喜乐的交换与丧失

我们这一系列的讲道,就是要解释圣经的真道,将耶稣基督的福音显明出来。注意,我说的是显明,而非让人理解。《哥林多前书》2章14节说:“然而,属血气的人不领会上帝圣灵的事,反倒以为愚拙,并且不能知道,因为这些事惟有属灵的人才能看透。”

我们可以显明真道,却不能强求他人理解。

如上所述,我们无法使人理解福音的真道。一个人可以严重排斥一个想法,以致他觉得这个想法荒谬至极。许多行为心理学家表示,我们甚至看不到我们不想看到的东西,我们会按照自己的意愿,选择性地看到我们所愿意看到的。如果我们强烈地排斥一个想法,我们的这种意愿会产生出一种“智障”,使我们的思维无法正确理解这个想法。

这也将在两个方面对我们和他人分享福音造成影响。

  1. 这将显出圣灵的工作是多么重要——圣灵将挪去我们对真理的严重反对,使我们诚实地向真理敞开自己。
  2. 这显出我们必须努力使福音显明出来,以吸引他人。当我们传福音的时候,圣灵也在做使人归信的工作。如果我们没有将真道显明出来,圣灵就无法打开人的心。圣灵的工作是在人心里动工,软化坚硬的心灵,而我们则要做外面的工作,将真道讲解得浅显易懂。

如何显明真道

要将福音的真道在当下的时代和文化中显明出来,我们就必须将以下内容告诉世人:

  1. 上帝的本质和他的旨意;
  2. 人的本质和人的责任;
  3. 罪的本质和罪的结果。

人若不清楚以上三点,就不会明白耶稣为何为罪人死。人若不理解上帝的旨意、人的责任、罪的本质和罪的结果,就会扭曲对圣经的理解。

三周之前我们讲到了“真理一”,即上帝造物的最终目的是彰显他的荣耀,他的荣耀是宇宙间最高的价值。上周我们讲到“真理二”,即为上帝的荣耀而活是人与生俱来的责任,上帝创造我们的时候就是如此设计的。

虽然上帝规定了人的责任,但人的责任并不是沉重的、压迫性的。要荣耀上帝,我们就要爱他、相信他、感谢他、顺服他,而上帝本身就是无比可爱、可靠、慷慨、睿智的,因此,这并不是件艰苦的工作,相反,它能能使人感到自由、满足和喜乐。可以说,这样做既让我们灵魂感到满足,同时也荣耀了上帝。上帝得着荣耀,我们则在他里面得着满足——这是他所命定的真理。

现在,让我们来看看“真理三”——我们都没有尽到荣耀上帝的本分。

《约翰福音》16章8节中,耶稣说,圣灵来到世上是为叫众人认罪。现在我可以将有关罪的真理显明出来,却无法使你的心因罪而破碎。我祈求上帝,希望今天我所说的,能像彼得的讲道一样,带来那样的结果——“众人听见这话,觉得扎心,就对彼得和其余的使徒说:‘弟兄们,我们当怎样行?’”。(徒2:37)

我们都没有尽到荣耀上帝的本分

《罗马书》3章23节中说:“因为世人都犯了罪,亏缺了上帝的荣耀。”首先,请注意“都”这个字。世人都亏缺了上帝的荣耀,无一例外(见罗3:9-12,19;弗2:3)。所有人都包括在内,无论传道人还是妓女、英雄还是囚犯、圣人还是暴徒。所有你能想到最伟大的人或是最卑鄙的人,都无一例外。所有人都犯了罪,因此亏缺了上帝的荣耀。

其次,我们要注意“罪”和“亏缺了上帝的荣耀”之间的关系——罪就是亏缺了上帝的荣耀,这一点在分享福音时非常重要。

人堕落的本质

对一个遵纪守法、工作勤奋、彬彬有礼、仁爱善良的美国非信徒来说,如果你告诉他,他需要耶稣基督是因为他犯了罪,那么他将拿出成百上千套说辞来证明他是个好人,例如他诚实、负责任、乐善好施,家中有衣着合体、教育优良的孩子,等等。

问题是他没有提到上帝。宇宙中最重要的事物,即上帝的荣耀,并没有在这个非信徒的说辞中出现。他忽视了最重要的部分。我们之所以需要耶稣,不是因为我们亏缺了人的良善,而是亏缺了上帝的荣耀。不是因为我们待人如何,而是因为我们待上帝如何。

这也是“真理一”和“真理二”如此重要的原因。二者让我们看到自己是多么有罪的人。上帝为了他的荣耀造了我们。因此,作为他的受造物,我们的责任就是通过爱他、信他、感谢他、顺服他来让他得着荣耀。但实际上我们做了什么呢?

  • 我们不爱上帝,我们忽视他、蔑视他、爱其他的东西胜过他。
  • 我们不信上帝,我们试图靠自己来寻求安全感和盼望,我们相信金钱、科技、武器,却不信上帝。
  • 我们不感谢上帝,我们轻看他的慷慨,以为生命和幸福是我们理所应得的。
  • 我们不顺服上帝,无论是在健康、金钱、工作、为人处事方面,还是其他任何方面,我们都不愿意寻求他的教导。

我们和上帝之间的问题,不在于我们怎样待人,而在于我们轻看了造物主至高无比的荣耀。我们每个人都犯了轻看上帝荣耀的罪。

“亏缺了上帝的荣耀”

《罗马书》1章22-23节解释了什么是“亏缺了上帝的荣耀”。《罗马书》1章23节有助于我们理解《罗马书》3章23节,让我们一起来看一下。

“亏缺了上帝的荣耀”是指,任何人都没有相信和顺服上帝,而这本是我们的本分。我们只相信自己,从而远离他的诫命。我们以为自己知道更好的活法。《罗马书》1章22-23节中说:“他们虽然知道上帝,却不当作上帝荣耀他,也不感谢他……将不能朽坏之上帝的荣耀变为偶像……”

“亏缺了上帝的荣耀”就是说,我们用其他东西取代了上帝的荣耀。上帝赐给我们他的美善、力量、恩典、智慧,使我们满足,我们却拒绝了上帝,用他赐给我们的这一切去换取其他的被造物,将我们的心放在它们身上。上帝把他自己赐给了我们,这是无价的珍宝,我们却用来换取廉价的愉悦。

我们为何需要救主

我们需要救主,不是因为我们犯了人的法律,而是因为我们干犯了上帝的律法。我们因不屑、不信、不感恩、不顺服而亵渎了上帝的名。

先知以西结揭露了以色列的罪,他说,

“主耶和华如此说:以色列家啊,我行这事不是为你们,乃是为我的圣名,就是在你们到的列国中所亵渎的。我要使我的大名显为圣,这名在列国中已被亵渎,就是你们在他们中间所亵渎的。我在他们眼前,在你们身上显为圣的时候,他们就知道我是耶和华。这是主耶和华说的。”(结36:22-23)

所以,我们需要救主,十字架的真理也因此得以显明。我们罪恶深重,不是因为我们干犯了人的法律,而是因为我们轻看了上帝的名,贬低了上帝的价值,小看了上帝的伟大,亵渎了上帝的荣耀。因此,我们失去了喜乐,换来了走向审判的穷途末路。

这促使我们发现“真理四”:

我们理应接受上帝公义的惩罚

如今,有人对堕胎、奸杀妇女、种族歧视、环境破坏而感到无比气愤,我希望你们也一样。

但是,请你扪心自问,我们对上帝不屑、不信、不顺服、不感恩,并且亵渎上帝的名,这些行为比之前所说的那些更好吗?

应受惩罚的罪行

罪之大小与受害者本身的价值高低相关。没有人会因拍死蚊子而受罚,但如果你杀了条狗,也许就有麻烦了;如果你杀了匹马,麻烦也许就会更大一点;如果你伤害了人,你的罪行就比伤害动物要大得多。

干犯上帝的荣耀也是如此。上帝是无比伟大、无比崇高的,人类根本无法与之相比,因此,干犯上帝罪行理应受到最严厉的惩罚。

对永刑的恐惧

约拿单·爱德华滋(Jonathan Edwards)说过:“这条原则(指永刑)是恐怖可怕的,但它确实来自上帝。”主耶稣来到世界上,让我们能够看清永刑的可怕。他多次说,永刑发生在满是烈火的地方。《马太福音》5章22节,“凡骂弟兄是魔利的,难免地狱的火”;《马太福音》18章9节,“你只有一只眼进入永生,强如有两只眼被丢在地狱的火里”;《马可福音》9章47-48节,“倘若你一只眼叫你跌倒,就去掉它。你只有一只眼进入上帝的国,强如有两只眼被丢在地狱里。在那里,虫是不死的,火是不灭的”。耶稣至少说过四次,地狱中将满是“哀哭切齿”的人。

使徒约翰在《启示录》14章11节中说,上帝大怒的酒将“斟在上帝忿怒的杯中”,并且“他受痛苦的烟往上冒,直到永永远远……昼夜不得安宁”。保罗在《帖撒罗尼迦后书》1章9节中说,那些拒绝福音的人“要受刑罚,就是永远沉沦,离开主的面和他权能的荣光”。

我们因上帝的荣耀而被造,我们的责任就是要活出上帝的荣耀。我们都曾用上帝的荣耀换取如枯草般朽败的东西,若耶稣没有降世宣告上帝的荣耀并拯救犯罪的人,我们本该与上帝的荣耀永世相隔。我将在下周继续阐述这一点。

紧迫的呼召

然而,现在,上帝的荣耀、基督的爱并我心中的迫切催逼着我,因此我想以一个紧迫的呼召来结束今天的讲道。如果你不相信耶稣基督赦罪的权柄,不相信他将成就他的应许,那么,上帝的大怒将仍在你的身上(约3:36);但是,你今天就可选择相信,而不必背负着这样的惩罚离去。

圣经启示我们,耶稣是“从死里复活的、那位救我们脱离将来忿怒”(帖前1:10);“如今那些在基督耶稣里的,就不定罪了”(罗8:1);“信子的人有永生”(约3:36);“上帝也厚待一切求告他的人。因为‘凡求告主名的,就必得救’”(罗10:12-13);“所以你们当悔改归正,使你们的罪得以涂抹”(徒3:19);“当信主耶稣,你和你一家都必得救”(徒16:31);“圣灵和新妇都说:‘来!’听见的人也该说:‘来!’口渴的人也当来;愿意的,都可以白白取生命的水喝”(启22:17)。

现在,我们一起低头、安静。我恳请你们现在就归向耶稣。所有已经相信他的人,我们一起祷告,再次坚固我们与基督的联合。

Thumb john piper

John Piper (@JohnPiper) is founder and teacher of desiringGod.org and chancellor of Bethlehem College & Seminary. For 33 years, he served as pastor of Bethlehem Baptist Church, Minneapolis, Minnesota. He is author of more than 50 books.

© 2015 Desiring God Foundation. Distribution Guidelines

Share the Joy! You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2015 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Joy Exchanged and Joy Forfeited

What we are doing in this series of messages is unfolding the biblical truth that will make the good news of Jesus Christ understandable. Notice, I don't say we can make it understood. The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 2:14 that the "natural man [the person who is not opened by the Holy Spirit] does not receive the gifts of the Spirit of God, for they are folly to him, and he is not able to understand them because they are spiritually discerned."

We Can Make Truth Understandable, Not Understood 

In the last analysis we do not make anyone understand the truth of the gospel. It is possible to be so opposed to an idea in your heart that it becomes nothing but foolishness in your head. Many behavioral psychologists have shown that we are all prone not even to see what we don't want to see. And just as the will can dictate that we see selectively (only what we want to see!), so the will can also dictate that we understand selectively. If we oppose an idea strongly enough, our will can create an intellectual atmosphere that makes understanding that idea virtually impossible.

This implies two things for sharing the truth of the gospel.

  1. It implies that the work of the Holy Spirit is absolutely essential. He can remove the deep opposition to the truth and open the mind to consider it honestly.
  2. It implies that we must make every effort to make the gospel understandable and attractive. The Holy Spirit coordinates his convicting work with our evangelistic work. He doesn't open the hearts of men and women where there is no understandable truth to look at. He has a work to do from the inside softening the heart, and we have a work to do from the outside commending an understandable truth.

What We Must Do to Make Truth Understandable

Now to make the truth of the gospel understandable—especially in our day, in our culture—we have to communicate 1) something about God and his purposes, 2) something about human beings and our duties, and 3) something about sin and its consequences. Without these things the death of Jesus for sinners will simply not be understandable. It will be warped all out of biblical proportion without the background of God's purposes, man's duties, and sin's nature and consequences.

So three weeks ago we spoke on Truth #1 and tried to show that God's ultimate purpose in creation was to display his glory. This is the greatest value in the universe. Last week we spoke on Truth #2 and tried to show that the duty of all humans is that we should live for God's glory. Our duty comes from God's design.

I labored last week to show that even though this duty has the binding force of divine law, it was not intended to be burdensome or oppressive. Loving, trusting, thanking, and obeying God is required to glorify him. But to love a Person who is infinitely lovely, to trust a Person who is infinitely reliable, to thank a Person who is infinitely generous, and to obey a Person who is infinitely wise, is NOT hard work. It is freedom and fulfillment and joy. It satisfies the soul and glorifies God's character. God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him. He gets the glory. We get the joy. That is the way it was supposed to be.

But now today we must face a third truth that makes the gospel understandable. Truth #3 is this: "All of us have failed to glorify God as we should."

Now Jesus said in John 16:8 that the Holy Spirit would come into the world to convince the world of sin. I think I can make sin understandable this morning. But I can't make your heart break because of it. We need to pray that what I have to say from here on will do what Peter's message did in Acts 2:37, "When they heard this they were cut to the heart, and said . . . What shall we do?"

We All Have Failed to Glorify God as We Should 

Romans 3:23 says, "All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God." First of all, notice the word "all." There are no exceptions here (see Romans 3:9–12, 19; Ephesians 2:3). All of us are included. Preachers and prostitutes. Billy Graham and Genghis Khan. President Bush and Ted Bundy. Corrie Ten Boom and Al Capone. The best person and the worst person you can think of are included here. ALL have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.

The second thing to notice is the connection between sin and falling short of God's glory. Sin is a falling short of God's glory. This is very important in sharing the gospel.

The Depth and Essence of Our Depravity

If you tell the average law-abiding, hard-working, civic-minded, humane, unbelieving American that he needs Jesus because he's a bad person, he will have a dozen arguments ready at hand to show that he is not bad. He will point to his honesty, his civic duties, his clothed and educated children, his charitable contributions, etc.

What's the problem here? The problem is that God is missing from the equation. The most important issue in the universe is left out of account, namely, the glory of GOD. The most important Person is being ignored. The reason we need Jesus is not because we have fallen short of man's goodness, but because we have fallen short of God's glory. The issue is how we have treated God not man.

That's why Truth #1 and #2 are so crucial. They set the stage for showing how terribly sinful we are. God made us for his glory. It is our duty, therefore, as his creatures, to live for his glory by loving and trusting and thanking and obeying him. But what have we done?

  • Instead of glorifying God by loving him, we have dishonored him through neglect or disdain, and by loving other things more.
  • Instead of glorifying God by trusting him, we have dishonored him by trying to find security and hope in ourselves and our money and our technology and our weapons, but not in God.
  • Instead of glorifying God by being thankful to him for life and breath and everything, we have dishonored him by ignoring his generosity and by treating life as a right and happiness as something we deserve.
  • Instead of glorifying God by obeying him, we have dishonored him by disregarding or rejecting his counsel for our sexuality, and our finances, and our job, and our attitudes, and our politics, and almost everything else in our life.

The issue between us and God is not whether we have pleased men, but whether we have utterly disdained the infinite worth of the glory of our Maker. And we have. All of us have.

"Falling Short of the Glory of God"

One of the passages of Scripture that makes this plain is Romans 1:22–23. It's helpful to remember that Romans 1:23 is a good explanation of Romans 3:23. I have this written under Truth #3. Let's read that part.

What does it mean to "fall short of the glory of God"? It means that none of us has trusted God the way we should. None of us has obeyed him the way we should. We have trusted ourselves. We have turned from his commandments. We thought we knew a better way. In Romans 1:22–23 it says, "Although they knew God they did not glorify him as God or give thanks to him . . . but exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images . . . "

This is what it means to fall short of the glory of God—to exchange it for something else. God offers us the glory of his beauty and strength and generosity and wisdom for our enjoyment, and we sniff at it and fall in love with the things he has made. He offers us himself as our infinite treasure and we trade him in on a secondhand pleasure.

The Reason We Need a Savior

The reason we need a Savior is not because we have offended man's laws but because we have insulted God. We have profaned his name by indifference and distrust and ingratitude and disobedience.

When the prophet Ezekiel wanted to make the greatness of Israel's sin clear, he said,

Thus says the Lord God: It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am about to act, but for the sake of my holy name, which you have profaned among the nations to which you came. And I will vindicate the holiness of my great name, which has been profaned among the nations, and which you have profaned among them; and the nations will know that I am the Lord, says the Lord God. (Ezekiel 36:22–23)

This is why we need a Savior. This is what makes the cross understandable. The depth of our sin is not that we have offended the laws of man, but that we have slighted the honor of God and degraded his worth and belittled his greatness and dishonored his name and desecrated his glory. And in all of this we have exchanged our joy for the dead-end street of judgment.

Which leads us now to Truth #4:

All of Us Are Subject to God's Just Condemnation 

Today some of us become incensed at the thought of innocent babies in the womb being butchered with suction machines and forceps. Some are outraged at the rape and murder of dozens of young women. Some are angered at apartheid and racial discrimination. Some are incensed over the destruction of our environment. I hope you are in some or all of those categories.

But now test yourself. Do you think that the degradation of God implied in our distrust and disobedience and ingratitude and indifference is a greater or less crime than these?

An Infinitely Blameworthy Offense

A crime is wicked and blameworthy in direct proportion to the worth of the one assaulted. So there are no penalties for slapping mosquitoes. However if you kill dogs with the same disregard, you can get into trouble. And you'll be in worse trouble if you do the same thing with horses. And when you assault a person, your guilt increases in the same way that the worth of a person is greater than the worth of an animal.

And so it is when you assault the glory of God. Since God is infinitely greater, infinitely more valuable, than human beings, an assault on his worth is wicked and blameworthy beyond measure. And therefore it is just and right that God should condemn people to eternal condemnation.

The Horror of Eternal Condemnation

Jonathan Edwards said, "This doctrine is indeed awful and dreadful, yet 'tis of God." The Lord Jesus himself is the one who went to the greatest lengths to help us feel the horror of hell. He repeatedly calls it a place of fire. Matthew 5:22, "Whoever says, You fool, shall be liable to the hell of fire." Matthew 18:9, "It is better for you to enter life with one eye than with two eyes to be thrown into the hell of fire." Mark 9:47–48, "It is better for you to enter the kingdom of God with one eye than with two eyes to be thrown into hell, where their worm does not die, and their fire is not quenched." At least four times he said that there would be "weeping and gnashing of teeth."

John said in Revelation 14:11 that the wine of God's wrath will be poured unmixed into the cup of his anger and that the smoke of torment will go up forever and ever; and they will have no rest, day or night. Paul said in 2 Thessalonians 1:9 that those who reject the gospel "shall suffer the punishment of eternal destruction and exclusion from the presence of the Lord and from the glory of his might."

We have all been created for God's glory. It is our duty to live for God's glory. We have all exchanged his glory for grass that withers. And we would all be excluded from that glory if it were not for Jesus, who came into the world to vindicate God's glory and save sinners. That's what we will talk about next week.

An Urgent Appeal in Closing 

But the glory of God and the love of Christ and the longing of my own heart compel me to close this service with an urgent appeal. If you are not trusting in Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins and for the fulfillment of all his promises, then the wrath of God abides on you this morning (John 3:36). And you do not have to leave this room under that condemnation.

The Bible says that Jesus "delivers us from the wrath to come" (1 Thessalonians 1:10). It says, "There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus" (Romans 8:1). It says, "He who believes in the Son has eternal life" (John 3:36). "God is rich unto all who call upon him. For every one who calls upon the name of the Lord will be saved" (Romans 14:12–13). "Repent and turn to God so that your sins may be wiped out" (Acts 3:19). "Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved" (Acts 16:31). "Let him who is thirsty come, let the one who desires take of the water of life without price" (Revelation 22:17).

I invite you to do that right now as we bow in silence, and for all believers to pray and reaffirm your allegiance to Christ.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org