》1:11-12的力量,“因为我切切的想见你们,要把些属灵的恩赐分给你们,使你们可以坚固(stērikthēnai, 该希腊字跟16:25那里是同一个字)。 这样,我在你们中间,因你与我彼此的信心,就可以同得安慰。”这力量的实质,就是在耶稣基督里的信心。

福音当中赐给女士们的力量

这不是世界所能认识和给予的力量。妇女们,少女们,你想象中的坚强女性,会是什么样子呢?或者小女孩们,当你想要长大之后成为一个坚强的女人时,你的梦想是怎样的呢?把这个事情弄清楚是挺重要的,因为上帝就是希望你坚强,并且,无论是圣经还是生活经历,都在告诉你,在某种意义上,你们乃是那软弱的器皿(彼前3:7)——世界上95%的男性在身体结构方面要比95%的女性来得强壮的。所以,当你梦想自己成为一个坚强的女人时,你应该怎么样来设计这个梦想呢?

这个世界会告诉你,追求力量的途径有三条:一,成为性感的人,你的穿着要性感,举止要性感,因为男人都是被性欲驱使的动物,你这样做就可以在力量上牵制和胜过他们。另一个是,要成为坚定和决断的人,要有冲锋陷阵的魄力,要有心,要自信。第三条途径,就是要奸诈精明,利用一切可能的有影响力的渠道,获得权力。但是,当他说,“惟有神能……坚固你们的心……”时,说的不是这些力量。

保罗所说的力量,乃是一种发自内心生命的力量,就像彼得在《彼得前书》3:6说的、妇女应有的那种力量,彼得鼓励姐妹们效法撒拉以及古时仰赖神的圣洁妇人:“你们若行善,不因恐吓而害怕,便是撒拉的女儿了。”这也正是《箴言》31:25所说的那种力量:“能力和威仪是她的衣服;她想到日后的景况就喜笑。”

换言之,妇女们,少女们,因着想到自己可以在神的里面而非常自信,并且想到自己在神里面乃是宇宙之王的女儿,以及上帝在耶稣基督里已经替你作成、应许将来要替你完成的,还有神现今时时刻刻都与你同行等等,你就毫无惧怕,只想好好敬畏神,并且为着日后的景况而喜笑——不管明天会是怎样的光景。性感——我敢保证你终究会失去的——帮助你捕获的那位男士,并不是你所需要的那种男人。决断,会使你想要靠近的人却偏偏躲避你。名人馆和有权柄的人士,他们尽都如草:热风刮起,草就枯干。唯有上帝借着福音所赐下的力量,却要存到永远。“惟有神能……坚固你们的心……愿荣耀……归与……神,直到永远……”

福音当中赐给男士们的力量

男士们,男孩们,你们又是如何呢?当你梦想成为强大的人时,你的梦想是怎么样的呢?你能够在某天手里拿着欧托滋牌子的口香糖小铁盒,然后看起来“不可思议的强壮”吗?或者,成为某项体育运动的最好的队员?或者,成为最精明的股票经纪人,可以自如地摆弄钱财?或者,成为一个有学识的人,可以读得懂《亚特兰大月刊》,听得明白国家公共广播NPR的节目,以及在一些鸡尾酒会的对话当中,时不时说出几个你认识的大人物的名字,是这样吗?

不是的。只有傻瓜才想要那种稍纵即逝的能力。那些在你真正需要的时候却掉链子的所谓的能力。我想告诉你的,乃是上帝所能赐下的那种能力,并且是借助福音而赐给你的。这种能力可以让你在灵修时带领你的家人;可以让你在被那些高级知识分子以及世俗的、精英的纷繁复杂包围时,说出简单明了的真理;可以在别人都称你为弱者的时候,依然坚定自己的立场,对一个罪恶的行为断然说不;可以在你觉得失去动力的时候,依然能继续顶着各样的阻挠,坚持某个合乎公义、怜悯、和真理的事业。

福音当中赐给所有的人的力量

上帝有能力,借着一种内在的灵魂的力量,也就是借着在基督里的信心,坚固你们所有的人——男人和女人,让你即使坐在轮椅上,也要胜过成千上万在道德方面软弱的无能者,他们如同长着两条腿的水母,跟着现代文化的潮水随波逐流。我们所需要的是那种力量,即使我们瘫痪了,只剩下眼皮还能动一动以便回应他人的问询时,它依然在那里,依然靠得住。并且,我们知道这样的力量是从哪里来的:“惟有神能……坚固你们的心……愿荣耀……归与……神,直到永远……”

我们永远都不会长大到不再需要福音的程度

这里,我们要讨论最后一个观察,这观察在过去七年中已经展开,并且在将来的四场关于《罗马书》的讲道中要继续探讨,而且我祈求能够在主来之前的每一篇讲道中把它带出来——上帝借着福音坚固我们:“惟有神能照我所传的福音……坚固你们的心。”

福音的核心信息,就是耶稣基督,这位义者,为着我们的罪而死,并且复活了,永远胜过了他所有的仇敌,好叫那些信靠他的人,不再被定罪,而是拥有永恒的喜乐。对于这个福音,你永远、永远、永远都不会长大到不再需要它的程度。你不可能只是借着福音开始了基督徒的生活,然后就把它放在身后,再借助其它的某些东西继续成长壮大。其实,直到我们死亡离开世界的那一天,上帝都会继续使用福音来坚固我们。

胜过癌症的福音力量

在结束的时候,我举一个自己生命中的例子——你们当中有许多人可以讲述比我的例子更加奇妙的故事,因为你们的力量在试炼中被更加深入地考验过。不过我要提醒大家回忆的,乃是在二月份的时候,当那个癌症的诊断书出来的时候,上帝为我所作的事情。上帝就是用福音来坚固了我的。你或许还记得他所用的那几节经文。对我来说,再没有比那些更重要的啦。《帖撒罗尼迦前书》5:9-10,“因为神不是预定我们受刑,乃是预定我们藉着我们主耶稣基督得救。他替我们死,叫我们无论醒着、睡着,都与他同活。 ”

所以,当那个最后的诊断出来的时候,我里面的一切都在说,都在期盼着要说,“惟有神能照我所传的福音……坚固我的心……愿荣耀因耶稣基督归与……神,直到永远。阿们!”

我们的神已经在历史当中工作,打败了罪恶、撒旦、地狱和死亡。他就是借着耶稣基督的福音作成这一切的。来吧,拥抱这个福音吧,把它当成你生命中最珍贵的财宝。那样,上帝就会借着使你得坚固,彰显他的荣耀。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

God Strengthens Us by the Gospel

Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery that was kept secret for long ages 26 but has now been disclosed and through the prophetic writings has been made known to all nations, according to the command of the eternal God, to bring about the obedience of faith—27 to the only wise God be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.

Today we begin the last paragraph of the greatest letter ever written, Paul’s letter to the Romans. At least some of you will be asking the question: Are we almost finished with the book of Romans? Most of you were not here when we started the book on April 26, 1998, seven-and-a-half years ago. Many of you date your arrival at Bethlehem by the chapter of Romans in which you came. Now the end is drawing near. To remove all suspense and help you prepare for the transition, I will tell you the plan.

A Slow, Gradual Landing in Advent

This last paragraph (Romans 16:25-27) draws together so many crucial themes of the letter that it provides a very good way to come in for a slow, gradual landing. Our seven-year flight together will not end with a steep descent. It’s a big jet and doesn’t drop out of the sky like a Piper-Cub. My plan is to spend five weeks on these three verses, which means that I hope to complete the book of Romans on Sunday, December 24, the day before Christmas—Christmas Eve seems like a fitting climax. Would you pray with me that God would make these advent Sundays (starting next week) the most powerful season we have ever known in exalting Christ, and seeing people converted to faith and built up in him.

Doxologies Draw Attention to the Glory of God

The last three verses of the book of Romans are what we usually call a doxology. The word doxology comes from the Greek words doxa, which means glory, and logos, which means word. So a doxology is a word that ascribes glory to God. The conviction behind New Testament doxologies is that everything exists and everything happens to draw attention to the glory of God. That’s why doxologies tend to occur at climactic and final moments of preaching or writing. I join with Paul in saying that everything I have said up till now will, I pray, draw all attention to the glory of God.

So Paul begins his closing doxology in verse 25 (Now to him . . .”), and as he writes that, he has in mind the final words of the doxology about ascribing glory to God, but he can’t bring himself to sign off so simply as, “Now to him be glory.” Instead, he inserts phrase after phrase about him, that is, God the Father, and about his gospel that he has been writing about for sixteen chapters. Then he comes back to the ascription of glory in verse 27, the last words of the book. So put the beginning and the ending together from the beginning of verse 25 and from verse 27: “Now unto him . . . [27] to the only wise God be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.”

This isn’t the only place Paul used a doxology. There was one in Romans 11:36 at the climax of the first eleven chapters before Paul began to unfold the more immediate implications of what he had taught: “For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.” (See also Philippians 4:20 and Ephesians 3:20-21).

And Paul wasn’t the only one who loved doxologies. Peter said in 1 Peter 4:11, “To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” John the apostle said in Revelation 1:5-6, “To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood and made us a kingdom, priests to his God and Father, to him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” And Jude, the Lord’s brother, wrote the most famous doxology of all (Jude 1:24-25), “Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.”

So when you hear a doxology pronounced or sung, know that it is a biblical, apostolic form of speaking rooted in the all-important and all-embracing truth that everything exists to draw attention to the glory of God.

That is what we are dealing with in the last five weeks of Romans. It is very long for a doxology and very dense with truth about God and the gospel. You may be sure that as Paul ends what for him was the longest and greatest letter he had ever written, he would not use throw away words. Every word matters. These are his last words to the Romans. They could be his last words to you. I hope you will listen carefully and I hope you will come back in these final weeks of the year to see all five angles on this doxology.

God Uses the Gospel to Strengthen Believers

Today, I mainly want to focus on the statement that God strengthens his people according to his gospel. Verse 25: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel.” Everything Paul says in verses 25 and 26 is an unpacking of the gospel which strengthens believers. This gospel which strengthens is “the preaching of Jesus Christ” (v. 25b). Jesus is the central reality of the gospel. This gospel is “according to the revelation of the mystery that was kept secret for long ages” (v. 25c). That’s the mystery that the Gentiles—the nations—are full fellow citizens with Jewish believers by faith in Jesus (Ephesians 3:6). That good news “has now been disclosed” (v. 26a), and even though it was hidden in past ages, it is the very Old Testament “prophetic writings” (v. 26b) themselves that Paul uses to reveal the mystery to “all nations” (v. 26b). And all of this good news for the nations was “the command of the eternal God” and aims at “the obedience of faith” (v. 26c).

All of that is an unpacking of the gospel in verse 25 which God uses to strengthen believers so that they will indeed persevere in the obedience of faith and draw all attention to the glory of God.

So the focus today is on this amazing fact: At the end of this book, as Paul puts the words of his final doxology on his lips, what he chooses to ascribe to God is that God is able to strengthen you with his gospel. When he ends by calling all attention to the glory of God, he does so in a way that makes that glory shine more brightly in God’s strengthening you, his people who believe the gospel.

The God Who Strengthens to His Glory

Now there is something here so wonderful I don’t want to pass over it too quickly lest you miss it. So let me say the obvious again and then draw out the less obvious. The obvious fact is that of all the things he could have said about what God does or has done that draws attention to his glory, of all the dozens of great acts of God and all the great abilities of God, he chooses to highlight one thing: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore . . . .” He does say that God is wise, and that God hid something for ages, and that he revealed something for the sake of the nations, and that he did all this by his eternal command. Yes. But the way Paul has set up this doxology, all of that is serving to support and explain this one main thing: God is able to strengthen you. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory for evermore . . . .”

Now that is the obvious fact. Here’s what is less obvious but crystal clear once someone draws it to our attention. Many kings in history and many dictators today intend to get glory. They want to be known as strong and rich and wise. And how have they done it? By keeping their citizens weak and poor and uneducated. An educated people is a threat to a dictator. A prosperous middle class is a threat to a dictator. A strong people is a threat to the strength of a dictator. So what do they do? They secure their own power by keeping their people weak. They get their glory by standing on the backs of a broken people. Just look at the regime of Islom Karimov in Uzbekistan. And we could mention many others—little kings who keep their people weak so that they can be strong and rich.

The Glory of God in Gospel Strength

But now contrast the way Paul draws attention to the glory of God. If any king ever had the right to display all his glory by stepping on the backs of a rebellious people, it is God. But what does he do? He displays his glory by making his people strong. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore . . . .” God magnifies his glory by making you strong with his gospel. God feels no threat from your strength at all. In fact, the stronger you are in faith and hope and love through the gospel of Jesus Christ, the greater he appears. God does not secure his strength by keeping his people weak. He magnifies the glory of his strength by making his people strong. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory.”

Therefore, when Paul makes the glory of God the ultimate goal of the gospel—when he closes his greatest of all letters by drawing attention to the supreme worth of the glory of God—this is not bad news for us. Unless we want to have that glory for ourselves. Why is this not bad news for us? Because our God draws attention to his glory by making his undeserving people strong. The greater the glory of God, the more resources for our strength. The more manifold and wonderful the glory of God, the more manifold and wonderful the source of our strength. “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory for evermore.”

Strength in the Gospel

What kind of strength does Paul mean that God is able to give? Well, God can give whatever kind of strength he wants—“By my God I can leap over a wall” (Psalm 18:29). But here he means the same kind of strength that he referred to in Romans 1:11-12, “I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen (stērikthēnai, the same word as in 16:25) you—that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other's faith, both yours and mine.” The substance of this strength is faith in Jesus Christ.

Strength for Women in the Gospel

It’s not a strength that the world knows or gives. Women, teenage girls, what do you think of when you think of being a strong woman? Or little girls, when you think of growing up to be a strong woman what do you dream? Getting this clear is important because God wants you to be strong, and both the Bible and experience tell you that in one sense you are the weaker vessel (1 Peter 3:7)—95% of the adult males in the world are physically stronger than 95% of the adult females. When you dream about being a strong woman what should you dream?

The world will tell you three ways to pursue your strength: One is by being sexy, dressing sexy, acting sexy, because men are such suckers, you can get power over them that way. Another is by being assertive, forceful, aggressive, self-confident. And third, be smart and move through all the channels of influence into positions of power. None of those is the strength Paul is talking about when he says, “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . .”

Paul has in mind the inner strength that Peter mentioned for women in 1 Peter 3:6 where Peter tells the women to be like Sarah and the holy women of old: “You are her children, if you do good and do not fear anything that is frightening.” And the kind of strength that Proverbs 31:25 is talking about when it says, “Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.”

In other words, women, young girls, dream of being so confident in God, and who you are in God as the daughter of the king of the universe, and what he has done for you and promises to do for you and be for you in Jesus Christ, that you fear nothing but God and laugh at the time to come—no matter what it holds. Sexiness—I promise you will lose it—and the man you get with it is not the kind of man you want. Assertiveness, you will alienate the very kind of people you want to be around. Halls of power, they are like grass: The wind passes over it and it is gone. But the strength that God gives through the gospel abides forever. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel . . . be glory forevermore.”

Strength for Men in the Gospel

Men, boys, what about you? What do you dream of when you dream of being strong? That you can someday hold an Altoids tin and look “curiously strong”? Or to be the best player in a sport? Or to be the most shrewd stock broker and wield the power of money? Or to be educated and read Atlantic Monthly and listen to NPR and drop obscure names in cocktail conversations?

No. Only a fool wants fading power. Only a fool wants power that gives out just when you need it most. I’ll tell you the kind of power God is able to give you through the gospel. It’s the power to lead your wife and family in devotions; the power to say a simple word of truth when highly educated, secular, elitist complexity is all around you; the power to stand your ground and say no to a sinful behavior when everyone else is calling you weak; the power to press on against all obstacles in a cause of justice and mercy and truth when you feel that you have no more motivation.

Strength for All in the Gospel

God is able to strengthen all of you—men and women—with a kind of inner strength of soul through faith in Christ that makes you stronger in a wheelchair than ten thousand moral jellyfish drifting on two legs with the current of modern culture. What we want is the kind of strength that will be here when we are paralyzed and can only answer questions with our eyelids. And we know where it comes from: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore.”

We Never Outgrow Our Need for the Gospel

And one final crucial observation that we will be have been unfolding for seven years and will be unfolding for four more sermons from Romans and I pray every sermon till Jesus comes—God strengthens us through the gospel: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel.”

The heart of the gospel is that Jesus Christ, the righteous one, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation, but everlasting joy, for those who trust him. You never, never, never outgrow your need for this gospel. You don’t begin the Christian life with this and then leave it behind and get stronger with something else. God strengthens us with the gospel to the day we die.

Gospel Strength over Cancer

I’ll give you one closing illustration from my own life—and many of you have greater stories to tell than I do because your strength has been tested more deeply. But I will remind you of what God did for me back in February when the cancer diagnosis came. God strengthened me with the gospel. You may recall the very verses he used. None were more important for me. First Thessalonians 5:9-10, “God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him.”

Therefore, everything in me says, and hopes to say when the final diagnosis comes, “Now to him who is able to strengthen me according to my gospel . . . be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.”

Our God has worked in history to defeat sin and Satan and hell and death. He did this through the gospel of Jesus Christ. Embrace this gospel as the greatest treasure of your life. God will magnify his glory in making you strong.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org