约伯:在苦难中被斥责

伯32-37

从第4章到第31章,约伯和他的三个朋友以利法、比勒达和琐法谈论苦难的意义。到最后,这三个朋友的观点都不能让他信服。

约伯朋友们让人难以信服的理论

约伯的朋友们认为苦难最终是对罪的责罚,而兴旺则是对正直的奖赏(4:7-8)。以利法承认,有些苦难是严惩,且是于我们有益的(5:17)。但对他而言,这类苦难只是例外,而不是常规,并且像约伯那样旷日持久的苦难应该不能这样来解释。所以他就以给约伯定罪而告终。“你的罪恶岂不是大吗?”(2:5)约伯非同寻常的苦难的唯一解释就是上帝对他所犯下的重罪的惩罚。

约伯不同意他三个朋友的意见,一直为自己辩屈,说人间恶人发旺,义人受苦(21:29-30)的例子比比皆是。尤其是他,既和上帝无冤无仇,又非罪大恶极,灾祸却单单临到他的头上。

所以,以利法、比勒达和琐法的理论也因着约伯确实是诚实无伪而显得站不住脚。以致到最后他们的言论变得来回重复,恶意攻击,并且越来越短。末了,就只剩下约伯一个人还在说话。

辩论的取胜并没有解决实质性的问题

约伯辩论虽赢了他的三位朋友,但还是没能回答他自己的问题。他证明了人的苦难不能简单地用善有善报,恶有恶报的补偿性公平原则来解释。但他也没有找到其他什么更好的答案。

读到第31章结尾,我们都感到上帝让人捉摸不定。世事变化无常。上帝掌管人的一切。而且他所行的智慧甚是高深(8:12-28)以致于约伯对这一点从未置疑过。但义人何以受苦――他实在是百思不得其解。

既使我们的理解停留在这个层面,我们也都可以安渡余生。很多基督徒都这样努力尝试着。我们可以简单地这样说:“是啊,我相信上帝掌管万有,他控制一切事态的变更。我也相信他是公义的、智慧的。并且我相信,事情虽然在今生显得反复无常,变化多端,但在将来的世代一切谬误必会归正。上帝在耶稣基督里,既向我显明了他的爱,我也知道他是获得生命意义和得着来世拯救的唯一希望。所以,即使我不能理解上帝奇特的作为,但也让我在苦难面前缄默无语,倚靠上帝吧。”

这样子活也不错。但《约伯记》的作者却不满足于此。而且他要让读者知道上帝并没有隐藏他的作为。上帝让我们受苦的目的远远过于我们所思所想。

以利户的介入

于是乎在32章一个叫以利户的年轻人出场了。他的发言一直贯穿到37章。这里我们看到,约伯和他三个朋友都没有发现义人受苦实在不是上帝恨的记号,而是他爱的标记。苦难不是对他们罪的惩罚,而是对他们义的磨砺。不是预备他们灭亡,而是保守他们,不被灭亡。

那三个朋友都错了――苦难不是证明人有恶。约伯也错了――他的苦难既不是证明上帝的无常,也不是表明上帝以他为敌。以利户带给这场争论一个新的着眼点。

让我们重视以利户忠告的五点原因

让我们来审视以利户的神学,来明白为什么我们要接受他这一观点。很多解读《约伯记》的人都认为以利户比起以利法、比勒达和琐法也好不到哪里。譬如,我在一本解经书中收集到对以利户的评价长达40页,分别是:以利户严酷、冷漠、超然、粗鲁、陈腐、过于完美主义、虚荣等等(安德生,丁道尔旧约圣经注释)。

我承认在以利户的讲话里有好些地方很难懂。并且当你真的读他的讲话时,会发现其实好些话那三个朋友也都有讲过(这说明他们的讲话也并不全错)。但他实在是对约伯很严厉,有时甚至是苛刻。

但至少有五点理由,让我用以利户的话来表达受默示写下这卷书的作者的观点。换句话说,我认为以利户迈出了解决约伯问题的第一步,然后上帝在38到41章说话,并在最后做了总结。我这样思考,有五点原因。

第一,他的讲话表示出要推陈出新

在32章出现以利户的话,既不是承接也不是重复那三个朋友说的,而是开始讲新的东西。1至3节说:

于是这三个人,因约伯自以为义,就不再回答他。那时有布西人兰族巴拉迦的儿子以利户向约伯发怒,因约伯自以为义,不以上帝为义。他又向约伯的三个朋友发怒,因为他们想不出回答的话来,仍以约伯为有罪。

换句话说,以利户并不同意辩论双方的意见。所以他在第14节对那三个朋友说,“约伯没有向我争辩,我也不用你们的话回答他。”所以,以利户并无意要像那三个朋友那样看待这件事。作者希望带我们走出那个旧有的辩论,去听听新的东西。

第二,他的讲话篇幅长达六章

第二点让我觉得以利户并不是在继续那三个朋友的蹩脚神学,是在于作者用了六章篇幅来记录他的讲话(32-37)。

那三个朋友的话越来越少,最后干脆无话可说,显示出他们的神学实在不堪一击。比勒达最后一次发言就只说了六句话(25章),而琐法最后根本就连总结陈词都没有。

因此,如果作者给了以利户六个章节说话,如果单单只是重复那三个朋友站不住脚的神学观点而没有任何新意,那么就太奇怪了。用这么大篇幅来描述他的讲话一定是表示这儿所说的东西很重要。

第三,约伯对以利户的回应

约伯竟然没有跟以利户争辩。

约伯曾成功地让以利法、比勒达和琐法哑口无言,但即使以利户在33章32节挑战他说:“你若有话说,就可以回答我。”约伯却禁自不发一言。他保持沉默最简单的解释就是约伯认同他的观点。事实上,在42章6节,约伯的确对他所说过的某些话表示懊悔,因而表明以利户的训斥并不离谱。

第四,神对以利户的回应

在42章7节上帝回顾约伯受苦,训斥他的三个朋友。

耶和华对约伯说话以后,就对提幔人以利法说:“我的怒气向你和你两个朋友发作,因为你们议论我不如我的仆人约伯说的是。”

但上帝何以没有训斥以利户呢?或许是因为以利户的言论不与那三个朋友同列。以利户的话是正确的,并且为上帝最后决定性的话语做了预备。(他也自称是被神的灵带领――见32:8)

第五,他的确提出一些新的、有益的见解

最后,以利户确实提出了约伯连同他的三个朋友都没能看见的有关义人受苦的新见解,这些见解有助于我们理解约伯和其他义人所经受的无妄之灾。让我们今天早晨试着一起明白这个年轻人所要说的是什么吧!

以利户斥责约伯

以利户认为约伯所说的有些话并不对――是的,从讲话的态度上他看到了约伯的骄傲和自负(参见33:17,35:12,36:9)。在33章8-12节,他指出约伯的错处:

你所说的我听见了,也听见你的言语,说:‘我是清洁无过的,我是无辜的,在我里面也没有罪孽。上帝找机会攻击我,以我为仇敌,把我的脚上了木狗,窥察我一切的道路。’我要回答你说:你这话无理,因上帝比世人更大。

约伯错就错在为了表明自己的无辜,甚至于无视上帝的恩典。我们知道以利户这样说是对的,因为在42章6节那里,约伯事实上自己也忏悔说:“因此我厌恶自己,在尘土和炉灰中懊悔。”他的苦难逼得他谈到自己过于乐观,而论到上帝又不够恭敬。虽然约伯算是一个义人,但他并不是一个无罪的完全人。当他的生命被苦难搅动时,原本纯净的生命不免泛起了骄傲的沉渣。

以利户对苦难的解释

至少,以利户所理解的为什么义人受苦,在一定程度上与那义人生命中的骄傲残余有关。我们首先在33章14到19节初步读到他这一见解。他描述了上帝对人说话的两种方式:使用话语和使用苦难。在还没有圣经的年代,上帝通过梦和异象对人说话。他说,

上帝说一次、两次,世人却不理会。人躺在床上沉睡的时候,上帝就用梦和夜间的异象,开通他们的耳朵,将当受的教训印在他们心上,好叫人不从自己的谋算,不行骄傲的事;拦阻人不陷于坑里,不死在刀下。人在床上被惩治,骨头中不住地疼痛。

并非惩罚,乃是拯救

所以,以利户将疾病的痛苦和夜间的异象并列,作为上帝为人的益处对人说话的两种方式。17节讲到上帝的目的是:“好叫人不从自己的谋算,不行骄傲的事;拦阻人不陷于坑里。”

换言之,在这些异梦里、在疾病中,上帝的意图不在于惩罚,而在于拯救――从恶的谋算中、从人的骄傲中,最终从死亡里施行拯救。以利户并没有把上帝形容成为一个气急败坏的法官,而是一位救赎者、一位救主、一名抢救者、一名医生。他所造成的疼痛好比医生的手术刀,而不是行刑者的罚鞭所带给人的。

“称义的罪人”

以利户在另一地方,即36章6到15节里解释他对苦难的看法。颇有启示的是在这些章节里,以利户阐明了一个观点,一个义人可能也犯罪,而这个罪需要被暴露和根除。一个被称为义人的人并不意味着他是个无罪的完全人。的确有“称义的罪人”。

这一理解是很有帮助的,因为上帝在1章1节里称约伯为一个义人,并且约伯在辩论中得胜也是因着他素有义人的名誉。然而在本卷书结尾时,约伯翻然悔悟,以己为耻。所以,虽然约伯还有罪,但他真是一个义人(有神为他做见证)。

以利户针对义人和罪人这两种人,区分了苦难对他们所起的不同作用。让我们从第6节开始读:

他不保护恶人的性命,却为困苦人伸冤。他时常看顾义人,使他们和君王同坐宝座,永远要被高举。

如果他仅止于此,那么他就和以利法的观点无异:即恶人受苦,义人兴旺。从长远角度来看,这个观点有它对的方面。但折磨约伯的那个问题是为什么义人要暂时受苦。所以,以利户从第8节开始接着说:

他们若被锁链捆住,被苦难的绳索缠住,他就把他们的作为和过犯指示他们,叫他们知道有骄傲的行动。他也开通他们的耳朵得受教训,吩咐他们离开罪孽转回。

换言之,所谓义人与无罪的完全人还相差甚远。在他们里面还残留了些旧我,时不时这骄傲的旧我就抬头,甚至于演变为罪行――当约伯抱怨上帝以他为敌时,他就是在犯罪了。这也是约伯在本卷书结尾时所忏悔的。

苦难炼净义人

以利户的教导也就是困苦让义人对他内里还遗留的罪性敏感,帮助他憎恶罪、弃绝罪。苦难开了义人的耳朵(见10节)。诗人在诗篇119篇71节也如此说:“我受苦是与我有益,为要使我学习你的律例。”神性的某些方面义人真的只能通过经受困苦才能参悟。

所以,以利户带给我们一个新的看见就是义人受苦不是在毁灭的烈焰中被焚烧,而是在烈焰中炼我愈精,将美善的精金提炼得更为纯净。对于义人而言,苦难不是惩罚,而是医治。

苦难对不敬虔的人和义人的不同意义

13到15节讲述的是苦难针对不敬虔的人和义人的目的是不一样的。

那心中不敬虔的人积蓄怒气;上帝捆绑他们,他们竟不求救,必在青年时死亡,与污秽人一样丧命。上帝借着困苦救拔困苦人,趁他们受欺压,开通他们的耳朵。

13到14节讲到一些人,对于他们,苦难就等同于毁灭,因为他们“心中不敬虔”。但之后(见15节)他描述另一些人,在苦难中他们的耳朵被开通,并经历上帝从苦难中救拔他们。他们是像约伯一样的正直人,敬畏上帝,远离恶事,无可指责。他们也受苦,但上帝对他们的意图则完全不同。

以利户带给我们一些什么新的认识

那么以利户是否把我们从约伯和他三个朋友谈话的僵局中带出来,提高了我们对这一问题的认识呢?

他的两个不满

让我们回到32章2至3节以利户最开始的发言。他有两个不满。

  1. 他向约伯发怒,因约伯自以为义,不以上帝为义。
  2. 他又向约伯的三个朋友发怒,因为他们想不出回答的话来,仍以约伯为有罪。

以利户也成功地论证了为什么在这两点上他有理由发怒。

第一,他说明为什么约伯的三个朋友错了

他证明约伯的三个朋友都错了。他们说唯一能解释约伯受苦的是上帝在惩罚他的罪。以利户认为不应当这样解释约伯的受苦。

义人会受苦。然而,他们所受的苦不是对罪的惩罚,而是熬炼他们义的纯正。苦难唤醒他们迟钝的感官,使他们更多地认识、经历上帝的真实,更深地体悟到自己的不完全和需要。苦难巩固了他们的信心和敬虔。因此,约伯的三个朋友错了。

第二,他说明为什么约伯错了

约伯也错了。他也没有找到比他朋友们更好的解释。他对上帝公义的认识在实质上和他的朋友们正相仿。就是因为约伯坚持认为自己是正直纯全的,所以就不能理解为什么公义的上帝会让自己活得苦不堪言。以致他变得恼怒,竟认为上帝以他为敌。

我的罪孽和罪过有多少呢?求你叫我知道我的过犯与罪愆。为何掩面,拿我当仇敌呢?(13:23-24)

以利户说约伯错就错在为证明自己无辜,竟然如此的曲解上帝(33:8-12)。上帝并没有拿约伯当仇敌,约伯也并没有像他自己所宣称的那样纯全。上帝正是约伯的慈父,上帝允许他月复一月地受疾病的缠累,不是出于恨他,而是出于爱他。

苦难显露了约伯一直以来隐而未现的骄傲的罪。现在上帝开了约伯的眼,让他看到自己残留的不完全。现在他可以悔改,被洁净,以前所未有的方式,重新倚靠上帝。他的受苦不仅是彰显上帝胜过撒旦的荣耀(我们已在第1、2章中学习到)的机会,也加深了约伯对上帝的认识、信靠和虔诚。

最宝贵的功课

所以,《约伯记》给我们最为宝贵的功课就是上帝的儿女,就是那些信上帝、被圣灵引导并且他们的罪蒙耶稣宝血遮盖的人,可能真的会在世上受苦。若真是这样,那苦不是对他们罪的惩罚。基督已全然担当我们罪的刑罚,断没有再次受罚的危险。

上帝儿女在世上受苦不是那补偿性公义原则的硬性操作,而是上帝恩典主权的自由发挥。我们在天上的父在创世之初就拣选了我们,他又借着圣灵的工作使我们重生,并赐给我们得救的信心使我们称义,如今他又用那无限的智慧借着苦难让我们成圣,这一切都是在上帝的恩典中成就的,是我们白白得到的。

苦难不是毫无道理可言地临到属上帝的子民的。每一个苦难都是为我们个人量身定做的,是我们那位最伟大的医生亲手为我们做的专家治疗。苦难的目的是使我们成为圣洁,使我们的信心得以炼净,灵魂得蒙救赎,使上帝的名得着荣耀。

因此,你们是大有喜乐。但如今在百般的试炼中暂时忧愁。叫你们的信心既被试验,就比那被火试验仍然能坏的金子更显宝贵,可以在耶稣基督显现的时候,得着称赞、荣耀、尊贵。(彼前1:6-7)
生身的父都是暂随己意管教我们,惟有万灵的父管教我们,是要我们得益处,使我们在他的圣洁上有分。凡管教的事,当时不觉得快乐,反觉得愁苦,后来却为那经练过的人结出平安的果子,就是义。(来12:10-11)
弟兄们,我们不要你们不晓得,我们从前在亚西亚遭遇苦难,被压太重,力不能胜,甚至连活命的指望都绝了。自己心里也断定是必死的,叫我们不靠自己,只靠叫死人复活的上帝。(林后1:8-9)
我的弟兄们,你们落在百般试炼中,都要以为大喜乐;因为知道你们的信心经过试验,就生忍耐。但忍耐也当成功,使你们成全完备,毫无缺欠。(雅1:2-4)

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Job: Rebuked in Suffering

From chapter 4 to 31 Job conversed with his three friends, Eliphaz, Bildad, and Zophar, about the meaning of suffering. The upshot of it all was that the theory of his friends was unsatisfactory.

The Unsatisfactory Theory of Job's Friends 

They had argued that suffering is basically punishment for sin and prosperity is reward for righteousness (4:7–8). Eliphaz had admitted (in 5:17) that some suffering was chastisement and could be good for us, but it becomes clear that for him this is the exception, not the rule, and that protracted suffering like Job's could not be explained this way. So he winds up saying to Job, "Is not your wickedness great!" (22:5). Job's extraordinary suffering can only be explained as the punishment of God for grievous sin.

Job had defended himself all along by saying, contrary to his three friends' opinion, that there is good evidence from all over the world that the wicked often prosper and the righteous often suffer (21:29–30). And in his case in particular he was not an enemy of God and had not committed any grievous sin that would set him up for such suffering above others.

So Eliphaz, Bildad, and Zophar were not able to sustain their theory in the face of Job's realism and integrity. Their speeches became repetitive, hostile, and shorter as the conversation comes to a close. Finally, only Job was left speaking.

The Argument Won, the Question Unanswered 

He has won the argument. But he has not answered his question. He has shown that suffering cannot be explained by the simple principle of retributive justice, where each person gets what he deserves: suffering for the evil and prosperity for the good. But he has found no other answer.

We are left at the end of chapter 31 with the apparent capriciousness of God. All seems to be arbitrary. God rules the affairs of men. And no doubt he does so wisely (28:12–28). That Job never doubts. But why the righteous suffer—so far he has no answer.

It would be possible to live the rest of our lives at this level of understanding. Many Christians try. We could simply say, "Yes, I believe God rules over the world and controls what happens. I also believe that he is just and wise. And I believe that, though things look capricious and arbitrary in this life, all wrongs will be righted in the age to come. He has shown me his love in Jesus Christ and I know he is the only hope for meaning in life now and for salvation in the world to come. So I will be still and trust God, though I cannot understand his strange ways."

That is not a bad way to live. But the writer of the book of Job is not satisfied to live that way. And he wants his readers to know that God has not concealed all of his ways. There is more to see of God's purpose in suffering than we may think.

Elihu Breaks In

So a young man appears on the scene in chapter 32 named Elihu. His speech goes all the way through chapter 37. And here we learn something that neither Job nor his friends had discovered, namely, that the suffering of the righteous is not a token of God's enmity but of his love. It is not a punishment of their sins but a refinement of their righteousness. It is not a preparation for destruction, but a protection from destruction.

The three friends have been wrong—suffering is not the proof of wickedness. And Job had been wrong—his suffering was not the proof of God's arbitrariness. Nor had God become his enemy. Elihu has come to put the argument on a new footing.

Five Reasons We Should Accept Elihu's Counsel 

Let's begin our survey of Elihu's theology by asking why we should accept it. Many interpreters understand Elihu as no better than Eliphaz, Bildad, or Zophar. For example, I gathered from one commentator's 40 pages on Elihu's speeches the following labels: Elihu is cruel, cold, detached, crass, trite, perfectionist, vain, etc. (Francis Anderson, TOTC).

I admit that there are some things in Elihu's speeches very hard to understand. And it is true that when you read his speeches, you hear some of the same things the three friends said (they were not totally wrong!). And it is true he is tough with Job, perhaps too tough sometimes.

But there are at least five reasons why I take the words of Elihu to represent the truth as our inspired writer saw it. In other words, I think Elihu gives the first step in solving Job's problem, and that God then speaks in chapters 38–41 and gives the final conclusive word. Here are the five reasons I think this.

1. His Speech Is Presented as Something New

The words of Elihu are introduced to us in chapter 32 not as a continuation or repetition of what the three friends had said, but as something new. Verses 1–3:

So these three men ceased to answer Job, because he was righteous in his own eyes. Then Elihu the son of Barachel the Buzite, of the family of Ram, became angry. He was angry at Job because he justified himself rather than God; he was angry also at Job's three friends because they had found no answer, although they had declared Job to be in the wrong.

In other words Elihu disagrees with both sides of the argument. So he says in verse 14 to the three friends, "He (i.e., Job) has not directed his words against me, and I will not answer him with your speeches." So Elihu has no intention of trying to settle the matter the way the three friends did. The writer wants us to listen to something new that takes us beyond the old argument.

2. Six Chapters Devoted to His Words

The second reason that I think Elihu is more than a continuation of bad theology, is that the writer devotes six chapters to his words (32–37).

The inadequacy of the theology of the three friends was demonstrated by the fact that their speeches got shorter near the end, and then died out completely. Bildad finishes with six verses (chapter 25), and Zophar can't even manage a closing comment.

It would be very strange, then, if Elihu were given six chapters at this point to say all the inadequate things all over again and make no advance on the inadequate theology of these other three friends. Surely this large space given to his words signals that something crucial is being said here.

3. Job's Response to Elihu

Job does not try to argue with Elihu.

He had been successful in silencing Eliphaz, Bildad, and Zophar, but he does not say one word against Elihu even though Elihu challenged him in 33:32, "If you have anything to say, answer me." The easiest explanation for this silence is that Job agreed with him. In fact, in 42:6 Job does repent for some of the things he said, which shows that Elihu's rebukes are not all wide of the mark.

4. God's Response to Elihu

In 42:7 God looks back over the period of suffering and rebukes Job's three friends,

After the Lord had spoken these words to Job, the Lord said to Eliphaz the Temanite: "My wrath is kindled against you and against your two friends; for you have not spoken of me what is right, as my servant Job has."

But God does not rebuke Elihu. Why not? Probably because Elihu's words are not in the same class with the words of those three. Elihu's words are true and prepare the way for the final, decisive words of God. (He claims to be guided by the Spirit of God—32:8.)

5. He Offers Something New and Helpful

Finally, Elihu really does offer a new understanding of the suffering of the righteous that Job and his three friends had not perceived. And his insight does indeed make sense out of the apparently arbitrary suffering that Job and other righteous people go through. Let's try to learn this morning what this young man has to say.

Elihu's Rebuke of Job

Elihu thinks that Job has been wrong in some of what he has said—indeed, he sees pride and arrogance in Job's attitude (see 33:17; 35:12; 36:9). In 33:8–12 he puts his finger on Job's error:

Surely, you have spoken in my hearing, and I have heard the sound of your words. You say, "I am clean, without transgression; I am pure, and there is no iniquity in me. Behold [God] finds occasions against me, he counts me as his enemy; he puts my feet in the stocks, and watches all my paths." Behold in this you are not right.

Job is wrong to claim innocence at the expense of God's grace. We know that Elihu is right about this because in 42:6 Job does in fact repent: "I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes." His suffering had driven him to say things about himself that were overly optimistic and things about God that were disrespectful. Even though Job was a righteous man, he was not a sinlessly perfect man. There was a sediment of pride that began to cloud the purity of his life when it was stirred up by suffering.

Elihu's Explanation of Suffering 

At least part of Elihu's understanding of why the righteous suffer has to do with this residue of pride in the life of the righteous. We see the first explanation of his view in 33:14–19. He describes two ways God speaks to man: by his word and by suffering. These were the days before Scripture, so the word of God takes the form of visions and dreams. He says,

For God speaks in one way, and in two, though man does not perceive it. In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falls upon men while they slumber on their beds, then he opens the ears of men, and terrifies them with warnings, that he may turn man aside from his deed, and cut off pride from man; he keeps back his soul from the Pit, his life from perishing by the sword.

Man is also chastened with pain upon his bed, and with continual strife in his bones.

Not to Punish but to Save

So Elihu puts the pain of sickness and visions of the night side by side as two ways that God speaks to man for his good. Verse 17 describes God's purpose: "That he may turn man aside from his deed, and cut off pride from man, and keep back his soul from the Pit."

In other words God's purpose for the righteous in these dreams and in this sickness is not to punish but to save—to save from contemplated evil deeds and from pride and ultimately from death. Elihu does not picture God as an angry judge but as a Redeemer, a Savior, a Rescuer, a Doctor. The pain he causes is like the surgeon's knife, not like the executioner's whip.

The "Righteous Sinner"

Elihu explains his view of suffering in one other place, namely, 36:6–15. The helpful thing in these verses is that Elihu makes clear that there is such a thing as a righteous person who still has sin that needs to be revealed and rooted out. To call a person righteous does not mean that the person is sinlessly perfect. There is a "righteous sinner."

This is helpful because God himself called Job a righteous man in 1:1, and Job won his argument on the basis of his reputation as a righteous man. And yet at the end of the book Job repents and despises himself. So Job is righteous (by the testimony of God!) even though he has sin remaining in him. He is not among the wicked.

Elihu looks at these two groups of people, the wicked and the righteous, and he distinguishes the different roles that suffering has in each. We'll start reading at verse 6:

He does not keep the wicked alive, but gives the afflicted their right. He does not withdraw his eyes from the righteous, but with kings upon the throne he sets them for ever, and they are exalted.

Now if he had stopped there, he would have sounded exactly like Eliphaz: the wicked suffer and the righteous prosper. There is a sense in which this is true in the long run. But the question plaguing Job is why the righteous suffer in the short run. So Elihu goes on in verse 8:

And if they [that is, the righteous] are bound in fetters and caught in the cords of affliction [so Elihu admits right away that the righteous are not always with kings on the throne; they do suffer], then he declares to them their work and their transgressions, that they are behaving arrogantly. He opens their ears to instruction, and commands that they return from iniquity.

In other words the righteous are far from sinlessly perfect. There is much of the old nature left in them, and from time to time this old nature of pride breaks out in actual sinful behavior—as it did with Job when he accused God of being his enemy. This is what Job repents of at the end of the book.

Suffering Refines the Righteous

Elihu's teaching, then, is that affliction makes a righteous person sensitive to his remaining sinfulness and helps him hate it and renounce it. Suffering opens the ear of the righteous (v. 10). The psalmist said the same thing in Psalm 119:71, "It was good for me that I was afflicted, that I might learn thy statutes." There are dimensions of godliness that the righteous can only learn through affliction.

So the new slant that Elihu gives is that the suffering of the righteous is not the fire of destruction but the fire that refines the gold of their goodness. For the righteous it is not punitive but curative.

The Purpose of Suffering for the Godless and the Righteous

Verses 13–15 describe the same contrast between the purpose of suffering for the godless and the purpose of suffering for the righteous.

The godless in heart cherish anger; they do not cry for help when he binds them. They die in youth, and their life ends in shame. He delivers the afflicted by their affliction, and opens their ear by adversity.

Verses 13–14 describe one group of people for whom suffering results in nothing but destruction—they are the "godless in heart." But then (in v. 15) he describes another group whose ears are opened in their affliction and who experience deliverance by their affliction. These are not the godless or the wicked. They are the righteous. They are the people like Job, who are upright, and fear God, and turn away from evil, and have a blameless reputation. They suffer, too. But the divine purpose is not the same.

How Has Elihu Added to Our Understanding? 

How then, we may ask, has Elihu advanced our understanding beyond the impasse between Job and his three friends?

His Two Complaints

We go back to the beginning of Elihu's speech in 32:2–3. He had two complaints.

  1. He was angry because Job justified himself rather than God;
  2. and he was angry at Job's three friends because they had found no answer, although they had declared Job to be in the wrong.

Elihu has now succeeded in showing why his anger was justified in both cases.

1. He Shows Why Job's Three Friends Are Wrong

He showed Job's three friends to be wrong. They said that the only way to explain Job's suffering was to say that God was punishing him for sin. Elihu shows that this is not the way to explain Job's suffering.

The righteous do suffer. And their suffering is not a punishment for sin but a refinement of their righteousness. Suffering awakens their ear to new dimensions of God's reality and new depths of their own imperfection and need. Suffering deepens their faith and godliness. So the three friends of Job are wrong.

2. He Shows Why Job Is Wrong

But Job is wrong too. He had no better explanation of his suffering than his three friends did. His conception of God's justice was basically the same as theirs. Only Job insisted he was righteous, and so he could not make his suffering fit with the justice of God. He became so exasperated at times that he thought of God as his enemy.

How many are my iniquities and my sins? Make me know my transgression and my sin. Why dost thou hide thy face, and count me as thy enemy? (13:23–24)

Elihu said that Job was wrong to justify himself at God's expense like this (33:8–12). God was NOT Job's enemy and Job is not as pure as he claims to be. God is in fact Job's loving Father. He has allowed this sickness to drag on for months because he loves Job, not because he hates him.

The suffering has brought out the hidden sin of pride in Job. Now Job's ear has been opened to his remaining imperfection. Now he can repent and be cleansed and depend on God as he never had before. His suffering was not only an occasion for God to get glory over Satan (which we saw in chapters 1 and 2); it was also an occasion for God to deepen Job's insight and trust and godliness.

The Central Lesson 

So the central lesson for us from the book of Job today is that the children of God—those who trust in God and are led by his Spirit and have their sins covered by the blood of Jesus—may indeed suffer. And when they do, it is not a punishment for sin. Christ has borne the punishment for our sin, and there is no double jeopardy!

The suffering of the children of God is not the firm application of a principle of retributive justice. It is the free application of the principle of sovereign grace. Our Father in heaven has chosen us freely from before the foundation of the world, he regenerated us freely by the work of the Holy Spirit, he justified us freely through the gift of saving faith, and he is now sanctifying us freely by his grace through suffering according to his infinite wisdom.

Suffering is not dispensed willy-nilly among the people of God. It is apportioned to us as individually designed, expert therapy by the loving hand of our great Physician. And its aim is that our faith might be refined, our holiness might be enlarged, our soul might be saved, and our God might be glorified.

In this you rejoice, though now for a little while you may have to suffer various trials, so that the genuineness of your faith, more precious than gold which though perishable is tested by fire, may redound to praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ. (1 Peter 1:6–7)

Our Father disciplines us for our good, that we may share his holiness. For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant; later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it. (Hebrews 12:10–11)

We were so utterly, unbearably crushed that we despaired of life itself. Why, we felt that we had received the sentence of death; but that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead. (2 Corinthians 1:8–9)

Therefore, count it all joy, my brethren, when you meet various trials, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. (James 1:2–4)

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org