上帝是为了我们还是为了他自己?

多年前我参加过一次在加利福尼亚州的阿纳海姆(Anaheim, California)举办的葛培理(Billy Graham)大型布道会。那天晚上大约有五万人参加,当时我坐在运动场左侧的露天看台上,看到全场黑压压的人群。当我们开始唱“你真伟大”时,我只唱了几句就泣不成声了。我从没听到过这样的声音。五万人齐声将赞美归给上帝!那天我的心灵受到极大的震撼,那时刻我永志不忘。对我来说,再没有什么能够比那五万个灵魂同声对上帝发出由衷的颂赞,会来得更加适切,或更加美丽,更加充满狂喜。

我确信,那天晚上我得以对天堂的景象有了一丁点的洞察,因为《启示录》5:11-13就是这样描绘天堂的:

“我又看见且听见,宝座与活物并长老的周围有许多天使的声音;他们的数目有千千万万,大声说:曾被杀的羔羊是配得权柄、丰富、智慧、能力、尊贵、荣耀、颂赞的。

我又听见在天上、地上、地底下、沧海里,和天地间一切所有被造之物,都说:但愿颂赞、尊贵、荣耀、权势都归给坐宝座的和羔羊,直到永永远远!”

天堂当中的景象就是,无数的各样活物一同倾情高声赞美父神和圣子。而所有那些品尝过羔羊之荣耀的人,都不会错过举世难寻的良机。

上帝追求他自己的颂赞

羔羊是配得荣耀的。父上帝是配得荣耀的。我们本应该对他们发出颂赞。而且我们也确实会赞美他们。绝大多数基督徒对这个真理没什么疑问,最近两周时间里,我们已经从圣经当中看到,上帝不仅在行动上显明他是配得我们赞美的,而且更以赢得颂赞为其目标。上帝不仅因自己的大能、公义和怜悯,被动等待人的尊崇,而且自古以来他就主动,积极地在全地高举自己的圣名,并要彰显他的荣耀。他的任何举措都源自彰显自己荣耀的愿望和动机。《以赛亚书》48:11仿佛旌旗,高扬于神的每一行为之上:

“我为自己的缘故必行这事,我焉能使我的名被亵渎?我必不将我的荣耀归给假神。”

《耶利米书》13:11则是这么说的:

“腰带怎样紧贴人腰,照样,我也使以色列全家和犹大全家紧贴我,好叫他们属我为子民,使我得名声,得颂赞,得荣耀。”

上帝所作的一切事,都是要使自己荣耀之名得着称赞。

这样的强调只是旧约教导吗?为避免误解,我们再仔细看看上午读过的经文:《以弗所书》1章。那是何等华丽的一卷书啊!——不仅有横跨11节经文的长句,更有直达天堂的高度。有一个短语在这里重复了三次,是在第6,12和14节,保罗要在此指明,上帝拯救我们脱离罪恶归向他,目的到底是什么。请看5节和6节:

“又因爱我们,就按著自己意旨所喜悦的,预定我们藉著耶稣基督得儿子的名分,使他荣耀的恩典得著称赞。”

再看12节:

“叫他的荣耀从我们这首先在基督里有盼望的人可以得著称赞。”

最后,14节:

“这圣灵是我们得基业的凭据,直等到神之民被赎,使他的荣耀得著称赞。”

从以往借着预定在永恒中设立的诸般命令,到将来他以我们为产业所要享受的永恒喜乐,上帝的目标和目的始终一致,就是要使他的荣耀——特别是他恩典的荣耀——得着称赞。

上帝配得颂赞,我们应该赞美他,我们也会赞美他,等等——这些是基督徒普通接受的真理,我们也愿意欢喜快乐地确认这些真理。但是还有一个真理我们不常听到:上帝的荣耀得着称赞,不仅仅是他行动的结果,更是他追求的目标和那些行动的目的。上帝统管万有,根本目的就是,最终他可以显为稀奇,得着敬佩,尊崇,以及颂赞。基督要再来,保罗在《帖撒罗尼迦后书》1:10说,“这正是主降临、要在他圣徒的身上得荣耀,又在一切信的人身上显为希奇的那日子。”不过据我的经验,接受这个真理时,人们会有些勉强和不安。上帝得着我们的颂赞倒没什么问题,可他如果要主动追求被人颂赞,似乎就有些不对劲了。耶稣岂不是说过,“凡自高的,必降为卑;自卑的,必升为高”吗?可是,上帝居然在圣经当中清楚表明,他的目标就是要在世人中高举自己。

在这篇信息中,我就是要尽力阐明,上帝以荣耀他自己为目的和努力的方向,实在很好,毫无错处,而且和自以为义的世人根本不同,因为上帝一切所作的,都是在表达他的爱。接着,我还希望大家欣然确认这个真理,并且与神同工,一起来完成这个伟大的目标。

关乎上帝的“以神为中心”,容易绊倒人的两个方面

我想,有两个原因可能让我们在这个教义——上帝喜爱自己的荣耀并热切敦促人们颂赞它——上跌倒。一是,若有人这样做,我们是不会喜欢他的。另一个原因是,圣经好像教导人们不要去寻求自己的荣耀。所以,人们抵触上帝高抬自我的行动,既有日常经历的原因,也受圣经教训的影响。

我们就是不喜欢那些自命不凡的人,他们很自恋,为自己的技能或、权力或是容貌着迷。我们也不喜欢那些学者,他们总是炫耀自己的专业知识,对自己最近发表的论文数目和演讲场次如数家珍。我们也不会喜欢那些商人,他们夸耀自己的大笔投资成功,大谈股市中低价买进高价抛出的战绩。玩游戏时,我们也不喜欢总爱高人一等的孩子。此外,除非我们自己是那样的人,我们也不会赞同那类男女,他们厌烦简朴保守合宜的穿着,却要追随最新的流行款式,要让人觉得他酷,时尚,洒脱,或者符合当下流行世界要求的任何样式。

为什么我们不喜欢这一切呢?我想是因为所有这些人都活得太假。他们就像艾茵·兰德(Ayn Rand,20世纪30年代美国著名的女性小说家)所谓的“二手人。”他们生活中的喜乐,并不是来自于对那些他们认为有价值的东西之追求。相反,好像二手货,总要从别人的赞美和表扬里获得喜乐。而我们通常不会欣赏这些二手人。我们敬佩那些沉稳和有安全感的人,足够自信,不需要从别人的称赞当中寻找自我价值,或者想用尽量多的别人的表扬,来为自己补缺遮丑。

所以,符合逻辑的看法就是,任何教导,如果把上帝放在二手人的类别当中,就会遭到基督徒的怀疑。说上帝在强求人称赞,非要被人尊崇,并且做事都是为了他自己,对许多人来说,这种教导真的好像把上帝放在这个类别中了。但是,必须如此吗?有一件事我们很确定:上帝并不懦弱,他也没有任何缺乏:“万有都是本于他,倚靠他,归于他。”(《罗马书》11:36)。他过去一直存在,其它任何事物,其存在都要归因于上帝,也不能再给他增加什么,一切都从神的源泉流出。他是永恒的上帝,不是被造物。所以,上帝热切希望得到荣耀,被人颂赞,并不是因为他有什么弱点要掩盖,或者哪里有欠缺要弥补。表面看来,他似乎也属于二手人之类,但实质上绝对不同,而且,那表面上的相似性,必须用其它的方式来解释。那促使上帝寻求他荣耀的颂赞的,必然是出于某些其它的动机。

我们不喜欢那些为自己寻求荣耀的人,还有一个从经验而来的原因。我们觉得这样的人不单不够真诚,试图遮掩某些弱点和亏缺,更觉得他们没有爱心。他们如此地关心自己的形象和美誉,以至于根本就不去关心发生在他人身上的事情。这个观察,就把我们带入到圣经里面的原因,为什么上帝也不喜悦寻求自我荣耀的人?《哥林多前书》13:5写道,“(爱是)不求自己的益处。”这句话,诚然像是制造了一个危机,因为在我看来,假如圣经明明白白教导说,上帝把自己之得着荣耀和称赞,作为其追求的最终目标,那么,他怎么还能够是爱的神呢?因为“爱是不求自己的益处。”最近三个星期的学习,已经让我们看到,圣经的确教导说,上帝是为着他自己的。“我为自己的缘故必行这事,我焉能使我的名被亵渎?我必不将我的荣耀归给假神”(《以赛亚书》48:11)。但是,上帝同时又是一位爱的上帝,他必然也是为了我们的啊。那么,到底上帝是为了他自己还是为了我们呢?

上帝以其无限的爱来追求他自己的颂赞

我认为正确的答案——也是我想说服你的——乃是:作为万事万物中最荣耀的独特存在,并且是全然自足的,上帝就必须是为了自己,好叫他同时也为着我们。假如上帝抛弃了那个“高举自己”的目标,遭受损失的就是我们!他那给自己带来颂赞的目标,和那给他的子民带来喜乐的目标,乃是同一个目标,两者是荣辱与共的关系。我想,假如我们以如下思路来提问,就会把这事理解得更清楚。

当我们思考上帝那无限的令人景仰的荣美,以及他的大能和智慧,这样,上帝对于被造物的爱,又会包含哪些东西呢?换句话说:上帝给我们什么东西来享受,才表明他是最有爱心的呢?可能的答案只有一个,不是吗?他自己!假如上帝要给我们最好的,最令人满意的,即,假如他要完全地爱我们,除了把自己完全给我们,让我们可以在沉思和交通当中亲近神享受神,别无他法。

这恰恰是上帝差派爱子的意图所在。《以弗所书》2:18说基督来,好叫“我们两下藉著他被一个圣灵所感,得以进到父面前。”《彼得前书》3:18又说,“因基督也曾一次为罪受苦,就是义的代替不义的,为要引我们到神面前。”上帝完全在爱里策划整个救赎大计,为要把世人领回到他自己身旁,就像诗人所言,“在你面前有满足的喜乐;在你右手中有永远的福乐”(《诗篇》16:11)。上帝其实是追着我们要把最好的给我们——不见得是今生的尊位,财富甚或是健康,而是他的全部,还有他和我们的美好团契。

我想,我们就要有一个伟大发现了(我觉得这也是解决上述问题的关键所在):正因为神那绝顶的爱,他就必须把对我们最好的,最能取悦我们的——就是他自己,赐给我们。那么,当我们面对或者接受那些美好、可爱的事物时,又会如何反应呢?我们通常会发出赞美。比如,看到刚刚出生的婴孩,居然没有在艰难的生产过程当中被压扁变形,我们就会说,“看,多么漂亮的圆脑袋!看他的头发!看他的手可真不小!”与爱人久别重逢,我们也会发出赞美:“你的眼睛像蓝天;你的头发如同丝绸靓丽;‘我的佳偶,你甚美丽’!”我们也会把赞美送给棒球比赛中那些出奇制胜的选手。秋季行船在圣克洛伊河(St. Croix),沿岸的树木也会令我们赞不绝口。

但是我所谓的伟大发现——借助于鲁益师(C.S. Lewis)的帮助,不仅是指我们会赞美那些喜爱的事物,而且赞美就是那喜乐本身的高潮。赞美不是事后添上去的,而是快乐的一部分。鲁益师在讨论《诗篇》时,描述这个洞见说:

很奇怪,我居然忽视了关于赞美的最明显的事实——无论是对于上帝或者其他事物,我以为赞美就是赞同或者赐予荣誉之类,却从没注意到,所有的享受,都会自发地涌流成为赞美,有时甚至顾不得害羞,或者惹人厌烦,也要表达出来。这个世界充满了赞美的声音——恋爱中的人赞美他们的情人,读者赞美他们喜欢的诗歌,散步的人赞美乡间美景,运动员赞美他们喜爱的球赛——赞美的对象有天气,葡萄酒,美食,演员,骏马,大学,国家,历史性人物,孩童,花朵,高山,稀有的邮票,罕见的甲壳虫,有时候甚至是政治家和学者。我之所以在赞美上帝方面,从总体上说,有些困难,乃是因为我荒谬地否定了其它那些值得珍惜赞美的事物,包括那些自己喜欢做、情不自禁要去做的事情,而上帝却是那位真正超越一切之上的,最有价值的赞美对象。

我觉得,我们喜欢去赞美那些愉悦我们的事物,因为这种赞美不只是表达喜悦,更是完善它;赞美乃是喜乐指向的完满结局。相爱的人彼此不断地告诉对方说,他们是何等美丽,这不只是恭维,实际上,如果不把如此表达,这个喜悦就依然是不完美的(《诗篇撷思》,Reflections on the Psalms, 93–95页)。

关键就在这里:我们会赞美自己喜悦的,因为这份喜乐若不借着赞美表达出来,就不完全。假如看重的却不能述说,喜爱的却不能欢呼,仰慕的却不能赞美,我们的喜乐就不可能满足。因此,如果说上帝真的为着我们,愿意将最好的给我们,愿意使我们的喜乐获得满足,他就必须为着他自己,主动来赢得我们的颂赞,并且以此为目标。这并不是因为他有什么软弱要支持,有什么缺陷要补足,而是因为他爱我们,并且为着满足我们的喜乐而努力工作。而这个满足的喜乐,只有在认识神和赞美神当中,才能够实现。上帝诚然是万物当中最为美好的!

天地之中,唯独上帝,他寻求自己的颂赞,就是对我们的爱的行动。对他来说,高抬自己,竟由此成为最高尚的美德。正如《以弗所书》1章所言,当上帝所作的一切,都是“为了使他的荣耀得着称赞”时,他其实是为我们保留(也是提供)了世界上唯一能够满足我们内心渴望的东西。上帝是为了我们的!正因为这样,他才会在过去,现今和将来,都是为了他自己。感谢赞美主!凡有气息的,都要来赞美耶和华。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Is God for Us or for Himself?

Years ago I went to the Billy Graham crusade in Anaheim, California. There were about 50,000 people there that night, I think, and I sat in the left field bleachers and could see the whole massive crowd wrapping around the infield. When we sang "How Great Thou Art," I managed to get out a few notes and then could scarcely sing any more. I had never heard anything like that. Fifty thousand voices singing praises to God! It so stunned my heart that I have never forgotten that moment. Nothing had ever seemed to me more right or more beautiful or more profoundly joyful than for 50,000 creatures to sing together with all their heart to God.

I really believe I got a little, tiny glimpse of heaven that night, because Revelation 5:11–13 pictures heaven like this:

And I beheld, and I heard a voice of many angels round about the throne, and the beasts and the elders: and the number of them was ten thousand times ten thousand, and thousands of thousands, saying with a loud voice, "Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power, and riches, and wisdom, and strength, and honor, and glory, and blessing."

And every creature which is in heaven and on the earth and under the earth and such as are in the sea, and all that are in them, I heard saying, "Blessing and honor and glory and power be unto him that sitteth on the throne, and unto the Lamb forever and ever.

The vision of heaven is the vision of innumerable myriads of creatures praising the Father and the Son with all their might. And those who have tasted the glory of the Lamb would not miss it for the world.

God Pursues His Own Praise

The Lamb is worthy. God the Father is worthy. And therefore we ought to praise them. And we will praise them. Most believers have no difficulty with that truth. But for two weeks now we have seen from the Scripture that God has not merely acted so as to be worthy of praise, but more, he has made it his aim to win praise. God does not merely wait to be exalted for his power and righteousness and mercy, he has taken the initiative from all eternity to exalt his own name in the earth and to display his glory. Everything he does is motivated by his desire to be glorified. Isaiah 48:11 is the banner over every divine act:

For my own sake, for my own sake I do it, for how should my name be profaned? My glory I will not give to another.

Jeremiah 13:11 puts it like this:

For as the waistcloth clings to the loins of a man, so I made the whole house of Israel and the whole house of Judah cling to me, says the Lord, that they might be for me a people, a name, a praise, and a glory.

God's goal in all he does is to receive praise for the glory of his name.

And lest we think that this is only an Old Testament emphasis, look carefully at the morning text: Ephesians 1. What a grand book this is!—with sentences that reach not only to 11 verses in length but also to heaven in height. There is a phrase repeated three times in verses 6, 12, and 14 which makes it very clear what Paul thinks is the goal of God in saving us from sin and for himself. Notice verses 5 and 6:

He predestined us in love to be his sons through Jesus Christ according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of the glory of his grace.

Then verse 12:

We who first hoped in Christ have been predestined and appointed to live for the praise of his glory.

Finally, verse 14:

The Holy Spirit is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it to the praise of his glory.

From the past eternal decrees of God in predestination to the future eternal enjoyment of our inheritance in the age to come, God's goal and purpose has been that his glory be praised, especially the glory of his grace.

That God is praiseworthy, that we ought to praise him, that we will praise him—these are common truths among Christians, and we affirm them gladly. But less often do we hear the truth that the praise of God's glory is not merely the result of his action but also the goal and purpose of that action. He governs the world precisely to the end that he might be admired, marveled at, exalted, and praised. Christ is coming, Paul says in 2 Thessalonians 1:10, at the end of this age, "to be glorified in his saints and to be marveled at by all who believe." But it has been my experience that people receive this truth with some uneasiness. It is all right for God to be praised, but it doesn't seem quite right for him to seek praise. Didn't Jesus say, "Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted"? Yet, God's clear purpose from Scripture is to exalt himself in the eyes of man.

My aim in this message is to show, as best I can, that God's aim and effort to glorify himself is wholly good and without fault of any kind and is very different from human self-exaltation because it is an expression of love. Then I hope we will affirm this truth gladly and join God in his great aim.

Two Ways to Stumble over God's God-Centeredness

There are two reasons, I think, why we may stumble over God's love for his own glory and his zeal to get men to praise him for it. One is that we don't like humans who act that way, and the other is that the Bible seems to teach that a person ought not to seek his own glory. So people take offense at God's self-exaltation both because of their own everyday experience, and also because of some Scripture.

We just don't like people who seem to be very enamored by their own skill or power or looks. We don't like scholars who try to show off their specialized knowledge or who recite for us all their recent publications and lectureships. We don't like businessmen who go on and on about how shrewdly they have invested their pile of money and how they stayed right on top of the market to get in low and out high every time. We don't like children to play one-upmanship hour after hour. And unless we are one of them we disapprove of women and men who dress, not functionally and simply and inoffensively, but instead aim to be in the latest style so they will be thought in or cool or punky or laid back or whatever the world this week says you're supposed to look like.

Why don't we like all that? I think it is because all those people are inauthentic. They are what Ayn Rand calls "second handers." They don't live from the joy that comes through achieving what they value for its own sake. Instead, they live second-hand from the praise and compliments of others. And we don't admire second-handers. We admire people who are composed and secure enough that they don't feel the need to shore up their weaknesses and compensate for their real deficiencies by trying to get as many compliments as possible.

It stands to reason therefore that any teaching which would seem to put God in the category of a second-hander would be suspect by Christians. And for many the teaching that God is seeking praise and wants to be admired and is doing things for his own name's sake does in fact seem to put God in such a category. But should it? One thing we may say for certain: God is not weak and God has no deficiencies: "All things are from him and through him and to him" (Romans 11:36). He always was, and whatever else is, owes its being to him and so can add nothing to him which is not already flowing from him. That is simply what it means to be the eternal God and not a creature. Therefore, God's zeal to seek his own glory and to be praised by men cannot be owing to his need to shore up some weakness or compensate for some deficiency. He may seem, at a superficial glance, to be in the category of second-handers, but he is not like them and the superficial similarity must be explained another way. There must be some other motive that prompts him to seek the praise of his glory.

There is another reason from experience why we don't like those who seek their own glory. The reason is not merely that they are inauthentic, trying to conceal weakness and deficiency, but also that they are unloving. They are so concerned for their own image and praise that they do not care much what happens to other people. This observation leads us to the biblical reason why it seems offensive for God to seek his own glory. 1 Corinthians 13:5 says, "Love seeks not its own." Now this, indeed, seems to create a crisis, for if, as I think the Scriptures plainly teach, God makes it his ultimate goal to be glorified and praised, how then can he be loving? For "love seeks not its own." For three weeks we have seen Scriptures that teach that God is for himself. "For my own sake, for my own sake I do it, my glory I will not give to another" (Isaiah 48:11). But if God is a God of love, he must be for us. Is, then, God for himself or is he for us?

The Infinite Love of God in Pursuing His Own Praise

The answer which I want to try to persuade you is true is this: because God is unique as the most glorious of all beings and totally self-sufficient, he must be for himself in order to be for us. If he were to abandon the goal of his own self-exaltation, we would be the losers. His aim to bring praise to himself and his aim to bring pleasure to his people are one aim and stand or fall together. I think we will see this if we ask the following question.

In view of God's infinitely admirable beauty and power and wisdom what would his love to a creature involve? Or to put it another way: What could God give us to enjoy that would show him most loving? There is only one possible answer, isn't there? HIMSELF! If God would give us the best, the most satisfying, that is, if he would love us perfectly, he must offer us no less than himself for our contemplation and fellowship.

This was precisely God's intention in sending his Son. Ephesians 2:18 says that Christ came that we might "have access in one Spirit to the Father." And 1 Peter 3:18 says, "Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God." God conceived the whole plan of redemption in love to bring men back to himself, for as the psalmist says, "In your presence there is fullness of joy, in your right hand are pleasures for evermore" (16:11). God is after us to give us what is best—not prestige, wealth, or even health in this life, but a full-blown vision of and fellowship with himself.

But now we are on the brink of what for me was a grand discovery and, I think also, the solution to our problem. To be supremely loving, God must give us what will be best for us and delight us most; he must give us himself. But what do we do when we are given or shown something excellent, something we enjoy? We praise it. We praise new little babies that manage not to be bent all out of shape in birth; "O, look at that nice, round head; and all that hair; and his hands, aren't they big!" We praise a lover's face after a long absence: "Your eyes are like the sky; your hair is like silk; O, you are beautiful to me." We praise a grand slam in the bottom of the ninth when we are down by three runs. We praise the trees along the St. Croix during an autumn boat trip.

But the great discovery I made, with the help of C.S. Lewis, was not only that we praise what we enjoy but that the praise is the climax of the joy itself. It is not tacked on later; it is part of the pleasure. Listen to the way Lewis describes this insight from his book on Psalms:

But the most obvious fact about praise—whether of God or anything —strangely escaped me. I thought of it in terms of compliment, approval, or the giving of honor. I had never noticed that all enjoyment spontaneously overflows into praise unless (sometimes even if) shyness or the fear of boring others is deliberately brought in to check it. The world rings with praise—lovers praising their mistresses, readers their favorite poet, walkers praising the countryside, players praising their favorite game—praise of weather, wines, dishes, actors, horses, colleges, countries, historical personages, children, flowers, mountains, rare stamps, rare beetles, even sometimes politicians and scholars. My whole, more general difficulty, about the praise of God depended on my absurdly denying to us, as regards the supremely Valuable, what we delight to do, what indeed we can't help doing, about everything else we value.

I think we delight to praise what we enjoy because the praise not merely expresses but completes the enjoyment; it is its appointed consummation. It is not out of compliment that lovers keep on telling one another how beautiful they are, the delight is incomplete till it is expressed. (Reflections on the Psalms, pp. 93–95)

There's the key: we praise what we enjoy because the delight is incomplete until it is expressed in praise. If we were not allowed to speak of what we value and celebrate what we love and praise what we admire, our joy would not be full. Therefore, if God is truly for us, if he would give us the best and make our joy full, he must make it his aim to win our praise for himself. Not because he needs to shore up some weakness in himself or compensate for some deficiency, but because he loves us and seeks the fullness of our joy that can only be found in knowing and praising him, the most beautiful of all beings.

God is the one Being in all the universe for whom seeking his own praise is the ultimately loving act. For him self-exaltation is the highest virtue. When he does all things "for the praise of his glory" as Ephesians 1 says, he preserves for us and offers to us the only thing in all the world which can satisfy our longings. God is for us, and therefore has been, is now, and always will be, for himself. Praise the Lord! Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org