راعوث: العناية الإلهيّة بحُلوِها ومُرِّها

إن هدفي هو أن أعظ من خلال سفر راعوث في أيام الأحاد الأربعة المقبلة، كل أصحاح في كل يوم أحد. إحدى الطرق التي يمكنك من خلالها أن تجعل من يوليو (تمّوز) شهرا لا يُنسى جدا من المعرفة والتجديد لنفسك هو من خلال قراءتك لهذه القصة الجميلة مرة واحدة كل أسبوع. (تستغرق حوالي 25 دقيقة بوتيرة متمهلة.) إنها قصة تبين كيف أن "الله يتحرك بطريقة غامضة، لصنع عجائبه". إنها قصة للناس الذين يتساءلون أين هو الله عندما لا يكون هناك أي أحلام أو رؤى أو أنبياء. إنها قصة للناس الذين يتساءلون أين الله عندما تهاجم مأساة بعد الآخرى إيمانهم. إنها قصة للناس الذين يتساءلون ما إذا كانت حياة الأستقامة في الأوقات الصعبة لها قيمة. وإنها قصة للناس الذين لا يمكنهم تصوّر أن أي شيء يمكن أن يأتي على الإطلاق من حياتهم الإيمانيّة العاديّة. إنه سفر منعش ومشجع، وأريد لكم أن تنتعشوا وتتشجّعوا هذا الصيف.

عمل الله في أحلك الأوقات:

وفقا لـ 1: 1، دارت أحداث القصة في زمن القضاة. كانت هذه فترة 400 سنة بعد أن دخلت إسرائيل إلى أرض الموعد بقيادة يشوع وقبل وجود أي ملوك في إسرائيل (حوالي 1500 قبل الميلاد إلى 1100 قبل الميلاد). يأتي سفر القضاة قبل سفر راعوث في كتبنا الإنجليزيّة المقدّسة ويمكنك أن ترى من آيته الأخيرة أي نوع من الحقبة كانت. يقول قضاة 21: 25 "فِي تِلْكَ الأَيَّامِ لَمْ يَكُنْ مَلِكٌ فِي إِسْرَائِيلَ. كُلُّ وَاحِدٍ عَمِلَ مَا حَسُنَ فِي عَيْنَيْهِ." كان وقتا مظلما جدا في إسرائيل. كان الشعب يخطئ، فيرسل الله أعداءً عليهم، ثم يصرخ الشعب طلبا للمساعدة، فيقيم الله برحمته قاضياً لكي يخلصهم. مرة تلو الأخرى تمرّد الشعب، وبحسب كل المظاهر الخارجيّة كانت مقاصد الله للبر والمجد في إسرائيل تفشل. وما يقدمه سفر راعوث لنا هو أنه يعطينا لمحة عن العمل الخفي لله خلال أسوأ الأوقات.

انظر إلى الآية الأخيرة من راعوث (4: 22). الطفل الذي ولد لراعوث وبوعز خلال فترة القضاة هو عوبيد. وأصبح عوبيد والد يسّى، ويسّى أصبح والد داود الذي قاد إسرائيل الى أكبر آفاقها من المجد. إحدى الرسائل الرئيسيّة لهذا السفر الصغير هو أن الله يعمل في أسوأ الأوقات. حتى من خلال خطايا شعبه يستطيع أن يسيّر الأمور لمجدهم. كان ذلك صحيحا على المستوى الوطني. وسوف نرى أنه كان صحيحا على المستوى الشخصي والأسري أيضا. الله يعمل في أسوأ الأوقات. عندما تظن أنه أبعد ما يكون عنك، أو حتى قد تحول ضدك، فالحقيقة هي أنه يضع حجارة الأساسات لسعادة أعظم في حياتك.

لا تحكم على الرّب بإدراك واهن
بل ثق به لأجل نعمته
فخـلف العـنـاية الإلهيّــة العابســـة
يُخــفـي وجهــاً مُبتسِـــماً

أعتقد أن هذه هي رسالة راعوث. دعونا نرى كيف يعلمها لنا الكاتب الغير معروف، بوحي من الروح القدس.

إضافة الحزن إلى المجاعة:

تصف الآيات 1-5 بؤس نعمي. أولا (1: 1)، كانت هناك مجاعة في يهوذا حيث كانت تعيش نعمي وأليمالك زوجها وأبناؤها ومحلون وكليون. كانت نعمي تعرف جيدا مَن الذي يُحدث المجاعات المجاعات. إنه الله. يقول لاويين 26: 3-4

إِذَا سَلَكْتُمْ فِي فَرَائِضِي وَحَفِظْتُمْ وَصَايَايَ وَعَمِلْتُمْ بِهَا، أُعْطِي مَطَرَكُمْ فِي حِينِهِ، وَتُعْطِي الأَرْضُ غَلَّتَهَا.

فعندما يتم حجب الأمطار، إنها يد الله الصعبة.

ثم، هناك القرار بالاغتراب في موآب، وهي أرض وثنيّة بها آلهة غريبة (1: 15؛ قضاة 10: 6). وكان هذا كاللعب بالنار. فقد دعا الله شعبه أن ينعزل عن الأراضي المحيطة بهم. حتى عندما مات زوج نعمي (1: 13)، فماذا يمكن أن تشعر إلا بأنّ دينونة الله قد تبعتها وأضافت حزنا للمجاعة؟

ثم (في 1: 4)، أخَذَا أبناها لَهُمَا امْرَأَتَيْنِ مُوآبِيَّتَيْنِ، اسْمُ إِحْدَاهُمَا عُرْفَةُ وَاسْمُ الأُخْرَى رَاعُوثُ. ومرة أخرى جاءت عليها يد الله. تلخص الآية 5 مأساة نعمي بعد عشر سنوات من زيجات بلا اولاد: "ثُمَّ مَاتَا كِلاَهُمَا مَحْلُونُ وَكِلْيُونُ، فَتُرِكَتِ الْمَرْأَةُ مِنِ ابْنَيْهَا وَمِنْ رَجُلِهَا." مجاعة، واغتراب الى موآب الوثنية، ووفاة زوجها، وزواج أبنائها من زوجات أجنبيات، ووفاة أبنائها، ضربة بعد ضربة، ومأساة على المأساة. ماذا الآن؟

محاولات نعمي لإرجاع راعوث وعرفة:

في الآية 6 سمعت نعمي أن "الرَّبَّ قَدِ افْتَقَدَ شَعْبَهُ لِيُعْطِيَهُمْ خُبْزًا." لذا قررت العودة إلى يهوذا. ذهبت كَنَّتَاهَا، راعوث وعرفة، معها إلى منتصف الطريق، على ما يبدو، ولكن بعد ذلك في الآيات 8-13 حاولت إقناعهم بالعودة إلى بيوتهم. أعتقد أن هناك ثلاثة أسباب لماذا يخصص الكاتب مساحة كبيرة جدا لجهد نعمي لعودة راعوث وعرفة مرة أخرى.

تعاسة نعمي:

أولا، يؤكد المشهد على بؤس نعمي. على سبيل المثال، الآيات 11-12 "فَقَالَتْ نُعْمِي: «ارْجِعَا يَا بِنْتَيَّ. لِمَاذَا تَذْهَبَانِ مَعِي؟ هَلْ فِي أَحْشَائِي بَنُونَ بَعْدُ حَتَّى يَكُونُوا لَكُمَا رِجَالاً؟ اِرْجِعَا يَا بِنْتَيَّ وَاذْهَبَا لأَنِّي قَدْ شِخْتُ عَنْ أَنْ أَكُونَ لِرَجُل." وبعبارة أخرى، ليس لدى نعمي ما تقدمه لهما. حالتها أسوأ من حالتهما. اذا حاولتا أن تكونا وفيّتين لها ولاسم أزواجهنّ، فلن تجدا شيئا سوى الألم. لذا فهي تلخص في نهاية الآية 13 "لاَ يَا بِنْتَيَّ. فَإِنِّي مَغْمُومَةٌ جِدًّا مِنْ أَجْلِكُمَا لأَنَّ يَدَ الرَّبِّ قَدْ خَرَجَتْ عَلَيَّ." لا تأتيا معي، لأن الله ضدي. قد تكون حياتكما مُرّة مثل حياتي.

عادة إسرائيليّة:

والسبب الثاني للآيات 8-13 هو أن تجهزنا لعادة في إسرائيل والتي ستعكس كل شيء لنعمي في الأصحاحت التالية. كانت العادة هي أنه عندما يموت زوجا إسرائيليّا كان على الأخ أو القريب الأقرب أن يتزوج من الأرملة ويواصل اسم الأخ (تثنية 25: 5-10). تشير نعمي إلى هذه العادة (في الآية 11) عندما تقول أنه لا يوجد لديها أبناء كي يتزوجوا راعوث وعرفة. فهي تعتقد أنه لا أمل لراعوث وعرفة أن يظلوا مرتبطين باسم العائلة. هي لا تذكر، من الواضح، أن هناك قريب آخر اسمه بوعز قد يؤدي مهمة الأخ.

يوجد درسا هنا. عندما نقرر أن الله ضدنا، عادة نبالغ في يأسنا. نمتلىء بالمرارة بحيث لا يمكن رؤية أشعة النور المضيئة حول الغيوم. إنه الله الذي أوقف المجاعة وفتح الطريق أمام العودة (1: 6). إنه الله الذي أبقى على الوليّ لاستمرار نسل نعمي (2: 20). وإنه الله الذي قيّد راعوث كي تبقى مع نعمي. لكن نعمي كانت مُرّة جدا بعناية الله القاسية لدرجة أنها لم تستطع رؤية رحمته تعمل في حياتها.

إخلاص راعوث:

والسبب الثالث للآيات 8-13 هو جعل إخلاص راعوث لنعمي يظهر مدهشا. تقول الآية 14 إن عرفة قبّلت نعمي قبلة الوداع ولكن راعوث التصقت بها. وحتى الالتماس الآخر في الآية 15 لم يجعل راعوث تغادر. والأمر أكثر اندهاشاً بعد وصف نعمي القاتم لمستقبلهما معها. ظلت راعوث معها بالرغم من المستقبل الذي يبدو بلا رجاء من الترمّل وعدم الإنجاب. رسمت نعمي المستقبل سوادا، وأخذت راعوث بيدها ومشت فيه معها.

كلمات راعوث المذهلة موجودة في 1: 16-17،

لاَ تُلِحِّي عَلَيَّ أَنْ أَتْرُكَكِ وَأَرْجعَ عَنْكِ، لأَنَّهُ حَيْثُمَا ذَهَبْتِ أَذْهَبُ وَحَيْثُمَا بِتِّ أَبِيتُ. شَعْبُكِ شَعْبِي وَإِلهُكِ إِلهِي. حَيْثُمَا مُتِّ أَمُوتُ وَهُنَاكَ أَنْدَفِنُ. هكَذَا يَفْعَلُ الرَّبُّ بِي وَهكَذَا يَزِيدُ. إِنَّمَا الْمَوْتُ يَفْصِلُ بَيْنِي وَبَيْنَكِ

امرأة الله المثاليّة:

كلما تأملت في هذه الكلمات كلما أصبحت مدهشة أكثر. التزام راعوث بحماتها المحرومة هو ببساطة أمر مذهل. أولا، هذا ما يعني ترك عشيرتها وبلدها. ثانيا، وهو ما يعني، بقدر معرفتنا، حياة الترمّل وعدم الإنجاب، وذلك لأن نعمي ليس لديها رجلا لتقدمه لها، وإذا تزوجت من غير قريب، فإن تعهّدها لعائلة نعمي من شأنه أن يضيع. ثالثا، وهو ما يعني الذهاب الى أرض مجهولة مع أشخاص جدد وعادات جديدة ولغة جديدة. رابعا، كان التزاما جذريّاً أكثر من الزواج: "حَيْثُمَا مُتِّ أَمُوتُ وَهُنَاكَ أَنْدَفِنُ" (الآية 17). وبعبارة أخرى، فإنها لن تعود أبدا إلى بيتها، حتى إن ماتت نعمي.

ولكن التعهد المدهش أكثر من ذلك كله هو هذا: "إِلهُكِ إِلهِي" (الآية 16). قالت نعمي للتو في الآية 13، "يَدَ الرَّبِّ قَدْ خَرَجَتْ عَلَيَّ." كانت تجربة نعمي مع الله مُرّة. ولكن على الرغم من ذلك، تركت راعوث تراثها الدينيّ وجعلت الله إله إسرائيل إلها لها. ربما قد أخذت على نفسها هذا التعهّد أعواما من قبل، عندما أخبرها زوجها من محبة الله العظيمة لإسرائيل، وقوته في البحر الأحمر وهدفه المجيد للسلام والبر. بطريقة أو بأخرى قد وضعت راعوث ثقتها في إله نعمي على الرغم من تجارب نعمي المريرة.

لدينا هنا صورة لامرأة الله المثاليّة. الإيمان بالله يرى ما وراء الانتكاسات المريرة الحالية. الحرية من السندات الماليّة وسائل الراحة في العالم. الشجاعة للمغامرة في المجهول والغريب. التزام جذري في العلاقات المعيّنة من قبل الله. يا ليت كنيسة بيت لحم تلد هذا النوع من النساء!

لاهوت نعمي: صحيح ومخطىء

فعادت راعوث ونعمي معا إلى بيت لحم يهوذا (الآية 19). لكنها اجابت في الآية 20،

لاَ تَدْعُونِي نُعْمِيَ (أي، لطيفة أو محبوبة) بَلِ ادْعُونِي مُرَّةَ (أي مرارة)، لأَنَّ الْقَدِيرَ قَدْ أَمَرَّنِي جِدًّا. إِنِّي ذَهَبْتُ مُمْتَلِئَةً وَأَرْجَعَنِيَ الرَّبُّ فَارِغَةً. لِمَاذَا تَدْعُونَنِي نُعْمِي، وَالرَّبُّ قَدْ أَذَلَّنِي (أي شهد ضدي) وَالْقَدِيرُ قَدْ كَسَّرَنِي؟

ما رأيك في لاهوت نعمي؟ أود أن استخدم لاهوت نعمي في أي يوم من الأيام ضد وجهات النظر العاطفيّة عن الله التي تهيمن على المجلات والكتب الإنجيليّة اليوم. فنعمي غير مهتزة ومتأكدة من ثلاثة أشياء: الله موجود. الله ذات سيادة مطلقة. والله قد أذلّها. المشكلة مع نعمي هي أنها قد نسيت قصة يوسف الذي ذهب أيضا إلى بلد غريب. وقد بيع كعبد. واُحيط بزانية، ووُضع في السجن. كان لديه كلّ الأسباب للقول، مع نعمي، "الْقَدِيرَ قَدْ أَمَرَّنِي." ولكنه احتفظ بإيمانه وحوّل الله كل شيء لخيره الخاص ولأجل خير إسرائيل الوطني. الدرس الرئيسي في تكوين 50: 20 هو هذا : "أَنْتُمْ قَصَدْتُمْ لِي شَرًّا [قال يوسف لإخوته]، أَمَّا اللهُ فَقَصَدَ بِهِ خَيْرًا، لِكَيْ يَفْعَلَ كَمَا الْيَوْمَ، لِيُحْيِيَ شَعْبًا كَثِيرًا." نعمي على حق في إيمانها بالله ذي السيادة والقدرة الذي يحكم شؤون الأمم والشعوب ويعطي كل يوم نصيبها من الألم واللذة. لكنها تحتاج أن تفتح عينيها على علامات أهدافه الرحيمة.

إنه الله الذي أزال المجاعة، وفتح الطريق للعودة للبلد. لاحظ اللّمسة الرقيقة للرجاء في نهاية الآية 22. "وَدَخَلَتَا بَيْتَ لَحْمٍ فِي ابْتِدَاءِ حَصَادِ الشَّعِيرِ." لو رأت نعمي فقط ما سوف يعنيه هذا. ليس ذلك فحسب، بل تحتاج نعمي أن تفتح عينيها على راعوث. يا لها من هدية! يا لها من بركة! فحتى الآن عندما وقفت مع راعوث أمام شعب بيت لحم، قالت نعمي في الآية 21 "أَرْجَعَنِيَ الرَّبُّ فَارِغَةً." ليس كذلك، يا نعمي! أنت حتى مرهقة بليل الشدة ولا تقدرين على رؤية فجر الابتهاج. ماذا يمكنها أن تقول لو أنها رأت أنه في راعوث ستكسب رجلا-طفلا، وهذا الرجل-الطفل سيكون جد أعظم ملك لإسرائيل، وأن ملك إسرائيل هذا، سيكون ظلا لملك الملوك، يسوع المسيح، رب الكون؟ اعتقد أنها سوف تقول،

لا تحكم على الرّب بإدراك واهن
بل ثق به لأجل نعمته
فخـلف العـنـاية الإلهيّــة العابســـة
يُخــفـي وجهــاً مُبتسِـــماً

دروس أربعة ملخصة:

اسمحوا لي أن أختم بملخص لدروس أربعة.

1. حكم الله السياديّ:

الله القدير يسود على جميع شؤون البشر. هو يسود على الشعوب (دانيال 2: 21) ويسود على الأسر. عنايته تمتد من الكونغرس الأميركي إلى مطبخك الخاص. دعونا نكون مثل نساء الإيمان في العهد القديم. إنهنّ يشكّنّ في أي شيء آخر، لكنهنّ لا يشكّنّ أبدا أن الله كان مشتركا في كل جزء من حياتهنّ ولا يوجد من يمنع يده (دانيال 4: 35). هو يعطي المطر ويمنع المطر. هو يعطي الحياة ويأخذ الحياة. به نحيا ونتحرك ونوجد. لا شيء، من عود الأسنان لمبنى تاج محل، يُفهم بشكل صحيح إلا في علاقته بالله. فهو الحقيقة الكليّة الشّمول والكليّة الإنتشار. كانت نعمي على حق ويجب علينا أن ننضم لها في هذه القناعة. الله القدير يسود على جميع شؤون البشر.

2. عناية الله الغامضة:

العناية الإلهيّة في بعض الأحيان تكون صعبة للغاية. فالله قد أمرّ نعمي، على الأقل في المدى القصير، يمكن أن تشعر وكأنها مرارة. لعل أحدهم يقول: كل ذلك كان بسبب خطية الذهاب الى موآب والزواج من زوجات أجنبيات. ربما ذلك! ولكن ليس بالضرورة. يقول مزمور 34: 19 "كَثِيرَةٌ هِيَ بَلاَيَا الصِّدِّيقِ، وَمِنْ جَمِيعِهَا يُنَجِّيهِ الرَّبُّ." لا العهد القديم ولا العهد الجديد يعد أن المؤمنين سيفلتون من بلايا هذه الحياة. ولكن لنفترض أن مصيبة نعمي كانت بسبب عصيانها. هذا يجعل القصة مشجعة بشكل مضاعف لأنها تبين أن الله على استعداد وقادر حتى على تحويل أحكامه إلى أفراح. لو أن راعوث قد انضمت للأسرة من خلال خطية، فمن المدهش جدا أنها أصبحت جدة داود وجدة يسوع المسيح. لا تظن أبدا أن خطية ماضيك تعني أنه لا يوجد أي رجاء لمستقبلك.

3. مقاصد الله الصالحة:

هذا يقودنا إلى الدرس الثالث. فالله لا يسود فقط على جميع شؤون البشر، وهو ليس بعنايته الإلهيّة صعباً في بعض الأحيان، ولكن في جميع أعماله تكون مقاصده من أجل خير وسعادة شعبه. من كان يتصور أنه في أسوأ الأوقات، في أيام القضاة، كان الله يتحرك بهدوء في مآسي عائلة واحدة كي يمهّد الطريق لأعظم ملك في إسرائيل؟ ولكن ليس هذا فقط، بل كان يعمل ليملأ نعمي وراعوث وبوعز وأصدقائهم بفرح عظيم. إذا جاء عليك أي أمر هذا الصيف جعل مستقبلك يبدو بلا أمل، تعلّم من راعوث أن الله الآن يعمل لأجلك ليعطيك آخرة ورجاء. ثق به؛ انتظره بصبر. الغيوم المشؤومة هي كبيرة بالرحمة وسوف تأتي بالبركة على رأسك.

4. حريّة مثل التي لراعوث:

أخيرا، نتعلم أنه إن وثقت أنّ صلاح الله وسيادته ورحمته ستتبعك كل أيام حياتك، إذاً أنت حر مثل راعوث. لو دعاك الله، يمكنك أن تترك الأسرة، ويمكنك أن تترك عملك، يمكنك أن تترك مينيسوتا، ويمكنك أن تضع التزامات جذريّة وتتعهد بمشاريع جديدة. أو يمكنك أن تجد الحريّة والشجاعة والقوة لتحفظ أمراً قد التزمت به سابقاً. عندما تؤمن بسيادة الله، وأنه يحب أن يعمل بقوة لأولئك الذين يثقون به، هذا يعطي حريّة وفرحاً لا يمكن أن يهتزا في الأوقات الصعبة. يعطينا سفر راعوث لمحة عن العمل الخفيّ لله خلال أسوأ الأوقات. وذلك مثل جميع الأسفار الأخرى، كما يقول بولس (رومية 15: 4، 13)، كُتب سفر راعوث لكي نزداد في الرجاء.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Ruth: Sweet and Bitter Providence

My aim is to preach through the book of Ruth in the next four Sundays—one chapter each Sunday. One way that you can make July a very memorable month of insight and renewal for yourself is to read through this beautiful story once each week. (It takes about 25 minutes at a leisurely pace.) It's a story that shows how "God moves in a mysterious way, his wonders to perform." It's a story for people who wonder where God is when there are no dreams or visions or prophets. It's for people who wonder where God is when one tragedy after another attacks their faith. It's a story for people who wonder whether a life of integrity in tough times is worth it. And it's a story for people who can't imagine that anything great could ever come of their ordinary lives of faith. It's a refreshing and encouraging book, and I want you to be refreshed and encouraged this summer.

The Work of God in the Darkest of Times

According to 1:1, the story took place during the time of the judges. This was a 400-year period after Israel entered the promised land under Joshua and before there were any kings in Israel (roughly 1500 BC to 1100 BC). The book of Judges comes just before Ruth in our English Bibles and you can see from its very last verse what sort of period it was. Judges 21:25 says, "In those days there was no king in Israel; every man did what was right in his own eyes." It was a very dark time in Israel. The people would sin, God would send enemies against them, the people would cry for help, and God would mercifully raise up a judge to deliver them. Again and again the people rebelled, and from all outward appearances God's purposes for righteousness and glory in Israel were failing. And what the book of Ruth does for us is give us a glimpse of the hidden work of God during the worst of times.

Look at the last verse of Ruth (4:22). The child born to Ruth and Boaz during the period of the judges is Obed. Obed becomes the father of Jesse and Jesse becomes the father of David who led Israel to her greatest heights of glory. One of the main messages of this little book is that God is at work in the worst of times. Even through the sins of his people he can and he does plot for their glory. It was true at the national level. And we will see that it is true at the personal, family level, too. God is at work in the worst of times. When you think he is farthest from you, or has even turned against you, the truth is that he is laying foundation stones of greater happiness in your life.

Judge not the Lord by feeble sense
But trust him for his grace.
Behind a frowning providence
He hides a smiling face.

I think that's the message of Ruth. Let's see how this unknown author, under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, teaches it to us.

Adding Grief to Famine

Verses 1–5 describe the misery of Naomi. First (1:1), there is a famine in Judah where Naomi and her husband Elimelech and her sons Mahlon and Chilion live. Naomi knows good and well who causes famines. God does. Leviticus 26:3–4 says,

If you walk in my statutes and observe my commandments and do them, then I will give you your rains in their season, and the land shall yield its increase.

When the rains are withheld, it is the hard hand of God.

Then, there is the decision to sojourn in Moab—a pagan land with foreign gods (1:15; Judges 10:6). This was playing with fire. God had called his people to be separate from the surrounding lands. So when Naomi's husband dies (1:13), what could she feel but that the judgment of God had followed her and added grief to famine?

Then (in 1:4), her two sons take Moabite wives, one named Orpah, the other named Ruth. And again the hand of God falls. Verse 5 sums up Naomi's tragedy after ten years of childless marriages: "Both Mahlon and Chilion died, so that the woman was bereft of her two sons and her husband." A famine, a move to pagan Moab, the death of her husband, the marriage of her sons to foreign wives, and the death of her sons—blow after blow, tragedy upon tragedy. Now what?

Naomi's Attempts to Turn Back Ruth and Orpah

In verse 6 Naomi gets word that "the Lord has visited his people and given them food." So she decides to return to Judah. Her two daughters-in-law, Ruth and Orpah, go with her part way it seems, but then in verses 8–13 she tries to persuade them to go back home. I think there are three reasons why the writer devotes so much space to Naomi's effort to turn Ruth and Orpah back.

Naomi's Misery

First, the scene emphasizes Naomi's misery. For example, verse 11: "Naomi said, 'Turn back my daughters, why will you go with me? Have I yet sons in my womb that they may become your husbands? Turn back, my daughters, go your way, for I am too old to have a husband.'" In other words, Naomi has nothing to offer them. Her condition is worse than theirs. If they try to be faithful to her and to the name of their husbands, they will find nothing but pain. So she concludes at the end of verse 13, "No, my daughters, for it is exceedingly bitter to me for your sake that the hand of the Lord has gone forth against me." Don't come with me because God is against me. Your life may be as bitter as mine.

An Israelite Custom

The second reason for verses 8–13 is to prepare us for a custom in Israel which is going to turn everything around for Naomi in the following chapters. The custom was that when an Israelite husband died, his brother or near relative was to marry the widow and continue the brother's name (Deuteronomy 25:5–10). Naomi is referring to this custom (in verse 11) when she says she has no sons to marry Ruth and Orpah. She thinks it is hopeless for Ruth and Orpah to remain committed to the family name. She doesn't remember, evidently, that there is another relative named Boaz who might perform the duty of a brother.

There's a lesson here. When we have decided that God is against us, we usually exaggerate our hopelessness. We become so bitter we can't see the rays of light peeping out around the clouds. It was God who broke the famine and opened the way home (1:6). It was God who preserved a kinsman to continue Naomi's line (2:20). And it was God who constrains Ruth to stay with Naomi. But Naomi is so embittered by God's hard providence that she can't see his mercy at work in her life.

Ruth's Faithfulness

The third reason for verses 8–13 is to make Ruth's faithfulness to Naomi appear amazing. Verse 14 says that Orpah kissed Naomi goodbye but Ruth clung to her. Not even another entreaty in verse 15 can get Ruth to leave. This is all the more amazing after Naomi's grim description of their future with her. Ruth stays with her in spite of an apparently hopeless future of widowhood and childlessness. Naomi painted the future black and Ruth took her hand and walked into it with her.

The amazing words of Ruth are found in 1:16–17,

Entreat me not to leave you or return from following you; for where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge; your people shall be my people and your God my God; where you die I will die and there will I be buried. May the Lord do so to me and more also if even death parts me from you.

God's Ideal Woman

The more you ponder these words the more amazing they become. Ruth's commitment to her destitute mother-in-law is simply astonishing. First, it means leaving her own family and land. Second, it means, as far as she knows, a life of widowhood and childlessness, because Naomi has no man to give, and if she married a non-relative, her commitment to Naomi's family would be lost. Third, it means going to an unknown land with a new people and new customs and new language. Fourth, it was a commitment even more radical than marriage: "Where you die I will die and there be buried" (v. 17). In other words, she will never return home, not even if Naomi dies.

But the most amazing commitment of all is this: "Your God will be my God" (v. 16). Naomi has just said in verse 13, "The hand of the Lord has gone forth against me." Naomi's experience of God was bitterness. But in spite of this, Ruth forsakes her religious heritage and makes the God of Israel her God. Perhaps she had made that commitment years before, when her husband told her of the great love of God for Israel and his power at the Red Sea and his glorious purpose of peace and righteousness. Somehow or other Ruth had come to trust in Naomi's God in spite of Naomi's bitter experiences.

Here we have a picture of God's ideal woman. Faith in God that sees beyond present bitter setbacks. Freedom from the securities and comforts of the world. Courage to venture into the unknown and the strange. Radical commitment in the relationships appointed by God. O, that Bethlehem might breed that kind of woman!

Naomi's Theology: Right and Wrong

So Ruth and Naomi return together to Bethlehem of Judah (verse 19). But she responds in verse 20,

Do not call me Naomi (i.e., pleasant or sweet), call me Mara (i.e., bitter), for the Almighty has dealt very bitterly with me. I went away full, and the Lord has brought me back empty. Why call me Naomi, when the Lord has afflicted me (i.e., testified against me) and the Almighty has brought calamity upon me?

What do you make of Naomi's theology? I would take Naomi's theology any day over the sentimental views of God which dominate evangelical magazines and books today. Naomi is unshaken and sure about three things: God exists. God is sovereign. God has afflicted her. The problem with Naomi is that she has forgotten the story of Joseph who also went into a foreign country. He was sold as a slave. He was framed by an adulteress and put in prison. He had every reason to say, with Naomi, "The Almighty has dealt bitterly with me." But he kept his faith and God turned it all for his personal good and for Israel's national good. The key lesson in Genesis 50:20 is this: "As for you, you meant it for evil against me [Joseph says to his brothers]; but God meant it for good." Naomi is right to believe in a sovereign, almighty God who governs the affairs of nations and families and gives each day its part of pain and pleasure. But she needs to open her eyes to the signs of his merciful purposes.

It was God who took away the famine and opened a way home. Notice the delicate touch of hope at the end of verse 22. "And they came to Bethlehem at the beginning of barley harvest." If Naomi could only see what this is going to mean. Not only that, Naomi needs to open her eyes to Ruth. What a gift! What a blessing! Yet as she and Ruth stand before the people of Bethlehem, Naomi says in verse 21, "The Lord has brought me back empty." Not so, Naomi! You are so weary with the night of adversity that you can't see the dawn of rejoicing. What would she say if she could see that in Ruth she would gain a man-child, and that this man-child would be the grandfather of the greatest king of Israel, and that this king of Israel would foreshadow the King of kings, Jesus Christ, the Lord of the universe? I think she would say,

Judge not the Lord by feeble sense,
But trust him for his grace;
Behind a frowning providence
He hides a smiling face.

Four Summary Lessons

Let me conclude with four summary lessons.

1. God's Sovereign Rule

God the almighty reigns in all the affairs of men. He rules the nations (Daniel 2:21) and he rules families. His providence extends from the U.S. Congress to your kitchen. Let's be like the women of faith in the Old Testament. Whatever else they doubted, they never doubted that God was involved in every part of their lives and that none could stay his hand (Daniel 4:35). He gives rain and he takes rain. He gives life and he takes life. In him we live and move and have our being. Nothing—from a toothpick to the Taj Mahal—is rightly understood except in relation to God. He is the all-encompassing, all-pervading reality. Naomi was right and we should join her in this conviction. God the Almighty reigns in all the affairs of men.

2. God's Mysterious Providence

God's providence is sometimes very hard. God had dealt bitterly with Naomi—at least in the short run it could only feel like bitterness. Perhaps someone will say: it was all owing to the sin of going to Moab and marrying foreign wives. Maybe so. But not necessarily. Psalm 34:19 says, "Many are the afflictions of the righteous; but the Lord delivers him out of them all." Neither the Old Testament nor the New Testament promises that believers will escape affliction in this life. But suppose Naomi's calamity was owing to her disobedience. That makes the story doubly encouraging because it shows that God is willing and able even to turn his judgments into joys. If Ruth was brought into the family by sin, it is doubly astonishing that she is made the grandmother of David and ancestor of Jesus Christ. Don't ever think that the sin of your past means there is no hope for your future.

3. God's Good Purposes

That leads to the third lesson. Not only does God reign in all the affairs of men, and not only is his providence sometimes hard, but in all his works his purposes are for the good and happiness of his people. Who would have imagined that in the worst of all times—the period of the judges—God was quietly moving in the tragedies of a single family to prepare the way for the greatest king of Israel? But not only that, he was working to fill Naomi and Ruth and Boaz and their friends with great joy. If anything this summer has fallen in on you to make your future look hopeless, learn from Ruth that God is right now at work for you to give you a future and a hope. Trust him; wait patiently. The ominous clouds are big with mercy and will break with blessing on your head.

4. Freedom Like Ruth's

Finally, we learn that if you trust the sovereign goodness and mercy of God to pursue you all the days of your life, then you are free like Ruth. If God calls, you can leave family, you can leave your job, you can leave Minnesota, and you can make radical commitments and undertake new ventures. Or you can find the freedom and courage and strength to keep a commitment you already made. When you believe in the sovereignty of God and that he loves to work mightily for those who trust him, it gives a freedom and joy that can't be shaken by hard times. The book of Ruth gives us a glimpse into the hidden work of God during the worst of times. And so like all the other Scriptures, as Paul says (Romans 15:4, 13), Ruth was written that we might abound in hope.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org