Risk and the Cause of God

“我们都当刚强,为本国的民和神的城邑作大丈夫。愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!”

今天上午的主题,是“冒险与上帝的事业”。我对冒险的定义很简单,就是可能使人受到损失或伤害的行动。冒险可能让你失去金钱,丢面子,甚至丧命。而且更糟的是,你不仅自己担风险,还可能把别人卷入险境,让他们的财产甚至生命受到威胁。

一个有智慧有爱心的人是否会去冒险呢?

一个有智慧有爱心的人,是否可能去冒险呢?暴露在危害之中,是否明智呢?让别人也冒伤害的风险,是否算有爱心呢?冒险是否算不算不明智和缺乏爱心的表现呢?

答案是:或许是,或许不是。假如不冒险可能导致损失和伤害,人们是否就应该铤而走险呢?因为仅求安全反而不明智。又比如,冒险若成功,会让多人受益,而失败只会伤害你自己呢?为成就上帝的事业,为他人的益处,就该去冒些险,而这时一味求安稳、图安逸的做法,反而显得缺乏爱心了。

冒险已经被编织在我们这有限的生活结构当中了

为什么世上会有冒险的事?因为有无知。假如世上没有无知,就不会有冒险了。冒险之所以成为可能,就因为我们不知道结果到底会怎样。

而上帝绝对不会去冒险,他知道一切决定的结果。既然他知道一切后果,就会根据这些结果相应做出计划。他的无所不知,彻底排除了他会冒险的可能性。

但我们可不是这样。我们不是神;我们无知,不晓得明天会发生什么;上帝也没有告诉我们,他明天或者五年后想做些什么。很明显,上帝就是要让我们在无知(无法尽知一切——译注)中、在不确定中生活和行事。

例如,《雅各书》4:13-15,神对我们说,

嗐!你们有话说:“今天明天我们要往某城里去,在那里住一年,作买卖得利。”其实明天如何,你们还不知道。你们的生命是什么呢?你们原来是一片云雾,出现少时就不见了。你们只当说:“主若愿意,我们就可以活着,也可以做这事,或做那事。”

你甚至都不知道,今天主日崇拜结束之前,你的心脏是否会停止跳动;你也不知道,回家途中是否被失控的车子撞到;你不知道在餐馆吃的东西,会不会有置人于死地的病毒;你不知道,这个星期过去之前,你会不会中风瘫痪;你不知道,是否会有人在南黛儿购物中心(Southdale Mall)对你开枪扫射。是啊,我们不是神。不知道明天会发生什么。

所以说,冒险诚然编织进我们这有限的人生中了。就算你竭尽全力,也无法完全逃避风险。对明天的无知和不确定性,真的像我们呼吸的空气一样平常。我们为明天所作的种种计划,都有可能被成千上万不可知的因素毁掉,无论我们躲在被窝里,还是在高速公路上。

让安全保障这个神话破灭吧

今天上午,我的负担是帮大家破除一个神话,就是关于生活要有安全保障的神话,我还要设法使你脱离那个迷梦——生活中一定要寻求保障和稳定。因为这些都是海市蜃楼,是梦想。无论你走向人生哪个方向,都会遇到各种未知以及无法掌控的局面。

而且悲剧在于,在这个关乎安全保障的迷梦的欺骗之下(其实,我们每天都在冒险,只是自己不知道而已),我们不能为上帝的事业冒任何风险,以为那会威胁我们所谓的安全,其实这东西本来就不存在,我们被蒙骗了。

我希望帮你们破除这个关于安全的神话,从这个保障的梦幻中清醒过来。怎么办呢?我要在圣经中给你指明,为上帝的事业去冒险,乃是正确和必要的。

约押和亚比筛

经文在《撒母耳记下》10章,特别是12节。

亚扪人让以色列使节受辱,得罪了大卫。为保护自己,他们雇用了亚兰人(叙利亚人)一起与以色列人交战。有一次,大卫的元帅约押发现自己被包围了,一边是亚扪人,另一边是亚兰人。于是他把军兵分成两队,让弟弟亚比筛率领一队,他自己则率领另一队。

我们读过11节,他们彼此许诺,要互相帮助。接着,12节的名句出现了:

我们都当刚强,为本国的民和神的城邑作大丈夫。愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!

愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!

这是什么意思呢?意思是,约押已经为着神的城邑作了一个满有策略的决定,但他不知道结局怎样。这方面他并没从神那里得着特别启示。所以,他必须根据自己那被分别为圣之智谋作出决定。要么冒险行动,要么逃跑。当时他并不知道战事结局如何,于是他决定把结果交给上帝。他这样做是正确的。

为上帝的事业冒险是正确的。

以斯帖在亚哈随鲁王面前

看看另一个例子,《以斯帖记》第四章,还记得吗,那时有个犹太人名叫末底改,被敌人俘虏到巴比伦。他有个年轻的侄女,名叫以斯帖,是个孤儿,被他收为养女。以斯帖长大后非常漂亮,后来做了亚哈随鲁王的皇后。

哈曼是亚哈随鲁身边位高权重的亲王之一,却极其痛恨末底改和这些犹太难民,于是说服国王,颁发了谕令,要在某日把犹太人彻底铲除。当时国王并不知道皇后就是犹太人。

那么,皇后以斯帖做了什么呢?她明明知道法令规定,任何人若没有奉命,擅自进去见王,要被处死,除非国王向这人伸出他的金杖来,才可以免死。她也知道,通国的犹太同胞处在生死存亡的关头。怎么办呢?《以斯帖记》4:13-14那里,末底改指示以斯帖,为民族,也为她所信的神的事业,冒生命危险去见王,

15-16节是以斯帖答复。

以斯帖就吩咐人回报末底改说: “你当去招聚书珊城所有的犹大人,为我禁食三昼三夜,不吃不喝;我和我的宫女也要这样禁食。然后我违例进去见王,我若死就死吧!”

我若死就死吧!

这是什么意思呢?意思是,以斯帖并不知道她的行动会有怎样的结局。关于这件事,她并没有从神那里得到特别启示,所以她必须根据自己那被分别为圣之才智,以及对本族民众的爱心,来作出决定。她要么冒险,要么逃跑。在不知道结局的情况下,她作出决定,把结果交给了上帝。“我若死就死吧!”她这样做乃是正确的。

为着上帝的事业而冒险是正确的。

沙得拉、米煞、亚伯尼歌

再来看一个旧约例子,《但以理书》第三章。这次场景是在巴比伦,故事也是发生在被掳的犹太人身上。当时在位的巴比伦王是尼布甲尼撒。他造了一座金像,并且下令,听到号声,全国百姓都要向这金像俯伏敬拜。然而,但以理的三个朋友,沙得拉、米煞、亚伯尼歌却没有遵命。他们依然单单敬拜以色列的独一真神。

因此,15节那里,尼布甲尼撒王恐吓他们说,假如他们不敬拜金像,就会被扔到烈火的窑中。那么,他们是怎么来回答国王的呢?我们来看16-18节他们的答复:

沙得拉、米煞、亚伯尼歌对王说:“尼布甲尼撒啊,这件事我们不必回答你;即便如此,我们所事奉的神能将我们从烈火的窑中救出来。王啊,他也必救我们脱离你的手;即或不然,王啊,你当知道我们决不事奉你的神,也不敬拜你所立的金像。”

这绝对是赤裸裸的冒险。“我们所事奉的神……必救我们脱离你的手;即或不然,王啊,你当知道我们决不事奉你的神。”他们并不知道事情会怎样收场,他们所说的几乎跟以斯帖一模一样,“我若死,就死吧!”于是,他们就像前面提到的约押和亚比筛那样,把结果全然交托给上帝了:“愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!”他们这样做乃是正确的。

为着上帝的事业冒险是正确的。

保罗在去往耶路撒冷 的路上

我们再看看伟大的冒险家使徒保罗。先翻开《使徒行传》21章。保罗正在去往耶路撒冷的路上,他受圣灵催促,定意要往耶路撒冷去(徒19:21),把各地收到的捐款带上去。

他来到该撒利亚,21:10说,那里有一位从犹太下来的先知,名叫亚迦布,拿了保罗的腰带捆上自己的手脚,然后说,“圣灵说:犹太人在耶路撒冷,要如此捆绑这腰带的主人,把他交在外邦人手里。”

那地的信徒听了这事,就恳求保罗不要去耶路撒冷。保罗怎么回答?13节,

保罗说:“你们为什么这样痛哭,使我心碎呢?我为主耶稣的名,不但被人捆绑,就是死在耶路撒冷也是愿意的。”

接着14节,路加记载,“保罗既不听劝,我们便住了口,只说:‘愿主的旨意成就,’便了。”

换句话说,保罗相信,为上帝的事业,他必须去耶路撒冷。他并不知道前面等着他的到底是什么。被捕和遭患难似乎确定无疑了,还会发生什么呢?死亡、监禁、充军和流放吗?没人知道。那么,与他在一起的信徒们能怎么说呢?他们的共识就是,“愿主的旨意成就!”或者,引用约押的话说,就是“愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!”

为着上帝的事业而冒险是正确的。

保罗整个的人生

事实上,保罗整个人生都是由一个接一个非同凡响的冒险组成的。《使徒行传》20:23那里他说,“但知道圣灵在各城里向我指证,说有捆锁与患难等待我。”但他并不知道这些患难具体会以何种方式、在什么时候、借谁的手临到他。

一起看《哥林多后书》11:24以及后面的经文。保罗写这封书信,是在我们前面读到的《使徒行传》21章的事件发生之前。尽管保罗已经确知,在耶路撒冷等待他的将是捆锁与患难,还是决定上耶路撒冷去,甚至冒生命危险。我们来看看他经历过的各样患难吧——这一切都是因着他为上帝的事业去冒险的结果:

“被犹太人鞭打五次,每次四十减去一下; 被棍打了三次;被石头打了一次,遇着船坏三次,一昼一夜在深海里。 又屡次行远路,遭江河的危险、盗贼的危险,同族的危险、外邦人的危险、城里的危险、旷野的危险、海中的危险、假弟兄的危险。 受劳碌、受困苦,多次不得睡,又饥又渴,多次不得食,受寒冷,赤身露体。 除了这外面的事,还有为众教会挂心的事,天天压在我身上。”

这些描述是什么意思呢?意思是,保罗从来不知道,下一个打击会从哪里来。每一天他都为上帝的事业冒着生命危险。要走的路不安全,过的河也不安全;在同胞犹太人中不安全,在外邦人中更不安全;城市不安全,乡下和旷野也不安全;大海不安全,即使弟兄,也不都是安全的——因为有假弟兄!安全与保障实在对使徒保罗来说,是海市蜃楼,根本就不存在。

他只有两个选择:逃跑,或者去冒险。而他的答复,正如《使徒行传》20:24所记载的,“我却不以性命为念,也不看为宝贵,只要行完我的路程,成就我从主耶稣所领受的职事,证明神恩惠的福音。”他其实从来不知道每天会发生什么。但上帝的事业在召唤他。于是他每天都去冒生命危险。他这样做乃是正确的。

为着上帝的事业而冒险是正确的。

在旷野中的以色列民

那么,神的百姓若没有从关于安全保障的迷惑中脱身,想活在安全的迷梦中,后果会怎样呢?还记得什么时候发生过这种事吗?那就是记载在《民数记》13章和14章的事件。

那时,靠着耶和华的大能,以色列百姓离开了埃及,不到三年,他们就来到应许之地的边缘。《民数记》13:1,耶和华对摩西说,“你打发人去窥探我所赐给以色列人的迦南地,他们每支派中要打发一个人,都要作首领的。”于是摩西派了迦勒,约书亚,还有另外十名探子。

四十天后探子回来了,他们砍了一挂葡萄,要两个人用杠抬着。30节迦勒说,“我们立刻上去得那地吧!我们足能得胜。”但是,接下来31节,另外那些探子却说,“我们不能上去攻击那民,因为他们比我们强壮。”

迦勒也无力回天,没办法破除那个关于安全的神话。那群百姓都被安全保障的迷梦诱惑和捆绑了。他们就对摩西和亚伦发怨言(14:2),甚至决定要回埃及去——那里的安全保障让人留恋。

于是,约书亚想帮助百姓脱离他愚拙的捆绑,他大声疾呼(7-9节),

“我们所窥探、经过之地是极美之地。 耶和华若喜悦我们,就必将我们领进那地,把地赐给我们;那地原是流奶与蜜之地。 但你们不可背叛耶和华,也不要怕那地的居民;因为他们是我们的食物,并且荫庇他们的已经离开他们。有耶和华与我们同在,不要怕他们!”

但即使是约书亚,也没有办法破除关于安全的这个神话。百姓在这个满有安全保障的迷梦中酩酊大醉。他们甚至要用石头打死迦勒和约书亚。而那显然是错误的。

不去为着上帝的事业而冒险是错误的。

上帝并没有应许短期的成功

在我们为他的事业而冒险之时,上帝保证了我们会成功吗?

没有,没有这么个应许,说为上帝的事业努力,都会成功——至少不是在短期中。当希律王离弃了自己的配偶,娶了他兄弟的妻子希罗底后,施洗约翰就明明指出他做得不对。施洗约翰那样直言,是要冒生命危险的。结果他真的因此被砍头。但是,他为上帝的事业冒生命危险,他做得对!

保罗在耶路撒冷被鞭打,投入监狱,后来又被送往罗马,最终在两年后被处以极刑。而他为上帝的事业冒生命危险,乃是正确的。

还有,在非洲和亚洲的大地上,埋葬了多少年轻的宣教士,他们都被圣灵的大能释放,脱离了那虚假的安全感,为着上帝的事业,进入世界各地未得之民当中,冒着生命危险忠心服事。

那么你呢?

现在轮到你了,你是否也被这种安全保障的迷梦捆绑,以至瘫痪,不能为上帝的事业去冒任何风险呢?或者,你是否已经被圣灵释放,脱离了对埃及的安稳生活的追求,看透它的虚幻?男子汉,你是否愿意像约押那样说,“我要试试!愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!”?勇敢的女士,你是否愿意像以斯帖那样说,“我要试试!我若是死了,就死吧!”?

那么,我们教会接下来的计划又是什么呢?当我们眺望前面,到2000年之前还剩下12年半的时间,我们是否也可以从中学到一些属灵功课呢?这就是下个主日我要谈的话题。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Risk and the Cause of God

Be of good courage and let us play the man for our people, and for the cities of our God; and may the Lord do what seems good to him.

My subject this morning is risk and the cause of God. I define risk very simply as an action that exposes someone to the possibility of loss or injury. If you take a risk, you can lose money, you can lose face, you can lose your life. And what's worse, if you take a risk, you may endanger other people and not just yourself. You may lose their money. Their life may be at stake.

Will a Wise and Loving Person Risk?

Will a wise and loving person, then, ever take a risk? Is it wise to expose yourself to loss? Is it loving to endanger others? Is taking risks unwise and unloving?

Maybe. But maybe not. What if the circumstances are such that not taking a risk will result in loss and injury? It may not be wise to play it safe. And what if a successful risk would bring great benefit to many people and its failure would bring harm only to yourself? It may not be loving to chose the comfort of security when something great may be achieved for the cause of God and for the good of others.

Risk Is Woven into the Fabric of Our Finite Lives

Why is there such a thing as risk? The reason there is such a thing as risk is that there is such a thing as ignorance. If there were no ignorance, there would be no risk. Risk is possible because we don't know how things will turn out.

This means that God can take no risks. He knows the outcome of all his choices before they happen. And since he knows the outcome of all his actions before they happen, he plans accordingly. His omniscience rules out the very possibility of taking risks.

But not so with us. We are not God; we are ignorant. We don't know what will happen tomorrow. God does not tell us what he intends to do tomorrow or five years from now. Evidently God intends for us to live and act in ignorance and in uncertainty about the outcome of our actions.

He says to us, for example, in James 4:13–15,

Come now, you who say, "Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and get gain"; whereas you do not know about tomorrow. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, "If the Lord wills, we shall live and we shall do this or that."

You don't know if your heart will stop before this service is over. You don't know if some oncoming driver will swerve out of his lane and hit you head on as you go home. You don't know if the food in the restaurant may have some deadly virus in it. You don't know if a stroke may paralyze you before the week is out. You don't know if some man with a rifle will just start shooting at you at the Southdale Mall. We are not God. We do not know about tomorrow.

And therefore risk is built right into the fabric of our finite lives. You can't avoid risk even if you want to. Ignorance and uncertainty about tomorrow is our native air. All of our plans for tomorrow's activities can be shattered by a thousand unknowns whether we stay at home under the covers or ride the freeways.

Exploding the Myth of Safety

My burden this morning is to help explode the myth of safety, and to somehow deliver you from the enchantment of security. Because it's a mirage. It doesn't exist. Every direction you turn there are unknowns and things beyond your control.

And the tragedy is that in the deceptive enchantment of security (where we take risks for ourselves everyday without knowing it!) we are paralyzed to take any risks for the cause of God, because we are deluded and think it may jeopardize a security which in fact does not even exist.

The way I hope to explode the myth of safety and to disenchant you with the mirage of security is to simply go to the Bible and show you that it is right to risk for the cause of God.

Joab and Abishai

Our text is 2 Samuel 10, especially verse 12.

The Amalekites had shamed the messengers of Israel and made themselves odious in the sight of David. To protect themselves they had hired the Syrians to fight with them against the Israelites. Joab, the commander of David's forces, found himself surrounded with Amalekites on one side and Syrians on the other. So he divided his troops, put his brother Abishai in charge of one group, and took the other himself.

In verse 11, which we have looked at before, they pledged themselves to help each other. Then came this great word in verse 12:

Be of good courage, and let us play the man for our people, and for the cities of our God; and may the Lord do what seems good to him.

MAY THE LORD DO WHAT SEEMS GOOD TO HIM.

What does that mean? It means that Joab had made a strategic decision for the cities of God and he did not know how it would turn out. He had no special revelation from God on this issue. He had to make a decision on the basis of sanctified wisdom. He had to risk or run. He did not know how it would turn out. So he made his decision and he handed the results over to God. And this was right.

It is right to risk for the cause of God.

Esther Before King Ahasuerus

Consider another example with me, this time from the book of Esther, chapter 4. You recall that there was a Jewish man named Mordecai who had been carried away into the Babylonian exile. He had a younger cousin named Esther whom he had adopted as a daughter because she was an orphan. She grew up to be beautiful and eventually was taken by king Ahasuerus to be his queen.

Haman, one of Ahasuerus' chief princes, hated Mordecai and all the Jewish refugees and persuaded the king to decree that they be exterminated. The king did not realize that his own queen is a Jew.

Now what did Esther do? She knew the law that anyone who approached the king without being called would be put to death unless he lifted his golden scepter. She also knew that her people's lives were at stake. In 4:13–14 Mordecai asked her to take the risk and approach the king on behalf of her people and the cause of her God.

Verses 15–16 give Esther's answer.

Then Esther told them to reply to Mordecai, "Go, gather all the Jews to be found in Susa, and hold a fast on my behalf, and neither eat nor drink for three days, night or day. I and my maids will also fast as you do. Then I will go to the king, though it is against the law; and if I perish, I perish."

IF I PERISH, I PERISH.

What does that mean? It means that Esther did not know what the outcome of her act would be. She had no special revelation from God on this issue. She had to make a decision on the basis of sanctified wisdom and love for her people. She had to risk or run. She did not know how it would turn out. So she made her decision and handed the results over to God. "If I perish, I perish." And this was right.

It is right to risk for the cause of God.

Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego

Consider one more example from the Old Testament, from the book of Daniel, chapter 3. Again the setting is Babylon and the Jewish exiles. The king is Nebuchadnezzar. He sets up an image of gold and commands that when the trumpet sounds, all the people will bow down to the image. But Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego did not bow down. They worshiped the one true God of Israel.

So in verse 15 Nebuchadnezzar threatens them and says that if they do not worship the image, they will be thrown into the fiery furnace. Verses 16–18 give their answer:

Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego answered the king, "O Nebuchadnezzar, we have no need to answer you in this matter. If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace; and he will deliver us out of your hand, O king. But if not, be it known to you, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the golden image which you have set up."

This is sheer risk. "We believe our God will deliver us. But even if he doesn't, we will not serve your gods." They did not know how it would turn out. They said virtually the same thing Esther said, "If we perish, we perish." And they handed the outcome to God the same way Joab and Abishai did: "And may the Lord do what seems good to him." And this was right.

It is right to risk for the cause of God.

Paul on His Way to Jerusalem

Now consider the great New Testament risk taker, the apostle Paul. First, let's go to Acts 21. Paul is on his way to Jerusalem. He had bound himself in the Holy Spirit (19:21) to go to Jerusalem. He had collected money and he was going to see that it was delivered faithfully.

He gets as far as Caesarea, and it says in 21:10 that a prophet named Agabus came down from Judea, bound his own hands and feet, and said, "Thus says the Holy Spirit, 'So shall the Jews at Jerusalem bind the man who owns this girdle and deliver him into the hands of the Gentiles.'"

When the believers hear this, they beg Paul not to go. Here is his response in verse 13,

What are you doing, weeping and breaking my heart? For I am ready not only to be imprisoned but even to die at Jerusalem for the name of the Lord Jesus.

Then, in verse 14 Luke says, "And when he would not be persuaded, we ceased and said, 'The will of the Lord be done.'"

In other words, Paul believes that this trip to Jerusalem is necessary for the cause of God. He does not know what would happen there. Arrest and affliction for sure. But then what? Death? Imprisonment? Banishment? No one knew. So what do they say? On one thing they can agree, "The will of the Lord be done!" Or as Joab said, "May the Lord do what seems good to him." And this was right.

It is right to risk for the cause of God.

Paul's Whole Life

In fact, Paul's whole life was one extraordinary risk after another. He said in Acts 20:23, "The Holy Spirit testifies in every city that imprisonment and afflictions await me." But he never knew in what form they would come, or when they would come, or by whom they would come.

Turn with me to 2 Corinthians 11:24ff. Paul wrote this letter before the events of Acts 21 that we just read. So he had decided to risk his life in Jerusalem with the full knowledge of what it might be like. Look what he had endured—all of it as a result of taking risks for the cause of God:

Five times I have received at the hands of the Jews the forty lashes less one. Three times I have been beaten with rods; once I was stoned. Three times I have been shipwrecked; a night and a day I have been adrift at sea; on frequent journeys, in danger from rivers, danger from robbers, danger from my own people, danger from Gentiles, danger in the city, danger in the wilderness, danger at sea, danger from false brethren; in toil and hardship, through many a sleepless night, in hunger and thirst, often without food, in cold and exposure. And apart from other things, there is the daily pressure upon me of my anxiety for all the churches.

What does this mean? It means that Paul never knew where the next blow would come from. Every day he risked his life for the cause of God. The roads weren't safe. The rivers weren't safe. His own people, the Jews, weren't safe. The Gentiles weren't safe. The cities weren't safe. The wilderness wasn't safe. The sea wasn't safe. Even the brethren weren't safe—some were false! Safety was a mirage. It didn't exist for the apostle Paul.

He had two choices: run or risk. And he answered in Acts 20:24, "I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may accomplish my course and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus to testify to the gospel of the grace of God." He never knew what the day would hold. But the cause of God beckoned. And he risked his life every day. And this was right.

It is right to risk for the cause of God.

The People of Israel in the Wilderness

What happens when the people of God do not escape from the enchantment of security? What happens if they try to live their lives in the mirage of safety? Do you remember the time it happened? It is recorded in Numbers 13 and 14.

It is less than three years since the people of Israel came out of Egypt by the power of God. Now they are on the borders of the promised land. And in 13:1 the Lord says to Moses, "Send men to spy out the land of Canaan, which I give to the people of Israel." So Moses sends Caleb, Joshua, and ten other men.

After 40 days they return with a huge cluster of grapes hung on a pole between two men. In verse 30 Caleb says, "Let us go up at once, and occupy it; for we are well able to overcome it." But in verse 31 some of the others said, "We are not able to go up against the people; for they are stronger than we."

Caleb is unable to explode the myth of safety. The people are gripped by the enchantment of security. They murmur against Moses and Aaron in 14:2 and decide to go back to Egypt—the great mirage of safety.

So Joshua tries to free them from their stupor in verses 7–9,

The land, which we passed through to spy it out, is an exceedingly good land. If the Lord delights in us, he will bring us into this land and give it to us, a land which flows with milk and honey. Only, do not rebel against the Lord; and do not fear the people of the land, for they are bread for us; their protection is removed from them, and the Lord is with us; do not fear them.

But not even Joshua could explode the myth of safety. The people were drunk in a dream world of security. And they tried to stone Caleb and Joshua. And that was wrong.

It is wrong not to take risks for the cause of God.

God Does Not Promise Short-Term Success

Is that because God promises success to all our ventures in his cause?

No. There is no promise that every effort for the cause of God will succeed, at least not in the short run. John the Baptist risked calling a spade a spade when Herod divorced his wife to take his bother's wife, Herodias. And John got his head chopped off for it. And he had done right to risk his life for the cause of God.

Paul was beaten and thrown in jail in Jerusalem and shipped off to Rome and executed there two years later. And he did right to risk his life for the cause of God.

And how many graves are there in Africa and Asia because thousands of young missionaries were freed by the power of the Holy Spirit from the enchantment of security, and then risked their lives for the cause of God among the unreached peoples of the world!

What About You?

And now what about you? Are you caught in the enchantment of security, paralyzed from taking any risks for the cause of God? Or have you been freed by the Holy spirit from the mirage of Egyptian safety and comfort? Do you men ever say with Joab, "I'll try it! And may the Lord do what seems good to him!"? Do you women ever say with Esther, "I'll try it! And if I perish, I perish!"?

And what about our church and our future? Is there any lesson here for us as we look out over the next 12 and half years to the year 2000? These are the questions I want to talk about next week.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org