هل الله لأجلنا (معنا) أم لأجل نفسه؟

منذ سنوات ذهبت إلى حملة كرازية للقس بيلي جراهام في أناهايم بولاية كاليفورنيا. كان هناك حوالي 50000 شخص في تلك الليلة، كما أتذكر، وجلست في مدرجات الميدان من اليمين، وكان يمكنني أن أرى الحشد الهائل كله الملتف حول الميدان. عندما كنا نرنم "ما أعظمك!"، نجحت في إطلاق بعض النغمات الموسيقية ومن ثم صرتُ بالكاد قادرا أن أرنم أكثر من ذلك. لم يسبق لي أن سمعت شيئا من هذا القبيل. خمسون ألف صوتٍ يرنمون تسابيحا لله! حتى أن الأمر فاجأ قلبي لدرجة أني لم أنس أبدا تلك اللحظة. لم يعُد يبدو لي أنّ أي شيء آخر أكثر صحة أو أكثر جمالا أو أعمق بهجة، من أيّ وقت مضى، من 50000 مخلوقا يرنمون معا بكلّ قلوبهم لله.

أعتقد أنني حصلت حقاً على لمحة قليلة جداً في تلك الليلة، وذلك لأن سفر الرؤيا 5: 11-13 يصور السماء كهذا:

وَنَظَرْتُ وَسَمِعْتُ صَوْتَ مَلاَئِكَةٍ كَثِيرِينَ حَوْلَ الْعَرْشِ وَالْحَيَوَانَاتِ وَالشُّيُوخِ، وَكَانَ عَدَدُهُمْ رَبَوَاتِ رَبَوَاتٍ وَأُلُوفَ أُلُوفٍ، قَائِلِينَ بِصَوْتٍ عَظِيمٍ:«مُسْتَحِق هُوَ الْخَروُفُ الْمَذْبُوحُ أَنْ يَأْخُذَ الْقُدْرَةَ وَالْغِنَى وَالْحِكْمَةَ وَالْقُوَّةَ وَالْكَرَامَةَ وَالْمَجْدَ وَالْبَرَكَةَ!». وَكُلُّ خَلِيقَةٍ مِمَّا فِي السَّمَاءِ وَعَلَى الأَرْضِ وَتَحْتَ الأَرْضِ، وَمَا عَلَى الْبَحْرِ، كُلُّ مَا فِيهَا، سَمِعْتُهَا قَائِلَةً:«لِلْجَالِسِ عَلَى الْعَرْشِ وَلِلْخَرُوفِ الْبَرَكَةُ وَالْكَرَامَةُ وَالْمَجْدُ وَالسُّلْطَانُ إِلَى أَبَدِ الآبِدِينَ».

إن الرّؤيا بشأن السّماء هي رؤيا ربوات لا تعد ولا تحصى من المخلوقات مُسبِّحة الآب والابن بكل قوتها. وأولئك الذين تذوقوا مجد الخروف لن يتركوا ذلك لأجل العالم.

يسعى الله لتسبيحه الخاص:

مستحق هو الخروف. الله الآب مستحق. ولذا يجب علينا أن نسبحه. وسوف نسبحه. معظم المؤمنين لا صعوبة لديهم مع تلك الحقيقة. ولكن لمدّة أسبوعين، قد رأينا من الكتاب المقدس أن الله لا يعمل لمجرد أن يكون مستحقا للتسبيح، بل الأكثر من ذلك، إنه قد جعل هدفه أن ينال التسبيح. الله لا ينتظر فحسب لكي يكون ممجدا لأجل قوته وبره ورحمته، بل قد أخذ المبادرة منذ الأزل أن يمجّد اسمه الخاص في الأرض، وأن يظهر مجده. والدافع وراء كل ما يفعله هو رغبته في أن يكون ممجدا. إشعياء 48: 11 هي راية كل فعل إلهي:

مِنْ أَجْلِ نَفْسِي، مِنْ أَجْلِ نَفْسِي أَفْعَلُ. لأَنَّهُ كَيْفَ يُدَنَّسُ اسْمِي؟ وَكَرَامَتِي لاَ أُعْطِيهَا لآخَرَ.

يشرح إرميا 13: 11 الأمر هكذا:

لأَنَّهُ كَمَا تَلْتَصِقُ الْمِنْطَقَةُ بِحَقْوَيِ الإِنْسَانِ، هكَذَا أَلْصَقْتُ بِنَفْسِي كُلَّ بَيْتِ إِسْرَائِيلَ وَكُلَّ بَيْتِ يَهُوذَا، يَقُولُ الرَّبُّ، لِيَكُونُوا لِي شَعْبًا وَاسْمًا وَفَخْرًا وَمَجْدًا.

هدف الله في كل ما يفعله هو الحصول على التسبيح لمجد اسمه.

ولئلا نعتقد أن هذا هو فقط تركيز العهد القديم، انظر بعناية في نص هذا الصباح: أفسس 1. يا له من سفر عظيم! مليء بجمل تصل ليس فقط إلى 11 آية في الطول وإنما أيضا إلى السماء في الارتفاع. هناك عبارة تتكرر ثلاث مرات في الآيات 6 و12 و14 مما يجعل الأمر في غاية الوضوح عما يعتقده بولس عن هدف الله لخلاصنا من الخطية ولنفسه. لاحظ الآيات 5 و6:

إِذْ سَبَقَ فَعَيَّنَنَا لِلتَّبَنِّي بِيَسُوعَ الْمَسِيحِ لِنَفْسِهِ، حَسَبَ مَسَرَّةِ مَشِيئَتِهِ، لِمَدْحِ مَجْدِ نِعْمَتِهِ الَّتِي أَنْعَمَ بِهَا عَلَيْنَا فِي الْمَحْبُوبِ.

ثم الآية 12:

لِنَكُونَ لِمَدْحِ مَجْدِهِ، نَحْنُ الَّذِينَ قَدْ سَبَقَ رَجَاؤُنَا فِي الْمَسِيحِ.

أخيرا، الآية 14:

الَّذِي هُوَ عُرْبُونُ مِيرَاثِنَا، لِفِدَاءِ الْمُقْتَنَى، لِمَدْحِ مَجْدِهِ.

منذ الأزل منذ قصد الله في التعيين السابق أن نتمتع أبديا في المستقبل بميراثنا في الدهر الآتي، كان هدف وغرض الله هو مدح مجده، وخصوصا مجد نعمته.

أنَّ هذا الإله يستحق التسبيح، أنه يجب علينا أن نسبحه، أننا سوف نسبحه - هذه كلها حقائق مشتركة بين المسيحيين، ونؤكدها بكل سرور. ولكن قليلا ما نسمع حقيقة أن مدح مجد الله ليس مجرد نتيجة لعمله وإنما أيضا هدف وغرض هذا العمل. فهو يحكم العالم على وجه التحديد بهدف أن يكون موضع إعجاب، واندهاش، وتمجيد، وتسبيح. المسيح آت، يقول بولس في 2 تسالونيكي 1: 10، في نهاية هذا الدهر "لِيَتَمَجَّدَ فِي قِدِّيسِيهِ وَيُتَعَجَّبَ مِنْهُ فِي جَمِيعِ الْمُؤْمِنِينَ." ولكن خبرتي هي أن الناس تقبل هذا الحق بشيء من الارتباك. فحسنا لله أن يكون ممجدا، ولكن الأمر يبدو غير صحيحٍ أن يطلب التسبيح. ألم يقل المسيح: "فَمَنْ يَرْفَعْ نَفْسَهُ يَتَّضِعْ، وَمَنْ يَضَعْ نَفْسَهُ يَرْتَفِعْ"؟ ومع ذلك، غرض الله الواضح في الكتاب المقدس هو أن يمجد نفسه في نظر الإنسان.

هدفي في هذه الرسالة هو أن أبيّن، بقدر استطاعتي، أن هدف الله ومسعاه كي يمجد نفسه هو أمر حسن تماماً ودون خطأ من أي نوع، ويختلف كثيرا عن تمجيد الإنسان لذاته لأنه تعبير عن الحب. ثم آمل أن نؤكد هذه الحقيقة بكل سرور وننضم إلى الله في هدفه العظيم.

طريقتان للتعثر بشأن تمركز الله حول ذاته:

هناك سببان، أعتقد، وراء كوننا قد نتعثر في محبة الله لمجده الخاص وغيرته لجعل البشر يسبحوه على ذلك. أولا هو أننا لا نحب البشر الذين يتصرفون بهذه الطريقة، وثانيا هو أن الكتاب المقدس يبدو أنه يعلّم أن الشخص لا يجب أن يسعى وراء مجده الخاص. لذلك يشعر الناس بالإساءة بتمجيد الله لذاته وذلك لسببين، بسبب اختبارهم اليومي الخاص، وأيضا بسبب بعض الآيات الكتابيّة.

نحن لا نحب الناس الذين يظهروا بأنهم يستهوون جدا مهاراتهم الخاصة أو قدراتهم أو مظهرهم. لا نحب العلماء الذين يحاولون اظهار معرفة تخصّصهم أو الذين يروون لنا جميعا منشوراتهم الأخيرة، ومحاضرتهم التي يلقونها. لا نحب رجال الأعمال الذين يسردون دائما عن كيفية استثماراتهم بدهاء لكومة المال التي لديهم، وكيف أنهم يحسنون البقاء على قائمة السوق في كل مرة تنخفض أو ترتفع الأسعار عالياً. إننا لا نحب الأطفال أن يلعبوا لعبة المزايدة لمدّة ساعة بعد ساعة. وإن لم نكن سالكين مثلهم، فإننا لا نوافق على النساء والرجال حين يرتدون، لا بشكل رسمي بسيط من غير إهانة، بل بدلا من ذلك يهدفون أن يرتدوا أحدث الأزياء، لذلك يظهرون وكأنهم ظرفاء، أو مسترخين أو مهما كانت متطلبات العالم خلال هذا الأسبوع لكي تبدو كذلك.

لماذا لا نحب ذاك كله؟ أعتقد لأن كل هؤلاء الناس زائفون. فهم كما يدعوهم عين راند "مستهلكون". لا يعيشون بالفرح الذي يأتي من خلال تحقيق ما له قيمة في حد ذاته. بدلا من ذلك، فهم يعيشون بشكل استهلاكي من خلال مدح وثناء الآخرين. ونحن لا نحب المستهلكون. بل نعجب بالناس الذين المكتفين والآمنيين بشكل كافي بحيث أنهم لا يشعرون بالحاجة لتعزيز نقاط ضعفهم والتعويض عن أوجه القصور الحقيقية بمحاولة الحصول على أكبر عدد ممكن من المجاملات.

لذلك فإنه يعد سببا رئيسيا أن أي تعليم يبدو وكأنه يضع الله في هذه المنزلة الثانويّة سيكون مشتبه به من قبل المسيحيين. ولعديد من الناس يعد التعليم أن الله يسعى لحمده ويريد أن يكون مصدر اعجاب، ويقوم بعمل أشياء من أجل اسمه يبدو في الواقع أنه يضع الله في مثل هذه الفئة. ولكن هل ينبغي ذلك؟ يمكننا قول شيءٍ واحدٍ بشكل مؤكد: أن الله ليس ضعيف وأن الله لا يوجد لديه أوجه قصور: "لأَنَّ مِنْهُ وَبِهِ وَلَهُ كُلَّ الأَشْيَاءِ" (رومية 11: 36). فهو دائما يوجد، وأي شيء آخر موجود، يدين بكونه موجود لأجله، وبذلك لا يمكن أن يضيف له شيئا لا يتدفق بالفعل منه. هذا هو ببساطة ما يعنيه أن يكون الله أزلي وليس مخلوقا. لذلك، فإنّ غيره الله لسعيه وراء مجده الخاص وأن يكون مُسَبَّحاً من قبل البشر لا يمكن أن يكون ذلك بسبب حاجته لدعم بعض نقاط الضعف أو لتعويض بعض النقص. وهو قد يبدو، بنظرة سطحيّة، أنه في المنزلة الثانويّة، لكنه ليس مثلهم، والتشابه السطحي يجب أن يُفسَّر بطريقة أخرى. يجب أن يكون هناك بعض الدوافع الأخرى التي تجعله يسعى للحصول على مدح مجده.

وعن خبرة، هناك سبب آخر لماذا لا نحب أولئك الذين يسعون لمجدهم الخاص. والسبب ليس لمجرد أنهم زائفون، في محاولة لإخفاء الضعف والقصور، ولكن أيضا لأنهم غير محبين. فهم قلقون جدا على صورتهم ومدحهم حتى أنهم لا يهتمون كثيرا بما يحدث للناس الآخرين. هذه الملاحظة تقودنا إلى السبب الكتابي لماذا يبدو مهيناً النسبة لله أن يطلب مجد نفسه. تقول الآية في 1 كورنثوس 13: 5 "المحبة لاَ تَطْلُبُ مَا لِنَفْسِهَا". الآن هذا، في الواقع، يبدو أن يخلق أزمة، لأنه إذا جعل الله هدفه الأقصى أن يُمجَّد ويُسبَّح، وأعتقد أن الكتاب المقدس يعلّم ذلك بوضوح، فكيف يمكن أن يكون محبا؟ لأن "المحبة لاَ تَطْلُبُ مَا لِنَفْسِهَا". لقد رأينا لمدّة ثلاثة أسابيع الكتاب المقدس يعلّم أن الله هو لأجل نفسه. "مِنْ أَجْلِ نَفْسِي، مِنْ أَجْلِ نَفْسِي أَفْعَلُ. لأَنَّهُ كَيْفَ يُدَنَّسُ اسْمِي؟ وَكَرَامَتِي لاَ أُعْطِيهَا لآخَرَ" (إشعياء 48: 11). ولكن إن كان الله هو إله المحبة، فيجب أن يكون من أجلنا. فهل، إذاً، الله من أجل نفسه أم أنه من أجلنا؟

محبة الله اللامتناهية في السعي وراء تسبيحه الخاص:

الإجابة التي أود محاولة إقناعكم بأنها صحيحة هي هذه: لأن الله فريدٌ ومجيدٌ أكثر من كل الكائنات، ومكتفيا ذاتيا تماما، ينبغي أن يكون من أجل نفسه لكي يكون من أجلنا. فلو تخلى عن هدفه في تمجيد ذاته، سنكون نحن الخاسرين. فهدفه للحصول على التسبيح لنفسه وهدفه لجلب الفرح لشعبه هما هدف واحد ويقوما أو يسقطا معا. وأعتقد أننا سنرى هذا إن كنا نطرح السؤال التالي.

بالنظر للجمال والقوة والحكمة اللامتناهية الرائعة لله فماذا يشمل حبه للمخلوق؟ أو بعبارة أخرى: ما الذي يمكن لله أن يعطينا للتّمتع والذي من شأنه أن يظهر محبته العظيمة؟ هناك جواب ممكن واحد فقط، أليس هناك؟ نفسه! إن كان الله يعطي لنا الأفضل، والأكثر إرضاءً، أي، إن كان يحبنا بشكل كامل، فيجب عليه أن يقدم لنا ما لا يقل عن نفسه لتأملنا وشركتنا.

وكان هذا بالضبط قصد الله في إرسال ابنه. يقول في أفسس 2: 18 أن المسيح جاء لكي يكون لنا "قُدُومًا فِي رُوحٍ وَاحِدٍ إِلَى الآبِ." ويقول في 1 بطرس 3: 18 "فَإِنَّ الْمَسِيحَ أَيْضًا تَأَلَّمَ مَرَّةً وَاحِدَةً مِنْ أَجْلِ الْخَطَايَا، الْبَارُّ مِنْ أَجْلِ الأَثَمَةِ، لِكَيْ يُقَرِّبَنَا إِلَى اللهِ." عبّر الله عن خطة الفداء كلها في المحبة لكي يقرب الإنسان لنفسه، كما يقول صاحب المزامير "أَمَامَكَ شِبَعُ سُرُورٍ. فِي يَمِينِكَ نِعَمٌ إِلَى الأَبَدِ." (16: 11). فالله يبحث عنا ليعطينا ما هو أفضل، ليس النفوذ، أو الثروة، أو حتى الصحة في هذه الحياة، ولكن رؤيا شاملة لنفسه وشركة معه.

ولكننا الآن على حافة ما كان بالنسبة لي اكتشاف كبير، وأعتقد أيضا، هو الحل لمشكلتنا. أن يكون مُحبّاً بشكل سامٍ، ينبغي أنّ الله يعطينا ما سيكون أفضل بالنسبة لنا ويبهجنا أكثر، لا بد له أن يعطينا نفسه. ولكن ماذا نفعل عندما يتاح لنا أو يظهر لنا شيئا ممتازا، شيئا نتمتع به؟ نحمده. فنحن نمدح الأطفال الصغار الجدد الذين يستطيعون ألا ينحنون في الشكل عند الولادة؛ "أنظر إلى هذه الرأس اللطيفة المستديرة، وكل هذا الشعر، واليدين، أليست كبيرة!" إننا نمدح وجه الحبيب بعد غياب طويل: "عيناك مثل السماء؛ شعرك مثل الحرير، أنت جميلة بالنسبة لي." نمدح الفوز الساحق في أسفل الشوط التاسع عندما يكون باقياً لنا ثلاثة أشواط. ونحن نمدح الأشجار على طوال سانت كروا خلال الخريف في رحلة بالقارب.

ولكن الاكتشاف العظيم الذي أدليت به، بمساعدة من سي اس لويس، ليس فقط أننا نمدح ما نتمتع به ولكن هذا الثناء هو ذروة الفرح نفسه. غير أنه ليس معلق على أخر، بل هو جزء من المتعة. استمع إلى طريقة لويس في وصف هذه الرؤية من كتابه عن المزامير:

ولكن الحقيقة الأكثر وضوحا عن المدح، سواء لله أو لأي شيء أخر، قد طارت مني بشكل غريب. فكرت في الأمر من حيث المجاملة أو الموافقة أو إعطاء الشرف. لم يسبق لي أن لاحظت أن التمتع كله يتدفق بشكل عفوي في المديح ما لم يتم عمدا جلب (وأحيانا حتى لو أن) الخجل أو الخوف من الآخرين للتحقق من ذلك. إنّ العالم يرنّ بالمديح، الأحباء يشيدون بعشيقاتهم، والقرّاء بشاعرهم المفضل، والذين يتمشون يشيدون بالريف، واللاعبون يشيدون بلعبتهم المفضلة، مديح للطقس، والنبيذ، وأطباق الطعام، والممثلين، والخيول، والكليات، والبلدان، والشخصيات التاريخيّة، والأطفال، والزهور، والجبال، وطوابع البريد النادرة، والخنافس النادرة، وحتى السياسيّون والعلماء في بعض الأحيان. فحياتي، بصعوبة عامة أكثر، عن حمد الله تعتمد على حرماننا السخيف لأنفسنا، فيما يتعلق بأسمى قيمة، وما نستمتع بالقيام به، وما في الواقع لا يسعنا سوى صنعه، بشأن كل شيء آخر نقدره.

وأعتقد أننا نبتهج بمدح ما نستمتع به لأن المديح ليس فقط يعبر عن البهجة بل ويكملها، فهو استكمالها المعين. إنه ليس من منبع المجاملة أن يظل العشاق يقولون لبعضهم البعض كيف أنهم في جمال، فالفرحة غير مكتملة حتى يتم التعبير عن ذلك. (تأملات في المزامير، ص. 93-95).

هذا هو المفتاح: إننا نحمد ما نتمتع به لأن الفرحة غير مكتملة حتى يتم التعبير عنها في الحمد. إذا لم يسمح لنا أن نتحدث عمّا نقدره ونحتفل بما نحبه ونمدح ما نعجب به، لا تكون فرحتنا كاملة. ولذلك، إذا كان الله هو حقا معنا، وإن أعطانا حقا الأفضل وجعل فرحتنا الكاملة، لا بد له أن يجعل هدفه الفوز بمديحنا لنفسه. ليس لأنه يحتاج إلى دعم بعض نقاط الضعف في نفسه أو لتعويض بعض النقص، ولكن لأنه يحبنا، ويسعى لملء فرحتنا التي لا يمكن أن توجد إلا في معرفته ومدحه، أجمل من كلّ الكائنات.

فالله هو الكائن الوحيد في كل الكون الذي بالنسبة له أن يسعى لحمده الخاص هو في النهاية فعل المحبة. فبالنسبة له تمجيد الذات هو أعلى الفضيلة. عندما يفعل كل شيء "لمدح مجده"، كما تقول أفسس 1، هو يحفظ لنا ويقدم لنا الشيء الوحيد في العالم الذي يمكن أن يلبي جميع رغباتنا. الله لأجلنا (معنا)، وبالتالي فقد كان، ويكون، وسيكون للأبد، من أجل نفسه. مجدا للرب! كل نسمة فلتسبح الرب.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Is God for Us or for Himself?

Years ago I went to the Billy Graham crusade in Anaheim, California. There were about 50,000 people there that night, I think, and I sat in the left field bleachers and could see the whole massive crowd wrapping around the infield. When we sang "How Great Thou Art," I managed to get out a few notes and then could scarcely sing any more. I had never heard anything like that. Fifty thousand voices singing praises to God! It so stunned my heart that I have never forgotten that moment. Nothing had ever seemed to me more right or more beautiful or more profoundly joyful than for 50,000 creatures to sing together with all their heart to God.

I really believe I got a little, tiny glimpse of heaven that night, because Revelation 5:11–13 pictures heaven like this:

And I beheld, and I heard a voice of many angels round about the throne, and the beasts and the elders: and the number of them was ten thousand times ten thousand, and thousands of thousands, saying with a loud voice, "Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power, and riches, and wisdom, and strength, and honor, and glory, and blessing."

And every creature which is in heaven and on the earth and under the earth and such as are in the sea, and all that are in them, I heard saying, "Blessing and honor and glory and power be unto him that sitteth on the throne, and unto the Lamb forever and ever.

The vision of heaven is the vision of innumerable myriads of creatures praising the Father and the Son with all their might. And those who have tasted the glory of the Lamb would not miss it for the world.

God Pursues His Own Praise

The Lamb is worthy. God the Father is worthy. And therefore we ought to praise them. And we will praise them. Most believers have no difficulty with that truth. But for two weeks now we have seen from the Scripture that God has not merely acted so as to be worthy of praise, but more, he has made it his aim to win praise. God does not merely wait to be exalted for his power and righteousness and mercy, he has taken the initiative from all eternity to exalt his own name in the earth and to display his glory. Everything he does is motivated by his desire to be glorified. Isaiah 48:11 is the banner over every divine act:

For my own sake, for my own sake I do it, for how should my name be profaned? My glory I will not give to another.

Jeremiah 13:11 puts it like this:

For as the waistcloth clings to the loins of a man, so I made the whole house of Israel and the whole house of Judah cling to me, says the Lord, that they might be for me a people, a name, a praise, and a glory.

God's goal in all he does is to receive praise for the glory of his name.

And lest we think that this is only an Old Testament emphasis, look carefully at the morning text: Ephesians 1. What a grand book this is!—with sentences that reach not only to 11 verses in length but also to heaven in height. There is a phrase repeated three times in verses 6, 12, and 14 which makes it very clear what Paul thinks is the goal of God in saving us from sin and for himself. Notice verses 5 and 6:

He predestined us in love to be his sons through Jesus Christ according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of the glory of his grace.

Then verse 12:

We who first hoped in Christ have been predestined and appointed to live for the praise of his glory.

Finally, verse 14:

The Holy Spirit is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it to the praise of his glory.

From the past eternal decrees of God in predestination to the future eternal enjoyment of our inheritance in the age to come, God's goal and purpose has been that his glory be praised, especially the glory of his grace.

That God is praiseworthy, that we ought to praise him, that we will praise him—these are common truths among Christians, and we affirm them gladly. But less often do we hear the truth that the praise of God's glory is not merely the result of his action but also the goal and purpose of that action. He governs the world precisely to the end that he might be admired, marveled at, exalted, and praised. Christ is coming, Paul says in 2 Thessalonians 1:10, at the end of this age, "to be glorified in his saints and to be marveled at by all who believe." But it has been my experience that people receive this truth with some uneasiness. It is all right for God to be praised, but it doesn't seem quite right for him to seek praise. Didn't Jesus say, "Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted"? Yet, God's clear purpose from Scripture is to exalt himself in the eyes of man.

My aim in this message is to show, as best I can, that God's aim and effort to glorify himself is wholly good and without fault of any kind and is very different from human self-exaltation because it is an expression of love. Then I hope we will affirm this truth gladly and join God in his great aim.

Two Ways to Stumble over God's God-Centeredness

There are two reasons, I think, why we may stumble over God's love for his own glory and his zeal to get men to praise him for it. One is that we don't like humans who act that way, and the other is that the Bible seems to teach that a person ought not to seek his own glory. So people take offense at God's self-exaltation both because of their own everyday experience, and also because of some Scripture.

We just don't like people who seem to be very enamored by their own skill or power or looks. We don't like scholars who try to show off their specialized knowledge or who recite for us all their recent publications and lectureships. We don't like businessmen who go on and on about how shrewdly they have invested their pile of money and how they stayed right on top of the market to get in low and out high every time. We don't like children to play one-upmanship hour after hour. And unless we are one of them we disapprove of women and men who dress, not functionally and simply and inoffensively, but instead aim to be in the latest style so they will be thought in or cool or punky or laid back or whatever the world this week says you're supposed to look like.

Why don't we like all that? I think it is because all those people are inauthentic. They are what Ayn Rand calls "second handers." They don't live from the joy that comes through achieving what they value for its own sake. Instead, they live second-hand from the praise and compliments of others. And we don't admire second-handers. We admire people who are composed and secure enough that they don't feel the need to shore up their weaknesses and compensate for their real deficiencies by trying to get as many compliments as possible.

It stands to reason therefore that any teaching which would seem to put God in the category of a second-hander would be suspect by Christians. And for many the teaching that God is seeking praise and wants to be admired and is doing things for his own name's sake does in fact seem to put God in such a category. But should it? One thing we may say for certain: God is not weak and God has no deficiencies: "All things are from him and through him and to him" (Romans 11:36). He always was, and whatever else is, owes its being to him and so can add nothing to him which is not already flowing from him. That is simply what it means to be the eternal God and not a creature. Therefore, God's zeal to seek his own glory and to be praised by men cannot be owing to his need to shore up some weakness or compensate for some deficiency. He may seem, at a superficial glance, to be in the category of second-handers, but he is not like them and the superficial similarity must be explained another way. There must be some other motive that prompts him to seek the praise of his glory.

There is another reason from experience why we don't like those who seek their own glory. The reason is not merely that they are inauthentic, trying to conceal weakness and deficiency, but also that they are unloving. They are so concerned for their own image and praise that they do not care much what happens to other people. This observation leads us to the biblical reason why it seems offensive for God to seek his own glory. 1 Corinthians 13:5 says, "Love seeks not its own." Now this, indeed, seems to create a crisis, for if, as I think the Scriptures plainly teach, God makes it his ultimate goal to be glorified and praised, how then can he be loving? For "love seeks not its own." For three weeks we have seen Scriptures that teach that God is for himself. "For my own sake, for my own sake I do it, my glory I will not give to another" (Isaiah 48:11). But if God is a God of love, he must be for us. Is, then, God for himself or is he for us?

The Infinite Love of God in Pursuing His Own Praise

The answer which I want to try to persuade you is true is this: because God is unique as the most glorious of all beings and totally self-sufficient, he must be for himself in order to be for us. If he were to abandon the goal of his own self-exaltation, we would be the losers. His aim to bring praise to himself and his aim to bring pleasure to his people are one aim and stand or fall together. I think we will see this if we ask the following question.

In view of God's infinitely admirable beauty and power and wisdom what would his love to a creature involve? Or to put it another way: What could God give us to enjoy that would show him most loving? There is only one possible answer, isn't there? HIMSELF! If God would give us the best, the most satisfying, that is, if he would love us perfectly, he must offer us no less than himself for our contemplation and fellowship.

This was precisely God's intention in sending his Son. Ephesians 2:18 says that Christ came that we might "have access in one Spirit to the Father." And 1 Peter 3:18 says, "Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God." God conceived the whole plan of redemption in love to bring men back to himself, for as the psalmist says, "In your presence there is fullness of joy, in your right hand are pleasures for evermore" (16:11). God is after us to give us what is best—not prestige, wealth, or even health in this life, but a full-blown vision of and fellowship with himself.

But now we are on the brink of what for me was a grand discovery and, I think also, the solution to our problem. To be supremely loving, God must give us what will be best for us and delight us most; he must give us himself. But what do we do when we are given or shown something excellent, something we enjoy? We praise it. We praise new little babies that manage not to be bent all out of shape in birth; "O, look at that nice, round head; and all that hair; and his hands, aren't they big!" We praise a lover's face after a long absence: "Your eyes are like the sky; your hair is like silk; O, you are beautiful to me." We praise a grand slam in the bottom of the ninth when we are down by three runs. We praise the trees along the St. Croix during an autumn boat trip.

But the great discovery I made, with the help of C.S. Lewis, was not only that we praise what we enjoy but that the praise is the climax of the joy itself. It is not tacked on later; it is part of the pleasure. Listen to the way Lewis describes this insight from his book on Psalms:

But the most obvious fact about praise—whether of God or anything —strangely escaped me. I thought of it in terms of compliment, approval, or the giving of honor. I had never noticed that all enjoyment spontaneously overflows into praise unless (sometimes even if) shyness or the fear of boring others is deliberately brought in to check it. The world rings with praise—lovers praising their mistresses, readers their favorite poet, walkers praising the countryside, players praising their favorite game—praise of weather, wines, dishes, actors, horses, colleges, countries, historical personages, children, flowers, mountains, rare stamps, rare beetles, even sometimes politicians and scholars. My whole, more general difficulty, about the praise of God depended on my absurdly denying to us, as regards the supremely Valuable, what we delight to do, what indeed we can't help doing, about everything else we value.

I think we delight to praise what we enjoy because the praise not merely expresses but completes the enjoyment; it is its appointed consummation. It is not out of compliment that lovers keep on telling one another how beautiful they are, the delight is incomplete till it is expressed. (Reflections on the Psalms, pp. 93–95)

There's the key: we praise what we enjoy because the delight is incomplete until it is expressed in praise. If we were not allowed to speak of what we value and celebrate what we love and praise what we admire, our joy would not be full. Therefore, if God is truly for us, if he would give us the best and make our joy full, he must make it his aim to win our praise for himself. Not because he needs to shore up some weakness in himself or compensate for some deficiency, but because he loves us and seeks the fullness of our joy that can only be found in knowing and praising him, the most beautiful of all beings.

God is the one Being in all the universe for whom seeking his own praise is the ultimately loving act. For him self-exaltation is the highest virtue. When he does all things "for the praise of his glory" as Ephesians 1 says, he preserves for us and offers to us the only thing in all the world which can satisfy our longings. God is for us, and therefore has been, is now, and always will be, for himself. Praise the Lord! Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org