上帝的大怜悯与我们的新生

“愿颂赞归与我们主耶稣基督的父神!他曾照自己的大怜悯,藉耶稣基督从死里复活,重生了我们,叫我们有活泼的盼望,可以得著不能朽坏、不能玷污、不能衰残、为你们存留在天上的基业。”

这篇讲稿的目标:敬拜

这篇讲道的目标,已经在第三节的第一个短语中设定:“愿颂赞归与我们主耶稣基督的父神!”上帝促使他的百姓得重生,并使他儿子耶稣从死里复活,又赐给我们一个活泼的盼望,又在天上为我们预备了一份不能朽坏的基业,对于这些,彼得的回应是,赞美上帝。“愿颂赞归与神!”如果这是他的回应,当然也应该是我们的回应。

他在下文当中准备探讨的内容,使他欢欣鼓舞,忍不住由衷地赞美神。他其实不是一定要告诉我们这个的。他不是一定要在书信的起首部分就把他对神的情感流露出来,他本来可以以一种冷静、镇定、毫不激动、不带个人感情的方式开始这封信的。他本来可以这么说:“今天,我演讲的题目是,重生。我有几个与此相关的教义,想要来阐述。它们依次是:1)上帝;2)重生;3)盼望;4)耶稣的复活;5)基业;6)天堂。请大家在这些事情上好好留意。”可以这么做,但他没有。

作为讲道者,如果我看到这样的段落会怎么想呢?我的想法是:“你千万不要这样来开始。千万别用这样的方式来对待这些真理。”彼得在开始的时候,其实是流露出难以抑制的狂喜、赞美、和惊愕之情的,因为那就是这些事实在他心中产生的影响。思考这些事的时候,他不可能再保持冷漠,只是说,“哎呀,我已经把这个真理教导得很清楚了。我的工作已经完成。你对我所写的这些,爱怎么办就怎么办好啦。”他乃是说,“愿颂赞归与神!”在此他就是这么说的。4:11的经文中也说,“原来荣耀、权能都是他的,直到永永远远。阿们!”5:11还是这么说,“愿权能归给他,直到永永远远。阿们!”彼得一次接一次地发出由衷的赞美和祝福。他在叙述宇宙中这些最伟大事实的时候,心中充满敬拜之情。充满了狂喜、赞叹、敬畏、惊奇以及深切的感恩之情。

讲道作为心怀崇拜之情的解经

因此,我考虑用这些事实来讲道的话,我该怎么做,这时我想到的是:讲道就是心怀崇拜之情的解经;就是对那个荣耀的合乎圣经的现实,带有崇拜情感的解经。假如你以为,我们在这个主日的早堂聚会中所作的,是用一半时间敬拜,另一半时间讲道,你就错了。应该这样说才对:我们用一半时间进行崇拜性质的歌唱,用另一半时间进行崇拜性质的讲道(另外还有其它一些元素夹杂在当中,我的祷告就是让那些元素也都能带有崇拜的特点)。我们是有可能搞砸的,我们大声歌唱,却不是真的在敬拜神;专心讲道,却不带有崇拜之情。那或许只是专业化的表演和外表的形式主义,绝不是我们该追求的。我们追求的目标是:始终都在敬拜。

敬拜,就是我们头脑明白了关于上帝的伟大真理,并且心灵带着深深的情感也加入进来,无论是破碎的心,还是惊奇、快乐、景仰和感激的心情,接着,我们发出这样的呼喊,“愿颂赞归与神!哦,甚愿我们主耶稣基督的父神得着尊崇、赞美、称谢、和荣耀!”

所以,第三节的第一个短语就设定好了我们今天早上的目标。我们的目标就是要来敬拜上帝;用我们的头脑来认识上帝那伟大的现实,用我们的心灵来体会上帝的美丽和奇妙,并且要用我们的嘴巴来讲述和歌颂上帝的崇高。那就是彼得所作的,在他写书,要讨论新的出生之时。“愿颂赞归与我们主耶稣基督的父神!”那也正是我们应该作的。那就是我们追求的目标。

引领我们进入敬拜的五个重大的事实

那么,是什么真理和重大的事实,带彼得进入这狂喜中的呢?如果我们把答案局限在第3节和第4节的经文中,就会发现,有五个关于上帝的重大事实,支配着彼得的思绪和心情。

1. 上帝极大的怜悯

“愿颂赞归与我们主耶稣基督的父神!他曾照自己的大怜悯……”

第一个:上帝那极大的怜悯。假如你想知道,在上帝那儿是否有怜悯,答案就是,那里有极大的怜悯。“他曾照自己的大怜悯。”彼得就是被这个感动的。

2. 上帝在新的出生方面之工作

“……他曾照自己的大怜悯……重生了我们,叫我们有活泼的盼望……”

那感动了彼得的、有关上帝的第二个事实是:上帝就是使我们再生的那位上帝。新的出生乃是上帝的工作。借着他的怜悯,而不是我们的工作,产生了一个新生命——神多了一个孩子,世上却多了一位流亡者和异乡客。

3. 上帝在让耶稣从死里复活方面之工作

“……(他)藉耶稣基督从死里复活,重生了我们,叫我们有活泼的盼望……”

那抓住了彼得的关于上帝的第三个事实,就是:上帝使耶稣从死里复活。21节把这个事情讲得更加明确:“那叫他从死里复活、又给他荣耀的神,叫你们的信心和盼望都在于神。”复活乃是关于上帝的。上帝做了这事。因此我们信靠他,并且在他里面有盼望。于是彼得说,“愿颂赞归与神!”

4. 上帝关于一份产业之应许

第四节:“……可以得著不能朽坏、不能玷污、不能衰残、为你们存留在天上的基业。”

那抓住了彼得的关于上帝的第四个事实,就是:上帝给获得新生的儿女们应许了一份产业。上帝是那位生我们的父,也是那份产业的来源。父亲们往往会给孩子留下一份产业,而不是倒过来。这里,上帝是那位赐予者。贯穿这段经文始终的,都是说他才是那个泉源。上帝是那位恩典漫溢者。我们在任一端点都是接受者:怜悯,新的出生,复活,产业。

最后……

5. 上帝在存留我们的产业方面之工作

“为你们存留(原文直译是,保守,保存)在天上的基业。”

有谁在保守这份产业呢?答案是:上帝。

因此,如果你只是参考第3节和第4节,就会找出五个答案,回答的是这个问题:是哪些重大事实让彼得以这种方式来敬拜的呢?是什么抓住了他的思绪,感动了他的心灵,是什么使得他开口高呼“愿颂赞归与神”的呢?答案就是:

  1. 上帝的怜悯是极大的。
  2. 上帝重生了我们,叫我们有活泼的盼望。
  3. 上帝使耶稣基督从死里复活。
  4. 上帝对那些称他为父的人应许了一份产业。
  5. (并且)上帝在保守那份产业,使之永远不会朽坏、不会玷污、不会衰残。

主要事件:上帝促成了新的出生

那么,上帝在这里所作的主要是什么呢?主要的是:上帝促成了新的出生。他那极大的怜悯就是此事件的渊源。他让耶稣从死里复活——这历史性的对于死亡之得胜,使得此事成为可能。我们对于一份伟大的产业之活泼的盼望,也由此而生。但此处经文所关注的、上帝的主要工作,就是这个新的出生。因此,让我们也来关注它吧:上帝促成了我们的重生。

我们对此不像彼得那样欢欣鼓舞、发声赞叹,原因之一是我们还没有明白这事,或者还不相信这事。其实,“上帝重生了我们。”成为我们的父亲,让我们有了第二次的出生,好成为神的儿女。我们之前并不是作为他的儿女而存在的。“从肉身生的就 (仅仅只)是肉身,”这是耶稣在《约翰福音》3:6那里说的。但是“从灵(重)生的就是灵。”我们之前并没有活泼的属灵生命,而只是由肉身的父母、靠着普遍的恩典得到的生命。但是,上帝来到我们生命当中,让我们得以重生。他唤醒了一个新的生命,一个在神里面满有信心和盼望的生命,一个有圣灵居住其中的生命。

但是,我们当中大多数,多多少少都被教导说,这里面的那个决定性的工作,不是上帝,而是我们作的。难怪我们不像彼得那样来回应,像他那样感叹说:“愿颂赞归与神,哦,上帝是当受赞美的,因为他曾照自己的大怜悯,作成了此事!”

你怎么知道你在物质的领域是生下来了呢?

让我用一个似乎带有挑衅性的问题,来说明这个道理。假如我问你,“你怎么知道自己已经从你母亲的子宫里生出来了呢?”你怎么回答?你大概会说,“我活着啊!我在我母亲的子宫外面存在着啊。我在这里啊。”而这个回答是正确的。我们所需的答案就是这些。

你大概不会这样回答,“我知道我被生下来,因为家里我有一份出生证明。”或者,“我之所以知道自己出生,乃是因为我曾经做过一些调查,就是在田纳西州的查塔努加市的医院里面,我发现了一个文件,上面有一个小脚印,其上弯弯曲曲的纹路刚好跟我的脚底相吻合呢。”或者,“我找到了三四位证人,他们在宣誓书上面签名了,说曾经看见我的妈妈怀孕,然后不久就看到我出现在她的怀抱里啦。”

你应该简单回答说,“我知道自己是出生了的,因为我活着。”

你怎么知道你在属灵的领域是生下来了呢?

但是,假设说我去问今天的一位福音派信徒——一位普通的教会参与者,说,“你怎么知道自己已经重生?”有多少人会回答说,“因为我在神面前是活着的。我有活泼的盼望。我有一个活泼的信心。我以前曾经是没有属灵生命的,现在我在灵里面是活过来了,有属灵的胃口和属灵的喜乐。我曾经是死的,现在我在神里面是活的。我认识神,我爱他,我信靠他。我在他里面有盼望。我跟从他。我之所以知道自己是重生的,就是我今天的生命,这就是证明。”

然而,又有多少人,会这样回答,“我知道我重生了,因为我作了那些为着达成重生必须作的事:我邀请耶稣进入我的心;我作了迎接基督的祷告;我离开座位走到讲台那边接受了耶稣;我在我的钱包里面放着一张卡片,上面有我的签名,见证了在1952年的6月6日那天,我承诺耶稣是我的主人了。”

为什么会有这些不一样的答案呢?

对于我们怎么知道自己是出生了,不论是在物质的领域,还是在属灵的领域,为什么有许多很不一样的答案呢?

原因之一是,我们都确切知道,在物质领域,我们跟自己的出生毫无关系,那不过是发生在我们身上的事,我们没有导致它的产生,也没有选择要它发生,它就那样发生在我们身上了,并且我们后来能够作的,只是感恩接受这个事实,或者生它的气。我们根本就不会闪过这样的念头,要去证明我们的出生,比如说借助于罗列一大堆事件,辩解说是因为我们作了这些这些事,所以就被生下来了。根本就不是这么回事,我们也列不出这样的事件。不是我们促成此事。是此事产生了我们。

但是,面对属灵的出生——或说第二次出生——时,成千上万的基督徒却不相信这个情况。我们不愿意相信,自己的第二次出生,也是“被出生”,我们自己没有选择它,或是促成它。我们已经听了各式各样的教导,说我们自己引发了自己的新的出生。我们的新生,是自己选择、自己促成的。

因此,当我们被问到,“你是怎么知道它发生了的?”我们就倾向于回答说,“因为我按照他们所教导的,作了这些这些事情,都是我必须作的,好使我得着重生。”我们往往不会,用实事求是的、坚定不移的态度,宣告那正确的答案说,“因为我在神面前活着呀。”我们推断自己新的出生,往往着眼于某些似乎促成它发生的事件,而不是因着这事在我们里面促成的效果。

于是,围绕这种自我领悟——他们自己制造的基督徒存在方式,产生出这样的基督教,就不足为奇了。这样的人往往不会对自己的新生爆发出赞美,以至于像彼得那样欢呼:“愿颂赞归与神,哦,愿上帝得着称颂、赞美、感谢、和爱戴——唯独上帝——是他因着自己的大怜悯,促成了我们的重生。”

新约圣经关于我们新的出生之图画

上帝成就此事。也要因此得荣耀。这就是涉及我们身上发生的事,新约圣经所提供的、始终如一的图画。

  • 我过去是死在过犯罪恶当中,而上帝,因他爱我的大爱,便叫我与基督一同活过来(弗2:5)。我并没有叫自己从死里复活。是上帝使我复活的。
  • 在属灵领域里,我原本不存在。我什么都不是,那时我还没被创造呢。但是后来,上帝造出了一个新人,我就在基督里面成了新造的人(弗4:24;加拉太书6:15;哥林多后书5:17)。我没有创造自己。是上帝创造了我。
  • 我原来对于属灵的事物是瞎眼的。肉体和血气都不能够帮助我。但是这位在天上的父亲,照着他的怜悯和主权,打开了我的眼睛,让我看见耶稣就是基督,是永生神的儿子(太16:17;并参11:27;徒16:14)。上帝促使我看见并承认他的真理。
  • 我曾经在可怕的属灵黑暗中,就像当初上帝造光之前的那个渊面黑暗的状况。然后,“那吩咐光从黑暗里照出来的神,已经照在我心里,叫我得知神荣耀的光显在耶稣基督的面上。”(林后4:6)。
  • 我的父母,还有基恩·劳伦斯牧师,在我心里种下神的话语,浇灌了,但是上帝,唯有上帝,行了神迹,把生命赐下来,并使这颗种子得以生长壮大(林前3:6)。
  • 我曾经是个自以为是的人,叛逆,骄傲,偏行己路,若是靠着自己,哪怕再给我一百年,也是不会来主动寻找耶稣的,然而上帝吸引我来就近他:“(耶稣说)若不是差我来的父吸引人,就没有能到我这里来的”(约6:44)。
  • 以前,在我心中从没有什么悔改之意,也不会因着自己的罪而忧伤,更没有改变的激情,但是,上帝满有怜悯地把悔改赐给了我,并且带领我认识了真理(提后2:25)。
  • 我过去没有信心,也没有意愿要去做一个“懦夫”,依靠别人的力量存活。但是上帝,照着他的大怜悯,赐给我信靠的能力(腓1:29),并且因这信心拯救了我。然而这实在不是我自己的功劳,而是神所赐的礼物(弗2:8及下文)。于是我就相信了。是我自己要选择相信的。但是我的选择本身就是神的礼物;那是我得着了新的出生的结果,而不是促成它的原因。我是被生下来的,按照《约翰福音》1:13的说法,“这等人不是从血气生的,不是从情欲生的,也不是从人意生的,乃是从神生的。”

于是,彼得就说,上帝,“曾照自己的大怜悯……重生了我们。”这是上帝作的,免得我们自夸,免得我们不去心悦诚服地赞美主耶稣基督的父神,免得我们不去大声宣扬,那召我们出黑暗入奇妙光明者的美德(彼前2:9;林前1:24;提后1:9)。

让我们全心的来赞美上帝吧

所以这个早晨,让我们全心赞美上帝吧。他已经促使我们出生在他的家里,并且赐给我们活泼的盼望。你们当中的一些人今天早上正在被神的灵所吸引和唤醒。不要抗拒圣灵的工作。第一章23节说,我们“蒙了重生,是借着神活泼常存的道。”但愿上帝在你生命中,使我的这些话语,照着那唤醒生命的大能,得以继续存留。来吧,相信吧,并且,因着重生这伟大的拯救之工,和我们一起,来赞美耶和华吧。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

God's Great Mercy and Our New Birth

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to his great mercy has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to obtain an inheritance which is imperishable and undefiled and will not fade away, reserved in heaven for you.

The Goal of This Sermon: Worship

The goal of this sermon is set for me and for you in the first phrase of verse 3: "Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ." Peter's response to God's causing his people to be born again, and raising his Son Jesus from the dead, and giving us a living hope, and providing us an imperishable inheritance in heaven is to bless God. "Blessed be God!" And if that is his response, it should be our response.

What he is going to talk about makes him exult and bless God. He did not have to tell us that. He did not have to begin by letting his emotions for God show. He could have begun in a cool, collected, dispassionate, unemotional way. He could have said: "My lecture topic today is regeneration. I have several related doctrines upon which I wish to discourse. Let me list them: 1) God; 2) regeneration; 3) hope; 4) the resurrection of Jesus; 5) inheritance; 6) heaven. Let us give close attention to these things." He could have begun that way. But he didn't.

And what that says to me, as a preacher, as I look at this text is: "Don't you begin that way either. Don't handle these truths like that." Peter begins with exultation and blessing and wonder because that's what these realities have produced in his heart. When he considers these things, he does not say coolly, "There, I have taught the truth clearly. My job is done. Do with it what you will." He says, "Blessed be God!" He does it here. He does it in 4:11, "To him belong glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen." He does it again in 5:11, "To him be the dominion for ever and ever. Amen." Peter breaks out again and again in praise and blessing. He writes about the greatest realities in the universe with a worshipful spirit. He writes with exultation and wonder and awe and marvel and heartfelt gratitude.

Preaching as Worshipful Exposition

So when I consider what it is to preach on these realities here's what I come up with: Preaching is worshipful exposition. Preaching is worshipful exposition of glorious biblical reality. If you have the notion that what we do in this Sunday morning service is half worship and half preaching, you're wrong. It is half worshipful singing and half worshipful preaching (with some other elements stirred in that I pray are also worshipful). We can fail. We can sing without worshiping. And I can preach without worshiping. That's professionalism and formalism. And it's not our goal. Our goal is to worship from beginning to end.

Worship is when the mind apprehends great truth about God, and the heart kicks in with deep feelings of brokenness or wonder and gladness and admiration and gratitude, and the mouth says something like, "Blessed be God! O blessed and praised and honored and glorified be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ."

So the first phrase of verse 3 sets our goal this morning. Our goal is to worship God; to see God's great reality with our minds, and feel God's beauty and wonder with our hearts, and speak and sing God's greatness with our mouths. That's what Peter did when he wrote about new birth. "Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ." That's what we should do. There's the goal.

Five Great Realities That Lead Us into Worship

Now what truth, what great reality brought Peter to this exultation? If we limit our answer just to verses 3 and 4 there are five great realities about God that gripped Peter's mind and heart.

1. God's Great Mercy

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to his great mercy . . .

There's the first one: God's great mercy. If you wonder if there is mercy with God, the answer is that there is great mercy. "According to his GREAT mercy." Peter is moved by that.

2. God's Work of New Birth

. . . who according to his great mercy, has caused us to be born again to a living hope . . .

There's the second reality about God that moves Peter: God is the one who caused us to be born again. New birth is God's work. His mercy not our work produces a new being called a child of God and an exile and alien in the world.

3. God's Work of Raising Jesus from the Dead

. . . he caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead . . .

There's the third reality about God that gripped Peter: God raised Jesus from the dead. Verse 21 makes it more explicit: "God raised him from the dead and gave him glory so that your faith and hope are in God." The resurrection is about God. God did it. So we trust God. We hope in God. And Peter says, "Blessed be God!"

4. God's Promise of an Inheritance

Verse 4: . . . to obtain an inheritance which is imperishable and undefiled and will not fade away,

There's the fourth reality about God that gripped Peter: God promises an inheritance to his newborns. God is the begetting Father and God is the source of the inheritance. Fathers leave an inheritance to their children, not vice versa. God is the giver here. All the way through this passage he is the fountain. God is the one overflowing. We are receivers at every point: mercy, new birth, resurrection, inheritance.

Finally . . .

4. God's Work of Keeping Our Inheritance

[the inheritance is] reserved [literally: "kept"] in heaven for you.

Who is keeping it? Answer: God is.

So if you just take verses 3 and 4 there are five answers to the question: What great reality brought Peter to worship this way? What gripped his mind and moved his heart and opened his mouth to say, "Blessed be God"? The answer is:

  1. God is great in mercy.
  2. God causes us to be born again to a living hope.
  3. God raised Jesus Christ from the dead.
  4. God promises an inheritance to those whom he fathers.
  5. (And) God is keeping that inheritance so that it will never, ever perish or soil or fade.

The Main Thing: God Causes New Birth

Now what is the main thing that God is doing here? The main thing is that God has caused new birth. His great mercy is the source of it. His raising Jesus from the dead is the historical triumph over death that makes it possible. Our living hope in a great inheritance flows from it. But the main work of God focused on here is the new birth. So let's focus on that: God caused us to be born again.

One of the reasons we don't exult in this like Peter is that we don't understand it, or we don't believe it. "God caused us to be born again." God fathered us into second being as children of God. We had no existence as his children. "That which is born of the flesh is [just] flesh," Jesus said in John 3:6. But "that which is born [again] of the Spirit is spirit." We had no living spiritual existence. We were what a human father and mother and common grace could make of us. But then God came on us and caused us to be born again. He awakened a new life. The life of faith and hope in God. The life of the Spirit in us.

But most of us have been taught one way or the other that God did not do the decisive work here, we did. And it is no wonder, then, that we do not respond like Peter: "Blessed be God, O blessed be God who by HIS GREAT MERCY did it!"

How Do You Know You Were Born Physically?

Let me get at this with a provocative question: If I asked you, "How do you know that you were born from your mother's womb?" what would you answer? You would answer, "I'm alive! I exist outside my mother's womb. I'm here." And that's right. And that is all the answer needed.

You would not answer, "I know I was born because I've got a birth certificate at home." Or, "I know I was born because I did some historical research at a hospital in Chattanooga, Tennessee, and found a document with a little footprint on it that matches the curly lines on the bottom of my foot." Or, "I collected signed affidavits of three or four witnesses that saw my mother pregnant and soon after saw me in her arms."

You would simply say, "I know I was born because I am alive."

How Do You Know You Were Born Spiritually?

But now suppose I asked an average evangelical churchgoer today, "How do you know you were born again?" How many would answer, "Because I am alive to God. I have a living hope. I have a living faith. I once had no spiritual life and now I am alive spiritually, with spiritual appetites and spiritual enjoyments. Once I was dead and now I am alive in God. I know him, I love him, I trust him. I hope in him. I follow him. The proof that I was born again is my life today!"

How many, rather, would answer, "I know I was born again because I did what you must do to be born again: I asked Jesus into my heart; I prayed to receive Christ; I walked down an aisle and accepted Jesus; I have a card here in my wallet that I signed on June 6, 1952, where I pledged that Jesus is my Lord."

Why Would There Be Differing Answers?

Why would there be such a difference in answering how we know if we were physically born and how we know if we are spiritually born?

One reason is that we know beyond the shadow of a doubt that we had nothing to do with our physical birth. It was done to us. We did not cause it. We did not choose it. It happened to us and all we can do is be thankful for it or resent it. So it doesn't even occur to us to prove we were born by appealing to things that we did to get born. There aren't any. We didn't cause it. It caused us.

But when it comes to our spiritual birth—or second birth—millions of Christians don't believe that. We don't believe that our second birth was done to us and that we did not choose it or cause it. We have been taught in hundreds of ways that we ourselves bring about our new birth. That we choose it and we cause it.

So when we are asked, "How do you know it happened?" we tend to answer, "Because I did the things I was taught you must do to be born again." We don't say, with reality and authenticity, "Because I am alive to God." We infer our new birth from the things we did to cause it not from the things that it causes in us.

It is not surprising, then, that a kind of Christianity grows up around that self-understanding—that self-made Christian existence—which does not explode with praise over our new birth and say with Peter: "Blessed be God, O blessed and praised and thanked and loved be God—and God alone—who by HIS GREAT MERCY caused us to be born again."

The New Testament Picture of Our New Birth

God did it. And God will get the glory for it. This is the uniform New Testament picture of what happened to us.

  • I was dead in trespasses and sins and God, in the great love with which he loved me, made me alive together with Christ (Ephesians 2:5). I did not raise myself from the dead. God raised me.
  • I was spiritually non-existent. I was a no-thing. Not even created. But then God created a new person, and I became a new creation in Christ (Ephesians 4:24; Galatians 6:15; 2 Corinthians 5:17). I did not create myself. God created me.
  • I was blind to spiritual things. Flesh and blood could not help me. But the Father in heaven mercifully and sovereignly opened my eyes to see that Jesus is the Christ the Son of the living God (Matthew 16:17; cf. 11:27; Acts 16:14). God caused me to see and acknowledge his truth.
  • I was in utter spiritual darkness like the darkness over the deep before God made light. And then "God, who said, 'Let light shine out of darkness,' shone in my heart to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ" (2 Corinthians 4:6).
  • My mother and my father and pastor Gene Lawrence planted the Word of God and watered it, but it was God and God alone who did the miracle of giving life and making it grow (1 Corinthians 3:6).
  • I was self-willed, rebellious, proud, going my own way and would never in a hundred years have come to Jesus on my own, and God drew me: "No one can come to me [Jesus said] unless the Father who sent me draws him" (John 6:44).
  • I had no repentance in my heart, no sorrow for my sin or passion to change, but God graciously granted me repentance and lead me to a knowledge of the truth (2 Timothy 2:25).
  • I had no faith, no desire to look like a weakling and depend on another. But God, in his great mercy, granted me to believe (Philippians 1:29) and saved me by faith. But this was not my own doing it was the gift of God (Ephesians 2:8f.). I believed. It was my choice to believe. But my choice was the gift of God; the effect and not the cause of new birth. I was born, as John 1:13 says, "not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God."

And Peter says, "God, in his great mercy, caused us to be born again." God did it, lest we should ever boast and fail to bless the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ and proclaim the excellencies of the one who called us out of darkness into his marvelous light (1 Peter 2:9; 1 Corinthians 1:24; 2 Timothy 1:9).

Let Us Bless God with All of Our Hearts

So let us bless God this morning with all our hearts that he has caused us to be born into his family and given us living hope. Some of you are being drawn and wakened by the Spirit of God this morning. Do not resist. Verse 23 says that we are "born again through the living and abiding word of God." May God make my words live with life-awakening power in your lives. Come, believe, and bless the Lord with us for this great saving work of new birth.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org