喜乐赎回

《罗马书》5章6-8节
“因我们还软弱的时候,基督就按所定的日期为罪人死。为义人死,是少有的;为仁人死,或者有敢作的。惟有基督在我们还作罪人的时候为我们死,上帝的爱就在此向我们显明了。”

今天我们直接来看基督教福音的核心。至今为止,我们已经谈到了显明福音的四条真理。首先,我们回顾一下这四条真理,然后再来看第五条真理,即上帝以无比的恩慈满足我们的最大需要。

回顾前四条真理

“真理一”指出了上帝可喜悦的旨意——上帝为了他的荣耀造了世人。上帝创造时,就计划将他的美善、至高、智慧、公义、大能和爱展现给作为受造物的我们看,使我们得着喜乐。宇宙的中心是上帝,而不是人。我们存在的目的是为了彰显他的荣耀。

“真理二”指出了人的责任是喜乐的——每个人都应该活出上帝的荣耀。我们生命的目的,与上帝创造的目的一致。我最近收到了约翰·詹斯塔德(John Jenstad)的一封信,信中说:“我是人,这真是一件很棒的事。”信上帝、爱上帝,感谢上帝、顺服上帝,以此来荣耀上帝,这就是我们永恒的使命。我们是照着上帝的形象被造的,这多么奇妙啊!我们可以用吃、喝、工作、玩耍等等一切行为来荣耀上帝,这是人的责任,这个责任给我们带来喜乐。

“真理三”指出,我们都用这样的喜乐用换取了罪所带来的短暂的愉悦,我们都没能荣耀上帝,而我们本该那么做的。我们应当爱他、信靠他、感谢他、顺服他,但我们没做到。无论我们对自己的评价如何,都必须承认这一点。我们并没有将上帝视为生命的中心,我们并没有在一切事上荣耀他。

因此,“真理四”指出我们失去了本应得着的喜乐——我们每一个人都理应受到上帝的惩罚。上帝是公义的,他的公义是绝对的,他不允许任何不荣耀他的行为发生。因此,当我们用其他东西取代了上帝的荣耀、不再为他的荣耀而活时,我们就将自己置于上帝的大怒之下。换句话说,要是我们执意轻看上帝的荣耀,不屑、不信、不感恩、不顺服,他就不得不将我们丢入永恒的地狱之中,以维护自己的荣耀。

我们从以上四条真理中可以看出,人最大的危险不是核战争,不是艾滋病,不是地球变暖,不是民族冲突,而是上帝的愤怒。最大的问题在于,我们每个人都因轻看了上帝的荣耀而应受到他的惩罚,因为他的公义不能容忍任何不荣耀他的事。

上帝降下他的独生爱子,为我们铺就永生的道路

现在让我们来看看“真理五”,也就是福音的核心——上帝降下他的独生爱子,为我们铺就了永生的道路。如同《提摩太前书》1章15节中说的:“基督耶稣降世,为要拯救罪人。”

因此,我们今天就要来花时间搞清楚耶稣怎样拯救了罪人。“真理五”的核心不是我们应该做什么才能得救(下周的主题),而是上帝为拯救我们做了些什么。

保罗在《罗马书》5章6-8节中说:“因我们还软弱的时候,基督就按所定的日期为罪人死。为义人死,是少有的,为仁人死,或者有敢作的。惟有基督在我们还作罪人的时候为我们死,神的爱就在此向我们显明了。”

请注意经文中的三点:

  1. 耶稣为拯救罪人而死。“基督……为罪人死。”《提摩太前书》1章15节中说:“基督耶稣降世,为要拯救罪人。”这意味着耶稣来到世上就是要为拯救罪人而死。要问耶稣怎么拯救罪人,他的受难就是第一个答案。
  2. 第二点是开启拯救工作的并非我们自己。我们本不配得拯救,更不可能开启拯救的工作。保罗说我们都是软弱的罪人,开启拯救工作的只有上帝。
  3. 第三点是,基督为罪人死,这是上帝之爱的彰显。第8节说:“惟有基督在我们还作罪人的时候为我们死 ,神的爱就在此向我们显明了。”千万不要认为天父只是发怒,而神子耶稣则满有宽恕,这是不正确的。天父对我们的救赎计划,就是让他的独生爱子降临世间。天父不只因我们的罪而发怒,他对我们也有完全的爱。

上帝是我们的审判者,我们理应顺服他公义的惩罚,因为我们亏缺了他的荣耀。但上帝的爱是奇妙的,因为他不仅是公义的审判者,更是一位救主——他设计了一条救赎之路,来使罪人脱离他的大怒。

耶稣为拯救罪人而死的三层意义

现在,让我来告诉你们,圣经中说到的耶稣受死,拯救罪人脱离上帝愤怒的三层意义。

1、耶稣作了罪人的赎价

基督受死,便是作了多人的赎价。

耶稣在《马可福音》10章45节中说:“因为人子来,并不是要受人的服事 ,乃是要服事人 ,并且要舍命,作多人的赎价。”《彼得前书》1章18-19节说:“知道你们得赎,脱去你们祖宗所传流虚妄的行为,不是凭着能坏的金银等物,乃是凭着基督的宝血,如同无瑕疵、无玷污的羔羊之血。”《哥林多前书》6章19-20节说:“岂不知你们的身子就是圣灵的殿吗﹖这圣灵是从上帝而来,住在你们里头的;并且你们不是自己的人;因为你们是重价买来的。所以,要在你们的身子上荣耀上帝。”《启示录》5章9节说:“因为你曾被杀,用自己的血从各族、各方、各民、各国中买了人来,叫他们归于上帝。”

基督受难的意义就是他为我们付上赎价。那么,谁得了赎价?你的回答也许是“撒旦”,或者是上帝将赎价给了自己。

认为上帝将赎价付给了撒旦,以此来拯救他的子民,这是非常错误的。上帝拥有至高的主权,他不可能屈就敌人;而且上帝是圣洁的,他也不能容忍魔鬼来掌控救赎大事。此外,耶稣在《马可福音》3章27节中也描述了他将怎样使人脱离撒旦的捆绑,经文中说他将捆绑住壮士,并抢夺他的家。换句话说,即使撒旦将我们困为人质,耶稣也不会跟他谈判。耶稣直接进攻魔鬼,捆绑它,救赎我们。

上帝差遣他的儿子降世受难、为罪人而死,其实是将赎价给了自己。换句话说,我们不欠撒旦任何东西,上帝也不欠撒旦任何东西。我们欠了上帝一笔巨债。我们因罪干犯了上帝,我们不相信上帝、不顺服上帝,亵渎了上帝的名和他的荣耀。

不难看出,如果要救我们脱离上帝义怒,就必须付出某种赎价。而基督受难拯救罪人的第一层意义就是:为使罪人脱离上帝的愤怒,基督自己作了赎价。

《哥林多前书》6章19-20节中说,上帝的目的就是要重价赎回我们,“因为你们是重价买来的,所以要在你们的身子上荣耀上帝”。赎回我们的原因就是要让我们能回归被造的目的。换句话说,耶稣受难的目的就是要让我们回到生命本身的目的上,那就是了解上帝的荣耀,活出上帝的荣耀,这样的生命才是喜乐充满的。至此,我希望你们能够看出这五条真理之间的关系。

2、替罪羔羊

圣经启示我们,基督为拯救罪人而死的第二层意义,即基督做了我们的替罪羔羊。

正因为我们亵渎了上帝的名、轻看了他的荣耀,我们每个人都头悬咒诅、理应得到上帝公义的惩罚。基督所做的,就是自己背负了所有的咒诅和惩罚,为信他的人做了替罪羔羊。

  • 《彼得前书》3章18节中说:“因基督也曾一次为罪受苦,就是义的代替不义的,为要引我们到上帝面前。”
  • 《哥林多后书》5章21节中说:“上帝使那无罪的,替我们成为罪,好叫我们在他里面成为上帝的义。”
  • 《加拉太书》3章13节中说:“基督既为我们受了咒诅,就赎出我们脱离律法的咒诅。”

因此,基督拯救罪人的第二层意义就是他做了我们的替罪羔羊。他背负了本应由我们背负的咒诅,担当了我们的罪,我们本来应该为自己的罪受到永刑,但基督代替我们受难,上帝将信他之人的罪孽归在了耶稣的身上(赛53:6)。

3、维护上帝的公义

耶稣受难的第三层意义是维护上帝的公义,这也许是三层意义中最容易被忽视的,却是最重要的一层。它之所以被忽视,也许是因为我们忽视了前四条真理。

让我们来看看《罗马书》3章25-26节吧!如果我们不从上帝的荣耀开始谈起,耶稣的受难将毫无意义。

我先解释一下这两节经文的背景,以便更好地理解经文本身。上帝为他的荣耀创造了世界,因为他是公义的,自然要高举自己的荣耀,支持那些荣耀他的,抵挡那些不荣耀他的。

由于我们亵渎了上帝的荣耀,上帝因他的公义而抵挡我们、向我们发怒。那么,上帝如何才能既拯救我们这些罪人,又高举他的荣耀呢?上帝如何才能既赦免我们,又成为公义的审判者呢?

《罗马书》3章25-26节显明了这问题的答案。

“上帝设立耶稣作挽回祭,是凭着耶稣的血,藉着人的信,要显明上帝的义。因为他用忍耐的心,宽容人先时所犯的罪,好在今时显明他的义,使人知道他自己为义,也称信耶稣的人为义。”

请注意,耶稣降世为罪人而死,是为要显出上帝的公义。那么,为何上帝要显明他的公义呢?答案在25节:“因为他用忍耐的心,宽容人先时所犯的罪。”换句话说,上帝宽容了我们、赦免了我们的罪,这是与他的公义不相符的。表面上看起来是我们轻看了他的荣耀,他却没有惩罚我们,但实际上,如果上帝仅仅将普天之下的罪一扫而空,这将是上帝最大的不义,而且,赦罪的恩典便会因此显得一文不值。

因此,上帝用基督的死向世人显明,他并没有轻看世人亵渎他荣耀的罪。我们辱没了上帝之名、亏缺了他的荣耀,但基督的死弥补了这一切。在拯救罪人的同时,他也维护了上帝的公义。如果没有基督替我们而死,我们就只能被丢入永恒的地狱中受惩罚,才能显明上帝的公义。

总结

让我来总结一下基督通过十字架上的牺牲拯救罪人,并为罪人带来永生的三层意义。首先,耶稣自己做了赎价,清偿了我们因犯罪而欠上帝的巨债。其次,耶稣做了我们的替罪羔羊,他背负了我们的罪和咒诅,以免我们因罪而受到惩罚。第三,耶稣的死维护了上帝的荣耀,通过他的死,上帝既维护了他的公义,又得以称信他的人为义。

我祈求上帝让你们明白,只有耶稣基督的死才能使我们脱离上帝的愤怒,并与上帝恢复平和的关系。盼望这信息促使你归向基督,因为拯救之门是一直向你敞开的。上帝的预备是完备的、无偿的,他称那些信耶稣的人为义。你全然信他,他就成为你全然的救主。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Joy Purchased

For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person- though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die- but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. 

This morning we focus directly on the heart of the gospel—the good news of Christianity. Up till now we have looked at four biblical truths that make the gospel understandable. Let me review those four truths and then show how the fifth truth is God's merciful answer to our greatest need.

Review of the Four Truths Discussed So Far

Truth #1 described the joyful purpose of God—GOD CREATED US FOR HIS GLORY. His design in creation was that his own beauty and excellence and wisdom and justice and power and love be displayed for the enjoyment of his creatures. God himself is the central reality in the universe, not man. We exist for his glory.

Truth #2 described the joyful duty of man—EVERY HUMAN SHOULD LIVE FOR GOD'S GLORY. In other words our reason for living comes from God's reason for creating. I received a letter from John Jenstad recently in which he said, "Being human truly is an awesome thing." Called to live for the glory of God by trusting and thanking and loving and obeying him—and our own eternal destiny hanging in the balance. It is an awesome thing to be created in the image of God—to eat and drink and work and play for God's glory. That's our joyful duty as human beings.

Truth #3 described how we have all exchanged that joy for the fleeting pleasures of sin—ALL OF US HAVE FAILED TO GLORIFY GOD AS WE SHOULD. We have not loved God or trusted God or thanked God or obeyed God anywhere near the way we should. Whether people think that they are good people or not, they have to admit this. God has not been the center of their lives. They have not done everything they do for his glory. None of us has.

Therefore Truth #4 described how the joy for which we were created has been forfeited—ALL OF US ARE SUBJECT TO GOD'S JUST CONDEMNATION. God is a just God. His righteousness is absolute and there is not compromise in his commitment to do all things for his glory. And so when we exchange the glory of God for other things, and don't live for his glory, we put ourselves under his righteous wrath. In other words if we insist on belittling his glory by indifference or unbelief or ingratitude or disobedience, then he will vindicate the worth of his glory by punishing us in hell forever.

So what we have seen from these four truths is that the greatest danger for mankind is not nuclear war or AIDS or communism or the greenhouse effect or racial strife. The greatest danger for mankind is the wrath of God. Our biggest problem is that God's righteousness demands our condemnation because we have all—every one of us—scorned his glory.

God Sent His Only Son to Provide Eternal Life

Now we are ready to understand Truth #5. This truth is the very heart of the gospel—GOD SENT HIS ONLY SON JESUS TO PROVIDE ETERNAL LIFE. Or, as 1 Timothy 1:15 says, "Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners."

So what we want to do this morning is make as clear as we can, in the few minutes we have, how Jesus saves sinners. The focus in Truth #5 is not on what we must do to be saved (that's next week). The focus here is what God did to save sinners.

In Romans 5:6–8 Paul says,

While we were yet helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. Why, one will hardly die for a righteous man—though perhaps for a good man one will dare even to die. But God shows his love for us in that while we were yet sinners Christ died for us.

Notice three things in this text.

  1. The way Jesus saves sinners is by dying for them. "Christ died for the ungodly." When 1 Timothy 1:15 says, "Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners," it means he came into the world to die for sinners. The first answer to the question, How does Jesus save sinners is that he saves sinners by dying for them.
  2. The second thing to notice in Romans 5:6–8 is that you and I did not initiate this saving work. We didn't deserve and we didn't cause it. Paul says we were all helpless, ungodly, and sinners. The initiative is entirely God's.
  3. Which leads to the third thing to notice here, namely, that the death of Christ for sinners is a demonstration of God's love. Verse 8: "But God shows his love for us in that while we were yet sinners Christ died for us." Don't ever get the impression that God the Father is merely a wrathful God, God the Son, Jesus Christ, is a merciful God. That is not true. God the Father planned our salvation and sent his only Son because he is a God of love as well as a God of wrath.

He is our Judge and we stand under his just condemnation because of how we have degraded his glory. But the wonder of God's love is that while he is Judge, and while his righteous condemnation rests upon us, he is also a Savior who has designed a way of salvation from his wrath.

Three Ways the Death of Jesus Saves Sinners

Now can we understand how it is that the death of Jesus, God's Son, saves his people from the wrath of God? Let me mention three ways the Bible describes how the death of Christ saves sinners.

1. A Ransom

The death of Christ is called a ransom for many.

Jesus said in Mark 10:45, "For the Son of man also came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many." 1 Peter 1:18–19, says, "You know that you were ransomed from the futile ways inherited from your fathers, not with perishable things such as silver or gold, but with the precious blood of Christ like that of a lamb without blemish or spot." 1 Corinthians 6:19–20 says, "You are not your own, you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body." Revelation 5:9 says, "Thou was slain and by thy blood didst ransom men for God from every tribe and tongue and people and nation."

So one way to understand the death of Christ is to see it as the payment of a ransom. If you ask, To whom was this ransom paid, you might possibly answer Satan or you might answer God—that he paid it to himself.

I think it would be very wrong to suggest that God paid Satan to redeem his people. It is contrary to God's sovereignty to think that he would have to meet the demands of his archenemy and it's contrary to his holiness to think that he would let the arch-evil one dictate the terms of salvation. Besides that, in Mark 3:27 Jesus describes how he releases people from the bondage of Satan—it says he binds the strong man and plunders his household. In other words he does not negotiate with Satan as a terrorist holding hostages. He invades, binds, and delivers.

I think, then, it is right to say that in sending his Son to die for our sins God paid a ransom to himself. In other words we don't owe anything to Satan, and God doesn't owe anything to Satan. The great debt that hangs over our head is a debt to God. He is the one we have offended by our sin. He's the one whose honor has been defamed and whose name has been desecrated by our distrust and disobedience.

It's not hard to see, then, that if we are going to be delivered from God's righteous wrath, some kind of recompense would have to be made. So the first way the death of Christ saves sinners is by ransoming them from the wrath of God.

Did you notice when I read 1 Corinthians 6:19–20 what God's aim was in purchasing us or ransoming us in this way. It says, "You were bought with a price. Glorify God therefore in your body." The reason you have been ransomed is so that now you can return to the purpose for which you were created. In other words the reason Jesus died is to put us back on the joyful track of knowing and reflecting the glory of God. So I hope you can see how all five of these truths hang together.

2. A Substitution

The second way the Bible describes how the death of Christ saves sinners is by showing us that he is a substitution for us.

Because of the way we have dishonored God and belittled his glory, there hangs over every one of us now a curse, a righteous and just sentence of condemnation. And what Christ did was to take that curse and that condemnation upon himself and become a substitute for all who trust him.

  • 1 Peter 3:18 says, "Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God."
  • 2 Corinthian 5:21 says, "For our sake God made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God."
  • Galatians 3:13 says, "Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law having become a curse for us."

So the way Christ saves us from our sin is by becoming a substitute for us. He bore the curse we should have born and he bore the sin that would have brought us everlasting condemnation. He stood in our place and God laid on him the iniquity of all who believe (Isaiah 53:6).

3. A Vindication of the Righteousness of God

Finally the death of Jesus saves because it is a vindication of the righteousness of God. This is perhaps the most neglected and yet most fundamental meaning of the death of Jesus. And it may be that this is neglected because the first four truths are neglected.

Let's turn together to Romans 3:25–26. Unless you begin with the glory of God, this aspect of the death of Jesus will make no sense.

So let me set the stage for understanding these two verses from Romans 3. God created the world for his glory. God's righteousness is his unswerving commitment to uphold the worth of his glory—which means to support everything that magnifies his glory and to oppose everything that diminishes his glory.

And since we have all diminished and desecrated his glory, his righteousness commits him to oppose us with omnipotent wrath. How, then, can he save sinners like us and still uphold the worth of his glory? How can he acquit guilty sinners and still be a righteous judge.

Romans 3:25–26 make very plain this meaning of Jesus' death.

. . . whom God put forward as an expiation [or: propitiation] by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God's righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins; it was to prove at the present time that he himself is righteous and that he justifies him who has faith in Jesus.

Notice carefully that the reason Jesus was sent to die was to show God's righteousness. Now why did God's righteousness need to be shown? Answer (v. 25): "because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins." In other words when God passes over sins—when he forgives you or me—it looks as though he is not righteous. It looks as though he is putting no infinite value on his glory which we have scorned by our sin. And in fact it would be a horrendous unrighteousness if God were to simply sweep the sin of the world under the rug of the universe as though it were no awesome thing to acquit a guilty sinner in God's presence.

So what happened when Christ died was that God demonstrated once and for all that he is not indifferent to the scorn we have brought on his glory. When Christ died, he died to repair the injury we have done to God's name and God's honor. What Christ did when he died was to vindicate the righteousness of God in the salvation of sinners. If Christ hadn't died in our place, the righteousness of God could only be vindicated in one way—by our eternal condemnation.

Summary

So let me summarize the three ways we have seen that the death of Christ saves us from judgment and gains for us eternal life. First, it is a ransom that repays the tremendous debt we owe to God for our sin. Second, it is a substitution. He bears our sin and our curse in himself so that we can be freed from guilt and punishment. Third, it is a vindication of God's righteousness so that he can be both just and the one who justifies him who has faith in Jesus.

My prayer now is that this would be clear to all of you—that the death of Jesus Christ is the only way that any of us can escape the wrath of God and find peace with God. And I pray not only that it be clear but that it would be compelling. My heart's desire and prayer to God is that you might be saved. The way is open. The provision is full and free. He justifies those who have faith in Jesus. Put your whole trust in him and he will be a whole Savior for you.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org