说预言的恩赐,其权威与本质

“彼得和十一个使徒站起,高声说:犹太人和一切住在耶路撒冷的人哪,这件事你们当知道,也当侧耳听我的话。你们想这些人是醉了;其实不是醉了,因为时候刚到巳初。这正是先知约珥所说的:神说:在末后的日子,我要将我的灵浇灌凡有血气的。你们的儿女要说预言;你们的少年人要见异象;老年人要做异梦。在那些日子,我要将我的灵浇灌我的仆人和使女,他们就要说预言。在天上、我要显出奇事;在地下、我要显出神迹;有血,有火,有烟雾。日头要变为黑暗,月亮要变为血;这都在主大而明显的日子未到以前。到那时候,凡求告主名的,就必得救。”

上周我试着用《哥林多前书》13:8-12的经文,来教导大家明白,耶稣再来后,做先知讲预言的恩赐就会彻底消失——就像镜子里的影像让位给本人的脸面。并且我说过,既然主还没来,那么今天教会中说预言的恩赐依然会存在。上周我也答应大家,今天继续探讨相关的问题,就是:说预言的恩赐到底是什么,如何来运用这个恩赐呢?

圣经的终极性和充足性

开始前,我再强调一下,圣经,也就是新旧约的66卷书,具有不容置辩的终极性和充足性。对我们的生活来说,今天所有的预言,其权威性都不能跟圣经同日而语。无论人们会讲怎样的预言,都不能在圣经之上再添加什么,而且所有预言必须接受圣经的检验。圣经已经是书写完毕并且是封严了的书卷,是已经立定的根基,而不是一个在持续建造过程中的房子。

要明白这一点,最好看看使徒的教导为何在早期教会中具有终极权威,而其它预言却没有。例如,保罗在《哥林多前书》14:37–38说,“若有人以为自己是先知,或是属灵的,就该知道,我所写给你们的是主的命令。若有不知道的,就由他不知道吧(按照英文的圣经版本,或可译成,那他就不得被承认了——译注)!”这里意思很清楚:使徒的教训有终极权威,而教会中其他那些预言,无论过去还是今天,都不再具备这种权威。

你也可以在《帖撒罗尼迦后书》2:1-3印证同样的情况。保罗提醒众人,假如有某人自称被某个“灵”指示,要来宣告关于主耶稣再来的信息,但却与保罗的教训不相符,就不要相信他:“弟兄们,论到我们主耶稣基督降临和我们到他那里聚集,我劝你们:无论有灵、有言语、有冒我名的书信,说主的日子现在(现在或作就)到了,不要轻易动心,也不要惊慌。人不拘用什么法子,你们总不要被他诱惑;因为那日子以前,必有离道反教的事,并有那大罪人,就是沉沦之子,显露出来。”换言之,我们听到的各种预言都必须用使徒的话语来检验。

这里的要点是:新约具有使徒性。借助他们留下的文字,以及他们的亲密同工如路加、马可以及雅各(主耶稣的兄弟)的著作,使徒权柄今日依旧。这样,就像当初保罗将使徒教训当做最终权威一样,今天我们依然要以使徒教训为最终权威。意思是,记载使徒言论的新约圣经就是我们的权威。而且,既然新约认同旧约乃是上帝默示的话语,我们就把新旧约圣经都当做我们的标尺和规矩,来衡量一切教导和所有的预言,特别在关系到我们应该相信什么以及如何生活的问题上。

五旬节那天发生了什么

现在我们找到《使徒行传》2:16及下文,一起来学习,新约关于说预言这个恩赐的教导。当时的场景是:在五旬节(耶稣复活之后50天),耶路撒冷有120位虔诚的基督徒,他们“在城里等候,直到……领受从上头来的能力”(路24:49)。根据《使徒行传》2:2的记载,圣灵降临时,“从天上有响声下来,好像一阵大风吹过。”4节写道,“他们就都被圣灵充满,按着圣灵所赐的口才说起别国的话来。”11节更加具体地告诉我们,这些人所说的是些什么话语。那些听到他们说话的外地人说,“我们……听见他们用我们的乡谈,讲说神的大作为。”请大家特别留意这些人说预言时所讲论的内容,这对于我们明白说预言恩赐的本质至关重要。

约珥预言的实现

16节,彼得解释当时发生的事,说明那正是先知约珥预言的情况——《约珥书》2:28的预言开始应验了。然后,他接下来在17-18节引用了约珥的话,“神说:在末后的日子,我要将我的灵浇灌凡有血气的。你们的儿女要说预言;你们的少年人要见异象;老年人要做异梦。在那些日子,我要将我的灵浇灌我的仆人和使女,他们就要说预言。”

约珥早就预言,在末后的日子,圣灵将大大浇灌整个世界(“凡有血气的”),而该浇灌出现时的标记就是,会有很多人说预言,包括男人女人,老人和少年,社会各阶层的人。约珥说,这种情况会在“末后的日子”发生,到底是什么时候呢?就是彼得的时候。“这正是先知约珥所说的。”但是,如果末后的日子在五旬节时已经开始,那我们今天又处在什么时代呢?

末后的日子

我们也在末后的日子。自从耶稣降临尘世之后,我们就都活在末后的日子里。《希伯来书》1:2说,“神既在古时藉着众先知多次多方的晓谕列祖,就在这末世藉着他儿子晓谕我们……”自从圣子道成肉身,我们就都活在“末后的日子”里了。

因此,这就验证了我们上周关于预言的说法,预言是我们今天应该期待的事情。在末后的日子(我们所处的日子),全球各地,男女老少,各阶层的人,都将说预言,正如第17节所说,上帝将会把他的灵浇灌在凡有血气的人身上——不仅是犹太人。彼得的讲道在《使徒行传》2:39处结束,他说,“因为这应许(38节提到的圣灵)是给你们和你们的儿女,并一切在远方的人,就是主我们神所召来的。”那就把我们这些被神呼召的外邦人也包括在内了。不是说所有那些悔改信主的人都会说预言(林前12:29),但所有悔改信主的人都会接受圣灵(38节)。而圣灵在末后的日子中彰显出来的标记之一,就是那奇妙和广泛的说预言之恩赐(17-18节):“你们的儿女要说预言;你们的少年人要见异象;老年人要做异梦。在那些日子,我要将我的灵浇灌我的仆人和使女,他们就要说预言。”

圣灵所激发的而不是固有的神圣权柄

现在我们要问:约珥、彼得和路加是不是认为,所有信徒——无论男女老少、仆人或使女——都会成为先知,就跟旧约中的先知一样(摩西、以赛亚、和耶利米等),口里所说的都带着上帝的口头默示,带着主耶和华的权威,甚至可以记载下来编入毫无错误的圣经中呢?《使徒行传》2:17提到的那种预言,跟旧约先知所说的预言一样吗?还是有什么不同呢?

我相信是有差别的。我不认为今天我们获得的预言恩赐,会有着旧约先知的权柄,或等同于耶稣和使徒的权柄。换一种正面的说法就是,这一类的预言,乃是被圣灵激发和维持的,而不是说话之人固有的、不能代表神的权柄。

之所以这种预言,在今天让人们很难把握,因为大多数人的思维,并没有给那些圣灵激发、同时又不具备神圣权威的言论预备理解的空间。难道被圣灵激发和维持的言语,居然有错误的吗?那不是容易让人跌倒吗?不过,我会尽力解释清楚,说预言的恩赐,在新约圣经里和今天,的确会出现这种不理想的情况。就是说,被圣灵激发、支持的言语,可能并无固有的神圣权威,而且或许会夹杂着错谬。

假如这个说法让说预言的恩赐显得无关紧要,或贬低了它的教育价值,那么我们应该先来思考另一个属灵恩赐——“教导”,来做个对比。

拿教导这个恩赐作类比

你难道不认为,当教导作为属灵的恩赐运用时,它就被圣灵激发和维持,并且根植于那无误的、神圣的启示——圣经吗?作为恩赐,教导就是被圣灵激发、支持,为建造教会而讲解圣经真理的行动。所有的人都会同意,这个恩赐对教会生活具有极大的价值。但是,是否有人会因此认为,一位圣经老师的言论,即使在他靠恩赐教导时,一定准确无误?不是的。我们能不能说,这位老师口里所讲的一切,都具有神圣的权威呢?也不见得。除非在间接的意义上,其真理的权威性,并不在其教导本身,也不是他内在固有的,而只在于他讲解的根源——圣经那里。

为什么呢?这样一个被圣灵激发和维持的恩赐,又是建基于无误的启示(圣经)之上,居然还可能会出错,混进一些不完美的东西,而且只在间接的程度上才拥有其衍生出来的权威。为什么呢?答案是:一位教师对圣经真理的洞察,有可能是错误的;他对于圣经真理的分析,可能是错误的;他对于圣经真理的解释,可能是错误的。从来没人敢保证,在无误的圣经与教会的教导之间的连接,是不会出错的。教导尽管是属灵恩赐,却并不保证运用时不会出错。

不过呢,尽管教导的恩赐可能会出错,而且也不具备其内在固有的神圣权威,我们依然要承认,它对于教会极有价值。那些有恩赐的老师培育建造了我们,上帝也在其中大大做工。教导,的确是个很好的属灵恩赐。

现在,我们把以上的例子,跟说预言的恩赐比较一下。这个恩赐,也是被圣灵激发并维持的,也是建立在上帝的启示基础上的。上帝将某些事情启示给先知(借着某些超越普通感官功能的途径),并且因着上帝从来不会犯错,我们可以知道这启示必定完全正确。但是,说预言作为恩赐,却不能保证启示被毫无错误地传递出去。做先知的人有可能对这个启示认知不够完全,对启示的理解不够准确,在传讲时说得不够全面。所以保罗会说,他自己如今彷佛对着镜子观看,模糊不清(林前13:12)。说预言的恩赐可能导致含有错误的预言,就像教导的恩赐可能导致含有错误的教训那样。所以,我要问大家一个问题,“如果教导对于教会建造是有益的,那么说预言不也是会对教会建造有益的吗,就像保罗指出的(林前14:3, 12, 26)——尽管这两种恩赐都可能出错,都会夹杂着从人而来的不完全,并且都需要被检验?”

在我们的思维当中创建一个新的栏目

综上所述:在我们的思维模式中,需要创建一个新目录,专门处理那些被圣灵激发和维持,且根植于启示的言语和教训,去检验和筛选它们。这个目录在我们知道的那些类别之外。我们所有的目录是:1,真先知类,他们的话不会出错,是来自神口头的默示(包括那些先知性的圣经作者,还有耶稣和使徒);2,假先知类,就是《申命记》13:3; 18:20(参见,耶23:16)等处咒诅的。此外,按照圣经记载关于说预言的内容,我们要建立另一个目录:就是“作为属灵恩赐的预言”一类——这类预言虽是圣灵激发和维持的,以启示为根基的,却混杂了人性的不完全和不可靠,因此需要筛选。

我之所以用筛选这个词,是因为《帖撒罗尼迦前书》5:19-22的经文中的启示。在那里,被筛选和检验的并不是先知本人(看他是真先知还是假先知),而是预言本身(看它们是好是坏)。“不要消灭圣灵的感动;不要藐视先知的讲论。要凡事察验,善美的要持守,各样的恶事要禁戒不做。”这样的情况,并不是一刀切的对于真假先知的判断,而是在告诫我们,要对具体的预言信息进行察验,有可能当中某些预言是好的,美善的,而另外一些乃是错谬的。

保罗说,假如我们因着预言不完美就藐视之,那就是消灭圣灵的感动。我希望你们尽力避免,不要落到那种光景里。那么,应该如何做才好呢?这里还有许多道理要讲。我打算今晚继续讲这个课题,为大家提供进一步的理由,以及一些实际运用方面的建议。愿主自己在今天下午继续做教导我们的工作

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

The Authority and Nature of the Gift of Prophecy

But Peter, standing with the eleven, lifted up his voice and addressed them, "Men of Judea and all who dwell in Jerusalem, let this be known to you, and give ear to my words. For these men are not drunk as you suppose, since it is only the third hour of the day; but this is what was spoken by the prophet Joel: 'And in the last days it shall be, God declares, that I will pour out my Spirit upon all flesh, and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall dream dreams; yea, and on my menservants and my maidservants in those days I will pour out my Spirit; and they shall prophesy. And I will show wonders in the heaven above and signs on the earth beneath, blood, and fire, and vapor of smoke; the sun shall be turned into darkness and the moon into blood, before the day of the Lord comes, the great and manifest day. And it shall be that whoever calls on the name of the Lord shall be saved.'

Last week I tried to show that 1 Corinthians 13:8–12 teaches that the gift of prophecy will pass away when Jesus comes back—the way a dim mirror image will give way to the living face. And I argued that therefore the gift of prophecy is still valid in the church today. I promised that today we would take up the questions: What is the gift of prophecy, and how is it to be exercised?

The Finality and Sufficiency of Scripture 

Let me begin by affirming the finality and sufficiency of Scripture, the 66 books of the Bible. Nothing I say about today's prophecies means that they have authority over our lives like Scripture does. Whatever prophecies are given today do not add to Scripture. They are tested by Scripture. Scripture is closed and final; it is a foundation, not a building in process.

The best way to see this is to see how the teaching of the apostles was the final authority in the early church and how other prophecies did not have this final authority. For example, Paul says in 1 Corinthians 14:37–38, "If any one thinks that he is a prophet, or spiritual, he should acknowledge that what I am writing to you is a command of the Lord. If any one does not recognize this, he is not recognized." The implication is plain: the teaching of the apostle has final authority. The claims to prophecy in the church, then and now, do not have this authority.

You can see the same thing in 2 Thessalonians 2:1–3. Paul says here that even if someone claims to give you information about the second coming by a "spirit," don't believe them if it differs from my teaching: "Now concerning the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ and our assembling to meet him, we beg you, brethren, not to be quickly shaken in mind or excited either by spirit or by word, or by letter purporting to be from us, to the effect that the day of the Lord has come. Let no one deceive you in any way; for that day will not come, unless the rebellion comes first . . . " In other words, prophecies must be tested by the word of the apostle.

Now the point is this: Today the New Testament stands where the apostles stood. Their authority is exercised today through their writings and the writings of their close associates like Luke and Mark and James (the Lord's brother). So, in the same way Paul made apostolic teaching the final authority in those days, so we make the apostolic teaching the final authority in our day. That means the New Testament is our authority. And since the New Testament endorses the Old Testament as God's inspired word, we take the whole Bible as our rule and measuring rod of all teachings and all prophecies about what we should believe and how we should live.

What Happened on Pentecost 

Now let's turn to Acts 2:16ff. to see what we can learn about the New Testament gift of prophecy. The situation: it is the day of Pentecost, 50 days after the resurrection of Jesus. There are 120 Christian men and women waiting in Jerusalem to be "clothed with power from on high" (Luke 24:49). According to Acts 2:2 the Holy Spirit comes with the sound of a rushing wind. In verse 4 Luke says, "they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues." Verse 11 is more specific about what they were saying. Some of the foreigners who heard them say, "We hear them telling in our own tongues the mighty works of God." Note the content of their words very carefully. That will be important for understanding the nature of the gift of prophecy.

The Fulfillment of Joel's Prophecy

In verse 16 Peter explains what is happening. He says that this is what was spoken by the prophet Joel. This is the beginning of the fulfillment Joel 2:28. Then he quotes Joel in verses 17–18, "And in the last days it shall be, God declares, that I will pour out my Spirit upon all flesh, and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams; yea, and on my menservants and my maidservants in those days I will pour out my Spirit; and they shall prophesy."

Joel had said that in the last days there would be a great worldwide ("all flesh") outpouring of the Spirit, and the mark of that outpouring would be widespread prophesying: men and women, old and young, low class and upper class. Joel says it will happen in the "last days." When is that? Peter says it was happening right then. "This is what was spoken by the prophet Joel." But if the last days were beginning then, where does that put us?

The Last Days

It puts us in the last days. Since Jesus came, we are living in the last days. Hebrews 1:2 says, "In many and various ways God spoke of old to our fathers by the prophets; but in these last days he has spoken to us by a Son . . . " Since the Son came, we live in "these last days."

So this confirms what we saw last week about prophecy being something we should expect today. Men and women, young and old, upper and lower class will prophesy in the last days (our days), and this will be a worldwide phenomenon because, as verse 17 says, God will pour out his Spirit on ALL FLESH—not just Jews. Peter's sermon ends in Acts 2:39, "The promise (of the Spirit in verse 38) is to you and to your children and to all that are far off, every one whom the Lord our God calls to him." That includes us Gentiles who are called by God. Not all who repent and believe will prophesy (1 Corinthians 12:29). But all who repent and believe will receive the Holy Spirit (v. 38). And one manifestation of the Spirit in the last days will be an amazingly widespread gift of prophecy (vv. 17–18): "Your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams; yea, and on my menservants and my maidservants in those days I will pour out my Spirit; and they shall prophesy."

Spirit-Prompted yet No Intrinsic, Divine Authority 

Now ask yourself this question: Did Joel and Peter and Luke think that all the men and women—old and young, menservants and maidservants—would become prophets in the same sense that Moses and Isaiah and Jeremiah were prophets, that is, people who spoke with verbal inspiration and with the very authority of God and who could write infallible Scripture? Is the prophesying of Acts 2:17 that sort of prophecy? Or is there a difference?

I believe there is a difference. I don't think the gift of prophecy today has the authority of the Old Testament prophets or the authority of Jesus and the apostles. Or, to put it more positively, this sort of prophecy is prompted and sustained by the Spirit and yet does not carry intrinsic, divine authority.

One of the reasons that this kind of prophecy is so hard to get a handle on today is that most of us do not have categories in our thinking for a Spirit-prompted statement that doesn't have intrinsic, divine authority. That sounds like a contradiction. We stumble over a kind of speech that is prompted and sustained by the Holy Spirit and yet is fallible. But I am going to try to show this morning and this evening that this is what the gift of prophecy is in the New Testament and today. It is a Spirit-prompted, Spirit-sustained utterance that does not carry intrinsic, divine authority and may be mixed with error.

Now if that makes the gift of prophecy seem insignificant and unedifying, consider the analogy of the gift of teaching.

The Analogy of the Gift of Teaching 

Would you not say that, when the spiritual gift of teaching is being exercised, teaching is prompted and sustained by the Spirit and is rooted in an infallible, divine revelation, namely, the Bible? The gift of teaching is the Spirit-prompted, Spirit-sustained act of explaining biblical truth for the edification of the church. And all of us would say it is tremendously valuable in the life of the church. But would any of us say that the speech of a teacher, when he is exercising the gift of teaching, is infallible? No. Would we say it has divine authority? Only in a very secondary sense would we say so. Not in itself, not intrinsically, but in its source, Bible.

Why is it that a gift that is Spirit-prompted and Spirit-sustained and rooted in an infallible revelation (the Bible) is nevertheless fallible, mixed with imperfection, and only has secondary, derivative authority? The answer is this: A teacher's perception of biblical truth is fallible; his analysis of biblical truth is fallible; his explanation of biblical truth is fallible. There is no guarantee that the link between an infallible Bible and the church will be an infallible link. The gift of teaching does not guarantee infallible teaching.

And yet, even though the gift of teaching is fallible and even though it lacks intrinsic, divine authority, we know it is of immense value to the church. We are all edified and built up by gifted teachers. God is in it. He does use it. It is a spiritual gift.

Now compare this to the gift of prophecy. It is prompted by the Spirit and sustained by the Spirit and based on a revelation from God. God reveals something to the mind of the prophet (in some way beyond ordinary sense perception), and since God never makes a mistake, we know that his revelation is true. It has no error in it. But the gift of prophecy does not guarantee the infallible transmission of that revelation. The prophet may perceive the revelation imperfectly, he may understand it imperfectly, and he may deliver it imperfectly. That's why Paul says we see in a mirror dimly (1 Corinthians 13:12). The gift of prophecy results in fallible prophecy just like the gift of teaching results in fallible teaching. So I would ask, "If teaching can be good for the edification of the church, could not prophecy be good for edifying as well, just as Paul says it is (1 Corinthians 14:3, 12, 26)—even though both of them are fallible, mixed with human imperfection, and in need of testing?

Creating a New Category in Our Thinking 

The point of what I have been saying is this: we need to create a category in our thinking for a kind of speech that is Spirit-prompted, Spirit-sustained, revelation-rooted, and yet in need of testing and sifting. We need another category of prophet besides the one of true prophet, on the one hand, who spoke with infallible, verbal inspiration (the prophetic biblical authors and Jesus and the apostles), and false prophet, on the other hand, who is condemned in Deuteronomy 13:3; 18:20 (cf. Jeremiah 23:16). The teaching that we find in the Bible about prophecy is simply not exhausted by these two categories. We need a third category for the "spiritual gift of prophecy"—Spirit-prompted, Spirit-sustained, revelation-rooted, but mixed with human imperfection and fallibility and therefore in need of sifting.

I say sifting because in 1 Thessalonians 5:19–22 that is what happens. It is not the prophet who is being tested as true or false. It is the prophecies that are being sifted for what is good and bad. "Do not quench the Spirit, do not despise prophecies, but test everything; hold fast to what is good, abstain from every form of evil." This is not an either/or situation where you either have a true, infallible prophet or a false, presumptuous prophet. It is a situation in which some of the prophecy is good and some is not.

Paul says that if we despise it because of this imperfection, we quench the Spirit. I hope you want to avoid that with all your heart. How shall we do that? There is so much more to say. I will pick it up here tonight, give additional reasons, and practical implications. May the Lord himself teach us even this afternoon.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org