在基督里独身:比有儿女的名更美

耶和华如此说:“你们当守公平、行公义,因我的救恩临近,我的公义将要显现。谨守安息日而不干犯,禁止己手而不作恶;如此行、如此持守的人便为有福。与耶和华联合的外邦人不要说:“耶和华必定将我从他民中分别出来。”太监也不要说:“我是枯树。”因为耶和华如此说:“那些谨守我的安息日,拣选我所喜悦的事,持守我约的太监,我必使他们在我殿中、在我墙内有记念、有名号,比有儿女的更美。我必赐他们永远的名,不能剪除。还有那些与耶和华联合的外邦人,要事奉他,要爱耶和华的名,要作他的仆人,就是凡守安息日不干犯,又持守他约的人。我必领他们到我的圣山,使他们在祷告我的殿中喜乐。他们的燔祭和平安祭,在我坛上必蒙悦纳,因我的殿必称为万民祷告的殿。

我会以我的主要观点开始和结束这篇文章,在文章中间,我会用大量的经文作为支持。我的主要观点是:神应许在基督里一直单身的你们,得到的祝福比结了婚的和有孩子的人更多,而且他呼召你们通过你们为了高举基督而有的单身奉献来彰显基督的真理,相比起婚姻和生儿育女,他的国度通过单身的人更清晰地闪耀。

这真理,就是:

1.神的家的扩展不是通过性的交合,而是通过因信基督而有的重生;[2]

2.在基督里的关系比家庭关系更加长久,更为珍贵。(当然,如果家庭中的关系同时又是在基督里的关系,那就太棒了;但我们知道事情常常不是这样);

3.婚姻关系是暂时的,它一直指向的是另一个关系,并且最终要被其所代替:基督和教会的关系——当你面对面看见的那日,你就不再需要通过预像去认识了;

4.对基督的信仰决定生命的价值;其他的关系的意义是从此而来。没有任何家庭关系是终极的,只有在基督里的关系是最终的。

要点简而言之:神应许给仍然在基督里单身的你们特别的祝福;他赐给你们生命不同寻常的呼召。所以,在基督里单身,不是在主所赐的福分里吃了亏,而是让你走一条高举基督,守约而顺服的道路,是许多人蒙召走的路。

比有儿女更美的祝福

现在让我们回头看看经文。在此我想要归功于Barry Danylak,感谢他在这个题目上的研究,感谢他的论文《从圣经神学角度看单身》对我的帮助,让我们从圣经中间的以赛亚书56:4-5开始看:

因为耶和华如此说:“那些谨守我的安息日,拣选我所喜悦的事,持守我约的太监(那些不能生育,把他们的生命变成一种服事而没有婚姻的人——作者注),我必使他们在我殿中、在我墙内有记念[3]、有名号,比有儿女的更美。我必赐他们永远的名,不能剪除。

神应许给顺服的太监祝福,这祝福比儿女更大。换句话说,神应许仍处于单身的你们,得到的祝福比在婚姻中的和生儿育女的人更大。

更加宏观地看救赎历史

但是如果要更清晰地看这件事情,我们需要更宏观地看问题。在罪未曾在这世界以先神所创造的秩序里,以及在神给犹太人的约的秩序里,从亚伯拉罕到基督的来临,神主要通过生育来建立他的约民,神主要是对一个很小的民族信实守约。所以,结婚生子[4]对于一个人的名号和产业,以及对于神的约民的存留来说,乃是至为重要的头等大事。

创造

所以在创世记1:28,神对亚当和夏娃说的第一件事情是:“要生养众多,遍满地面”,参考创世记2:18,未曾创造女人以前,耶和华神说:“那人独居不好,我要为他造一个配偶帮助他。”

亚伯拉罕和以撒

当神拣选亚伯拉罕为神子民的祖先的时候,神把他带出来,指着天上的星星对他说“你的后裔将要如此”(创15:5),而当亚伯拉罕因为撒拉不生育不能有儿子时,他对神说:“但愿以实玛利活在你面前”,但是神回答说“不然,你妻子撒拉要给你生一个儿子。”也就是说,肉身的后代很重要,并且是以神的方式而来。

神在创世记26:3对以撒再次确认了同样的应许:“我必与你同在,赐福给你,因为我要将这些地都赐给你和你的后裔,我必坚定我向你父亚伯拉罕所起的誓。”再此可见肉身的“后裔”对神的约很关键。

大卫和扫罗

后裔非常关键,不仅仅是由于对约的延续,而且因为一个人的名号会因为没有子孙而消失。所以扫罗让大卫起誓,因为他名的缘故不剪除他的后裔。在撒母耳记上24:21说“现在你要指着耶和华向我起誓,不剪除我的后裔,在我父家不灭没我的名。”

收继婚和路得

要注意收继婚(寡妇与亡夫兄弟结婚)的整个复杂系统——就是,一个男人娶他已经过世的兄弟的妻子,为了使他兄弟的名号存留下来。规则是第一个生的儿子要继承死去的兄弟的名号。申命记25:6说:“妇人生的长子必归死兄的名下,免得他的名在以色列中涂抹了。”这是通过肉身传承使名字永存的一条惊人规定!

关于这事最著名的例子是波阿斯同意娶路得,留存她公公以利米勒和她的丈夫玛伦的名。波阿斯说:“又娶了玛伦的妻摩押女子路得为妻,好在死人的产业上存留他的名。免得他的名在本族本乡灭没。你们今日可以作见证。”(得4:10)

耶弗他的女儿

因此你们可以看出对以色列来说,婚姻和后代对存留名号和产业是何等重要。这也难怪耶弗他的女儿请求两个月来哀哭,不是为她将要死亡,而是哭她终身为处女。士师记11:37-38a中写道:“又对父亲说:‘有一件事求你允准:容我去两个月,与同伴在山上,好哀哭我终为处女。’耶弗他说,‘你去吧!’”

以赛亚的预言“他必看见后裔”

所有这些都是为下文做铺垫,以赛亚书56:5的话语对太监和没有进入婚姻和生儿育女的人如同太阳一样闪耀:“我必使他们在我殿中、在我墙内有记念、有名号,比有儿女的更美。我必赐他们永远的名,不能剪除。”所以,这些守约的太监,虽没有婚姻,没有生儿育女,却比有儿女的人得着了更美的名号,且更被记念。

这个奇妙的应许从何而来?根基是什么,指向什么?翻回以赛亚书53章。那里是对受难的基督极为伟大的预言:“哪知他为我们的过犯受害,为我们的罪孽压伤。”(赛53:5a)这章经文里,我们有时会忽略第10节的文字:“耶和华却定意(或作喜悦)将他压伤,使他受痛苦。耶和华以他为赎罪祭。他必看见后裔,并且延长年日。耶和华所喜悦的事必在他手中亨通。”

“他必看见后裔”,这里有一个伟大的预言:当弥赛亚成为“赎罪祭”而死,并且复活而“延长年日”,通过这伟大的救赎行动,他会得到许多子女:他会“看见他的后裔”,换句话说,通过弥赛亚而来的新的神的子民,不是通过肉体的繁衍,而是通过耶稣的死亡而赎回的子民。

所以下一章(即赛54章)开始是:“你这不怀孕、不生养的,要歌唱;你这未曾经过产难的,要发声歌唱,扬声欢呼。因为没有丈夫的比有丈夫的儿女更多。这是耶和华说的。”(赛54:1)也因此我们引用的经文(赛56:5)说没有结婚的并持守神的约的人将会有“……记念、有名号,比有儿女的更美……永远的名,不能剪除。”神的真正子民,乃是通过耶稣基督而得的,他们得记念、名号、后裔和产业,并不是通过婚姻和生育。

耶稣,保罗和彼得

所以当我们来看新约,耶稣清楚地指示他的子民——神真正的子民——并非通过肉身的繁衍而生,而是通过圣灵的重生。所以他对尼哥底母说:“我实实在在的告诉你:人若不重生,就不能见神的国。”(约3:3)

保罗在加拉太书第3章对犹太人和外邦人说相同的话:“所以你们要知道,那以信为本的人,就是亚伯拉罕的子孙……所以,你们因信基督耶稣,都是神的儿子。”(加3:7、26)也就是说,你成为约民,不是由于肉身是亚伯拉罕的后裔,乃是通过在基督里的信心。

彼得说,我们得产业不是通过婚姻和后代,而是通过基督的工作和重生:“愿颂赞归于我们主耶稣基督的父神,他曾照自己的大怜悯,借耶稣基督从死里复活,重生了我们,叫我们有活泼的盼望,可以得着不能朽坏、不能玷污、不能衰残、为你们存留在天上的基业。”(彼前1:3-4)

因此耶稣、保罗和彼得都说:在神的家庭中诞生并得以继承神的产业的儿女,不是通过婚姻和繁衍后代,乃是通过信心和重生。意思是说,基督里的单身之人,在为神养育儿女方面没有任何的劣势,可能从某些方面来说有一个巨大的优势。使徒保罗在基督里是单身,他说到因他传道而归信的人:“你们学基督的,师傅虽有一万,为父的却是不多,因我在基督耶稣里用福音生了你们。”(林前4:15)保罗是个非常伟大的父亲,并且从未结婚。他在帖撒罗尼迦前书2:7中的话可以认为是说基督里的单身女子:“只在你们中间存心温柔,如同母亲乳养自己的孩子。”所以许多基督里的单身女子可以称为:她是一个伟大的母亲,且从未结婚。

一种关系的颠覆

认真听,免得你弱化我所说的,就听不明白这件事多么有颠覆性。我不是要把单身变得感性化,让那些没有结婚的人感觉好些。我在宣告:相对于教会永恒和首要的属性,婚姻和家庭是短暂的和次要的。婚姻和家庭是暂时的,只在这个世代中,而教会是永恒的。我在陈明一个基本的圣经真理:生于人类的家庭中,不是永恒祝福的象征,但在神的家庭里面意味着永恒的祝福。在家庭基础上的关系是短暂的,而在基督里联合的关系是永恒的。婚姻是暂时的机制,但是它所代表的却是永恒,耶稣说:“当复活的时候,人也不娶,也不嫁,乃像天上的使者一样。”(太22:30)

当耶稣肉身的母亲和弟弟们要求见他的时候,耶稣说:“谁是我的母亲?谁是我的弟兄?”就伸手指着门徒说:“看哪,我的母亲,我的弟兄。”(太12:48-49)耶稣使所有事情都翻转过来。是的,他爱他的母亲和弟弟们,但那都是自然和暂时的关系。他来这世界的目的不是为了关注这个。他进入这个世界,为了从所有家庭中呼召人们为他的名进入一个全新的家庭,在这个家庭中,在基督里的单身者是和其他的人同等的,是完整家庭中的一分子,为神繁育后代,成为永恒族类的母亲和父亲。

“有一个女人大声说:‘怀你胎的和乳养你的有福了。’耶稣说:‘是,却还不如听神之道而遵守的人有福。’”(路11:27)耶稣的母亲就是遵神旨意的基督徒——无论在婚姻中还是单身之时。深吸一口气,然后重整你对事情的观念吧。

“耶稣说:‘我实在告诉你们:人为我和福音撇下房屋,或是弟兄、姐妹、父母、儿女、田地,没有不在今世得百倍的;就是房屋、弟兄、姐妹、母亲、儿女、田地,并且要受逼迫,在来世必得永生。’”(可10:29-30)不管是单身的人们,还是结婚的人们,你们想要儿女、母亲、兄弟、姐妹、土地吗?你不要把自然的关系放在第一位,要跟随耶稣进入神子民的团契关系。

这话谁能领受,就可以领受

那么对于圣经对婚姻和生育的次要和暂时属性这一观点,我们如何看待?我们会说耶稣和保罗所说的话。耶稣在马太福音19:12说:

“因为有生来是阉人,也有被人阉的,并有为天国的缘故自阉的。这话谁能领受,就可以领受。”我们不需要把这个(为天国的缘故自阉)理解成绝育手术,如同不能把耶稣所说的“若是你的右眼叫你跌倒,就剜出来丢掉”理解为生理上把自己弄成瞎子。但是这确实意味着耶稣赞许他的一些跟随者为了服事基督的国度而弃绝婚姻和性行为。“这话谁能领受,就可以领受”。

这就是保罗自己选择的方式,他也鼓励别人和他一样,在哥林多前书第7章,他说“我对着没有嫁娶的和寡妇说,若他们常像我就好……我愿你们无所挂虑。没有娶妻的,是为主的事挂虑,想怎样叫主喜悦;娶了妻的,是为世上的事挂虑,想怎样叫妻子喜悦。…… 我说这话是为你们的益处……得以殷勤服事主,没有分心的事。”(林前7:8、32-33、35)换句话说,有些人是被召为神的国度“自阉”的,保罗讲到每个人各有各的恩赐:“一个是这样,一个是那样”(林前7:7)。也就是说:“这话谁能领受,就可以领受。”

更美的祝福

那么此刻让我们心里记着这些圣经经文,以文章开始之处结束。神应许仍然在基督里处于单身的你们,所得的祝福大于有婚姻和孩子之人。

如果有人问,如果两者兼得岂不更好?婚姻的祝福和天国的祝福都能得到岂不更好?对这个问题有两个答案。一是,有一天你会发现(当然现在能了解更好),与基督同在天国里的祝福,要远远大于进入婚姻和生儿育女。问这个问题,如同问的是:充满大海,和充满顶针,两者兼得不是更好吗?

第二个回答是,无论是婚姻,还是单身,都会让我们的成圣之路面临不同的试探和机会。对每一样也有独特的奖赏,重点不在于你是结婚还是单身,而是在于你如何回应每个试探和机会。

所以我再次对所有在基督里的单身儿女说:神在将来的日子里应许给你的祝福,比处于婚姻中并生儿育女的更加美好。

基督荣耀无以伦比的展现

伴随这应许,也有独特的呼召和责任。这呼召不是说让你在三十多岁的时候仍然放任你不负责任的青春期行径。这呼召指的是在这个世界上唯有在基督里的单身男女才能做的事情,就是,他呼召你们借着高举基督的单身奉献来彰显基督的真理和他的国度,相比起婚姻和养育子女,这真理和国度通过单身得以更清晰地闪耀。只要你还是单身,你就有这个呼召:如此在基督里活着,向世界和教会更为清晰地展示:

1.神的家庭不是通过性的繁育增长,而是通过因信基督而有的重生;

2.在基督里的关系比家庭关系更加长久,更为珍贵。(当然,如果家庭中的关系同时又是在基督里的关系,那就太棒了;但我们知道事情常常不是这样);

3.婚姻关系是暂时的,它一直指向的是另一个关系,并且最终要被其所代替:基督和教会的关系——当你面对面看见的那日,你就不再需要通过预像去认识了;

4.对基督的信仰决定生命的价值;其他的关系的意义是从此而来。没有任何家庭关系是终极的,只有在基督里的关系是最终的。

无论是高举基督的婚姻,还是高举基督的单身,都归荣耀与神!阿们!

作者简介:

1、这里我借用Barry Danylak ,“A Biblical-Theological Perspective on Singleness”(PDF), p.15的表达,“和旧约不同,神子民在新约中不是通过肉身的繁衍而得,乃是通过圣灵的重生。”这是Barry在剑桥大学的博士研究论文,还未发表。本文很大程度上采用了Barry的方法来看圣经中的单身问题。

2、希伯来文直译是:“在我的墙内,有手,有比儿女更美的名。”这里的“手”一词(翻译成记念)背后的意味,参照撒母耳记下18:18,押沙龙说:“押沙龙活着的时候,在王谷立了一根石柱。因他说,我没有儿子为我留名。他就以自己的名,称那石柱叫押沙龙手,直到今日。”(字面上通常翻译为“记念”)。押沙龙自己亲手为自己建造一个“记念”,(见18a),所以他用自己的手来使自己在后世被记念。也许,这个“手”的意思是告诉我们,在将来所得的福分或使我们被记念的是我们所做的一直存留的果效,仿佛我们的手仍然在活跃做工一般。

3、Danylak, p.9.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Single in Christ: A Name Better Than Sons and Daughters

Thus says the Lord: “Keep justice, and do righteousness, for soon my salvation will come, and my deliverance be revealed. 2 Blessed is the man who does this, and the son of man who holds it fast, who keeps the Sabbath, not profaning it, and keeps his hand from doing any evil.” 3 Let not the foreigner who has joined himself to the Lord say, “The Lord will surely separate me from his people”; and let not the eunuch say, “Behold, I am a dry tree.” 4 For thus says the Lord: “To the eunuchs who keep my Sabbaths, who choose the things that please me and hold fast my covenant, 5 I will give in my house and within my walls a monument and a name better than sons and daughters; I will give them an everlasting name that shall not be cut off. 6 “And the foreigners who join themselves to the Lord, to minister to him, to love the name of the Lord, and to be his servants, everyone who keeps the Sabbath and does not profane it, and holds fast my covenant— 7 these I will bring to my holy mountain, and make them joyful in my house of prayer; their burnt offerings and their sacrifices will be accepted on my altar; for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all peoples.”

I will start and end with my main point and, in the middle, cover a wide terrain of Scripture to support it. My main point is that God promises those of you who remain single in Christ blessings that are better than the blessings of marriage and children, and he calls you to display, by the Christ-exalting devotion of your singleness, the truths about Christ and his kingdom that shine more clearly through singleness than through marriage and childrearing. The truths, namely,

  1. That the family of God grows not by propagation through sexual intercourse, but by regeneration through faith in Christ;1
  2. That relationships in Christ are more permanent, and more precious, than relationships in families (and, of course, it is wonderful when relationships in families are also relationships in Christ; but we know that is often not the case);
  3. That marriage is temporary, and finally gives way to the relationship to which it was pointing all along: Christ and the church—the way a picture is no longer needed when you see face to face;
  4. That faithfulness to Christ defines the value of life; all other relationships get their final significance from this. No family relationship is ultimate; relationship to Christ is.

To say the main point more briefly: God promises spectacular blessings to those of you who remain single in Christ, and he gives you an extraordinary calling for your life. To be single in Christ is, therefore, not a falling short of God’s best, but a path of Christ-exalting, covenant-keeping obedience that many are called to walk.

Better Blessings Than Sons and Daughters

Now let’s step back and look at the Scriptures. And here let me give credit to Barry Danylak for his research on this issue and his very helpful paper, “A Biblical-Theological Perspective on Singleness." Let’s start in the middle of the Bible at Isaiah 56:4-5,

Thus says the Lord: “To the eunuchs [those who cannot procreate but turn their lives into a unique service instead of marriage] who keep my Sabbaths, who choose the things that please me and hold fast my covenant, I will give in my house and within my walls a monument2 and a name better than sons and daughters; I will give them an everlasting name that shall not be cut off.”

God promises to bless obedient eunuchs with blessings that are better than sons and daughters. In other words, God promises those of you who remain single in Christ blessings that are better than the blessings of marriage and children.

The Bigger Picture in Redemptive History

But to see this more clearly we need to get the bigger picture. In the created order that God put in place before sin was in the world, and in the covenantal order that God put in place with the Jewish people from Abraham to the coming of Christ, “God is primarily building his covenant people through the mechanism of procreation.”3 God was focusing his covenant-keeping faithfulness mainly on an ethnic people. Therefore, being married and having offspring was of paramount importance for one’s name and one’s inheritance and for the preservation of God’s covenant people.

Creation

So in Genesis 1:28, the first thing God says to Adam and Eve is, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth.” And in the account of Genesis 2:18, when woman was not yet created, God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.”

Abraham and Isaac

And when Abraham was chosen as the father of God’s people, God took him out and showed him the stars and said, “So shall your offspring be” (Genesis 15:5). And when Abraham could not have a son because of Sarah’s barrenness, Abraham said, “Oh that Ishmael might live before you!” But God answered, “No, . . . Sarah your wife shall bear you a son.” In other words, the physical offspring mattered. And it would come in God’s way.

God reaffirms the same to Isaac in Genesis 26:3: “I will be with you and will bless you, for to you and to your offspring I will give all these lands, and I will establish the oath that I swore to Abraham your father.” Again physical “offspring” are crucial for the covenant.

David and Saul

These offspring are crucial not only for the preservation of the covenant but also because a person’s name would end without children. So Saul asks David to swear that he will not cut off his offspring for the sake of his name. First Samuel 24:21: “Swear to me therefore by the Lord that you will not cut off my offspring after me, and that you will not destroy my name out of my father’s house.”

Levirate Marriage and Ruth

Remember the whole elaborate system of Levirate marriage—that is, the marriage of a man to his deceased brother’s wife so that the name of the deceased brother would not be lost. The rule was that the first son born would bear the dead brother’s name. Deuteronomy 25:6: “The first son whom she bears shall succeed to the name of his dead brother, that his name may not be blotted out of Israel.” That’s an amazing provision for the perpetuation of the name through physical seed.

The most famous instance of this is when Boaz agreed to marry Ruth to preserve the name of Elimelech her father-in-law and Mahlon her husband. Boaz said, “Ruth the Moabite, the widow of Mahlon, I have bought to be my wife, to perpetuate the name of the dead in his inheritance, that the name of the dead may not be cut off from among his brothers and from the gate of his native place. You are witnesses this day” (Ruth 4:10).

Jephthah’s Daughter

So you can see how crucial marriage and offspring and the preservation of a name and an inheritance were in Israel. No wonder that Jephthah’s daughter asked for two months not to bewail her impending death but that she was never married. Judges 11:37-38a: “She said to her father, ‘Let this thing be done for me: leave me alone two months, that I may go up and down on the mountains and weep for my virginity, I and my companions.’ So he said, ‘Go.’”

Isaiah’s Prophecy: “He Shall See His Offspring”

All of this is the background that makes Isaiah 56:5 shine like the sun to eunuchs and others without marriage and children: “Thus says the Lord: ‘To the eunuchs who keep my Sabbaths, who choose the things that please me and hold fast my covenant, I will give in my house and within my walls a monument and a name better than sons and daughters; I will give them an everlasting name that shall not be cut off.” So without marriage and without children. these covenant-keeping eunuchs get a name and a memorial better than sons and daughters.

Where did this amazing promise come from? What’s the basis of it and what is it pointing toward? Turn back to Isaiah 53. This is the great prophecy of the sufferings of Christ who “was wounded for our transgressions [and] . . . crushed for our iniquities” (Isaiah 53:5). In this chapter, we sometimes overlook these words in verse 10: “It was the will of the Lord to crush him; he has put him to grief; when his soul makes an offering for guilt, he shall see his offspring; he shall prolong his days; the will of the Lord shall prosper in his hand.”

He shall see his offspring. Here is a great prophecy: When the Messiah dies as an “offering for guilt” and rises again to “prolong his days,” he will by that great saving act produce many children: He will “see his offspring.” In other words, the new people of God formed by the Messiah will not be formed by physical procreation but by the atoning death of Christ.

Which is why the next chapter (Isaiah 54) begins, “‘Sing, O barren one, who did not bear; break forth into singing and cry aloud, you who have not been in labor! For the children of the desolate one will be more than the children of her who is married,’ says the Lord” (Isaiah 54:1). And this is also why our text (Isaiah 56:5) says that unmarried covenant-keeping people will have “a monument and a name better than sons and daughters . . . [and] an everlasting name that shall not be cut off.” In the true people of God formed by Jesus Christ, monuments, names, offspring, and inheritances do not arise through marriage and procreation.

Jesus, Paul, and Peter

So when we come now to the New Testament, Jesus makes clear that his people—the true people of God—will be produced not by physical procreation but by spiritual regeneration. So he says to Nicodemus, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God” (John 3:3).

And Paul says in Galatians 3 to the Jews and Gentiles alike, “Know then that it is those of faith who are the sons of Abraham. . . . In Christ Jesus you are all sons of God, through faith” (Galatians 3:7, 26). In other words, it is not physical descent from Abraham that makes you part of the covenant people of God but faith in Christ.

And Peter says that our inheritance comes not through marriage and offspring but through the work of Christ and the new birth: “According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you” (1 Peter 1:3-4).

So Jesus and Paul and Peter all say: Children are born into God’s family and receive their inheritance not by marriage and procreation but by faith and regeneration. Which means that single people in Christ have zero disadvantage in bearing children for God, and may in some ways have a great advantage. The apostle Paul was single in Christ, and he said of his converts, “Though you have countless guides in Christ, you do not have many fathers. For I became your father in Christ Jesus through the gospel” (1 Corinthians 4:15). Paul was a great father, and never married. And let him speak for single women in Christ in 1 Thessalonians 2:7: “We were gentle among you, like a nursing mother taking care of her own children.” So it will be said of many single women in Christ: She was a great mother and never married.

A Radical Relational Reordering

Take heed here lest you minimize what I am saying and do not hear how radical it really is. I am not sentimentalizing singleness to make the unmarried feel good. I am declaring the temporary and secondary nature of marriage and family over against the eternal and primary nature of the church. Marriage and family are temporary for this age; the church is forever. I am declaring the radical biblical truth that being in a human family is no sign of eternal blessing, but being in God’s family means being eternally blessed. Relationships based on family are temporary. Relationships based on union with Christ are eternal. Marriage is a temporary institution, but what it stands for lasts forever. “In the resurrection,” Jesus said, “they neither marry nor are given in marriage, but are like angels in heaven” (Matthew 22:30).

And when his own mother and brothers asked to see him, Jesus said, “‘Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?’ And stretching out his hand toward his disciples, he said, ‘Here are my mother and my brothers!’” (Matthew 12:48-49). Jesus is turning everything around. Yes, he loved his mother and his brothers. But those are all natural and temporary relationships. He did not come into the world to focus on that. He came into the world to call out a people for his name from all the families into a new family where single people in Christ are full-fledged family members on a par with all others, bearing fruit for God and becoming mothers and fathers of the eternal kind.

“Blessed is the womb that bore you, and the breasts at which you nursed!” a woman cried out to Jesus. And he turned and said, “Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and keep it!” (Luke 11:27). The mother of God is the obedient Christian—married or single! Take a deep breath and reorder your world.

“Truly, I say to you, there is no one who has left house or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or lands, for my sake and for the gospel,” Jesus said, “who will not receive a hundredfold now in this time, houses and brothers and sisters and mothers and children and lands, with persecutions, and in the age to come eternal life” (Mark 10:29-30). Single person, married person, do you want children, mothers, brothers, sisters, lands? Renounce the primacy of your natural relationships and follow Jesus into the fellowship of the people of God.

Let Him Who Is Able to Receive This Receive It

What shall we say then in view this great biblical vision of the secondary and temporary nature of marriage and procreation? We will say what Jesus and Paul said. Jesus said in Matthew 19:12, “There are eunuchs who have been so from birth, and there are eunuchs who have been made eunuchs by men, and there are eunuchs who have made themselves eunuchs for the sake of the kingdom of heaven. Let the one who is able to receive this receive it.” We need not take this (“made themselves eunuchs”) to mean any kind of physical sterilization any more than we take Jesus’ words “tear out your right eye” to mean physically blinding ourselves. But it does mean that Jesus approves that some of his followers renounce marriage and sexual activity for the sake of serving Christ’s kingdom. “Let him who is able to receive this receive it.”

That is what Paul chose for himself and what he encouraged others to consider in 1 Corinthians 7. “To the unmarried and the widows I say that it is good for them to remain single as I am. . . . I want you to be free from anxieties. The unmarried man is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to please the Lord. But the married man is anxious about worldly things, how to please his wife . . . . I say this . . . to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord” (1 Corinthians 7:8, 32-33, 35). In other words, some are called to be “eunuchs” for the kingdom of God. Paul speaks about each having his own gift: “one of one kind, one of another” (1 Corinthians 7:7). In other words, “Let him who is able to receive this receive it.”

Better Blessings

So now we end where we began with all this Scripture in our mind. God promises those of you who remain single in Christ blessings that are better than the blessings of marriage and children.

If someone asks, wouldn’t it be better to have both? The blessings of marriage and the blessings of heaven? There are two answers to that question. One is that you will find out someday, and better to learn it now, that the blessings of being with Christ in heaven, are so far superior to the blessings of being married and raising children and that asking this question will be like asking: Wouldn’t it be better to have the ocean and the thimble full? And the second answer is that marriage and singleness both present us with unique trials and unique opportunities for our sanctification. There will be unique rewards for each, and which is greater will not depend on whether you were married or single, but on how you responded to each.

So I say it again to all singles in Christ: God promises you blessings in the age to come that are better than the blessings of marriage and children.

Uniquely Displaying the Glories of Christ

And with this promise there comes a unique calling and a unique responsibility. It is not a calling to extend irresponsible adolescence into your thirties. It is a calling to do what only single men and women in Christ can do in this world, namely, to display by the Christ-exalting devotion of your singleness the truths about Christ and his kingdom that shine more clearly through singleness than through marriage. As long as you are single, this is your calling: to so live for Christ as to make it clearer to the world and to the church

  1. That the family of God grows not by propagation through sexual intercourse, but by regeneration through faith in Christ;
  2. That relationships in Christ are more permanent, and more precious, than relationships in families;
  3. That marriage is temporary, and finally gives way to the relationship to which it was pointing all along: Christ and the church—the way a picture is no longer needed when you see face to face;
  4. And that faithfulness to Christ defines the value of life; all other relationships get their final significance from this. No family relationship is ultimate; relationship to Christ is.

To him be glory in the Christ-exalting drama of marriage and the Christ-exalting drama of the single life. Amen


1 I borrow here from the expression of Barry Danylak, “A Biblical-Theological Perspective on Singleness” (PDF), p. 15. “The propagation of the people of God in the New Testament occurs not through physical procreation as in the Old Testament, but rather through spiritual regeneration.” This is an unpublished paper and reflects Barry’s present doctoral studies at Cambridge University. This sermon has drawn heavily on Barry’s approach to the issue of singleness in the Bible.

2 The literal translation of the Hebrew is: “within my walls a hand and a name better than sons and daughters.” For the sense behind the word hand (translated as monument), compare 2 Samuel 18:18 where Absalom says, “‘I have no son to keep my name in remembrance.’ He called the pillar after his own name, and it is called Absalom's hand to this day” (literal rendering, usually rendered “monument”). Absalom had built this memorial by himself and for himself (v. 18a). So he had extended his memory into the future by his own hand. Perhaps then the idea of hand is that the good that comes to us in the future or the memorial that keeps us in remembrance in the future is our ongoing effect as though our hand were still active.

3 Danylak, p. 9.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org