عهد الله من خلال موسى

العهد الذي صنعه الله مع إبراهيم تم تجديده مع ابنه إسحاق. في تكوين 26: 3 يقول الله لإسحاق: "لَكَ وَلِنَسْلِكَ أُعْطِي جَمِيعَ هذِهِ الْبِلاَدِ، وَأَفِي بِالْقَسَمِ الَّذِي أَقْسَمْتُ لإِبْرَاهِيمَ أَبِيكَ." ومن ثم لابن إسحاق، يعقوب، ظهر الله في بيت إيل (وفقا لتكوين 28: 13-15)، وأكد العهد له: "أَنَا الرَّبُّ إِلهُ إِبْرَاهِيمَ أَبِيكَ وَإِلهُ إِسْحَاقَ. الأَرْضُ الَّتِي أَنْتَ مُضْطَجِعٌ عَلَيْهَا أُعْطِيهَا لَكَ وَلِنَسْلِكَ. وَيَكُونُ نَسْلُكَ كَتُرَابِ الأَرْضِ ... وَيَتَبَارَكُ فِيكَ وَفِي نَسْلِكَ جَمِيعُ قَبَائِلِ الأَرْضِ. وَهَا أَنَا مَعَكَ، وَأَحْفَظُكَ حَيْثُمَا تَذْهَبُ." لربّما لم يكن يعقوب يعلم في ذلك الوقت أنه سيذهب إلى مصر وأن نسله سيكون عبيدا لمدة 400 سنة وأن الوعد سيظل كامن، حتى يؤكده الله من جديد مع موسى.

من التعاسة في مصر إلى العهد الموسوي:

لكن طرق الله نادرا ما تكون طرقنا، فقد كانت بالفعل خطته أن ينتقل بشعب عهده من خلال مآسي مصر نحو أرض الموعد. (راجع نبوءة تكوين 15: 13). وهذا المبدأ الإلهي لم يتغير حتى يومنا هذا: "إِنْ كُنَّا نَتَأَلَّمُ مَعَهُ لِكَيْ نَتَمَجَّدَ أَيْضًا مَعَهُ." (رومية 8: 17). ولكن بعد ليلة طويلة مظلمة على أنفس شعب إسرائيل، طلع الفجر. فدعا الله موسى، وبيد قوية وذراع ممدودة حرّر الله شعبه من نير العبوديّة. عبروا البحر الأحمر على أرض يابسة. حصلوا على طعامٍ من السماء وماءٍ من الصخرة. وبعد ثلاثة أشهر وصلوا إلى جبل سيناء. وهنا صنع الله عهدا مقدسا مع إسرائيل لتأكيد العهد الذي صنعه مع إبراهيم وإسحاق ويعقوب.

فعليّا كل الإصحاحات في خروج 19-34 تتعلق بخلق هذا العهد. وأريدك أن ترى هذا الصباح،

  1. كيف أُقيمَ العهد، ومن ثم
  2. ما الوعود الإلهيّة والشروط البشريّة التي تشكّل العهد، و
  3. كيف يقود هذا العهد في خطة الله إلى ما عمله يسوع المسيح.

أ) كيف أُقيم هذا العهد؟

دعونا نتجول خلال هذه الإصحاحات المهمة معا. وسوف أشير إلى الملامح الرئيسية خلال جولتنا. في خروج 19: 3 صعد موسى للمرة الأولى إلى جبل سيناء، وأعلن الله له عن الشروط العامة للعهد في الآيات 5 و6: إن سمعتم لي وحفظتم عهدي، تكونون لي خاصة، ومملكة كهنة وأمة مقدسة. نزل موسى، وأخبر الشعب، وفي الآية 8 قبلوا العهد: "كُلُّ مَا تَكَلَّمَ بِهِ الرَّبُّ نَفْعَلُ." عاد موسى بهذا القبول للرب، وفي الآية 9 قال الرب أنه سيأتي ليتحدث في مسامع الشعب، لكي يصدقوا موسى.

في خروج 19: 10-15 أمر الله موسى أن يقدّس الشعب. بعد ثلاثة أيام سوف يقتربون من الجبل. بعد ثلاثة أيام سينزل الرب بالنار، ويتغطى الجبل بالدّخان. في الآية 20 دعا الله موسى إلى أعلى وأرسله مرة أخرى مع تحذير للشعب ألا يقتحموا فيسقطوا (الآيات 21، 24). في 20: 22 خاطب الله نفسه الشعب وأعطى الوصايا العشر في 20: 1-17. ارتعد الشعب من صوت الله (في الآيات 18-19) وطلبوا من موسى: "تَكَلَّمْ أَنْتَ مَعَنَا فَنَسْمَعَ. وَلاَ يَتَكَلَّمْ مَعَنَا اللهُ لِئَلاَّ مُوتَ." لذا في 20: 21 اقترب موسى من الضباب وأخذ ما تبقى من الشرائع من الرب. وترد هذه الشرائع في الإصحاحات 21-23، وتشمل تفاصيلا أكثر من الوصايا العشر.

في خروج 24: 1-2 قال الله لموسى أن يجمع الكهنة والشيوخ وأن يصعدوا إلى الجبل. ولكن أولا في خروج 24: 3 حدّث موسى بجميع الشرائع إلى الشعب، ومرة ​​أخرى قبلوا شروط العهد: "كُل الأَقْوَالِ الَّتِي تَكَلَّمَ بِهَا الرَّبُّ نَفْعَلُ." ثم كتب موسى الكلمات التي تلقّاها في كتاب (آية 4)، وبنى مذبحا، وذبحوا ذبائح من الثيران، وختم العهد بالدم. رش بعض الدم على المذبح، وقرأ الكتاب للشعب، ورش بعض الدم على الشعب (الآيات 5-8). المعنى الضمني هو على الأرجح أن الشعب صنع حلفا أنهم اذا كسروا العهد، سيسفك دمهم مثل دم الثيران وسيكون الأمر على رؤوسهم.

ثم (في خروج 24: 9-10) صعد موسى وهارون وناداب وأبيهو والشيوخ السبعين إلى الجبل في منتصفه وكان عيدا ورأوا مجد الله. ولكن في الآية 12 دعى الرب موسى لكي يصعد أكثر حتى يحصل على "لَوْحَيِ الْحِجَارَةِ" التي كتبها الله. فصعد موسى في السحاب (آية 18) وظل أربعين يوما. تعطي الإصحاحات 25-31 الرسالة التي تكلم بها الله لموسى، وهي تحديدا خطة لخيمة الاجتماع المراد بناؤها ولخدمة الكهنة. عندما فرغ الله من الكلام أعطى موسى لوحي الشهادة (31: 18) لكي يحملهما إلى الشعب، نوعا من وثيقة العهد موقعة شخصيّا من قبل الرب.

ولكن خلال الأربعين يوما كان الشعب بالفعل قد حنثوا بوعدهم في العهد وصنعوا صنما. في خروج 32: 8 قال الله: "زَاغُوا سَرِيعًا عَنِ الطَّرِيقِ الَّذِي أَوْصَيْتُهُمْ بِهِ." صلّى موسى لأجل الشعب وحجب الله تدميره (32: 11-14). وعندما نزل موسى إلى المحلة (آية 19)، كسر لوحي العهد ليظهر كيف أن الشعب قد كسر العهد. فقتل بنو لاوي 3000 رجل (32: 28)، وأرسل الله ضربة (آية 35) ولكن الشعب ككل قد صُفح عنه من خلال صلاة موسى.

والسؤال المطروح الآن هو، ماذا يتبقى من العهد؟ فقد حنثوا به قبل أن يكتمل. لو استند هذا العهد على الأعمال أو على العدل الصارم وحده لكان قد أنتهى أمر إسرائيل. ولكن لكي يبيّن أن العهد يستند على النعمة جدد الله العهد واستخدم كلمات تجعل هذا الأساس الكريم واضحا. في خروج 34: 1 قال الله لموسى أن يصنع لوحي حجر آخرين وأن يصعد مرة أخرى. في 34: 6-7 أعلن الله عن نفسه، وعن أساس العهد المجدد: "فَاجْتَازَ الرَّبُّ قُدَّامَهُ، وَنَادَى الرَّبُّ: «الرَّبُّ إِلهٌ رَحِيمٌ وَرَؤُوفٌ، بَطِيءُ الْغَضَبِ وَكَثِيرُ الإِحْسَانِ وَالْوَفَاءِ. حَافِظُ الإِحْسَانِ إِلَى أُلُوفٍ. غَافِرُ الإِثْمِ وَالْمَعْصِيَةِ وَالْخَطِيَّةِ. وَلكِنَّهُ لَنْ يُبْرِئَ إِبْرَاءً. مُفْتَقِدٌ إِثْمَ الآبَاءِ فِي الأَبْنَاءِ، وَفِي أَبْنَاءِ الأَبْنَاءِ، فِي الْجِيلِ الثَّالِثِ وَالرَّابعِ»." ترافع موسى في الآية 9 "اغْفِرْ إِثْمَنَا وَخَطِيَّتَنَا وَاتَّخِذْنَا مُلْكًا." واستجاب الرب في الآية 10 "هَا أَنَا قَاطِعٌ عَهْدًا. قُدَّامَ جَمِيعِ شَعْبِكَ أَفْعَلُ عَجَائِبَ لَمْ تُخْلَقْ فِي كُلِّ الأَرْضِ وَفِي جَمِيعِ الأُمَمِ."

ثم في 34: 27-28 ختم الرب هذا الاجتماع الأخير على جبل سيناء هكذا: "وَقَالَ الرَّبُّ لِمُوسَى: «اكْتُبْ لِنَفْسِكَ هذِهِ الْكَلِمَاتِ، لأَنَّنِي بِحَسَبِ هذِهِ الْكَلِمَاتِ قَطَعْتُ عَهْدًا مَعَكَ وَمَعَ إِسْرَائِيل». وَكَانَ هُنَاكَ عِنْدَ الرَّبِّ أَرْبَعِينَ نَهَارًا وَأَرْبَعِينَ لَيْلَةً، لَمْ يَأْكُلْ خُبْزًا وَلَمْ يَشْرَبْ مَاءً. فَكَتَبَ عَلَى اللَّوْحَيْنِ كَلِمَاتِ الْعَهْدِ، الْكَلِمَاتِ الْعَشَرَ." ثم نزل ووجهه يلمع بسبب لقائه مع الله. باقي سفر الخروج يسجل بناء خيمة الاجتماع.

ب) ما هي وعود العهد وشروطه؟

الآن من خلال النظرة العامة على كيفية إقامة العهد بين الله وإسرائيل يمكننا الإجابة على السؤال الثاني: ما هي الوعود الإلهية والشروط البشريّة لهذا العهد؟ ما هي الأمور التي يلتزم الله بأن يعملها؟ وماذا يتطلب من شريك عهده؟

خمسة وعود إلهيّة متضمّنة:

أولا، الوعود. هناك ما لا يقل عن خمسة.

1. ستكون إسرائيل ملكا ثمينا لله:

في خروج 19: 5 قال الله: "فَالآنَ إِنْ سَمِعْتُمْ لِصَوْتِي، وَحَفِظْتُمْ عَهْدِي تَكُونُونَ لِي خَاصَّةً مِنْ بَيْنِ جَمِيعِ الشُّعُوبِ. فَإِنَّ لِي كُلَّ الأَرْضِ." ذكر الله أن كل الأرض له ليبين أنه عندما دعى إسرائيل له "خَاصَّةً،" أنه يعني أكثر من مجرد الرعاية العامة والسلطة التي لديه على العالم. فهو سيكون إله إسرائيل وهم سيكونون خاصته بطريقة مُميّزة. سيكون لديهم بركات أكثر من كل الأمم الأخرى. سيكونون ملكا ثمينا لله إن حفظوا عهده.

2. ستكون إسرائيل مملكة كهنة:

الوعد الثاني في خروج 19: 6 هو "وَأَنْتُمْ تَكُونُونَ لِي مَمْلَكَةَ كَهَنَةٍ". وكان الامتياز الأكثر دهشة للكهنة هو التواصل الحميم مع الله. فهم يقتربون الى لله نيابة عن الشعب. ولم تكن الأرض نصيبهم بل كان الرّب هو نصيبهم. هذا الإمتياز قد وعد به الله للأمة كلها. وما يضاعف من هذا الامتياز هو دعوة الله لهم بأنهم كهنوت ملوكيّ أو كهنة في خدمة الملك. ليس هناك من امتياز أكبر من التواصل الحميم مع ملك الكون.

3. ستكون إسرائيل أمة مقدّسة:

الوعد الثالث للعهد في 19: 6 هو أن إسرائيل ستكون أيضا "أُمَّةً ًمُقَدَّسَةً". ستكون إسرائيل مقدسة من ناحيتين: الأولى، أنها سوف تتخصص، وتكون مميزة عن جميع الشعوب الأخرى، الثانية، أنها ستُمنح شبها معنويا بالله. سوف تشارك طبيعة الله. "تَكُونُون قِدِّيسِينَ لأَنِّي قُدُّوسٌ الرَّبُّ إِلهُكُمْ" (لاويين 19: 2). إن حفظت إسرائيل العهد مع الله، سيكون لديها الامتياز المرضي للتشبّه بالله. ستكون أمة مقدّسة.

4. سيحفظ الله إسرائيل من كل أعدائها:

وعد العهد الرابع موجود في خروج 23: 22. "وَلكِنْ إِنْ سَمِعْتَ لِصَوْتِهِ وَفَعَلْتَ كُلَّ مَا أَتَكَلَّمُ بِهِ، أُعَادِي أَعْدَاءَكَ، وَأُضَايِقُ مُضَايِقِيكَ." مثل القط الذي يعضّ فأرا ويكتشف أنه مخلب كلب. كل من يعارض إسرائيل سيكون عليه أن يتعامل مع الله القدير، إن حفظت إسرائيل العهد. وربما هذا ما يعنيه الله في خروج 34: 10 حينما يعدهم "أَفْعَلُ عَجَائِبَ لَمْ تُخْلَقْ فِي كُلِّ الأَرْضِ وَفِي جَمِيعِ الأُمَمِ، فَيَرَى جَمِيعُ الشَّعْبِ الَّذِي أَنْتَ فِي وَسَطِهِ فِعْلَ الرَّبِّ." سيفعل الله عجائب دفاعا عن شعبه ليستعلن مجده بين الأمم.

5. سيكون الله رحيما ورؤوفا وغفورا:

أخيرا، وكأساس لكل شيء آخر، يعد الله أن يكون رحيما ورؤوفا ويغفر الإثم والمعصية والخطية. خروج 34: 6-7 هي من بين أحلى كلمات البشارة في الكتاب المقدس. حقيقة أنها أتت من جبل سيناء وليس جبل الجمجمة، وحقيقة أنها مقدمة للوصايا العشر (34: 28)، وليس لسفر رومية يدل على أن رسالة المسيح ورسالة موسى هما رسالة واحدة متناغمة للنعمة. " فَاجْتَازَ الرَّبُّ قُدَّامَهُ، وَنَادَى الرَّبُّ: «الرَّبُّ إِلهٌ رَحِيمٌ وَرَؤُوفٌ، بَطِيءُ الْغَضَبِ وَكَثِيرُ الإِحْسَانِ وَالْوَفَاءِ. حَافِظُ الإِحْسَانِ إِلَى أُلُوفٍ. غَافِرُ الإِثْمِ وَالْمَعْصِيَةِ وَالْخَطِيَّةِ." لذا فإن الوعد الخامس العظيم للعهد الموسوي هو أن الله سوف يتعامل مع إسرائيل بالرحمة والنعمة وسيغفر خطاياها لو أنها تحافظ على العهد.

إذاً وباختصار، فالخمس وعود الإلهية للعهد الموسوي، والتي تؤكد من جديد على العهد مع إبراهيم، هي:

  1. ستكون إسرائيل مُلكا خاصا لله،
  2. ستكون إسرائيل مملكة كهنة لله،
  3. ستكون إسرائيل أمة مقدسة،
  4. سيحارب الله عن إسرائيل ويتغلب على كل أعدائها،
  5. سيتعامل الله مع إسرائيل بالنعمة والرحمة ويغفر خطاياها.

هذه هي الوعود الإلهية للعهد. لكنها جميعها تعتمد على شروط معينة يجب أن تتحقق من قبل الشعب، كما يقول في خروج 19: 5 "فَالآنَ إِنْ سَمِعْتُمْ لِصَوْتِي، وَحَفِظْتُمْ عَهْدِي..." تختبرون كل هذه البركات الإلهية.

ثلاثة مؤشرات للشروط البشريّة:

وهكذا ننتقل الآن إلى الشروط البشريّة التي يجب أن تتحقق من أجل التمتع ببركات العهد.

1. مؤسس على النعمة وتقديم الغفران:

شيء واحد هو واضح من البداية. الشرط ليس كمالا بلا خطيئة. العهد الموسوي لا يُعلّم أنه إذا ارتكبت خطية، تصادر بركات العهد. بل يقول إن الرب يغفر الإثم والمعصية والخطية (خروج 34: 7). أساس العهد هو النعمة. لذلك، عندما يقول خروج 19: 5 أنّ إسرائيل عليها "إن سَمِعْتُمْ لِصَوْتِي، وَحَفِظْتُمْ عَهْدِي،" هذا لا يعني أنها يجب أن تربح بركاتها من خلال العمل في سبيل الله. بل يعني أنها يجب أن تحافظ على نفسها في موقف استلام نعمة الله ورحمته وغفرانه.

2. محبة الله وربح النعمة؟

وما هو هذا الموقف؟ إحدى الإجابات هي في خروج 20: 5-6 في خضم الوصايا العشر: "لأَنِّي أَنَا الرَّبَّ إِلهَكَ إِلهٌ غَيُورٌ، أَفْتَقِدُ ذُنُوبَ الآبَاءِ فِي الأَبْنَاءِ فِي الْجِيلِ الثَّالِثِ وَالرَّابعِ مِنْ مُبْغِضِيَّ، وَأَصْنَعُ إِحْسَانًا إِلَى أُلُوفٍ مِنْ مُحِبِّيَّ وَحَافِظِي وَصَايَايَ." تتمسك إسرائيل بطرفها من العهد بمحبتها لله وعدم وضع أية قيمة أخرى حيث ينتمي الله في قلبها. وإنطلاقا من هذا المحبة لله تتدفق حتما الطاعة لكلمته، وذلك لأنك تسعى دائما وراء ما تقدّره. لذا فهذه الطاعة ليست لربح نعمة الله. لكنها دليل المحبة لنعمة الله. إننا لا نحب الله عندما نضع أنفسنا في موضع الموظف وهو في موضع صاحب العمل الذي يدفع لنا الأرباح.

عندما يقول الله أن المحبّة بالنسبة له هي شرط يجب على إسرائيل أن تفي به من أجل المشاركة في بركات العهد، الأمر يشبه القول بأن الشرط الذي يجب أن تفي به من أجل الاستفادة من عطلتك الخاصة هو الاستمتاع بغروب الشمس. فمن يستطيع أن يتصور أن وصية محبة الله يمكن أن تكون وصية لكسب بركات منه. على العكس من ذلك، عندما تفكر في الأمر تجد أنّ الوصيّة بأن نحبّ إلها رؤوفا وغفورا (خروج 34 :6-7) يجب أن تتضمن وصية الثقة به. الطريقة الوحيدة للحصول على الغفران هي الثقة فيمن يغفر. والطريقة الوحيدة للاستفادة من الوعود الكريمة هي الثقة فيمن يتعهّد. لذا فكان الشرط الأساسي الذي يتعين على إسرائيل الوفاء به من أجل التمتع ببركات الله هو الثقة.

3. فشل إسرائيل في عدم الإيمان:

مرة تلو الأخرى في العهد القديم يرجع تمرد إسرائيل ضد العهد إلى عدم الإيمان (عدد 14: 11؛ تثنية 1: 32؛ 9: 23؛ 2 ملوك 17: 14؛ 2 أخبار 20: 20؛ مزمور 78: 22، 32؛ 106: 24). على سبيل المثال، مزمور 78: 22 يتطلع إلى الوراء ويقول إن سخط الله اشتعل ضد إسرائيل في البرية "لأَنَّهُمْ لَمْ يُؤْمِنُوا بِاللهِ وَلَمْ يَتَّكِلُوا عَلَى خَلاَصِهِ." وعبرانيين 3: 19 يقول أن سبب عدم دخول جيل البرية لأرض الموعد كان هو عدم الإيمان. أو كما يقول عبرانيين 4: 2 "لَمْ تَنْفَعْ كَلِمَةُ الْخَبَرِ أُولئِكَ. إِذْ لَمْ تَكُنْ مُمْتَزِجَةً بِالإِيمَانِ فِي الَّذِينَ سَمِعُوا."

لذلك هناك ثلاثة أسباب على الأقل للاستنتاج أن الشرط الأساسي المطلوب من إسرائيل هو الإيمان.

  1. أولا، لأنه تم تجديد العهد على أساس من النعمة، ويقدّم غفرانا رحيما عن الخطايا (خروج 34: 6-7). فالحصول على الغفران هو عن طريق الإيمان فقط.
  2. ثانيا، يعد الله بالرحمة لجميع الذين يحبونه (خروج 20: 6). ولكن محبة الله هي تماما عكس محاولة ربح الأجور من رب السماء. يجب أن تشمل محبة الله الابتهاج في كونه جديرا بالثّقة‏ كالشخص الذي "حَمَلْتُكُمْ عَلَى أَجْنِحَةِ النُّسُورِ (من مصر) وَجِئْتُ بِكُمْ إِلَيَّ." (خروج 19: 4).
  3. ثالثا، نصوص عديدة من العهد القديم والعهد الجديد تقول بأن جذور عصيان إسرائيل هي فشلها في الثقة بالله. ولذلك، فإن الطاعة المطلوبة في العهد الموسوي هي الطاعة التي تأتي من الايمان.

إنها نفس الطاعة المطلوبة في العهد الإبراهيميّ عندما قال الرب لإبراهيم: "وَيَتَبَارَكُ فِي نَسْلِكَ جَمِيعُ أُمَمِ الأَرْضِ، مِنْ أَجْلِ أَنَّكَ سَمِعْتَ لِقَوْلِي." (تكوين 22: 18). وهي نفس الطاعة المطلوبة في العهد الجديد الذي نعيش فيه. تقول عبرانيين 5: 9 عن المسيح أن "وَإِذْ كُمِّلَ صَارَ لِجَمِيعِ الَّذِينَ يُطِيعُونَهُ، سَبَبَ خَلاَصٍ أَبَدِيٍّ." العهد الإبراهيمي، والعهد الموسوي، والعهد الذي ختمه المسيح بدمه كلها تعبيرات مختلفة لعهد واحد عظيم للنعمة. وتحت كل هذه العهود، التي أُعرب عنها بالعديد من الطرق المختلفة، شيء واحد مطلوب من الإنسان لأجل أن يرث بركات العهد: "الإِيمَانُ الْعَامِلُ بِالْمَحَبَّةِ." (غلاطية 5: 6).

ت) كيف يمكن لنعمة عظيمة هكذا أن تأتي من خلال هذا العهد؟

هذا يقودنا إلى سؤال أخير والذي لا يجيب عليه العهد الموسوي. كيف يمكن إعطاء نعمة عظيمة هكذا بموجب هذا العهد؟ كيف يمكن لإله بار أن يغفر ببساطة الإثم والمعصية والخطية؟ كيف يمكن لقاض مجرد السماح لخطاة مذنبين أن يذهبوا أحرارا؟ بالتأكيد ذبائح الثيران والماعز ليست مجرد تعويضا لكل الإهانة التي انهالت على اسم الله بسبب خطايا إسرائيل. مرة أخرى تكمن الإجابة في المستقبل. رآها إشعياء بأكثر وضوحا، وقال "كُلُّنَا كَغَنَمٍ ضَلَلْنَا. مِلْنَا كُلُّ وَاحِدٍ إِلَى طَرِيقِهِ، وَالرَّبُّ وَضَعَ عَلَيْهِ إِثْمَ جَمِيعِنَا." (إشعياء 53: 6). كيف يمكن لله فقط، في ظل العهد الموسوي، أن يكون كريما ويغفر مجانا الى هذا الحدّ؟ الجواب: لأنه تطلّع إلى مجيء ابنه والذبيحة التي تُصلح كل الأذى الذي جاء على كرامة الله من خلال عصيان المختارين. لا يمكن أن يكون هناك عهدا مع إبراهيم، وعهدا مع موسى، وعهدا جديدا بدون مجيء يسوع المسيح. ما قد أُعطي مجانا بموجب موسى تم شراؤه من قبل المسيح.

إذا كنت تريد لمحة جديدة عن المسيح في هذا الموسم من عيد الميلاد لمساعدتك في الثقة به ومحبته وطاعته، انظر إلى هذين الأمرين. أولا، وضعت كل خطية مغفورة من آدم إلى نهاية الزمان على المسيح البريء وسحقته إلى الجحيم. وهو قبِلَ ذلك عن طيب خاطر لأجل مجد الآب ولخير شعبه. ثانيا، إذا وثقتم به وتبعتموه في طاعة الإيمان، فأنتم وارثون ليس فقط لعهد الله مع إبراهيم ولكن أيضا لعهد الله من خلال موسى. أنتم مُلكا خاصا لله. أنتم مملكة كهنة. أنتم أمة مقدسة (1 بطرس 2: 9، 10). يقاوم الله أعدائك بقوة تصنع العجائب. ولكم هو الآن ودائما سيكون "الرَّبُّ إِلهٌ رَحِيمٌ وَرَؤُوفٌ، بَطِيءُ الْغَضَبِ وَكَثِيرُ الإِحْسَانِ... غَافِرُ الإِثْمِ وَالْمَعْصِيَةِ وَالْخَطِيَّةِ."

يا ليتنا نحب المسيح بوجدان صادق جديد في موسم عيد الميلاد هذا! "مَا لَمْ تَرَ عَيْنٌ، وَلَمْ تَسْمَعْ أُذُنٌ، وَلَمْ يَخْطُرْ عَلَى بَالِ إِنْسَانٍ: مَا أَعَدَّهُ اللهُ لِلَّذِينَ يُحِبُّونَهُ." (1 كورنثوس 2: 9).

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

God's Covenant Through Moses

The covenant that God made with Abraham was renewed with his son Isaac. In Genesis 26:3 God says to Isaac, "To you and to your descendants I will give all these lands, and I will fulfill the oath which I swore to Abraham your father." And then to Isaac's son, Jacob, God appeared at Bethel (according to Genesis 28:13–15) and confirmed the covenant to him: "I am the Lord, the God of Abraham your father and the God of Isaac; the land on which you lie I will give to you and to your descendants; and your descendants shall be like the dust of the earth . . . and by you and your descendants shall all the families of the earth be blessed. Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go." At the time Jacob may not have known that he would be going to Egypt and that for four hundred years his descendants would be slaves and that the promise would lie dormant until God confirmed it afresh with Moses.

From Misery in Egypt to Mosaic Covenant

But God's ways are seldom our ways, and it was indeed his plan to carry his covenant people through the miseries of Egypt toward the promised land. (See the prediction of Genesis 15:13.) That divine principle hasn't changed to this day: "If we suffer with him, we will be glorified with him" (Romans 8:17). But after a long dark night of Israel's soul, dawn breaks. God calls Moses, and with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm God liberates his people from bondage. They cross the Red Sea on dry ground. They receive food from the sky and water from the rock. And in three months they arrive at Mount Sinai. Here God makes a solemn covenant with Israel to confirm and undergird the covenant he made with Abraham and Isaac and Jacob.

Virtually all of Exodus 19–34 is concerned with the making of this covenant. I want you to see this morning,

  1. how the covenant was established, and then
  2. what divine promises and human conditions make up the covenant, and
  3. how it leads on in God's plan to the work of Jesus Christ.

A. How Was This Covenant Established?

Let's walk through these crucial chapters together. I'll point out the main features as we go. In Exodus 19:3 Moses goes up the first time into Mount Sinai, and God announces to him the general terms of the covenant in verses 5 and 6: If you obey me and keep my covenant, you will be my special possession, a kingdom of priests, a holy nation. Moses goes down, reports to the people, and in verse 8 they accept the covenant: "All the Lord has spoken we will do." Moses returns with this acceptance to the Lord, and in verse 9 the Lord says that he is coming to speak in earshot of the people so that they will believe Moses.

In Exodus 19:10–15 God instructs Moses to consecrate the people. In three days they are to approach the mountain. In three days the Lord descends in fire and the mountain is wrapped in smoke. God calls Moses to the top (v. 20) and sends him down again with the warning to the people not to break through and perish (vv. 21, 24). Then God himself (20:22) addresses the people in 20:1–17 and gives the ten commandments. The people are so terrified at the voice of God that (in vv. 18–19) they plead with Moses, "You speak to us and we will hear, but let not God speak to us lest we die." So in 20:21 Moses draws near to the thick darkness and receives the rest of the ordinances from the Lord. These are given in chapters 21–23 and include a lot more specifics than the ten commandments.

In Exodus 24:1–2 God tells Moses to get the priests and the elders and to come up on the mountain. But first in Exodus 24:3 Moses reports all the ordinances to the people, and again they accept the terms of the covenant: "All the words which the Lord has spoken we will do." Then Moses writes the words he had received in a book (v. 4), builds an altar, sacrifices several oxen, and seals the covenant with blood. He throws some blood on the altar, reads the book to the people, and throws some blood on the people (vv. 5–8). The implication is probably that the people are taking an oath that if they break the covenant, their blood will be shed like the oxen's and it will be on their own head.

Then (in Exodus 24:9–10) Moses and Aaron and Nadab and Abihu and the seventy elders went up the mountain partway and had a feast and saw God's glory. But in verse 12 the Lord calls Moses further up to receive the "tables of stone" written by God. So Moses went up into the cloud (v. 18) and remained forty days. Chapters 25–31 give the message God spoke to Moses, mainly a plan for the tabernacle to be built and for the ministry of the priests. When he was done speaking, God gave Moses the two tables of testimony (31:18) to carry back to the people—a kind of personally signed covenant document from the Lord.

But during the forty days the people had already broken their covenant promise and made an idol. In Exodus 32:8 God says, "They have turned aside quickly out of the way which I commanded them." Moses prays for the people and God withholds his destruction (32:11–14). When Moses comes down to the camp (v. 19), he smashes the two tables of the covenant to show how the people have broken the covenant. The sons of Levi slaughter 3,000 men (32:28) and God sends a plague (v. 35) but the nation as a whole is spared through Moses' prayer.

Now the question is, what becomes of the covenant? They had broken it before it was even completed. If this covenant were based on works or on strict justice alone Israel would be done for. But to show that the covenant is based on grace, God renews the covenant and uses words which make this gracious foundation clear. In Exodus 34:1 God tells Moses to make a new set of stone tables and to come up again. In 34:6–7 God reveals himself and the basis of the renewed covenant: "The Lord passed before him and proclaimed, 'The Lord, the Lord, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness, keeping steadfast love for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin, but who will by no means clear the guilty, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children and children's children, to the third and fourth generation."' Moses pleads in verse 9, "Pardon our iniquity and our sin and take us for thine inheritance." And the Lord responds in verse 10, "Behold, I make a covenant. Before all your people I will do marvels, such as have not been wrought in all the earth or in any nation."

Then in 34:27–28 the Lord concludes this last meeting on Mt. Sinai like this: "And the Lord said to Moses, 'Write these words; in accordance with these words I have made a covenant with you and with Israel.' And he was there with the Lord forty days and forty nights; he neither ate bread nor drank water. And he wrote upon the tables the words of the covenant, the ten commandments." And he came down with his face shining because of his time with God. The rest of Exodus reports the building of the tabernacle.

B. What Are the Covenant's Promises and Conditions?

Now from that overview of how the covenant was established between God and Israel we can answer our second question: what are the divine promises and human conditions of this covenant? What does God commit himself to do? And what does he require of his covenant partner?

Five Divine Promises Within It

First, the promises. There are at least five.

1. Israel Will Be God's Prized Possession

In Exodus 19:5 God says, "If you will obey my voice and keep my covenant, you shall be my own possession among all the peoples; for all the earth is mine." God mentions that all the earth is his to show that when he calls Israel his "own possession," he means more than the general care and authority he has over the world. He will be Israel's God and they will be his possession in a special way. They will have blessings beyond all other nations. They will be God's prized possession—if they keep his covenant.

2. Israel Will Be a Kingdom of Royal Priests

The second promise in Exodus 19:6 is, "and you shall be to me a kingdom of priests." The most striking privilege of the priests was intimate access to God. They drew near on behalf of the people. Their inheritance was not the land but the Lord. This privilege God promises to the whole nation. This privilege is heightened when God calls them a royal priesthood or priests in the services of the King. There is no greater privilege than to have intimate access to the King of the universe.

3. Israel Will Be a Holy Nation

The third promise of the covenant in 19:6 is that Israel will also be a "holy nation." Israel would be holy in two senses: one, she would be set apart and distinguished from all the other peoples; two, she would be granted a moral likeness to God. She would share God's character. "Be holy, for I am holy" (Leviticus 19:2). If Israel keeps covenant with God, she will have the all-satisfying privilege of likeness to God. She will be a holy nation.

4. God Will Defend Israel from All Her Enemies

The fourth covenant promise is found in Exodus 23:22. "But if you hearken attentively to his voice and do all that I say, then I will be an enemy to your enemies and an adversary to your adversaries." Like the cat who bites into a mouse and discovers it is a dog's paw. Anybody who opposes Israel will have to deal with almighty God—if Israel keeps covenant. This is probably what God means in Exodus 34:10 when he promises, "I will do marvels, such as have not been wrought in all the earth or in any nation; and all the people among whom you are shall see the work of the Lord." In defense of his people God will do marvels to display his glory among the nations.

5. God Will Be Merciful and Gracious and Forgiving

Finally, and as the foundation to everything else, God promises to be merciful and gracious and forgive iniquity and transgression and sin. Exodus 34:6–7 are among the sweetest gospel words in the Bible. The fact that they come from Mt. Sinai and not Mt. Calvary, the fact that they preface the ten commandments (34:28) and not the book of Romans shows that the message of Christ and the message of Moses are one harmonious message of grace. "The Lord passed before Moses and proclaimed, 'The Lord, the Lord, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness, keeping steadfast love for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin.'" So the fifth great promise of the Mosaic covenant is that God will treat Israel with mercy and grace and will forgive her sins—if she keeps the covenant.

In summary, then, five divine promises of the Mosaic covenant, which reconfirm the covenant with Abraham, are

  1. that Israel will be God's special possession,
  2. Israel will be a kingdom of priests to God,
  3. Israel will be a holy nation,
  4. God will fight for Israel and overcome all her enemies, and
  5. God will treat Israel with grace and mercy and forgive her sins.

These are the divine promises of the covenant. But they all depend on certain conditions being fulfilled by the people, as Exodus 19:5 says, "If you will obey my voice and keep my covenant, then you shall . . . " experience all these divine blessings.

Three Pointers to Its Human Condition

So we turn now to the human conditions that must be met in order to enjoy the covenant blessings.

1. Founded on Grace and Offering Forgiveness

One thing is clear from the outset. The condition is not sinless perfection. The Mosaic covenant does not teach that if you commit a sin, you forfeit the covenant blessings. It says that the Lord forgives iniquity and transgression and sin (Exodus 34:7). The foundation of the covenant is grace. Therefore, when Exodus 19:5 says that Israel must "obey God's voice and keep God's covenant," it does not mean they must earn their blessings by working for God. It means they must keep themselves in an attitude to receive God's grace and mercy and forgiveness.

2. Loving God and Earning Grace?

And what attitude is that? One answer is given in Exodus 20:5–6 in the midst of the ten commandments: "I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing steadfast love (KJV: mercy) to thousands to those who love me and keep my commandments." Israel upholds her side of the covenant by loving God and by not putting any other value where God belongs in her heart. And out of this love to God inevitably flows an obedience to his word, because you always go after what you value. So this obedience is not earning God's grace. It is the evidence of love for God's grace. God is not loved when we put ourselves in the position of an employee and him in the position of an employer who pays us earnings.

When God says that love for him is the condition Israel must meet in order to share the covenant blessings, it's like saying that the condition you must meet in order to benefit from your vacation is to enjoy the sunsets. It is unthinkable that the command to love God could be a command to earn blessings from him. On the contrary, when you think it through, the command to love a God who is gracious and forgiving (Exodus 34:6–7) must include a command to trust him. The only way to receive forgiveness is by trusting the forgiver. And the only way to benefit from gracious promises is to trust the promiser. The fundamental condition that Israel had to meet in order to enjoy God's blessing was trust.

3. Israel's Failure of Unbelief

Again and again in the Old Testament the rebellion of Israel against the covenant is traced back to unbelief (Numbers 14:11; Deuteronomy 1:32; 9:23; 2 Kings 17:14; 2 Chronicles 20:20; Psalm 78:22, 32; 106:24). For example, Psalm 78:22 looks back and says that God's anger flamed against Israel in the wilderness "because they had no faith in God, and did not trust his saving power." And Hebrews 3:19 says that the reason the wilderness generation did not enter the promised land was unbelief. Or as Hebrews 4:2 says, "The message which they heard did not benefit them because it did not meet with faith in the hearers."

So there are at least three reasons to conclude that the basic condition required from Israel is faith.

  1. First, because the covenant is renewed on the basis of grace and offers merciful forgiveness for sins (Exodus 34:6–7). Forgiveness can only be received by faith.
  2. Second, God promises mercy to all who love him (Exodus 20:6). But loving God is just the opposite of trying to earn wages from a heavenly employer. Loving God must include delighting in his trustworthiness as one who "bore you on eagles' wings (out of Egypt) and brought you to himself" (Exodus 19:4).
  3. Third, numerous Old Testament and New Testament passages say that the root of Israel's disobedience was her failure to trust God. Therefore, the obedience required in the Mosaic covenant is the obedience which comes from faith.

It's the same obedience required in the Abrahamic covenant when the Lord said to Abraham, "By your descendants shall all the nations of the earth be blessed because you have obeyed my voice" (Genesis 22:18). And it's the same obedience required in the new covenant under which we live. Hebrews 5:9 says of Christ that "Being made perfect he became the source of eternal salvation to all who obey him." The Abrahamic covenant, the Mosaic covenant, and the covenant that Jesus sealed with his own blood are all various expressions of one great covenant of grace. And under all these covenants, expressed in many different ways, one thing is required of man in order to inherit the covenant blessings: "faith working through love" (Galatians 5:6).

C. How Can So Much Grace Come by This Covenant?

That brings us to one last question which the Mosaic covenant leaves unanswered. How can so much grace be dispensed under this covenant? How can a righteous God simply forgive iniquity and transgression and sin? How can a judge just let guilty sinners go free? Surely the sacrifices of bulls and goats are no just satisfaction for all the dishonor heaped on God's name by Israel's sins. Again the answer lies in the future. Isaiah saw it most clearly and said, "All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all" (Isaiah 53:6). How could a just God, under the Mosaic covenant, be so gracious and forgive so freely? Answer: he looked forward to the coming of his Son and the sacrifice that repairs all the injury done to God's honor through the disobedience of the elect. There could have been no covenant with Abraham, no covenant with Moses, and no new covenant without the coming of Jesus Christ. What was freely given under Moses was purchased by Christ.

If you want a fresh glimpse of Jesus this advent season to help you trust him and love him and obey him, consider these two things. First, every forgiven sin from Adam to the end of the age was laid on the innocent Christ and crushed him to hell. He accepted it willingly for the glory of his Father and the good of his people. Second, if you trust him and follow him in the obedience of faith, then you are the heirs not only of God's covenant with Abraham but also God's covenant through Moses. You are God's special possession. You are a kingdom of priests. You are a holy nation (1 Peter 2:9, 10). God opposes your enemies with wonder-working power. And to you he is now and always will be "the Lord, the Lord, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love . . . forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin."

O, that we might love Jesus with a new heartfelt affection this advent season! "No eye has seen nor ear heard nor the heart of man conceived what God has prepared for those who love him" (1 Corinthians 2:9).

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org