راعوث: بـرّ تخطيطي

الإصحاحات 1 و2:

صدمنا إصحاح 1 بعناية الله المرّة في حياة نعمي وهي تغادر أرضها، وتفقد زوجها وأبنائها، وإحدى كنّاتها. ولكن كان هناك عناية حلوة أيضا. أنتهت المجاعة في يهوذا وتمكّنت نعمي من العودة إلى دارها. ألزمت راعوث نفسها لرعاية نعمي. وطوال الوقت كان هناك وليٌّ اسمه بوعز باقٍ كزوج لراعوث لكي يقيم وريثا لاسم العائلة والممتلكات. ولكن ينتهي الإصحاح مع نعمي التي طغت عليها خسائرها: "الْقَدِيرُ قَدْ كَسَّرَنِي."

في الإصحاح 2 تتدخل رحمة الله بإشراقٍ كافٍ لنعمي حتى تستطيع أن تراها. ونلتقي ببوعز، وهو جَبَّارُ بَأْسٍ، رجل الله، وأحد أقرباء زوج نعمي. ثم نرى راعوث تحتمي تحت جناحيّ الله في أرض غريبة، وقادها الله برحمة إلى حقل بوعز لتلتقط. ونرى نعمي تتعافي من ليلتها الطويلة من اليأس لأنها وجدت بهجتها في الله (2: 20): "مُبَارَكٌ هُوَ مِنَ الرَّبِّ لأَنَّهُ لَمْ يَتْرُكِ الْمَعْرُوفَ مَعَ الأَحْيَاءِ وَالْمَوْتَى!" يفيض إصحاح 2 بالرجاء. فبوعز رجل ممتلىء بالله في عمله وعلاقاته الشخصيّة (آيات 4، 10-13). وراعوث امرأة معتمدة على الله تحت جناحيّ الله. والآن نعمي امرأة تمجد الله تحت سيادة الله. لقد ذهب كل ظلام إصحاح 1. حوّل الله حزنها إلى رقص. "الْقَدِيرُ قَدْ كَسَّرَنِي" (1: 20) قد أفسح الطريق لـ "لَمْ يَتْرُكِ الْمَعْرُوفَ مَعَ الأَحْيَاءِ وَالْمَوْتَى" (2: 20). فالدرس المستفاد من الإصحاحات 1 و2 هو بالتأكيد ما لا يقل عن هذا:

يا خائفي الرّبّ تنشّطوا بالجرأة
فالغيوم التي طالما أرهبتكم
هـي حُـبلى بالمـراحِــم وسَــتنبلـج
بالبـــركــات علـى رؤوســــــكم

إحتمِ تحت جناحيّ الله حتى عندما تبدو كلها ظلالاً، ففي الوقت المناسب تماما سوف يتيح لك الله النظر من عش نسره الذي يطلّ على وادٍ مذهل.

تخطيطات الأبرار:

الآن نأتي لإصحاح 3. والعبارة التي أريدك أن تبقيها في ذهنك ونحن نتأمل في إصحاح 3 هي "بر تخطيطي. فالسؤال الذي يجيب عليه إصحاح 3 هو، ماذا يفعل رجل ممتلىء بالله، وامرأة شابة معتمدة على الله، وامرأة مسنة تمجد الله عندما يمتلؤوا جميعا بالرجاء في سيادة الله وصلاحه؟ والجواب هو أنهم يظهرون "برا تخطيطياً". وما اقصده بالبر هو الغيرة لعمل ما هو حق وصواب، غيرة لعمل ما هو مناسب عندما يُؤخذ الله ذات السيادة والرحمة في الحسبان. وما اقصده بالتخطيطي هو أنه هناك نية، وعزيمة، وتخطيط. فهناك بر سلبي وهو الذي ببساطة يتجنب الشر عندما يطرح نفسه. ولكن البر التخطيطي يأخذ المبادرة ويحلم بكيفية جعل الأمور في نصابها الصحيح.

أحد الدروس التي أتعلمها من راعوث في الإصحاح 3 هو أن الرجاء يساعدنا على الحلم. الرجاء يساعدنا على التفكير في طريقة لفعل الخير. الرجاء يساعدنا على متابعة مشاريعنا مع الفضيلة والنزاهة. إنه اليأس الذي يجعل الناس يعتقدون أنه يجب عليهم أن يكذبوا ويسرقوا ويستولوا بشكل غير مشروع على ملذات تدوم للحظة. ولكن الرجاء، استنادا إلى الثقة بأن الله صاحب السيادة هو لنا، يعطينا دفعة مثيرة وهو ما أسميه البر الاستراتيجيّ. فنحن نرى ذلك في نعمي في 3: 1-5، وفي راعوث في 3: 6-9، وفي بوعز في 3: 10-15. ويختتم هذا الإصحاح مرة أخرى مع نعمي وهي في كامل الثقة في قوة وصلاح الله.

تخطيط نعمي:

يبرز أمران في تخطيط نعمي في الآيات 1-5. واحد هو أن لديها تخطيط، والآخر هو ما يكونه هذا التخطيط. ومجرد الواقع أن نعمي لديها تخطيطاً فهذا يعلمنا شيئا. إن الناس الذين يشعرون أنهم ضحايا لا يمكنهم التخطيط. فطالما كانت نعمي مظلومة؛ وطالما يمكنها فقط أن تقول "الْقَدِيرُ قَدْ كَسَّرَنِي"، فإنه لا يوجد لديها أي تخطيط للمستقبل.

واحدة من التأثيرات الرهيبة للاكتئاب هي عدم القدرة على التحرك بشكل هادف وبرجاء في المستقبل. فتخطيطات البر تنبع من الرجاء. عندما استيقظت نعمي في 2: 20 إلى صلاح الله، تجدّد رجاءها وفاض البر التخطيطي. فهي مهتمة بشأن إيجاد مكان آمن لرعاية راعوث، لذا دبّرت الخطة. أحد الأسباب التي يجب علينا أن نساعد بعضنا البعض لـ "نرْتَجِي اللهَ" (مزمور 42: 5) هو أنّ الكنائس المفعمة بالرجاء هي فقط التي تدبر الخطط، وتضع التنظيمات. فالكنائس التي لا تشعر بأي أمل يتطور لديها عقلية تواكليّة ومجرّد انها تسير من خلال الاقتراحات داخل وخارج السنة. ولكن عندما تشعر الكنيسة بصلاح الله السياديّ يحلق فوقها ويتحرك، عندها يزدهر الرجاء ويتوقف البر عن أن يكون مجرد تجنب الشر ويصبح نشطا تخطيطيّا.

غرابتها:

أخذت نعمي المبادرة في العثور على زوج لراعوث. لكن التخطيط الذي أتت كان غريباً، على أقل تقدير. فتقول في الآية 2 أن بوعز هو ذو قَرَابَةٍ. ولذلك كان هو المرشح المرجح لكونه زوج راعوث. بهذه الطريقة سيكون اسم العائلة وميراث الأسرة باقٍ في الأسرة، وفقا للعادات العبرية. فهدف نعمي كان واضحاً: أن تربح لراعوث زوجا تقيّا ومستقبلا آمنا، وأن تحافظ على نسل الأسرة. لهذا قالت لراعوث أن تغتسل وتجعل نفسها جذّابة بقدر الإمكان، وأن تذهب إلى بيدر بوعز، وبعد أن يضطجع في المساء، أن تتسلل، وترفع ثوبه، وتضطجع عند رجليه. فالجميع، بما فيهم راعوث، يجب أن يتجيبوا على هذا بالتساؤل، "فقط إلى أين تظن أن يؤدي هذا؟" وعلى هذا تجيب نعمي بشكل رائع في الآية 4 "هُوَ يُخْبِرُكِ بِمَا تَعْمَلِينَ".

ماذا كان دافع نعمي؟

شيء واحد واضح هنا وشيء غير واضح. من الواضح أن هذا هو طريق نعمي لمحاولة جعل بوعز يتزوج من راعوث. لكن ليس من الواضح لماذا ينبغي لها أن تفعل هذا. لماذا لا تتحدث مع بوعز بدلا من مناورة منتصف الليل هذه الموحية للغاية والمحفوفة بالمخاطر؟ هل كانت نعمي غير مبالية باحتماليّة أن يدفع بوعز براعوث بعيدا بسخط أخلاقي، أو أنه قد يستسلم للإغراء بالدخول في علاقات جنسيّة معها؟ هل أرادت نعمي أن يحدث ذلك؟ أم هل كانت نعمي على يقين من بوعز وراعوث وكانت تدرك أنهما سيتعاملان مع بعضها البعض بنقاء كمال، بمعنى أن يتأثر بوعز بعمق بالعرض الصريح للزواج من راعوث ويتجنب العلاقات الجنسيّة حتى يتم الاحتفال بكل شيء على النحو الواجب من قبل شيوخ المدينة؟

لا يخبرنا الكاتب لماذا اختارت نعمي هذه التخطيطات المغرية جنسيا لكسب بوعز لراعوث. سيكون هناك إجابة في وقت لاحق، لكنه الآن يبدو أن الكاتب يريد منا أن نشعر بالتشويق والغموض. فقط أين أضطجت راعوث؟ النص العبري غامض كما في اللغة الإنجليزيّة. ماذا سيخبرها بوعز أن تعمل؟ مهما كان دافع نعمي، فالوضع قد يؤدي بنا إلى مشهد عاطفي وغير مشروع من العلاقة الجنسيّة أو إلى مشهد مذهل من النقاء والنزاهة وضبط النفس.

تخطيطات راعوث:

ثم نرى بر راعوث التخطيطيّ في الآيات 6-9. في الآية 5 قالت أنها سوف تتبع كل تعليمات نعمي. ولكن راعوث تفعل أكثر من ذلك. قالت نعمي إن بوعز سيخبر راعوث بما يجب القيام به. ولكن قبل أن يحدث ذلك، قالت راعوث لبوعز عن سبب مجيئها. فهي كانت مضطجعة عند رجليه تحت عباءته. ثم استيقظ وقال: "من أنت؟" أجابت بكلام لم تلقّنه لها نعمي: "أَنَا رَاعُوثُ أَمَتُكَ. فَابْسُطْ ذَيْلَ ثَوْبِكَ عَلَى أَمَتِكَ لأَنَّكَ وَلِيٌّ".

راعوث ليست مجرد خادمة لنعمي. لقد ذهبت عن طيب خاطر، والآن تأخذ زمام المبادرة لتوضح لبوعز لماذا قد جاءت. "لأَنَّكَ وَلِيٌّ". أو حرفيا، "أنت المخلص: أي الشخص الذي يمكنه تخليص ميراثنا واسم عائلتنا من الضياع. وأريد منك أن تقوم بهذا الدور لأجلي. أريد أن أكون زوجتك." بالطبع هي لم تقل ذلك صراحة. في الواقع، هي أقل وضوحا وأكثر إغراء. حيث قالت: "ابْسُطْ ذَيْلَ ثَوْبِكَ عَلَى أَمَتِكَ". الآن ما إذا كان بوعز سينظر لهذا على كونه عرضا مقدما صريحا لعلاقة جنسية أو شيئا أكثر رقّة وعمقاً، يعتمد على تقديره لشخصية راعوث. كان الزنا خطأ في العهد القديم (لاويين 19: 29؛ تثنية 21: 13-21) تماما كما في العهد الجديد (متى 15: 19).

"ابْسُطْ ذَيْلَ ثَوْبِكَ عَلَى أَمَتِكَ":

هناك أمران، إلى جانب شخصية راعوث، يوحيان بشيء مهذّب وعميق يحدث في الواقع هنا. واحد هو هذا: المكان الوحيد الآخر الذي يمكن أن أجده في العهد القديم حيث تأتي عبارة "ابسط الذيل" بالإشارة للعشّاق هو في حزقيال 16: 8. الله يتحدث وهو يصف إسرائيل بأنها عذراء شابة وقد أخذها زوجة له. "فَمَرَرْتُ بِكِ وَرَأَيْتُكِ، وَإِذَا زَمَنُكِ زَمَنُ الْحُبِّ. فَبَسَطْتُ ذَيْلِي عَلَيْكِ وَسَتَرْتُ عَوْرَتَكِ، وَحَلَفْتُ لَكِ، وَدَخَلْتُ مَعَكِ فِي عَهْدٍ، يَقُولُ السَّيِّدُ الرَّبُّ، فَصِرْتِ لِي." إذا كان إشارةً إلى ما تريده راعوث من بوعز فالطلب ذهب إلى أبعد من العلاقة الجنسية. إنها في الواقع تقول: "أود أن أكون تلك التي تتعهد لها بأمانتك ومعها تقيم عهد الزواج".

"تحت جناحيّ الله":

ولكن أعتقد أن هناك أكثر من ذلك، وهذه هي الإشارة الثانية للرقّة والعمق هنا. عندما قالت راعوث: "ابْسُطْ ذَيْلَ ثَوْبِكَ عَلَى أَمَتِكَ"، الكلمة ذيل هي الكلمة العبريّة جناح (كما في حزقيال 16: 8). اُستخدمت هذه الكلمة مرة واحدة فقط في سفر راعوث وهي في الآية الرئيسيّة في الأسبوع الماضي، 2: 12، حيث قال بوعز لراعوث، "لِيُكَافِئِ الرَّبُّ عَمَلَكِ، وَلْيَكُنْ أَجْرُكِ كَامِلاً مِنْ عِنْدِ الرَّبِّ إِلهِ إِسْرَائِيلَ الَّذِي جِئْتِ لِكَيْ تَحْتَمِي تَحْتَ جَنَاحَيْهِ." ولكن ما رأيناه في الأسبوع الماضي هو أن بوعز كان أداة الله لمكافأة راعوث. فقد سمح لها بالعمل في حقله مجانا، وضمن لها الحماية من الغلمان وقدم لها ماءً من البئر. وكانت راعوث قد قالت لبوعز، "كَيْفَ وَجَدْتُ نِعْمَةً فِي عَيْنَيْكَ؟" فأجاب بوعز، لأنك "جِئْتِ لِكَيْ تَحْتَمِي تَحْتَ جَنَاحَيْهِ [الله]".

قصة حب رقيقة ونقيّة:

فهذا ما أظنه يحدث في إصحاح 3. كانت راعوث قد قالت لنعمي عن كلمات بوعز هذه. وبقدر ما فكّروا فيها بقدر ما اقتنعوا أنها مُحمّلة بنوايا محبة ورقيقة. فما يعنيه بوعز حقا هو "لأنك احتميت تحت جناحيّ الله، فأنت الامرأة التي أريد أن أبسط جناحيّ عليها". ليس من السهل على رجل كبير السن أن يعبّر عن الحب لامرأة أصغر سنا. قام بوعز بذلك عن طريق أعمال اللطف وكلمات رقيقة من الإعجاب. قال أنه معجب بها على حضورها تحت جناحيّ الله. تصرف كما لو أنها كانت تحت إمرته وانتظر. وبطبيعة الحال ومرور الوقت استجابت نعمي وراعوث بشكل رقيق، وعميق تماما. فراعوث ستأتي له وهو نائم، في حقل السنابل حيث أخذها تحت رعايته، وهي ستقول نعم. لكنها ستقولها بمبادرة فيها رقّة وعمقاً مثل عمل وكلمات بوعز. فهي وضعت نفسها تحت جناحيه، إذا جاز التعبير، وعندما استيقظ كان كل شيء معلقا على جملة واحدة وعما إذا كانت راعوث قد فهمت بوعز بشكل صحيح.

تخيل مدى سرعة النبضات التي كانت تتسابق عندما استيقظ بوعز. ثم جاءت الكلمات المهمة كلها "أَنَا رَاعُوثُ... فَابْسُطْ ذَيْلَ ثَوْبِكَ عَلَى أَمَتِكَ." كان هناك صمت هائل للحظة بينما يحاول بوعز أن يصدق أن هذه المرأة الرائعة حقا قد فهمت، لقد فهمت بشكل عميق وحساس. رجل في منتصف العمر يحب أرملة شابة يدعوها بتحفظ "ابنتي"، غير متأكد ما إذا كان قلبها قد يسعي وراء الشبان، حاول أن ينقل لها بأفضل ما يمكنه أنه يريد أن يكون جناحيّ الله لها. وأرملة شابة تقرأ بين السطور تدريجيا وعلى استعداد أخيرا أن تخاطر بفهمها فتأتي في منتصف الليل للاحتماء تحت جناح ثوبه. إنه لثمة أشياء قوية! أي شخص يعتقد أن امرأة فضفاضة وحماة ماكرة هما من يعملان هنا، هما على كوكب آخر. فكل شيء دقيق. وكل شيء بار. وكل شيء تخطيطي.

تخطيط بوعز:

الآن يأتي البر التخطيطي لبوعز في الآيات 10-15. لنسمع ما يقوله بطريقة صحيحة، وعليك أن تتذكر أنه بعد منتصف الليل، وهما تحت النجوم، وهو يتطلع إلى أسفل حيث وجه المرأة التي يحبها مغطاة بعباءته الخاصة.

إِنَّكِ مُبَارَكَةٌ مِنَ الرَّبِّ يَابِنْتِي لأَنَّكِ قَدْ أَحْسَنْتِ مَعْرُوفَكِ فِي الأَخِيرِ أَكْثَرَ مِنَ الأَوَّلِ، إِذْ لَمْ تَسْعَيْ وَرَاءَ الشُّبَّانِ، فُقَرَاءَ كَانُوا أَوْ أَغْنِيَاءَ. وَالآنَ يَابِنْتِي لاَ تَخَافِي. كُلُّ مَا تَقُولِينَ أَفْعَلُ لَكِ، لأَنَّ جَمِيعَ أَبْوَابِ شَعْبِي تَعْلَمُ أَنَّكِ امْرَأَةٌ فَاضِلَةٌ.

ثم تأتي بعد ذلك كلمة البر الرائعة وضبط النفس. حيث يقول: "وفقا للعرف، يا راعوث، هناك ولي آخر لديه أولوية الحق لك وأنا لن أستطيع على المضي قدما حتى تتم تسوية جميع الأمور الواجبة معه." النجوم جميلة فوقهم، وفي منتصف الليل، وهو يحبها، وهي تحبه، وهما بمفردهما، وهي تحت عباءته. . . لكنه توقّف عن ذلك في سبيل البر، ولم يمسّها. يا له من رجل! يا لها من امرأة!

أستمعوا، إن مزاج الحياة الأميركيّة اليوم هو، إن كنت تشعر بالارتياح، فافعل الأمر، وإلى الجحيم مع مبادئك للعفة والإخلاص، المنتجة للشعور بالذنب والمتزمتة. ولكن أقول لكم، إذا كانت النجوم تسطع في جمالها ودمك يرتطم مثل المطرقة وأنت آمن في خصوصية مكانك، توقف. . . من أجل البر. دع الصباح يبزع على نقائك. لا تكن مثل العالم. كن مثل بوعز. كن مثل راعوث. عميقا في الحب. رقيقا ومتفهّما في التواصل. قويّا في ضبط النفس. وملتزما بالبر.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Ruth: Strategic Righteousness

Chapters 1 and 2

Chapter 1 hit us with the bitter providence of God in the life of Naomi as she left her land, and lost her husband, her sons, and one of her daughters-in-law. But there was sweet providence as well. The famine broke in Judah and Naomi could go home. Ruth committed herself to care for Naomi. And all the while a kinsman named Boaz was preserved as a husband for Ruth to raise up an heir for the family name and property. But the chapter ends with Naomi overwhelmed with her losses: "The Almighty has dealt very bitterly with me."

In chapter 2 the mercy of God breaks through bright enough for even Naomi to see it. We meet Boaz, a man of wealth, a man of God, and a relative of Naomi's husband. We see Ruth taking refuge under the wings of God in a foreign land and being led mercifully by God to the field of Boaz to glean. And we see Naomi recover from her long night of despondency as she exults in God (2:20): "The Lord's kindness has not forsaken the living or the dead!" Chapter 2 overflows with hope. Boaz is a God-saturated man in his business and personal relations (vv. 4, 10–13). Ruth is a God-dependent woman under the wings of God. Naomi is now a God-exalting woman under the sovereignty of God. All the darkness of chapter 1 is gone. God has turned her mourning into dancing. "The Almighty has dealt bitterly with me" (1:20) has given way to "His kindness has not forsaken the living or the dead" (2:20). The lesson of chapters 1 and 2 is surely at least this:

You fearful saints fresh courage take:
The clouds you so much dread
Are big with mercy and will break
In blessings on your head.

Seek refuge under the wings of God even when they seem to be all shadows, and at just the right time God will let you look out from his Eagle's nest onto some spectacular ravine.

The Strategies of the Righteous

Now for chapter 3. The phrase I want you to keep in your mind as we ponder chapter 3 is "strategic righteousness." The question which chapter 3 answers is, What does a God-saturated man, a God-dependent young woman, and a God-exalting older woman do when they are filled with hope in the sovereign goodness of God? And the answer is that they manifest a "strategic righteousness." By righteousness I mean a zeal for doing what is good and right—a zeal for doing what is appropriate when God is taken into account as sovereign and merciful. By strategic I mean that there is intention, purposefulness, planning. There is a passive righteousness which simply avoids evil when it presents itself. But strategic righteousness takes the initiative and dreams of how to make things right.

One of the lessons I learn from Ruth chapter 3 is that hope helps us dream. Hope helps us think up ways to do good. Hope helps us pursue our ventures with virtue and integrity. It's hopelessness that makes people think they have to lie and steal and seize illicit pleasures for the moment. But hope, based on the confidence that a sovereign God is for us, gives us a thrilling impulse which I call strategic righteousness. We see it in Naomi in 3:1–5, in Ruth in 3:6–9, and in Boaz in 3:10–15. And the chapter closes again with Naomi full of confidence in the power and goodness of God.

Naomi's Strategy

Two things stand out in Naomi's strategy in verses 1–5. One is that she has a strategy; and the other is what that strategy is. The sheer fact that Naomi has a strategy teaches us something. People who feel like victims don't make plans. As long as Naomi was oppressed; as long as she could only say, "The Almighty has dealt very bitterly with me," she conceived no strategy for the future.

One of the terrible effects of depression is the inability to move purposefully and hopefully into the future. Strategies of righteousness are the overflow of hope. When Naomi awakens in 2:20 to the kindness of God, her hope comes alive and the overflow is strategic righteousness. She is concerned about finding Ruth a place of care and security, and she makes a plan. One of the reasons we must help each other "hope in God" (Psalm 42:5) is that only hopeful churches plan and strategize. Churches that feel no hope develop a maintenance mentality and just go through the motions year in and year out. But when a church feels the sovereign kindness of God hovering overhead and moving, hope starts to thrive and righteousness ceases to be simply the avoidance of evil and becomes active and strategic.

The Oddness of It

Naomi took the initiative to find a husband for Ruth. But the strategy she comes up with is odd, to say the least. She says in verse 2 that Boaz is a kinsman. Therefore he is the likely candidate for being Ruth's husband. That way the family name and family inheritance will stay in the family, according to Hebrew custom. So Naomi's aim is clear: to win for Ruth a godly husband and a secure future, and preserve the family line. So she tells Ruth to make herself as clean and attractive as possible, go to the threshing floor of Boaz, and after he has lain down for the evening, sneak in, lift up his cloak, and lie down at his feet. Everybody, including Ruth, must respond by thinking, "And just where do you suppose that will lead?" To which Naomi gives the extraordinary answer in verse 4, "He will tell you what to do."

What Was Naomi's Motive?

One thing is clear here and one thing is not. It's clear that this is Naomi's way of trying to get Boaz to marry Ruth. It is not clear why she should go about it like this. Why not a conversation with Boaz instead of this highly suggestive and risky midnight maneuver? Was Naomi indifferent to the possibility that Boaz might drive Ruth away in moral indignation, or that he might give in to the temptation to have sexual relations with her? Did Naomi want that to happen? Or was Naomi so sure of Boaz and Ruth that she knew they would treat each other with perfect purity—that Boaz would be deeply moved by this outright offer of Ruth in marriage and would avoid sexual relations until all was duly solemnized by the city elders?

The author doesn't come right out and tell us why Naomi chose this sexually tempting strategy to win Boaz for Ruth. There will be a clue later, but for now the writer seems to want us to feel suspense and ambiguity. Just where did Ruth lie down? The Hebrew is just as ambiguous as the English. What would Boaz tell her to do? Whatever Naomi's motive was, the situation is one that could lead us into a passionate and illicit scene of sexual intercourse or into a stunning scene of purity, integrity, and self-control.

Ruth's Strategy

Next we see Ruth's strategic righteousness in verses 6–9. In verse 5 she had said that she would follow all of Naomi's instructions. But Ruth does more. Naomi had said that Boaz would tell Ruth what to do. But before that happens, Ruth tells Boaz why she has come. She is lying at his feet under his cloak. He awakes and says, "Who are you?" She answers with words unprompted by Naomi, "I am Ruth, your maidservant; spread your skirt over your maidservant, for you are next of kin."

Ruth is not merely Naomi's pawn. She has gone willingly and now she takes the initiative to make clear to Boaz why she is there. "You are next of kin." Or literally, "You are the redeemer: the one who can redeem our inheritance and our family name from being lost. I want you to fill that role for me. I want to be your wife." She doesn't say it outright. In fact, she is less direct and more enticing. She says, "Spread your skirt over me." Now whether Boaz takes this to be an offer of outright sexual relations or something more subtle and profound will depend on his estimate of Ruth's character. Fornication was wrong in the Old Testament (Leviticus 19:29; Deuteronomy 21:13–21) just as in the New Testament (Matthew 15:19).

"Spread Your Skirt over Me"

There are two things, besides Ruth's character, which suggest something subtle and profound is in fact going on here. One is this: the only other place I could find in the Old Testament where the phrase "spreading the skirt" occurs in relation to lovers is found in Ezekiel 16:8. God is talking and he is describing Israel as a young maiden that he took for his wife. "When I passed by you again and looked upon you, behold, you were at the age for love; and I spread my skirt over you, and covered your nakedness; yea, I plighted my troth to you and entered into a covenant with you, says the Lord, and you became mine." If this is any indication of what Ruth wanted from Boaz the request went far beyond sexual relations. She was saying in effect, "I would like to be the one to whom you pledge your faithfulness and with whom you make a marriage covenant."

"Under the Wings of God"

But I think there is more to it than that; and this is the second indication of subtlety and depth here. When Ruth said, "spread your skirt over me," the word for skirt is the Hebrew word for wing (also in Ezekiel 16:8). This word is used only one other place in Ruth—namely, in the key verse from last week, 2:12, where Boaz says to Ruth, "The Lord recompense you for what you have done, and a full reward be given you by the Lord, the God of Israel, under those wings you have come to take refuge." But what we saw last week was that Boaz was God's agent to reward Ruth. He gave her free access to his field, and protection from the young men and water from the well. Ruth had said to Boaz, "Why have I found favor in your eyes?" And Boaz answered, "Because you have come to take refuge under the wings of God."

A Subtle and Pure Romance

So here's what I think is going on in chapter 3. Ruth has told Naomi about these words of Boaz. And the more they ponder them the more they become convinced that they are laden with subtle loving intentions. What Boaz really means is, "Because you take refuge under the wings of God, you are the kind of woman I want to cover with my wings." It is not easy for an older man to express love to a younger woman. Boaz did it with deeds of kindness and subtle words of admiration. He said he admired her for coming under God's wings. He acted as though she were under his and he waited. And in the course of time Naomi and Ruth hit upon a response just as subtle, just as profound. Ruth will come to him in his sleep, in the grain field where he has taken her under his care, and she will say yes. But she will say it with an action just as subtle and profound as the action and words of Boaz. She puts herself under his wing, so to speak, and when he wakes everything hangs on one sentence and whether Ruth has interpreted Boaz correctly.

Imagine how fast her pulse was racing when Boaz awoke. Then the all important words: "I am Ruth . . . spread your wing over your maidservant." There had to have been an immense silence for a moment while Boaz let himself believe that this magnificent woman had really understood—had so profoundly and sensitively understood. A middle-aged man in love with a young widow whom he discretely calls "my daughter," uncertain whether her heart might be going after the younger men, communicating the best he can that he wants to be God's wings for her. And a young widow gradually reading between the lines and finally ready to risk an interpretation by coming in the middle of the night to take refuge under the wing of his garment. That's powerful stuff!! Anybody who thinks that a loose woman and a finagling mother-in-law are at work her are on another planet. All is subtle. All is righteous. All is strategic.

Boaz's Strategy

Now comes the strategic righteousness of Boaz in verses 10–15. To hear what he says in the right way, you have to remember it is midnight, they are under the stars, and he is looking down into the face of the woman he loves covered with his own cloak.

May you be blessed by the Lord, my daughter; you have made this last kindness greater than the first, in that you have not gone after young men, whether poor or rich. And now, my daughter, do not fear, for I will do for you all that you ask; for all my fellow townsmen know that you are a woman of worth.

And then comes a word of magnificent righteousness and self-control. He says, "According to custom, Ruth, there is another who has prior claim to you and I won't be able to proceed until all things are duly settled with him." The stars are beautiful overhead, it is midnight, he loves her, she loves him, they are alone, she is under his cloak . . . and he stops it for the sake of righteousness, and does not touch her. What a man! What a woman!

Listen, the mood of American life today is, if it feels good, do it, and to hell with your guilt-producing, puritanical principles of chastity and faithfulness. But I say to you, if the stars are shining in their beauty and your blood is thudding like a hammer and you are safe in the privacy of your place, stop . . . for the sake of righteousness. Let the morning dawn on your purity. Don't be like the world. Be like Boaz. Be like Ruth. Profoundly in love. Subtle and perceptive in communication. Powerful in self-control. Committed to righteousness.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org