神就照着自己的形像造男造女

“神说:「我们要照着我们的形像、按着我们的样式造人,使他们管理海里的鱼、空中的鸟、地上的牲畜,和全地,并地上所爬的一切昆虫。」神就照着自己的形像造人,乃是照着他的形像造男造女。神就赐福给他们,又对他们说:「要生养众多,遍满地面,治理这地,也要管理海里的鱼、空中的鸟,和地上各样行动的活物。」”

今天我们一起来思考这段经文中的三件事情。第一个是,上帝创造了人类;第二个是,上帝乃是照着他自己的形象创造了我们;第三个是,上帝造男造女。

某些人可能也相信这三个真理,却依然不是基督徒。毕竟,这几个真理在旧约中有直接明确的教导。因此,一位相信圣经权威的良善的犹太人,也会接受这些真理。但是,尽管相信这三条真理不一定是基督徒,但这些真理却实在是指向基督教的。它们都要在基督的工作中才能成全。我想跟大家分享的就是这个,尤其是第三条真理——神照自己的形象造我们,并且造男造女。

1. 上帝创造了人类

我们先来看第一个真理:人类被上帝创造。我想这里需要解释。为什么他要创造我们?你造某样东西一定有个理由的。但是,我们这个世界是否为这个问题提供了理由充足的答案呢?旧约圣经提到,人类要去治理整个世界。又说,造人是为彰显上帝的荣耀(赛43:7)。经文还提到,认识耶和华的荣耀的知识,要遍满全地。

但是,我们看到的真实情况是怎样的呢?我们看到的是背叛造物主的世界,是旧约中留下的一个远未结束的创造故事,以及对将来荣耀所怀的期盼。因此,相信上帝创造了人类,按照犹太经卷教导的那种方式,诚然是要引出下面的情节——基督教的故事。唯有在基督里,创造的目的才能真正达成。

2. 上帝照着他的形象创造了我们

或者,以第二个真理为例:上帝照他的形象造了我们,所以我们的存在意义,必然于此相关。上帝造我们,必然有某种美好的目的——事实上,我们不是青蛙、蜥蜴、飞鸟或者猴子,我们是人,是照上帝的形象被造的,我们是独特的,任何动物都不能与我们相比。

但是,我们有极大的尊严,却把世界搞得一团糟。我们真的像神吗?嗯,可以说 “是”也“不是”。是,因为即使有罪和不守信,我们依然有与神相似的地方。怎么知道这情况呢,因为《创世记》9:6那里上帝对挪亚说,“凡流人血的,他的血也必被人所流,因为神造人是照自己的形像造的。”换言之,即使在一个罪恶世界里(比如到处是谋杀),人类依然有上帝的形象,你绝不能随意杀人,像对老鼠和蚊子那样。如果你杀人,就等于自害己命了。(参雅3:9。)

但是,看看自己,我们还是上帝创造时那样吗?这形象被糟蹋得几乎认不出来了,难道不是吗?你觉得按应有的样子,你还像上帝吗?所以再一次,神照自己的形象造人的信念,让我们期待着复原自己的形象——借助救赎,更新和再造,而这正是基督教所做的。“你们得救是本乎恩,也因着信;这并不是出于自己,乃是神所赐的; 也不是出于行为,免得有人自夸。 我们原是他的工作,在基督耶稣里造成的,为要叫我们行善,就是神所预备叫我们行的。…… 并且穿上新人;这新人是照着神的形像造的,有真理的仁义和圣洁。”(弗2:8–10; 4:24)。上帝照着他的形象创造了我们,但我们严重扭曲了这形象,而耶稣正是来解决这个问题。他凭着信心降临人世,赦免、洁净我们,并且开始恢复我们,“成圣,”就是恢复起初上帝赐给人的荣耀,因为这本是神的心意。所以,既然我们知道自己是按上帝的形象造的,就要赶快解决罪恶和败坏的问题,怎么解决?耶稣就是答案。

3. 上帝造男造女

这段经文中第三个真理就是,上帝把我们造成男人和女人,这同样指向基督教,并且也期待在基督里得以完全。何以见得?这事实至少在两方面可以证明,一个来自于婚姻的奥秘,另一个则来自历史上那个被罪玷污的男女关系的丑陋性。

婚姻的奥秘

先说婚姻的奥秘。《创世记》2:24,紧接在女人被造的描述之后,摩西(该书作者)说,“因此,人要离开父母,与妻子连合,二人成为一体。”而当使徒保罗在《以弗所书》5:31引用这节经文的时候说,“这是极大的奥秘,但我是指着基督和教会说的。”并且,借着这个线索,保罗揭示了婚姻的意义:它象征基督对教会的爱,是借着丈夫对妻子的爱里的引领(headship,丈夫是妻子的头)来代表的;同时,这又是教会对基督乐意顺服的象征,借着妻子对丈夫的顺服来代表的。

保罗称《创世记》2:24前半句经文为“奥秘,”乃是因为上帝在创造世界之初,还没有清楚启示男女间婚姻的目的。尽管旧约也有些线索和指引,把上帝和子民之间比作婚姻关系。但是,只有到基督道成肉身,来到人间之后,婚姻的奥秘才得以很细致地揭示。婚姻的意义,就在于它描绘出基督跟他的百姓之间的盟约关系,亦即基督对于教会的委身。

你看明白了吗?上帝创造了男女,设立了婚姻,作为一个特殊关系,男人要离开父母,与妻子连合,进入彼此委身的盟约中——这个创造和设立婚姻的行动,是如何预期基督和教会的显明呢?这些行动诚然是在期待基督教的出现,好把婚姻的奥秘彻底启示出来。

很多人包括基督徒,都会对这个说法感到奇怪,因为婚姻不只属于基督教,也是世俗制度。不止基督教社会有婚姻,任何地方都有。所以我们可能觉得其他社会文化中的婚姻不会是基督与教会奥秘的象征。但其实呢,它们也是!任何人在男女组成的婚姻关系里存在,都是在呼唤基督的彰显,好叫基督在跟教会的关系中显明。基督教帮助我们对婚约关系获得整全深入的认识。

我来给你描绘一幅图画,再请你从一个不同的角度来观察它。这图画就是,基督将会再临。人们看见他怎样升天,也会看到他怎样裂天而降,这是天使预告的。因此,我们来想象那一天的情况吧。天开了,号筒吹响了,人子有大能力,在极大的荣耀中驾云降临,伴随着他的有千万的天使,如同烈日熠熠生辉。他们奉命从地的四方召聚选民,在基督里死去的圣徒也从死里复活。他要赐给他的百姓和自己一样新的荣耀的身体,并且要在眨眼之间,就把我们这些剩下的人都转变,好叫我们与那荣耀相称。

多年之后,基督的新妇(就是教会!)终于预备好了,完全了,于是他以不变的恩爱,挽着她的手,徐徐走来,羔羊的婚宴就要开始。他站在桌前,这时,千万圣徒霎时静默。他开口了,“亲爱的,这,就是婚姻的意义。就是万事万物所指向的目标。这就是我创造男人和女人,并且设立了婚姻盟约的原因。从今以后,再没有嫁娶,因为真的到来,先前的影子就归于无有了。”(参见可12:25;路20:34-36)。

现在来回顾一下,我们所做的,就是尝试去明白第三个真理,上帝照自己的形象造人,并且造男造女,这乃是指向基督,并要在基督教里才能成就的。并且照我说的,要借着两个方式达成。其一,借着婚姻这个奥秘。造人的时候分为男女,就为婚姻的设立提供了一个必须的框架。没有男女,谈不上婚姻。并且,只有明白了它隐含着基督与教会的关系,婚姻核心的真意才能被理解。

因此,造男造女乃是指向婚姻的,而婚姻则是指向基督和教会的。所以,若非有了基督教,我们对于上帝照他的形象造男造女的信念,依然不能完全,反过来说,正是基督和他为教会所做出的救赎行为,才使创造的美意彻底成就。

历史上男女关系之丑陋性

我还提到过,有另外一个途径可以认识,照着上帝的形象造男造女是指向基督教的,并且要在基督教里才能够成全,这个途径就是,通过认识人类历史上男女之间丑陋的关系来明白这个道理。

罪进入世界的时候,在男人和女人的关系方面,带来了毁灭性的破坏。亚当偷吃禁果后,上帝问他到底发生了什么事。亚当回答(创3:12),“你所赐给我、与我同居的女人,她把那树上的果子给我,我就吃了。”换句话说,这是女人的过错(或者干脆说是上帝的过错,因为女人是上帝赐的!),因此,若说谁要为吃禁果而背负死罪,当然是那个女人!

我们在这里已经看到所有家庭暴力的起源,包括一切虐待妻子的行为,各类强奸犯罪,各样性关系方面的玷污,以及对于照着神的形象所造的女人的各种方式的贬斥。

《创世记》3:16宣告了对犯罪堕落的男人和女人的咒诅。上帝对女人所说的是,“我必多多加增你怀胎的苦楚;你生产儿女必多受苦楚。你必恋慕你丈夫;你丈夫必管辖你。”换句话说,犯罪带来的咒诅,乃是在两性之间产生冲突。这节经文并不是描述“事情应该怎样”,而是对在罪中被咒诅的人,会向怎样的方向发展,所作的前瞻性的描述。一群控制欲极强的霸道的男人,和桀傲不驯的卑劣的女人——但这并不是上帝照着自己的形象所造的男人与女人该有的样式,而是罪的丑陋嘴脸。

那么,这丑陋性是如何指向基督教的呢?因为它企望着基督教带来的医治,也就是对男女关系的根本医治。如果上帝是照着他的形象造男造女,那就隐含着男女之间的平等性,包括在其尊严方面的平等,彼此的尊重,和谐,互补性,以及合一的前景和命运。但是,在世界历史上,我们在哪里能实现这愿望呢?只有在耶稣带来的医治和重建中,才能够实现。

对于耶稣带来的医治的两个观察

要说的很多,我今天只能讨论两个方面。

3.1. 被造之男人和女人的命运

首先,《彼得前书》3:7说,信主的丈夫和妻子,乃是“一同承受生命之恩的。”他这样说是什么意思呢?意思是,在基督里,男人和女人能够恢复当初上帝创造时所赐的形象,重新达成上帝造男造女的心意;意思是,男人和女人一起,能够最好地反射出上帝的荣耀,并且可以成为共同的继承人,去承受上帝的荣耀。

按照上帝的形象造男造女(加上你对于罪的认识),必然期待着该关系被医治和完善,而这只能借助于基督那改变人心的更新工作,以及基督替罪人买赎的产业。基督从罪恶当中,恢复了这个现实:男人和女人乃是生命之恩的共同承受者。

3.2. 男人与女人单身的意义

关于基督扭转局面,克服男女之间争战的丑陋性,帮助实现上帝照着他的形象所造的男女的美好命定,在《哥林多前书》7章里有美好的叙述。在那里,保罗提出了某些当时看来非常激进、叫人很难相信的理论:“ 我对着没有嫁娶的和寡妇说,若他们常像我就好。…… 没有娶妻的,是为主的事挂虑,想怎样叫主喜悦。…… 没有出嫁的,是为主的事挂虑,要身体、灵魂都圣洁;…… 我说这话是为你们的益处,不是要牢笼你们,乃是要叫你们行合宜的事,得以殷勤服事主,没有分心的事”(林前7:8, 32–35)。

看到其中隐含的意思了吗?基督带来的医治(就是对那些按照上帝的形象被造的男女进行的医治),不再必须倚靠婚姻才能达成。事实上,保罗个人的经历,他的单身状况(还有耶稣作为单身人士的模范)让他明白,单身男女可以在对主的委身方面,做到非常的单纯和专一,而那种纯粹程度,往往是结婚的圣徒不能达到的。

换个方式说:婚姻,是这个世代的暂时性制度,到死人复活的时候为止。婚姻的本质意义,就是预表基督跟教会的关系。当那被预表的现实本身来到,我们熟知的这种预表,就被弃置了。在那将来的世代中,不再有嫁娶。而那些守独身、委身给主的人,同样会在羔羊的婚宴上坐席,并且照样完全,一同承受生命之恩。而且,因着对主的彻底委身和所付出的牺牲,他们会得到特别的奖赏,他们获得的美妙情感、关系和诸般喜乐,将会超乎一切的的想象!

总结

好,我把以上所说的,做点总结。

  1. 上帝创造了人类。而旧约圣经记载的这个奇妙故事,需要基督教来补充,才能真正给我们明白上帝的心意。若没有基督的工作,上帝在创造中的目的就不能完成。
  2. 上帝乃是照着他的形象创造了我们。但是我们却严重扭曲和损毁了这个形象,几乎到了无法辨别的地步。因此,这真理必须企望基督教的诞生和完善,才能成全,因为耶稣要做重建的功夫,也就是让我们成为“在基督里新造的人。”这形象乃是在仁义和圣洁中被重建。
  3. 上帝照着他的形象造了我们,并且造男造女。而这同样期待着在基督教的真理中成全。没有人能够完全了解婚姻中男女角色的真实意义,除非他们明白这一点:婚姻乃是基督和教会关系的写照;没人明白照着上帝形象被造的男女,他们真正的命运是什么,除非认识到男人和女人是一同承受生命之恩的;最后,没人全然领悟,照着上帝形象被造的男女,单身生活的意义何在,除非他们从基督身上学习到,在将来的世代,不会再有嫁娶,所以作为拥有上帝形象的男女,他们荣耀的命定,不必都靠婚姻来成就,而要看各人对主的忠诚与奉献之程度。

所以,让我们来持守这些真理吧:上帝创造了你;他照自己的形象造你;并且他把你造成男人或女人,好叫你能彻底、热烈、单一地把自己献给主。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Male and Female He Created Them in the Image of God

Then God said, "Let us make man in our image, after our likeness; and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creeps upon the earth." So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them. And God blessed them, and God said to them, "Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth and subdue it; and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the air and over every living thing that moves upon the earth."

I want to think with you this morning about three things taught in this text. One is that God created human beings. The second is that God created us in his image. The third is that God created us male and female.

It is possible to believe these three truths and not be a Christian. After all they are all taught right here in the Jewish Scriptures. Therefore a good Scripture-believing Jew would accept these truths. But even though you can believe these three truths and not be a Christian, all of them point to Christianity. They all beg for the completion that comes with the work and Christ. That's what I want to talk about, especially in regard to the third truth—that we are created in God's image as male and female.

1. God Created Human Beings

Let's take the first truth: that human beings have been created by God. I think this begs for an explanation. WHY did he create us? When you make something, you have a reason for making it. But does the world as we know it give an adequate answer to that question? The Old Testament speaks of man bringing the world under his dominion. It speaks of being created to show forth God's glory (Isaiah 43:7). It speaks of the earth being filled with the knowledge of the glory of the Lord.

But what do we see? We see a world in rebellion against the Creator. We see the Jewish Scriptures coming to an end with the story of creation utterly unfinished and the hope of glory still to come. So just believing that God created human beings the way the Jewish Scriptures teach that he did begs for the rest of the story to be told, namely, Christianity. Only in Christ can the purpose of creation be achieved.

2. God Created Us in His Image

Or take the second truth for example: God created us in his image. Surely this must have something to do with why we are here. His purpose in making us must have something wonderful to do with the fact that we are not frogs or lizards or birds or even monkeys. We are human beings in the image of God, we alone and no other animal.

But what a mess we have made of this awesome dignity. Are we like God? Well, yes and no. Yes, we are like God, even sinful and unbelieving there is a likeness. We know this because in Genesis 9:6 God said to Noah, "Whoever sheds the blood of man, by man shall his blood be shed; for God made man in his own image." In other words, even in a world where sin abounds (with the likes of murder) human beings are still in the image of God. They may not be killed like mice and mosquitoes. You forfeit your life if you murder a human being. (See James 3:9.)

But are we the image God made us to be? Is not the image marred sometimes almost beyond recognition? Do you feel that you are like God in the way you should be? So here again the belief that we were created in God's image begs for a completion—in this case a redemption, a transformation, a kind of re-creation. And that is exactly what Christianity brings. "By grace are you saved through faith; and this is not your own doing, it is the gift of God—not of works, lest any man should boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works . . . Put on the new nature created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness" (Ephesians 2:8–10; 4:24). God created us in his image, but we have marred it almost beyond recognition and Jesus is the answer. He comes by faith, he forgives, he cleanses, and he begins a reclamation project called sanctification that will end in the glory that God intended for human beings in the first place. Therefore since we know that we were created in the image of God, our sin and corruption begs for an answer. And Jesus is the answer.

3. God Created Us Male and Female

The third truth in these verses is that God created us male and female. And this too points to Christianity and begs for the completion of Christ. How? In two ways at least. One comes from the mystery of marriage. The other comes from the historical ugliness of male-female relationships in sin.

The Mystery of Marriage

Take the mystery of marriage. In Genesis 2:24, right after the account of how woman was created, Moses (the writer of Genesis) says, "Therefore a man leaves his father and his mother and cleaves to his wife, and they become one flesh." Now when the apostle Paul quotes this verse in Ephesians 5:31, he says, "This is a great mystery, and I say it refers to Christ and the church." And, with that as his clue, he unfolds the meaning of marriage: it's a symbol of Christ's love for the church represented in the husband's loving headship toward his wife; and it's a symbol of the church's glad submission to Christ represented in the wife's relation to her husband.

He calls Genesis 2:24 a "mystery" because God did not reveal clearly all his purposes for the marriage of male and female in Genesis. There were hints and pointers in the Old Testament that marriage was like the relation of God and his people. But only when Christ came did the mystery of marriage get spelled out in detail. It is meant to be a portrait of Christ's covenant with his people, his commitment to the church.

Do you see, then, how God's creating man as male and female and then ordaining marriage as the relationship in which a male leaves mother and father and cleaves to his wife in covenant commitment—how this act of creation and this ordinance of marriage beg for the revelation of Christ and his church. They beg for Christianity as the revelation of the mystery.

This is a very foreign thought to most people, even most Christians, because marriage is a secular institution as well as a Christian one. You find it in all cultures, not just in Christian societies. So we are not prone to think of all the non-Christian marriages that we know as mysterious symbols of Christ's relation to the church. But they are, and our very existence as male and female in marriage cries out for Christ to make himself known in his relation to the church. Christianity completes our comprehension of the marriage covenant.

Let me paint a picture for you here and give it a twist that you may not have thought of before. Christ is coming again to this earth. Even as you saw him go, he will come again, the angels said. So imagine that day with me. The heavens are opened and the trumpet sounds and the Son of Man appears on the clouds with power and great glory and with tens of thousands of holy angels shining like the sun. He sends them out to gather his elect from the four winds and raises from the dead those who died in Christ. He gives them new and glorious bodies like his own, and transforms the rest of us in the twinkling of an eye to be fit for glory.

The age-long preparation of the bride of Christ (the church!) is finally complete and he takes her arm, as it were, and leads her to the table. The marriage supper of the Lamb has come. He stands at the head of the table and a great silence falls over the millions of saints. And he says, "This, my beloved, was the meaning of marriage. This is what it all pointed toward. This is why I created you male and female and ordained the covenant of marriage. Henceforth there will be no more marriage and giving in marriage, for the final reality has come and the shadow can pass away" (see Mark 12:25; Luke 20:34–36).

Now recall what we are doing: we are trying to see that the third truth, God created us in his image as male and female, points to Christianity as its completion. And I said it does this in two ways. The first was by the mystery of marriage. The creation of human beings as male and female provides the necessary framework in creation for the ordinance of marriage. You could not have marriage without male and female. And the meaning of marriage is not known in its essence or fullness until we see it as a parable of Christ's relationship to the church.

So creation as male and female points to marriage and marriage points to Christ and the church. And therefore the belief that God created us in his image as male and female is not complete without Christianity—without Christ and his saving work for the church.

The Historical Ugliness of Male-Female Relationships

Now I said that there was another way that the creation of male and female in God's image points to Christianity as the necessary completion, namely, from its distortion in the historical ugliness of male-female relationships. Let me try to explain.

When sin entered the world, the effect on our relationship as male and female was devastating. God comes to Adam after he had eaten the forbidden fruit and asks what has happened. Adam says in Genesis 3:12, "The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree and I ate." In other words it is her fault (or yours for giving her to me!), so if somebody must die for eating the fruit, it better be her!

There you have the beginning of all domestic violence, all wife abuse, all rape, all sexual slurs, all the ways of belittling woman whom God created in his own image.

Genesis 3:16 pronounces a curse on fallen man and woman like this: to the woman God says, "I will greatly multiply your pain in childbearing; in pain you shall bring forth children, yet your desire shall be for your husband, and he shall rule over you." In other words the result of sin and the curse of our age is conflict between the sexes. This verse is not a description of the way things should be. This is a description of the cursed way things are going to be while sin reigns. Dominating men and devious women. This is not the meaning of male and female in God's image. It is the ugliness of sin.

Now how does this ugliness point to Christianity? It points to Christianity because it begs for the healing that Christianity brings to the relationship between men and women. If God created us in his image AS MALE AND FEMALE, that implies equality of personhood, equality of dignity, mutual respect, harmony, complementarity, a unified destiny. But where is all this in the history of the world? It's in the healing that Jesus brings.

Two Observations About the Healing Jesus Brings 

There is so much to say here. But let me just mention two things.

3.1. The Destiny of Being Created Male and Female

First, Peter says in 1 Peter 3:7, that a Christian husband and wife are "fellow heirs of the grace of life." What does this mean? It means that in Christ men and women recover what was meant by being created male and female in God's image. It means that together as male and female they are to image-forth the glory of God and together as fellow-heirs they are to inherit the glory of God.

Creation as male and female in God's image (when you see it alongside sin) begs for the completion of the healing that comes with the transforming work of Christ and the inheritance he purchased for sinners. Christ recovers from sin the reality that male and female are fellow-heirs of the grace of life.

3.2. The Meaning of Singleness as Male and Female

The other thing to mention about the way Christ turns things around and overcomes the ugliness of our warfare and fulfills the destiny of being created male and female in the image of God is found in 1 Corinthians 7. There Paul says something almost unbelievably radical for that day: "To the unmarried and widows I say that it is well for them to remain single as I do . . . the unmarried man is anxious about the affairs of the Lord and how to please the Lord . . . the unmarried woman is anxious about the affairs of the Lord and how to be holy in body and spirit . . . I say this . . . not to lay any restraint upon you, but to . . . secure your undivided devotion to the Lord" (1 Corinthians 7:8, 32–35).

Do you see what this implies? It implies that the healing which Jesus brings to male and female created in God's image is not dependent on marriage. In fact Paul's experience as a single man (and the model of Jesus as a single man) taught him that there is a kind of single-minded devotion to the Lord possible to the single man or woman that is not usually the portion of married saints.

Another way to say it is this: marriage is a temporary institution for this age until the resurrection of the dead. The essence of its meaning and purpose is to represent Christ's relation to the church. But when the reality comes, the representation as we know it will be laid aside. And there will be neither marriage nor giving in marriage in the age to come. And those who have been single and devoted to the Lord will sit down at the marriage supper of the Lamb as full fellow-heirs of the grace of life. And according to their devotion to the Lord and their sacrifices they will be rewarded with affections and relationships and joys beyond all imagination.

Summary 

So let me sum up what we have seen.

  1. God created human beings. And as the Old Testament closes, this awesome fact demands the rest of the story, Christianity, to make sense out of what God was up to. His purposes in creation are incomplete without the work of Christ.
  2. God created us IN HIS IMAGE. But we have marred the image so badly it is scarcely recognizable. Therefore this truth begs for the completion of Christianity because what Jesus does is reclaim what has been lost. It is called a "new creation in Christ." The image is restored in righteousness and holiness.
  3. God created us in his image AS MALE AND FEMALE. And this too begs for completion in the truth of Christianity. No one can fully grasp what it means to be male and female in marriage until they see that marriage is meant to portray Christ and the church. And no one can know the true destiny of being created male and female in God's image until they know that male and female are fellow heirs of the grace of life. And finally no one can fully understand the meaning of singleness as male and female in God's image until they learn from Christ that in the age to come there will be no marriage, and therefore the glorious destiny of being male and female in God's image is not dependent on marriage, but on devotion to the Lord.

Therefore dwell on these truths: God created you; he created you in his image; and he created you male or female that you might be utterly and radically and uniquely devoted to the Lord.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org