إسرائيل، فلسطين والشرق الأوسط

فاني لستُ أريدُ ايها الإخوة ان تجهلوا هذا، لئلا تكونوا عند أنفسكم حكماء، ان القساوة قد حصلت جزئيا لإسرائيل الى أن يدخل ملؤُ الأمم 26 . وهكذا سيخلص جميعُ إسرائيل. كما هو مكتوب: " سيخرج من صهيون المنقذ ويرد الفجورَ عن يعقوب" 27. وهذا هو العهد من قبلي لهم متى نزعت خطاياهم" 28. ومن جهة الانجيل هم أعداء من أجلكم، وأما من جهة الاختيار انهم احباء من اجل الآباء. 29 . لان هبات الله ودعوته هي بلا ندامة. 30 فأنه كما كنتم أنتم مرة ً لاتطيعون الله لكن الآن رحمتم بسبب عصيان هؤلاء، 31 هكذا هؤلاء أيضا الآن لم يطيعوا لكي يرحموا هم ايضا برحمتكم. 32 لأن الله اغلق على الجميع معًا في العصيان ، لكي يرحم الجميع.

اليوم أريد ان أتناول مسألة العلاقة بين إسرائيل و"أرض الميعاد" في الشرق الاوسط. هذا ليس أساسا مقال توضيحي لرسالة رومية، بل هو مسعى بذل لاستنتاج مضمون رسالة رومية 11 وباقي الانجيل وسط المشاكل الشائكة التي يواجهها العالم اليوم. أن وجود إسرائيل في الشرق الاوسط وامتداد حدودها وسيادتها لعله من اهم اسباب عوامل الانفجار في عالم الارهاب واكثرها تقلبلا في العلاقات الغربية العربية.

تمتد جذور العرب واليهود في هذه الارض الى آلاف السنين. كلاهما يدعي ملكية الارض ليس بسبب الوجود التاريخي فحسب بل بسبب الحق الالهي. انا لا احاول أن اضع خطة سلام مفصلة. لكنني احاول أن افسر بعض الحقائق التوراتية – الانجيلية التي يمكن ان تقودنا الى التفكير بالسلام والعدالة في تلك البقعة من العالم. السياسيون يتأثرون بأراء ناخبيهم لذلك فان أرائنا وافكارنا مهمة في هذه الاجواء الدينية المشحونة جداً. نحن بحاجة ان نعرف كيف نصلي. وكيف نتحدث الى الاخرين بطريقة نعظم ونحترم فيها الحقيقة. اذاً، لجميع هذه الأسباب ولسبب أن الله متشابك في القضية، ينبغي أن نتحدث عنها ضمن سياق رسالة رومية 11.

رأينا في رسالة رومية 11 ان إسرائيل ككل، -كجماعة عرقية ، في حالة معاناة مستمرة من جيل الى جيل – لها عهود مقطوعة تمتد جذورها الى إبراهيم وذريته. 16 "وأن كان الأصل ُ مقدسًا فكذلك الأغصان". نفسر هذا المقطع في ضوء الآية 28 " من جهة الإنجيل، هم [إسرائيل] أعداء (الله) من أجلكم [الأمم]. من جهة الاختيار فهم أحباء من أجل الآباء." تقابل "الآباء" هنا الاصل في الآية 16. اذ تتضمن الوعود الى الأباء، انه في يوم ما ستكون الشجرة كلها مع جميع أغصانها محفوظة.

تقول الآية 28، في الوقت الحالي "هم أعداء". آية 28 "من جهة الإنجيل، هم [إسرائيل] اعداء الله." بمعنى أخر، أنهم يرفضون مسيحهم وبهذا يضعون انفسهم في موقف ضد الله. هذا ما قاله المسيح لإسرائيل في يوحنا 8 : 42 " لو كان الله أباكم لكنتم تحبونني". المسيح هو علامة الاختبار، في حال اذا كانت ديانة الشخص هي عبادة الخالق الحقيقي. لكن إسرائيل لاتحب المسيح كأبن الله ولا تريده مسيحا لها. لذلك هم الآن "أعداء الله".

تقول آية 16 " وأن كان الأصل ُمقدسًا فكذلك الأغصان". وتعني اذا كان الله هو الذي اختار لنفسه الآباء، إبراهيم وإسحاق ويعقوب، وميزهم واقام لهم عهود الميثاق /الموعد ، أذن في يوم ما ( بعد انقضاء هذا الزمن الراهن من العداء والضغينة والقساوة ) سيعود أحفادهم الى الله عن طريق المسيح، ويكونوا شعب مقدس مميز عند الله. وسيُردُ الفجورو الشك عن يعقوب الى الابد. (آية 26.)

بناء عليه نسأل الآن هل ما يسمى " بأرض الميعاد" هو جزء من الإرث والخلاص الذي سيعود الى "كل إسرائيل" (26)؟ واذا كان هذا صحيحاً، ماذا يمكن ان يقال عن حق إسرائيل في الارض اليوم؟ أردتُ اثناء اعدادي الجواب لهذا السؤال أن أجزم سبعة حقائق تقوم على الكتاب المقدس

١. الله اختار إسرائيل من بين كل شعوب العالم ليكون شعبه المختار.

تثنية 7: 6، "إياك قد اختار الرب إلهك لتكون له شعبًا أخص من جميع الشعوب الذين على وجه الأرض."

٢. الارض كانت جزء من الإرث الموعود لإبراهيم ونسله إلى الأبد.

التكوين 15: 18 "في ذلك اليوم قطع الرب مع أبرام ميثاقًا قائلاً : "لنسلك أعطي هذه الأرض، من نهر مصر الى النهر الكبير، نهر الفرات."

ثم في التكوين 17: 7-8 يقول الله لإبراهيم " وأقيم عهدي بيني وبينك، وبين نسلك من بعدك عهداً أبدياً، لأكون إلها لك ولنسلك من بعدك. 8 وأعطي لك ولنسلك من بعدك أرض غربتك، كل أرض كنعان ملكًا أبدياً، وأكون إلههُم."

ثم وثلّق الله الوعد ليعقوب، حفيد إبراهيم في التكوين 28: 13 ، " وهوذا الرب واقف عليها، فقال: " أنا الربُ إله إبراهيم أبيك وإله إسحاق. الأرضُ التي أنت مضطجع عليها أعطيها لك ولنسلك". وعندما كان يحتضر يعقوب دعا يوسف وقال له (التكوين 48: 3). "الله القادر على كل شئ ظهر لي في لُوز، في أرض كنعان وباركني. 4 وقال لي؛ ها أنا أجعلك مثمرًا وأكثرُك، وأجعلك جمهوراً من الأمم، وأعطي نسلك هذه الأرض من بعدك ملكًا أبديًا."

هذا بالطبع، يخلق شقاً كبيراً بين كل من الرؤية الاسلامية لميثاق الله والرؤية اليهودية والمسيحية لنفس الميثاق. لكننا نؤمن بأن هذه كلمات الله، مؤكدة من قبل السيد المسيح، ولذلك نقول، أن الأرض مقدر لها ان تكون أرض إسرائيل.

لكن ليس بهذه السهولة. هذه قضية لا يمكن التعامل معها بكلمات رنانة.

٣. العهود المقطوعة لإبراهيم، من ضمنها وعد الارض، ستكون هبة متوارثة أبديًا فقط لإسرائيل الروحانية الصادقة وليس لإسرائيل العاصية الغير مؤمنة.

هذا كان الهدف من رومية 9. عندما حزن بولص على ضياع الكثير من اليهود الذين رفضوا المسيح وصاروا هالكين، قال في آية 6-7 "ولكن ليس هكذا حتى إن كلمة الله قد سقطت. لأن ليس جميع الذين من إسرائيل هم إسرائيليون. 7 ولا لأنهم من نسل إبراهيم هم جميعا أولادُ". بمعنى أخر، لايمكن لأحد ان يطالب بالوعود لمجرد انه يهودي. العرق اليهودي له مكانة في خطة الله، لكنه ليس كاف لضمان أي شئ. فهو غير قادر بحد ذاته أن يؤهل الشخص ليكون وريثًا لوعود إبراهيم ونسله. يقول رومية 9: 8 بوضوح: "أي ليس أولاد الجسد هم أولاد الله، بل أولاد الموعد يُحسبون نسلاً." فكون الشخص يهودي بالولادة لا يجعل منه وريث للوعد ـــ ولا حتى وعد الأرض او أي وعدٍ أخر.

هذا كان واضحاً في العهد القديم، وكذلك في تعاليم السيد المسيح (سنراه في الحقيقة #4 ). على سبيل المثال، في قائمة اللعنات الرهيبة التي وعد الله أن ينزلها على الشعب اذا نقضوا الميثاق وتخلوا عنه هي الاتي: "وكما فرح الرب لكم ليحسن إليكم ويكثركم، كذلك يفرح الرب لكم ليفنيكم ويهلككم، فتستأصلون من الأرض التي أنت داخل إليها لتمتلكها". (تثنية 28: 63 ). طوال تاريخ إسرائيل، بما فيه نقضهم للميثاق وعصيانهم ووثنيتهم جمعاء جردت إسرائيل من حقها الالهي الراهن بالأرض. (راجع أيضا دانيال9: 4-7، المزامير 78: 54- 61)

أحذر من أن تستنج من كل هذا أن الأمم الغير يهودية (مثل العرب) لها الحق أن توقع الأذى بإسرائيل. أحكام الله على إسرائيل لاتسمح للبشر بارتكاب الإثم ضد إسرائيل. إسرائيل لاتزال تملك الحق في مجال حقوق الإنسان بين الأمم، وحتى عندما فقدت حقها الالهي الحالي في الارض. تذكر أن الأمم التي اغتبطت وتشمتت لمصائب الآخرين نتيجة لتوبيخ الله عوقبت من قبل الله. (أشعياء 10: 5-13، يوئيل 2:3)

لذلك فالوعد المقطوع لإبراهيم أن نسله سيرث الأرض لا يعني أن كل اليهود سيرثون ذلك الوعد. سيكون في النهاية الى إسرائيل الحقيقية، التي تحفظ الميثاق وتطيع الله.

٤. يسوع المسيح جاء الى العالم على انه المسيح (المسايا) اليهودي لكن شعبه رفضه ونقضوا ميثاقهم مع ألههم.

عندما سأل السيد المسيح تلاميذه، "وأنتم ، من تقولون إني أنا؟، فأجاب سمعان بطرس وقال: "أنت المسيح [ يعني يسوع المسيح اليهودي]، إبن الله الحي! "، فأجاب يسوع وقال له: "طوبى لك يا سمعان بن يونا، إن لحمًا ودمًا لم يعلن لك، لكن أبي الذي في السماوات".(متى 16 : 16 -17). وعندما سأل رئيس الكهنة يسوع قائلاُ: "أأنت المسيحُ ابنُ المبارك؟" فقال يسوع، أنا هو.. وسوف تبصرون اني الإنسان جالسًا عن يمين القوة ، وآتيًا في سحاب السماء". (مرقس 14: 61-62).

ولكن على الرغم من أن يسوع هو المسيح (المسايا) وهو الذي قام بأعمال عظيمة وعلم بسلطة قوية وأتمّ وعود العهد القديم ، فمع هذا فقد رفضه شعب إسرائيل بأكمله. كان هذا أخطر عصيان ونقض للميثاق ارتكبته إسرائيل في تاريخها كله.

لهذا السبب قال المسيح مثل الكرامين الذين قتلوا ابن صاحب الكرم ِعندما جاء وقت قطف الثمار، وأنهى المثل بكلمة الى إسرائيل في متى 21: 43 ، "لذلك أقول لكم: إن ملكوت الله ينزع منكم ويعطى لأمةٍ تعمل أثمارهُ". وللسبب نفسه قال في متى 8: 11-12 ، بعد أن رأى إيمان القائد الروماني وشك إسرائيل " إن كثيرين [الأمم من غير اليهود] سيأتون من المشارق والمغارب ويتكئون مع إبراهيم وإسحاق ويعقوب في ملكوت السماوات، 12 وأما بنو الملكوت فيطرحون إلى الظلمة الخارجية. هناك يكون البكاء وصرير الأسنان ِ".

إسرائيل نقضت الميثاق مع إلهها وتعيش اليوم في حالة عصيان وعدم إيمان بابنه ومسيحها. من أجل هذا قال بولص الرسول في رومية 11 : 28، " من جهة الإنجيل [ الأخبار الجيدة عن المسيح ]هم أعداء الله."

٥. بناءً عليه، لا يجوز لدولة إسرائيل العلمانية في الوقت الحاضر الادعاء بالحق الالهي للأرض، لكن يجب علينا وعليهم ان نبحث عن تسوية سلمية لا تقوم على الحقوق الالهية ، بل على مبادئ دولية عن العدل والاستيطان السلمي والرحمة والمنفعة العملية.

نستنتتج من كل الذي قلناه حتى الآن، والآثار المترتبة على أولئك منا الذين يؤمنون بالانجيل ويثقون بالمسيح مخلصاً وبأنه سيد التاريخ، يجب ان لا نقوم بتأييد كليّ لاعمال اليهود او الفلسطينين. إن تأييدنا او شجبنا يجب ان يكون وفقا لمعاييرالكتاب المقدس في العدالة والرحمة بين الناس. يجب أن نشجع ممثلينا لبحث تسوية نزيهة آخذين في نظر الاعتبار الادعاءات التاريخية والاجتماعية لكلا الطرفين. كما يجب عدم السماح بترجيح كفة العدل من خلال تقديم ادعأت الهية لملكية الأرض اذا كنت تعتقد أن هذا صحيحًا، سيكون من المفيد لممثليك ان يعرفوا هذا الشئ أيضا.

نحن لسنا إرهاب مستتر ولانعمل على تغطية حجم القوة اليهودية وأنا لا أقوم بأي محاولة ،من جانبي، لتقييم مقاييس اللوم او التكافؤ الاخلاقي. هذا ليس هدفي. غايتي هي وضع الجدال على أسس متوازنة بمعنى: أن لا يستجدي أي من الطرفين تذرعات العدالة الدولية بادعاء الحقوق الالهية الراهنة. إن محاولة استنباط حقيقة تلك العدالة لايزال مهمة مروعة جداً. أنا لم أحل المشكلة. لكنني أعتقد أننا سنحرز تقدم أفضل لو رفضنا الخضوع الى ادعاءات كلا الطرفين المصدقة عرقيًا او دولياً من قبل الله في صراعهم الحالي.

٦. في الإيمان بالسيد المسيح، المسيح اليهودي (المسايا)، تصبح الأمم (الغير يهودية) وريثةً لوعد إبراهيم، بما فيه أرض الميعاد.

في كلمات رومية 11: 17، " أنت [ الغير يهودي] زيتونة برية طُعمت فيها، فصرت شريكًا في أصل الزيتونة ودسمِها." ـــــــ وبهذا اصبحوا جزء من شعب وعد الميثاق المحرر الذي يشارك إيمان ومعتقد إبراهيم. السبب كما وضعه بولص الرسول في رومية 4: 13، " فأنه ليس بالناموس كان الوعد لإبراهيم أو لنسله أن يكون وارثًا للعالم، بل ببر الإيمان." لذلك كل المتحدون بالمسيح، نسل إبراهيم، بالإيمان هم جزء من الميثاق المقطوع معه ومع نسله.

ها هي الشهادة الاكثر شمولا عن هذه الحقيقة ـــــــ أفسس 2 : 12، " تذكروا أنكم [الغير يهود] كنتم في ذلك الوقت بدون مسيح، أجنبيين عن رعوية إسرائيل، وغرباء عن عهود الموعد، لا رجاء لكم، وبلا إله في العالم. 13 ولكن الآن في المسيح يسوع، أنتم الذين كنتم قبلا بعيدين، صرتم قريبين بدم المسيح....، 19 فلستم إذاً بعد غرباء ونزلا، بل رعية مع القديسيين وأهل بيت الله".

بالتالي كل من اليهود المؤمنين بالمسيح والأمم (الغير يهودية) المؤمنة سيرثون الأرض. وأسهل طريقة لفهم هذا هو أن تعلم اننا سوف نرث العالم بما فيه الأرض. المسيحيون اليهود والمسيحيون من غير اليهود سوف لايتشاحنون بشأن عقار أرض الميعاد لأن السماء الجديدة والأرض الجديدة بأسرهما سيكونان لنا. 1 كورنثوس3 : 21-23 ، "فإن كل شيء لكم.، 22 أبولس، أم أبلوس، ام صفا، أم العالم، أم الحياة، أم المستقبلة.ـــ كل شئ لكم. 23 وأما أنتم فللمسيح، والميسح لله." كل أتباع المسيح، وفقط أتباع المسيح سيرثون العالم بما فيه بقعة الأرض هذه.

٧. أخيراً، سيعطى هذا الميراث لشعب المسيح عند القدوم الثاني للمسيح ليقيم مملكته، ليس قبل، وحتى ذلك الوقت، يجب علينا نحن المسيحيون أن لا نحمل السلاح للمطالبة بإرثنا، بل بالأحرى أن نهيئ حياتنا لمقاسمة إرثنا مع أكبر عدد ممكن.

تذكرون أن الكلمة الأكثر أهمية التي قالها السيد المسيح في يوحنا 18 : 36 ، "مملكتي ليست من هذا العالم. لو كانت مملكتي من هذا العالم، لكان خدامي يجاهدون لكي لا أُسلم الى اليهود. ولكن الآن ليست مملكتي من هنا."

المسيحيون لايحملون السيف للفوز بمملكة المسيح. نحن ننتظر مملكة من السماء ُتسلم لنا بقوته الجبارة. وفي ذلك اليوم العظيم ستستلم الأمم (الغير يهودية) واليهود الذين اكتنزوا المسيح ما كانوا قد وعدوا به. سيكون هناك انقلاب عظيم: الاخرون سيكونون أولين والودعاء ـــــ بالارتباط مع حمل الله ــــــ سيرثون الأرض.

لذلك، تعالوا الى الوديع المتواضع مازال هناك وقت، واستلموا مغفرة الخطايا ورجاء المجد.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Israel, Palestine and the Middle East

Lest you be wise in your own conceits, I want you to understand this mystery, brothers: a partial hardening has come upon Israel, until the fullness of the Gentiles has come in. 26 And in this way all Israel will be saved, as it is written, "The Deliverer will come from Zion, he will banish ungodliness from Jacob"; 27 "and this will be my covenant with them when I take away their sins." 28 As regards the gospel, they are enemies of God for your sake. But as regards election, they are beloved for the sake of their forefathers. 29 For the gifts and the calling of God are irrevocable. 30 Just as you were at one time disobedient to God but now have received mercy because of their disobedience, 31 so they too have now been disobedient in order that by the mercy shown to you they also may now receive mercy. 32 For God has consigned all to disobedience, that he may have mercy on all.

Today I would like to address the issue of Israel's relation to the “Promised Land” in the Middle East. This is not primarily an expository message from Romans 11, but an effort to draw out implications of Romans 11 and the rest of Scripture for a very vexing problem in the world today. The existence of Israel in the Middle East and the extent of her borders and her sovereignty are perhaps the most explosive factors in world terrorism and the most volatile factors in Arab-Western relations.

The Arab roots and the Jewish roots in this land go back for thousands of years. Both lay claim to the land not merely because of historical presence, but also because of divine right. I won't try to lay out a detailed peace plan. But I will try to lay out some biblical truths that could guide all of us in thinking about peace and justice in that part of the world. What we think about this, and what we say, does matter, since politicians are influenced by their constituents in these religiously super-charged situations. And we need to know how to pray. And we need to know how to talk to others in a way that honors the truth. So for all those reasons, and for the reason that God is very much involved in this situation, we should talk about it in the context of Romans 11.

What we've seen in Romans 11 is that Israel as a whole—that is, as an ethnic, corporate people enduring from generation to generation—has a root in the covenant promises made to Abraham and his descendants. Verse 16b: “If the root is holy so are the branches.” We interpreted that picture in the light of verse 28: “As regards the gospel, they [Israel] are enemies of God for your [Gentile] sake. But as regards election, they are beloved for the sake of their forefathers.” The “forefathers” here correspond to the root in verse 16. So the promises to the forefathers imply that some day the whole tree, with all its branches, will be saved.

Some day. Because verse 28 says, for now “they are enemies.” Verse 28a: “As regards the gospel, they [Israel] are enemies of God for your sake.” In other words, they are rejecting their Messiah and thus putting themselves against God. This is what Jesus said to Israel in John 8:42: “If God were your father you would love me.” Jesus is the litmus test whether anybody's religion is worship of the true God. But Israel does not love Jesus as God's son and her Messiah. So they are, for now, “enemies of God.”

So when verse 16 says, “If the root is holy so are the branches,” we take it to mean: “If God chose the forefathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, for himself, and set them apart and made to them covenant promises, then someday (after this present time of enmity and hardening are over) their descendants are going to return to God through Jesus Christ, and become God's set-apart, holy people. Unbelief and ungodliness will be banished from Jacob forever (v. 26).

So now we ask, is the so-called “Promised Land” part of the inheritance and salvation that “all Israel” (v. 26) will receive? And if so, what does that say about the rights of Israel today to the Land?

In developing the answer to this question I would like to maintain seven truths which are based on Scripture.

1. God chose Israel from all the peoples of the world to be his own possession.

Deuteronomy 7:6, “ The Lord your God has chosen you to be a people for his treasured possession, out of all the peoples who are on the face of the earth.”

2. The Land was part of the inheritance he promised to Abraham and his descendants forever.

Genesis 15:18, “On that day the Lord made a covenant with Abram, saying, ‘To your offspring I give this land, from the river of Egypt to the great river, the river Euphrates.'”

Then in Genesis 17:7-8 God says to Abraham, “I will establish my covenant between me and you and your offspring after you throughout their generations for an everlasting covenant, to be God to you and to your offspring after you. 8 And I will give to you and to your offspring after you the land of your sojournings, all the land of Canaan, for an everlasting possession, and I will be their God.”

Then God confirmed the promise to Jacob, Abraham's grandson, in Genesis 28:13, “And behold, the Lord . . . said, ‘I am the Lord , the God of Abraham your father and the God of Isaac. The land on which you lie I will give to you and to your offspring.” And when Jacob was dying he called Joseph to him and said (in Genesis 48:3), “God Almighty appeared to me at Luz in the land of Canaan and blessed me, 4 and said to me, ‘Behold, I will make you fruitful and multiply you and . . . will give this land to your offspring after you for an everlasting possession.'”

This, of course, creates a huge cleavage between the Islamic view of God's covenant and the Jewish and Christian view of God's covenant. But we believe that this is God's word, confirmed by the Lord Jesus, and so we say, The land is destined to be Israel's land.

But it's not that simple. This is not an issue that can be dealt with in soundbites.

3. The promises made to Abraham, including the promise of the Land, will be inherited as an everlasting gift only by true, spiritual Israel, not disobedient, unbelieving Israel.

This was the point of Romans 9. When Paul grieved over the lostness of so many Jews who were rejecting Jesus and were perishing, he said in verses 6-7, “It is not as though the word of God has failed. For not all who are descended from Israel belong to Israel, 7 and not all are children of Abraham because they are his offspring.” In other words, the promises cannot be demanded by anyone just because he is Jewish. Jewish ethnicity has a place in God's plan, but it is not enough to secure anything. It does not in itself qualify a person to be an heir of the promise to Abraham and his offspring. Romans 9:8 says it clearly: “It is not the children of the flesh who are the children of God, but the children of the promise are counted as offspring.” Being born Jewish does not make one an heir of the promise—neither the promise of the Land nor any other promise.

This was plain in the Old Testament, and it was plain the teachings of Jesus (which we will see under truth #4). For example, in the terrible list of curses that God promised to bring on the people if they broke his covenant and forsook him was this: “ And as the Lord took delight in doing you good and multiplying you, so the Lord will take delight in bringing ruin upon you and destroying you. And you shall be plucked off the land that you are entering to take possession of it” (Deuteronomy 28:63). Throughout the history of Israel, covenant breaking and disobedience and idolatry disqualified Israel from the present divine right to the Land. (See also Daniel 9:4-7; Psalm 78:54-61.)

Be careful not to infer from this that Gentile nations (like Arabs) have the right to molest Israel. God's judgments on Israel do not sanction human sin against Israel. Israel still has human rights among nations even when she forfeits her present divine right to the Land. Remember that nations which gloated over her divine discipline were punished by God (Isaiah 10:5-13; Joel 3:2).

So the promise to Abraham that his descendants will inherit the Land does not mean that all Jews inherit that promise. It will come finally to the true Israel, the Israel that keeps covenant and obeys her God.

4. Jesus Christ has come into the world as the Jewish Messiah, and his own people rejected him and broke covenant with their God.

When Jesus asked his disciples, “Who do you say that I am?” Peter answered, “You are the Christ [that is, the Jewish Messiah], the Son of the living God.” And Jesus responded to him, “ Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah! For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven” (Matthew 16:16-17). And when the high priest asked Jesus, “Are you the Christ, the Son of the Blessed?” Jesus answered, “I am, and you will see the Son of Man seated at the right hand of Power, and coming with the clouds of heaven” (Mark 14:61-62).

But even though Jesus was the Messiah and did many mighty works and taught with great authority and fulfilled Old Testament promises, nevertheless the people of Israel as a whole rejected him. This was the most serious covenant-breaking disobedience that Israel had ever committed in all her history.

This is why Jesus told the parable of the tenants who killed the Landlord's son when he came for his harvest, and ended that parable with these words to Israel in Matthew 21:43, “Therefore I tell you, the kingdom of God will be taken away from you and given to a people producing its fruits.” And it's why he said in Matthew 8:11-12, after seeing the faith of a Gentile centurion and the unbelief of Israel, “Many [Gentiles] will come from east and west and recline at table with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven, 12 while the sons of the kingdom will be thrown into the outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

Israel has broken covenant with her God and is living today in disobedience and unbelief in his Son and her Messiah. That is why Paul says in Romans 11:28, “As regards the gospel [the good news of the Messiah] they are enemies of God.”

5. Therefore, the secular state of Israel today may not claim a present divine right to the Land, but they and we should seek a peaceful settlement not based on present divine rights, but on international principles of justice, mercy, and practical feasibility.

This follows from all we have said so far, and the implication it has for those of us who believe the Bible and trust Christ as our Savior and as the Lord of history, is that we should not give blanket approval to Jewish or to Palestinian actions. We should approve or denounce according to Biblical standards of justice and mercy among peoples. We should encourage our representatives to seek a just settlement that takes the historical and social claims of both peoples into account. Neither should be allowed to sway the judgments of justice by a present divine claim to the land. If you believe this, it would be helpful for your representatives to know it.

We are not whitewashing terrorism and we are not whitewashing Jewish force. Nor is there any attempt on my part to assess measures of blame or moral equivalence. That's not my aim. My aim is to put the debate on a balanced footing in this sense: neither side should preempt the claims of international justice by the claim of present divine rights. Working out what that justice will look like is still a huge and daunting task. I have not solved that problem. But I think we will make better progress if we do not yield to the claim of either side to be ethnically or nationally sanctioned by God in their present conflict.

6. By faith in Jesus Christ, the Jewish Messiah, Gentiles become heirs of the promise of Abraham, including the promise of the Land.

In the words of Romans 11:17, “You [Gentile], although a wild olive shoot, were grafted in among the others and now share in the nourishing root of the olive tree”—that is, they become part of the redeemed covenant people who share the faith of Abraham. The reason, as Paul put in Romans 4:13, is that “the promise to Abraham and his offspring that he would be heir of the world did not come through the law but through the righteousness of faith.” So all who are united to Christ, Abraham's Offspring, by faith are part of the covenant made with him and his offspring.

Here's the most sweeping statement of this truth— Ephesians 2:12, “Remember that you [Gentiles] were at that time separated from Christ, alienated from the commonwealth of Israel and strangers to the covenants of promise, having no hope and without God in the world. 13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ. . . . So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God.”

Therefore Jewish believers in Jesus and Gentile believers will inherit the Land. And the easiest way to see this is to see that we will inherit the world which includes the Land. Jewish Christians and Gentile Christians will not quibble over the real estate of the Promised Land because the entire new heavens and the new earth will be ours. 1 Corinthians 3:21-23, “All things are yours, 22 whether Paul or Apollos or Cephas or the world or life or death or the present or the future—all are yours, 23 and you are Christ's, and Christ is God's.” All followers of Christ, and only followers of Christ, will inherit the earth, including the Land.

7. Finally, this inheritance of Christ's people will happen at the second coming of Christ to establish his kingdom, not before; and till then, we Christians must not take up arms to claim our inheritance; but rather lay down our lives to share our inheritance with as many as we can.

You recall that all-important word that Jesus spoke to Pilate in John 18:36: “My kingdom is not of this world. If my kingdom were of this world, my servants would have been fighting, that I might not be delivered over to the Jews. But my kingdom is not from the world.” Christians do not take up the sword to advance the kingdom of Christ. We wait for a king from heaven who will deliver us by his mighty power. And in that great day Jew and Gentile who have treasured Christ will receive what was promised. There will be a great reversal: the last will be first, and the meek—in fellowship with the Lamb of God—will inherit the Land.

Therefore, come to the meek and lowly Christ while there is time, and receive forgiveness of sins, and the hope of glory.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org