婚姻显明上帝守约之恩

“你们从前在过犯和未受割礼的肉体中死了,神赦免了你们(或作:我们)一切过犯,便叫你们与基督一同活过来; 14 又涂抹了在律例上所写攻击我们,有碍于我们的字据,把他撤去,钉在十字架上。15 既将一切执政的、掌权的掳来,明显给众人看,就仗着十字架夸胜。……3:12 所以,你们既是神的选民,圣洁蒙爱的人,就要存(原文作穿;下同)怜悯、恩慈、谦虚、温柔、忍耐的心。13 倘若这人与那人有嫌隙,总要彼此包容,彼此饶恕;主怎样饶恕了你们,你们也要怎样饶恕人。14 在这一切之外,要存着爱心,爱心就是联络全德的。15 又要叫基督的平安在你们心里作主;你们也为此蒙召,归为一体;且要存感谢的心。16 当用各样的智慧,把基督的道理丰丰富富的存在心里,(或作:当把基督的道理丰丰富富的存在心里,以各样的智慧),用诗章、颂词、灵歌,彼此教导,互相劝戒,心被恩感,歌颂神。17 无论做什么,或说话或行事,都要奉主耶稣的名,藉着他感谢父神。18 你们作妻子的,当顺服自己的丈夫,这在主里面是相宜的。19 你们作丈夫的,要爱你们的妻子,不可苦待他们。”

过去两个星期的信息中,我们已经讲到,婚姻从本质上说,是上帝的作为,而其终极目的就是上帝的彰显。对此,摩西已经在《创世记》第二章里阐明。而在新约中,这两个观点借着耶稣和保罗的论述,变得更加清楚了。

耶稣:婚姻是上帝的作为

耶稣说得很清楚,婚姻乃是上帝的作为。《马可福音》10:6-9说,“但从起初创造的时候,‘神造人是造男造女’(创1:27)。‘因此,人要离开父母,与妻子连合,二人成为一体’(创2:24)。既然如此,夫妻不再是两个人,乃是一体的了。所以神配合的,人不可分开。”这是圣经中关于婚姻关系最清楚的陈述,指出婚姻不仅是人的行为。“神配合的”这几个字的意思是,婚姻实在是上帝的作为。

保罗:婚姻是上帝的彰显

保罗说得很清楚,婚姻之设计,是为了彰显上帝的。《以弗所书》5:31-32引用《创世记》2:24的经文,然后告诉我们其中隐含的奥秘:“为这个缘故,人要离开父母,与妻子连合,二人成为一体。这是极大的奥秘,但我是指着基督和教会说的。”换句话说,这个婚姻关系之内的盟约,亦即人要离开父母,与妻子连合,二人成为一体的约,乃是描绘出基督跟教会之间神圣的盟约。婚姻之所以存在,其终极的意义是彰显在基督与他的教会之间那份守约的挚爱之情上。

基督和教会的模型

我问妻子诺丽,她希望我今天说些什么。她说,“你就多讲些婚姻乃是基督和教会关系的模型这道理吧,这个怎么讲都不过分。”我认为她是对的,至少有三个原因:1)这会改变人们心里被歪曲了的印象,让婚姻恢复上帝赋予的意义;2)让婚姻建基于恩典上,因为基督唯独借着恩典,获取和保守他的新妇;以及3)表明丈夫为首的地位和妻子顺从之角色,这个原则非常关键,也符合十字架的道理。就是说,夫妻被编织进婚姻关系中,其真正意义正是基督和教会关系的彰显,而且他们被基督十字架上的舍己赋予意义,彻底消除了骄傲和奴性。

我们开始的两篇信息,就是针对前面这两个原因的:给婚姻一个稳定的根基,并认识到婚姻乃是上帝盟约之爱的彰显。婚姻是一个男人和一个女人之间的盟约,彼此承诺忠实、忠贞,而且进入合二为一的新的联结中,除非死亡才能将双方拆开。这个借神圣严肃的宣誓和性关系封印的盟约,展示了神那守约的恩典。

恩典之中的坚实根基

而我们今天信息的题目就是:“婚姻显明上帝守约之恩。”因此我们要看看这第二个原因,就像诺丽很正确地指出的,婚姻是基督与教会关系的模型,这道理再怎么说都不过分:因为它为婚姻提供了恩典的坚实根基,基督正是唯独借着恩典获得并守护他的新妇。

换言之,要点就是,既然基督与教会的新约,乃是借着他那救赎的宝血之恩设立和维护,那么人与人之间的婚姻就要彰显这新约之恩典。怎么展示呢?倚靠上帝的恩典,经历这恩典,然后将这经历与配偶分享。就是说,在婚姻关系里,你每时每刻都活在上帝的饶恕、称义和应许的恩典中,你怀着喜乐的心倚靠神,然后在日常生活中,把这份跟上帝之间的美好关系朝向配偶延展,活出上帝的饶恕、称义和他应许的各种帮助。而这,就是今天信息的要点所在。

赦免、称义之恩的核心地位

我知道,所有基督徒都要在一切的关系当中(不仅仅结了婚的基督徒),时刻活在上帝的恩典里,就是那赦免、称义和供应我们一切所需的恩典,然后再把这恩典调转方向,在生活的每个层面和关系中实践出来。而耶稣说过,我们在生活的所有层面,都要彰显上帝的荣耀(太5:16)。但是呢,婚姻的确是特殊的,尤其能彰显上帝那盟约的恩典,因为跟其他任何关系不同,夫妻乃是终其一生,被一个盟约约束,进入一个最紧密的关系里。其中为首与顺服的角色也有其独特之处,这方面以后有机会再展开论述。今天我想谈的,是夫妻作为基督徒这件事,而不是谁做头的问题,男人为首,女人顺服,但各有各的角色,都要照圣经以恩慈彼此相待,不过在明白各自的角色和任务之前,夫妻必须先把生活建立在神的恩典中,为什么先要建立与神之间垂直层面的关系(赦免、称义和所应许的帮助等方面的爱的关系),然后才能把这个关系带进配偶之间的关系中?这就是今天要谈的主题。

或者照上周信息中用的术语,就是:能够真正做到赤身露体而不羞耻(创2:25),事实上,夫妻都会做许多自感羞耻的事情),关键在于,他们经历到上帝那垂直层面的饶恕和称义的恩典,并把这恩典带入水平层面,彼此以恩典相待,又将这恩典展现给世人。

上帝那将要来的忿怒

我们到《歌罗西书》中寻找这个真理的根基。从3:6开始,“因这些事,神的忿怒必临到那悖逆之子。”假如你说,“这个婚姻已经够麻烦,我最不想听的,就是神的忿怒这类话。”你说话的口气,很像2004年12月26日在印度尼西亚西海岸说话的一位渔夫,他泄气沮丧地说,“捕鱼这行已经够麻烦了,我最不愿意听的,就是还会有海啸!”然而,能够彻底认识到上帝的忿怒,并且生发敬畏之心,却正是婚姻关系中的当务之急。因为没有这种认识,福音就会降低成为人际关系的信息,失去其圣经所言的荣耀。并且,没有这种理解,你就不会感受神对你极其可怖的大怒,竟能被他对你更大的恩典胜过;而不明白这个,你根本胜不过自己对配偶的恼恨。

上帝忿怒之消除

那我们就从上帝的忿怒,以及如何消除这忿怒开始谈吧。一起回到《歌罗西书》2:13-14,“你们从前在过犯和未受割礼的肉体中死了,神赦免了你们(或作:我们)一切过犯,便叫你们与基督一同活过来;又涂抹了在律例上所写攻击我们,有碍于我们的字据,把它撤去,钉在十字架上。”

最后那句话很关键。它——那有碍于我们的字据——已经被上帝撤销,钉在十字架上了。什么时候发生的?两千年前。而且它不是发生在你里面,也未曾得到你的任何帮助。上帝替你做成了那件事,而且是在你的外面做成的,甚至在你出生之前。这就是救恩之伟大的客观实在性。

债务记录在十字架上被涂抹了

你一定要确保自己已经明白这个最奇妙最令人震惊的真理:上帝把你一切的罪行记录,就是那些使你承担忿怒的罪债(因为罪乃是对降怒之上帝的冒犯),他不但没有展示这些记录,定你的罪,把你打入地狱,相反地,他把这犯罪记录放在他爱子的手上,并且用钉子穿透那手掌,钉在了十字架上。

谁的罪被钉在十字架上了呢?谁的罪在十字架上被惩罚了呢?答案是:我的罪,以及诺丽的罪,还有那些明知无法自救,愿意单单信靠基督的人的罪。那么,谁的手被钉在十字架上?谁在十字架上受罚?是耶稣。对此,神学上有一个很好听的名称:“代替”(substitution)。上帝在基督的肉身中定了我的罪案(罗8:3)。丈夫们哪,你们再怎么相信这个事实都不会过分,妻子们哪,你们再怎么相信这个事实也都不会过分的。

称义不只是被饶恕而已

另外,如果把以前我们对《罗马书》因信称义的教义拿来对照,还有许多丰富内容。称义不只是被饶恕而已——不仅是我们的罪因基督已得赦免,而且上帝因着基督,宣告我们为义。上帝要求我们的有两件事:第一,我们必须因罪受罚;以及第二,我们的生活必须是完全的。换言之,我们的罪必须处罚,而我们的生活又必须是义的。但是,我们无法够承受自己该受的那些惩罚(诗49:7-8),而且又不能做到神所要求的义。——没有义人,连一个也没有(罗3:10)。

所以,上帝因着对我们所怀的无法测度的大爱,把爱子赐给我们,替我们成就这两方面的要求。基督承受了我们的刑罚,并且作成了我们的义。而当我们接受基督时(约1:12),他所受的刑罚和他的义就都归到我们头上了(罗4:4-6; 5:19; 5:1; 8:1; 10:4; 腓 3:8-9;林后 5:21)。

称义的外展

这是垂直层面,我们必须将它朝向水平方向——朝着我们的配偶外展,只有这样,才能够让我们的婚姻彰显上帝那立约和守约的恩典。《歌罗西书》3:12-13讲明这个道理,“所以,你们既是神的选民,圣洁蒙爱的人,就要存(原文作穿;下同)怜悯、恩慈、谦虚、温柔、忍耐的心。倘若这人与那人有嫌隙,总要彼此包容,彼此饶恕;主怎样饶恕了你们,你们也要怎样饶恕人。”

“主怎样饶恕了你们,你们也要怎样饶恕人”——你们的配偶。正如主“包容”你,你也应该去包容配偶。主耶稣每天都在“包容”你,因为你总是错失或亏缺了他的旨意。诚然,在基督对你的期待,与你能达成的结果之间,差距之大,远远超过你对配偶的期待与他(她)能达成之间的差距。基督总是比我们更多地去饶恕、承担。故此,你也要饶恕人,正如你已经被主饶恕一样。你要去包容人,正如主已经包容了你。无论你是跟信主的人还是不信主的人结婚,这个道理都是适用的。让上帝在基督的十字架上所量给你的恩典,也照样成为你以相应的程度,量给配偶的恩典吧!

如果你是跟一位信徒结婚的,你还可以再加上这一条:正如主上帝在基督里看你是义的——而实际行为或态度上你并不是那样,照样,你要在基督里看你的配偶是义的,尽管实际上他(或者她)并不是那样。换句话说,《歌罗西书》第三章告诉我们,把那个垂直的饶恕与称义之恩典,外展到水平层面,应用在你的配偶身上吧。这就是婚姻终极目的所在:为彰显基督那持守盟约的恩典。

需要有根植于福音的智慧

好了,到这里会出现无数具体和复杂的境况,都渴望得到根植于福音真理以及多年痛苦和信心的经历的属灵智慧的帮助。换句话说,没有一个简单的方式,可以把这个信息应用到每个人的特殊需要中。因此,除了讲道之外,我们还要圣灵的帮助,还要祷告,以及自己在神的话语中的默想,我们要广泛阅读,好从他人的亮光当中获益,也要寻求那些经历过苦难磨炼的明智朋友的辅导,当崩溃的时候,要寻求教会的救助。所以,我实在不能在这里给你面面俱到的具体帮助。

活在垂直层面,然后往外延展

结束之前,我要提出几个理由来说明,为什么我如此强调饶恕和称对方为义,乃是盟约之爱的必要表现。相信这会对你们有帮助。你若问我,我是否也相信那种以对方为乐的思想。我会说,是的。无论是个人的经历,还是圣经的话语,都推动我做出正面回答。因为可以确定的是,耶稣就是娶了他的新妇——教会,并且很明显,讨神喜悦是可行的,也是很好的事情(西1:10)。而且,主耶稣的价值无限,配得我们在他里面寻找喜乐与满足。这就是婚姻当中的理想境界:两个人都谦卑自己,尽力去按照敬虔的方式改变自己,为要讨配偶的喜悦,并且去满足对方生理和情感的需要,或者以每一个有益的方式来取悦对方。是的,在基督与教会的关系上,包括了以上所提到的每一个方面。

但是,我之所以强调活在垂直面——上帝的恩典上,然后再转换到水平的层面,以饶恕和称义的方式来与配偶相处,原因有三:1)由于罪与陌生感(疏离感)的存在(夫妻之间甚至不能在这个简单问题上达成一致——到底什么是异性的陌生与奇特之处,以及什么是罪),必然会导致夫妻之间的冲突;2)正是靠着艰难、坎坷的忍耐与饶恕,才使彼此喜悦之心能够持续与兴旺,特别是当这份情感看起来就要枯萎的时候;还有3)当两个很不一样又极不完美的个体,借着倚赖基督,在苦难人生的熔炉当中,锻造出隽永的毕生的忠诚时,上帝就得着了荣耀。

在基督里,上帝已经饶恕你和你的配偶

先就此打住吧,下次我再接着讲我跟诺丽的特别发现。我只能预告,那个讲道的题目大概是“堆肥中的讲章。”

在那之前,丈夫们和妻子们,请把这些重要真理铭刻在你们的良心中——大过任何你在婚姻中遇到的问题——就是,“神赦免了你们一切过犯,…… 又涂抹了在律例上所写攻击我们,有碍于我们的字据,把它撤去,钉在十字架上。”全心全意相信这真理吧,并且,要将这精神延展,去对待你的配偶。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Marriage: God’s Showcase of Covenant-Keeping Grace

And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, 14 by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross. 15 He disarmed the rulers and authorities and put them to open shame, by triumphing over them in him. . . . 3:12 Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, 13 bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. 14 And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. 15 And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. 16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. 17 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. 18 Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord. 19 Husbands, love your wives, and do not be harsh with them.

What we have seen in the last two weeks is that the most foundational thing you can say about marriage is that it is the doing of God, and the most ultimate thing you can say about marriage is that it is for the display of God. These two points are made by Moses in Genesis 2. But they are made even more clearly by Jesus and Paul in the New Testament.

Jesus: Marriage Is the Doing of God

Jesus makes the point most clearly that marriage is the doing of God. Mark 10:6-9, “From the beginning of creation, ‘God made them male and female’ [Genesis 1:27], ‘Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’ [Genesis 2:24]. So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.” This is the clearest statement in the Bible that marriage is not a merely human doing. The words “God has joined together” means it is God’s doing.

Paul: Marriage Is the Display of God

Paul makes the point most clearly that marriage is designed to be the display of God. In Ephesians 5:31-32, he quotes Genesis 2:24 and then tells us the mystery that it has always contained: “‘Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.’ This mystery is profound, and I am saying that it refers to Christ and the church.” In other words, the covenant involved in leaving mother and father and holding fast to a spouse and becoming one flesh is a portrayal of the covenant between Christ and his church. Marriage exists most ultimately to display the covenant-keeping love between Christ and his church.

A Model of Christ and the Church

I asked Noël if there was anything she wanted me to say today. She said, “You cannot say too often that marriage is a model of Christ and the church.” I think she is right and there are at least three reasons: 1) This lifts marriage out of the sordid sitcom images and gives it the magnificent meaning God meant it to have; 2) this gives marriage a solid basis in grace, since Christ obtained and sustains his bride by grace alone; and 3) this shows that the husband’s headship and the wife’s submission are crucial and crucified. That is, they are woven into the very meaning of marriage as a display of Christ and the church, but they are both defined by Christ’s self-denying work on the cross so that their pride and slavishness are cancelled.

We spent the first two messages on the first of these reasons: giving the foundation for marriage as a display of the covenant love of God. Marriage is a covenant between a man and a woman in which they promise to be a faithful as husband and a faithful wife in a new one-flesh union as long as they both shall live. This covenant, sealed with solemn vows and sexual union, is designed to showcase the covenant-keeping grace of God.

A Solid Basis in Grace

That is today’s title: “Marriage: God’s Showcase of Covenant-Keeping Grace.” So we are turning to the second reason I mentioned that Noël is right to say that you can’t say too often that marriage is a model of Christ and the church: namely, that this gives to marriage a solid basis in grace, since Christ obtained and sustains his bride by grace alone.

In other words, the main point today is that, since Christ’s new covenant with this church is created by and sustained by blood-bought grace, therefore, human marriages are meant to showcase that new-covenant grace. And the way they showcase it is by resting in the experience of God’s grace and bending it out from a vertical experience with God into a horizontal experience with their spouse. In other words, in marriage you live hour by hour in glad dependence on God’s forgiveness and justification and promised future grace, and you bend it out toward your spouse hour by hour—as an extension of God’s forgiveness and justification and promised help. That’s today’s point.

The Centrality of Forgiving, Justifying Grace

I am aware that all Christians are supposed to do this in all your relationships (not just married Christians): live hour by hour by the forgiving, justifying, all-supplying grace of God, and then bend it out to all the others in your life. And Jesus says that all of our lives are a showcase of God’s glory (Matthew 5:16). But marriage is designed to be a unique display of God’s covenant grace because, unlike all other human relationships, the husband and wife are bound by covenant into the closest possible relationship for a lifetime. There are unique roles of headship and submission, but that is not my point today. That will come later. Today I consider husband and wife as Christians per se, not on the analogy of head and body. Before a man and woman can apply biblically and graciously the unique roles of headship and submission, they must discover what it means to build their lives on the vertical experience of forgiveness and justification and promised help and then bend it out horizontally to their spouse. So that’s the focus today.

Or to put it in terms of last week’s message: The key to being naked and not ashamed (Genesis 2:25), when, in fact, a husband and a wife do many things that they should be ashamed of, is the experience of God’s vertical forgiving, justifying grace bent out horizontally to each other and displayed to the world.

The Coming Wrath of God

Briefly, let’s see the foundation for this truth in Colossians. We will start with Colossians 3:6, “On account of these the wrath of God is coming.” If you say, “The last thing I want hear about in my troubled marriage is the wrath of God,” you are like a frustrated fisherman on the western coast of Indonesia on December 26, 2004, saying, “The last thing I want to hear about in my troubled fishing business is a tsunami.” A profound understanding and fear of God’s wrath is exactly what many marriages need, because without it, the gospel is diluted down to mere human relations and loses its biblical glory. And without it, you will be tempted to think that your wrath—your anger—against your spouse is simply too big to overcome, because you have never really tasted what it is like to see an infinitely greater wrath overcome by grace, namely, God’s wrath against you.

The Removal of God’s Wrath

So we begin with the wrath of God and its removal. Now go back with me to Colossians 2:13-14, “And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him [Christ], having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross.”

Those last words are the most crucial. This—this record of debt that stood against us—God set aside, nailing it to the cross. When did that happen? Two thousand years ago. It did not happen inside of you, and it did not happen with any help from you. God did that for you and outside of you before you were ever born. This is the great objectivity of our salvation.

The Record of Debt Cancelled at the Cross

Make sure you see this most wonderful and astonishing of all truths: God took the record of all your sins that made you a debtor to wrath (sins are offenses against God that bring down his wrath), and instead of holding them up in front of your face and using them as the warrant to send you to hell, he put them in the palm of his Son’s hand and drove a nail through them into the cross.

Whose sins were nailed to the cross? Whose sins were punished on the cross? Answer: My sins. And Noël’s sins—my wife’s sins and my sins—the sins of all who despair of saving themselves and trust in Christ alone. Whose hands were nailed to the cross? Who was punished on the cross? Jesus was. There is a beautiful name for this. It’s called a substitution. God condemned my sin in Christ’s flesh (Romans 8:3). Husbands, you cannot believe this too strongly. Wives, you cannot believe this too strongly.

Justification Goes Beyond Forgiveness

And if we reach back and draw in here all our understanding of justification from Romans we can say more. Justification goes beyond forgiveness. Not only are we forgiven because of Christ, but God also declares us righteous because of Christ. God requires two things of us: punishment for our sins and perfection in our lives. Our sins must be punished and our lives must be righteous. But we cannot bear our own punishment (Psalm 49:7-8), and we cannot provide our own righteousness. None is righteous; no, not one (Romans 3:10).

Therefore, God, out of his immeasurable love for us, provided his own Son to do both. Christ bears our punishment and Christ performs our righteousness. And when we receive Christ (John 1:12), all of his punishment and all of his righteousness is counted as ours (Romans 4:4-6; 5:19; 5:1; 8:1; 10:4; Philippians 3:8-9; 2 Corinthians 5:21).

Justification Bent Outward

This is the vertical reality that must be bent outward horizontally to our spouses if marriage is to display the covenant-making, covenant-keeping grace of God. We see this in Colossians 3:12-13, “ Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.”

“As the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive”—your spouse. As the Lord “bears with” you, so you should bear with your spouse. The Lord “bears with” you everyday as you fall short of his will. Indeed, the distance between what Christ expects of you and what you achieve is infinitely greater than the distance between what you and expect of your spouse and what he achieves. Christ always forgives more and endures more than we do. Forgive as you have been forgiven. Bear with as he bears with you. This holds for whether you are married to a believer or an unbeliever. Let the measure of God’s grace to you in the cross of Christ be the measure of your grace to your spouse.

And if you are married to a believer, you can add this: As the Lord counts you righteous in Christ, though you are not in actual behavior or attitude, so count your spouse righteous in Christ, though he is not—though she is not. In other words, Colossians 3 says, take the vertical grace of forgiveness and justification and bend them out horizontally to your spouse. This is what marriage is for, most ultimately—the display of Christ’s covenant-keeping grace.

The Need for Gospel-Rooted Wisdom

Now at this point, hundreds of complex situations emerge that cry for deep spiritual wisdom rooted in these gospel truths and in long years of painful, faithful experience. In other words, there is no way I could apply this message to everyone’s particular needs. Besides preaching, we need the Holy Spirit, we need prayer, we need to meditate on the Word for ourselves, we need to read the insights of others, we need the counsel of wise friends who are seasoned with suffering, we need the church to support us when everything falls apart. So I have no illusions that I could say all that needs to be said to help you.

Living Vertically, Then Bending Outward

It may help to close by giving several reasons why I am stressing covenant-love as forgiveness and counting the other righteous. Don’t I believe in being delighted in the other person? Yes, I do. Both experience and the Bible push me there. To be sure, Jesus is married to his bride the church, and clearly it is both possible and good to please the Lord (Colossians 1:10). And he certainly is infinitely worthy of our pleasure in him. This is the ideal in marriage: two people humbling themselves and seeking to change in godly ways that please our spouses and meet their physical and emotional needs or to please them in every good way. Yes. The relationship of Christ and the church includes all that.

But the reasons I stress living vertically from the grace of God and then bending out horizontally in forgiveness and justification toward your spouse is 1) because there is going to be conflict based on sin and strangeness (and you won’t be able even to agree with each other about what is simply strange about each other and what is sin); and 2) because the hard, rugged work of enduring and forgiving is what makes it possible for affections to flourish when they seem to have died; and 3) because God gets glory when two very different and very imperfect people forge a life of faithfulness in the furnace of affliction by relying on Christ.

In Christ, God Has Forgiven You—and Your Spouse

Now I will pick it up here next time and tell you about a discovery that Noël and I made. I predict that the sermon will come to be called “the compost pile sermon.”

Till then, husbands and wives, drive into your own consciences these huge truths—greater than any problem in your marriage—that God “has forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross.” Believe this with all your heart and bend it toward your spouse.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org