《路得记》:最好的尚未来临

《路得记》第4章

关于《路得记》这一卷书的系列讲道我们已经到了最后一讲,在这里我们应当提出的主要问题是:这卷书给我们的启示是什么?作者希望通过这卷书给我们的最重要的启示是什么?

《路得记》的启示

我认为这卷书给我们的最重要的启示是:敬虔人的生活并非一帆风顺,直至被神接入荣耀,虽然他们最终确实会进入神的荣耀。敬虔人的生活并不像跨域平原的州际公路那样宽阔而笔直,而是像穿越崇山峻岭的盘山古道一样迂回曲折。因为沿途有泥石流、悬崖峭壁、层层浓雾、打滑的弯道和急转弯,甚至还有野熊出没,你常常需要为了前进而走不少弯路。走在这条危险而曲折的路上,你看不到前面会发生什么。但是这条路上有很多的指示牌,上面写着:“最好的尚未来临,”右下角的一行字是“主说,我指着我的永生起誓。”

《路得记》这一卷书就是沿路的指示牌之一。作者写这卷书、以及我同大家分享这卷书的目的就是为要在这个仲夏给你们鼓舞和盼望,让你们明白也许最近在你们生命中发生了一些令人困惑的意外变故,但这并不意味着你们没有出路,毫无盼望。作为一个信徒,你生命中的一切挫折、失败都是上帝为了给你更大的喜乐而安排的。

挫折、盼望以及公义下的智谋

路得的故事里充满了挫折。在第1章里,拿俄米和她的丈夫、儿子因为犹大地的饥荒而被迫离开家乡。之后,拿俄米的丈夫去世,她的两个儿子与摩押女子结合十年却一直没有子嗣。接着,他的两个儿子去世,给拿俄米留下两个寡妇儿媳。尽管路得坚持留在拿俄米身边,在第1章的结尾拿俄米仍然抱怨:“我满满地出去,耶和华使我空空地回来…全能者使我受了大苦。”

在第2章拿俄米重新有了盼望,因为波阿斯出现了,而他有可能成为路得的丈夫。然而,波阿斯并没有向路得求婚。他没有采取任何行动,至少看起来如此。所以,第2章在令人激动的、满溢的盼望里结束,同时也充满了无限的悬念感和不确定性。

第3章里,拿俄米让路得在午夜采取了一个冒险的举动――路得来到波阿斯的打谷场对他说:“请你用你的衣襟遮盖我,做我的丈夫。”但是,正当我们认为路得悲惨的的守寡生活即将结束,一段美丽的爱情故事即将开始时,一块巨石从蓝岭山脉上滑出,拦在了路得的生命里。这时,另一个男人出现了,而根据希伯来人的传统这个人比波阿斯更有义务娶路得。无比诚实的波阿斯没有直接娶路得为妻,而是先让这个人选择是否会尽他做亲族的本分。就这样,第3章在又一个悬念里结束了。

第四章
波阿斯到了城门,坐在那里,恰巧波阿斯所说的那至近的亲属经过。波阿斯说:“某人哪,你来坐在这里。”他就来坐下。波阿斯又从本城的长老中拣选了十人,对他们说:“请你们坐在这里。”他们就都坐下。波阿斯对那至近的亲属说:“从摩押地回来的拿俄米,现在要卖我们族兄以利米勒的那块地。我想当赎那块地的是你,其次是我,以外再没有别人了。你可以在这里的人面前,和我本国的长老面前说明,你若肯赎就赎,若不肯赎就告诉我。”那人回答说:“我肯赎。” 波阿斯说:“你从拿俄米手中买这地的时候,也当娶(原文作“买”。10节同)死人的妻摩押女子路得,使死人在产业上存留他的名。” 那人说:“这样我就不能赎了,恐怕于我的产业有碍。你可以赎我所当赎的,我不能赎了。”
从前,在以色列中要定夺什么事,或赎回,或交易,这人就脱鞋给那人。以色列人都以此为证据。那人对波阿斯说:“你自己买吧!”于是将鞋脱下来了。波阿斯对长老和众民说:“你们今日作见证,凡属以利米勒和基连、玛伦的,我都从拿俄米手中置买了;又娶了玛伦的妻摩押女子路得为妻,好在死人的产业上存留他的名,免得他的名在本族本乡灭没。你们今日可以作见证。” 在城门坐着的众民和长老都说:“我们作见证。愿耶和华使进你家的这女子,象建立以色列家的拉结、利亚二人一样。又愿你在以法他得亨通,在伯利恒得名声。愿耶和华从这少年女子赐你后裔,使你的家象他玛从犹大所生法勒斯的家一般。”
于是波阿斯娶了路得为妻,与她同房。耶和华使她怀孕生了一个儿子。妇人们对拿俄米说:“耶和华是应当称颂的,因为今日没有撇下你使你无至近的亲属。愿这孩子在以色列中得名声。他必提起你的精神,奉养你的老,因为是爱慕你的那儿妇所生的,有这儿妇比有七个儿子还好。” 拿俄米就把孩子抱在怀中,作他的养母。邻舍的妇人说:“拿俄米得孩子了。”就给孩子起名叫俄备得。这俄备得是耶西的父,耶西是大卫的父。
法勒斯的后代记在下面:法勒斯生希斯仑;希斯仑生兰;兰生亚米拿达;亚米拿达生拿顺;拿顺生撒门;撒门生波阿斯;波阿斯生俄备得;俄备得生耶西;耶西生大卫。

通往荣耀之门的重重挫折

在第3章的午夜约会之后,波阿斯到了城门,就是在那里他解决了这件大事。那个至近的亲属恰巧路过,波阿斯向他陈明事情的原委。拿俄米将放弃她所拥有的最后一点财产,但是这位亲属需要尽他的本分赎回这块地,使这产业继续留在家族之内。令我们失望的是,这位亲属在第4节里说:“我肯赎。”但是我们并不希望由他来赎,我们希望由波阿斯来赎。看起来,这里似乎又出现了一个挫折。而不幸的是:这是一个公义而引起的挫折。这个亲族只是在尽他的本分而已。有的时候,造成穿越崇山峻岭的国道阻塞的原因并不是巨石或者狗熊,而是一群尽职的工人在工作。引起我们挫败感的不仅仅是人的罪,不合时宜的公义往往也会是原因之一。

正当我们要大呼:“不!不要!不要让这个人娶走路得!”时,波阿斯对这个更近的亲属说:“你知道吗,拿俄米有个儿媳。所以,当你尽了亲族的本分买这块地的同时,你也当娶她做你的妻子,并为她的丈夫玛伦生子立后。”于是,让我们感到欣慰的是,这位亲族在第6节里说他不能这样做。或许他已经结婚了。但不论原因是什么,当波阿斯克服了这个挫折,并与年轻美丽的路得手挽手的走入婚宴时,我们都在为他们振臂欢呼。

但是,仍然有一片乌云悬在他们头顶:路得不能生育,至少看起来是这样的。通过1:4节,我们知道她与玛伦结婚十年但一直没有子嗣。因此,悬念至今没有完全消散。现在你应该明白为何我说《路得记》这卷书给我们的启示是敬虔人的生活不是一帆风顺、直达荣耀的。生活是一个弯道接一个弯道,我们永远不知道接下来迎接我们的会是什么。但是,这个故事关键在于告诉我们:最好的尚未来临。无论你身处何处,只要你爱神,最美好的恩典就会来临。

为何拿俄米是故事的焦点?

笼罩在路得和波阿斯头顶的阴云里充满了上帝的慈爱,在第13节经文里上帝的恩典透过这阴云临到他们――“于是波阿斯娶了路得为妻,与她同房。耶和华使她怀孕生了一个儿子。”但是,请注意,接下来在第14-17节里,故事的焦点并没有放在路得或波阿斯身上,而是在拿俄米和这个孩子身上。为什么呢?

几年前,一个看起来挺邋遢的男人来到教会办公室寻求帮助。当我向他询问姓名时,他说:“磨难,我的名字叫磨难。”在这一卷书的开头,拿俄米的名字也是“磨难,”经历磨难的拿俄米。这卷书的作者正是想让我们以这种方式认识拿俄米,因为这卷书的目的就是为要告诉我们:敬虔人的生活并非一帆风顺、直达神的荣耀,但尽管如此,他们最终确实会进入神的荣耀。这个故事在拿俄米的丧失中开始,在她的收获中结束。这个故事在死亡中开始,在新生中结束。一个孩子诞生了――为谁而生的呢?在第17节里,拿俄米终于到达她曲折而漫长的路的终点――“邻舍的妇人说:‘拿俄米得孩子了。’”不是路得得孩子了吗?为什么是拿俄米得孩子了呢?因为上帝要证明拿俄米在第1:21节里说的上帝使她从摩押地空空地回来是错的。如果我们能够学会信靠神并且耐心等候,我们对上帝的一切怨言都会被证明是错误的。

上帝在我们挫折中的仁慈工作

《路得记》这卷书的目的是要帮助我们看到我们生命中的上帝恩典的指示牌,帮助我们时刻信靠他,即使是在大雾浓密到让我们连路都看不清,路边的指示牌就更别提了的时候。让我们将这个故事回顾一遍,来提醒我们:是上帝将每一个挫折变成通往喜乐的踏脚石,是严厉的上帝在预备着我们的幸福。

上帝赐给拿俄米儿妇路得

首先,当拿俄米的整个生活似乎要在摩押地坍塌的时候,上帝将路得赏赐给拿俄米。关于这一点,我们在两处经文里可以找到证据。从第1:16节我们知道路得对拿俄米的委身是源于路得对拿俄米的神的委身:“你的神就是我的神。”在摩押地,上帝赢得了路得对他的忠诚。因此,拿俄米将来自她儿妇的非凡的怜恤和关爱归给上帝。此外,在第2:16节里,路得跟随拿俄米来到犹大地,在这里她投靠在上帝的翅膀下。也就是说,路得愿意离开自己的家乡和父母、愿意跟随并服侍拿俄米是因为上帝。从始至终,上帝都在将拿俄米的挫折变成喜乐,即使是在她无视上帝的恩典的时候。

上帝预备波阿斯

第二,第1章里拿俄米给我们这样一个印象:路得无望结婚生子,为拿俄米延续家族命脉(1:12)。但是突然间,我们看到上帝为路得预备了一个富裕并且敬神的波阿斯。我们之所以知道这是上帝的工作是因为拿俄米在第2:20节里这样承认了。她意识到在路得与波阿斯的“巧遇”背后是“耶和华赐福,因为他不断地恩待活人死人。”敬虔人经历的每一个损失都是上帝为了他们的收获而计划的。

上帝让路得怀孕生子

第三,是谁让不能生育的路得生了一个儿子,使得邻舍的妇人说:“拿俄米得孩子了”?是上帝。我们来看第4:11节里镇民们为波阿斯和路得做的祷告。他们知道路得曾经结婚十年却没有子女,由此他们想到很久以前上帝曾经让拉结怀孕生子。于是他们祈求上帝向恩待拉结和利亚那样恩待路得。在第13节里作者十分清楚地表达了是谁使这个孩子诞生:“波阿斯娶了路得为妻,与她同房。耶和华使她怀孕生了一个儿子。”

在这一卷书里,我们看到上帝一次又一次在拿俄米的困苦境遇里工作来帮助她。当她失去丈夫和孩子的时候,上帝带给她路得。当她认为她已经没有任何亲族可以娶路得来延续家族命脉时,上帝带给她波阿斯。当不能生育的路得嫁给波阿斯时,上帝赐给他们一个孩子。这个故事的主旨完全体现在拿俄米的生命中:敬虔人的生活并非一帆风顺、直达神的荣耀,但尽管如此,上帝会确保他们最终进入神的荣耀。

“荣耀”这个词是否语气过重?

或许你认为用“荣耀”这个词有点过头,毕竟拿俄米不过是得了个孩子――一个经历了一段漫长而艰难的痛苦生活的祖母怀抱着一个婴孩,这似乎算不上“荣耀”吧。但是,故事并没有结束。

让我们举目看那森林,看那永恒的积雪

1912年,美国纽约市第五街长老会教堂的牧师约翰·亨利·朱伟德在耶鲁大学做了一系列关于如何讲道的演讲。在其中一个演讲中有一段话描述了怎样才是精彩的讲道,这段话启示了我们《路得记》的作者这样结束故事的用意:

朱伟德认为当一个伟大的传道者放眼望去时,看到的应当是地平线,而不是局限于一片封闭的原野,或是当地的风景。一个伟大的传道者应当具备将任何事物同永恒的过去以及永恒的未来联系在一起的属神的视角。… 这就像是你眼中看到的可能不过是瑞士村庄里的一家人窗户上的木刻,然而当你再次举目,你看到了曾经滋养过这块木头的森林,而更远处你看到了永恒的积雪。是的,这就是宾尼的视角、戴尔的视角、布什内尔的视角、也是纽曼和司布真的视角――这些伟大的传道者总是乐意驻足在一个乡村的窗户前,然而他们却能够从眼前的街道看到那天上的神,让我们的灵魂升到上帝的永恒之山。(《传道者:他们的生活与工作》,第95页)

在犹大地的一个小小村庄里,一位年老的祖母怀抱着她新生的孙子――如果故事在这里结束,那么“荣耀”这个词用在这里确实有些夸张。但是,作者并没有让故事就此结束。他抬起双眼,看到了远方的森林和覆盖群山的积雪,而这些正昭示着救赎的历史。在第17节里,他清楚的记载着这孩子俄备得是耶西的父,耶西是大卫的父。突然间,我们意识到:一个超出我们想象的伟大计划一直以来都在酝酿之中。上帝不仅仅是在为伯利恒的几个犹太人的短暂幸福而工作,他更是在为以色列最伟大的君王――大卫的来临做准备。同时,大卫的名承载着弥赛亚的盼望,承载着一个新的时代,也承载着平安、公义,和超越痛苦、眼泪、悲伤和罪恶的自由。这个简单的小故事如同一条小溪一般带我们驶入充满盼望的宽阔江河。

为琐事所累的疾病

现代人容易得的几大疾病之一就是为琐事所累的病。通常大多数人会花相当长的时间在琐事上。为什么我说这是一种疾病呢?那是因为照着上帝的形象受造的我们有着更宏伟的生存意义。没有任何一个人会对追求琐事真正感到满足,我们的灵魂绝不会对此感到满足。为什么我们的报纸里有满满一版面报道体坛动态,却几乎没有任何位置讲述宇宙最伟大的故事――耶稣基督教会的成长与壮大呢?是愚蠢,极度的愚蠢,使我们将那些无关紧要的体育比赛放在我们文化的核心地位。我们渐渐被琐事所奴役,而这就是其中一个征兆。我们凝视着瑞士乡村小店里的木制小雕像,却很少抬起双眼看看那森林和那永恒的积雪。为了满足对琐事的渴望,我们陷入了一个永恒而且绝望的挣扎当中。因此,我们的灵魂变得枯干。当我们的生活变得越来越琐碎时,我们敬拜伟大上帝的能力便开始消亡。

上帝在历史长河中的荣耀工作

《路得记》这卷书希望给我们的一个启示是:上帝为他的子民的生命安排了计划,他的计划是要他们成为更伟大的人。上帝希望我们知道,当我们跟随他时,我们的生命就会比我们想象的有意义得多。对于基督徒来说,普通的生活小事与上帝在历史长河中的伟大工作是息息相关的。我们出于对上帝的顺服而做的每一件事情,无论是怎样的小事,在神眼里都是意义重大的。宇宙就像一幅马赛克镶嵌画,而上帝就是这幅画的作者,通过这幅画他向世界、向天上执政的、掌权的展示他权柄和智慧的伟大(弗3:10)。基督徒生命中的最大的满足感就是他绝不会为琐事所累。服侍守寡的婆婆、在田间拾取麦穗、陷入一段爱情、得到一个儿子――对于基督徒来说,这一切都与永恒相连,这一切都是一个更加伟大的计划的一部分。

也就是说,“荣耀”这个词用在这里一点也不为过。敬虔人的生活并非一帆风顺、直达神的荣耀,但尽管如此,他们最终确实会进入神的荣耀――上帝会确保这一点。在这个可爱的婴孩和这位快乐的祖母背后让我们看到大大的盼望。假若不是这样,我们将成为全人类中最悲惨的一群。因为,接下来的故事指向了大卫,大卫之后又指向了耶稣,而耶稣带来了我们身体的得赎(罗8:23),那时“不再有死亡,也不再有悲哀、哭号、疼痛,因为以前的事都过去了”(启21:4)。

最好的事尚未来临――对于顺从于自己的信仰而跟随基督的信徒们来说,这是一个不可动摇的真理。对于那些年轻力壮、满怀希望的年轻人们,还有那些年纪大了,外体渐渐衰老的人们,我要告诉你们:最好的尚未来临!

上帝与我们之间盟约之爱的比喻

这周五我看到了一件小事,它可以用来比喻上帝对我们的爱。那天我去卡罗琳中心(一个为老年残疾人设立的中心)探访教会的一些老年朋友,在电梯里我遇到一位坐着轮椅的妇人,她年纪很大,身体残疾,并且看上去神志不清。她毫无意识的摇晃着脑袋,嘴里发出一些没有任何意义的声音,嘴一直是张着的。我又注意到帮她推轮椅的是一位65岁左右、穿着讲究的男士。我正在猜测他们是什么关系的时候,电梯门开了,在走出电梯的时候,我听到这位男士说,“小心你的脚,甜心。”

他叫她甜心。在我往停车场走的过程中,我在想:在这样的境况下,一个男人和一个女人之间的婚约能够带来这般感人的忠贞、委身和情感;而基督与我们也订立了新的盟约,盟约的条款是那样的美好、那样充满怜悯,所以毫无疑问的,上帝也会称呼奥德特·麦考阿维尼、哈洛德·霍姆格伦、玛丽·爱格尼斯·丹尼尔逊(当时教会里生病的一些老年人),称呼你和我(生病的我们)为“甜心”。当他这样称呼我们的时候,我们便知道世界上没有比这个更不可动摇的真理了:对于拿俄米一群人,也对于我们每一个人来说,最好的尚未来临!阿门。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Ruth: the Best Is Yet to Come

As we come to the end of our series on the book of Ruth, the main question we should ask is, What is the lesson of this book? What one main thing does the author want us to take away from reading this story?

The Lesson of the Book of Ruth

Here's what I would suggest as the main lesson: The life of the godly is not a straight line to glory, but they do get there. The life of the godly is not an Interstate through Nebraska, but a state road through the Blue Ridge Mountains of Tennessee. There are rock slides and precipices and dark mists and bears and slippery curves and hairpin turns that make you go backwards in order to go forwards. But all along this hazardous, twisted road that doesn't let you see very far ahead there are frequent signs that say, "The best is yet to come." And at the bottom right corner written with an unmistakable hand are the words, "As I live, says the Lord!"

The book of Ruth is one of those signs for you to read. It was written and it has been preached to give you some midsummer encouragement and hope that all the perplexing turns in your life lately are not dead-end streets. In all the setbacks of your life as a believer God is plotting for your joy.

Setbacks, Hope, and Strategies of Righteousness

The story of Ruth is a series of setbacks. In chapter 1 Naomi and her husband and two sons were forced to leave their homeland in Judah on account of famine. Then Naomi's husband dies. Her sons marry Moabite women and for ten years the women prove to be barren. And then her sons die leaving two widows in the house of Naomi. Even though Ruth cleaves to Naomi, chapter 1 ends with Naomi's bitter complaint: "I went away full and the Lord has brought me back empty . . . The Almighty has dealt very bitterly with me."

In chapter 2 Naomi is filled with new hope because Boaz appears on the scene as a possible husband for Ruth. But he doesn't propose to Ruth. He doesn't make any moves. At least that's the way it seems at first. So the chapter closes brimming with excited hope, but also with great suspense and uncertainty about how all this might work out.

In chapter 3 Naomi and Ruth make a risky move in the middle of the night. Ruth goes to Boaz on the threshing floor and says in effect, "I want you to spread your wing over me as my husband." But right when the tragedy of Ruth's widowhood seems to be resolved into a beautiful love story, a big Blue Ridge boulder rolls out onto the state road of Ruth's life. There is another man who according to Hebrew custom has prior claim to marry Ruth. The impeccably honest Boaz will not proceed without giving this man his lawful opportunity. So chapter 3 ends again in the suspense of another setback.

(Chapter 4)

1And Boaz went up to the gate and sat down there; and behold, the next of kin, of whom Boaz had spoken, came by. So Boaz said, "Turn aside, friend; sit down here"; and he turned aside and sat down. 2And he took ten men of the elders of the city, and said, "Sit down here"; so they sat down. 3Then he said to the next of kin, "Naomi, who has come back from the country of Moab, is selling the parcel of land which belonged to our kinsman Elimelech. 4So I thought I would tell you of it, and say, Buy it in the presence of those sitting here, and in the presence of the elders of my people. If you will redeem it, redeem it; but if you will not, tell me, that I may know, for there is no one besides you to redeem it, and I come after you." And he said, "I will redeem it." 5Then Boaz said, "The day you buy the field from the hand of Naomi, you are also buying Ruth, the Moabitess, the widow of the dead, in order to restore the name of the dead to his inheritance." 6Then the next of kin said, "I cannot redeem it for myself, lest I impair my own inheritance. Take my right of redemption yourself, for I cannot redeem it."

7Now this was the custom in former times in Israel concerning redeeming and exchanging: to confirm a transaction, the one drew off his sandal and gave it to the other and this was the manner of attesting in Israel. 8So when the next of kin said to Boaz, "Buy it for yourself," he drew off his sandal. 9Then Boaz said to the elders and all the people, "You are witnesses this day that I have bought from the hand of Naomi all that belonged to Elimelech and all that belonged to Chilion and to Mahlon. 10Also Ruth the Moabitess, the widow of Mahlon, I have bought to be my wife, to perpetuate the name of the dead in his inheritance, that the name of the dead may not be cut off from among his brethren and from the gate of his native place; you are witnesses this day. 11Then all the people who were at the gate, and the elders, said, "We are witnesses. May the LORD make the woman, who is coming into your house, like Rachel and Leah, who together built up the house of Israel. May you prosper in Ephrathah and be renowned in Bethlehem; 12and may your house be like the house of Perez, whom Tamar bore to Judah, because of the children that the LORD will give you by this young woman."

13So Boaz took Ruth and she became his wife; and he went in to her, and the LORD gave her conception, and she bore a son. 14Then the women said to Naomi, "Blessed be the LORD, who has not left you this day without next of kin; and may his name be renowned in Israel! 15He shall be to you a restorer of life and a nourisher of your old age; for your daughter-in-law who loves you, who is more to you than seven sons, has borne him." 16Then Naomi took the child and laid him in her bosom, and became his nurse. 17And the women of the neighborhood gave him a name, saying, "A son has been born to Naomi." They named him Obed; he was the father of Jesse, the father of David.

18 Now these are the descendants of Perez: Perez was the father of Hezron, 19 Hezron of Ram, Ram of Amminadab, 20Amminadab of Nahshon, Nahshon of Salmon, 21 Salmon of Boaz, Boaz of Obed, 22Obed of Jesse, and Jesse of David.

More Setbacks on the Way to Glory

After the midnight rendezvous in chapter 3, Boaz goes to the city gate where the official business was done. The nearer kinsman comes by, and Boaz lays the situation before him. Naomi is giving up what little property she has, and the duty of the nearer kinsman is to buy it so that the inheritance stays in the family. To our dismay the kinsman says at the end of verse 4, "I will redeem it." We don't want him to redeem it. We want Boaz to do it. So again there seems to be a setback. And the irony of this setback is that it is being caused by righteousness. The fellow is only doing his duty. Sometimes the Blue Ridge highway is all clogged up, not with boulders or bears, but with good workmen only doing their duty. Our frustrations are not only caused by sin but also by (apparently!) ill-timed righteousness.

Just when we are about to say, "O no! Stop the story! Don't let this other fellow take Ruth!" Boaz says to the nearer kinsman, "You know, don't you, that Naomi has a daughter-in-law. So when you do the part of the kinsman redeemer, you must also take her as your wife and raise up offspring in the name of her husband Mahlon?" Then, to our great relief, the kinsman says in verse 6 he can't do it. Perhaps he is married already. Whatever the reason, we are cheering in the background as Boaz gets through the bottleneck on the Blue Ridge and highballs it to the wedding feast with the beautiful young Ruth on his arm.

But there is a cloud overhead. Ruth is barren. Or at least she seems to be. In 1:4 we were told that she had been married ten years to Mahlon and there were no children. So even now the suspense is not over. Can you see why I said that the lesson of the book of Ruth is that the life of the godly is not a straight line to glory? Life is one curve after another. And we never know what's coming. But the point of the story is that the best is yet to come. No matter where you are, if you love God, the best is yet to come.

Why Is the Focus on Naomi?

The cloud over the head of Ruth and Boaz is big with mercy, and breaks with blessing on their head in verse 13. "So Boaz took Ruth and she became his wife; and he went in to her, and the Lord gave her conception, and she bore a son." But notice how the focus in verses 14–17 is not on Ruth at all, nor on Boaz. The focus is on Naomi and the child. Why?

We had a grubby looking fellow come in the church office a few years ago looking for help. I asked him what his name was, and he said, "Hardtimes, that's my name, Hardtimes." Well Naomi's name at the beginning of this book was Hardtimes . . . Hardtimes Naomi. That's the way the author of this book wanted us to meet her. Because the point of the book is that the life of the godly is not a straight line to glory, but they do get there. The story began with Naomi's loss. It ends with Naomi's gain. It began with death and ends with birth. A son—for whom? Verse 17 is the great destination of Naomi's long and twisted road. "And the women of the neighborhood gave him a name, saying, 'A son has been born to Naomi.'" Not to Ruth! But to Naomi! Why? To show that it was not true, what Naomi had said in 1:21, that the Lord had brought her back empty from Moab. And if we could just learn to wait and trust in God, all our complaints against God would prove untrue.

Signposts of God's Gracious Work in Bitter Setbacks

Ruth was written to help us see the signposts of the grace of God in our lives, and to help us trust his grace even when the clouds are so thick that we can't see the road let alone the signs on the side. Let's go back and remind ourselves that it was God who acted to turn each setback into a stepping stone to joy, and that it is God in all of our bitter providences who is plotting for our good.

The Gift of Ruth

First, when Naomi's whole life seemed to cave in while in Moab, it was God who gave Ruth to Naomi. We know this from two verses. In 1:16 we learn that at the root of Ruth's commitment to Naomi is Ruth's commitment to Naomi's God: "Your God shall be my God." God had won Ruth's allegiance in Moab and so it was to God that Naomi owed the amazing love of her daughter-in-law. Also in 2:12 it says that when Ruth came to Judah with Naomi, she was coming to take refuge under the wings of God. Therefore it is owing to God that Ruth left her home and family to follow and serve Naomi. All along it was God turning Naomi's setback into joy—even when she was oblivious to his grace.

The Preservation of Boaz

Second, Naomi gives the impression in chapter 1 that there is no hope that Ruth could marry and raise up children to continue the family line (1:12). But all the while God is preserving a wealthy and godly man named Boaz to do just that. The reason we know that this was God's doing is that Naomi herself admits it in 2:20. She recognizes that behind the "accidental" meeting of Ruth and Boaz was the "kindness of God who has not forsaken the living or the dead." In every loss that the godly endure God is already plotting for their gain.

The Opening of Ruth's Womb

Third, who was it that gave to the barren womb of Ruth the child so that the neighborhood women could say, "A son has been born to Naomi"? God gave the child. Look at 4:11. The townspeople pray for Boaz and Ruth. They know that Ruth was married for ten years without a child. So they remember Rachel whose womb the Lord had opened long before. And they pray that God will make Ruth like Rachel and Leah. And so the author makes very clear in verse 13 who caused this child to be conceived. "Boaz went in to her, and the Lord gave her conception."

So again and again in this book it was God who was at work in the bitter setbacks of Naomi. When she lost her husband and sons, God gave her Ruth. When she could think of no kinsman to raise up offspring for the family name, God gave her Boaz. When barren Ruth married Boaz, God gave the child. The point of the story is made in the life of Naomi. The life of the godly is not a straight line to glory, but God sees that they get there.

Is "Glory" Too Strong a Word?

Maybe you think the word glory is a little overdone. After all it's just a child. A grandmother holding a little child after a long hard life of much heartache. Ah, but that's not the end of the story.

Lifting Our Eyes to the Forest and Everlasting Snows

In 1912 John Henry Jowett, then pastor of the Fifth Presbyterian Church in New York City, gave the Yale Lectures on Preaching. There is a passage in one of his lectures which describes great preaching and gives us a vision of what the author of the book of Ruth was doing when he ended his story.

Jowett described a great preacher as one who seems

to look at the horizon rather than at an enclosed field, or a local landscape. He [has] a marvelous way of connecting every subject with eternity past and with eternity to come . . . It is as though you were looking at a bit of carved wood in a Swiss village window, and you lifted your eyes and saw the forest where the wood was nourished, and, higher still, the everlasting snows! Yes, that was Binney's way, Dale's way, the way of Bushnell, and Newman, and Spurgeon—they were always willing to stop at the village window, but they always linked the streets with the heights, and sent your souls a-roaming over the eternal hills of God. (The Preacher: His Life and Work, p. 95)

If this story of Ruth just ended in a little Judean village with an old grandmother hugging a new grandson, glory would be too big a word. But the author doesn't leave it there. He lifts his eyes to the forests and the mountain snows of redemptive history. In verse 17 he says very simply that this child Obed was the father of Jesse and Jesse was the father of David. All of a sudden we realize that all along something far greater has been in the offing than we could imagine. God was not only plotting for the temporal blessing of a few Jews in Bethlehem. He was preparing for the coming of the greatest king that Israel would have, David. And the name of David carries with it the hope of the Messiah, the new age, peace, righteousness, freedom from pain and crying and grief and guilt. This simple little story opens out like a stream into a great river of hope.

The Disease of Triviality

One of the great diseases of our day is triviality. The things with which most people spend most of their time are utterly trivial. And what makes this a disease is that we who were created in the image of God were meant to live for magnificent causes. None of us is really content with the trivial pursuits of the world. Our souls will not be satisfied with trifles. Why is there a whole section of the newspaper devoted to sport, and almost nothing devoted to the greatest story in the universe—the growth and spread of the church of Jesus Christ? It is madness, sheer madness, that insignificant games should occupy such a central role in our culture. It is simply one of many signs that we are enslaved to trivialities. We live in the Swiss village shop staring at the wooden figurines, and rarely lifting our eyes to the forests and the everlasting snows. We live in a perpetual and hopeless struggle to satisfy our longings on trifles. So our souls shrivel. Our lives are trivial. And our capacity for great worship dies.

The Glorious Work of God in History

The book of Ruth wants to teach us that God's purpose for the life of his people is to connect us to something far greater than ourselves. God wants us to know that when we follow him, our lives always mean more than we think they do. For the Christian there is always a connection between the ordinary events of life and the stupendous work of God in history. Everything we do in obedience to God, no matter how small, is significant. It is part of a cosmic mosaic which God is painting to display the greatness of his power and wisdom to the world and to the principalities and powers in the heavenly places (Ephesians 3:10). The deep satisfaction of the Christian life is that it is not given over to trifles. Serving a widowed mother-in-law, gleaning in a field, falling in love, having a baby—for the Christian these things are all connected to eternity. They are part of something so much bigger than they seem.

So the word glory is not too strong. The life of the godly is not a straight line to glory, but they do get there—God sees to it. There is a hope for us beyond the cute baby and the happy grandmother. If there weren't, we would be of all men most miserable. The story points forward to David. David points forward to Jesus. And Jesus points forward to the resurrection of our mortal bodies (Romans 8:23) when "death will be no more, neither shall there be mourning nor crying nor pain any more, for the former things have passed away" (Revelation 21:4).

The best is yet to come. That is the unshakable truth about the life of the woman and the man who follow Christ in the obedience of faith. I say it to the young who are strong and hopeful, and I say it to the old, for whom the outer nature is quickly wasting away. The best is yet to come.

A Parable of God's Covenant Love

I saw it in a parable Friday. I was visiting some of our elderly people at the Caroline Center, and got on the elevator with a woman in a wheel chair who was old, misshapen, and confused. She shook her head meaninglessly and uttered senseless sounds and let her mouth hang open. Then I noticed that a well dressed man, perhaps in his mid-sixties, was pushing her chair. I wondered who he was. Then as we all got off the elevator, I heard him say, "Watch your feet, Sweetie-pie."

Sweetie-pie. As I walked to the car, I thought . . . if a marriage covenant between a man and a woman can produce that kind of fidelity and commitment and affection under those circumstances, then surely under the great and merciful terms of the new covenant in Christ, God has no difficulty calling Odette McAviney, and Harold Holmgren, and Mary Agnes Danielson, and you and me (sick as we are!), "Sweetie-pie." And if he does, there is no truth more unshakable in all the world than this: For them and for us the best is yet to come. Amen.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org