圣哉!圣哉!圣哉!万军之耶和华

1973年6月1日,尼克松总统的顾问查理·寇尔森( Charles Colson)拜访了他的朋友汤姆·菲利普斯(Tom Phillips),当时水门事件已经被媒体曝光,炒的沸沸扬扬。让他又困惑又震惊的是,菲利普斯说自己已经“接受了耶稣基督。”不过,寇尔森的确发现汤姆很平静,而自己却惶惶然。当他告别汤姆回到自己的车上,居然插不上车钥匙,因为当时他不能自制地大哭起来。他说道:

“那天晚上,我真正地面对自己的罪——不只是那些跟水门事件有关的肮脏伎俩,更是那些在自己里面的罪,也就是每个人内心深处隐藏的邪恶。当时我很痛苦,但是却不能够再回避。我就向上帝哭喊,却发现自己被牵引,进入到他那久盼的怀抱,无法抗拒。就在那个晚上,我把自己的生命交给了耶稣基督,从此开始了我人生中最伟大的冒险之旅。”(《爱上帝》 Loving God, 247页)

查理·寇尔森对上帝全新的认识

这个故事在过去10年里被反复传讲,我们都很喜欢听。但是,我们中间有太多的人,在自己或者教会的生活里,就在这样的故事情节上举步不前、安于现状了。而查理·寇尔森却不是这样。这位美国白宫满有魄力和干劲的猛将,不但愿意在1973年痛哭流涕,更在数年之后,愿意在上帝面前再次悔改,为要纠正自己对上帝的远远不够的认识。那是在一个不常见的,灵里面特别枯竭的时期(假如你也处在这样的时期,请你放心!你不知道有多少圣徒走过这样的属灵沙漠,在这里与神相遇,生命得到彻底改变),一位朋友建议寇尔森看斯普罗(R.C. Sproul)关于上帝圣洁的系列讲座。寇尔森在他的新书里这样写道(《爱上帝》 Loving God, 14-15页):

“当时我只知道斯普罗是个神学家,所以对他的讲座热情不高。我想,毕竟神学只是有闲人的事,他们钻进象牙塔中,远离尘世硝烟和实际生活的需要。不过呢,既然朋友极力催促,我最后还是同意看看斯普罗的系列讲座。

听完第6个讲座时,我已经双膝跪地,沉浸在祷告之中,惊诧于上帝那绝对的圣洁。那是一个改变生命的经历,因为我对于自己所信靠和敬拜的圣洁上帝,有了全新的理解。

我属灵的干旱就此终结,虽然品尝到上帝的威严,但这只能让我更渴慕去认识他。”

1973年,寇尔森已经对神、对自己有些认识,知道自己是绝对需要上帝的,而且也是被“不可抗拒”地(用他的话说)拉到了上帝的怀抱中。然而,直到数年之后,那奇妙的事情才发生。一位神学家对上帝的圣洁之演讲,使寇尔森跪倒在地,“对于……圣洁之上帝,获得了全新的理解。”从那时开始,他就品尝到“上帝的威严”。你是否也看到了足够多的上帝之圣洁,对他的威严也有一种无法满足的渴求呢?

约伯从新认识了上帝

“乌斯地有一个人名叫约伯;那人完全正直,敬畏神,远离恶事”(《约伯记》1:1)。约伯信神,极度敬虔而且常常祷告。像他这样的人,当然应该是认识上帝的啦。他必定是已经“品尝到了上帝的威严”吧。但是,他也同样经历过属灵和肉体的沙漠时期,遭受了痛苦和不幸。就是在约伯那些黑暗的日子里,上帝的威荣彰显,他对约伯说:

“你岂可废弃我所拟定的?岂可定我有罪,好显自己为义吗? 你有神那样的膀臂吗?你能像他发雷声吗?你要以荣耀庄严为妆饰,以尊荣威严为衣服……见一切骄傲的人,使他降卑;见一切骄傲的人,将他制伏,把恶人践踏在本处……我就认你右手能以救自己……这样,谁能在我面前站立得住呢?谁先给我什么,使我偿还呢?天下万物都是我的。”(《约伯记》40:8–14; 41:10–11)

结果,正如寇尔森那样,约伯最后“对于……圣洁之上帝,获得了全新的理解”,他回答说:

“我所说的是我不明白的;这些事太奇妙,是我不知道的……我从前风闻有你,现在亲眼看见你。因此我厌恶自己,在尘土和炉灰中懊悔。”(42:3-6)

追寻圣洁上帝途中的忍耐和盼望

这样的事情也能发生在我们教会吗?肯定能,而且正在发生着。要是我没有看到什么迹象的话,或许就很难坚持下去——就算我知道忍耐对于复兴来说至关重要。在《宣教与圣灵》(The Holy Spirit in Missions)一书中,哥顿(A.J. Gordon)写道(139-140页):

“凯里(William Carey,19世纪去印度的宣教士)用了七年的时间,才给第一位印度的信徒施洗;贾德森(Adonirum Judson,19世纪去缅甸的宣教士)花了七年时间,才赢得他在缅甸的第一个门徒;莫里森(Robert Morrison,19世纪新教来华的第一位宣教士)耕耘七年,才带领第一位中国人归入基督;摩菲(Robert Moffet,19世纪去到非洲的贝专纳人当中宣教)宣称他足足等了七年,才看到圣灵在非洲的贝专纳人当中作工;亨利·理查兹(Henry Richards,19世纪到非洲的刚果传教)在刚果经过七年的努力,才在班扎(Banza Manteka)带领第一个信徒归主。”

坚忍,祷告和劳苦作工,是复兴的关键。但接着还有期待和盼望。而且,上帝已经赐给我充满希望的迹象,使得以赛亚和约伯,还有查理·寇尔森的经历,也能够在我们这里发生,只要我们继续认真地追求圣洁的上帝。比如说,一个星期之前,我们的一位会员写信给我,提到这里的事工,说已经

“把我带到高处去翱翔,超过之前我所看到的那些山巅,进入一个更加雄壮、伟大、广阔、荣耀的图画,是我不曾想象的,在那里有至高的神……我对于上帝的认识变得更加深广,而从他那无所不能的威荣当中流淌出万事万物,完备充足。进入伯利恒教会这10个月中,我经历了一次美妙的复兴,并且这火焰熊熊燃烧,越来越明亮,比先前更加能够照彻四方。”

当我们看见上帝在其圣洁当中的威严,而且看到自己悖逆的真像,这时复兴就会发生了。破碎,悔改,无法言喻的那种被饶恕之后的喜乐,一个“对上帝之威严的品尝”,对他的圣洁之饥渴——并且希望更多看到和活出来:那就是复兴。这乃是借着看见上帝而产生出来的。

以赛亚在异象中对上帝的七个瞥见

在《以赛亚书》6:1-4那里,以赛亚要我们体验他在异象中见到的上帝。

“当乌西雅王崩的那年,我见主坐在高高的宝座上。他的衣裳垂下,遮满圣殿。其上有撒拉弗侍立,各有六个翅膀:用两个翅膀遮脸,两个翅膀遮脚,两个翅膀飞翔;彼此呼喊说:圣哉!圣哉!圣哉!万军之耶和华;他的荣光充满全地!因呼喊者的声音,门槛的根基震动,殿充满了烟云。”

在4节经文里,我看到7处对于上帝的瞥见,至少有这7处。

1. 上帝是活着的

首先,上帝是活着的。乌西雅死了,但上帝继续活着。“从亘古到永远,你是神。”(《诗篇》90:2)。当这个宇宙砰然爆炸出现的时候,他是那位活着的上帝。当苏格拉底喝下毒药的时候,他是那位活着的上帝。当威廉·巴拉福特(William Bradford,带领最早期的清教徒来到北美洲)治理普利茅斯殖民地的时候,他是那位活着的上帝。他也是那位活在1966年的上帝,虽然当时托马斯·奥尔蒂泽(Thomas Altizer)宣告说上帝死了,时代杂志还把这件事摆在封面上。而且,即使是距今亿万年之后,等那些对他的存在之现实所发表的各样渺小攻击和无理诽谤,都如同玩具枪的小子弹那样沉入太平洋海底深处,上帝还会继续活着。“当乌西雅王崩的那年,我见主……”全世界所有的国家领导人,不出50年,就没有一位会继续留在他的统治位子上了。他们百分之百的要消失。仅仅110年后,这个星球就会被崭新的100亿左右的人口重新布满,而今天活着的我们这四十多亿人,到时候会消失殆尽,就像乌西雅王那样。但是上帝却不然。他从来没有一个起点,故此他不需要倚靠任何其它的事物而存在。他一直都在那里,并且将会一直活下去。

2. 上帝是满有权柄的

其次,他是满有权柄的。“我见主坐在高高的宝座上。”从来没有人在某个天上异象里瞥见上帝在犁地,或者割草,或者擦皮鞋,或者在填写报告,或者在往卡车上装货。天堂也从来不会有裂缝或者会崩塌。上帝在他那属天的国度里,从来不会智穷力竭。他就是那么坐着,而且是在宝座上坐着。一切都是那样祥和,而且万事万物全都在他的掌控之下。 那宝座就是他治理世界的权柄。这权柄并不是我们给他的。无论我们是否愿意,他都已经拥有这个权柄。以为自己有什么权利对上帝提出任何质疑,那是何等愚蠢!我们常常要被提醒,就像上个月《改革宗杂志》(Reformed Journal)里弗吉尼亚·欧文斯(Virginia Stem Owens)直言不讳的话:

“我就直说吧。上帝可以照他喜欢的‘该死的’方式做任何事情,只要他想做。若是他喜欢,想要咒诅什么事物,事情就成就了。照其事实,事就成了。上帝之作为,就是既成之事实,不可改变。而且此外并无他物。若不是上帝的作为,就不会有任何的存在物,包括我们人类——我们常常想要去擅自批判那位创造万物的主宰,他诚然是创造了万有。”

很少有其它的、更加让我们谦卑的事物,很少有其它的、给我们带来真切威严感的事物,像这个真理那样,我指的是上帝那彻底的权柄。他就是那最高法庭,那立法机关,和那位最高行政长官。在他之上,再没有可以申诉之处了。

3. 上帝是全能的

第三,上帝是全能的。他的权柄之宝座,并非是许多类似者“当中的一个”。而是特立独行的,高高举起的宝座。“我见主坐在高高的宝座上。”上帝的宝座比任何其它的宝座更高,意味着上帝在施行其权柄方面的超越一切的大能。没有任何的反对力量或者敌对权威能够取消上帝的律例。他所怀的意念,必然成就。“我的筹算必立定;凡我所喜悦的,我必成就”(《以赛亚书》46:10)。“在天上的万军和世上的居民中,他都凭自己的意旨行事。无人能拦住他手”(《但以理书》4:35)。当人们被神的全能(或说主权)所抓住的时候,要么是很美妙之事——因为神是帮助我们的,要么就是非常恐怖之事——因为神是抵挡我们的。若是对他的全能无动于衷,只能表明我们还未看清它的真貌。这位永活上帝的主权式权柄,对于那些守他约的百姓来说,就真的是一个充满喜乐和能力的避难所。

4. 上帝是绚丽辉煌的

第四,上帝是绚丽辉煌的。“我见主坐在高高的宝座上。他的衣裳垂下,遮满圣殿。”你大概看到过某些婚礼当中新娘的照片,她们的婚纱披挂在身旁,遮盖着部分的台阶和舞台。假如说,类似的衣裳充满走道,遮掩了许多座位,而且覆盖了整个的诗班在台上的席位,那又会是怎样的景象和意义呢?上帝那充满了整个天上圣殿的袍子,意味着,他乃是一位无与伦比的绚丽辉煌的神。其实,上帝的绚丽辉煌,已经通过无数方式彰显出来了。

举一个小小的例子,一月份的《漫游者里克》(Ranger Rick,或译《园林看守者》,一本适合少年儿童阅读的科普杂志)里面有一篇文章,介绍了某些生活在黑暗的大洋底部的鱼类,它们身上都有自己的发光体——有一些在脸颊上面挂着灯,另一些有着会发亮的鼻子,又有一些在其眼睛底下有探照灯似的构造。就是在大洋深处,生活着这些能够自己发光的鱼类,数目有上千种,而且是我们通常都不会看到和欣赏到的。它们的样子千奇百怪,却是绚烂多姿。它们为什么会在那里呢?为什么不是十来种就行了,就如那些经由生产线下来的高效率的模型那样?因为,上帝的绚丽和荣耀是非常丰富的。他的创造性的富有,满溢出来,就成为富饶的华美。如果说物质世界,都能够这样的美丽,那么,那位思想和创造这一切的主宰,岂不是要更加的绚丽辉煌吗!

5. 上帝是配得尊崇的

第五,上帝是配得尊崇的。“其上有撒拉弗侍立,各有六个翅膀:用两个翅膀遮脸,两个翅膀遮脚,两个翅膀飞翔。”没有人知道,这些奇怪的拥有六个翅膀,有脚有眼又有智慧的活物,到底是什么。他们在圣经当中再没有出现过——至少没有再以撒拉弗的名字出现。根据当时那威严荣耀的场景,以及思考这些天上万军之大能,我们最好不要把他们想象成那些在上帝的耳边飞翔的胖嘟嘟的长着翅膀的婴孩。按照第4节,当他们中的一位讲话的时候,圣殿的根基都摇动起来。我们最好是想象那些蓝天使飞机(Blue Angels,美国海军的一支战斗机飞行表演队)在总统及其随从官员面前,以超音速瞬间冲破声障的威势列队俯冲。在天上,可没有什么软弱愚笨的生物,只有宏伟壮丽的被造物。

关键是:连这些天使都不能正视神,而且在神的同在中,他们都深觉不配,要把各自的脚掩盖起来。尽管本身已经相当的伟大和良善,不曾受到任何人间罪恶的沾染,他们依然会采取谦卑的心态,对自己的创造者充满了敬畏之情。天使,可以因其光耀和大能,而让人惊惧。但是,跟上帝的荣耀绚丽相比,连天使们自己都需要躲藏到圣洁的惧怕里面。那么,我们这些连天使的绚烂都不能够承受的人,来到上帝面前,又将会怎样的战栗呢!

6. 上帝是圣洁的

第六,上帝是圣洁的。“彼此呼喊说:圣哉!圣哉!圣哉!万军之耶和华!”你是否记得,雷佩契普(Reepicheep),那位英勇的老鼠,在《黎明踏浪号》(The Voyage of the Dawn Treader,鲁益师C.S.Lewis的《纳尼亚传奇》系列小说当中的一部)故事的结尾,是怎样用他那小小的圆舟,航行到世界边缘的吗?那好,对于我们来说,在语言的大海当中航行,如果想要达到它的边缘的话,“圣洁”这个词就相当于承载雷佩契普的那艘小船。当我们试图用人类的语言来传达上帝的意思,早晚会黔驴技穷,我们的言语将会超出这个世界的边缘,进入到那无以名状的广袤的未知领域。“圣哉”这个形容词,就把我们带到了那个边缘,从那里再往前,我们对于上帝的体验,就是言语根本无法形容的啦。

我这么说,是因为任何试图把神的圣洁加以定义的努力,都会最终落实到这样的说法:上帝是圣洁的,意思乃是说,上帝就是上帝。让我举个例子吧。圣洁一词的字根,其核心意思,大概是切割和区分。一件圣洁的物体,指的是从普通的(也被称为世俗的)用途当中切割出来,区别出来。世界上的事物和个人,被称为是圣的时候,指的是他们与世俗有别,专门归给上帝使用。所以圣经里面提到,圣地(《出埃及记》 3:5), 圣会 (《出埃及记》 12:16), 圣安息日 (《出埃及记》 16:23), 圣洁的国民 (《出埃及记》 19:6); 圣衣 (《出埃及记》 28:2), 圣城 (《尼希米记》 11:1), 圣言 (《诗篇》 105:42), 圣洁的男人们 (《彼得后书 》1:21) 以及女人们 (《彼得前书》 3:5), 圣经 (《提摩太后书》 3:15), 圣洁的手 (《提摩太前书》2:8), 圣洁的亲嘴问安 (《罗马书》 16:16), 以及至圣的真道 (《犹大书》 20)。几乎任何的事物,只要是从世俗中区别出来,专门归给上帝使用,都可以成为圣洁。

不过,请留意一下,这个定义被应用在上帝身上时,将会发生什么事情。你能够将上帝从什么事物区分开来,使得他成为圣洁呢?上帝之所以是上帝,其本质就是指从一切的不是上帝的事物区别出来。在被造物和造物主之间,存在着一个无限量的本质方面的区别。上帝就是那样独一的,无与伦比的,自成一个类别的(Sui generis)。从这个意义上说,他就是绝对圣洁的。然而,这么说就是回到原点,就是说:他就是神。

或者,假如一个人的圣洁,指的是他被从世界当中区别出来,专门献身给上帝,那么,对于上帝来说,他可以委身给谁,以至于被称为圣洁呢?除了对他自己委身之外,再无其它的对象了。如果说上帝还要委身给或者效法某个比他更高的存在物,才能够得以圣洁,那就是亵渎神了。上帝就是那绝对的现实,在其之后,只有更多的上帝本身。在《出埃及记》3:14那里,当被问及名字时,上帝说,“我是自有永有的(译注,原文意思是,我就是我所是的)。”他的本体和他的品格,绝对不是借由任何的在他以外的事物来界定的。他的圣洁,并非因为他遵守了某些规则才达成的。他自己就制定了所有的规则!上帝之圣洁,也不是因为他遵守了律法。相反的,律法之所以是圣洁的,乃是因为它启示出上帝来。故此,上帝是绝对的。除此之外的一切,都是衍生出来的。

那么,到底圣洁是什么呢?来看三处经文。《撒母耳记上》2:2说,“只有耶和华为圣;除他以外没有可比的,也没有磐石像我们的神。 ”《以赛亚书》40:25说,“那圣者说:你们将谁比我,叫他与我相等呢?”《何西阿书》11:9说,“因我是神,并非世人,是你们中间的圣者。”上帝之所以是圣洁的,最终乃是因为他是上帝,而不是世人。(请比较《利未记》19:2和20:7,并比较《以赛亚书》5:16的平行结构。)他就是无与伦比的。他的圣洁,就是他那彻底独特的神圣本质。这就决定了上帝一切的所是和所行,而且是不受任何其他人影响的。他的圣洁乃是神之作为神的所是,没有任何其他人是这样或者会变成这样。我们可以称其为威严,他的神圣性,他的伟大,他的如同重价珠宝般的价值,等等。最终,人类的言语就不够用了。在“圣洁”这个词汇当中,我们已经航行到世界的边缘地带,只能够在神面前保持静默,带着敬畏,赞叹,和诧异之心。或许我们还可以更多地去认识上帝,不过那已经超越了语言的界限。“惟耶和华在他的圣殿中;全地的人都当在他面前肃敬静默”(《哈巴谷书》2:20)。

7. 上帝是荣耀的

然而,在那肃静的气氛和根基的震动当中,以及那遮掩一切的烟云里,我们还学到了关于上帝的第七件事,也是最后一点。上帝是荣耀的。“圣哉!圣哉!圣哉!万军之耶和华;他的荣光充满全地!”上帝的荣耀,正是他圣洁的彰显。上帝的圣洁,乃是他的神圣本性的无比完美性;他的荣耀就是该圣洁之展现。“上帝是荣耀的”指的是:上帝的圣洁被公开了。他的荣耀就是,他的圣洁之奥秘,被公然启示出来。在《利未记》10:3,神说,“我在亲近我的人中要显为圣;在众民面前,我要得荣耀。”当上帝展现自己的圣洁之时,我们所看到的,就是荣耀。上帝的圣洁,就是他所隐藏的荣耀。而上帝的荣耀,就是他那被启示出来的圣洁。

当撒拉弗呼喊说,“他的荣光充满全地!”这是因为从天上的高度,你能够看到全地。而我们在下面的地上,能够看到的上帝的荣耀却很有限。而我们这个局限性,主要又是因着我们对于俗世浮华之愚蠢的痴迷。借用克尔恺郭尔(Søren Kierkegaard,丹麦神学家、哲学家,存在主义者的先驱)的一个比喻来说,我们就如同那些在暗夜里驱赶马车去往远郊,要观看上帝荣耀的人。而在我们头上,在马车座位的两旁,都燃烧着汽灯。只要我们的脑袋,被这团人工的灯火所笼罩,头顶的天空就会显得空无一物,毫无光彩可言。但是,如果圣灵吹过来一阵恩慈之风,把我们那属世的灯火吹灭,那时候,在我们所处的墨黑的暗夜里面,上帝的天空就会被无数的星辰布满。

有一天,上帝将会吹熄和挪移所有那些试图争竞的荣光,向每个谦卑的人彰显他绚丽耀眼的圣洁。然而,我们不用等到那一天才能够体验。约伯,约书亚,查理·寇尔森,以及你们当中的许多人,都已经自己谦卑,努力地在寻求圣洁的上帝,也已经对他的威严有了渴慕之心。对你们,以及其他初尝神之威严的人,我可以宣告以下这个从神而来的应许。这位上帝——正如我们所说——是永远活着,满有权柄,全能,绚丽,配得尊崇,圣洁,荣耀。而这个应许就是:“你们要呼求我,祷告我,我就应允你们。你们寻求我,若专心寻求我,就必寻见”(《耶利米书》29:12-13)。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Holy, Holy, Holy Is the Lord of Hosts

On June 1, 1973, Charles Colson visited his friend Tom Phillips, while Watergate exploded in the press. He was baffled and shocked at Phillips' explanation that he had "accepted Jesus Christ." But he saw that Tom was at peace and he wasn't. When Colson left the house, he couldn't get his keys in the ignition he was crying so hard. He says,

That night I was confronted with my own sin—not just Watergate's dirty tricks, but the sin deep within me, the hidden evil that lives in every human heart. It was painful and I could not escape. I cried out to God and found myself drawn irresistibly into his waiting arms. That was the night I gave my life to Jesus Christ and began the greatest adventure of my life. (Loving God, p. 247)

Charles Colson's New Understanding of God

That story has been told hundreds of times in the last ten years. We love to hear it. But far too many of us settle for that story in our own lives and the life of our church. But not Charles Colson. Not only was the White House hatchet man willing to cry in 1973; he was also willing to repent several years later of a woefully inadequate view of God. It was during a period of unusual spiritual dryness. (If you are in one, take heart! More saints than you realize have had life-changing encounters with God right in the midst of the desert.) A friend suggested to Colson that he watch a videocassette lecture series by R.C. Sproul on the holiness of God. Here's what Colson writes in his new book, Loving God (pp. 14–15):

All I knew about Sproul was that he was a theologian, so I wasn't enthusiastic. After all, I reasoned, theology was for people who had time to study, locked in ivory towers far from the battlefield of human need. However, at my friend's urging I finally agreed to watch Sproul's series.

By the end of the sixth lecture I was on my knees, deep in prayer, in awe of God's absolute holiness. It was a life-changing experience as I gained a completely new understanding of the holy God I believe in and worship.

My spiritual drought ended, but this taste for the majesty of God only made me thirst for more of him.

In 1973 Colson had seen enough of God and himself to know his desperate need of God, and had been driven "irresistibly" (as he says) into God's arms. But then several years later something else wonderful happened. A theologian spoke on the holiness of God and Charles Colson says that he fell to his knees and "gained a completely new understanding of the holy God." From that point on he had what he calls a "taste for the majesty of God." Have you seen enough of God's holiness to have an insatiable taste for his majesty?

Job Sees God Anew

"There was a man in the land of Uz whose name was Job; and that man was blameless and upright, one who feared God and turned away from evil" (Job 1:1). Job was a believer, a deeply devout and prayerful man. Surely he knew God as he ought. Surely he had a "taste for the majesty of God." But then came the pain and misery of his spiritual and physical desert. And in the midst of Job's darkness God spoke in his majesty to Job:

Will you even put me in the wrong? Will you condemn me that you may be justified? Have you an arm like God, and can you thunder with a voice like his? Deck yourself with majesty and dignity; clothe yourself with glory and splendor . . . Look on everyone that is proud, and bring him low; and tread down the wicked where they stand . . . Then will I also acknowledge to you, that your own right hand can give you the victory . . . Who then is he that can stand before me? Who has given to me that I should repay him? Whatever is under the whole heaven is mine. (40:8–14; 41:10–11)

In the end Job responds, like Colson, to a "completely new understanding of the Holy God." He says,

Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me which I did not know . . . I had heard of thee by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees thee; therefore I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes. (42:3–6)

Perseverance and Hope in Pursuing the Holy God

Can that happen at Bethlehem? It can and it is. If I saw no signs of it, I would be hard pressed to continue even though I know perseverance is the key to revival. A.J. Gordon wrote in his book, The Holy Spirit in Missions, pp. 139, 140:

It was seven years before Carey baptized his first convert in India; it was seven years before Judson won his first disciple in Burma; Morrison toiled seven years before the first Chinaman was brought to Christ; Moffat declared that he waited seven years to see the first evident moving of the Holy Spirit upon the Bechuanas of Africa; Henry Richards wrought seven years on the Congo before the first convert was gained at Banza Manteka.

Perseverance, prayer and labor, is the key to revival. But so is expectation and hope. And God has given me signs of hope that the experience of Isaiah and Job and Charles Colson can happen here if we continue to go hard after the holy God. For example, one of our members wrote me a letter a week ago which said the ministry here has

taken me soaring far past what I formerly perceived as mountaintops, to a grander, greater, bigger, more glorious picture of the God on high than I had ever imagined . . . My view of God becomes larger and larger and out of his omnipotent magnificence flows everything, all-sufficiency. In the ten months I have been at Bethlehem there has been a wonderful revival in my heart and the flame burns brighter and more surely than it ever has.

Revival happens when we see God majestic in holiness, and when we see ourselves disobedient dust. Brokenness, repentance, unspeakable joy of forgiveness, a "taste for the magnificence of God," a hunger for his holiness—to see it more and to live it more: that's revival. And it comes from seeing God.

Seven Glimpses of God in Isaiah's Vision

Isaiah invites us to share his vision of God in Isaiah 6:1–4.

In the year that king Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and his train filled the temple. Above him stood the seraphim; each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. And one called to another and said: 'Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts; the whole earth is full of his glory.' And the foundations of the thresholds shook at the voice of him who called, and the house was filled with smoke.

Seven glimpses of God I see in these four verses, at least seven.

1. God Is Alive

First, he is alive. Uzziah is dead, but God lives on. "From everlasting to everlasting, thou art God" (Ps. 90:2). God was the living God when this universe banged into existence. He was the living God when Socrates drank his poison. He was the living God when William Bradford governed Plymouth Colony. He was the living God in 1966 when Thomas Altizer proclaimed him dead and Time magazine put it on the front cover. And he will be living ten trillion ages from now when all the puny potshots against his reality will have sunk into oblivion like BB's at the bottom of the Pacific Ocean. "In the year that king Uzziah died I saw the Lord." There is not a single head of state in all the world who will be there in fifty years. The turnover in world leadership is 100%. In a brief 110 years this planet will be populated by ten billion brand new people and all four billion of us alive today will have vanished off the earth like Uzziah. But not God. He never had a beginning and therefore depends on nothing for his existence. He always has been and always will be alive.

2. God Is Authoritative

Second, he is authoritative. "I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne." No vision of heaven has ever caught a glimpse of God plowing a field, or cutting his grass or shining shoes or filling out reports or loading a truck. Heaven is not coming apart at the seams. God is never at wits' end with his heavenly realm. He sits. And he sits on a throne. All is at peace and he has control.

The throne is his right to rule the world. We do not give God authority over our lives. He has it whether we like it or not. What utter folly it is to act as though we had any rights at all to call God into question! We need to hear now and then blunt words like those of Virginia Stem Owens who said in last month's Reformed Journal,

Let us get this one thing straight. God can do anything he damn well pleases, including damn well. And if it pleases him to damn, then it is done, ipso facto, well. God's activity is what it is. There isn't anything else. Without it there would be no being, including human beings presuming to judge the Creator of everything that is.

Few things are more humbling, few things give us that sense of raw majesty, as the truth that God is utterly authoritative. He is the Supreme Court, the Legislature, and the Chief Executive. After him, no appeal.

3. God Is Omnipotent

Third, God is omnipotent. The throne of his authority is not one among many. It is high and lifted up. "I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne high and lifted up." That God's throne is higher than every other throne signifies God's superior power to exercise his authority. No opposing authority can nullify the decrees of God. What he purposes, he accomplishes. "My counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose" (Isaiah 46:10). "He does according to his will in the host of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth; and none can stay his hand" (Daniel 4:35). To be gripped by the omnipotence (or sovereignty) of God is either marvelous because he is for us or terrifying because he is against us. Indifference to his omnipotence simply means we haven't seen it for what it is. The sovereign authority of the living God is a refuge full of joy and power for those who keep his covenant.

4. God Is Resplendent

Fourth, God is resplendent. "I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple." You have seen pictures of brides whose dresses are gathered around them covering the steps and the platform. What would the meaning be if the train filled the aisles and covered the seats and the choir loft, woven all of one piece? That God's robe fills the entire heavenly temple means that he is a God of incomparable splendor. The fullness of God's splendor shows itself in a thousand ways.

For one little example, the January Ranger Rick has an article on species of fish who live deep in the dark sea and have their own built-in lights—some have lamps hanging from their chins, some have luminescent noses, some have beacons under their eyes. There are a thousand kinds of self-lighted fish who live deep in the ocean where none of us can see and marvel. They are spectacularly weird and beautiful. Why are they there? Why not just a dozen or so efficient streamlined models? Because God is lavish in splendor. His creative fullness spills over in excessive beauty. And if that's the way the world is, how much more resplendent must be the Lord who thought it up and made it!

5. God Is Revered

Fifth, God is revered. "Above him stood the seraphim; each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew." No one knows what these strange six-winged creatures with feet and eyes and intelligence are. They never appear again in the Bible—at least not under the name seraphim. Given the grandeur of the scene and the power of the angelic hosts, we had best not picture chubby winged babies fluttering about the Lord's ears. According to verse 4, when one of them speaks, the foundations of the temple shake. We would do better to think of the Blue Angels diving in formation before the presidential entourage and cracking the sound barrier just before his face. There are no puny or silly creatures in heaven. Only magnificent ones.

And the point is: not even they can look upon the Lord nor do they feel worthy even to leave their feet exposed in his presence. Great and good as they are, untainted by human sin, they revere their Maker in great humility. An angel terrifies a man with his brilliance and power. But angels themselves hide in holy fear and reverence from the splendor of God. How much more will we shudder and quake in his presence who cannot even endure the splendor of his angels!

6. God Is Holy

Sixth, God is holy. "And one called to another, 'Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts!' Remember how Reepicheep, the gallant mouse, at the end of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader sailed to the end of the world in his little coracle? Well, the word "holy" is the little boat in which we reach the world's end in the ocean of language. The possibilities of language to carry the meaning of God eventually run out and spill over the edge of the world into a vast unknown. "Holiness" carries us to the brink, and from there on the experience of God is beyond words.

The reason I say this is that every effort to define the holiness of God ultimately winds up by saying: God is holy means God is God. Let me illustrate. The root meaning of holy is probably to cut or separate. A holy thing is cut off from and separated from common (we would say secular) use. Earthly things and persons are holy as they are distinct from the world and devoted to God. So the Bible speaks of holy ground (Exodus 3:5), holy assemblies (Exodus 12:16), holy sabbaths (Exodus 16:23), a holy nation (Exodus 19:6); holy garments (Exodus 28:2), a holy city (Nehemiah 11:1), holy promises (Psalm 105:42), holy men (2 Peter 1:21) and women (1 Peter 3:5), holy scriptures (2 Timothy 3:15), holy hands (1 Timothy 2:8), a holy kiss (Romans 16:16), and a holy faith (Jude 20). Almost anything can become holy if it is separated from the common and devoted to God.

But notice what happens when this definition is applied to God himself. From what can you separate God to make him holy? The very god-ness of God means that he is separate from all that is not God. There is an infinite qualitative difference between Creator and creature. God is one of a kind. Sui generis. In a class by himself. In that sense he is utterly holy. But then you have said no more than that he is God.

Or if the holiness of a man derives from being separated from the world and devoted to God, to whom is God devoted so as to derive his holiness? To no one but himself. It is blasphemy to say that there is a higher reality than God to which he must conform in order to be holy. God is the absolute reality beyond which is only more of God. When asked for his name in Exodus 3:14, he said, "I am who I am." His being and his character are utterly undetermined by anything outside himself. He is not holy because he keeps the rules. He wrote the rules! God is not holy because he keeps the law. The law is holy because it reveals God. God is absolute. Everything else is derivative.

What then is his holiness? Listen to three texts. 1 Samuel 2:2, "There is none holy like the Lord, there is none besides thee." Isaiah 40:25, "To whom then will you compare me, that I should be like him? says the Holy One." Hosea 11:9, "I am God and not man, the Holy One in your midst." In the end God is holy in that he is God and not man. (Compare Leviticus 19:2 and 20:7. Note the parallel structure of Isaiah 5:16.) He is incomparable. His holiness is his utterly unique divine essence. It determines all that he is and does and is determined by no one. His holiness is what he is as God which no one else is or ever will be. Call it his majesty, his divinity, his greatness, his value as the pearl of great price. In the end language runs out. In the word "holy" we have sailed to the world's end in the utter silence of reverence and wonder and awe. There may yet be more to know of God, but that will be beyond words. "The Lord is in his holy temple; let all the earth keep silence before him" (Habakkuk 2:20).

7. God Is Glorious

But before the silence and the shaking of the foundations and the all-concealing smoke we learn a seventh final thing about God. God is glorious. "Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts, the whole earth is full of his glory." The glory of God is the manifestation of his holiness. God's holiness is the incomparable perfection of his divine nature; his glory is the display of that holiness. "God is glorious" means: God's holiness has gone public. His glory is the open revelation of the secret of his holiness. In Leviticus 10:3 God says, "I will show myself holy among those who are near me, and before all the people I will be glorified." When God shows himself to be holy, what we see is glory. The holiness of God is his concealed glory. The glory of God is his revealed holiness.

When the Seraphim say, "The whole earth is full of his glory," it is because from the heights of heaven you can see the end of the world. From down here the view of the glory of God is limited. But it's limited largely by our foolish preference for frills. To use a parable of Søren Kierkegaard, we are like people who ride our carriage at night into the country to see the glory of God. But above us, on either side of the carriage seat, burns a gas lantern. As long as our head is surrounded by this artificial light, the sky overhead is empty of glory. But if some gracious wind of the Spirit blows out our earthly lights, then in our darkness God's heavens are filled with stars.

Some day God will blow and turn away every competing glory and make his holiness known in awesome splendor to every humble creature. But there is no need to wait. Job, Isaiah, Charles Colson, and many of you have humbled yourselves to go hard after the Holy God and have developed a taste for his majesty. To you and all the rest who are just beginning to feel it, I hold out this promise from God, who is ever alive, authoritative, omnipotent, resplendent, revered, holy, and glorious: "You will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me (go hard after me) with all your heart" (Jeremiah 29:12–13).

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org