المسيح هو نهاية التعصّب العرقي

وَجَاءَ إِلَى النَّاصِرَةِ حَيْثُ كَانَ قَدْ تَرَبَّى. وَدَخَلَ الْمَجْمَعَ حَسَبَ عَادَتِهِ يَوْمَ السَّبْتِ وَقَامَ لِيَقْرَأَ، 17فَدُفِعَ إِلَيْهِ سِفْرُ إِشَعْيَاءَ النَّبِيِّ. وَلَمَّا فَتَحَ السِّفْرَ وَجَدَ الْمَوْضِعَ الَّذِي كَانَ مَكْتُوبًا فِيهِ: 18«رُوحُ الرَّبِّ عَلَيَّ، لأَنَّهُ مَسَحَنِي لأُبَشِّرَ الْمَسَاكِينَ، أَرْسَلَنِي لأَشْفِيَ الْمُنْكَسِرِي الْقُلُوبِ، لأُنَادِيَ لِلْمَأْسُورِينَ بِالإِطْلاَقِ ولِلْعُمْيِ بِالْبَصَرِ، وَأُرْسِلَ الْمُنْسَحِقِينَ فِي الْحُرِّيَّةِ، 19وَأَكْرِزَ بِسَنَةِ الرَّبِّ الْمَقْبُولَةِ». 20ثُمَّ طَوَى السِّفْرَ وَسَلَّمَهُ إِلَى الْخَادِمِ، وَجَلَسَ. وَجَمِيعُ الَّذِينَ فِي الْمَجْمَعِ كَانَتْ عُيُونُهُمْ شَاخِصَةً إِلَيْهِ. 21فَابْتَدَأَ يَقُولُ لَهُمْ:«إِنَّهُ الْيَوْمَ قَدْ تَمَّ هذَا الْمَكْتُوبُ فِي مَسَامِعِكُمْ». 22وَكَانَ الْجَمِيعُ يَشْهَدُونَ لَهُ وَيَتَعَجَّبُونَ مِنْ كَلِمَاتِ النِّعْمَةِ الْخَارِجَةِ مِنْ فَمِهِ، وَيَقُولُونَ: «أَلَيْسَ هذَا ابْنَ يُوسُفَ؟» 23فَقَالَ لَهُمْ:«عَلَى كُلِّ حَال تَقُولُونَ لِي هذَا الْمَثَلَ: أَيُّهَا الطَّبِيبُ اشْفِ نَفْسَكَ! كَمْ سَمِعْنَا أَنَّهُ جَرَى فِي كَفْرِنَاحُومَ، فَافْعَلْ ذلِكَ هُنَا أَيْضًا فِي وَطَنِكَ» 24وَقَالَ: «الْحَقَّ أَقُولُ لَكُمْ: إِنَّهُ لَيْسَ نَبِيٌّ مَقْبُولاً فِي وَطَنِهِ. 25وَبِالْحَقِّ أَقُولُ لَكُمْ: إِنَّ أَرَامِلَ كَثِيرَةً كُنَّ فِي إِسْرَائِيلَ فِي أَيَّامِ إِيلِيَّا حِينَ أُغْلِقَتِ السَّمَاءُ مُدَّةَ ثَلاَثِ سِنِينَ وَسِتَّةِ أَشْهُرٍ، لَمَّا كَانَ جُوعٌ عَظِيمٌ فِي الأَرْضِ كُلِّهَا، 26وَلَمْ يُرْسَلْ إِيلِيَّا إِلَى وَاحِدَةٍ مِنْهَا، إِلاَّ إِلَى امْرَأَةٍ أَرْمَلَةٍ، إِلَى صَرْفَةِ صَيْدَاءَ. 27وَبُرْصٌ كَثِيرُونَ كَانُوا فِي إِسْرَائِيلَ فِي زَمَانِ أَلِيشَعَ النَّبِيِّ، وَلَمْ يُطَهَّرْ وَاحِدٌ مِنْهُمْ إِلاَّ نُعْمَانُ السُّرْيَانِيُّ». 28فَامْتَلأَ غَضَبًا جَمِيعُ الَّذِينَ فِي الْمَجْمَعِ حِينَ سَمِعُوا هذَا، 29فَقَامُوا وَأَخْرَجُوهُ خَارِجَ الْمَدِينَةِ، وَجَاءُوا بِهِ إِلَى حَافّةِ الْجَبَلِ الَّذِي كَانَتْ مَدِينَتُهُمْ مَبْنِيَّةً عَلَيْهِ حَتَّى يَطْرَحُوهُ إِلَى أَسْفَلٍ. 30أَمَّا هُوَ فَجَازَ فِي وَسْطِهِمْ وَمَضَى.

حاولت يوم الأحد الماضي أن انفخ بوقا عن رؤية دَعَوْتُها "زرع شغف". هل نستطيع أن نأتي معا ككنيسة بأكلمها، ونشعل اجهزة إنذار حول حلم ونزرع كنيسة في عام 2002 في مكان آخر في توين سيتيز - أو حتى إلى ما أبعد من هذا (مثل شارلوت، نورث كارولاينا ليتزامن مع خطوة BGEA هناك)؟ دعوت ذلك "زرع شغف" بحيث يكون من الواضح أن هذا تركيز محدد لبيان إرسالية كنيستنا: نحن موجودون لنشر الشغف لسيادة الله في كل شيء من أجل فرح جميع الشعوب من خلال يسوع المسيح. ولكني أوضح أن الهدف ليس هو مجرد زرع أي نوع من الكنائس. بل وضعت بعض أوصاف محددة لها: متمركزة حول الله، ممجدة للمسيح، مشبعة بالكتاب المقدس، معبئة للإرساليات، رابحة للنفوس، ساعية للعدالة، الخ.

السعي لتحقيق العدالة:

عندما استخدمتُ مصطلح "السّعي للعدالة،" كان في ذهني على الأقل مسألتين: محور هذا الأحد عن الانسجام العرقي وتركيز يوم الأحد المقبل على قدسية الحياة. إن اثنين من القضايا الكبرى لبلادنا هنا في بداية القرن 21 هي قضايا العدالة العرقية والعدالة للذين لم يولدوا بعد. وأعتقد أن هناك علاقة بين كون الكنيسة ساعية للعدالة وكونها كنيسة متمركزة حول الله، وممجدة للمسيح، ومشعبة بالكتاب المقدس.

نحن بحاجة إلى أن نكون أكثر تمركزا حول الله، وتمجيدا للمسيح، وإشباعا بالكتاب المقدس:

أحد الأسباب أن الكنيسة الانجيلية - وخاصة كنيسة البيض الإنجيلية (حتى هذا الوصف هو أمر مؤسف، كما هو الحال في "الكنيسة السوداء") - واحدة من الأسباب أننا لم نسْعَ للعدالة العرقية والعدالة للذين لم يولدوا بعد بقدر كبير من الشغف بحسب ما ينبغي علينا هو أننا لم نكن متمركزين حول الله، وممجدين للمسيح ومشبعين بالكتاب المقدس كما نظن.

عندما نقول: "نحن نوجد لنشر الشغف لسيادة الله في كل شيء من أجل فرح جميع الشعوب،" هل فكرنا حقا كيف نجعل الله هو السّائد في العلاقات العرقية؟ هل فكرنا كيف أنّ المسيح يمجّد في العلاقات العرقية؟ هل سألنا كيف يشبع الكتاب المقدس تفكيرنا وشعورنا وسلوكنا بشأن العلاقات العرقية وقضايا العرق في مجال التعليم، والسكن، والاقتصاد، وتكوين جسد المسيح؟ هل تشكل سيادة الله، ومجد المسيح والرسالة الراديكالية للكتاب المقدس تفكيرنا وشعورنا وسلوكنا في "كل شيء من أجل فرح جميع الشعوب”؟

شلل النقص:

لذلك عندما نفكر في زرع الكنائس، هذا ليس لأننا قد وصلنا، وبالتالي على استعداد لإعادة إنتاج أنفسنا. إن كنا ننتظر حتى نقدر أن نتجرّأ على مثل هذا الشيء، فلن نفعل ذلك - ولن تتزوج، أو تظل متزوجا، أو تحصل على أول وظيفة أو الاحتفاظ بها، أو الخوض في الإرساليات أو البقاء فيها، أو اقرار أن يكون لك أطفال أو بداية خدمة. عدد قليل من الأشياء تشل أناسا جيدين أكثر من نقصانهم. كم أتمنى أن يقيم الله شعبا يريد الاستماع والتعلم، وترك الانتقادات التي تشل الحركة من القائلون لا وكلا. نحن لا نهدف إلى زرع كنيسة لأن لدينا الكمال، ولكن لأن لدينا حلم: أنّ كنيسة جديدة في مكان جديد مع قادة مختلفين سوف تفعل بعض الأشياء بشكل أفضل بكثير مما نفعله هنا، مُصوّرة بنفس الرؤية الكتابية.

عش لأجل قضية عظمى، وليس لأجل راحة عظمى:

واحدة من الطرق التي أفكر بها في في زرع الشغف هي أننا نزرع شعبا يلتزم بأن يحيا من أجل قضية عظمى، وليس لأجل راحة عظمى. لقد وعظت سابقاً تحت شعار: أن تكون مسيحيا هو أن تتجّه نحو الحاجة وليس الراحة. أن استيقظ في الصباح واذهب إلى الفراش ليلا وأنا أحلم كيف أحقق تقدّماً في أمور راحتي، ولكن كيف أحقق تقدّماً نحو قضية عظمى مركزها الله. فزرع الشغف يعني زرع أشخاصٍ لا ينفقون أنفسهم ليلا ونهارا في السّعي وراء المحافظة على الذات، وتمجيد الذات، وترفيه الذات، ولكن يسعون وراء شيئا أكبر وأعظم من أنفسهم أو عائلاتهم أو كنيستهم.

ما هي القضية الأعظم التي تحيا لأجلها؟ هذا الأحد ويوم الأحد القادم سأسأل، هل يكون هناك بعضاً منكم - المئات منكم - يقولون، "هذه هي القضية العظمى لحياتي أن أمجد يسوع المسيح من خلال عدالة عرقية وتناغم عرقي محوره الله، ومشبع بالكتاب المقدس"؟ أو يقولون، "هذه هي القضية الكبرى في حياتي أن أمجد يسوع المسيح من خلال عدالة من لم يولد بعد محورها الله ومشبعة بالكتاب المقدس." كم أتمنى أن يقيم الله، ضد كل تمركز حول الذات وولاءات مؤقتة وتكريس غير منضبط، رجالا ونساءً يحملون قضية عظمى، ليست بطريقة عمل الأدرينالين (الكظرين أو الهرمون المنشط) ولكن بطريقة عمل القلب! فالأدرينالين ينتج نشاطاً مفاجئاً من الطاقة المحتاجين إليها، ثم يجعل الجسم يسقط. لكن القلب لا يكف عن ضخ الحياة في الجسم في الأوقات الحسنة والأوقات الصعبة، في الشتاء والصيف، والسعادة والحزن، والقوة والضعف، والمرض والصحة! كم أتمنى أن يكون هنا مسيحيّون مثل الشريان التاجي في قضية العدالة العرقية، وليس فقط مسيحيّون مثل الأدرينالين!

نحن بحاجة إلى وليام ويلبرفورس:

مَن منكم يكونون وليام ويلبرفورس في عصرنا هذا؟ لقد كان مسيحيا عميقا، وإنجيليا حيويا، شغوفاً على المدى الطويل في قضية العدالة العنصرية في انكلترا. في 28 أكتوبر 1787 كتب في مذكراته عن عمر يناهز ال 28، "لقد وضع الله القدير أمامي هدفين عظيمين، قمع تجارة الرقيق والاصلاح [الأخلاقي]" (جون بولوك، ويلبرفورس، ص. 69). هُزم في معركة بعد معركة في البرلمان لأنّ تجارة الرقيق الأفريقي كانت متداخلة بشكل أكثر من اللازم في المصالح المالية للدولة. لكنه لم يستسلم أبدا، ولم يجلس. لم يكن مسيحيا كالأدرينالين، ولكنه كان مسيحيا مثل الشريان التاجي. في 24 فبراير 1807 الساعة الرّابعة صباحا، وبعد عشرين عاما من كتابته في دفتر يوميّاته، ثم التصويت الحاسم على جعل تجارة الرقيق غير شرعيّة. كما أنّ العمل لا يزال غير مكتمل بعد عشرين عاماً من المثابرة. فماذا عن الاحتفاظ بالعبيد في حد ذاته؟ في 26 يوليو 1833، بعد 16 سنة، وقبل ثلاثة أيام من وفاته، تم التصويت بجعل الرق غير شرعيّ في بريطانيا ومستعمراتها.

لذلك عندما أفكر في زرع الشغف، أفكر في زرع كنيسة تربي هذا النوع من الشغف – شغفاً مثل الشريان التاجي، وليس شغفاً كالأدرينالين. التزاماً متمركزاً حول الله، ممجّداً للمسيح، مُشبَّعاً بالكتاب المقدس، وساعياً للعدالة، ولا يخشى الموت، لقضية عظيمة وليس من أجل الرّاحة.

لذلك إذا كنا نريد أن نضع الله في المركز ونمجد المسيح ونكون مُشبّعين بالكتاب المقدس، دعونا نذهب إلى الإنجيل ونستمع إلى المسيح وننظر للمسيح وهو يضع حدا للتعصب العرقي. فالنعرة العرقية – هي القناعة أو الشعور بأنّ تصنيفي العرقي ينبغي أن يُعامل بتعالي أو بتميز.

لوقا 4: 16-30: إن الملكوت مختلف عرقيا عما تعتقد:

نبدأ في لوقا 4: 16-30. هنا صبيا نشأ في البلدة يعود إلى مسقط رأسه، مدينة الناصرة، بعدما اشتهر في كفرناحوم. ذهب إلى المجمع في يوم السبت وجاء حشد ليستمع إليه. وما قدّمه في هذه الرسالة لا يصدّق تقريباً. فقد حرّض نوعاً ما على الشغب. وفعل ذلك عمدا. أولا أعطوه سفر إشعياء النبي لكي يقرأ منه، واختار الإصحاح 61. وهو عن المخلص الآتي الذي يطلق المأسورين أحرارا ويعلن سنة الرب المقبولة (الآيات 18ب-19)، ثم ادّعى أن ذلك تم في مسامعهم. الآية 21: "فَابْتَدَأَ يَقُولُ لَهُمْ:«إِنَّهُ الْيَوْمَ قَدْ تَمَّ هذَا الْمَكْتُوبُ فِي مَسَامِعِكُمْ»." كان ذاك مذهلا. عناوين الصحف: "صبي محلي يدّعي أنه المسيا". لكن هذا لم يتسبب في احداث شغب. الآية 22: "وَكَانَ الْجَمِيعُ يَشْهَدُونَ لَهُ وَيَتَعَجَّبُونَ مِنْ كَلِمَاتِ النِّعْمَةِ الْخَارِجَةِ مِنْ فَمِهِ." حتى الآن الأمر جيد.

لكن انظر ما قاله بعد ذلك. غير متوقع على الإطلاق! لا يمكن تفسيره إن كان ما تريده هو مجموعة أتباع. لا يمكن تفسيره إن كنت تريد فقط نمو الكنيسة. فقد اختار أن يروي قصتين من العهد القديم تحلقان تماما في وجه التعصب العرقي في بلدته. بالكاد يكون أكثر هجوماً. وهو يعلم ما ستكون اجابتهم لأنه يقول في الآية 24 "الْحَقَّ أَقُولُ لَكُمْ: إِنَّهُ لَيْسَ نَبِيٌّ مَقْبُولاً فِي وَطَنِهِ." وبعبارة أخرى، نعم أنتم تتحدثون حسنا عني الآن (الآية 22 )، بينما لديكم تصوركم الخاص عما سيفعل المسيا، وعما ستكون عليه مملكته. ولكن انتظروا حتى أقول لكم ما أنا على وشك القيام به وما ستكون عليه مملكتي.

ثم يروي القصة الأولى. الآيات 25-26، مأخوذة من 1 ملوك 17: "وَبِالْحَقِّ أَقُولُ لَكُمْ: إِنَّ أَرَامِلَ كَثِيرَةً كُنَّ فِي إِسْرَائِيلَ فِي أَيَّامِ إِيلِيَّا حِينَ أُغْلِقَتِ السَّمَاءُ مُدَّةَ ثَلاَثِ سِنِينَ وَسِتَّةِ أَشْهُرٍ، لَمَّا كَانَ جُوعٌ عَظِيمٌ فِي الأَرْضِ كُلِّهَا، 26وَلَمْ يُرْسَلْ إِيلِيَّا إِلَى وَاحِدَةٍ مِنْهَا، إِلاَّ إِلَى امْرَأَةٍ أَرْمَلَةٍ، إِلَى صَرْفَةِ صَيْدَاءَ." فمن لا شيء يروي قصة عن تخطي الله لكل اليهود العرقيين لتحقيق بركة معجزية لغريب وغير يهودي في أرض صيدا (فينيقيا). وفعل ذلك بشكل صارخ وبقوة وبدون تليين أو تفسير: كان هناك العديد من الأرامل في إسرائيل، وبارك الله أجنبية.

وإن لم يكن ذلك كافيا فهو يروي قصّة ثانية في الآية 27 من 2 ملوك 5: "وَبُرْصٌ كَثِيرُونَ كَانُوا فِي إِسْرَائِيلَ فِي زَمَانِ أَلِيشَعَ النَّبِيِّ، وَلَمْ يُطَهَّرْ وَاحِدٌ مِنْهُمْ إِلاَّ نُعْمَانُ السُّرْيَانِيُّ." مرة أخرى الفكرة هي: من بين جميع الناس الذين كان من الممكن أن يختار من بينهم الله ليشفيهم من مرض البرص اختار الله ملكاً أجنبيا، سريانيا، وليس يهوديا.

لم تُفقَد هاتين القصتين في التعصب العرقي بالناصرة. الآية 28 "فَامْتَلأَ غَضَبًا جَمِيعُ الَّذِينَ فِي الْمَجْمَعِ حِينَ سَمِعُوا هذَا، 29فَقَامُوا وَأَخْرَجُوهُ خَارِجَ الْمَدِينَةِ، وَجَاءُوا بِهِ إِلَى حَافَّةَ الْجَبَلِ الَّذِي كَانَتْ مَدِينَتُهُمْ مَبْنِيَّةً عَلَيْهِ حَتَّى يَطْرَحُوهُ إِلَى أَسْفَلٍ. 30أَمَّا هُوَ فَجَازَ فِي وَسْطِهِمْ وَمَضَى." فهموا الموضوع، ولم يعجبهم.

والآن ما هي الفكرة من وراء هذه القصة؟ الفكرة هي: الملكوت الذي آتي به، يقول المسيح، هو مختلف عرقيا عما تظنون. المكان الذي اخترتموه إسرائيل لم يسفر عن التواضع والرحمة، بل على الكبرياء والازدراء. المسيح هو نهاية التعصب العرقي. انظروا إلي. تعلموا مني، يقول المسيح: لقد جئت لفداء أشخاصٍ من كل مجموعة عرقية، وليس فقط واحدة أو عدد قليل. ويل لكم لعدم رؤيتكم، من خلال عدل ورحمة الله، غيرته ليجمع من جميع الشعوب مملكة كهنة وأحباء.

متى 8: 5-13: الإيمان بالمسيح يفوق العرقية:

هل ذهبتُ بعيدا جدا في نطق الويل لهؤلاء الناس في الناصرة؟ عليك أن تقرر حين تنظر إلى قصة أخرى، وهذه المرة من متى 8: 5-13. أنهى المسيح الموعظة على الجبل في متى 5-7 و بعد ذلك، في متى 8: 1-4، مَسَّ أبرصا، وهو الأكثر احتقارا ونبذا ​​لجميع السكان في إسرائيل، وشفاه. ثم في متى 8: 5 دخل كفرناحوم، واجتمع مع النوع الثاني الأكثر احتقارا وهجوما من البشر - وهو قائد المئة الروماني. مثل لقاء مشاة البحرية الأمريكية مع مناضلٍ من أجل الحرية في حركة طالبان. وحقيقة أن قائد المئة هذا لديه شهرة بين اليهود لم يعلنها متى (لوقا 7:3-5)، إذ لا صلة لها بهذه الفكرة. فالرّجل أجنبي، وهو غير يهودي. هذا هو تركيز متى.

ماذا ستكون فكرة هذه القصة؟ توسل قائد المئة من المسيح، وقال: "يَا سَيِّدُ، غُلاَمِي مَطْرُوحٌ فِي الْبَيْتِ مَفْلُوجًا مُتَعَذِّبًا جِدًّا." بدون أدنى تردد أو استعلام قال المسيح في الآية 7 "أَنَا آتِي وَأَشْفِيهِ." ثم قال قائد المئة شيئا تعجب منه المسيح. الآية 8: " يَا سَيِّدُ، لَسْتُ مُسْتَحِقًّا أَنْ تَدْخُلَ تَحْتَ سَقْفِي، لكِنْ قُلْ كَلِمَةً فَقَطْ فَيَبْرَأَ غُلاَمِي. لأَنِّي أَنَا أَيْضًا إِنْسَانٌ تَحْتَ سُلْطَانٍ. لِي جُنْدٌ تَحْتَ يَدِي. أَقُولُ لِهذَا: اذْهَبْ! فَيَذْهَبُ، وَلآخَرَ: ائتِ! فَيَأْتِي، وَلِعَبْدِيَ: افْعَلْ هذَا! فَيَفْعَلُ.”

عندما يسمع المسيح هذا، في الآية 10، يتعجب. ثم يأخذ هذا الوضع برمته الذي يعتقد الجميع أنه عن الشفاء والقوة والسلطان، ويحوّله إلى شيء مختلف تماما، أي موقفٍ عن تكوين الملكوت من أجانب وعن مخاطر الاتكال على الهوية العرقية للبركة. الآية 10ب: "اَلْحَقَّ أَقُولُ لَكُمْ: لَمْ أَجِدْ وَلاَ فِي إِسْرَائِيلَ إِيمَانًا بِمِقْدَارِ هذَا! وَأَقُولُ لَكُمْ: إِنَّ كَثِيرِينَ سَيَأْتُونَ مِنَ الْمَشَارِقِ وَالْمَغَارِب..." المشارق والمغارب! ما هذا؟ تلك هي فينيقيا (قطاع غزة)، ومصر، واليونان، والسعودية، وبلاد فارس (الأردن، إيران، العراق، أفغانستان، باكستان، الهند، الصين). وماذا سيحدث عندما يأتون – أؤلئك الأجانب الغير مختونين والغرباء عن الشريعة اليهودية وبمظاهر أجنبيّة؟ الآية 11ب: "[هم سوف] يَتَّكِئُونَ مَعَ إِبْرَاهِيمَ وَإِسْحَاقَ وَيَعْقُوبَ فِي مَلَكُوتِ السَّمَاوَاتِ، وَأَمَّا بَنُو الْمَلَكُوتِ فَيُطْرَحُونَ إِلَى الظُّلْمَةِ الْخَارِجِيَّةِ. هُنَاكَ يَكُونُ الْبُكَاءُ وَصَرِيرُ الأَسْنَانِ.”

إنّ هذا حقاً أمرٌ مثير للصدمة! عليك أن تشعر بقوة هذا. هنا يقول المسيح لشعب الله المختار من إسرائيل أنّ الرومان أولاً، مثل قائد المئة المؤمن هذا، وبعد ذلك كل أنواع الأجناس الأممية النجسة، سوف تدخل ملكوت السماوات، ولكن أنتم، "أبناء الملكوت، "فسوف تُطرحون إلى الظلمة الخارجية. هذا أمرٌ لم يُسمَع أن تتحدث به عن الجنس المختار بهذه الطريقة. ماذا يقول؟ يقول: المسيح هو نهاية التعصب العرقي.

أو لنشرحها على نحو أجابيّ أكثر: يقول المسيح أنه مع مجيئه صارت طريقة جديدة متطرّفة لتعريف شعب الله، وهي الإيمان به. الإيمان بالمسيح يفوق التميّز العرقي. وهذا يحدث مرارا وتكرارا في الأناجيل:

  1. قصة السامري الصالح - الأجنبي هو بطل الرحمة (لوقا 10: 33).

  2. شفاء العشرة البرص، عاد واحد فقط، ومن هو؟ السامري، يضيء الأجنبي بامتنان متواضع (لوقا 17: 16).

  3. شفاء ابنة المرأة الفينيقية السورية في (مرقس 7: 26).

  4. سجود حكماء المشرق، ربما من بلاد فارس أو العربية (متى 2: 1).

  5. وأخيرا موت وقيامة المسيح الذي فسره هو نفسه مقدما في مَثل المستأجرين (متى 21: 33-43). حيث أرسل صاحب الكرم ابنه لجمع الأثمار من شعبه. فقتلوه. وسأل المسيح: "مَاذَا يَفْعَلُ بِأُولَئِكَ الْكَرَّامِينَ؟" ماذا يفعل الله عندما رُفض ابنه من قبل شعبه المختار؟ الآية 43 تعطي الجواب: "إِنَّ مَلَكُوتَ اللهِ يُنْزَعُ مِنْكُمْ وَيُعْطَى لأُمَّةٍ تَعْمَلُ أَثْمَارَهُ.”

ليس اللون، ولكن الإيمان في المسيح:

كان هذا ما يشير إليه مارتن لوثر كينغ في خطابه الشهيرة عندما قال: "لدي حلم أن يحيا أطفالي الأربعة في يوم من الأيام في أمة لا تحكم بحسب لون بشرتهم ولكن بحسب أخلاقهم وشخصيّاتهم.”

يسوع هو نهاية التعصب العرقي. ليس اللون بل الإيمان بالمسيح، هو علامة الملكوت. نويل وأنا كنا نستغرق في الذكريات على الهاتف يوم أمس، عندما كنا نتحدث مع بنيامين، ابننا في شيكاغو. تذكرنا أوربانا 1967. عندما سُئل وارين ويبستر أمام 15،000 طالب، ماذا لو ابنتك قررت أن تتزوج من باكستانيا، بينما أنت تخدم هناك؟ جوابه لا يزال يرن في آذاننا إلى اليوم، كما آمل أن تكون هذه الرسالة في آذانكم: أفضل باكستاني فقير مسيحي عن أبيض، غني، غير مؤمن، صاحب بنك، أمريكي. وبعبارة أخرى، المسيح، وليس اللون هو المهم. المسيح هو نهاية التعصب العرقي.

إذا أردنا أن نزرع كنيسة متمركزة حول الله، وممجدة للمسيح، ومشبعة بالكتاب المقدس، وساعية للعدالة، فيجب أن تنتهي هنا أيضا. ويا له من شيء جميل عندما تنتهي وحال كلّ قبيلة وجنس وشعب يمجد المسيح. يا رب، حقق ذلك!

Full author john piper

John Piper (@JohnPiper) is founder and teacher of desiringGod.org and chancellor of Bethlehem College & Seminary. For 33 years, he served as pastor of Bethlehem Baptist Church, Minneapolis, Minnesota. He is author of more than 50 books.

© 2015 Desiring God Foundation. Distribution Guidelines

Used by Permission.

Share the Joy! You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2015 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Jesus Is the End of Ethnocentrism

Racial Harmony Sunday

And He came to Nazareth, where He had been brought up; and as was His custom, He entered the synagogue on the Sabbath, and stood up to read. 17 And the book of the prophet Isaiah was handed to Him. And He opened the book and found the place where it was written, 18 "THE SPIRIT OF THE LORD IS UPON ME, BECAUSE HE ANOINTED ME TO PREACH THE GOSPEL TO THE POOR. HE HAS SENT ME TO PROCLAIM RELEASE TO THE CAPTIVES, AND RECOVERY OF SIGHT TO THE BLIND, TO SET FREE THOSE WHO ARE OPPRESSED, 19 TO PROCLAIM THE FAVORABLE YEAR OF THE LORD." 20 And He closed the book, gave it back to the attendant and sat down; and the eyes of all in the synagogue were fixed on Him. 21 And He began to say to them, "Today this Scripture has been fulfilled in your hearing." 22 And all were speaking well of Him, and wondering at the gracious words which were falling from His lips; and they were saying, "Is this not Joseph's son?" 23 And He said to them, "No doubt you will quote this proverb to Me, 'Physician, heal yourself! Whatever we heard was done at Capernaum, do here in your hometown as well.'" 24 And He said, "Truly I say to you, no prophet is welcome in his hometown. 25 "But I say to you in truth, there were many widows in Israel in the days of Elijah, when the sky was shut up for three years and six months, when a great famine came over all the land; 26 and yet Elijah was sent to none of them, but only to Zarephath, in the land of Sidon, to a woman who was a widow. 27 "And there were many lepers in Israel in the time of Elisha the prophet; and none of them was cleansed, but only Naaman the Syrian." 28 And all the people in the synagogue were filled with rage as they heard these things; 29 and they got up and drove Him out of the city, and led Him to the brow of the hill on which their city had been built, in order to throw Him down the cliff. 30 But passing through their midst, He went His way.

Last Sunday I tried to blow a trumpet for a vision that I called Planting a Passion. Can we come together as a whole congregation and link alarms around a dream and plant a church in 2002 somewhere else in the Twin Cities – or even beyond (like Charlotte, NC to coincide with the move of BGEA there)? I called it Planting a Passion so that it would be plain that this is a specific focusing of our church mission statement: We exist to spread a passion for the supremacy of God in all things for the joy of all peoples through Jesus Christ. But I made clear that the aim is not to plant just any kind of church. I put some specific descriptions on it: God-centered, Christ-exalting, Bible-saturated, mission-mobilizing, soul-winning, justice-pursuing, etc.

The Pursuit of Justice

When I used the term "justice-pursuing," I had in mind at least two issues: the focus of this Sunday on racial harmony and the focus of next Sunday on the sanctity of life. Two of the great issues of our own country here at the beginning of the 21st century are the issues of racial justice and justice for the unborn. I believe there is a connection between being a justice-pursuing church and being a God-centered, Christ-exalting, Bible-saturated church.

We Need to Be More God-Centered, Christ-exalting, Bible-Saturated

One of the reasons the evangelical church – especially the white evangelical church (even that designation is unfortunate, as is "black church") – one of the reasons we have not pursued racial justice and justice for the unborn with as much passion as we might is that we have not been as God-centered and Christ-exalting and Bible-saturated as we think we are.

When we say, "We exist to spread a passion for the supremacy of God in all things for the joy of all peoples," have we really thought deeply about how God is being made supreme in racial relations? Have we thought about how Christ is being exalted in racial relations? Have we asked how the Bible is saturating our thinking and feeling and acting about ethnic relationships and issues of race in education, and housing, and economics, and the composition of the body of Christ? Do the supremacy of God and the glory of Christ and the radical message of the Bible shape our thinking and feeling and acting in "all things for the joy of all peoples"?

The Paralysis of Imperfection

So when we think about church planting, it isn't because we've arrived and are therefore ready to reproduce ourselves. If we wait till we've arrived to dare such a thing, we will never do it – and you won't every marry, or stay married, or take your first job or keep it, or go into missions or stay there, or decide to have children or start a ministry. Few things paralyze good people more than their imperfection. O that God would raise up a people who would listen and learn and let go of the paralyzing criticism of nay-sayers. We don't aim to plant a church because we have perfection, but because we have a dream: that a new church in a new place with different leaders will do some things a lot better than we do them here, drawn by the same Biblical vision.

Live for a Great Cause, not a Great Comfort

One of the ways I think about Planting a Passion is that we are planting a people who are committed to live for a great cause, not a great comfort. I have preached before under the banner: To be a Christian is to move toward need not comfort. To get up in the morning and go to bed at night dreaming not about how to advance my comforts, but how to advance some great God-centered cause. Planting a Passion means planting a people who don't spend themselves day and night pursing self-preservation and self-exaltation and self-recreation, but who pursue something bigger and greater than themselves or their family or their church.

What is the greater Cause you are living for? This Sunday and next Sunday I am asking, Will there be some of you – hundreds of you – who say, "It is the grand cause of my life to magnify Jesus Christ through God-centered, Bible-saturated racial justice and racial harmony"? Or who say, "It is the grand cause of my life to magnify Jesus Christ through God-centered, Bible-saturated justice for the unborn." O that God would raise up, against all the self-centeredness and temporary loyalties and undisciplined devotion, men and women who sustain a great cause, not the way adrenaline does but the way the heart does! Adrenaline produces a spurt of needed energy then lets the body drop. The heart keeps on pumping life into the body in good times and hard times, winter and summer, sad and happy, strong and weak, sick and well! O for more coronary Christians in the cause of racial justice, not just adrenal Christians!

We Need William Wilberforces

Who among you are the William Wilberforce's for our time? He was deeply Christian, vibrantly evangelical, and passionate over the long haul in the cause of racial justice in England. On October 28, 1787 he wrote in his diary at the age of 28, "God Almighty has set before me two great objects, the suppression of the Slave Trade and the Reformation of [Morals]" (John Pollock, Wilberforce, p. 69). Battle after battle in Parliament he was defeated because the African slave trade was too much woven into the financial interests of the nation. But he never gave up and never sat down. He was not an adrenaline Christian, but a coronary Christian. On February 24, 1807 at 4:00 am, twenty years after he wrote in his journal, the decisive vote was cast and the Slave Trade became illegal. Still the work was not done after 20 years of perseverance. What about slave-holding itself? On July 26, 1833, 16 years later, and three days before he died, the vote was cast and Slavery became illegal in England and her colonies.

So when I think of Planting a Passion, I think of planting a church to breed this kind of passion – coronary-like passion, not adrenal-like passion. God-centered, Christ-exalting, Bible-saturated, justice-pursuing, never-say-die commitment to a great Cause not to comfort.

So if we want to put God at the center and exalt Christ and be Bible-saturated, let's go to the gospels and listen to Jesus and watch Jesus put an end to ethnocentrism. Ethnocentrism – the conviction or the feeling that my ethnic group should be treated as superior or privileged.

Luke 4:16-30: The Kingdom Is Ethnically Different Than You Think

We begin in Luke 4:16-30. Here is the homegrown boy coming back to his hometown, Nazareth, after making a name for himself in Capernaum. He goes to the synagogue on the Sabbath and a crowd comes to hear him. And what he does in this message is almost incredible. He almost incites a riot. And he does it intentionally. First they give him the scroll of Isaiah the prophet to read from, and he chooses chapter 61. It's about the coming redeemer who will set free the oppressed and proclaim the favorable year of the Lord (vv. 18b-19); and he claims that it was being fulfilled in their hearing. Verse 21: "And He began to say to them, 'Today this Scripture has been fulfilled in your hearing.'" Now that was astonishing. Headlines: "Homegrown boy claims to be the Messiah." But this would not cause a riot. Verse 22: "And all were speaking well of Him, and wondering at the gracious words which were falling from His lips." So far so good.

But look what he says next. Utterly unexpected! Inexplicable if what you want is a following. Inexplicable if you only want church growth. He chooses to tell two stories from the Old Testament that fly right in the face of the ethnocentrism of his own hometown. He could hardly have been more offensive. He knows what their response is going to be because he says in verse 24, ""Truly I say to you, no prophet is welcome in his hometown." In other words, Yes, you are speaking well of me now (v. 22) while you have your own conception of what the Messiah will do, and what his kingdom will be like. But wait till I tell you what I am about to do and what my kingdom will be like.

Then he tells story number one. Verses 25-26, taken from 1 Kings 17: "But I say to you in truth, there were many widows in Israel in the days of Elijah, when the sky was shut up for three years and six months, when a great famine came over all the land; (26) and yet Elijah was sent to none of them, but only to Zarephath, in the land of Sidon (Phoenicia), to a woman who was a widow." Out of the blue he tells a story about God's passing over all the ethnic Jews to bring a miraculous blessing to a foreign, Gentile from the land of Sidon (Phoenicia). And he does this blatantly and forcefully and without softening or explanation: There were many widows in Israel, and God blessed a foreigner.

And if that were not enough he tells a second story in verse 27 from 2 Kings 5: "And there were many lepers in Israel in the time of Elisha the prophet; and none of them was cleansed, but only Naaman the Syrian." Again the point is: of all the people that God might have chosen to heal of leprosy he chose a foreign king, a Syrian, not a Jew.

These two stories were not lost on the ethnocentrism of Nazareth. Verse 28: "And all the people in the synagogue were filled with rage as they heard these things; (29) and they got up and drove Him out of the city, and led Him to the brow of the hill on which their city had been built, in order to throw Him down the cliff. (30) But passing through their midst, He went His way." They get it, and they didn't like it.

Now what is the point of this story? The point is: The kingdom I am bringing, Jesus says, is ethnically different than what you think. Your chosen place as Israel has not produced humility and compassion, but pride and scorn. Jesus is the end of ethnocentrism. Look to me. Learn from me, he says, I have come to redeem a people from every ethnic group, not just one or a few. Woe to you for your failure to see in the justice and mercy of God his zeal to gather from all the peoples a kingdom of priests and friends.

Matthew 8:5-13: Faith in Jesus Trumps Ethnicity

Have I gone too far in pronouncing a woe on these people of Nazareth? You decide as you consider another story, this time from Matthew 8:5-13. Jesus finishes the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 5-7 and then, in Matthew 8:1-4, touches a leper, the most despised and ostracized of all people in Israel, and heals him. Then in Matthew 8:5 he enters Capernaum and meets the second most despised and offensive kind of person – a Roman centurion. Like an American Marine to a Taliban freedom fighter. The fact that this particular Centurion has some popularity among the Jews (Luke 7:3-5) is passed over by Matthew. It is not relevant for his point. The man is a foreigner, a non-Jew. That is what Matthew's point turns on.

What will be the point of this story? The Centurion begs Jesus, saying, "Lord, my servant is lying paralyzed at home, fearfully tormented." Without the slightest query or hesitation Jesus says in verse 7, "I will come and heal him." Then the Centurion says something Jesus finds astonishing. Verse 8: "Lord, I am not worthy for You to come under my roof, but just say the word, and my servant will be healed. (9) For I also am a man under authority, with soldiers under me; and I say to this one, 'Go!' and he goes, and to another, 'Come!' and he comes, and to my slave, 'Do this!' and he does it."

When Jesus hears this, verse 10 says, he marvels. Then he takes this whole situation which everyone thought was about healing and power and authority, and he turns it into something utterly different, namely, a situation about the composition of the kingdom out of foreigners and about the dangers of banking on ethnic identity for blessing. Verse 10b: "Truly I say to you, I have not found such great faith with anyone in Israel. (11) I say to you that many will come from east and west . . ." East and west! What is that? That is Phoenicia (the Gaza Strip), Egypt, Greece, Arabia, Persia (Jordan, Iran, Iraq, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, China). And what will happen when they come – these foreigners with their uncircumcised, non-kosher foreign ways and foreign looks? Verse 11b: ". . . and [they will] recline at the table with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven; (12) but the sons of the kingdom will be cast out into the outer darkness; in that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth."

Now this is utterly shocking! You have to feel the force of this. Here is Jesus saying to the chosen people of Israel that first Romans, like this believing Centurion, and then all kinds of unclean ethnic Gentiles, will enter the kingdom of heaven, but you, the "sons of the kingdom," will be cast into outer darkness. This is almost unheard of to speak of the chosen race this way. What is he saying? He is saying: Jesus is the end of ethnocentrism.

Or to put it more positively: Jesus is saying that with his coming a radically new way of defining the people of God is here, namely, faith in him. Faith in Jesus trumps ethnicity. Over and over in the gospels this happens:

  1. The story of the Good Samaritan – the foreigner is the hero of compassion (Luke 10:33).
  2. The healing of the ten lepers, and only one returns; and what is he? A Samaritan, the foreigner shines with humble gratitude (Luke 17:16).
  3. The healing of the Syrophoenician's daughter (Mark 7:26).
  4. The worshipping of the wise men from the East, probably Persia or Arabia (Matthew 2:1).
  5. And finally the death and resurrection of Jesus which he himself interprets in advance in the parable of the tenants (Matthew 21:33-43). The owner of the vineyard sends his son to gather fruit from his people. They kill him. And Jesus asks, "What will the owner do?" What will God do when his Son is rejected by his chosen people? Verse 43 gives the answer: "Therefore I say to you, the kingdom of God will be taken away from you and given to a people, producing the fruit of it."

Not Color, but Faith in Christ

This was what Martin Luther King was pointing to in his most famous speech when he said, "I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character."

Jesus is the end of ethnocentrism. Not color but faith in Christ, that is the mark of the kingdom. Noel and I were reminiscing on the phone yesterday as we talked to our son Benjamin in Chicago. We recalled Urbana 1967. Warren Webster was asked in front of 15,000 students, What if your daughter decided to marry a Pakistani while you are ministering there? His answer still rings in our ears today, as I hope this message will in yours: Better a poor Christian Pakistani than a rich, white, unbelieving American banker. In other words, Christ, not color is the issue. Jesus is the end of ethnocentrism.

If we are going to plant a church that is God-centered, Christ-exalting, Bible saturated, and justice-pursuing it will have to end here too. And what a beautiful thing it is when it ends and every tribe and race and people exalts Christ together. O Lord, make it happen!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org