冒险与爱的胜利

“谁能使我们与基督的爱隔绝呢?难道是患难吗?是困苦吗?是逼迫吗?是饥饿吗?是赤身露体吗?是危险吗?是刀剑吗?如经上所记:我们为你的缘故终日被杀;人看我们如将宰的羊。然而,靠着爱我们的主,在这一切的事上已经得胜有余了。”

为上帝的事业而冒险是正确的

两周前,我讲到圣经记载的那些敢于冒险的人物。

  • 约押为着上帝的事业而举兵出战,并且说,“愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!”(撒下10:12)。
  • 以斯帖为着被掳的犹太百姓冒生命危险,并且说,“我若死,就死吧!”(帖4:16)。
  • 沙得拉、米煞、亚伯尼歌毫无惧色地站在火窑前,勇敢地说,“我们所事奉的神……必救我们脱离你的手;即或不然,王啊,你当知道我们决不事奉你的神,也不敬拜你所立的金像。”(但3:18)
  • 保罗每天都在冒险,但他说,“我却不以性命为念,也不看为宝贵,只要行完我的路程,成就我从主耶稣所领受的职事,证明神恩惠的福音”(徒20:24)。

我们从这些圣经故事中得出结论,为上帝的事业冒险是正确的。上帝并不希望我们知道在这世上将会遇到什么,也不想让我们在这种不确定中陷入恐惧,或麻木、贪爱安逸,或过度谨慎;他只是一次又一次教导我们,要愿意为着上帝的事业冒险。

因此,上个礼拜我们就把注意力从圣经里那几位冒险者身上挪开,回到当前,让神的话语来挑战我们,如何在自己的生活中冒险——特别是这四个领域。

  • 为着义与真实性的缘故,在关系层面的冒险。
  • 为着福音的事业,在钱财方面的冒险。.
  • 为着基督的真理和美善,在我们个人见证方面的冒险。
  • 在教会事工之拓展方面的冒险。.

上周的经文是《路加福音》21:16,“连你们的父母、弟兄、亲族、朋友也要把你们交官;你们也有被他们害死的。”我们特别注意到“有些人(some)”这个词。因为对某些人来说,顺服基督就会导致患难与死亡。对另一些人来说,则会很平安。但我们都不知道自己属于哪一类。因此,顺服必然会带有冒险的意味。而且这就是上帝的旨意,因此我们说,为着上帝的事业冒险是正确的。

寻找那潜藏的假设

好了,今天我要讲明,过去两周我一直在假设,那推动我们为上帝的事业冒险的能量或动机,并非英雄主义,或迷恋于探险,或出于自信的勇气,或行出上帝美好旨意的渴望……不,不是这些!隐藏在所有合乎圣经的“为上帝的事业而冒险”背后的力量,乃是对上帝那战无不胜之爱的信心。

我的假设是,

  • 使我们为上帝的事业甘冒丢脸风险的,是我们对上帝之爱的信心,因为我们相信上帝的爱最终会显明我们行动的缘由,使我们在人面前得以挺胸抬头;
  • 使我们为上帝的事业甘冒财务风险的,是我们对福音事业的信心,因为我们相信会有用不尽的财宝积存在天上;
  • 使我们为上帝的事业甘冒生命危险的,是我们对上帝那应许的信心,因为我们相信他的应许,那些今生为福音丧失生命的,必要在来世得永生。

这跟那些英雄主义和自我奋斗的做法很不一样。我们拿着自己的面子、钱财和生命去冒险,因为我们相信上帝会把我们的损失转化为荣耀,而真正要被称赞的,并不是我们的勇气;而是上帝的看顾之恩。

这就是上两周我的假设,今天我要做的,就是把它分解明白,考察它的圣经基础。

用《罗马书》8:35-39来解释《路加福音》21:16–18

我们从上个星期的经文开始吧。《路加福音》21:16那里耶稣说,“你们也有被他们害死的。”但接下来18节他又说,“然而,你们连一根头发也必不损坏。你们常存忍耐,就必保全灵魂(或作:必得生命)。”“你们也有被他们害死的……然而,你们连一根头发也必不损坏”!!

这到底是怎么回事?耶稣在这里想对我们说什么,因为他说:“去吧,为顺服的缘故去冒险吧;你们有些人会被他们杀死;但你们连一根头发也不会损坏”?我认为,对此最好的注解,在《罗马书》8:35-39,今天我们重点分享这段经文。

“谁能使我们与基督的爱隔绝呢?难道是患难吗?是困苦吗?是逼迫吗?是饥饿吗?是赤身露体吗?是危险吗?是刀剑吗?如经上所记:我们为你的缘故终日被杀;人看我们如将宰的羊。然而,靠着爱我们的主,在这一切的事上已经得胜有余了。因为我深信无论是死,是生,是天使,是掌权的,是有能的,是现在的事,是将来的事,是高处的,是低处的,是别的受造之物,都不能叫我们与神的爱隔绝;这爱是在我们的主基督耶稣里的。”

还记得耶稣说的话吗:“你们也有被他们害死的……然而,你们连一根头发也必不损坏。”这里保罗说的又是什么呢?

1. 基督的爱并没有消除我们的苦难

保罗像耶稣那样,首先说,基督的爱并没有消除我们的患难。相反,我们紧紧依靠耶稣,反而会有苦难。那么,对于35节提出的问题(“难道患难,困苦,逼迫,饥饿,赤身露体,危险,和刀剑,能使我们与基督的爱隔绝吗?”),他的答案是什么呢?

答案在第37节,铿锵有力:“不会的!”

你们也有被他们害死的

但是,请不要忽略该句中隐含的意思:这些事情不能把我们与基督的爱隔绝,并不是因为它们不会发生在基督所爱的人身上。相反,保罗在36节引用《诗篇》44:22,明明告诉我们,它们一定会发生在基督的跟随者身上。

“我们为你的缘故终日被杀;人看我们如将宰的羊。”换言之,35节所言基督的爱,并不会让我们避免这些苦难。

这就是37节那个介词“在……上(in)”的含义了:“在这一切的事上我们已经得胜有余了。”你看,正是在这些事情当中,而不是借着避开它们,我们才能够得胜!

所以,保罗跟耶稣说的一样:你们也有被他们害死的。

上帝的事业所涉及的冒险事项

顺服就意味着冒险。而且,为上帝的事业冒险是正确的。我们来看看35节列出的那些冒险事项:

  • “患难”——基督徒们将会遭受患难!就是各样的麻烦与压迫。
  • “困苦”——令人焦虑不安的环境,伴随着各样危险、恐吓和担忧。
  • “逼迫”——从福音的敌人而来的激烈反对。
  • “饥饿”——留心这个词!当食物紧缺的时候,基督徒不一定置身其外。虽然耶稣在另一处提到,我们不需要为吃什么喝什么忧虑,因为天父知道我们的需用,但那并不是说,基督徒永远不会挨饿或饿死,而是说,总会有足够的食物让我们去执行上帝的旨意并荣耀他的名。并且即使饥荒,也不能使我们与神的爱隔绝。这道理有很深的含义,对我们理解各种国家范围的灾难,以及身处其中时抱怎样的期待、如何回应,很有帮助。希望大家好好想一想。

这足以表明,保罗跟耶稣有同样的确信:顺服就是冒险,并且,“你们也有被他们害死的。”

2. 都不能叫我们与基督的爱隔绝

然而,保罗说的第二件事情是,所有这些痛苦和境遇,都不能把我们与基督的爱隔绝。他问道,“难道患难,困苦,逼迫,饥饿,赤身露体,危险,或刀剑,能使我们与基督的爱隔绝吗?”然后37节答道,“绝不会的!”

这也就是耶稣这句话的意思(“你们也有被他们害死的……然而,你们连一根头发也必不损坏。”)。

上帝的爱必会最终得胜

换句话说,真正的基督徒无论遭受怎样的痛苦,都不能证明他与基督的爱隔绝了。基督的爱必然胜过一切痛苦和不幸。38-39节把这个意思表达得极为清楚:

“因为我深信无论是死,是生,是天使,是掌权的,是有能的,是现在的事,是将来的事,是高处的,是低处的,是别的受造之物,都不能叫我们与神的爱隔绝;这爱是在我们的主基督耶稣里的。”

在每个冒险之旅的远方——就算结局是死亡——都有上帝的大爱之胜利。就是这信心让我们得释放,得自由,可以为上帝的事业去勇敢地冒险。这不是英雄主义或对探险的迷恋,或勇猛的自我奋斗精神,或企图赢得上帝欢心的血气之勇。这乃是小孩子一样对上帝大爱的单纯信赖——在为义去冒险的路上,无论多远,上帝始终保守我们。

你们连一根头发也必不损坏?

但是,耶稣多说了一点。他说,“你们连一根头发也必不损坏。”这句话乍看起来有些讽刺意味,因为耶稣明明知道,他的表哥施洗约翰,就是为义的缘故被砍头的,可他还说你们连一根头发也必不损坏。我们可以安慰病苦之人说,上帝与你同在,他会一直保守你,爱你,让你康复的。但对一位饱经酷刑奄奄一息的圣徒说,“你们连一根头发也必不损坏。”这就不那么合适了,那么耶稣到底什么意思呢?

3. 基督的爱能够让仇敌来服事你

而保罗也这么说——这是保罗说的第三件事。他给我们提出了同样的问题。请大家看31节:“神若帮助我们,谁能敌挡我们呢?”这话的意思似乎是“没有人能敌挡我们,因为神帮助我们”,但是,如果没人能敌挡我们,为什么我们还终日被杀,如将宰的羊呢?(36节)?

所说的不仅是我们能够在患难之后还得以存活

“没有人能敌挡我们”听起来就像“你们连一根头发也必不损坏”那样过分!超出了常人的理解范围。保罗和耶稣说的,好像超过了我们的认知程度。他们好像不仅仅是说我们能在患难中存活,并得到永生之类,也不仅是“患难,困苦,逼迫,饥饿,赤身露体,危险,和刀剑,都不能使我们与基督的爱隔绝”,他们好像要说些比这更多的东西。

而这更多的东西,在37节发出轰响,传达出来了。这些事物能够将我们与基督的爱隔绝吗?“绝对不会!”第37节继续说,“靠着爱我们的主,在这一切的事上,我们已经得胜有余了。”就是这个“有余”,乃是那被隐含的真理,不仅隐藏在“没有人能敌挡我们”这断言中,而且隐藏在耶稣那句“你们连一根头发也必不损坏”的声明中(路21:18)。

你如何能够得胜有余呢?

但这又是什么意思呢?你怎么能“得胜有余”呢?特别是为上帝的事业冒险,却受到伤害的时候?

假如你学习顺服耶稣基督去行动,却遭到35节列举的那些来自仇敌的攻击,比如饥饿或刀剑,那么,你怎样才能被称为得胜者呢?答案是:你决不能与耶稣基督的爱隔绝。假如敌人攻击你,乃是要毁坏你,把你与基督隔开,带你到没有神的彻底毁灭中,那么,你如果能挫败仇敌的企图,保守自己在基督的爱里,你就是得胜者了。

但是,你不仅要得胜,还要得胜有余。若要达到这样的境界,你在与饥饿与刀剑的对抗中,还要怎样呢?我的看法是,打败仇敌的人就是得胜者,然而,“得胜有余”者(或说超越得胜的人),应该是把敌人完全征服的人。得胜者挫败了敌人的意图,而“得胜有余者”还能把敌人转变过来,为他的目的效力。得胜者打倒他的反对者,而“得胜有余者”让他的反对者成为自己的奴仆。

在实际的层面这是什么意思呢?

让我引用保罗的话来说明吧,《哥林多后书》4:17。“我们这至暂至轻的苦楚,要为我们成就 [亦即,预备,营造,带来] 极重无比、永远的荣耀。”

请注意,这里的“苦楚(困苦)”正是《罗马书》8:35列出的攻击我们的仇敌之一。在保罗与它的冲突中,已经发生什么事情呢?当然,保罗肯定没有因此与基督的爱隔绝。但比这更为重要的是,作为敌人的苦楚,被俘虏了,被保罗奴役,为他最大的好处效力了。苦楚这个敌人,如今正为保罗预备和成就那极重无比、永远的荣耀呢。原先的敌人,现在正做他的奴隶。他不仅打败了敌人,还取得了更多成果,这才真是得胜有余了。

困苦(苦楚),要手持利剑砍下保罗信心的头。但事与愿违,信心的手反而抓住困苦,迫使它砍掉了另一个地方,就是保罗身上世俗的部分。于是困苦变成了敬虔、谦卑和爱的奴仆。正是以这种方式,它充当了保罗的奴隶,为保罗预备了更大的荣耀,远远超出没有这样争战能达到的程度。

保罗和耶稣都提到的那三件事

到此,我们已经看明白保罗和耶稣提到的三件事:

  1. 基督的爱并不是意味着让他的百姓脱离患难,因此所有的顺服,都要冒些风险。“人看我们如将宰的羊。”

  2. 但是,这种种患难都不能让我们与基督的爱隔绝。在冒险的远方,上帝的大爱总会得胜的。

  3. 而且还有,当我们为上帝的事业冒险,并且以信心为武器,去迎战困苦这类仇敌时,敌人不仅会被我们打败,还会被我们俘虏,做奴仆服事我们,帮助基督徒勇士得到那存到永远的益处。而这一切都是借着基督那得胜的大爱达成的。

因此,过去这两个星期里,我并没有呼吁大家,去追逐那种英雄主义的冲动,或者对探险的迷恋,或勇猛的自我奋斗精神,或企图赢得上帝欢心的血气之勇。我要呼吁的,希望大家更多寻求与获取的,乃是我们的“信心”,说得具体一点,就是对上帝的大爱之必然得胜的信心。

冒险与上帝的事业

好了,我来做个结束吧,先回到开始的地方:为上帝的事业冒险是正确的。具体地说,我们一边奋力与敌人争战,一边愿耶和华凭他的意旨而行!这样做是对的;我们努力服事上帝的百姓,并且会说:我若死就死吧!这样也是对的;我们站在火窑前,断然拒绝向这个世界的偶像俯伏敬拜,这样做,还是对的!

为什么?

因为,在这一切上,我们已经得胜有余了!“神既不爱惜自己的儿子,为我们众人舍了,岂不也把万物和他一同白白的赐给我们吗?”毫无疑问,他必定会的,就算我们的仇敌,他也会让他们来服事我们,直到永远。阿们!

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Risk and the Triumph of Love

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? . . . No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

It Is Right to Risk for the Cause of God 

Two weeks ago I directed your attention backward to some biblical risk-takers.

  • To Joab, who took up arms for the cause of God, and said, "May the Lord do what seems good to him!" (2 Samuel 10:12).
  • To Esther, who risked her life for the Jewish people in exile, and said, "If I perish, I perish!" (Esther 4:16).
  • To Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego, who stood unflinching before the fiery furnace and said, "Even if God does not deliver us, be it known to you, O king, we will not serve your gods or worship the golden image" (Daniel 3:18).
  • To Paul, whose life seemed to be round-the-clock risk, but who said, "I do not count my life of any value nor as precious to myself if only I may accomplish my course and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God" (Acts 20:24).

And we concluded from these Bible stories that it is right to risk for the cause of God. God does not mean for us to know what our future will be in this world, and he does not want our response to that uncertainty to be fear or paralysis or the love of security or excessive caution; instead he teaches us again and again to risk for the cause of God.

So last week we turned our attention from the past risk-takers of the Bible and heard the Word challenge us to take risks in four areas of our own lives.

  • Risks in relationships for the sake of righteousness and authenticity.
  • Risks with our money for the cause of the gospel.
  • Risks in our personal witnessing to the truth and beauty of Christ.
  • Risks in ministry ventures.

The text last week was Luke 21:16, "You will be delivered up even by parents and brothers and kinsmen and friends, and some of you they will put to death." We focused on the word "some." For some, obedience to Christ will result in suffering and death. For some, not for all. And neither you nor I will know whether we are in that number. Therefore obedience is always a risk. This is the will of God, and therefore it is right to risk for the cause of God.

Identifying an Underlying Assumption 

Now today I want to make explicit something that has been assumed for the past two weeks. I have been assuming that the power or the motive behind taking risks for the cause of God is not heroism, or the lust for adventure, or the courage of self-reliance, or the need to earn God's good will. Rather I have been assuming that the power behind all biblical risk for the cause of God is faith in the triumphant love of God.

I have been assuming

  • that the strength to risk losing face for the sake of Christ is the faith that God's love will lift up your face in the end and vindicate your cause;
  • that the strength to risk losing money for the cause of the gospel is the faith that we have a treasure in the heavens that cannot fail;
  • that the strength to risk losing life in this world is faith in the promise that he who loses his life in this world will save it for the age to come.

This is very different from heroism, and self-reliance. When we risk our face and money and life because we believe God will always catch us and turn our loss into glory, then it's not we who get the praise because of our courage; it's God who gets the praise because of his care.

That has been my assumption for two weeks, and my aim this morning is to lay it out in the open and to show its biblical foundation.

Luke 21:16–18 Explained by Romans 8:35–29

Let me begin in last week's text. In Luke 21:16 Jesus says, "Some of you they will kill. But then in verse 18 he says, "But not a hair of your head will perish. By your endurance you will gain your lives." "Some of you they will kill . . . But not a hair of your head will perish"!!

What does this mean? What is Jesus trying to say to us when he says: "Go ahead and risk obedience; some of you they will kill; but not a hair of your head will perish"? I think the best commentary on these verses is our text for today, Romans 8:35–39.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written, "For thy sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered." No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. 

Remember that the words of Jesus were: "Some of you they will kill . . . But not a hair of your head will perish." Now what does Paul say?

1. Christ's Love Does Not Eliminate Our Suffering

Like Jesus, he says, first of all, that the love of Christ for us does not eliminate our suffering. On the contrary our very attachment to Christ will bring suffering. What is Paul's answer to his own question in verse 35: "Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword separate us from the love of Christ?"

His answer in verse 37 is a resounding NO!

Some of You They Will Kill

But don't miss the implication of the question: the reason that these things will not separate us from the love of Christ is not because they don't happen to people whom Christ loves. The quote in verse 36 from Psalm 44:22 is Paul's way of saying that these things do in fact come upon Christ's people.

"For thy sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered." In other words, Christ's love for us, referred to in verse 35, does not remove us from these sufferings.

This is the meaning of the little word "in" in verse 37: "In all these things we are more than conquerors." Not by escaping them!

So Paul agrees with Jesus: some of you they will kill.

Some Risks in the Cause of God

Obedience is risk. And it is right to risk for the cause of God. Notice some of the risks in verse 35:

  • "tribulation"—Christians will experience tribulation! I.e., trouble and oppression of various kinds.
  • "distress"—stressful circumstances occasioned by all kinds of dangers and threats and worries.
  • "persecution"—active opposition from the enemies of the gospel.
  • "famine"—note this well! There is no guarantee that Christians will be spared when there are food shortages. When Jesus says that we should not be anxious what we shall eat or drink because our Father knows what we need, he doesn't mean that Christians will never be hungry or starve. He means that there will always be enough food so that we can do his will and glorify his name. And if famine strikes, it will not cut us off from the love of God. This has tremendous implications for our understanding of various national catastrophes and how we might expect to be involved in them. I urge you to think about it.

That is enough to show that Paul shared Jesus' conviction that obedience is risk and that "some of you they will kill."

2. Nothing Can Separate Us from Christ's Love

But the second thing Paul says is that none of these miseries will ever separate us from the love of Christ. He asks, "Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword separate us from the love of Christ?" His answer in verse 37 is, "NO!"

This is what Jesus meant when he said, "Some of you they will kill . . . But not a hair of your head will perish."

God's Love Triumphs in the End

In other words, no misery that a true Christian ever experiences is evidence that he has been cut off from the love of Christ. The love of Christ triumphs over all misery. Verses 38–39 make this crystal clear:

For I am sure that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

On the far side of every risk—even if it results in death—the love of God triumphs. This is the faith that frees us to risk for the cause of God. It is not heroism, or lust for adventure, or courageous self-reliance, or efforts to earn God's favor. It is childlike faith in the triumph of God's love—that on the far side of all our risks for the sake of righteousness God will still be holding us.

Not a Hair of Your Head Will Perish?

But Jesus seems to say something more than this. He says, "Not a hair of your head will perish." It seems ironic that he could know that his cousin John was beheaded for the cause of righteousness, and yet say that not a hair of your head will perish. It's one thing to say that God will be there after you have suffered and will catch you and love you and restore you. But it seems like so much more to say to a tortured and dying saint, "Not a hair of your head will perish." What does he mean?

3. Christ's Love Can Make the Enemy Serve You

Well, Paul has this same kind of statement—and this is the third thing Paul says. He raises the same question for us. Look at verse 31: "If God is for us, who can be against us?" That is the same as saying, "If God is for us, no one can be against us." But if no one can be against us, why are we counted as sheep for the slaughter and killed all day long, as verse 36 says we are?

Saying More Than That We Will Survive Suffering

"No one can be against us" seems just as excessive as "Not a hair of your head will perish." Both Paul and Jesus seem to want to say more than that we survive suffering and live forever. They want to say something more than that tribulation and distress and persecution and famine and nakedness and sword and peril can't separate us from the love of Christ.

And this something more comes out clear as a bell in verse 37. Do these things separate us from the love of Christ? "NO!" says verse 37, "in all these things we are more than conquerors through him whom loved us." This is the "more" that seems to be implied in the statement that no one can really be against us (v. 31), and the statement that not a hair of your head will perish (Luke 21:18).

How Can You Be More Than a Conqueror?

But what does this mean? How can you be "more than a conqueror?" when you risk for the cause of God get hurt for it?

If you attempt some act of obedience to Jesus Christ and get attacked by one of the enemies mentioned in verse 35, say famine or sword, what must happen for you to be called a conqueror? Answer: you must not be separated from the love of Jesus Christ. If the aim of the attack is to destroy you and cut you off from Christ and bring you to final ruin without God, then you are a conqueror if you defeat this aim and remain in the love of Christ.

But what must happen in this conflict with famine and sword if you are to be called more than a conqueror? I would say that a conqueror defeats his enemy, but a "more than conqueror" subjugates his enemy. A conqueror nullifies the purpose of his enemy; a "more than conqueror" turns his enemy to his own purposes. A conqueror strikes down his foe; a "more than conqueror" makes his foe his slave.

Practically What Does This Mean?

Let me use Paul's own words in 2 Corinthians 4:17. "For this slight momentary affliction is preparing [literally: is effecting, or working, or bringing about] for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison."

Notice "affliction" is one of the attacking enemies in Romans 8:35. What has happened in Paul's conflict with it? It has certainly not separated him from the love of Christ. But even more, it has been taken captive. It has been enslaved and made to serve Paul's best interest. Affliction, the enemy, is preparing for Paul an eternal weight of glory. His enemy is now his slave. He has not only conquered his enemy. He has more than conquered him.

Affliction raised his sword to cut off the head of Paul's faith. But instead, the hand of faith snatched the arm of affliction and forced it to cut off another part of his worldliness. And so affliction is made the servant of godliness and humility and love. And in this way it is forced to be Paul's slave and to prepare for him an even greater weight of glory than he would have ever had without the fight.

The Three Things Both Paul and Jesus Say 

So now we have seen three things that Paul and Jesus say:

  1. The love of Christ does not remove his people from suffering, and so all obedience is risk. "We are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered."
  2. But none of this suffering will ever separate us from the love of Christ. On the far side of risk, the love of God always triumphs.
  3. But even more. When we risk for the cause of God and meet the enemy of affliction with the weapons of faith, the enemy is not just defeated, it is captured and made to serve the eternal good of the Christian warrior. And all this is through the triumphant love of Christ. "In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us."

So in the last two weeks I have not been appealing to the impulse of heroism, or the lust for adventure, or the courage of self-reliance, or the need to earn God's favor. I have been appealing to faith in the triumphant love of God.

Risk and the Cause of God 

And so I conclude where I began: it is right to risk for the cause of God. It is right to engage the enemy and say, May the Lord do what seems good to him! It is right to serve the people of God and say, If I perish, I perish! It is right to stand before the fiery furnace and refuse to bow down to the gods of this world.

Why?

Because in all these things we are more than conquerors! "He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, will he not also give us all things with him?" Indeed he will—even our enemies—and make them serve us forever and ever. Amen.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org