喜乐永驻

“你们现在也是忧愁,但我要再见你们,你们的心就喜乐了,这喜乐也没有人能夺去。”

但愿今天的讲道能让你们记住耶稣的话——“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”。我希望你们自己来发现这一点。你们看到22节所说的了吗?“我要再见你们,你们的心就喜乐了,这喜乐也没有人能夺去。”这话不是来自人,而是来自上帝。如果这让你感觉不错,记住,这是上帝的旨意,不只是我的意愿。“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”,上帝应许要赐给我们永不可夺去的喜乐。

明尼阿波利斯的情人节

今年2月14日,我和娜艾尔去城区过了一个特别的情人节。在我们二十年的婚姻生活中,这不是我第一次搞砸我们的约会了。我选的饭店关了门,我们只好在寒风中到处游荡,试着再找一家。最后,我们沦落到了市中心的一个快餐店,靠着窗子度过了我们的情人节,窗外是第八街。

我们就坐在那里观望这个不错的城市。街道幽暗,几乎被废弃了,阴沟里倒满了垃圾。路旁的小店破败不堪,鲜有路人来来往往,这一切都让我不禁冒出一个疑问:这条街晚上卖出的毒品是不是比炒面、春卷还多?

装饰浮华的旅馆门面在暗夜里显得那么无助,近乎绝望地空等着。哪个有钱人愿意来这儿消磨时间呢?远处,彩灯将西北银行宏伟的大楼映衬得像个梦幻岛,临近的街上却没有一丝光。街道两旁门庭紧锁。

我突然产生了一种奇怪的感觉,似乎这个迅速发展的城区,美国中西部的骄傲之地,这些高级的商店、一流的宾馆和那些高耸的大厦,都建在了沙土之上。我感到有点反胃,仿佛就因为那一丝人人都能感受到的不好的感觉,这座耗尽万亿美元建起来的明尼阿波利斯便在顷刻间变为一个黑暗的、鄙陋的、肮脏的地方,没有人会愿意在这里停留。

易碎的生命和脆弱的世界

我提到这些是为了告诉你们,我们现在的生活和文化是多么的脆弱。我们作计划、融资、建设,一切都顺顺利利的,竟不知我们正在衰败。这简直是不可思议的——没人愿意来购物,没人愿意来租写字楼,商人们纷纷离去,街道横遭废弃,旅店迎不来住客,饭店也无人问津,只有毒品贩子步履匆匆,黑帮也已占寨为王。一切我们没有想到的衰败顷刻来到,这个昔日的明珠之城已光彩不再。球队离开了,会议中心也没了业务。剩下的只有鄙陋的、空空如也的楼房。

这幅景象不是个例,既然会在此处发生,也可能发生在你的生命中。我们的生命非常脆弱,其中鲜有恒常的事物。这就是为何我会觉得耶稣的话分外珍贵:“这喜乐也没有人能夺去。”你听过无条件的、永恒的、好得令人难以置信的誓言吗?你是否在什么产品的说明书中看到过诸如“此产品保证令君幸福,此般幸福无人可夺”的话?如果你真的发现哪个包装箱上有这样的话,准会轻笑一声,觉得这不过是商家的花言巧语。

耶稣却说了相似的话。明尼阿波利斯会衰败,所有的金钱会消散,所有的美梦会破碎,但“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”。这怎么可能?坚固如大厦,都可能随时崩塌,为何这句话却站立得住?让我们再看看这些话,来看看耶稣是怎样绝对地应许给我们这样的喜乐,而“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”。

“等不多时”:耶稣的死与复活

耶稣在受难之前试图告诉他的门徒将要发生的事,在16节中,他说:“等不多时,你们就不得见我;再等不多时,你们还要见我。”

门徒的困惑

门徒们一开始不明白耶稣的话,在17-18节中他们彼此询问耶稣说一会儿见不着他,一会儿又能见他是什么意思。

耶稣知道他们很困惑,于是在20节中说:“我实实在在地告诉你们:你们将要痛哭、哀号,世人倒要喜乐;你们将要忧愁,然而你们的忧愁要变为喜乐。”耶稣指的是他的受难,门徒们要为失去他而悲痛欲绝;而后他将复活,门徒的悲伤将变为喜乐。

婴孩出生的比喻

在21节中,耶稣将所要发生在他和他门徒身上的事比作妇人生产。起先将有短暂的痛苦,婴孩离开母腹,就好像门徒失去了耶稣,而后婴孩就要安然降生在这样的痛苦之中。一会儿之后,痛苦就会过去,什么都没有失去,反而有奇妙的得着,而且,如同那婴孩一般,所得着的一切将会继续成长。

耶稣也是这样。“等不多时”,他将在痛苦和血腥中被钉死,门徒们将痛哭、哀号,心中惧怕。正如婴孩离开母腹而降生一样,耶稣将死,门徒将痛苦欲绝,但“等不多时”,门徒将再次见到耶稣,痛苦将化为喜乐。耶稣在《约翰福音》12章24节中说:“一粒麦子不落在地里死了,仍旧是一粒;若是死了,就结出许多子粒来。”门徒失去耶稣是暂时的,却是更长久地得着了他。

现在痛苦,而后是喜乐永驻

从22节中我们明白,耶稣知道他将受死并且复活。他说:“你们现在也是忧愁。”他的意思是他即将受难,而他的朋友会为失去他而痛苦万分。随后他说“但我要再见你们”,意思是他将复活,并且去见门徒。(值得注意的是在16、17、19节中耶稣说了三次“你们还要见我”,而在22节中他说“我要再见你们”。)

然后他说:“你们的心就喜乐了。”喜乐确实发生了。《约翰福音》20章20节中说,在七日的头一天,耶稣从死中复活,他来到门徒面前,“就把手和肋旁指给他们看”。约翰描述,“门徒看见主,就喜乐了”。由此看出,《约翰福音》16章22节中耶稣的预言应验了——“但我要再见你们,”。

随后耶稣就说了令人惊叹的话,也就是我们今天讲道的核心,“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”。这喜乐没有人可以夺去,不会毁坏、不会失丧。这是如此信实、坚固、确定——即使我们失去了一切,这喜乐也不会离开。

为何这喜乐不会离开

为何耶稣许下了世上所没有的承诺——“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”?

让我们来看看福音给出的两个答案。

1、复活意味着耶稣的永生

首先,“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”是因为,你的喜乐来自耶稣的同在。如果耶稣的复活意味着耶稣的永生,那么他将永远不离开你。

耶稣说:“但我要再见你们,你们的心就喜乐了。”这节经文并没有保证那些不愿与耶稣同在的人得着喜乐。如果耶稣现在对你说“我要再见你”,而你的心并没有因耶稣的同在而喜乐,那么这节经文就不是对你的应许。这节经文是一个邀请,邀请你来爱耶稣。若你不以耶稣为乐,你的喜乐就会离你而去,因为耶稣本身才是唯一的、永恒的喜乐。

注意下面的半节经文:“你们的心就喜乐了。”为什么门徒的心就喜乐了?因为耶稣将会再次与他们同在。圣经接着说:“这喜乐也没有人能夺去。”为何这喜乐没有人能夺去?因为这喜乐就是耶稣的同在,这才是有保障的、直到永远的喜乐,除此以外,别无其他喜乐可以如此长存。如果你不以耶稣为乐,你的喜乐其实是非常脆弱的,比明尼阿波利斯还要脆弱和不堪。因此,对于那些因金钱、成就、家庭、爱好、性、运动、游戏、招人喜欢甚至是教会而喜乐的人,这节经文是对他们的邀请,邀请他们来认识,只有耶稣才是唯一、永恒的喜乐。“但我要再见你们,你们的心就喜乐了。”这喜乐是永恒不变的。

为何耶稣是直到永远的神?因为他既从死里复活,就永远不会再离开我们,他战胜了死亡。现在他就永远活着,并且拿着死亡和阴间的钥匙。因此当他说“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”时,他的意思是,我会成为你们的喜乐,我有永生,因此你们的喜乐也不会消逝,只要复活的我与你们同在,你们在我里面的喜乐就永远不变。没有人能将这喜乐从你们身边夺去,因为这喜乐在我里面,而我将活到永永远远。

对于为何耶稣能做出这样惊人的应许,这是第一个回答。我们的喜乐来自与耶稣的同在,因为他已从死里复活,他将永远不会离开我们。

2、复活意味着你的永生

为何“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”?另一个答案是,你的喜乐来自耶稣的同在,耶稣的复活意味着你将获得永生,你再不会与他分离。

要使你的喜乐永远长存,有两个条件。第一个是你喜乐的源泉持续到永远,第二个是你要获得永生。如果你或你的喜乐源泉终有灭亡的一天,你的喜乐就终将离你而去。

有多少人犯了这个错误啊!他们只是吃喝快乐,因为他们认为人终究一死,那就这样吧。食物会腐烂,人也终将死去,为何不趁着还有口气纵情享乐呢?真是悲哀!

如果你先前也有类似的想法,现在我恳请你重新考虑一下,你的喜乐是否确实来自耶稣的同在?如果是的话,这喜乐便无人能夺去,无论是在此生或是来世,这喜乐永不会离你而去。

因此,我们得到两个答案:一是耶稣永不会死,二是你也将获得永生。让我们来看看《约翰福音》14章18-19节,这两节经文正是对这两个答案的简述,耶稣说:“我不撇下你们为孤儿,我必到你们这里来。还有不多的时候,世人不再看见我,你们却看见我,因为我活着,你们也要活着。”

“因为我活着,你们也要活着。”耶稣的复活意味着,作为我们喜乐的源泉,他将永远活着;同时,如果我们以他为我们喜乐的源泉,我们也将永远活着。

耶稣在拉撒路的坟前对马大说:“复活在我,生命也在我;信我的人,虽然死了,也必复活。”(约11:25-26)

因此,关于为何“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”的两个答案就是:作为喜乐的源泉,耶稣将活到永远;而那些以耶稣为他们喜乐源泉的人,也将活到永远。

也许有人会说:“基督徒也会死啊。”是的,我们会死。但在更深的意义上,基督徒那因与耶稣同在而有的喜乐,将永远不变。“这喜乐也没有人能夺去”。无论是死、是生、是天使、是掌权的、是有能的、是现在的事、是将来的事、是高处的、是低处的、是别的受造之物,都不能使我们与在耶稣基督里的喜乐隔绝。与耶稣同在的喜乐从今时一直存到永远。不管是耶稣的受难或是我们的死亡,都不会让这喜乐离我们而去。

基督里的永恒喜乐

无论你是谁,我邀请你来到耶稣面前。如果耶稣还不是你心中喜乐的源泉,那么他正邀请你以他为乐。耶稣在《约翰福音》6章35节中说:“我就是生命的粮,到我这里来的,必定不饿;信我的,永远不渴。”——永远不渴!我们在耶稣里的喜乐永不改变,从今时直到永远。

这就是耶稣对那些以他为喜乐的人所说的话——“你们现在也是忧愁,但我要再见你们,你们的心就喜乐了,这喜乐也没有人能夺去”。

让我们最后一起来说一次吧!这次我们不说“你的喜乐没有人能夺去”,而是说“我的喜乐没有人能夺去”。如果你相信这一点,请将它作为你在复活节的信仰宣告吧——我的喜乐没有人能夺去!

阿门。

祝福:

主是君王,

救主掌权,

谁也不能夺去你们的喜乐。

哈利路亚!阿门!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Irrevocable Joy

Easter Sunday

You have sorrow now, but I will see you again and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you.

I want you to leave this morning with these words of Jesus ringing in your ears: "No one will take your joy from you." I want you to see them for yourselves. Do you see them at the end of verse 22? "I will see you again, and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you." I want you to hear them not as the words of man but as the words of God. I did not make them up to make you feel good. I just read them out of God's Word. If they make you feel good, that's God's idea, not just mine. "No one will take your joy from you." This is the promise of irrevocable joy.

Valentine's Day in Minneapolis 

Noël and I went downtown for a special Valentine's Day dinner last February 14. It was one of the many dates I have botched over the 20 years of our marriage. The restaurant I had chosen especially for her was closed. It was cold as we walked around trying to find another one. We wound up at a fast food place in the center of the city sitting by a window overlooking 8th Street.

We sat there looking around at this great city. The street was dark and almost deserted. There was trash in the gutter. The little street level shops seemed worn and chintzy. The few people walking around gave the appearance that made you wonder whether more cocaine might be sold that night than chow mein and egg rolls.

The glitzy hotel facades looked pretty weak against the darkness—like they were hoping against hope that rich people would want to come down and spend some time here. The magnificent new lighting of the Norwest Bank building that gives a fairyland flavor to the Minneapolis skyline sheds no light on the streets beneath. The doors were locked.

I got the eerie feeling that this exploding downtown, this urban pearl and pride of the upper Midwest, with all its upscale shops and classy hotels and stunning skyscrapers, is built on sand. I got the sinking feeling in my stomach that the millions and millions of dollars that have been poured into downtown Minneapolis could, with just the slightest turn of popular displeasure, become a billion dollar boondoggle—a dark, sleazy, dirty downtown slum where nobody wants to be.

The Fragility of This Life and World

I mention this just to illustrate how even the big enterprises of our life and culture are very fragile. We plan and we save and we build, and things look good and successful, and then it starts to collapse. And we can't believe it. Nobody comes to shop. Nobody rents the office space. Retailers begin to leave. The streets are deserted. The hotels can't pull the conventions. Restaurants close. The pushers move in. The gangs take over. And pretty soon the unthinkable has happened. The pearl is ruined. The Timberwolves don't stay. The new convention center can't fill its schedule. And all that's left is cheap sleaze and empty buildings.

It has happened elsewhere. It could happen here. And it can happen in your own life. We are very fragile. Not much is sure and firm and solid in our lives. That's why this word from Jesus is very precious to me. "No one will take your joy from you." You've heard of unconditional guarantees—warranties that seem too good to be true? Have you ever heard of any product that says: "In this you will find pleasure and no one will take your pleasure from you"? If you read that on some box or bottle, you would smirk and call it marketing ballyhoo.

But that's what Jesus says. Minneapolis may come "a-tumblin' down" and all the money be lost and the dreams be dashed, but, "No one will take your joy from you." How can this be? How can such a massive claim stand when the biggest things in our world are utterly uncertain and unstable? Let's look at these words to make sure we understand them and how it can be that Jesus can guarantee our joy with such amazing absoluteness: "No one will take your joy from you."

"In a Little While": Jesus' Death and Resurrection 

Jesus is speaking to his disciples on the night before he was killed. He is trying to help them understand what is just in front of them. So in verse 16 he says, "A little while, and you will see me no more; again a little while, and you will see me."

The Confusion of the Disciples

The disciples are confused by this and in verses 17–18 they discuss with each other what in the world he means by in a little while they won't see him and then in a little while they will.

Jesus knows they are puzzled and so he says in verse 20, "Truly, truly, I say to you, you will weep and lament but the world will rejoice; you will be sorrowful, but your sorrow will turn into joy." What's he referring to? He's referring to his death, when the disciples will have a deep and anguished sense of loss, and his resurrection, when their sorrow will become joy (John 20:20).

An Analogy to Childbirth

In verse 21 he compares what is about to happen to him and to the disciples with a woman in childbirth. For a little while there is sorrow as a very painful loss occurs—the baby that has been so close and so secure and so comfortable is cast out in a painful, bloody birth. But again "in a little while" the pain is past and the loss is not really a loss at all, but an amazing gain. The child is not lost, but present in a way that can now go on and on and on.

So it will be with Jesus. "In a little while" he will be lost in a painful, bloody crucifixion. There will be weeping and lamenting and fear in the disciples. But Jesus says, look at it like a birth. The child must be lost from the warmth of the womb to be gained as a person in the world. Yes I am dying. Yes it will be painful for you. But "in a little while" you will see me again, and your sorrow will become joy. It's like what he said in John 12:24, "Unless a grain of wheat falls in to the ground and dies it remains alone, but if it dies it bears much fruit." You lose me in one sense, but gain me in one far greater.

Sorrow Now, Then Irrevocable Joy

So when we come to verse 22, we know what Jesus has in mind, namely, his death and resurrection. He says, "So you have sorrow now." And he means that his death is just around the corner and the loss and pain will be great for his friends. Then he says, "But I will see you again." That is, I will rise from the dead. And I will come to you. I will seek you out. (Note: After saying three times in vv. 16, 17, 19, "you will see me," he says in verse 22, "I will see you.")

Then he says, "Your hearts will rejoice." That's just what happened. It says in John 20:20, that on the first day of the week, the day Jesus rose from the dead, he came to them and "showed them his hands and his side." Then John says, "The disciples were glad when they saw the Lord." So Jesus' prediction in John 16:22 came true. "I will see you again and your hearts will rejoice."

And then come the amazing words that we are focusing on this morning, "And no one will take away your joy from you." This joy is irrevocable joy. It cannot be destroyed. It cannot be lost. It is sure and firm and solid and certain even if everything around our soul gives way. This joy will not.

Why Will This Joy Not Give Way?

That's the key question: How can Jesus make such an unparalleled guarantee—unlike anything in this world? "No one will take your joy from you."

Let's look at two answers from this gospel.

1. The Resurrection Means Jesus Will Never Die

First, "No one will take your joy from you," because your joy comes from being with Jesus, and the resurrection of Jesus means that Jesus will never die again; he will never be cut off from you.

He says, "I will see you again and your hearts will rejoice." This text doesn't offer any guarantees to people who don't enjoy being with Jesus. If Jesus says to you this morning, "I will see you again," and your heart does not rejoice in being with him, then this text is not a promise for you, it's an invitation. It's an invitation to love Jesus. Because if you don't enjoy Jesus, your joy will be taken from you. Jesus is the only permanent joy.

Notice the sequence of thought in verse 22: "I will see you again, and your heart will rejoice." Why will they rejoice? Because Jesus will be with them again. Then it says, "No one will take your joy from you." What joy can never be taken away? Joy at being with Jesus. That's the joy that's guaranteed forever. No other joy. If you don't have that, the joy you do have is very fragile indeed. More fragile and uncertain than downtown Minneapolis. And so this text is an invitation to people whose joy is mainly in money or success or family or hobbies or sex or being liked or games or sports or church. It's an invitation to see Jesus as the only joy that lasts forever. "I will see you again and your heart will rejoice." Forever.

And why will he last forever? Because he has been raised from the dead and will never be cut off from us again. He defeated death. Now he lives forever and has the keys of death in his own hands. So when he says, "No one will take your joy from you," he means, I will be your joy, and I can never die again, and therefore your joy will never die. As long as I exist in my resurrection life, that's how long your joy in me will be. No one can take it from you, because it is joy in me and I will live forever and ever.

That's the first answer to the question how Jesus can make such an amazing guarantee. Our joy is in being with Jesus, and because of the resurrection he will never be cut off from us again.

2. The Resurrection Means You Will Never Die

The other reason is this: "No one will take your joy from you" because your joy comes from being with Jesus, and the resurrection of Jesus means that you will never die; you will never be cut off from him.

You see, two things have to be true if your joy is never to be taken from you. One is that the source of your joy lasts forever and the other is that you last forever. If either you or the source of your joy is mortal, your joy will be taken from you.

And, O, how many people have settled for just that! Eat, drink, and be merry they say, for tomorrow we die, and that's that. Food doesn't last forever, and I don't last forever. So let's make the most of it while we can. What a tragedy!

If you are tempted to think that way this morning, please consider as seriously as you possibly can that if your joy were in being with Jesus, "No one would take your joy from you"—not in this life, nor in the life to come.

For two reasons: One because Jesus will never die again. And the other because you will never die. Look at John 14:18, 19. It is a saying very much like the one we are looking at here. Jesus says, "I will not leave you desolate; I will come to you. Yet a little while, and the world will see me no more, but you will see me; because I live you will live also."

"Because I live you will live also." The resurrection of Jesus means that not only will he live forever as the source of our joy, but you will live forever if he is the source of your joy.

Jesus said to Martha at the tomb of Lazarus, "I am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and whoever lives and believes in me shall never die" (John 11:25–26).

So the two great reasons why "No one will take your joy from you" are that Jesus the source of joy will never die and those who have Jesus as the source of their joy will never die.

Someone may say, "But Christians do die." Yes, in one sense we do. But not in the most important sense, namely, the joy that a believer has in being with Jesus is never broken. "No one will take your joy from you." Not life or death, or angels or principalities, or things present or things to come, or powers or height or depth or anything else in all creation will be able to take our joy from us in Jesus Christ. Joy in being with Jesus is an unbroken line from now to eternity. It will not be cut off by his death or ours.

The Offer of Eternal Joy in Christ 

And so I commend Jesus to you this morning, whoever you are. If he is not the joy of your heart, he wants to be. He says in John 6:35, "I am the bread of life, he who comes to me shall not hunger and he who believes in me shall never thirst"—NEVER! An unbroken line of satisfaction in Jesus from the now to eternity.

This is the word of the risen Jesus to us this morning—to all of us who will take him as our joy! "You will see me . . . and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you."

Shall we say it together one last time? Only this time let's not say, "No one will take your joy from you," but, "No one will take our joy from us." If you believe that this morning, make it your Resurrection Day confession of faith and say, NO ONE WILL TAKE OUR JOY FROM US!

Amen.

Benediction:

The Lord is King
The Savior Reigns
And no one will take your joy from you.
Alleluia! Amen!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org