用钱财尊崇上帝

你们这小群,不要惧怕,因为你们的父乐意把国赐给你们。(33) 你们要变卖所有的周济人,为自己预备永不坏的钱囊,用不尽的财宝在天上,就是贼不能近、虫不能蛀的地方。(34) 因为,你们的财宝在哪里,你们的心也在那里。

敬拜的内在核心,就是把上帝当做至高至贵重的珍宝。而敬拜的外在形式,就是展现对上帝珍爱程度的行动。因此,我们要用全部生命来敬拜上帝,因为上帝说,或吃或喝,或作任何事情,都是为展现上帝的荣耀在你生命中的价值(林前10:31)。钱财和琐事也是生活,上帝也希望这些事情和敬拜相关——因为整个生命都应该和敬拜相关。所以,与钱财和产业相关的敬拜方式,就是要按一定的方式获取、使用和舍弃它们,以显明你对上帝的珍惜——而不是以财物为中心来安排敬拜。这段经文涉及的,本质上是关乎敬拜的领域。

当然,我们也有集体敬拜——比如主日上午的敬拜。和在其他领域一样,敬拜的定义在这里同样适用:敬拜的核心,就是把上帝当做至高至贵重的珍宝。而敬拜的形式(具体行动包括听道,祷告,唱诗,奉献,圣餐等)是要把这爱戴珍重表现出来。伯利恒教会集体敬拜行动之一,就是“奉献”——这是敬拜环节之一,我们把金钱交给教会,用于基督的大使命与事工当中。

这是集体敬拜时的一个环节,也是“用钱财敬拜上帝”整体框架的一小部分,这整体框架包括日常生活中与钱财相关的活动——赚钱,存钱,捐献等等。今天的经文《路加福音》12:32-34,就关乎整体框架,也涉及集体敬拜中如何处理钱财。我们就来看看这段经文中几个主要教训,并努力应用到生活中,以及集体捐献方面。

不要惧怕

该段经文的第一个要点(第32节),就是上帝吩咐我们,在关乎钱物方面,不要惧怕。是的,你们不要担心,也不要害怕。“你们这小群,不要惧怕,因为你们的父乐意把国赐给你们。”不过,换个方式讲会更深入。上帝不想让我们在钱物方面惧怕,这样我们就可以在五个重大方面来尊崇他。不惧怕,就像一个回音,反衬出我们如何珍重这关乎上帝的五件事。换言之,不惧怕本身,就成为我们内心中一个美丽的敬拜行为。

我们不惧怕,就表明我们把上帝当牧者来珍爱。“你们这小群,不要惧怕。”我们是羊群,他是我们的牧人。正如《诗篇》23篇所说的:“耶和华是我的牧者,我必不至缺乏。”就是说,在真正的需要上我不会缺乏。不惧怕是显明我们珍视这位牧者。

其次,我们不惧怕,显明我们是把上帝当父亲来珍爱。“你们这小群,不要惧怕,因为你们的父乐意把国赐给你们。”我们不只是他的羊群;而且是他的孩子,而他就是我们的父亲。这层关系的重要性,在30节显明出来,“这都是外邦人所求的。你们须用的这些东西,你们的父是知道的。”换句话说,你们的父亲真知道也真关心你们的需要,而且他会确保满足这些需要。(不过要小心,不要总让上帝满足你认为“需要”的,倒要学着顺服接受他认为你“需要”的东西!)

第三,我们不惧怕,显明我们把上帝当君王来珍爱。“你们这小群,不要惧怕,因为你们的父乐意把国赐给你们。”上帝之所以能够把“国度”赐给我们,因为他是君王。这就在那位供应我们一切需用的主身上,又加添了极其巨大的能力啦。“牧人”的言外之意就是提供保护和供应。“父亲”的意思就是指关爱、慈祥、权威、养育以及引领。“国王”的意思就是大能、主权以及财富。因此,假如我们能够把上帝当做牧者、父亲和国王而信靠,并且不再为着钱财和各样事物而恐惧担忧,那么,我们就能够彰显出在这种种的方面,上帝对于我们来说是何等真实和宝贵。我们就真的会明白,上帝是配得一切颂赞的。

第四,我们不惧怕,显明上帝的自由和慷慨。“你们这小群,不要惧怕,因为你们的父乐意把国赐给你们。”请注意,他“赐”给我们国度。而不是卖给我们、租给我们或借给我们。万有都归于他,他不用我们支付给他什么,因为我们想给他的,本来就是他的。“你有什么不是领受的呢”(林前4:7)。上帝是慷慨的,随意给我们丰富的供应。而当我们坦然无惧地信靠他,将我们的需要交托他,这就是尊崇他。

最后, 我们不惧怕,是显明我们因着上帝是乐意的神而珍爱他。

“你们这小群,不要惧怕,因为你们的父乐意把国赐给你们。”上帝乃是“高高兴兴的。”他的确乐意把国度赐给你。他很想这样,这让他很愉悦。现实中我们不都有这样的爸爸——喜欢赏赐,乐于给出而不是索取。但这无关紧要,因为你已经有了这样一位父亲,他还是牧者和君王。借着耶稣那使人与上帝和好的工作,你完全可以信靠神,以他为你的父,你就能充分享受这位父亲的慈爱了。

因此,这段经文中的第一个要点就是,我们应该把上帝当做牧者、父亲和君王来珍爱,他乐意把神的国度慷慨地赐给我们——赐给我们天堂,赐给我们永生和喜乐,还有天路上一切所需。如果我们能够按照这个方式珍爱上帝——信靠他——我们就会毫无惧怕,并且上帝也就会得着他所配得的敬拜。这就是其余经文以及下面讲道信息的根基所在。有这应许的基础,后续的那些事情才成为可能。

一个过简朴生活而不是拼命积蓄的冲动

第二个要点是:以这种方式来信靠上帝,就会让人渴望简朴生活,不再拼命积攒钱财。33节说:“你们要变卖所有的周济人,为自己预备永不坏的钱囊,用不尽的财宝在天上,就是贼不能近、虫不能蛀的地方。”

请大家注意“你们要变卖所(拥)有的”这句话,主耶稣是对谁说的呢?答案就在前面的22节:“耶稣又对门徒说。”他是对门徒说的。而这些门徒大都不是富人,没有多少家产。但他还是对他们说,“你们要变卖所有的。”他并没具体说要变卖多少。我们只知道《路加福音》18:22那里耶稣告诉那个富有的年轻人,“要变卖你一切所有的,分给穷人,就必有财宝在天上;你还要来跟从我。”耶稣说得很清楚,要变卖你“一切”所有的。当税吏撒该遇见耶稣,他说(路19:8),“主啊,我把所有的一半给穷人;我若讹诈了谁,就还他四倍。”撒该把所有资产的50%送给了穷人。《使徒行传》4:37又说,“巴拿巴……他有田地,也卖了,把价银拿来,放在使徒脚前。”巴拿巴至少变卖了一块田地的。

所以,圣经并没有告诉我们要卖多少产业,但提到要去变卖所拥有之物,到底是什么原因呢?捐献——用钱财传达真爱给那些生活和灵魂都有迫切需要的人——如此重要,以至于,你手头如果没有现金,就要去变卖家产来捐献。然而让我们再想想,根据上下文,这又是什么意思呢?这些门徒家境可不一定富有,好像虽然没钱,却有好多不动产和债卷一样。耶稣没有说,“拿出你们一些积蓄捐给穷人。”他说的乃是,“去变卖家产周济人。”为什么这么说?区别在哪里?最简单的假设就是, 这些门徒平常生活已经很贫困,勉强糊口而已,没有钱,不得不变卖某些东西,才能周济他人。而耶稣的意思就是希望自己的门徒,不去积蓄,简朴生活。

此处的要点是:基督徒的生命中,要有朝着简朴生活而非积攒钱财的方向努力的强烈冲动。这冲动源自对上帝的珍爱,并视他为牧者、父亲和君王,珍惜他胜于一切。而且这强烈冲动有两个原因。其一是耶稣说过,“有钱财的人 [原文直译,拥有许多资财物品的人] 进神的国是何等的难哪!”(路18:24)。另外,《路加福音》8:14耶稣说,钱财会把神的道挤住,结不出成熟的子粒来。但是我们想进入神国的渴望,当然远远超过拥有地上的财物,所以不愿神的道在我们生命中被挤住。因此我们选择简朴生活而不是积累财物。另一个原因是,我们想在世人面前彰显上帝的宝贵。而耶稣告诉我们,变卖物品周济穷人,正是一个很好的途径,向人展示上帝作为牧者、父亲和君王的真实和宝贵。

因此,这第二个要点就是:当我们把上帝当牧者、父亲和君王来信靠的时候,就会产生一个强烈的冲动,去过简朴的生活,而不是拼命去积攒钱财。而这样一来,就会在我们里面,从我们内心的隐秘处,带出对上帝的真实敬拜,并且会转化为一些可见的具体行动,让我们为着上帝的荣耀而生活。

尽量积财在天上而不是在地上

这段经文中第三个要点是,钱财的目的,乃是最大化地积财在天上而不是地上。再回到第33节,“你们要变卖所有的周济人,为自己预备永不坏的钱囊,用不尽的财宝在天上,就是贼不能近、虫不能蛀的地方。”在变卖所有的去周济穷人(经文前半部分),与为自己预备财宝在天上(经文后面部分)之间,到底有什么关系呢?

关联大概在这里:“为自己预备永不坏的钱囊,用不尽的财宝在天上”的目标,要借着“变卖所有的周济人”来达成。换言之,为了爱在地上简朴生活,会使你在天上的喜乐最大化。

切记这个强烈的观点!这正是耶稣一直思考和谈论的东西。有了属天的心意,必然给今生带来重大的因爱而生的改变。当人降服于真理,明白真正重要的不是地上的积累,而是天上的财宝,他就会整天想着节俭自己,服侍别人,节俭自己,服侍别人……就会乐意捐献捐献再捐献。当然啦,他们也会努力地、好好地不断工作,正如保罗在《以弗所书》4:28说的,“总要劳力,亲手做正经事,就可有余分给那缺少的人。”

而这与敬拜之间的联系乃是:耶稣吩咐我们积财在天上,是要我们在上帝里面享受最大的喜乐。他说,达成的方式,就是为他人的缘故变卖一切,过简朴生活。所以,他是要借我们在神里面寻求至高喜乐的愿望,鼓励我们节俭和服侍。这意味着,对钱财的使用,成为我们对上帝忠心程度的测试,看看我们对神的热爱,多大程度上超过对财物的贪爱。而这,就是敬拜的真意。

钟爱在哪里,心就转到哪里

现在到了最后一个要点,也来自这段经文:你心爱的在哪里,心就往哪里挪移,而上帝愿意你朝着他的方向挪动。第34节:“因为,你们的财宝在哪里,你们的心也在那里。”这句话是我们积财在天上的理由,“因为,你们的财宝在哪里,你们的心也在那里。”你的财宝要是在天上(上帝所在之处),你的心也会在那里。

那么,这节貌似简单的经文到底什么意思呢?我觉得,“财宝”是指“钟爱的对象。”而“心”乃是指“钟爱者。”这样经文的意思就是:“你钟爱的对象在哪里,你就在那里。”你钟爱的对象若是天上的神,你的心就跟他在一起,时刻与神同在。但是,你钟爱的对象若是地上的钱物,那么你的心也在地上。你就属地,与神隔绝了。

这也正是《路加福音》16:13的意思,“一个仆人不能事奉两个主;不是恶这个爱那个,就是重这个轻那个。你们不能又事奉神,又事奉玛门(钱财)。”事奉钱财,意思就是爱钱,竭力追逐财利,心跟着钱财走。而事奉神,就意味着爱上帝,竭力追求上帝所赐的一切利益,心随着上帝跳动。

而心中珍爱上帝,并且努力寻求他,超越一切财宝,这就是敬拜他!。

捐献——敬拜的行为

结束讲道之前,我想结合崇拜时“奉献”的环节,简单回顾一下这四个要点。这个环节和这个行为,就是你敬拜的表现,无论奉献多少——从那位寡妇的两个小钱到百万富翁的巨额捐款——只要捐献时心里说:1)父神啊,我信靠你,你乐意慷慨地做我的牧者、父亲和君王,所以尽管贫穷,我也不担心,仍然慷慨奉献;2)我要努力抵挡世俗压力,不去拼命追求财富,反而凭着感动,为他人的益处过简朴生活;3)我不要积财在地上,而要积财在天上,让我在神里面的喜乐达到极致;并且4)借着捐献,我要宣称,我的财宝在天上,我的心也必定永远追随上帝。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Magnifying God with Money

Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has chosen gladly to give you the kingdom. (33) Sell your possessions and give to charity; make yourselves money belts which do not wear out, an unfailing treasure in heaven, where no thief comes near nor moth destroys. (34) For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

The inner essence of worship is the treasuring of God as infinitely valuable above everything. The outer forms of worship are the acts that show how much we treasure God. Therefore all of life is meant to be worship because God said whether you eat or drink or whatever you do - all of life - do it all to show how valuable the glory of God is to you (1 Corinthians 10:31). Money and things are a big part of life, and therefore God intends them to be a big part of worship - since all of life is to be worship. So the way you worship with your money and your possessions is to get them and use them and lose them in a way that shows how much you treasure God - not money. That's what this text is about. And so it is really a text about worship.

Now there is a place for corporate worship - what we do here together on Sunday morning. And the same definitions hold here as everywhere else: the essence of worship here is the inner treasuring of God as infinitely valuable. And the forms of worship are the acts that express this inner treasuring of God (preaching and hearing the word of God, praying, singing, giving, sharing the Lord's Supper, and so on). One of those acts of corporate worship here at Bethlehem is what we call "the offering" - a point near the middle of our corporate worship where we worship with our money, by putting it out of our hands and our banks, and into the mission and ministry of Christ.

So this particular act of worship in the corporate worship service is one small part of the larger pattern of worship with our money that we do every day in the way we earn and spend and save and give our money. Today's text, Luke 12:32-34, has to do with the big pattern of how we worship with our money, and so by implication it relates to what we do with our money in corporate worship as well. So let's look at some of the main points in this text, and let it apply to our lives in general and to our corporate giving in particular.

Do Not Fear

The first point of the text (in verse 32) is that God commands us not to fear when it comes to money and things. Don't worry, don't be afraid. "Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has chosen gladly to give you the kingdom." But there is another way to say the point that goes deeper. The reason God wants us not to be afraid concerning money and things is because that would magnify five great things about him. Not being afraid would echo how much we treasure these five things about God. In other words, not being afraid would become a beautiful inner act of worship.

First, not being afraid shows that we treasure God as our Shepherd. "Do not be afraid, little flock." We are his flock and he is our Shepherd. And if he is our Shepherd, then Psalm 23 applies: "The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want" - that is, I shall not lack anything I really need. Not fearing magnifies the preciousness of our Shepherd.

Second, not being afraid shows that we treasure God as our Father. "Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has chosen gladly to give you the kingdom." We are not only his little flock; we are also his children, and he is our Father. The significance of that is clear from verse 30, "All these things the nations of the world eagerly seek; but your Father knows that you need these things." In other words, your Father really cares and really knows what you need and will work for you to be sure that you have what you need. (Beware of dictating to God what you think "need" is instead of learning what he thinks "need" is!)

Third, not being afraid shows that we treasure God as King. "Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has chosen gladly to give you the kingdom." He can give us the "kingdom" because he is the King. This adds a tremendous element of power to the one who provides for us. "Shepherd" connotes protection and provision. "Father" connotes love and tenderness and authority and provision and guidance. "King" connotes power and sovereignty and wealth. So if we will trust God as Shepherd and Father and King, and not be afraid about money and things, then we will show how real and precious God is to us in all these ways. God will be worshipped.

Fourth, not being afraid shows how free and generous God is. "Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has chosen gladly to give you the kingdom." Notice, he gives the kingdom. He doesn't sell the kingdom or rent the kingdom or lease the kingdom. He gives it. He is infinitely wealthy and does not need our payments. Anything we would try to give him would already be his anyway. "What do you have that you did not receive?" (1 Corinthians 4:7). So God is generous and free with his bounty. And this is what we magnify about him when we are not afraid but trust him with our needs.

Finally, not being afraid shows that we treasure God as happy. "Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has chosen gladly to give you the kingdom." It is "good pleasure." It "pleases" him to give you the kingdom. He wants to do this. It makes him glad to do it. Not all of us had fathers like this - who loved to give us things, who were made happy by giving instead of getting. But that does not matter, because now you can have such a Father, and Shepherd, and King. Trust him as your Father through the reconciling work of Jesus, and you will find him to be your Father.

So the first point from this text is that we should treasure God as our Shepherd and Father and King who is generous and happy to give us the kingdom of God - to give us heaven, to give us eternal life and joy, and everything we need to get there. If we treasure God in this way - if we trust him - we will be fearless and God will be worshipped. This is the foundation of all the rest of this text and this sermon. What is coming is possible because of this promise.

An Impulse Toward Simplicity Rather than Accumulation

The second point is this: trusting God in this way carries a strong impulse toward simplicity rather than accumulation. Verse 33: "Sell your possessions and give to charity; make yourselves money belts which do not wear out, an unfailing treasure in heaven, where no thief comes near nor moth destroys."

Focus for a moment on the words, "Sell your possessions." Who was he talking to? Verse 22 gives the answer: "Then Jesus said to his disciples." Now these people were by and large not wealthy. They didn't have a lot of possessions. But still he says, "Sell your possessions." He doesn't say how many possessions to sell. To the rich ruler in Luke 18:22 Jesus said, "Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me." Sell all your possessions. When Zaccheus met Jesus, he said (Luke 19:8), "Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out of anything, I will pay back four times the amount." So Zaccheus gave fifty percent of his possessions. In Acts 4:37 it says, "Barnabas sold a field he owned and brought the money and put it at the apostles' feet." So he sold at least one field.

So the Bible doesn't tell us how many possessions to sell. But why does it say sell possessions at all? Why? Giving alms - using your money to show love for those without the necessities of life and without the gospel (the necessity of eternal life) - is so important that if you don't have any liquid assets to give, you should sell something so you can give. But now think what this means in context. These disciples are not cash-poor rich people whose money is all tied up in bonds or real estate. Most people like that do, in fact, usually have fairly deep savings. But Jesus didn't say, "Take some of your savings and give alms." He said, "Sell something, and give alms." Why? The simplest assumption is that these folks lived close enough to the edge that they did not have cash to give and had to sell something so they could give. And Jesus wanted his people to move toward simplification, not accumulation.

So what's the point? The point is that there is a powerful impulse in the Christian life toward simplicity rather than accumulation. The impulse comes from treasuring God as Shepherd and Father and King more than we treasure all our possessions. And the impulse is a strong impulse for two reasons. One is that Jesus said, "How hard it is for the rich (literally: those who have things) to enter the kingdom of God!" (Luke 18:24). In Luke 8:14 Jesus said that riches "choke" the word of God. But we want to enter the kingdom vastly more than we want things. And we don't want the word of God choked in our lives. So there is a strong impulse to simplify rather than accumulate. The other reason is that we want the preciousness of God to be manifest to the world. And Jesus tells us here that selling things and giving alms is one way to show that God is real and precious as Shepherd, Father and King.

So the second point is that trusting God as Shepherd, Father and King carries a strong impulse toward simplicity rather than accumulation. And this brings worship out from the inner, hidden place of the heart into more visible actions for the glory of God.

Maximizing our Treasure in Heaven, Not on the Earth

The third point from this text is that the purpose of money is to maximize our treasure in heaven, not on the earth. Verse 33 again: "Sell your possessions and give to charity; make yourselves money belts which do not wear out, an unfailing treasure in heaven, where no thief comes near nor moth destroys." What's the connection between selling possessions here so you can meet the needs of others (the first part of the verse), and accumulating treasure in heaven for yourself (at the end of the verse)?

The connection seems to be: the way you make money belts which don't get holes and the way you gather treasures in heaven that never fail is by selling your possessions to meet the needs of others. In other words, simplifying for the sake of love on earth maximizes your joy in heaven.

Don't miss this utterly radical point. It's the way Jesus thinks and talks all the time. Being heavenly-minded makes a radically loving difference in this world. The people who are most powerfully persuaded that what matters is treasure in heaven, not big accumulations of money here, are the people who will constantly dream of ways to simplify and serve, simplify and serve, simplify and serve. They will give and give and give. And of course they will work and work and work, as Paul says in Ephesians 4:28, "so that [they] may have something to share with those in need."

The connection with worship is this: Jesus commands us to accumulate treasure in heaven, that is, to maximize our joy in God. He says that the way to do this is to sell and simplify for the sake of others. So he motivates simplicity and service by our desire to maximize our joy in God. Which means that all of our use of money becomes a manifestation of how much we delight in God above money and things. And that is worship.

Your Heart Moves Toward What You Cherish

Now the last point this morning from the text is this: your heart moves toward what you cherish, and God wants you to move toward him. Verse 34: "For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also." This is given as the reason why we should pursue treasure in heaven that does not fail: "For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also." If your treasure is in heaven where God is, then that is where your heart will be also.

Now what is this seemingly simple verse really saying? The word "treasure" I take to mean "the object cherished." And the word "heart" I take to mean, "the organ that cherishes." So read the verse like this: "Where the object that you cherish is, there will be the organ that cherishes." If the object you cherish is God in heaven, your heart will be with God in heaven. You will be with God. But if the object that you cherish is money and things on the earth, then your heart will be on the earth. You will be on the earth, cut off from God.

This is what Jesus meant in Luke 16:13 when he said, "No servant can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money." To serve money is to cherish money and pursue all the benefits money can give. The heart goes after money. But to serve God means to cherish God and to pursue all the benefits God can give. The heart goes after God.

And that is worship: the heart's cherishing God and seeking him as the treasure above all treasures.

The Offering - An Act of Worship

I close by simply relating these four points to the corporate act of worship we call "the offering." This moment and this act in our service will be worship for you, regardless of the amount - from the widow's mite to the millionaire's thousands - if by giving you say from the heart: 1) I hereby trust you, God, as my happy, generous Shepherd, Father and King, so that I will not be afraid when I have less money for myself in supplying the needs of others; 2) I hereby resist the incredible pressure in our culture to accumulate more and more and cast my lot with the impulse to simplicity for the sake of others; 3) I hereby lay up treasure in heaven and not on earth so that my joy in God will be maximized forever; and 4) with this offering I declare that since my treasure is in heaven, my heart goes after God.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org