约伯:苦尽甘来

伯42:7-17

无论是不正确的神学观点(以利法、比勒达和琐法所说秉持的)还是正确的神学观点(以利户所秉持的)所带给我们关于上帝的知识,都不能改变人心。“你们要尝尝主恩的滋味,便知道他是美善。”(诗34:8)有一种知识,它只能通过亲自品尝才能真正领会。花十个小时听一堂有关蜂蜜如何甜的讲座,不如在舌头上略含一口蜂蜜,哪怕只是短暂的5秒钟。“你们要尝尝主恩的滋味,便知道他是美善。”除非上帝亲自让你尝到他的美善,否则世界上所有的神学都无法让你了解他的美善是如何改变你的内心、拯救你的灵魂的。

约伯尝到主恩的滋味 知道他是何等美善

以利户给约伯讲完一大篇真理,约伯却始终一言不发。只等到上帝说完(38-41章),约伯才说:“我从前风闻有你,现在亲眼看见你。”只有上帝亲自来到约伯那里,对他说话,主动将自己启示给他,约伯才真正尝到主恩的滋味!那一刻,他的眼睛才打开。

现在,约伯对上帝有了新的认识。那不仅仅是理智上或主观上的,而是由心生发出的。他尝过主恩的滋味,现在知道那是何等美善。结果,他变为一个被破碎、被改变的人。

约伯宣告三个伟大真理

在42章1到6节,约伯心悦诚服地跪拜在上帝的面前,说出三个伟大真理。

  1. 在第2节,他宣告上帝有绝对的主权。“我知道你万事都能做。你的旨意不能拦阻。”
  2. 在第3节,他宣告在上帝的智慧面前,他的智慧显得实在是无知。“我所说的是我不明白的;这些事太奇妙是我不知道的。”
  3. 在第6节,他宣告自己质疑上帝的作为实在是卑鄙、有罪的。“因此我厌恶自己,在尘土和炉灰中懊悔。”

一个被破碎、被改变的人

约伯是一个被破碎、被改变的人。当你真实地遇见上帝时,这样的事就会发生。这样的事曾发生在以赛亚的身上:“祸哉!我灭亡了!因为我是嘴唇不洁的人……又因我眼见大君王万军之耶和华。”(赛6:5) 这样的事曾发生在看见耶稣彰显能力的彼得身上:“主阿,离开我,我是个罪人!”(路5:8)这样的事也曾发生在那个耶稣正赶往他家的百夫长身上:“主阿,不要劳动,因你到我舍下,我不敢当!”(路7:6)

在约伯以这种方式亲身经历到上帝以前,他自视清高,从未怀疑自己是个义人。现在,他将自己看得更清楚。自己那真实的属灵光景,催促他忏悔认罪。

如果我们没有为自己的罪感到忧伤、没有感到远远不配得上帝的美善, 那么我们就要恳切地祷告,祈求上帝来向我们显明他自己,使他不再是我们耳朵所听到的一个教义,而是可以用心灵去看见、去品尝的他那威严、无限圣洁、令人敬畏的奇妙主权。

约拿单·爱德华滋对上帝的“全新感受”

250 年前,美国的约拿单・爱德华滋(Jonathan Edwards)在他还是个年青人时曾与上帝较劲。在自己的那本《自述》(Personal Narrative)中,他写道:

从儿时起,我内心就很抗拒上帝至高主权的教义……但我清楚地记得有个时刻,上帝的主权让我心悦诚服……从那天起, 上帝至高主权的教义在我的内心带来奇妙的改变。自此以后, 绝对意义上说,我再也没有抗拒过这一点……我还记得那是在我读提摩太前书1章17节时,我生平第一次经历到上帝和神圣事物所带给我的那份内在的甜美。“但愿尊贵、荣耀归与那不能朽坏、不能看见、永世的君王、独一的上帝,直到永永远远。阿们!”当我读到这些话时, 在我的内心深处油然而生一种对上帝的荣耀的体验;那是一种全新的感受,不同于我以前所经历的任何事。

爱德华滋的这种“全新感受”,就是诗人所说的来自上帝主权和荣耀的“滋味”。这胜过了他一切的疑惑和抗拒,使他顺服得五体投地。在谈到罪恶感时,他的措词对我们这个自高的文化而言,几乎是不能理喻的。

我前所未有地感受到自己的邪恶和内心的败坏有多么的严重......在我里面的邪恶, 长时间以来都地难以言状。它吞噬了我全部的思考和想象的空间, 如同无边的洪水、或大山压在我的头脑里。除了用滔天和罪大恶极,我都不知道该如何形容我里面的罪。

什么才是上帝在与自己孩子们接触时想要的

当上帝让我们尝到他的尊贵、认识到我们的邪恶时,基督徒的生活就有别于传统意义上的敬虔。爱德华滋非常优美地写道:

圣徒们所追求的,无论他们有多热忱,都是谦卑的追求;他们的愿望是谦卑的愿望;他们的快乐,即使难以形容、充满荣耀,也都是谦卑的、心灵破碎的喜乐,使基督徒更虚心、更像小孩子、在行为上更谦卑。

这就是上帝在与自己的儿女接触时想要的――一种心灵破碎的喜乐、像小孩子般信靠主、可以以德报怨。

在约伯的苦难中上帝所成就的另外两件事

这也是上帝到这里给约伯的。为了证明他喜悦约伯那“心灵破碎的喜乐”,上帝要使约伯苦尽甘来,再赐给他十个孩子和两倍于先前的财产。在成就这一切之前,上帝要通过这个苦难的经历做两件事。

一、让约伯的三个朋友降卑

首先,让以利法、比勒达和琐法同约伯一起降卑。我们一起来读42章7到9节:

耶和华对约伯说话以后,就对提幔人以利法说:“我的怒气向你和你两个朋友发作,因为你们议论我不如我的仆人约伯说的是。现在你们要取七只公牛,七只公羊,到我仆人约伯那里去,为自己献上燔祭,我的仆人约伯就为你们祈祷。我因悦纳他,就不按你们的愚妄办你们。你们议论我,不如我的仆人约伯说的是。”于是提幔人以利法、书亚人比勒达、拿玛人琐法照着耶和华所吩咐的去行,耶和华就悦纳约伯。1

上帝用两种方式让约伯的三个朋友谦卑下来。他告诉他们:他们的神学观点是错误的,让他们通过他们所曾经责备的那个人来得到赦免。

第7节,上帝说:“你们议论我,不如我的仆人约伯说的是。”在说这话之前,上帝已经指正约伯没有知识的言论(38:2,42:3)。上帝并没有认为约伯所说的全部正确。但就约伯和他三个朋友所争论的,约伯还是正确的。

他们认为恶人遭难,义人昌盛。约伯说这个世界并非如此:常常都是恶人比义人还发达,义人比恶人还遭罪。约伯这样看是对的。

不仅如此,那三个朋友认为公义的报应就发生在今生。但约伯突破了这个狭隘的观点,认为今生的不公会在死后得到修正(19:25-27)。约伯这样看也是对的。

所以,上帝向那三个朋友表明:这个他们以为不齿的神学观点,虽然并不完美,却比他们的观点更正确,以此来使他们降卑。

仅仅这样还不够。他们不能随随便便地进入祷告室,说几句请求赦免的祷告就万事大吉了。他们必须带上祭牲到约伯那儿,请约伯为他们祷告。这应该不是一件光彩的事。那个曾被他们指控为远离上帝的人,现在要成为他们的祭司,把他们带到上帝的面前。换言之,上帝认为那三个朋友与上帝和好的唯一途径是先与约伯和好。他们必须在约伯面前谦卑下来,而不仅只是在上帝面前。

二、证明约伯真心悔改

在赐给约伯产业之前,上帝所做的第二件事是:证明约伯是真心悔改。当那三个朋友来到约伯那里,请约伯在上帝面前调解时,是在试验他们是否真的谦卑!那一刻,约伯要去爱自己的敌人,为那欺压自己的祈祷。他被要求去祝福那曾责备自己的人,不要以怨报怨。

那时,他还只是个病人呢!上帝还没有解除他的痛苦。为什么要这样?这儿要学的功课是什么呢? 难道不就是马太福音6章14节所说的:

你们饶恕人的过犯,你们的天父也必饶恕你们的过犯;你们不饶恕人的过犯,你们的天父也必不饶恕你们的过犯。

换句话说,正是悔改和信靠使我们得到上帝的赦免。但真正的悔改、全然的信靠和内心的改变,才会让你去愿意原谅那些得罪你的人。如果蒙恩悔改的罪人宣称他得到了上帝的赦免而不能通过他让这样的赦免流向他人,那么他的这个宣告并不真实,他内里仍在罪中。

所以,上帝正是要让约伯经历这最后一关。他会放下报复的兵器而接受上帝所约定的条件,像上帝那样去赦免自己的三个朋友吗? 是的,约伯通过了这一关。他是一个被破碎的人。是他自己的罪使他谦卑,将他拖到灰尘之中。他又怎能在其他人面前自高呢!他怎能不将那白白得来的恩典与其他人分享呢!所以,第9节结尾说:“耶和华就悦纳约伯。”2

大结局

现在,整卷书临近尾声。通过苦难,约伯生命中那残余的骄傲被炼净,他三个朋友的错误观点得到更正,他们的愚昧无知化做谦卑。上帝仆人的兄弟之情得以恢复和纯化。在撒旦的控告中,上帝荣耀的名得到真正的捍卫。

愿主赐给我们恩典去学习,他的道路不同于我们的道路,他的意念不同于我们的意念,但向着那些爱上帝按他旨意被召的人,他的旨意是最有智慧的,也是饱含恩典的。

雅各书5章11节对本卷书总结得非常好:

那先前忍耐的人,我们称他们是有福的。你们听见过约伯的忍耐,也知道主给他的结局,明显主是满心怜悯,大有慈悲。

1 英文原文是 “耶和华就悦纳约伯”。

2 同1。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Job: Reversal in Suffering

Neither bad theology (in the words of Eliphaz, Bildad, and Zophar) nor good theology (in the words of Elihu) gives us the knowledge of God which changes a person's heart. "Taste and see that the Lord is good!" (Psalm 34:8). There is a knowledge that only comes through tasting. Five seconds of honey on the tongue will show you more sweetness than ten hours of lectures about the sweetness of honey. "Taste and see that the Lord is good." Until God gives you a taste of his goodness all the theology in the world will not give you a knowledge of his goodness that changes your heart and saves your soul.

Job Tasted and Saw That the Lord Is Good

When Elihu was finished speaking the truth to Job, Job said nothing. Only after God spoke (in chapters 38–41) did Job say, "I had heard of thee by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees thee" (42:5). When God himself came to Job and spoke and took the initiative to make himself known to Job, Job tasted God! And his eyes were opened.

Now Job has a new sense of God's reality. It is more than intellectual or speculative knowledge. It is the knowledge of the heart. He has tasted. And now he sees. And the result is a broken and changed man.

Job Confesses Three Great Truths

In 42:1–6 Job bows in reverent submission to confess three great truths.

  1. In verse 2 he confesses the truth that God is absolutely sovereign: "I know that thou canst do all things, and that no purpose of thine can be thwarted."
  2. In verse 3 he confesses the truth that God's wisdom makes his own wisdom look like ignorance: "I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know."
  3. And in verse 6 he confesses the truth that he is guilty of despicable sin in questioning the ways of God: "I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes."

A Broken and Changed Person

Job is a broken and changed man. That's what happens when you really see God. It happened to Isaiah: "Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips . . . for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!" (Isaiah 6:5). It happened to Peter when Jesus showed his power: "Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord" (Luke 5:8). It happened to the centurion when Jesus came to his house: "Lord, do not trouble yourself, for I am not worthy to have you come under my roof" (Luke 7:6).

Before Job saw God in this way, he had esteemed himself somewhat highly and had not hesitated to assert his righteousness. Now he sees himself more clearly. And what he sees drives him to repentance.

If we don't feel grieved for our sin, and deeply unworthy of God's goodness, then we need to pray earnestly that God would show us himself—that he would cease to be a mere doctrine that we hear with our ear, and instead would become an awesome, infinitely holy, dreadful, and wonderful Sovereign that we taste and see with our hearts.

Jonathan Edwards' "New Sense" of God

Jonathan Edwards wrestled with God as a young man in New England 250 years ago. He wrote in his Personal Narrative,

From my childhood up, my mind had been full of objections against the doctrine of God's sovereignty . . . But I remember the time very well when I seemed to be convinced, and fully satisfied, as to this sovereignty of God . . . There has been a wonderful alteration in my mind in respect to the doctrine of God's sovereignty, from that day to this; so that I scarce ever have found as much as the rising of an objection against it, in the most absolute sense . . . The first instance that I remember of that sort of inward, sweet delight in God and divine things that I have lived much in since, was on reading those words in 1 Timothy 1:17, "Now unto the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only wise God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen." As I read the words, there came into my soul, and was as it were diffused through it, a sense of the glory of the Divine Being; a new sense, quite different from any thing I ever experienced before.

Edwards was given a "new sense"—a "taste," as the psalmist would say—of the glory and sovereignty of God. It overcame all his objections and it humbled him to the dust. He spoke of his sense of sin in words that are almost unintelligible in our self-exalting culture:

I have had a vastly greater sense of my own wickedness, and the badness of my heart, than ever I had before my conversion . . . My wickedness, as I am in myself, has long appeared to me perfectly ineffable, and swallowing up all thought and imagination; like an infinite deluge, or mountain over my head. I know not how to express better what my sins appear to me to be, than by heaping infinite upon infinite, and multiplying infinite by infinite.

What God Is After in His Dealings with His Children

When God has given us a taste of his own majesty and our own wickedness, then the Christian life becomes a thing very different than conventional piety. Edwards describes it beautifully when he says,

The desires of the saints, however earnest, are humble desires; their hope is an humble hope; and their joy, even when it is unspeakable and full of glory, is an humble, broken-hearted joy, leaving the Christian more poor in spirit, more like a little child, and more disposed to an universal lowliness of behaviour.

That is what God is after in all his dealings with his children—a brokenhearted joy that trusts like a little child in God and returns good for evil.

Two More Things God Does in Job's Sufferings

That is where God has brought Job now; and to prove that he is pleased with Job's "brokenhearted joy" God is going to reverse Job's fortunes and give him his health and ten new children and twice as many possessions as before. But before he performs this reversal for Job, God has two more things to bring about by this experience of suffering.

1. The Humbling of Job's Three Friends

First, he aims to bring Eliphaz, Bildad, and Zophar to the dust along with Job. Let's read 42:7–9,

After the Lord had spoken these words to Job, the Lord said to Eliphaz the Temanite: "My wrath is kindled against you and against your two friends; for you have not spoken of me what is right, as my servant Job has. Now therefore take seven bulls and seven rams, and go to my servant Job, and offer up for yourselves a burnt offering; and my servant Job shall pray for you, for I will accept his prayer not to deal with you according to your folly; for you have not spoken of me what is right, as my servant Job has." So Eliphaz the Temanite and Bildad the Shuhite and Zophar the Naamathite went and did what the Lord had told them; and the Lord accepted Job's prayer.

God seeks to humble these three friends of Job in two ways. He tells them they are theologically wrong, and he makes them seek forgiveness through the very one they had reviled.

In verse 7 God says, "You have not spoken of me what is right, as my servant Job has." Now God had accused Job of darkening counsel without knowledge (38:2; 42:3), so he doesn't mean that everything Job said had been right. But when it comes to the basic dispute between Job and these three friends, he was in the right.

They had said that the wicked suffer and the righteous prosper. Job had said that the world proves no such thing: the wicked often prosper more than the righteous and the righteous often suffer more than the wicked. Job was right.

Not only that, the three friends saw all justice working itself out in this life. But Job eventually broke through to the truth that much that is amiss in the world would be made right in the life after death (19:25–27). Job was right.

So God humbled these three friends by showing them that the very one they condemned was in fact the better theologian even if he was not perfect.

But their humbling is not yet complete. They cannot simply go to their closets and say a simple prayer for forgiveness and be done with it. They must go to Job with their sacrifices and ask him to pray for them. This must have been a deeply humiliating thing. The very one that they had accused of being far from God must become their priest to bring them near to God. In other words God is seeing to it that the only way the three friends can experience reconciliation with God is through experiencing reconciliation with Job. They must humble themselves before Job, not simply before God.

But it cuts both ways.

2. The Proving of Job's Repentance

There is a second thing that God is doing before he restores the fortunes of Job: he is proving the repentance of Job. When the three friends come to Job seeking his intercession with God, it's not just their humility that is on trial! Job is now being asked to love his enemies and pray for those who abused him. He is being asked to bless those who cursed him and not to return evil for evil.

And he is still a very sick man! God has not yet reversed his misery. Why? What is the lesson here? Isn't it the same as Matthew 6:14?

If you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father also will forgive you; but if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.

In other words, it is repentance and faith that receive the forgiveness of God. But the genuineness of repentance, the authenticity of faith, the reality of your change of heart must prove itself in your willingness to forgive those who sin against you. If the forgiveness of God that a repentant sinner claims to have received does not flow through him to others, the claim is a delusion. He is still in his sins.

So God puts Job to one last test. Will he lay down the weapons of revenge and accept the terms of God's treaty and extend amnesty to his three friends the way God has? Yes. Job passes the test. He is a broken man. His own sins have bent him down in dust and ashes. How can he exalt himself above another man! How can he not give the forgiveness that he has freely been given! So verse 9 ends, "The Lord accepted Job's prayer."

Conclusion

So the book closes with the sediment of pride strained out of Job's life through the sieve of suffering, the bad theology of his three friends corrected and their foolishness humbled, the brotherhood of God's servants restored and purified, and the honor of God's name vindicated over against the accusations of Satan.

May the Lord grant us grace to learn that while his ways may not be our ways and his thoughts may not be our thoughts, yet they are the wisest of all ways; and are full of mercy for all those who love God and are called according to his purpose.

The summary of the book in James 5:11 is on target:

Behold, we call those happy who were steadfast. You have heard of the steadfastness of Job, and you have seen the purpose of the Lord, how the Lord is compassionate and merciful.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org