主恩扶持

《耶利米书》32章36-41节
“现在论到这城,就是你们所说,‘已经因刀剑、饥荒、瘟疫交在巴比伦王手中’的,耶和华以色列的神如此说:我在怒气、忿怒和大恼恨中,将以色列人赶到各国。日后,我必从那里将他们招聚出来,领他们回到此地,使他们安然居住。他们要作我的子民,我要作他们的神。我要使他们彼此同心同道,好叫他们永远敬畏我,使他们和他们后世的子孙得福乐。又要与他们立永远的约,必随着他们施恩,并不离开他们,且使他们有敬畏我的心,不离开我。我必欢喜施恩与他们,要尽心尽意、诚诚实实将他们栽于此地。”

什么是扶持的恩典?

我们为神以恩典扶持我们的教会走过125年而颂赞感恩。那么,什么是扶持的恩典?请允许我用一首四行诗来解释:

不幸不因恩典而免除,
恩典也没有使我们逃离苦楚,
但那安排了我们痛苦与困境的恩典,
也是我们黑暗中的扶助。

我们或许觉得,恩典能使我们远离不幸与愁苦,恩典不会让我们经历痛苦。但是,为这样的恩典而庆贺,既不符合圣经的教导,也是不现实的。所以我在这里要强调这一点。

当遇到几乎致死的车祸

经验和圣经都告诉我们,恩典不能免除痛苦,相反,我们的痛苦是由恩典命定、安排、调节的,当我们在黑暗中的时候,恩典扶助我们。比如,昨天浸信会联合总会(Baptist General Conference)的主席鲍勃·瑞克(Bob Ricker)讲到神扶助的恩典,这是很宝贵的提醒。将近十年以前,鲍勃和迪的女儿遭遇严重的车祸。她今天还活着,原因只有一个。当时在后面一辆车上有一位医生,恰巧在口袋里带了呼吸管。医生看到她时,她已经面色发青了。医生强行把管子插进她的喉咙,救了她的命。几年以后,他们的女儿举行婚礼,鲍勃告诉她:你脸上这些要伴你一生的疤痕,是为了纪念神恩典的扶持。

鲍勃·瑞克这样说并不是天真。他当然知道,如果神可以命定后面的车上有一位医生,这位医生又恰巧随身带着呼吸器具,同时又有清醒的头脑知道怎么用它来救人,那么这位神也完全可以在一开始就阻止这场车祸。实际上,鲍勃一开始就引用了《以弗所书》1章11节:“这原是那位随己意行作万事的,照着他旨意所预定的。”他强调说:“万事,就是所有的事。”我想这也包括汽车、飞机、飞箭和子弹的路线。这启发了我写出那首小诗――《什么是扶持的救恩》。

不幸不因恩典而免除,
恩典也没有使我们逃离苦楚,
但那安排了我们痛苦与困境的恩典,
也是我们黑暗中的扶助。

当车子坏掉了

两周前的周六,娜埃尔、亚伯拉罕、巴拿巴和塔丽莎一起开车去佐治亚,在印第安纳波利斯南边一个小时车程的地方,车子坏在一段人迹罕至的路上。车子的散热器坏了。一位六十五岁左右的农夫来帮助他们把车靠到路边。娜埃尔说,她想找一家汽车旅馆,最好周一早晨能有间修车店开门,好修理他们的车。这位农民说:“你们愿意来我家借住吗?” 娜埃尔有些犹豫,不想打搅他们。农民说:“主说,我们彼此服事,就像在服事他。” 娜埃尔问:“那我们明早能和你们一起去教会吗?”农民回答说:“如果你们不介意去浸信会的话,就和我们一起去吧。”

于是他们借宿在农民家里。这位农民曾是个航空技师,他找出了车子的问题,周一一早开车去镇子里买了新的散热器,回来免费帮他们装上,并且送一家人上路。锦上添花的是,在这期间,巴拿巴用车里的钓竿钓上了一条48厘米长的鲶鱼。

神安排这位农民停下来帮助娜埃尔,这位农民还是个基督徒(甚至是浸信会会友!),正好他和他妻子有地方接待这些人,而且他又是技师,还在周一一早买到了散热器,并愿意花时间帮助他们,而那里刚好还有一个有鲶鱼的池塘――安排了这一切的神,也完全可以让散热器在印第安纳中部爆裂的。

当医治没有临到时

但在这堕落虚空的世界上,神恩典的扶助还不止于此。

不幸不因恩典而免除,
恩典也没有使我们逃离苦楚,
但那安排了我们痛苦与困境的恩典,
也是我们黑暗中的扶助。

我们教会的一位年轻人正在经历水火,他的信仰受到极大的挑战。他最近对我说:“假如耶稣不是来医治,而是赐下恩典让我们在未得医治前可以忍受的话,就会好过多了。”我对他说了一句话:“根据《哥林多后书》12章9-10节,耶稣正是这么做的,目的也正是要让我们能在痛苦中忍耐。神的恩典允许一根刺加在保罗的肉体上,免得他过于自高,因此,保罗求神的时候,神没有拿去这根刺。但他说:

‘我[扶助]的恩典够你用的,因为我的能力,是在人的软弱上显得完全。’

保罗回答说:

‘所以,我更喜欢夸自己的软弱,好叫基督的能力覆庇我。我为基督的缘故,就以软弱、凌辱、急难、逼迫、困苦为可喜乐的,因我什么时候软弱,什么时候就刚强了!’”

不幸不因恩典而免除,
恩典也没有使我们逃离苦楚,
但那安排了我们痛苦与困境的恩典,
也是我们黑暗中的扶助。

当教堂被烧毁时

1885年3月16日,礼拜一,伯利恒浸信会的教堂着火了。当时,伯利恒浸信会刚成立14年,地址还在十二大道和第六街的交叉路口(也就是道格拉斯公司现在的地方)。教堂被烧毁,无法修复。但在这样黑暗的景况中,我们惊奇地看到神的恩典。教堂的屋顶上,只有消防员所站的那一块地方没有垮塌。并且,教会在七周以后买下了第二公理会的教堂。从那时起,伯利恒浸信会在长达106年之久的时间里都在那里敬拜,直到1991年我们现在的教堂建成为止。

那么,这位托住岌岌可危的屋顶、保护了消防员的神,这位能在七周之内为我们安排一个更新、更好的教堂的神,也完全可以在一开始就不让教堂失火的。

我希望大家都明白我要说的:我们在这里所颂赞的,是神扶助的恩典。

但那安排了我们痛苦与困境的恩典,
也是我们黑暗中的扶助。

神并不免除一切灾难

耶利米书32章的这段经文,说的正是这种扶助的恩典,这段经文很关键,能让我们明白,为什么伯利恒浸信会在经历了125年的试炼后,现在仍然在这城市里存留。耶路撒冷和神拣选的百姓都在黑暗与困苦中,而且这样的事是神所定的。请看第36节:“现在论到这城,就是你们所说,‘已经因刀剑,饥荒,瘟疫交在巴比伦王手中’的,耶和华以色列的神如此说……”这就是他们所说的,这就是现实。恩典没有为他们免去这灾。神的恩典也不会帮你免去所定的灾。

他们关于神选民的这些话,并不是最终的结论。所说的,才是最终的结论。并且神所说的,是恩典的话语。第37节:“我在怒气、忿怒和大恼恨中,将以色列人赶到各国。日后,我必从那里将他们招聚出来,领他们回到此地,使他们安然居住。”神宣布,困苦都是他所定的――“我…将以色列人赶到”那些陌生的国度。他也宣告,他会亲自拯救他们,把他们带回自己面前,带回到自己的土地上。也就是说,神主权的恩典最终会胜过灾难。

我们怎能确定恩典一定得胜?

我们怎能确定恩典一定得胜呢?如果神是这样一位公义的神,他将以色列赶散、倾覆,许多人因为自己的罪与悖逆死了,那么我们怎么能确信,类似的事情不会发生在今天我们这些神的选民身上呢?神所拣选的教会、基督的新妇、真以色列人、你和我,是蒙召与基督和好的,我们怎么知道这些事不会临到我们身上呢?一方面我们要问:为什么伯利恒浸信会可以坚持125年?但还有一个问题更紧迫:我们怎么知道,恩典会一直在伯利恒教会以及我们的生活中得胜?你如何能确信恩典会自始至终地保守你的信心与圣洁,使你可以安然进入天国?

这就是我们在接下来的时间里要讨论的问题。答案是:神用他主权的恩典扶持着他的选民。也就是说,那扶持我们的恩典是无所不能的。这恩典能克服一切拦阻,保守我们的信心与圣洁,带我们回到天家。对于未来,只有这一点是我们可以确信的。你和我,就我们自己而言,都是反复无常、完全靠不住的。如果我们只能靠自己来保守自己,那我们的信心必定会垮掉。这就是多少个世纪以来,圣徒们总在祷告的原因。

每日主赐恩典无量,
负主恩债难报偿,
愿主恩惠如链相牵,
维系我心与主连。
我深知道心易放荡,
远离父家慕虚华,
今献身心求加印记,
永作主民在父家。

圣徒们应该这样祷告吗?你应该这样为你的未来和伯利恒的未来祷告吗?这样的祷告符合圣经吗?愿主恩惠如链相牵,维系我心与主连。求主在我的心上加上印记,以不能毁坏的纽带将我与天家相连。这也就是说:保守我!保护我!帮助我胜过一切的悖逆!帮助我克服七七八八的怀疑!救我脱离一切毁灭性的试探!使任何致命的诱惑都成为虚空!暴露魔鬼一切的诡计!拆毁所有自高的辩论!塑造我!改变我!扶持我!作我的主!只要必要,做什么都可以,保守我能信靠你、敬畏你,直到耶稣再来,或是你将我召回天家的时候。我们是不是可以、是不是应当像这样祷告歌颂呢?

这段经文告诉我们,答案是肯定的。神以他主权、扶助的恩典应许说,他要立一个新约,这就是我们应当如此祷告和歌颂的根基。让我们一起来读。记住,旧约里有许多关于新约的应许,这是其中之一,耶稣说,这新约是为所有在他里面的人所立的,有他自己的宝血为印记。这应许不只是给犹太人的,也是给那些因与耶稣联合而成为真犹太人的,他们是亚伯拉罕的子孙(加3:7,16)。

《耶利米书》32章38-41节说:

“他们要作我的子民,我要作他们的神。我要使他们彼此同心同道,好叫他们永远敬畏我,使他们和他们后世的子孙得福乐。又要与他们立永远的约,必随着他们施恩,并不离开他们,且使他们有敬畏我的心,不离开我。我必欢喜施恩与他们,要尽心尽意、诚诚实实将他们栽于此地。”

关于全能恩典扶持的四个应许

请注意,关于全能恩典的扶持,神有四个应许。

  1. 神要作我们的神

    神应许他会作我们的神。第38节:“他们要作我的子民,我要作他们的神。”他对他百姓的应许,都归结在这一句话之中:“我要作你的神。”这就是说,我会以神的属性――我一切的智慧、能力、慈爱――来保守你,使你永远作我的子民。我运用神的一切属性,来向你施恩。

  2. 神应许会改变我们的心

    神应许会改变我们的心,使我们爱他、敬畏他。第39-40节:“我要使他们彼此同心同道,好叫他们永远敬畏我……且使他们有敬畏我的心。”也就是说,神不是仅仅站在旁边,看看我们能不能凭借自己的力量来敬畏他;他会以他的主权、至高和慈爱赐下恩典,让我们全心相信他,敬畏他,确保我们可以回到天家。这是神全能恩典的扶持。(见申30:6;结11:19-20,36,27)

  3. 神应许,我们不会离开他

    神应许说,他不会离开我们,我们也不会离开他。第40节:“又要与他们立永远的约,必随着他们施恩,并不离开他们,且使他们有敬畏我的心,不离开我。”换句话说,他改变人心的力量如此强大,以至于他可以保证我们不会离开他。这是新约之所以为新的地方――神应许,他会用他的力量来使我们达到必备的要求。我们必须敬畏他、爱他、信靠他。他说:我会负责的,我会“使他们有敬畏我的心”――不是为了看看他们会怎么对待我,而是要做到使他们“不离开我”。这是神全能恩典的扶持。

  4. 神应许会尽心尽意来做这事

    最后,神应许,他会尽最大的努力来做这事。在第41节的开头和结尾,他用两种方式表达了他的应许:“我必欢喜施恩与他们,要尽心尽意、诚诚实实将他们栽于此地。”首先他说,他会欢喜地使用他全能的恩典来扶持我们:“我必欢喜施恩与他们。”接着他说他会“尽[他的]心尽[他的]意”来赐予他全能的恩典(在第41节末尾)。

神很想向你施恩?

他为扶持你而欢喜,全心全意地欢喜。现在我要问你,我不会用夸张的说教,不会用华丽的辞藻,也不会虚张声势;我只是问你,挑战你,你能想到有任何的愿望,其热烈的程度会超过“神尽心尽意”的愿望吗?假设你可以把世界上所有人――就算是六十亿人吧――心中对食物、性爱、金钱、名誉、权力、意义、朋友、安全的渴望都加在一起,把这六十亿人的渴望都放进一个容器里,这可以和神要施恩给你的渴望相比么?神说:他要“尽心尽意”地施恩给你。这样一比较,前者就像是个小小的顶针,而后者却是太平洋,因为神的心意是无限的,而人的心意是有限的。不会有什么能比神的“尽心尽意”更加强烈了。

他以全能的恩典扶持你,他的喜乐是这样强烈:“我必欢喜施恩与他们……尽心尽意……”可能你们中间有些人今天早晨才第一次尝到这恩典的甘甜。这是圣灵在你的生命中动了工,我恳求你们,顺服圣灵的工作,顺服神全能恩典的扶持。

你们中间的其他人,已经在这甜蜜的确据中生活了几十年之久,今天早晨,我们一起来为我们生命中这样荣耀的事实欢欣鼓舞。请你们大家和我一起来歌唱,为这全能恩典的扶持来颂赞圣父、圣子、圣灵。这恩典在过去的125年中保守了我们的教会,也会继续保守神选民的信心,直到耶稣再来,或是耶稣召我们回天家的时候。

不幸不因恩典而免除,
恩典也没有使我们逃离苦楚,
但那安排了我们痛苦与困境的恩典,
也是我们黑暗中的扶助。

让我们一起来唱诗赞美主。圣诗第9首,《颂赞天父》。唱到第三段的时候,让我一同来为这真理欢欣快乐――圣灵鼓舞着我们,用他的爱吸引着我们,他征服了我们,用印印了我们,把我们毫无瑕疵地献给神。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Sustained by Sovereign Grace—Forever

Now therefore thus says the Lord God of Israel concerning this city of which you say, "It is given into the hand of the king of Babylon by sword, by famine, and by pestilence," 37 "Behold, I will gather them out of all the lands to which I have driven them in My anger, in My wrath, and in great indignation; and I will bring them back to this place and make them dwell in safety. 38 And they shall be My people, and I will be their God; 39 and I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear Me always, for their own good, and for the good of their children after them. 40 And I will make an everlasting covenant with them that I will not turn away from them, to do them good; and I will put the fear of Me in their hearts so that they will not turn away from Me. 41 And I will rejoice over them to do them good, and I will faithfully plant them in this land with all My heart and with all My soul." 42 For thus says the Lord, "Just as I brought all this great disaster on this people, so I am going to bring on them all the good that I am promising them."

What Is Sustaining Grace?

We are celebrating 125 years of God's sustaining grace. What is that? What is sustaining grace? Let me put it in a four-line rhyme:

Not grace to bar what is not bliss,
Nor flight from all distress, but this:
The grace that orders our trouble and pain,
And then, in the darkness, is there to sustain.

I stress this because to celebrate a grace that bars what is not bliss, and gives flight from all distress and does not order our pain would be biblically false and experientially unrealistic.

. . . In a Near-Fatal Crash

Our experience and the Bible teach us that grace does not prevent pain, but orders and arranges and measures out our pain, and then in the darkness is there to sustain. For example, yesterday Bob Ricker, the president of the Baptist General Conference, spoke of precious reminders of God's sustaining grace. Not quite ten years ago Bob and Dee's daughter was in a serious automobile accident. She is alive today for one reason. In the car behind her was a doctor who happened to have an air tube in his pocket. By the time he got to her she was already turning blue. He forced the tube into her throat and saved her life. At her wedding a few years later, Bob told her: those facial scars you have to live with—they are memorials of sustaining grace.

Now Bob Ricker is not naïve. He knows that if God can ordain that in the car behind there be a doctor, and that this doctor have a breathing apparatus in his pocket, and that he have the presence of mind to use it savingly, then this God is fully able to prevent the accident in the first place. In fact, earlier Bob had quoted Ephesians 1:11, "We have been predestined according to his purpose who works all things according to the counsel of his will." And he stressed: "All things, means all things"—including, I assume, the paths of cars and airplanes and arrows and bullets. That was the inspiration for my little poem, "What Is Sustaining Grace?"

Not grace to bar what is not bliss,
Nor flight from all distress, but this:
The grace that orders our trouble and pain,
And then, in the darkness, is there to sustain.

. . . When the Car Breaks Down

Saturday, two weeks ago, Noël and Abraham and Barnabas and Talitha were traveling to Georgia in the car and it broke down in a lonely stretch about an hour south of Indianapolis. The radiator was shot. A farmer in his mid-sixties pulls over and offers help. Noël says that she supposes they need a motel and hopes that Monday morning there may be a garage open to work on the car. The farmer says, "Would you like to stay with me and my wife?" Noël hesitates and does not want to put them out. He says, "The Lord said when we serve others, it's like serving him." She says, "Well, could we go to church with you in the morning?" He says, "If you can take a Baptist church."

So they stay with the farmer, who is also an aviation mechanic, and who diagnoses the problem, drives to town Monday morning, buys a new radiator, comes back, puts it in at no expense, and sends the family on their way. In the meantime Barnabas has pulled his fishing rod out of the car and caught a nineteen-inch catfish—for icing on the cake.

The God who can cause a farmer to stop to help Noël and who sees to it that he is a Christian (even a Baptist!), and that he and his wife have room for the family to stay, and that he is a mechanic, and that he finds a radiator first thing Monday morning, and that he is willing to take the time, and that he has a pond with catfish—this God is perfectly able to keep a radiator from bursting open in the middle of Indiana.

. . . When Healing Doesn't Happen

But in this fallen world of futility that is not all that sustaining grace does.

Not grace to bar what is not bliss,
Nor flight from all distress, but this:
The grace that orders our trouble and pain,
And then, in the darkness, is there to sustain.

One of the young men in our church is going through some deep waters right now which are testing his faith almost to the limit. He said to me recently: it would be easier if Jesus hadn't healed but instead had given grace to endure the absence of healing. One of the things I said to him was this: That's exactly what Jesus did do—and for that very reason—in 2 Corinthians 12:9–10. God's grace ordains that Paul have a thorn in the flesh for the sake of his humility and then will not remove it in answer to prayer. But he says,

My [sustaining] grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.

To which Paul responds,

Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ's sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.

Not grace to bar what is not bliss,
Nor flight from all distress, but this:
The grace that orders our trouble and pain,
And then, in the darkness, is there to sustain.

. . . When the Church Burns Down

On Monday, March 16, 1885, when Bethlehem Baptist Church was 14 years old and located on the corner of 12th Avenue and 6th Street (where the Douglas Company is now) the church caught fire. It was ruined beyond repair. But in that darkness there was a marveling at God's grace. The part of the roof where the firemen stood was the only part that did not collapse. And within seven weeks the church had bought the building of the Second Congregational Church where we worshiped for 106 years until this building was completed in 1991.

Now the God who can spare firemen by holding up part of a weakened roof, and who can arrange for a new and better building in seven weeks, could have prevented the fire in the first place.

I hope the point is clear: We are celebrating sustaining grace.

The grace that orders our trouble and pain,
And then, in the darkness, is there to sustain.

God Does Not Always Spare Calamity

Our text in Jeremiah 32 is about this kind of sustaining grace, and holds the key to why Bethlehem Baptist Church is alive in the city today after 125 years of trials. Jerusalem and God's chosen people are in darkness and distress. And it is God himself who has ordered it so. Look at verse 36: "Now therefore thus says the LORD God of Israel concerning this city of which you say, 'It is given into the hand of the king of Babylon by sword, by famine, and by pestilence.'" That's what they say about it. And it is true. Grace has not spared them this calamity. Nor will the grace of God spare you your appointed calamity.

But what they say about God's chosen ones is not the last word. God has the last word. And it is a word of grace. Verse 37: "Behold, I will gather them out of all the lands to which I have driven them in My anger, in My wrath, and in great indignation; and I will bring them back to this place and make them dwell in safety." So God declares that he has ordered the trouble and pain. "I have driven them" to these foreign lands. And he declares that he himself will deliver them and bring them back to himself and to their land. In other words, sovereign grace will eventually triumph over the calamity.

How Can We Be Sure of the Triumph of Grace?

How can we be sure of this triumph of grace? If God is a God of justice who can send Israel into devastating exile where many are lost because of their sin and disobedience, then how can we have confidence that this will not happen to God's chosen people today—the church, the bride of Christ, the true Israel, you and me, who have been called into the fellowship of his Son? It is one question to ask: why has Bethlehem endured for 125 years? But an even more urgent question is: how can we be sure that grace will triumph for Bethlehem and in our own lives in the future? How can you be sure that grace will sustain you to the end in the faith and holiness that brings you safe to heaven?

That's what the rest of this text is about. The answer is: sustaining grace for God's chosen people is sovereign grace. That is, sustaining grace is omnipotent grace. It is grace that overcomes all obstacles and preserves the faith and holiness that brings us home to heaven. This is our only sure confidence for the future. You and I, in ourselves, are utterly fickle and unreliable. If we were left to our own powers to persevere, we would make shipwreck of our faith, it is sure. This is why the saints have prayed for centuries,

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I'm constrained to be!
Let thy goodness like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to thee:
Prone to wander, Lord I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here's my heart, O, take and seal it;
Seal it for thy courts above.

Is that the way saints should pray? Is that the way to pray for your future and for Bethlehem's future? Is that a biblical way to pray? Make your goodness like a fetter—a chain—that binds my wandering heart to you. Seal my heart with an unbreakable bond for the courts of heaven. In other words: Keep me! Preserve me! Defeat every rising rebellion! Overcome every niggling doubt! Deliver from every destructive temptation! Nullify every fatal allurement! Expose every demonic deception! Tear down every arrogant argument! Shape me! Incline me! Hold me! Master me! Do whatever you must do to keep me trusting you and fearing you till Jesus comes or calls. May we—should we—pray and sing like that?

The answer from this text is yes. That kind of singing and praying is rooted in the new covenant promise of sovereign, sustaining grace. Let's read it. Keep in mind: this is one of several Old Testament promises of the new covenant that Jesus said he sealed with his own blood for all who are in him. It is not just for Jews, but for those who are true Jews by virtue of union with Jesus, the seed of Abraham (Galatians 3:7, 16). Jeremiah 32:38–41 says,

And they shall be My people, and I will be their God; and I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear Me always, for their own good, and for the good of their children after them. And I will make an everlasting covenant with them that I will not turn away from them, to do them good; and I will put the fear of Me in their hearts so that they will not turn away from Me. And I will rejoice over them to do them good, and I will faithfully plant them in this land with all My heart and with all My soul.

Four Promises of Sovereign, Sustaining Grace

Notice four promises of sovereign, sustaining grace.

1. God Will Be Our God

God promises to be our God. Verse 38: "They will be my people and I will be their God." All the promises to his people are summed up in this: "I will be your God." That is, I will use all that I am as God—all my wisdom, all my power, and all my love—to see to it that you remain my people. All that I am as God, I exert for your good.

2. God Promises to Change Our Hearts

God promises to change our hearts and cause us to love and fear him. Verse 39: "I will give them one heart and one way that they may fear me always . . . (v. 40b) I will put the fear of me in their hearts." In other words, God will not simply stand by to see if we, by our own powers, will fear him; he will sovereignly, supremely, mercifully give us the heart that we need to have, and give us the faith and the fear of God that will lead us home to heaven. This is sovereign, sustaining grace. (See Deuteronomy 30:6; Ezekiel 11:19–20; 36:27.)

3. God Promises We Will Not Turn Away from Him

God promises that he will not turn away from us and we will not turn away from him. Verse 40: "I will make an everlasting covenant with them that I will not turn away from them, to do them good; and I will put the fear of Me in their hearts so that they will not turn away from Me." In other words, his heart work is so powerful that he guarantees we will not turn from him. This is what's new about the new covenant: God promises to fulfill by his power the conditions that we have to meet. We must fear him and love him and trust him. And he says, I will see to that. I will "put the fear of me in their hearts"—not to see what they will do with it, but in such a way that "they will not turn from me." This is sovereign, sustaining grace.

4. God Promises to Do This with Infinite Intensity

Finally, God promises to do this with the greatest intensity imaginable. He expresses this in two ways, one at the beginning and one at the end of verse 41: "And I will rejoice over them to do them good, and I will faithfully plant them in this land with all My heart and with all My soul." First he says that he will exert this sovereign, sustaining grace with joy: "I will rejoice over them to do them good." Then he says (at the end of verse 41) that he will exert this sovereign, sustaining grace "with all [his] heart and with all [his] soul."

How Great Is God's Desire to Do You Good?

He rejoices to sustain you and he rejoices with all his heart and with all his soul. Now I ask you, not with any sermonic exaggeration or rhetorical flourish or with any sense of overstatement at all—I ask you, I challenge you, can you conceive of an intensity of desire that is greater than a desire empowered by "all God's heart and all God's soul"? Suppose you took all the desire for food and sex and money and fame and power and meaning and friends and security in the hearts and souls of all the human beings on the earth—say about six billion—and you put all that desire, multiplied by all those six billion hearts and souls, into a container. How would it compare to the desire of God to do you good implied in the words, "with all his heart and with all his soul"? It would compare like a thimble to the Pacific Ocean. Because the heart and soul of God are infinite. And the hearts and souls of man are finite. There is no intensity greater than the intensity of "all God's heart, and all God's soul."

And that is the intensity of the joy he has in sustaining you with sovereign grace: "I will rejoice over them to do them good . . . with all my heart and all my soul." Some of you may be tasting the sweetness of this grace for the first time this morning. That is the work of the Holy Spirit in your life, and I urge you to yield to it and be mastered by sovereign, sustaining grace.

Others of you have lived in this sweet assurance for decades and simply join me this morning in exulting over this glorious reality in our lives. I invite you all to sing with me, to bless the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit for the sovereign, sustaining grace that has kept us as a church for 125 years and will keep God's elect in the faith till Jesus comes or Jesus calls.

Not grace to bar what is not bliss,
Nor flight from all distress, but this:
The grace that orders our trouble and pain,
And then, in the darkness, is there to sustain.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org