从牧者角度思考“拣选”教义

如今也是这样,照着拣选的恩典,还有所留的余数。既是出于恩典,就不在乎行为;不然,恩典就不是恩典了。这是怎么样呢?以色列人所求的,他们没有得着,惟有蒙拣选的人得着了;其余的就成了顽梗不化的。

想到近来讲道涉及的重要教义,像《罗马书》11章经文中包含的,会对牧者有怎样的提醒,我就觉得,应该在释经式讲道中,隔几周就停一停,回顾所讲的,更好地了解这些教义对实践有什么寓意。比如这几周中我们重温了“无条件拣选”的教义(之前在《罗马书》8:29-33和9:10-24已经谈到)。

这教义指,上帝在创立世界以前(弗1:4),就拣选了那些将来会信靠他的人,即使他们有罪、不配甚至顽固地活在叛逆当中,因为罪,他们本应灭亡,然而上帝依然拯救他们到底。换言之,世上发生的一切事情,都可以用上帝的旨意之智慧、公正和恩典,作出最终的解释。我们根本不可能从“无有”中创出任何原因。我们作为伯利恒教会的带领者,坚持了那个看似自相矛盾却合乎圣经的论点(paradox,似乎矛盾,其实并无冲突 ),就是,一方面,上帝满有主权,而另一方面,我们作为人,又都要为罪愧疚,对罪负责,只配遭受神的忿怒。假如上帝拣选我们,使我们有信心,从罪恶的状态当中得到拯救,就绝对不是因着我们自己的缘故。这就是《罗马书》八、九章所说的(又在11:1-10中强调的)无条件拣选的意思。

因此,我们今天要从牧者的角度再来思考“拣选”的教义。

1. 有些事知道了没好处,所以上帝没有启示,而有些东西知道了对我们有好处,即便暂时不能完全了解。

这么说的根据,部分来自《申命记》29:29,摩西说,“隐秘的事是属耶和华我们神的;惟有明显的事是永远属我们和我们子孙的。”的确有些事情,是神刻意不让我们知道的。因为对我们不好。比如《使徒行传》1:7,耶稣说,“父凭着自己的权柄所定的时候、日期,不是你们可以知道的。”知道太多将来,对我们不见得是好事。事实上,明天发生什么,我们都几乎一无所知。《雅各书》4:14说,“其实明天如何,你们还不知道。”《诗篇》131篇中大卫也说,“我的心不狂傲,我的眼不高大;重大和测不透的事,我也不敢行(不敢行或译,不敢牵涉其中。——译者注)。”有些事情确实超越我们的能力范围之外。

另一些事我们可以知道,因为上帝已经向我们显明——当然我们所知的有限。这些就是应该知道的,知道了对我们也有好处。然而,我们必须满足于所知道的那些,正如保罗在《哥林多前书》13:12所说,“我们如今彷佛对着镜子观看,模糊不清(原文作如同猜谜);到那时就要面对面了。我如今所知道的有限,到那时就全知道,如同主知道我一样。”把这句话用在拣选的教义上,实在贴切。我们容易问得太多,超过上帝回答的范围。而这里的极大危险乃是:我们的问题,不小心就会越界而演化成指控了。

这观点的引申之一是,我们不会总是知道,圣经中某个特殊的教义,如何是对我们有好处的。我们美国人很务实,而且缺一些容忍度。假如不能立刻看到某个教义的好处,我们就倾向于忽略它。其实那样子就像愚拙的孩童。做父母的都知道,孩子必须学的,有些他们并不知道会有什么用。比如孩子小时候学习餐桌上的诸般礼仪,我们教他们这些,是让他们日后能够在社交场合举止优雅。而他们在学习的时候,真的不明白,为什么勺子必须这样拿,为什么手肘不能支在桌子上。他们要凭着信心相信你的话。又比如说,太阳是不动的(乃是地球在绕着它转——译者注),地球是一个球体,绿色的菜蔬会让你健康,还有,一小袋灭鼠药会致命,等等。所以,假如无论是不是懂得,孩子们都要学习和接受这些规律和规则,那么想想我们跟神之间的差距又有多大,在真正能明白之前,又要学习多少知识。

我们知道,很多影响生活的东西,我们不了解,也解释不了。有些事仅仅因为神说那是真的,我们就要简单地接受。而直到后来,我们才逐渐看明,这些知识如何保护了我们,或坚固了我们,或使我们谦卑,或使我们得洁净,或指引了我们,或给我们加添了力量去明白更多的真相。简而言之,要旨在于“信靠”。我们是否确信,上帝已经把那些对我们有好处的知识,启示给我们了?

这拣选的教义对我们所有的益处,我们不能尽知,但其中有些益处是我们确知的。由此我们被引入教牧方面的第二个思路:了解拣选的教义,会产生怎样的效果呢。

2. 拣选的教义强有力地驱动着教会,严谨地对待真理和圣经,使之不至于沦落到对教义漠不关心、在世俗文化中随波逐流的地步。

拣选的教义,倾向于为那些优柔寡断的头脑注入坚韧的信念,培养出强健而有思想的基督徒,他们不容易被世俗之风和以人为中心的思潮所摇动。它还是很奇妙的防腐剂,保护相关教义不被冲淡和丧失。总体上说,该教义倾向于在我们心中塑造“以神为中心”的世界观,并且建基于客观真理之上。

有一个例子说明了这问题的重要性。最近一期《今日基督教》(Christianity Today)杂志上,扎克·寇尔森(Chuck Colson)探讨了“后现代主义”——“该哲学理论坚持说没有任何超然的真理。”他从文化当中指出来四个或五个迹象,表明后现代主义正在当今的社会中失去力量,并且可能很快就要失宠了。但更重要的是,接下来他对主的众教会发出了呐喊。

今天的牧师、学者和平信徒们,这是最危急的时刻!面对那些饥渴慕义的人,他们必须建立合乎圣经真理的世界观,并对它进行清晰有力的辩护。

但面对挑战,我们准备好了吗?乔治·巴纳(George Barna)最近访问了美国的许多教会,带回一个很令人沮丧的报告,他说大部分教会和平信徒领袖——一项调查称比例达百分之九十——竟然没有清晰的世界观。假如我们根本没有很好地扎根于真理体系中,又如何跟那些极具竞争力的世俗哲学理论争战呢?

颇具讽刺意味的是,正当社会文化中出现了令人振奋的好势头时,教会里却出现了诸多退化迹象,从一个以话语为导向的福音信息,挪移到一个以图像或情感为导向的信息里去(看看吧,多少家基督教电台的谈话和讲道节目,已经完全被音乐节目替代)。

我们发现,自己正在往后现代的深渊里滑,而世俗文化却已经看清楚那是死胡同!这真是超级讽刺——而且是可怕的悲剧。(“后现代的崩溃,The Postmodern Crackup”《今日基督教》,2003年12月,第47卷,第12期,72页)。”

拣选的教义,对于唤醒人心——特别是那些被世俗潮流裹挟的人,有着神奇的果效,他们不去思考,轻易接受了许多假设。他们会骤然被圣经中强烈的以神为中心的思想震惊,也因自己内心可怕的以人为中心的状况感到困惑。他们被迫照着圣经原则思考神和这世界,以免陷入寇尔森警告的悲剧:即,当世人都明白了真理的重要时,教会却被过时的文化影响,错误地宣称说,教义已经不重要了。对我们和我们的后代,拣选的教义有多重要,你怎么想象都不过分。

3. 从牧者角度思考,拣选教义的第三个益处是,它能检测我们与上帝的关系有没有摆正。

这是个老问题,不过在现代世界中更加突出而已,因为人们认为自治是理所当然的,权威都被质疑,甚至神是否存在都要人来判断。

保罗在《罗马书》9:6-23,相当有力地陈明这个问题。他听到的反对声音和今天我们听到的一样:“他 [上帝] 为什么还指责人呢?有谁抗拒他的旨意呢?”对这疑问,他回答说,“你这个人哪,你是谁,竟敢向神强嘴呢?受造之物岂能对造他的说:‘你为什么这样造我呢? ’”(罗9:19-20)。换句话说,你把自己当上帝,这个角色互换可不明智,他才是那位窑匠(而你是他手中受陶造的泥土——译者注)!很少其他教义能这么清楚地测试出,到底是我们审判上帝,还是上帝审判我们。

当《约伯记》接近尾声的时候,当约伯做完自己的辩护,他的朋友以利法,比勒达和琐法,也再没有什么劝导,整个事件的结论却是这样:“约伯回答耶和华说:我知道,你万事都能做;你的旨意不能拦阻……我所说的是我不明白的;这些事太奇妙,是我不知道的。”上帝的回答是,“你好好听我,我要说话;我要问你,你来指示我吧。”(这里的英译本,跟中文和合本稍有出入,和合本把后面引号中的话,也作为约伯的发言。——译者注。) 上帝的意思是:约伯,你站好了,好好听我说话。你应该从我这儿学习,而不是来教训我。你要信靠我,而不是指控我。对此,约伯最后的答复是,“我从前风闻有你,现在亲眼看见你。 因此我厌恶自己(或作:我的言语),在尘土和炉灰中懊悔”(伯42:1-6)。这个拣选教义,就是要检验我们,看看自己是控告神的约伯,还是破碎痛悔、真心信靠神的约伯。

水中的鱼儿很难意识到周围是湿的,因为鱼在水中,除了水没有别的,鱼儿也根本不用去想它。照样,身处现代社会的人——那些活在近两百年中的人,也很难意识到,自己原来对上帝态度傲慢。在现今世界,除了随处可见的傲慢,对上帝还有什么别的态度呢。而这正是我们游弋的海洋,呼吸的空气。它融入头脑,甚至我们意识不到它的存在。我们看不见它,因为我们正借着它去观看万事万物。

听听鲁益师(C. S. Lewis)怎么说:

古人来到上帝面前……他就像被告就近审判官;而现代人的角色颠倒过来了,上帝在被告席上,他倒成了审判官。不过这个审判官看起来蛮和蔼的,假如上帝对他许可的那些战争、饥荒和疾病等等,能进行合理的辩护,审判官大人还是愿听其详。说不定结果可能会宣判上帝无罪呢!但是,真正的要点在这里:人是法官,上帝站在被告席上。(“上帝在被告席上,”列斯雷·文慕斯雷Lesley Walmsley编辑的,《鲁益师散文及其它短篇作品集》。C.S. Lewis: Essay Collection and Other Short Pieces [伦敦London: HarperCollins Publishers, 2000年出版], 36页。)

这就是“现代社会”的本质特点:一种极其微妙的感觉——一种我们几乎意识不到的假设——怂恿我们说,质疑甚至审判上帝吧,没什么不合适的。而拣选的教义,就是此时真切有效的测试,它能测验出,你已脱离现代傲慢之海,或者仍然沉浸其中而不自知。被拥有绝对主权的上帝严厉考验,是件好事,为什么呢?因为我们会有机会像约伯那样说:“我从前风闻有你,现在亲眼看见你。因此我厌恶自己(或作:我的言语),在尘土和炉灰中懊悔”(伯42:5-6)。

4. 从牧者角度考虑拣选教义,第四个角度是:当人们谦卑地热烈拥抱——不是探讨,甚至不仅是头脑上的确信、而是谦卑地热烈拥抱——这宝贵的“拣选”真理以及上帝主权式的恩典时,就会激发爱心、勇于冒险,开展宣教和各样事工。

举个例子(这样的例子太多了,威廉·克里William Carey,亚多尼兰·耶德逊Adoniram Judson,大卫·李文斯敦David Livingstone,约翰·巴顿John Patton,乔治·缪勒George Mueller,查尔斯·司布真Charles Spurgeon,以及约拿单·爱德华兹Jonathan Edwards,等等):克雷斯丁·卡尔森Kristin Carlson去赞比亚工作快一年了,他是国际行动(Action International)的成员,去服事那些流浪街头的孩童(你们要多多去认识该机构的成员;我可以列举出其中很多充满激情的基督徒,比如他们的主任道格·尼克拉斯Doug Nichols,他因为谦卑地热烈拥抱这拣选的真理,身患直肠癌,仍去了卢旺达)。以下是克雷斯丁在感恩节早上给我们的电子邮件:

首先,感谢上帝以他无法测度的恩典拣选了我,我实在不配,而且一直不敢相信天父这般的美善。我对神的拣选心怀感恩,乃是因为我知道拣选的目的,就是要我去宣扬上帝的超卓,要在耶稣里得着永恒的满足,要活在光明当中,而不是黑暗里,要亲身体验上帝的美好。

不要错过这点。有些人完全不知道克雷斯丁在说什么,因为你们原来听过某些教导说,拣选这教义要么不正确,要么没什么用。你们向来满腹狐疑,抱着批评态度站在旁边观望。现在有一个人,已经拥抱了这真理,也被真理拥抱,你要通过他的电邮,从里面来聆听这故事,看看拣选的教义产生什么果效——仔细听听吧,这诸多的果效可能和早先人们告诉你的不一样。克雷斯丁继续写道:

我很感恩,上帝拣选了瓦斯科Vasco,一位硬心肠的、无知、悖逆的街头流浪儿,带领他走出黑暗,进入奇妙的光明。而我看到瓦斯科生命中的果子,明明可以见证,他被接在了耶稣这棵葡萄树上。

感谢上帝在过去一年中满溢的良善……能够在神所作的事工中有份,这是何等的神奇——得以成为街头孩童的朋友,并且跟他们一起来分享那唯一持久的盼望。并且这里要特别感谢上帝赐给我的、对这些孩子的关爱之心。客观地说,走在成堆的垃圾上,坐在破烂的“沙发”上(就是一个小金属架上放些硬纸板而已),四围是肮脏的,味道难闻的孩子们,正常人很难喜欢这样的生活,德纳事情就是这样,我真的爱上了这样的服事。

拥抱“主权式的恩典”这个教义,并且被它拥抱——从无条件的拣选开始——首先就生出激进的、愿意冒险的、牺牲的爱;其次,它又使我们谦卑,带着欢喜的心去领受这个真理,即:我们不能自己产生出美好,要靠上帝才行。这样我们就归荣耀与神了。

你或许会问:这样的思考方式合乎圣经吗?圣经真的教导,拣选的教义真是上帝为达成这些果效筹划的吗?答案是肯定的。首先细想《歌罗西书》3:12-13的话语,“所以,你们既是神的选民 [神所拣选的人],圣洁蒙爱的人,就要存(原文作穿;下同)怜悯、恩慈、谦虚、温柔、忍耐的心。倘若这人与那人有嫌隙,总要彼此包容,彼此饶恕;主怎样饶恕了你们,你们也要怎样饶恕人。”看出其中的联系了吗?在保罗的脑海中,这是非常明显和清晰的。一旦你知道自己是靠恩典被拣选的,是分别出来归给神的,是蒙爱的,你就会成为世界上最谦虚的人之一,不仅能受任何冤屈,而且能宽恕人。你也就能去爱那些不可爱的人——在赞比亚和任何其他地方。

关于这运作的原理,另一个线索在《罗马书》8:33,保罗说,“谁能控告神所拣选的人呢?有神称他们为义了。”答案很明显:没有人!如果上帝拣选了你,就没人能对你提出任何指控了。神会永远站在你这边。保罗极清楚地说明这事,因为他正期待着这真理在我们身上显明实际的果效。他期待着我们感受其中的确信、保障和喜乐,并且成为勇敢无畏的人。当你现在要做个决定——决定是正确而且出于爱心的,但需要去冒险,此时,你是否感受到这句话的功效:“谁能控告神所拣选的人呢?”你能否感受到“拣选”二字里包含的、满有保障的福音的力量呢?

要点在于,这教义不是给人争辩的,而是给人享受的;不是被设计来争吵和辩论的,乃是帮助人们宣教的;不是要让人们分裂(虽然有时会有这种效果),乃是要使人更有怜悯,更善良,谦卑,温顺和宽容。

5. 我要用这最后一个牧者角度的思考来结束。拣选教义与耶稣基督不可分割。

《以弗所书》1:4说,“就如神从创立世界以前,在基督里拣选了我们。”换言之,上帝在永恒中计划救我们脱离罪的捆绑时,已经考虑用基督作为救赎之方了。在世界被造之前,上帝已经计划好,以基督的死和复活来拯救我们。

因此,上帝完成拯救和呼召我们的大工,却没有预先告诉我们是否蒙了拣选。除了通过我们和耶稣基督的关系,上帝从未通过其他途径启示这件事(若没有与基督建立关系,我们就不知道自己是否被拣选,——译者注),因此对于我们的拣选来说,基督是关键。上帝没有告诉我们是否被拣选,而是差他的儿子来,并且说,“信子的人有永生(英文直译是,叫一切信靠这位儿子的,就可以获得永生)”(约3:36)。“信神儿子的,就有这见证在他心里”(约一5:10)。就是说,相信耶稣的人,就能知道自己是蒙拣选的。

所以,我奉基督的名呼召你:来吧,接受他作你的救主和生命的主吧,把他视至宝吧!凭信心来到他面前的人,他从不丢弃一个。他赦免人的罪,给人批戴义袍,他赐下圣灵,也必定会保守你。“我的羊听我的声音,我也认识他们,他们也跟着我。我又赐给他们永生;他们永不灭亡,谁也不能从我手里把他们夺去。”(约10:27-28)。听到这位好牧人的呼唤了吗?来吧!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Pastoral Thoughts on the Doctrine of Election

So too at the present time there is a remnant, chosen by grace. 6 But if it is by grace, it is no longer on the basis of works; otherwise grace would no longer be grace. 7 What then? Israel failed to obtain what it was seeking. The elect obtained it, but the rest were hardened.

As I pondered the pastoral implications of preaching through such a heavily doctrinal passage as Romans 11, it seemed good to me that perhaps every few weeks we should pause in the flow of the exposition, and step back, and talk about some of the practical implications of what we've been seeing. What we have been seeing again in recent weeks from Romans 11:1-10 (as we did in Romans 8:29-33 and Romans 9:10-24) is the biblical doctrine of unconditional election.

This is the teaching that God chose, before the foundation of the world (Ephesians 1:4), who would believe and so be undeservingly saved in spite of their sin, and who would persist in rebellion and so deservingly perish because of their sin. In other words, the wisdom and justice and grace of God's will is always the ultimate explanation of what happens in the world—all of it. Humans are not God. We cannot originate causes out of nothing. We, the leaders of Bethlehem, hold fast to the biblical paradox (not contradiction) that, on the one hand, God is sovereign, and on the other hand, we are all accountable and guilty for our sin and deserving of wrath. If God chose us to come to faith and to be saved from this guilty condition, it is owing to nothing in us. That's what we have seen in Romans 8 and 9, and now again in 11:1-10. That's what I mean by unconditional election.

So we turn today to some pastoral thoughts on this doctrine of election.

1. Not all things are good for us to know, and so God has not revealed them to us; and there are some things that are good for us to know, even when we can't explain them fully.

I base this partly on Deuteronomy 29:29 where Moses said, "The secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things that are revealed belong to us and to our children forever." There are things God does not intend for us to know. They would not be good for us. For example in Acts 1:7, Jesus says, "It is not for you to know times or seasons that the Father has fixed by his own authority." Knowing too much of the future would not be good for us. In fact we know almost nothing about what will happen tomorrow. James 4:14 says, "You do not know what tomorrow will bring." Another example would be Psalm 131 where David says, "My heart is not lifted up; my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me." There are some things out of our reach.

Other things we do know, because God has revealed them to us, but we know them only in part. So they are good for us to know. But we must be content to know only in part, as Paul says in 1 Corinthians 13:12, "Now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known." This is especially true of the doctrine of election. We are prone to ask more questions than God chooses to answer. There is a great danger that our questions will pass over into accusations.

One of the implications of this point is that we will not always know how some particular doctrine in the Bible is good for us. We Americans are especially pragmatic and demanding. If we don't see the payoff of a doctrine immediately, we tend to ignore it. We are like foolish children when we do that. Every parent knows that children must be made to learn things without knowing how they will someday be useful. We teach them the particulars of table manners when they are small, for example, so that later they will be able to navigate every social situation with grace. And they don't have a clue why you are telling them to hold the spoon a certain way and keep their elbows off the table. They have to take your word for it that the sun is standing still, the earth is a ball, the green vegetables will make you healthy, and the little bag of rat poison will kill you. If children must know these things before they know why or how, imagine the distance between us and God and how much we may have to know without knowing how it will help us.

The effects on our lives of what we know are always more than we know or can explain. Sometimes we must simply learn something because God says it's true. Then later we may see how the knowledge protected us, or strengthened us, or humbled us, or purified us, or guided us, or enabled us to see other things as true. The issue boils down to trust. Do we trust that God has revealed what is good for us to know?

With the doctrine of election we don't know all the ways it is good for us, but we do know some of them. Which leads to a second pastoral thought about the effect of knowing the doctrine of election.

2. The doctrine of election has a strong tendency to make a church rigorous about the truth and about the Scriptures, and so keep it from drifting into doctrinal indifference and conformity to culture.

The doctrine of election tends to give firmness and fiber to flabby minds. It tends to produce robust, thoughtful Christians who are not swept away by trendy, man-centered ideas. It has an amazing preservative power that works to keep other doctrines from being diluted and lost. In general it tends to press onto our minds a God-centered worldview built out of real objective truth.

Here is one illustration of why that matters. In the most recent issue of Christianity Today Chuck Colson discusses "postmodernism" —"the philosophy that claims there is no transcendent truth." He gives four or five signs from the culture that postmodernism is losing strength and may be soon passé. But then listen to the call he makes to the churches.

I can't think of a more critical time for pastors, scholars, and lay people to be grounded in a biblical worldview and to defend it clearly to those hungering for truth.

But are we prepared for such a challenge? George Barna recently completed a tour of American churches and came back with a dismaying report that most church and lay leaders—90 percent, according to one survey— have no understanding worldview. How are we going to contend with competing philosophies if we're not even rooted in our own truth system?

Ironically just as there seem to be encouraging signs in the culture, there are also signs that the church is dumbing down, moving from a Word-driven message to an image- and emotion-driven message (note how many Christian radio stations have recently converted from talk and preaching to all music).

It would be the supreme irony—and a terrible tragedy—if we found ourselves slipping into postmodernity just when the broader culture has figured out it's a dead end. ("The Postmodern Crackup," in Christianity Today, December, 2003, Vol. 47, No. 12, p. 72).

The doctrine of election an amazing effect to awaken people who are drifting in the river of inherited assumptions with no engagement of the mind. Suddenly they are jarred by the radical God-centeredness of the Bible and the frightening man-centeredness of their own hearts. They are put on a quest to build a way of thinking Biblically about the God and the world that may avoid the tragedy Colson warns about: namely, the world discovering, at last, that truth really matters, just when the church has decided in the name of cultural relevance that doctrine doesn't matter. The doctrine of election is good for us and for our grandchildren in ways we can't even yet imagine.

3. A third pastoral thought about the doctrine of election is that it is one of the best ways to test whether we have reversed roles with God.

This is a timeless problem, but especially in the modern world that assumes human autonomy and questions all authority and takes the judgment seat to decide if God even exists.

Paul addressed this issue most forcefully in Romans 9:6-23. As he did, he heard the ancient and modern objection, "Why does [God] still find fault? For who can resist his will?" his answer to that was, "But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, 'Why have you made me like this?'" (Romans 9:19-20). In other words, it's not fitting for you to reverse roles with God. He's the potter. Few doctrines test more clearly whether we are judging God or God is judging us.

When the book of Job is finished and all Job's defenses are spent, and all the misleading counsel of Eliphaz, Bildad, and Zophar has faded away, the sum of the matter is this: "Then Job answered the LORD and said: 2 'I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted. . . . I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know." God responds, "Hear, and I will speak; I will question you, and you make it known to me." In other words, Take your proper place, Job, and listen to me. Learn from me; don't teach me. Trust me; don't accuse me. To which Job says finally, "I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes" (Job 42:1-6). The doctrine of election puts us to the test as few others to see if we are in the shoes of the Job who accuses, or the broken and contrite Job who trusts.

It is hard for a fish to know that it is wet. Wet is all there is for a fish. A fish doesn't even think of it. So it's hard for a modern person —a person living in the last two hundred years—to know that he is arrogant toward God. Arrogance toward God is all there is in the modern world. It's the ocean we swim in—the air we breathe. It's woven into the fabric of our minds. We don't even know it's there. We can't see it, because we look through it to see everything else.

Here's the way C. S. Lewis put it:

The ancient man approached God . . . as the accused person approaches his judge. For the modern man the roles are reversed. He is the judge: God is in the dock. He is quite a kindly judge: if God should have a reasonable defence for being the god who permits war, poverty and disease, he is ready to listen to it. The trial may even end in God's acquittal. But the important thing is that man is on the Bench and God in the Dock. ("God in the Dock," in Lesley Walmsley, ed., C.S. Lewis: Essay Collection and Other Short Pieces [London: HarperCollins Publishers, 2000], p. 36)

That's virtually what it means to be modern: the imperceptible feeling - the assumption we don't even know we have—that it is fitting for us to question and even judge God. The doctrine of election is one very effective test of whether you are being delivered from the indigenous ocean of arrogance in the modern world, or are still drenched to the bone. It is good for us to be tested in the crucible of God's sovereignty, so that we may say with Job: "I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes" (Job 42:6).

4. The fourth pastoral thought about the doctrine of election is this: The humble embrace—not the discussion of, not even the intellectual belief in, but the humble embrace—of the precious truth of election and sovereign grace, produces radical, loving, risk—taking ministry and missions.

One example (and there could be so many more from William Carey and Adoniram Judson and David Livingstone and John Patton and George Mueller and Charles Spurgeon and Jonathan Edwards and on and on): Kristin Carlson has been in Zambia for almost a year working with street kids with Action International (Get to know them; I could have listed the director, Doug Nichols, among those radical Christians who went to Rwanda with colon cancer because he humbly embraces the truth of election). Here's what Kristin emailed to us on Thanksgiving morning:

First of all, I am thankful for God's unfathomable grace in choosing me. I have done nothing to deserve this, and I continually marvel at my Father's goodness to me. The reason I am thankful to be chosen is because I know what I have been chosen for. Chosen to proclaim the excellencies of God; chosen to be eternally satisfied in God through Jesus; chosen to live in light and not darkness; chosen to taste and see that He is good.

Don't miss this. Some of you have no idea of what Kristin is talking about because you have been taught that the doctrine of election is either untrue or unhelpful. You have always stood on the outside looking in and being suspicious or criticizing. You are now hearing in this email a story from inside—from someone who knows what is like to embrace and be embraced in the doctrine of unconditional election. The effect is not what you may have been taught. Listen to its effects. She continues:

I am thankful that God chose Vasco, a hard, ignorant, rebellious street kid, out of darkness into His marvelous light. And the fruit I already see in Vasco's life is testimony to his abiding in Jesus, the Vine.

I am thankful for God's overflowing goodness in the past year. . . . What an amazing work to be a part of—becoming friends with street kids and sharing the only lasting hope with them. And as an insert here, I'm thankful for the heart God has given me for these kids. Objectively speaking, I know it's not "normal" to LOVE treading through garbage piles and sitting on a plush couch (a small metal object with a piece of cardboard on top for a seat) with dirty, smelly kids, but, so it is, I love it.

Embracing and being embraced by the doctrine of sovereign grace—beginning with unconditional election—first produces that kind of radical, risk-taking sacrificial love; and then it humbles us to rejoice in the truth that we did not produce this beauty in ourselves, God did. Then we give him the glory.

If you ask: Is this a Biblical way of thinking? Does the Bible actually teach that the truth of election is intended by God to have these effects? the answer is yes. First consider the wording of Colossians 3:12-13, "Put on then, as God's chosen ones [God's elect], holy and beloved, compassion, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive." There's the connection. It's explicit and plain in Paul's mind. To know that you are chosen by grace, that you are set apart for God, that you are loved, should make you one of the meekest people in the world ready to endure mistreatment and ready to forgive. Loving the unlovely—in Zambia and everywhere else.

Here's another clue how this works. In Romans 8:33 Paul says, "Who shall bring any charge against God's elect? It is God who justifies." The answer is: Nobody can make a charge stick against you if you are chosen by God. He is for you forever. It's crystal clear that Paul says this because he expects it to have a practical effect on us. He expects us to feel assurance and joy and then be courageous and fearless. As you stand before a decision today that seems right and loving, but risky, do you feel the effect of the question: "Who shall bring any charge against God's elect?" Do you feel the assurance-producing gospel force in the word "elect"?

This is not mainly a doctrine to be argued about, but a doctrine to be enjoyed. It's not designed for disputes; it's designed for missions. It's not meant to divide people (though it will); it's meant to make them compassionate, kind, humble, meek, and forgiving.

5. I close with one last pastoral thought. Don't think of election apart from Jesus Christ.

Ephesians 1:3 says, "[God] chose us in [Christ] before the foundation of the world." In other words, when God planned in eternity to pluck us out of our bondage to sin, he had Christ in mind as the way he would do it. God planned before the foundation of the world to save us through the death and resurrection of Christ.

Therefore, what God has done to save us and call us to himself is not to tell us ahead of time if we are elect. God never reveals this except through a relationship with Jesus Christ, so that Christ is central to our election. Instead of telling us if we are elect, what God did was to send his Son and say, "Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life" (John 3:36). "Whoever believes in the Son of God has the testimony in himself" (1 John 5:10). He knows that he is elect.

So in the name of Christ I call you: Come, take him as your Savior and your Lord and the Treasure of your life. He never casts out any who comes in faith. He forgives sin. He clothes with righteousness. He gives the Holy Spirit. He will keep you. "My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand" (John 10:27). Hear the voice of the good Shepherd and come.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org