在神里面彼此坚固

大卫知道扫罗出来寻索他的命。那时,他住在西弗旷野的树林里;扫罗的儿子约拿单起身,往那树林里去见大卫,使他倚靠神得以坚固,对他说:「不要惧怕!我父扫罗的手必不加害于你;你必作以色列的王,我也作你的宰相。这事我父扫罗知道了。」于是二人在耶和华面前立约。大卫仍住在树林里,约拿单回家去了。

今天的信息,是一个单独的插曲,打断了我们上周开始的《以弗所书》讲道系列。之所以有这个插曲,是因为我们感觉到一个深深的确信,是关乎这样一个需要,就是,要鼓励伯利恒教会所有的会员,都加入某种小型团体,以便彼此帮助,来为信仰打那美好的仗。因此今天的关注点就是,在神里面互相坚固。

永恒的保障是一个团体项目

我们相信,永恒的保障是团体的事。我们相信,坚忍成圣是群体共同的责任。慈爱的上帝曾经说,“我的羊听我的声音,我也认识他们,他们也跟着我。我又赐给他们永生;他们永不灭亡,谁也不能从我手里把他们夺去。”(约10:27-28),可是这同一位神也照样说过,“惟有忍耐到底的,必然得救。”(太24:13)。

换言之,那些从神而生的人,蒙耶稣永恒的保守(再也不会失去救恩——译者注);同时呢,他们又必须坚忍到底,好最终获得拯救。于是,问题来了:上帝怎样来命定,以至于他的百姓能够在信心中坚持到底,好叫神能确定地实现他的应许,亦即,要使他们的救恩满有保障,让神的百姓没有一个灭亡呢?

今天上午,我们要集中精力,关注这问题答案的一个关键部分:即,上帝已经命定了,我们要按照某种特定的方式跟其他信徒联系在一起,彼此帮助,一同打胜信仰之战役,日复一日,直到末了的胜利。这答案的圣经基础,就是《希伯来书》3:12-14。

弟兄们,你们要谨慎,免得你们中间或有人存着不信的恶心,把永生神离弃了。总要趁着还有今日,天天彼此相劝,免得你们中间有人被罪迷惑,心里就刚硬了。我们若将起初确实的信心坚持到底,就在基督里有分了

上帝已经指定了一个途径,让我们通过它得着能力,可以将起初确实的信心坚持到底。这途径就是:培育某种基督徒之间的关系,在其中你们可以彼此帮助,持定上帝的诸多应许,并且得以逃避罪的迷惑。天天彼此相劝,互相鼓励,站立得稳,并且穿戴神所赐的全副军装。

成为某个基督徒聚集体的一部分

基督徒团体,可以是小孩,初中生,高中生,大学生,单身的,结婚的,寡妇和鳏夫们!你是否已经参加某个基督徒朋友的团体,彼此已经许诺,要互相帮助,共同打信仰的仗,并要彼此保护,逃避那潜伏在我们身边的罪的侵蚀呢?

不是说你非得隶属于一个有组织的小组,才能得救。但我确实要说——而且我相信这来自上帝的话语,假如你在信仰之路上,没有这样志同道合者的团体,那么你就是在忽略上帝指明的途径之一,那本来是用来帮助你在信心上得以坚固到底的。而这种疏忽,会严重危及你的灵魂。

因此,今天上午我的目标很简单:就是要动员你们,加入到某个规模较小的基督徒团体中,在那里你可以勉励他人,同时也被人勉励,好日复一日的,共同来打信仰的仗。在我们这个讲道的末尾,彼得·内尔森(Peter Nelson,当时教会中另一位牧师。——译者注。)将会给大家报告,我们目前的小组结构和网络,请带着祷告的心,选择适合你的团体。

从约拿单会见大卫的事件中得出的四个功课

今天的经文是《撒母耳记上》23:15-18。这其实是个简单而又深刻的的事例,要让我们知道,在信仰的持久战中,会有什么样的需要。

大卫正在耶路撒冷以南50公里的西弗旷野,为躲避扫罗的追杀落魄流浪。扫罗,作为当时以色列的国王,觉得大卫威胁到他的王位,想要杀死大卫。而扫罗的儿子约拿单,却深爱着大卫。当他听说大卫在西弗的旷野,就下到那里,要在神里面坚固大卫的手。

这次约拿单和大卫的相遇,至少给我们四个功课,教我们彼此帮助,打那信仰之仗。

1. 每个人都需要有基督徒同道

那些最为深邃的圣徒,和那些最强壮的领袖,都需要基督徒同道,在神里坚固他们。大卫很有深度,也很坚强,然而他依然需要约拿单。

基督徒的同道之情,不仅初信者需要,每个信徒都需要。我们无论成熟到什么程度,依然离不开其他基督徒对我们的服事。假如你觉得不用每日得到劝勉,就能打好信仰之战,那么很有可能,你的心已经变得刚硬,被罪的迷惑俘虏了。

大卫是合神心意的人。是个伟大的勇士。从力量、智力以及神学的领受方面来看,毫无疑问,他要比约拿单强得多。但是,16节却说,约拿单去见大卫,并且使他在神里面从新得力。

千万不要以为,有人能如此强壮,以至不需要在神里被坚固。也千万不要以为,某某人高出你太多,以至于你不可能成为上帝的器皿,去加添那人的力量。

查理斯·司布真(Charles Spurgeon)的话,道出了许多基督徒领袖的心声:

多年前,我遭遇到灵里可怕的抑郁。我遇到各种各样的麻烦事;健康状态也不好,我心里沉重,惴惴不安。在那痛苦的深渊中,我被迫向主哭喊。在去往曼顿休养之前,我身体非常难受,而灵魂里面的痛苦更厉害,我灵里的承受力到了极限。在这样的压力下,我用圣经里的经文讲了一篇道,“我的神,我的神,你为什么离弃我?”当时我真觉得,以我所处的光景来看,讲这样的信息再适合不过了;的确,我盼望我的弟兄们不要跟我一样,进入到那使人心碎之话语的深切体验当中。我饱尝了一个灵魂被上帝遗弃的那种恐惧。那经历真的很可怕。回想那种使灵魂受到侵蚀的痛苦经历,至今依然会不寒而栗;我的祷告就是,再也不要去经受那种的痛苦啦。(《自传》,第二辑,415页)

我提到司布真的这个经历,是要证明,那些最伟大的圣徒,最强壮的勇士,也仍然需要神来坚固。事实上,魔鬼对他们的攻击,或许还使得这方面的需要变得更大。那些最有深度的圣徒和最为坚强的领袖,都需要有同道和同伴,在神里面坚固他们的手。

2. 一个有意识的努力

这第二个功课就是,在神里面坚固一个人,需要刻意努力。

约拿单的行动是故意的。你不是心血来潮偶然为之;你要起来,下到西弗的树林去。16节说,“扫罗的儿子约拿单起身,往那树林里去见大卫,使他倚靠神得以坚固。”

我们教会的弟兄姐妹一早醒来,如果都想着怎样在神里坚固别人,那会多不一样!约拿单并不是偶然在西弗的树林里遇见大卫(尽管有时候事情也会那样发生!)。他乃是有计划的,出发,去坚固大卫。基督徒成熟度的标志,就是在生命中培养意图、寻找场合,去在神里面坚固别人。今天,你想在神里面坚固谁的手呢?这个星期里呢?你是否有一个由志同道合的信徒组成的(有意识的!)团体,彼此委身,互相帮助,来打那信仰之战呢?

我最近一直有在阅读《撒母耳·皮尔斯的回忆录》(Memoirs of Samuel Pearce),一个由牧师组成的小组,在1792年建立了第一个浸信会宣教社团(Baptist Missionary Society)。其中的成员就有约翰·赖兰德(John Ryland)、约翰·苏特克里夫(John Sutcliff)、安德烈·富勒(Andrew Fuller)、撒母耳·皮尔斯(Samuel Pearce),以及威廉·克理(William Carey)。阅读中我特别注意到:这些人彼此非常关爱,彼此深切委身,常常聚在一起,在神里面彼此坚固。甚至相隔很远的时候,依然坚持这样做。

撒母耳·皮尔斯在威廉·克理去印度之后,足足等了一年时间,才收到他的第一封来信。但是当那封信抵达之时,他给克理的回复是,

你的信给我们崭新的活力,使我们大得激励,并且在主里面极大地坚固了我们的手。我们一边读,一边哭泣,一边赞美神,一边祷告。喔,除了基督徒,谁能够体会这份喜乐,这份因我们亲爱的主耶稣基督而连结在一起的友情的甘甜?

多么美妙的一句话:“因着我们亲爱的主耶稣基督而连结在一起的友情。”

今天上午我所求的,就是为着耶稣基督,你们也培养深厚的友谊,形成志同道合的信仰团体,彼此认同,彼此帮助,定睛于耶稣基督,从他那里得到盼望和力量。

3. “在神里面”彼此坚固

第三个功课:我们彼此给予的力量,乃是在神里面的力量,不是从我们自己而来的力量。16节并没有说,约拿单大老远的赶到西弗的树林,只是要加强大卫的自信心。不是。圣经说,他起身,往那树林里去见大卫,使他“倚靠神”得以坚固。

基督徒的同工情谊,与社会上那些互助会、理疗康复组、自助会之类的团体,区别就在于此。因为所有基督徒的同工情谊,都把人引到基督面前,而不是任何人的面前,好使他们得着真正的帮助和力量。

这就出现了一个看似矛盾的吊诡:一方面我会说,我需要你。上帝已经指定你作为帮助我的恩典之途径,好叫我忍耐到底。可是另一方面,我又必须说,你能够真正帮助到我的方式,就是要借着某些言行,使我去倚靠“上帝”,而不是倚靠你。

真的,我们又一次回到那个老主题上了:一种强烈的以上帝为中心的生活方式!并且将之贯彻于我们所作的一切上,甚至我们彼此之间的聚集,同道之情,友谊等等方面。这必须是为着耶稣的友谊。每一个基督徒小组的存在,都应该是为着互相帮助,大家在神里面,而不是在人里面得坚固。这就是我们从这段经文学到的第三个功课:“约拿单起身,往那树林里去见大卫,使他倚靠神得以坚固。”

4. 提醒彼此要记得上帝的诸般应许

最后,他是怎么做这件事的呢?我们又要怎么来做呢?约拿单说(17节):“不要惧怕!我父扫罗的手必不加害于你;你必作以色列的王,我也作你的宰相。这事我父扫罗知道了。”

约拿单怎么知道大卫要作以色列的王呢?他们既然是交情很深的朋友,因此大卫此前一定会告诉约拿单,就是16章发生的那件事,当时先知撒母耳膏抹少年大卫,作以色列的王。所以,约拿单在神里面坚固大卫的方式,就是提醒他,要记得上帝当初的许诺(撒上16:12)。扫罗是不可能胜过大卫的,因为上帝已经站在大卫这边了。于是,约拿单借着提醒大卫当初上帝对他的命定,在神里面坚固了大卫的手。

对我们也是这样。我们在神里面彼此坚固,就是要提醒对方,要记得上帝针对各人的诸般需要,特别赐下的那些适切的应许。

假如你是威廉·克理,离开家乡有两万四千公里,身边只有一位同道,却被数以百万计的不信之人所包围,孤单的在那里努力打着信仰之战,你需要从你远方的朋友们那里听到怎样的信息呢?你大概就是需要撒母耳·皮尔斯写下的那类话,他是克理的宝贵挚友,知道如何在神里面坚固克理的手。注意1794年10月4日给克理的回信当中,皮尔斯是怎么样用上帝的应许,来充满那封书信的。

弟兄啊,我多么盼望和你肩并肩,一同参与到那波澜起伏的(向着黑暗势力——译者注)进攻中——除了懦弱和胆怯,没有什么能阻止它。是的,我们救恩的元帅,就在我们前面冲锋陷阵呢。有时候,他可能隐藏(他的大能仍与我们同在),为的是测验我们的勇气,就是要试验我们属灵的武器和属天的盔甲。喔,对于那位基督徒的精兵来说,有活泼的信心,什么不能达成呢!它将会把救赎者从天空带下来;它将会使他以沾血的衣裳为战袍;它会把他摆放在战争的最前沿,并且让我们唱起这新歌——“他们与羔羊争战,羔羊必胜过他们。”是的,他必要得胜——这个胜利,在我们踏入战场之前已经保证了;冠冕已经预备好了,要戴在我们头上为装饰——那荣耀的冠冕是永不衰残的,并且我们决意把它摆放在那位得胜者的脚前,说,“不要给我们,哦主啊,不要归与我们,要将荣耀都归与你的圣名,”到时候整个天堂都异口同声地大声说,“羔羊是配得的。””(《回忆录》,66页)

好吧,也许不是所有人都会有这样的恩赐,能够用那样的话语来坚固同道和同工。但是,如果你的心思意念常常浸淫在上帝的话语里,就像诗篇第一篇所说的那样,昼夜思想,你就可以成为活水的源泉,在神里面坚固许多人的手。上帝今天早上对你发出的呼召就是:来吧,让我们在神里面彼此坚固!阿们。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Strengthen Each Other's Hands in God

And David was afraid because Saul had come out to seek his life. David was in the Wilderness of Ziph at Horesh. And Jonathan, Saul's son, rose, and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God. And he said to him, "Fear not; for the hand of Saul my father shall not find you; you shall be king over Israel, and I shall be next to you; Saul my father also knows this." And the two of them made a covenant before the LORD; David remained at Horesh, and Jonathan went home.

Today's message is an interruption in the series begun last Sunday from Ephesians. The reason for the interruption is the deep conviction we feel about the need to encourage all the members of Bethlehem to be a part of some kind of smaller group where you help each other fight the fight of faith. And so our focus today is on strengthening each other's hands in God.

Eternal Security Is a Community Project 

We believe that eternal security is a community project. We believe that the perseverance of the saints is a corporate responsibility. The same loving Lord who said, "My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me; and I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish, and no one shall snatch them out of my hand" (John 10:27–28), also said, "He who endures to the end will be saved" (Matthew 24:13).

In other words those who are born of God are eternally secure in the hand of Jesus. And those who are born of God must endure to the end in order to be finally saved. And so the question rises: How has God ordained to keep his people persevering in faith to the end so that he can infallibly fulfill the promise that they are secure and that none shall be lost?

This morning we are focusing on one crucial part of the answer to that question: namely, God has ordained that we be related to other believers in such a way that we can help each other fight the fight of faith successfully day in and day out until the end. The biblical basis for this answer is Hebrews 3:12–14,

Take care, brethren, lest there be in any of you an evil heart of unbelief, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called "today," that none of you be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. For we have shared in Christ, if we hold our first confidence firm to the end.

God has appointed a means by which he will enable us to hold our confidence firm to the end. It is this: Develop the kind of Christian relationships in which you help each other hold fast to the promises of God and escape the deceitfulness of sin. Exhort one another day in and day out to stand fast and put on the whole armor of God.

Be a Part of a Cluster of Christians 

Children, junior highers, senior highers, college students, single people, married couples, widows, widowers! Are you a part of a cluster of Christian friends who have pledged themselves to help each other fight the fight of faith and protect each other from the subtle encroachments of sin?

I do not say that you can't be saved without belonging to an organized small group. But I do say, and I believe it is the word of God, that if you have no such cluster of comrades in the faith, then you are neglecting one of the means appointed by God for your preservation and endurance in faith. And to neglect the means of grace is very dangerous for your soul.

So my goal this morning is very simple: to motivate you to belong to some smaller cluster of Christians where you can exhort and be exhorted to fight the fight of faith day in and day out. At the end of the message Peter Nelson will briefly present one network of small groups available for your prayerful consideration.

Four Lessons from Jonathan's Meeting with David 

The text is 1 Samuel 23:15–18. It is a simple and profound illustration of what needs to happen in the ongoing fight of faith.

David is going from one place to the other in the Wilderness of Ziph about 30 miles south of Jerusalem, trying to stay out of Saul's way. Saul, the king of Israel, wants to kill David because he thinks he is a dangerous rival for the throne. Jonathan, Saul's son, loves David and hears that he is in the Wilderness of Ziph, and goes down to strengthen his hand in God.

This encounter between Jonathan and David illustrates at least four lessons about helping each other fight the fight of faith.

1. Everyone's Need for Christian Camaraderie

The deepest saints and the strongest leaders need Christian comrades to strengthen their hands in God. David was deep, David was strong, and David needed Jonathan.

Christian camaraderie is not just for the new recruits. It is for every believer. We never grow out of our need for the ministry of other Christians. If you think you are beyond the need for daily exhortation in the fight of faith, then probably your heart has already fallen prey to the deceitfulness of sin.

David was a man after God's own heart. He was a great warrior. He was no doubt superior to Jonathan in strength and intelligence and depth of theological understanding. But verse 16 says that Jonathan went and strengthened his hand in God.

Don't ever think that a man is so strong that he does not need to be strengthened in God. And don't ever think that someone is so far above you that you can't be God's instrument to give strength.

Charles Spurgeon spoke for many Christian leaders when he wrote,

Some years ago, I was the subject of fearful depression of spirit. Various troublous events had happened to me; I was also unwell, and my heart sank within me. Out of the depths I was forced to cry unto the Lord. Just before I went away to Mentone for rest, I suffered greatly in body, but far more in soul, for my spirit was over whelmed. Under this pressure, I preached a sermon from the words, "My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?" I was as much qualified to preach from that text as ever I expect to be; indeed, I hope that few of my brethren could have entered so deeply into those heart-breaking words. I felt to the full of my measure the horror of a soul forsaken of God. Now that was not a desirable experience. I tremble at the bare idea of passing again through that eclipse of soul; I pray that I may never suffer in that fashion again. (Autobiography, vol. 2, p. 415)

I mention this to drive home that the greatest saints, the most valiant warriors, are not above the need to have their hands strengthened in God. In fact the devil's attacks on them may make their need even greater. So the first lesson from our text is that you never outgrow your need for daily exhortation. The deepest saints and the strongest leaders need comrades to strengthen their hands in God.

2. A Conscious Effort

The second lesson is that strengthening a person's hand in God involves conscious effort.

It is intentional. You don't just do it on the fly; you rise and go down to Horesh. Verse 16: "And Jonathan, Saul's son, rose, and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God."

What a difference it would make in our church if, when all of us woke in the morning, we would PLAN to strengthen someone's hand in God! Jonathan did not accidentally meet David in Horesh (though that happens at times!). He PLANNED to go and strengthen him. The mark of Christian maturity is that you build into your life the intention and the occasions to strengthen someone's hand in God. Whose hand are you going to strengthen in God today? This week? Do you have a cluster of comrades committed (intentionally!) to helping each other fight the fight of faith in this way?

I've been reading the Memoirs of Samuel Pearce, one of the small group of pastors that founded the first Baptist Missionary Society in 1792. Among others there were John Ryland and John Sutcliff and Andrew Fuller and Samuel Pearce and William Carey. One thing has stood out above all the others recently: these men loved each other and then met together and were profoundly committed to strengthening each other's hands in God. They did this even when they were far apart from each other.

Samuel Pearce waited over a year for his first letter from Carey after he had left for India. But when it came, here is what he wrote to Carey,

The account you gave us inspired us with new vigor, and greatly strengthened our hands in the Lord. We read, and wept, and praised, and prayed. O, who but the Christian feels such pleasures as are connected with friendship for our dear Lord Jesus Christ? (p. 58)

Isn't that a great phrase: "Friendship FOR our dear Lord Jesus Christ."

What I am really pleading for this morning is that you all form friendships FOR Jesus Christ—that you have a cluster of comrades in the faith with the mutual agreement that you will continually point each other to Jesus Christ for hope and strength.

3. Strengthening Each Other in God

That is the third lesson. The strength we are to give each other is strength in God, not in ourselves. Verse 16 does not say that Jonathan came all that way to Horesh to strengthen David's self-confidence. He didn't. It says he rose and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God.

This is the difference between Christian camaraderie and all other support groups and therapy groups and self-help groups. The whole point of Christian camaraderie is to point each other to Christ, not man, for help and strength.

There is a kind of paradox here: On the one hand I say, I need you. God has appointed you as a means of grace to help me endure to the end. But on the other hand, I must say that the only way you can really help me is by saying something or doing something that will cause me to depend on God and not you.

Here we are again with our most common theme it seems: a radical God-centeredness in all we do, even in our human togetherness, our camaraderie, our friendship. It must be a friendship FOR Jesus. Every Christian group that exists ought to exist to strengthen each other's hands in God and not in man. That is the third lesson in our text: "Jonathan rose and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God."

4. Reminding Each Other of the Promises of God

Finally, how did he do this? How do we do it? Jonathan said (verse 17): "Fear not; for the hand of Saul my father shall not find you; you shall be king over Israel, and I shall be next to you; Saul my father also knows this."

How did Jonathan know that David would be king over Israel? They were deep friends and so it is hard to imagine that David had not told Jonathan about the event in chapter 16 when the prophet Samuel had anointed David as a boy to be king over Israel. So the way Jonathan strengthened David's hand in God was to remind him of a promise that God had made (1 Samuel 16:12). Saul could not succeed against David because God was for him. So Jonathan strengthened David's hand in God by reminding him of his destiny in the purposes of God.

And so it is with us. We strengthen each other's hands in God by reminding each other about the promises of God that are especially suited for each other's needs.

What would you need to hear from your friends if you were William Carey 15,000 miles from home fighting the fight of faith with one comrade surrounded by millions of unbelievers? You would need something like this, the words of Samuel Pearce, a precious friend who knew how to strengthen Carey's hand in God. Listen to how the promises of God saturate this letter from October 4, 1794.

Brother, I long to stand by your side, and participate in all the vicissitudes of the attack—an attack which nothing but cowardice can make unsuccessful. Yes, the Captain of our salvation marches at our head. Sometimes he may withdraw his presence (but not his power) to try our prowess with our spiritual arms and celestial armor. O, what cannot a lively faith do for the Christian soldier! It will bring the Deliverer from the skies; it will array him as with a vesture dipped in blood; it will place him in the front of the battle, and put a new song into our mouths—"These made war with the Lamb; but the Lamb shall overcome them." Yes, he shall—the victory is sure before we enter the field; the crown is already prepared to adorn our brows, even that crown of glory which fadeth not away, and already we have resolved what to do with it—we will lay it at the conqueror's feet, and say, "Not to us, O Lord, not unto us, but to thy name give glory," while all heaven unites in the chorus, "Worthy is the Lamb." (Memoir, p. 66)

Well, not all us have the gift to strengthen our comrades with words like that. But if you steep your mind in the Word of God and meditate on it day and night as Psalm 1 says, then you will be a fountain of living water and will strengthen the hands of many in God. The call of God to you this morning is: Come, let us strengthen each other's hands in God! Amen.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org