الله يقوّينا بواسطة الإنجيل

وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ، حَسَبَ إِنْجِيلِي وَالْكِرَازَةِ بِيَسُوعَ الْمَسِيحِ، حَسَبَ إِعْلاَنِ السِّرِّ الَّذِي كَانَ مَكْتُومًا فِي الأَزْمِنَةِ الأَزَلِيَّةِ، وَلكِنْ ظَهَرَ الآنَ، وَأُعْلِمَ بِهِ جَمِيعُ الأُمَمِ بِالْكُتُبِ النَّبَوِيَّةِ حَسَبَ أَمْرِ الإِلهِ الأَزَلِيِّ، لإِطَاعَةِ الإِيمَانِ، للهِ الْحَكِيمِ وَحْدَهُ، بِيَسُوعَ الْمَسِيحِ، لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ. آمِينَ.

نبدأ اليوم في الفقرة الأخيرة من أعظم رسالة كتُبت على الإطلاق، وهي رسالة بولس إلى أهل رومية. على الأقل سيطرح بعض منكم السؤال: هل انتهينا تقريبا مع رسالة رومية؟ معظمكم لم يكن هنا عندما بدأنا هذه الرسالة في 26 إبريل، 1998، مضت سبع سنوات ونصف. كثيرون منكم يؤرّخون وصولهم إلى كنيسة بيت لحم من خلال الإصحاح الذي جاء إليه في رومية. إنّ النهاية الآن تقترب. ولإزالة كلّ التشويق ولمساعدتك على التحضير للمرحلة الانتقالية، فسوف أخبركم بالخطة.

هبوطاً تدريجيّاً بطيئاً في موسم عيد ميلاد المسيح:

هذه الفقرة الأخيرة (رومية 16: 25-27) تجمع معا هذا العدد الكبير من المواضيع الهامة للرسالة بحيث أنها تقدم وسيلة جيدة جدا للمجيء إلى وصول بطيء وتدريجي. فرحلتنا التي استغرقت سبع سنوات معا لن تنتهي بهبوط حاد. إنها طائرة كبيرة ولن تسقط من السماء. خطتي هي قضاء خمسة أسابيع في هذه الآيات الثلاث، الأمر الذي يعني أنني أتمنى استكمال رسالة رومية في يوم الأحد، 24 ديسمبر، قبل يوم عيد الميلاد، فليلة عيد الميلاد تبدو وكأنها ذروة مناسبة. هل تصلّون معي كيما يجعل الله هذه الآحاد في موسم عيد الميلاد (اعتبارا من الأسبوع المقبل) من أقوى المواسم التي عرفناها أبدا في تمجيد المسيح، ورؤية الناس تتجدد للإيمان، وتُثبّت فيه.

التسبيحات تلفت الانتباه لمجد الله:

إنّ آخر ثلاث آيات من رسالة رومية هي ما نسميه عادة بـ "التمجيد." كلمة تمجيد تأتي من الكلمات اليونانية doxa، وهو ما تعني المجد، و logos، تعني كلمة. لذا فالتمجيد هي كلمة تنسب المجد إلى الله. القناعة وراء تمجيدات العهد الجديد هي أنّ كلّ شيء موجود وكلّ شيء يحدث للفت الانتباه إلى مجد الله. لهذا السبب تميل التمجيدات إلى أن تحدث في ذروة اللّحظات الأخيرة من الوعظ أو الكتابة. وأضم صوتي مع بولس في القول بأنّ كلّ ما قلته حتى الآن، أصلي أن يلفت كلّ الاهتمام لمجد الله.

هكذا يبدأ بولس تمجيده الختامي في الآية 25 (وَلِلْقَادِرِ... ")، حين يكتب ذلك، كان في ذهنه العبارة الأخيرة من التمجيد بشأن إرجاع المجد إلى الله، لكنه لا يستطيع أن يصل بنفسه لتوقيع الختام ببساطة مثل "الآن له المجد." بدلا من ذلك، يدرج عبارة تلو العبارة عنه، أي، الله الآب، وعن إنجيله الذي كان يكتب عنه في ستة عشر إصحاحا. ثم يعود إلى إرجاع المجد في الآية 27، الكلمات الأخيرة من الرسالة. إذاً ضَعْ البداية والنهاية معا من بداية الآية 25 ومن الآية 27: "وَلِلْقَادِرِ... [27] للهِ الْحَكِيمِ وَحْدَهُ، بِيَسُوعَ الْمَسِيحِ، لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ. آمِينَ.”

هذا ليس هو المكان الوحيد الذي استخدم فيه بولس التمجيد. كان هناك واحد في رومية 11: 36 في ذروة الإصحاحات الأحد عشر الأولى قبل أن يبدأ بولس في شرح الآثار الأكثر فوريّة أكثر لما كان قد علمه: "لأَنَّ مِنْهُ وَبِهِ وَلَهُ كُلَّ الأَشْيَاءِ. لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ. آمِينَ." (انظر أيضا فيلبي 4: 20 وأفسس 3: 20-21).

ولم يكن بولس الوحيد الذي أحب التمجيدات. فقد قال بطرس في 1 بطرس 4: 11 "الَّذِي لَهُ الْمَجْدُ وَالسُّلْطَانُ إِلَى أَبَدِ الآبِدِينَ. آمِينَ." وقال يوحنا الرسول في سفر الرؤيا 1: 5-6 "الَّذِي أَحَبَّنَا، وَقَدْ غَسَّلَنَا مِنْ خَطَايَانَا بِدَمِهِ، وَجَعَلَنَا مُلُوكًا وَكَهَنَةً للهِ أَبِيهِ، لَهُ الْمَجْدُ وَالسُّلْطَانُ إِلَى أَبَدِ الآبِدِينَ. آمِينَ." وكتب يهوذا، أخو الرب، التمجيدة الاكثر شهرة من الكل (يهوذا 1: 24-25) "وَالْقَادِرُ أَنْ يَحْفَظَكُمْ غَيْرَ عَاثِرِينَ، وَيُوقِفَكُمْ أَمَامَ مَجْدِهِ بِلاَ عَيْبٍ فِي الابْتِهَاجِ، الإِلهُ الْحَكِيمُ الْوَحِيدُ مُخَلِّصُنَا، لَهُ الْمَجْدُ وَالْعَظَمَةُ وَالْقُدْرَةُ وَالسُّلْطَانُ، الآنَ وَإِلَى كُلِّ الدُّهُورِ. آمِينَ.”

لذلك عندما تسمع تسبيحاً يُعلنُ أو يُرنّمُ، اعرف أنه كتابيّ، رسوليّ، شكلٌ من الحديث متجذر في حقيقة في غاية الأهمية، وشاملة للغاية، أن كل شيء موجود لجذب الانتباه لمجد الله.

هذا ما سوف نبحث به في الأسابيع الخمسة الأخيرة من رسالة رومية. وهي مدة طويلة جدا للتمجيد ومكثفة جدا بالحق عن الله والإنجيل. يمكنك أن تتأكد أنه مثلما أنهى بولس ما كان بالنسبة له أطول وأعظم رسالة كتبها، أنه لم يستخدم كلمات بلا هدف. بل كلّ كلمة مهمة. فهذه هي كلماته الأخيرة إلى أهل رومية. وربما تكون كلماته الأخيرة لك أيضاً. آمل أن تستمع بعناية وآمل أن ترجع في هذه الأسابيع الأخيرة من السنة لمعرفة جميع الزوايا الخمس في هذا التمجيد.

يستخدم الله الإنجيل ليقوّي المؤمنين:

اليوم، أريد في الدّرجة الأولى أن أركز على حقيقة أنّ الله يقوّي (يثبّت) شعبه حسب إنجيله. الآية 25: "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ، حَسَبَ إِنْجِيلِي." يقول بولس في الآيات 25 و26 أنّ كلّ شيء هو تفصيل للإنجيل الذي يثبت المؤمنين. فهذا الإنجيل الذي يثبت هو "الْكِرَازَةِ بِيَسُوعَ الْمَسِيحِ" (الآية 25ب). فالمسيح هو الواقع المركزي للإنجيل. وهذا الانجيل هو "حَسَبَ إِعْلاَنِ السِّرِّ الَّذِي كَانَ مَكْتُومًا فِي الأَزْمِنَةِ الأَزَلِيَّةِ" (الآية 25ت). هذا هو السّر أنّ الأمم، والشعوب، هم مواطنون تماما مع المؤمنين اليهود عن طريق الايمان في المسيح (أفسس 3: 6) هذه الخبر السّار "ظَهَرَ الآنَ" (الآية 26أ)، وعلى الرغم من أنه كان مكتوما في الأزمنة الأزلية، فإنه العهد القديم ذاته "بِالْكُتُبِ النَّبَوِيَّةِ" (الآية 26ب) أنفسها يستخدمها بولس للإعلان عن السّر لـ "جَمِيعُ الأُمَمِ" (الآية 26ب). وكانت كل هذه الأخبار السارة للأمم "أَمْرِ الإِلهِ الأَزَلِيِّ"، وتهدف "لإِطَاعَةِ الإِيمَانِ" (الآية 26ت).

كل ذلك هو تفريغ للإنجيل في الآية 25 التي يستخدمها لتقوية المؤمنين حتى يتسنى لهم الصمود حقا في طاعة الإيمان ولفت كامل الاهتمام لمجد الله.

وبالتالي فإن التركيز اليوم هو على هذه الحقيقة المذهلة: في نهاية هذه الرسالة، كما يضع بولس كلمات تمجيده الأخيرة على شفتيه، ما اختاره لكي ينسبه إلى الله هو أنّ الله قادر على تثبيتكم بإنجيله. عندما يختم بدعوة كلّ الاهتمام لمجد الله، يفعل ذلك بطريقة تجعل هذا المجد يتألق أكثر لمعانا في تثبيت الله لكم، شعبه الذي يؤمن بالإنجيل.

الله الذي يقوّي من أجل مجده:

والآن يوجد هنا أمرٌ رائع جدا لا أريد أن أمرّ عليه بسرعة شديدة خشية أن يغيب عنكم. لذلك اسمحوا لي أن أقول ما هو واضح مرة أخرى ومن ثم استخلاص ما هو أقل وضوحا. الحقيقة الواضحة هي أنّ كلّ الأشياء التي كان يمكن أن يقولها عما يفعله الله أو ما قام به والتي تلفت الانتباه إلى مجده، عشرات من كل الأعمال العظيمة لله وكل القدرات العظيمة لله، فقد اختار تسليط الضوء على شيء واحد: "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ... لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ..." فهو يقول أن الله حكيم، وأن الله كتم أمرا لأزمنة، وأنه أعلن عن شيء من أجل الأمم، وأنه فعل كل ذلك بأمره الأزلي. نعم. ولكن الطريقة التي وضع من خلالها بولس هذه التمجيدة، كل ذلك يقضي على دعم وشرح هذا الشيء الرئيسي: الله قادر أن يثبتكم. "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ... لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ…"

والآن هذه هي الحقيقة الواضحة. هنا ما هو أقل وضوحا لكنه واضحٌ كالبلور بمجرد أن يوجه شخص ما اهتمامنا إليه. كثيرون في التاريخ وطغاة كثيرون اليوم يعزمون الحصول على المجد. يريدون أن يكونوا معروفين بالقوّة والغنى والحكمة. وكيف فعلوا ذلك؟ عن طريق الحفاظ على مواطنيهم ضعفاء وفقراء وغير متعلمين. فالشعب المتعلم يمثل تهديدا للدكتاتور. والطبقة الوسطى المزدهرة تشكل تهديدا للدكتاتور. والشعب القوي يشكل تهديدا لقوة الطاغية. فماذا يفعلون؟ يأمّنون قوتهم عن طريق إبقاء شعوبهم ضعفاء. يحصلون على مجدهم من خلال الوقوف على أكتاف شعب مكسور. انظر فقط إلى نظام أسلوب كريموف في أوزبكستان. ويمكننا أن نذكر الكثير من الآخرين، ملوكا ضغاراً يحافظون على شعوبهم ضعفاء بحيث يمكنهم أن يكونوا أقوياء وأغنياء.

مجد الله في قوّة الإنجيل:

لكن على النقيض الآن فالطريقة التي يلفت بها بولس الانتباه إلى مجد الله. فإن كان لأي ملك على الإطلاق الحق في استعراض كلّ مجده من خلال الوقوف على ظهور شعب متمرد، فهو الله. لكن ماذا يفعل؟ هو يستعرض مجده من خلال جعل شعبه قويّاً. "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ... لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ..." يعظم الله مجده من خلال جعلك قويّاً بإنجيله. فالله لا يشعر بأي تهديد من قوتك على الإطلاق. في الواقع، كلما أصبحت قويا في الإيمان والرجاء والمحبة من خلال إنجيل يسوع المسيح، كلما بدى هو أعظم. فالله لا يؤمّن قوته عن طريق الحفاظ على شعبه ضعيفا. بل يعظم مجد قوته من خلال جعل شعبه قويّاَ. "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ... لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ…"

لذلك، عندما يجعل بولس من مجد الله الهدف النهائي للإنجيل، عندما يختم أعظم رسالة في كل رسائله من خلال لفت الانتباه إلى القيمة العليا لمجد الله، فهذا ليس خبرا سيئا بالنسبة لنا. إلا إذا كنا نريد هذا المجد لأنفسنا. لماذا هذا ليس خبرا سيئا بالنسبة لنا؟ لأن إلهنا يلفت الانتباه إلى مجده من خلال جعل شعبه الغير مستحق قويا. كلما عظم مجد الله، كلما كان هناك المزيد من الموارد لقوتنا. كلما تضاعف مجد الله وكان رائعا، كلما تضاعف وكان رائعا مصدر قوتنا. "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ... لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ…"

قوّة في الإنجيل:

أيّ نوع من القوّة يقصد بولس أن الله قادر أن يعطي؟ حسنا، يستطيع الله أن يعطي أي نوع كان من الثبات كما يريد "وَبِإِلهِي تَسَوَّرْتُ أَسْوَارًا" (مزمور 18: 29). ولكنه هنا يعني نفس النوع من الثبات الذي يشير إليه في رومية 1: 11-12 "لأَنِّي مُشْتَاقٌ أَنْ أَرَاكُمْ، لِكَيْ أَمْنَحَكُمْ هِبَةً رُوحِيَّةً لِثَبَاتِكُمْ (stērikthēnai، نفس الكلمة كما في 16: 25)، أَيْ لِنَتَعَزَّى بَيْنَكُمْ بِالإِيمَانِ الَّذِي فِينَا جَمِيعًا، إِيمَانِكُمْ وَإِيمَانِي." إن جوهر هذا الثبات هو الإيمان بيسوع المسيح.

قوّة للنساء في الإنجيل:

إنها ليست قوّة كما يعرفها العالم أو يعطيها. أيتها النساء والفتيات في سنّ المراهقة، ماذا تظنّين عندما تفكرين في كونك امرأة قوية؟ أو أيتها الفتيات الصغيرات، عندما تفكرين في النمو لتصبحي امرأة قوية بماذا تحلمين؟ إنّ توضيح هذا الأمر مهم لأن الله يريدكِ أن تكوني قويّة، وكلا الكتاب المقدس والخبرة يقولان لكِ بشكل ما أنتِ الإناء الأضعف (1 بطرس 3: 7) -95٪ من الذكور البالغين في العالم هم أقوى بدنيا أكثر من 95٪ من الإناث البالغات. عندما تحلمين أن تكوني امرأة قوية ماذا ينبغي أن تحلمي؟

سوف يُخبركِ العالم ثلاث طرق لتحقيق قوتك: أولاً بأن تكوني جنسية، بملابس مثيرة جنسيا، وبتصرف مثير جنسيا، وذلك لأن الرجال ينجذبون هكذا، ويمكنك الحصول على السلطة عليهم بهذه الطريقة. ثانيا بأن تكوني حازمة، وقوية، وعدوانية، وواثقة بالنفس. وثالثا، كوني ذكية وتحركي من خلال جميع قنوات النفوذ إلى مناصب السلطة. لا شيء من هذه هو الثبات الذي يتحدث عنه بولس عندما يقول: "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ…"

ففي ذهن بولس القوّة الدّاخليّة التي ذكرها بطرس للنساء في 1 بطرس 3: 6 حيث يخبر بطرس المرأة أن تكون مثل سارة والنساء القديسات في القديم: "الَّتِي صِرْتُنَّ أَوْلاَدَهَا، صَانِعَاتٍ خَيْرًا، وَغَيْرَ خَائِفَاتٍ خَوْفًا الْبَتَّةَ." ونوع القوّة التي يتحدث عنها في أمثال 31: 25 حين يقول: "اَلْعِزُّ وَالْبَهَاءُ لِبَاسُهَا، وَتَضْحَكُ عَلَى الزَّمَنِ الآتِي.”

وبعبارة أخرى، أيتها النساء والفتيات الصغيرات، إحلمن بأن يكون لك ثقة تامة بالله، وما أنتن عليه في الله كابنة لملك الكون، وما فعله لك ويَعِد بأن يفعله لك، وأن يكون لك في المسيح يسوع، ألّا تخافي شيئا إلّا الله واضحكي على الزمن الآتي، بغض النظر عما يحمله. أما بالنسبة للجنس، فأنا أعدكم سوف تفقدونه، والرجل الذي تحصلون عليه به ليس ذلك النوع من الرجال الذي تريدونه. تأكيد الذات، سوف تنفرن من ذات نوع الناس الذين تريدن أن تكنَّ حولهم. فأرْوِقة السّلطة، مثل العشب: تمر الريح عليها وتعصف بها. لكن الثبات الذي يمنحه الله من خلال الإنجيل يثبت إلى الأبد. "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ... لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ…"

قوّة للرجال في الإنجيل:

أيها الرجال والفتيان، ماذا عنكم؟ بماذا تحلمون عندما تحلمون بأن تكونوا اقوياء؟ أن تمسك في يوم ما بعلبة نعناع وتبدو "قوياً بشكل مستغرب"؟ أو أن تكون أفضل لاعب في رياضة؟ أو أن تكون الأكثر مهارة في الأوراق المالية، وأن تمارس سلطة المال؟ أو أن تكون متعلما وتقرأ مجلة الأطلسي الشهري وتستمع إلى إن بي آر وتلقي بأسماء غامضة في محادثات شبه رسمية؟

لا. فقط الأحمق هو الذي يريد السلطة الباهتة. فقط الأحمق هو الذي يريد قوة تنفذ عند الحاجة إليها. أنا اقول لكم نوع القوة التي يمكن لله أن يعطيها لكم من خلال الإنجيل. إنها القدرة على قيادة زوجتك وعائلتك في التكريس، والقدرة على قول كلمة بسيطة من الحقيقة عندما يكون كل ما حولك هو تعقيد النخبة العلمانية المتعلمة، والقدرة على الوقوف على أرض ثابتة، وتقول لا لسلوك آثم حين يدعوك الكل ضعيفا، والقوة على المضي قدما ضد كل العقبات في قضية العدل والرحمة والحق عندما تشعر أنه لا يوجد لديك أي مزيد من الدافع.

قوّة للجميع في الإنجيل:

الله قادر أن يقوّيكم، رجالاً ونساء، بنوع من القوة الداخلية للنفس بالإيمان في المسيح الذي يجعلك أقوى وأنت في كرسي متحرك من عشرة آلاف شخص ضعيف الشخصية أخلاقيا ينجرف بقدمين مع تيار الثقافة الحديثة. ما نريده هو نوع القوّة التي تكون لدينا عندما نكون عاجزين ويمكننا فقط الإجابة على الأسئلة بجفوننا. ونحن نعرف من أين تأتي: "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ... لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ…"

نحن لا نستغني عن حاجتنا للإنجيل أبدا:

وملاحظة واحدة هامة نهائية سنكون قد أوضحناها لمدة سبع سنوات وسنوضحها في أربع عظات أخرى من رسالة رومية، وأصلي أن توضحها كل عظة حتى يأتي المسيح، الله يثبتكم بالإنجيل: "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ، حَسَبَ إِنْجِيلِي.”

إن قلب الإنجيل هو أنّ يسوع المسيح، البار، مات من أجل خطايانا وقام ثانية، منتصرا على كل أعدائه إلى الأبد، بحيث أنه لا دينونة الآن، ولكن فرح أبدي، لأولئك الذين يثقون به. لن تستغني أبداً أبداً عن هذا الإنجيل. فأنت لا تبدأ الحياة المسيحية بهذا، ثم تتركه وراءك وتصبح قويا بشيء آخر. لكن الله يثبتنا بالإنجيل الى يوم مماتنا.

قوّة الإنجيل على السرطان:

سأعطيك مثالا توضيحا ختاميا من حياتي الخاصة، وكثيرون منكم لديهم قصصاً أعظم ليرويها مما لي لأنّ قوّتك قد اختُبرت بشكل أكثر عمقا. ولكن أود أن أذكركم بما فعله الله معي في فبراير الماضي عندما جاء تشخيص السرطان. قوّاني الله بالإنجيل. ولعلكم تذكرون ذات الآيات التي استخدمها. ولم يكن لأي منهم أكثر أهمية بالنسبة لي. تسالونيكي الأولى 5: 9-10 "لأَنَّ اللهَ لَمْ يَجْعَلْنَا لِلْغَضَبِ، بَلْ لاقْتِنَاءِ الْخَلاَصِ بِرَبِّنَا يَسُوعَ الْمَسِيحِ، الَّذِي مَاتَ لأَجْلِنَا، حَتَّى إِذَا سَهِرْنَا أَوْ نِمْنَا نَحْيَا جَمِيعًا مَعَهُ.”

ولذلك، فكلُّ ما فيَّ يقول، ويأمل أن يقول عندما يأتي التشخيص النهائي "وَلِلْقَادِرِ أَنْ يُثَبِّتَكُمْ، حَسَبَ إِنْجِيلِي... لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ. آمِينَ.”

لقد عمل إلهنا في التاريخ لهزيمة الخطية والشيطان والجحيم والموت. وفعل ذلك من خلال إنجيل يسوع المسيح. اقبل هذا الإنجيل على أنه أكبر كنز في حياتك. وسوف يعظم الله مجده في جعلك قويّاً.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

God Strengthens Us by the Gospel

Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery that was kept secret for long ages 26 but has now been disclosed and through the prophetic writings has been made known to all nations, according to the command of the eternal God, to bring about the obedience of faith—27 to the only wise God be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.

Today we begin the last paragraph of the greatest letter ever written, Paul’s letter to the Romans. At least some of you will be asking the question: Are we almost finished with the book of Romans? Most of you were not here when we started the book on April 26, 1998, seven-and-a-half years ago. Many of you date your arrival at Bethlehem by the chapter of Romans in which you came. Now the end is drawing near. To remove all suspense and help you prepare for the transition, I will tell you the plan.

A Slow, Gradual Landing in Advent

This last paragraph (Romans 16:25-27) draws together so many crucial themes of the letter that it provides a very good way to come in for a slow, gradual landing. Our seven-year flight together will not end with a steep descent. It’s a big jet and doesn’t drop out of the sky like a Piper-Cub. My plan is to spend five weeks on these three verses, which means that I hope to complete the book of Romans on Sunday, December 24, the day before Christmas—Christmas Eve seems like a fitting climax. Would you pray with me that God would make these advent Sundays (starting next week) the most powerful season we have ever known in exalting Christ, and seeing people converted to faith and built up in him.

Doxologies Draw Attention to the Glory of God

The last three verses of the book of Romans are what we usually call a doxology. The word doxology comes from the Greek words doxa, which means glory, and logos, which means word. So a doxology is a word that ascribes glory to God. The conviction behind New Testament doxologies is that everything exists and everything happens to draw attention to the glory of God. That’s why doxologies tend to occur at climactic and final moments of preaching or writing. I join with Paul in saying that everything I have said up till now will, I pray, draw all attention to the glory of God.

So Paul begins his closing doxology in verse 25 (Now to him . . .”), and as he writes that, he has in mind the final words of the doxology about ascribing glory to God, but he can’t bring himself to sign off so simply as, “Now to him be glory.” Instead, he inserts phrase after phrase about him, that is, God the Father, and about his gospel that he has been writing about for sixteen chapters. Then he comes back to the ascription of glory in verse 27, the last words of the book. So put the beginning and the ending together from the beginning of verse 25 and from verse 27: “Now unto him . . . [27] to the only wise God be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.”

This isn’t the only place Paul used a doxology. There was one in Romans 11:36 at the climax of the first eleven chapters before Paul began to unfold the more immediate implications of what he had taught: “For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.” (See also Philippians 4:20 and Ephesians 3:20-21).

And Paul wasn’t the only one who loved doxologies. Peter said in 1 Peter 4:11, “To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” John the apostle said in Revelation 1:5-6, “To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood and made us a kingdom, priests to his God and Father, to him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” And Jude, the Lord’s brother, wrote the most famous doxology of all (Jude 1:24-25), “Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.”

So when you hear a doxology pronounced or sung, know that it is a biblical, apostolic form of speaking rooted in the all-important and all-embracing truth that everything exists to draw attention to the glory of God.

That is what we are dealing with in the last five weeks of Romans. It is very long for a doxology and very dense with truth about God and the gospel. You may be sure that as Paul ends what for him was the longest and greatest letter he had ever written, he would not use throw away words. Every word matters. These are his last words to the Romans. They could be his last words to you. I hope you will listen carefully and I hope you will come back in these final weeks of the year to see all five angles on this doxology.

God Uses the Gospel to Strengthen Believers

Today, I mainly want to focus on the statement that God strengthens his people according to his gospel. Verse 25: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel.” Everything Paul says in verses 25 and 26 is an unpacking of the gospel which strengthens believers. This gospel which strengthens is “the preaching of Jesus Christ” (v. 25b). Jesus is the central reality of the gospel. This gospel is “according to the revelation of the mystery that was kept secret for long ages” (v. 25c). That’s the mystery that the Gentiles—the nations—are full fellow citizens with Jewish believers by faith in Jesus (Ephesians 3:6). That good news “has now been disclosed” (v. 26a), and even though it was hidden in past ages, it is the very Old Testament “prophetic writings” (v. 26b) themselves that Paul uses to reveal the mystery to “all nations” (v. 26b). And all of this good news for the nations was “the command of the eternal God” and aims at “the obedience of faith” (v. 26c).

All of that is an unpacking of the gospel in verse 25 which God uses to strengthen believers so that they will indeed persevere in the obedience of faith and draw all attention to the glory of God.

So the focus today is on this amazing fact: At the end of this book, as Paul puts the words of his final doxology on his lips, what he chooses to ascribe to God is that God is able to strengthen you with his gospel. When he ends by calling all attention to the glory of God, he does so in a way that makes that glory shine more brightly in God’s strengthening you, his people who believe the gospel.

The God Who Strengthens to His Glory

Now there is something here so wonderful I don’t want to pass over it too quickly lest you miss it. So let me say the obvious again and then draw out the less obvious. The obvious fact is that of all the things he could have said about what God does or has done that draws attention to his glory, of all the dozens of great acts of God and all the great abilities of God, he chooses to highlight one thing: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore . . . .” He does say that God is wise, and that God hid something for ages, and that he revealed something for the sake of the nations, and that he did all this by his eternal command. Yes. But the way Paul has set up this doxology, all of that is serving to support and explain this one main thing: God is able to strengthen you. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory for evermore . . . .”

Now that is the obvious fact. Here’s what is less obvious but crystal clear once someone draws it to our attention. Many kings in history and many dictators today intend to get glory. They want to be known as strong and rich and wise. And how have they done it? By keeping their citizens weak and poor and uneducated. An educated people is a threat to a dictator. A prosperous middle class is a threat to a dictator. A strong people is a threat to the strength of a dictator. So what do they do? They secure their own power by keeping their people weak. They get their glory by standing on the backs of a broken people. Just look at the regime of Islom Karimov in Uzbekistan. And we could mention many others—little kings who keep their people weak so that they can be strong and rich.

The Glory of God in Gospel Strength

But now contrast the way Paul draws attention to the glory of God. If any king ever had the right to display all his glory by stepping on the backs of a rebellious people, it is God. But what does he do? He displays his glory by making his people strong. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore . . . .” God magnifies his glory by making you strong with his gospel. God feels no threat from your strength at all. In fact, the stronger you are in faith and hope and love through the gospel of Jesus Christ, the greater he appears. God does not secure his strength by keeping his people weak. He magnifies the glory of his strength by making his people strong. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory.”

Therefore, when Paul makes the glory of God the ultimate goal of the gospel—when he closes his greatest of all letters by drawing attention to the supreme worth of the glory of God—this is not bad news for us. Unless we want to have that glory for ourselves. Why is this not bad news for us? Because our God draws attention to his glory by making his undeserving people strong. The greater the glory of God, the more resources for our strength. The more manifold and wonderful the glory of God, the more manifold and wonderful the source of our strength. “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory for evermore.”

Strength in the Gospel

What kind of strength does Paul mean that God is able to give? Well, God can give whatever kind of strength he wants—“By my God I can leap over a wall” (Psalm 18:29). But here he means the same kind of strength that he referred to in Romans 1:11-12, “I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen (stērikthēnai, the same word as in 16:25) you—that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other's faith, both yours and mine.” The substance of this strength is faith in Jesus Christ.

Strength for Women in the Gospel

It’s not a strength that the world knows or gives. Women, teenage girls, what do you think of when you think of being a strong woman? Or little girls, when you think of growing up to be a strong woman what do you dream? Getting this clear is important because God wants you to be strong, and both the Bible and experience tell you that in one sense you are the weaker vessel (1 Peter 3:7)—95% of the adult males in the world are physically stronger than 95% of the adult females. When you dream about being a strong woman what should you dream?

The world will tell you three ways to pursue your strength: One is by being sexy, dressing sexy, acting sexy, because men are such suckers, you can get power over them that way. Another is by being assertive, forceful, aggressive, self-confident. And third, be smart and move through all the channels of influence into positions of power. None of those is the strength Paul is talking about when he says, “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you . . . .”

Paul has in mind the inner strength that Peter mentioned for women in 1 Peter 3:6 where Peter tells the women to be like Sarah and the holy women of old: “You are her children, if you do good and do not fear anything that is frightening.” And the kind of strength that Proverbs 31:25 is talking about when it says, “Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.”

In other words, women, young girls, dream of being so confident in God, and who you are in God as the daughter of the king of the universe, and what he has done for you and promises to do for you and be for you in Jesus Christ, that you fear nothing but God and laugh at the time to come—no matter what it holds. Sexiness—I promise you will lose it—and the man you get with it is not the kind of man you want. Assertiveness, you will alienate the very kind of people you want to be around. Halls of power, they are like grass: The wind passes over it and it is gone. But the strength that God gives through the gospel abides forever. “Now unto him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel . . . be glory forevermore.”

Strength for Men in the Gospel

Men, boys, what about you? What do you dream of when you dream of being strong? That you can someday hold an Altoids tin and look “curiously strong”? Or to be the best player in a sport? Or to be the most shrewd stock broker and wield the power of money? Or to be educated and read Atlantic Monthly and listen to NPR and drop obscure names in cocktail conversations?

No. Only a fool wants fading power. Only a fool wants power that gives out just when you need it most. I’ll tell you the kind of power God is able to give you through the gospel. It’s the power to lead your wife and family in devotions; the power to say a simple word of truth when highly educated, secular, elitist complexity is all around you; the power to stand your ground and say no to a sinful behavior when everyone else is calling you weak; the power to press on against all obstacles in a cause of justice and mercy and truth when you feel that you have no more motivation.

Strength for All in the Gospel

God is able to strengthen all of you—men and women—with a kind of inner strength of soul through faith in Christ that makes you stronger in a wheelchair than ten thousand moral jellyfish drifting on two legs with the current of modern culture. What we want is the kind of strength that will be here when we are paralyzed and can only answer questions with our eyelids. And we know where it comes from: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you . . . be glory forevermore.”

We Never Outgrow Our Need for the Gospel

And one final crucial observation that we will be have been unfolding for seven years and will be unfolding for four more sermons from Romans and I pray every sermon till Jesus comes—God strengthens us through the gospel: “Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel.”

The heart of the gospel is that Jesus Christ, the righteous one, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation, but everlasting joy, for those who trust him. You never, never, never outgrow your need for this gospel. You don’t begin the Christian life with this and then leave it behind and get stronger with something else. God strengthens us with the gospel to the day we die.

Gospel Strength over Cancer

I’ll give you one closing illustration from my own life—and many of you have greater stories to tell than I do because your strength has been tested more deeply. But I will remind you of what God did for me back in February when the cancer diagnosis came. God strengthened me with the gospel. You may recall the very verses he used. None were more important for me. First Thessalonians 5:9-10, “God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him.”

Therefore, everything in me says, and hopes to say when the final diagnosis comes, “Now to him who is able to strengthen me according to my gospel . . . be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.”

Our God has worked in history to defeat sin and Satan and hell and death. He did this through the gospel of Jesus Christ. Embrace this gospel as the greatest treasure of your life. God will magnify his glory in making you strong.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org