شدّدوا أيادي بعضكم البعض بالله

فَرَأَى دَاوُدُ أَنَّ شَاوُلَ قَدْ خَرَجَ يَطْلُبُ نَفْسَهُ. وَكَانَ دَاوُدُ فِي بَرِّيَّةِ زِيفٍ فِي الْغَابِ. فَقَامَ يُونَاثَانُ بْنُ شَاوُلَ وَذَهَبَ إِلَى دَاوُدَ إِلَى الْغَابِ وَشَدَّدَ يَدَهُ بِاللهِ، وَقَالَ لَهُ: «لاَ تَخَفْ لأَنَّ يَدَ شَاوُلَ أَبِي لاَ تَجِدُكَ، وَأَنْتَ تَمْلِكُ عَلَى إِسْرَائِيلَ، وَأَنَا أَكُونُ لَكَ ثَانِيًا. وَشَاوُلُ أَبِي أَيْضًا يَعْلَمُ ذلِكَ». فَقَطَعَا كِلاَهُمَا عَهْدًا أَمَامَ الرَّبِّ. وَأَقَامَ دَاوُدُ فِي الْغَابِ، وَأَمَّا يُونَاثَانُ فَمَضَى إِلَى بَيْتِهِ.

رسالة اليوم تعترض سلسلة قد بدأت يوم الأحد الماضي من أفسس. سبب هذا الاعتراض هو الاقتناع العميق الذي نشعر به إزاء الحاجة إلى تشجيع جميع أعضاء كنيسة بيت لحم ليكونوا جزءاً من مجموعة صغيرة حيث يمكنكم مساعدة بعضكم البعض لنجاهد جهاد الإيمان. وهكذا فإن تركيزنا اليوم هو على تشديد أيادي بعضنا البعض بالله.

الضمان الأبدي هو مشروع جماعيّ:

إننا نؤمن أن الضمان الأبدي هو مشروع للجماعة. نؤمن أن مثابرة القديسين هي مسؤولية مشتركة. فنفس الرب المحب الذي قال: "خِرَافِي تَسْمَعُ صَوْتِي، وَأَنَا أَعْرِفُهَا فَتَتْبَعُنِي. وَأَنَا أُعْطِيهَا حَيَاةً أَبَدِيَّةً، وَلَنْ تَهْلِكَ إِلَى الأَبَدِ، وَلاَ يَخْطَفُهَا أَحَدٌ مِنْ يَدِي" (يوحنا 10: 27-28)، قال أيضا: "وَلكِنِ الَّذِي يَصْبِرُ إِلَى الْمُنْتَهَى فَهذَا يَخْلُصُ" (متى 24: 13).

وبعبارة أخرى فإن أولئك الذين وُلدوا من الله هم في ضمان أبديّ في يد المسيح. ويجب على أولئك الذين وُلدوا من الله أن يثبتوا إلى النهاية من أجل أن يخلصوا في نهاية المطاف. وبذلك يأتي السؤال: كيف عيّن الله أن يحفظ شعبه مثابرين في الإيمان إلى النهاية حتى يتمكن من تحقيق الوعد بطريقة لا يشوبها خطأ بأنهم مضمونون ولا يُفقد منهم أحدا؟

هذا الصباح نركز على جزء واحد هام من الإجابة على هذا السؤال، وهو: أن الله قد عيّن لنا أن نكون ذات صلة بمؤمنين آخرين بطريقة نستطيع من خلالها مساعدة بعضنا البعض كي نجاهد جهاد الإيمان الحسن بنجاح يوما بعد يوم حتى نهاية المطاف. إن الأساس الكتابي لهذا الجواب هو عبرانيين 3: 12-14،

اُنْظُرُوا أَيُّهَا الإِخْوَةُ أَنْ لاَ يَكُونَ فِي أَحَدِكُمْ قَلْبٌ شِرِّيرٌ بِعَدَمِ إِيمَانٍ فِي الارْتِدَادِ عَنِ اللهِ الْحَيِّ. بَلْ عِظُوا أَنْفُسَكُمْ كُلَّ يَوْمٍ، مَا دَامَ الْوَقْتُ يُدْعَى الْيَوْمَ، لِكَيْ لاَ يُقَسَّى أَحَدٌ مِنْكُمْ بِغُرُورِ الْخَطِيَّةِ. لأَنَّنَا قَدْ صِرْنَا شُرَكَاءَ الْمَسِيحِ، إِنْ تَمَسَّكْنَا بِبَدَاءَةِ الثِّقَةِ ثَابِتَةً إِلَى النِّهَايَةِ.

لقد عيّن الله الوسيلة التي من خلالها يُمكننا أن نتمسّك بالثقة ثابتة إلى النهاية. إنها هذه: أن ننمي نوعا من العلاقات المسيحية التي من خلالها تساعدون بعضكم البعض لكي تتمسّكوا بوعود الله وتهربوا من غرور الخطية. عظوا أنفسكم كل يوم لكي تصمدوا والبسوا سلاح الله الكامل.

كن جزءاً من مجموعة من المسيحيين:

أيها الأطفال، والصغار في المرحلة الإبتدائية، والمرحلة الإعدادية، والمرحلة الثانوية، وطلاب الجامعات، والأشخاص العازبين، والمتزوجين، والأرامل رجالا ونساء! هل أنتم جزء من مجموعة من الأصدقاء المسيحيين الذين تعهدوا أن يساعدوا بعضهم البعض لكي يجاهدوا جهاد الإيمان وحماية بعضهم بعضا من التعديات الخفيّة للخطية؟

أنا لا أقول أنه لا يمكن أن تخلص بدون الانتماء إلى جماعة صغيرة منظمة. لكنني أقول، وأؤمن أنها كلمة الله، أنه إن لم يكن لديك مثل هذه المجموعة من رفقاء في الإيمان، فإنك تهمل واحدة من الوسائل التي عيّنها الله لمثابرتك وثباتك في الإيمان. وأن تهمل وسائط النعمة هو أمر في غاية الخطورة لروحك.

لذا فهدفي هذا الصباح هو بسيط جدا: أن أحفزك لكي تنتمي إلى مجموعة صغيرة من المسيحيين حيث يمكنك أن تعظ وتتّعظ لكي تجاهد جهاد الإيمان يوما فيوماً. وفي نهاية الرسالة سيقدم بيتر نيلسون بشكل مختصر شبكة واحدة من المجموعات الصغيرة المتاحة لك لمراعاة الصّلاة.

أربعة دروس من لقاء يوناثان مع داود:

النص هو 1 صموئيل 23: 15-18. إنه مثال بسيط وعميق لما يجب أن يحدث في جهاد الإيمان المستمر.

كان داود ينتقل من مكان إلى الآخر في برية زيف حوالي 30 ميلا جنوب أورشليم، في محاولة للبقاء بعيدا عن طريق شاول. كان شاول، ملك إسرائيل، يريد أن يقتل داود لأنه كان يعتقد أنه منافس خطير على العرش. يوناثان، ابن شاول، كان يحب داود وسمع أنه في برية زيف، وأنحدر ليشدد يده بالله.

هذا اللقاء بين داود ويوناثان يوضح ما لا يقل عن أربعة دروس عن مساعدة بعضنا البعض لنجاهد جهاد الإيمان.

1. حاجة كل شخص للصّداقة المسيحيّة الحميمة:

إن أعمق القديسين وأقوى القادة يحتاجون إلى رفقاء مسيحيين لكي يشددوا أيديهم بالله. كان داود عميقا، وكان داود قويّا، وكان داود بحاجة ليوناثان.

إن الصّداقة المسيحية الحميمة ليست فقط للمسيحيين الجدد. بل هي لكل مؤمن. فنحن لن نتعدّى حدّ احتياجنا للخدمة من قِبل مسيحيين آخرين. إن كنت تعتقد أنك فوق الحاجة إلى الموعظة اليوميّة في جهاد الإيمان، إذن فربما يكون قلبك قد سقط بالفعل فريسة لغرور الخطية.

كان داود رجلا حسب قلب الله. كان محاربا عظيما. كان بلا شك أفضل من يوناثان في القوة والذكاء وعمق الفهم اللاهوتيّ. لكن الآية 16 تقول أن يوناثان ذهب وشدد يده بالله.

لا تظن أبدا أنه يمكن للإنسان أن يكون قويا لدرجة أنه لا يحتاج إلى التشديد بالله. ولا تظن أبدا أن أحدا أعلى جدا منك لدرجة أنه لا يمكنك أن تكون أداة الله لإعطاء الشدة.

تحدث تشارلز سبيرجن لكثير من القادة المسيحيين عندما كتب،

منذ بضعة سنوات، كنت معرضا لاكتئاب رهيب للنفس. فأحداث مختلفة مزعجة حدثت لي، كذلك لم أكن على ما يرام، وغرق قلبي في داخلي. فاضطررت للصراخ للرب من الأعماق. قبل أن أذهب بعيدا إلى "مينتون" للراحة، عانيت كثيرا في الجسد، ولكن أكثر بكثير في النفس، لأن روحي كانت قد قُهرت. تحت هذه الضغوط، ألقيت عظة من عبارة "إلهي، إلهي، لماذا تركتني؟" كنت مؤهلا جدا للوعظ من ذاك النص بشكل أقوى مما كنت أتوقع، بالفعل، آمل أن قليلين من اخوتي يدخلون بشكل عميق في تلك الكلمات التي تكسر القلب. شعرت بكامل مقدار رعب النفس المتروكة من قِبل الله. والآن لم تكن هذه خبرة مرغوب فيه. أنا أرتعد من مجرد فكرة العبور مرة أخرى خلال كسوف الروح هذا، وأنا أصلي ألا أجتاز أبدا في هذا الألم بهذه الطريقة مرة أخرى. (سيرة ذاتية، المجلد 2، ص. 415).

إنني أذكر هذا لكي أستدعي إلى انتباهنا أن أعظم القديسين، وأعظم المحاربين الشجعان، ليسوا فوق الاحتياج إلى تشديد أيديهم بالله. في الواقع قد تجعل هجمات الشيطان عليهم احتياجهم أكبر. وبالتالي فإن الدرس الأول من نصنا هو أنك لن تكبر إلى حد الاستغناء عن حاجتك اليومية للنصح. فأعمق القديسين وأقوى القادة يحتاجون إلى رفقاء لكي يشددوا أيديهم بالله.

2. جهدا واعيا:

الدرس الثاني هو أن تشديد يد الشخص بالله ينطوي على جهد واعٍ.

إنه أمر متعمد. فأنت لا تقوم به بشكل عشوائي، بل تقوم وتنحدر إلى الغاب. الآية 16: "فَقَامَ يُونَاثَانُ بْنُ شَاوُلَ وَذَهَبَ إِلَى دَاوُدَ إِلَى الْغَابِ وَشَدَّدَ يَدَهُ بِاللهِ."

يا له من فارق سيصنع في كنيستنا إن كنا نخطط، عندما يستيقظ كل واحد منا في الصباح، لكي نشدد أيدي شخصا ما بالله! لم يقابل يوناثان داود بالمصادفة في الغاب (على الرغم من أن ذلك حدث في بعض الأحيان!). بل قد خطط للذهاب إليه وتشديده. علامة النضج المسيحي هو أن تبني في حياتك النيّة والفرص لكي تشدد يد شخص ما بالله. فمن هو الذي ستشدّد يده بالله اليوم؟ هذا الأسبوع؟ هل لديك مجموعة من الرفقاء الملتزمين (عمدا!) لمساعدة بعضهم الآخر في مجهادة جهاد الإيمان بهذه الطريقة؟

لقد كنت أقرأ مذكرات صموئيل بيرس، وهو واحد من مجموعة صغيرة من القساوسة التي أسست أول جمعية إرسالية معمدانية في 1792. من بين أشخاص آخرين كان هناك جون ريلاند وجون ستكلف وأندرو فولر وصموئيل بيرس ووليام كاري. شيء واحد برز فوق كل الأشياء الأخري مؤخرا: أحب هؤلاء الرجال بعضهم البعض ومن ثم اجتمعوا معا والتزموا بشكل عميق بتشديد أيدي بعضهم البعض بالله. فعلوا هذا حتى عندما كانوا بعيدون جدا عن بعضهم البعض.

انتظر صموئيل بيرس أكثر من عام رسالته الأولى من كاري بعد أن كان قد غادر متوجها إلى الهند. ولكن عندما وصلت، هذا ما كتبه لكاري،

القصة التي قدمتها لنا قد ألهمتنا بقوة جديدة، وقد شددت أيدينا كثيرا بالرب. لقد قرأناها، وبكينا، وسبحنا، وصلينا. من هو سوى المسيحي الذي يشعر بمثل هذه الملذات وهي مرتبطة بالصداقة من أجل ربنا الغالي يسوع المسيح؟ (ص. 58).

أليست هذه عبارة رائعة: "الصداقة لأجل ربنا الغالي يسوع المسيح."

ما أنا أناشده حقا هذا الصباح هو أن تشكلوا جميعكم صداقات لأجل يسوع المسيح، أي أن يكون لديكم مجموعة من الرفقاء في الإيمان مع الاتفاق المتبادل أنكم سوف توجهون باستمرار بعضكم البعض ليسوع المسيح للرجاء والقوة.

3. تشديد بعضنا البعض بالله:

هذا هو الدرس الثالث. الشدة التي نقدمها لبعضنا البعض هي شدة بالله، وليس بأنفسنا. الآية 16 لا نقول أن يوناثان جاء كل المسافة إلى الغاب لكي يشدد ثقة داود بالنفس. لم يفعل ذلك. بل يقول أنه قَامَ وَذَهَبَ إِلَى دَاوُدَ إِلَى الْغَابِ وَشَدَّدَ يَدَهُ بِاللهِ.

هذا هو الفرق بين الصداقة المسيحيّة وكل أنواع مجموعات الدعم الأخرى ومجموعات العلاج النفسي ومجموعات المساعدة الذاتيّة. فكل هدف الصداقة المسيحيّة هو توجيه بعضنا البعض إلى المسيح، وليس للإنسان، طلبا للمساعدة والقوة.

هناك نوع من المفارقة هنا: فمن ناحية أقول، أنا بحاجة إليكم. لقد عيّنكم الله كواسطة للنعمة لمساعدتي في الثبات حتى النهاية. ولكن من ناحية أخرى، لا بد لي من القول أن الطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكن أن تساعدوني من خلالها حقا هي بقول شيء أو فعل شيء من شأنه أن يجعلني أعتمد على الله وليس عليكم.

نحن هنا مرة أخرى مع موضوعنا الأكثر شيوعا كما يبدو: تمركز إلهي جوهري في كل ما نفعله، وحتى في اجتماعنا البشريّة، وصداقتنا الحميمة، ومودّتنا. يجب أن تكون صداقة لأجل المسيح. فكلّ جماعة مسيحية موجودة يجب أن توجد لتشديد أيدي بعضنا البعض بالله وليس بالإنسان. هذا هو الدرس الثالث في نصنا: "فَقَامَ يُونَاثَانُ... وَذَهَبَ إِلَى دَاوُدَ إِلَى الْغَابِ وَشَدَّدَ يَدَهُ بِاللهِ."

4. مذكّرين بعضنا البعض بوعود الله:

أخيرا، كيف فعل ذلك؟ كيف نفعل ذلك؟ قال يوناثان (الآية 17): "لاَ تَخَفْ لأَنَّ يَدَ شَاوُلَ أَبِي لاَ تَجِدُكَ، وَأَنْتَ تَمْلِكُ عَلَى إِسْرَائِيلَ، وَأَنَا أَكُونُ لَكَ ثَانِيًا. وَشَاوُلُ أَبِي أَيْضًا يَعْلَمُ ذلِكَ."

كيف عرف يوناثان أن داود سيكون ملكا على إسرائيل؟ كانوا أصدقاء جدا ولذا فمن الصعب أن نتصور أن داود لم يقل ليوناثان عن الحدث في إصحاح 16 عندما مسح النبي صموئيل داود وهو صبي ليكون ملكا على إسرائيل. لذا كانت الطريقة التي شدد بها يوناثان يد داود بالله هي تذكيره بالوعد الذي جعله الله (1 صموئيل 16: 12). لن ينجح شاول ضد داود لأن الله كان لأجله. لذلك شدد يوناثان يد داود بالله من خلال تذكيره بمصيره في مقاصد الله.

وهذا هو الحال معنا. علينا أن نشدد أيدي بعضنا البعض بالله من خلال تذكير بعضنا البعض بوعود الله التي تناسب بشكل خاص احتياجاتنا لبعضنا البعض.

ماذا ستحتاج أن تسمع من أصدقائك إن كنت وليام كاري على بعد 15000 ميل من بيتك تجاهد جهاد الإيمان مع رفيق واحد محاطا بملايين من غير المؤمنين؟ ستحتاج لشيء من هذا القبيل، كلمات صموئيل بيرس، الصديق العزيز الذين عرف كيف يشدد يد كاري بالله. استمع كيف تملأ وعود الله هذه الرسالة من 4 أكتوبر 1794.

"أخي، أنا أشتاق أن أقف بجانبك، وأشارك في جميع تعاقبات الهجوم، الهجوم الذي لا شيء سوى الجبن يمكن أن يجعله غير ناجح. نعم، إن رئيس خلاصنا يسير في مقدمتنا. أحيانا يسحب وجوده (ولكن ليس قوته) لنجرب شجاعتنا مع أسلحتنا الروحية ودرعنا السماوي. آه.. فما هو الأمر الذي لا يمكن للإيمان الحي أن يصنعه للجندي المسيحي! سيجلب المخلص من السماء، بل سيكسوه برداء مغموس في الدم، وسوف يضعه في واجهة المعركة، ويضع ترنيمة جديدة في أفواهنا "هؤلاء دخلوا في حرب مع الحمل، ولكن الحمل سينتصر عليهم". نعم، سينتصر، فالنصرة مؤكدة قبل أن ندخل الميدان؛ قد تم إعداد التاج بالفعل لتزيين حواجبنا، بل أيضا إكليل المجد الذي لا يفنى، وبالفعل قد قررنا ما يجب أن نفعله به، سوف نطرحه عند قدمي الفاتح، ونقول، "لَيْسَ لَنَا يَا رَبُّ لَيْسَ لَنَا، لكِنْ لاسْمِكَ أَعْطِ مَجْدًا"، حيث تتوحد كل السماء في جوقة " مُسْتَحِق هُوَ الْخَروُفُ." (مذكرات، ص. 66).

حسنا، لا نملك جميعنا موهبة تشديد رفقائنا بكلمات مثل هذه. ولكن إن غمست عقلك في كلمة الله وتأملت فيها ليلا ونهارا كما يقول مزمور 1، فستكون كنبع الماء الحي وستشدد أيدي العديد بالله. إن دعوة الله لك هذا الصباح هي: تعالوا، ودعونا نشدّد أيادي بعضنا البعض بالله! آمين.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Strengthen Each Other's Hands in God

And David was afraid because Saul had come out to seek his life. David was in the Wilderness of Ziph at Horesh. And Jonathan, Saul's son, rose, and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God. And he said to him, "Fear not; for the hand of Saul my father shall not find you; you shall be king over Israel, and I shall be next to you; Saul my father also knows this." And the two of them made a covenant before the LORD; David remained at Horesh, and Jonathan went home.

Today's message is an interruption in the series begun last Sunday from Ephesians. The reason for the interruption is the deep conviction we feel about the need to encourage all the members of Bethlehem to be a part of some kind of smaller group where you help each other fight the fight of faith. And so our focus today is on strengthening each other's hands in God.

Eternal Security Is a Community Project 

We believe that eternal security is a community project. We believe that the perseverance of the saints is a corporate responsibility. The same loving Lord who said, "My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me; and I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish, and no one shall snatch them out of my hand" (John 10:27–28), also said, "He who endures to the end will be saved" (Matthew 24:13).

In other words those who are born of God are eternally secure in the hand of Jesus. And those who are born of God must endure to the end in order to be finally saved. And so the question rises: How has God ordained to keep his people persevering in faith to the end so that he can infallibly fulfill the promise that they are secure and that none shall be lost?

This morning we are focusing on one crucial part of the answer to that question: namely, God has ordained that we be related to other believers in such a way that we can help each other fight the fight of faith successfully day in and day out until the end. The biblical basis for this answer is Hebrews 3:12–14,

Take care, brethren, lest there be in any of you an evil heart of unbelief, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called "today," that none of you be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. For we have shared in Christ, if we hold our first confidence firm to the end.

God has appointed a means by which he will enable us to hold our confidence firm to the end. It is this: Develop the kind of Christian relationships in which you help each other hold fast to the promises of God and escape the deceitfulness of sin. Exhort one another day in and day out to stand fast and put on the whole armor of God.

Be a Part of a Cluster of Christians 

Children, junior highers, senior highers, college students, single people, married couples, widows, widowers! Are you a part of a cluster of Christian friends who have pledged themselves to help each other fight the fight of faith and protect each other from the subtle encroachments of sin?

I do not say that you can't be saved without belonging to an organized small group. But I do say, and I believe it is the word of God, that if you have no such cluster of comrades in the faith, then you are neglecting one of the means appointed by God for your preservation and endurance in faith. And to neglect the means of grace is very dangerous for your soul.

So my goal this morning is very simple: to motivate you to belong to some smaller cluster of Christians where you can exhort and be exhorted to fight the fight of faith day in and day out. At the end of the message Peter Nelson will briefly present one network of small groups available for your prayerful consideration.

Four Lessons from Jonathan's Meeting with David 

The text is 1 Samuel 23:15–18. It is a simple and profound illustration of what needs to happen in the ongoing fight of faith.

David is going from one place to the other in the Wilderness of Ziph about 30 miles south of Jerusalem, trying to stay out of Saul's way. Saul, the king of Israel, wants to kill David because he thinks he is a dangerous rival for the throne. Jonathan, Saul's son, loves David and hears that he is in the Wilderness of Ziph, and goes down to strengthen his hand in God.

This encounter between Jonathan and David illustrates at least four lessons about helping each other fight the fight of faith.

1. Everyone's Need for Christian Camaraderie

The deepest saints and the strongest leaders need Christian comrades to strengthen their hands in God. David was deep, David was strong, and David needed Jonathan.

Christian camaraderie is not just for the new recruits. It is for every believer. We never grow out of our need for the ministry of other Christians. If you think you are beyond the need for daily exhortation in the fight of faith, then probably your heart has already fallen prey to the deceitfulness of sin.

David was a man after God's own heart. He was a great warrior. He was no doubt superior to Jonathan in strength and intelligence and depth of theological understanding. But verse 16 says that Jonathan went and strengthened his hand in God.

Don't ever think that a man is so strong that he does not need to be strengthened in God. And don't ever think that someone is so far above you that you can't be God's instrument to give strength.

Charles Spurgeon spoke for many Christian leaders when he wrote,

Some years ago, I was the subject of fearful depression of spirit. Various troublous events had happened to me; I was also unwell, and my heart sank within me. Out of the depths I was forced to cry unto the Lord. Just before I went away to Mentone for rest, I suffered greatly in body, but far more in soul, for my spirit was over whelmed. Under this pressure, I preached a sermon from the words, "My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?" I was as much qualified to preach from that text as ever I expect to be; indeed, I hope that few of my brethren could have entered so deeply into those heart-breaking words. I felt to the full of my measure the horror of a soul forsaken of God. Now that was not a desirable experience. I tremble at the bare idea of passing again through that eclipse of soul; I pray that I may never suffer in that fashion again. (Autobiography, vol. 2, p. 415)

I mention this to drive home that the greatest saints, the most valiant warriors, are not above the need to have their hands strengthened in God. In fact the devil's attacks on them may make their need even greater. So the first lesson from our text is that you never outgrow your need for daily exhortation. The deepest saints and the strongest leaders need comrades to strengthen their hands in God.

2. A Conscious Effort

The second lesson is that strengthening a person's hand in God involves conscious effort.

It is intentional. You don't just do it on the fly; you rise and go down to Horesh. Verse 16: "And Jonathan, Saul's son, rose, and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God."

What a difference it would make in our church if, when all of us woke in the morning, we would PLAN to strengthen someone's hand in God! Jonathan did not accidentally meet David in Horesh (though that happens at times!). He PLANNED to go and strengthen him. The mark of Christian maturity is that you build into your life the intention and the occasions to strengthen someone's hand in God. Whose hand are you going to strengthen in God today? This week? Do you have a cluster of comrades committed (intentionally!) to helping each other fight the fight of faith in this way?

I've been reading the Memoirs of Samuel Pearce, one of the small group of pastors that founded the first Baptist Missionary Society in 1792. Among others there were John Ryland and John Sutcliff and Andrew Fuller and Samuel Pearce and William Carey. One thing has stood out above all the others recently: these men loved each other and then met together and were profoundly committed to strengthening each other's hands in God. They did this even when they were far apart from each other.

Samuel Pearce waited over a year for his first letter from Carey after he had left for India. But when it came, here is what he wrote to Carey,

The account you gave us inspired us with new vigor, and greatly strengthened our hands in the Lord. We read, and wept, and praised, and prayed. O, who but the Christian feels such pleasures as are connected with friendship for our dear Lord Jesus Christ? (p. 58)

Isn't that a great phrase: "Friendship FOR our dear Lord Jesus Christ."

What I am really pleading for this morning is that you all form friendships FOR Jesus Christ—that you have a cluster of comrades in the faith with the mutual agreement that you will continually point each other to Jesus Christ for hope and strength.

3. Strengthening Each Other in God

That is the third lesson. The strength we are to give each other is strength in God, not in ourselves. Verse 16 does not say that Jonathan came all that way to Horesh to strengthen David's self-confidence. He didn't. It says he rose and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God.

This is the difference between Christian camaraderie and all other support groups and therapy groups and self-help groups. The whole point of Christian camaraderie is to point each other to Christ, not man, for help and strength.

There is a kind of paradox here: On the one hand I say, I need you. God has appointed you as a means of grace to help me endure to the end. But on the other hand, I must say that the only way you can really help me is by saying something or doing something that will cause me to depend on God and not you.

Here we are again with our most common theme it seems: a radical God-centeredness in all we do, even in our human togetherness, our camaraderie, our friendship. It must be a friendship FOR Jesus. Every Christian group that exists ought to exist to strengthen each other's hands in God and not in man. That is the third lesson in our text: "Jonathan rose and went to David at Horesh, and strengthened his hand in God."

4. Reminding Each Other of the Promises of God

Finally, how did he do this? How do we do it? Jonathan said (verse 17): "Fear not; for the hand of Saul my father shall not find you; you shall be king over Israel, and I shall be next to you; Saul my father also knows this."

How did Jonathan know that David would be king over Israel? They were deep friends and so it is hard to imagine that David had not told Jonathan about the event in chapter 16 when the prophet Samuel had anointed David as a boy to be king over Israel. So the way Jonathan strengthened David's hand in God was to remind him of a promise that God had made (1 Samuel 16:12). Saul could not succeed against David because God was for him. So Jonathan strengthened David's hand in God by reminding him of his destiny in the purposes of God.

And so it is with us. We strengthen each other's hands in God by reminding each other about the promises of God that are especially suited for each other's needs.

What would you need to hear from your friends if you were William Carey 15,000 miles from home fighting the fight of faith with one comrade surrounded by millions of unbelievers? You would need something like this, the words of Samuel Pearce, a precious friend who knew how to strengthen Carey's hand in God. Listen to how the promises of God saturate this letter from October 4, 1794.

Brother, I long to stand by your side, and participate in all the vicissitudes of the attack—an attack which nothing but cowardice can make unsuccessful. Yes, the Captain of our salvation marches at our head. Sometimes he may withdraw his presence (but not his power) to try our prowess with our spiritual arms and celestial armor. O, what cannot a lively faith do for the Christian soldier! It will bring the Deliverer from the skies; it will array him as with a vesture dipped in blood; it will place him in the front of the battle, and put a new song into our mouths—"These made war with the Lamb; but the Lamb shall overcome them." Yes, he shall—the victory is sure before we enter the field; the crown is already prepared to adorn our brows, even that crown of glory which fadeth not away, and already we have resolved what to do with it—we will lay it at the conqueror's feet, and say, "Not to us, O Lord, not unto us, but to thy name give glory," while all heaven unites in the chorus, "Worthy is the Lamb." (Memoir, p. 66)

Well, not all us have the gift to strengthen our comrades with words like that. But if you steep your mind in the Word of God and meditate on it day and night as Psalm 1 says, then you will be a fountain of living water and will strengthen the hands of many in God. The call of God to you this morning is: Come, let us strengthen each other's hands in God! Amen.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org