八福和神国的福音

《马太福音》5章1至12节

耶稣看见这许多人,就上了山,既已坐下,门徒到他跟前来。 他就开口教训他们说,虚心的人有福了,因为天国是他们的。 哀恸的人有福了,因为他们必得安慰。 温柔的人有福了,因为他们必承受地土。 饥渴慕义的人有福了,因为他们必得饱足。 怜恤人的人有福了,因为他们必蒙怜恤。 清心的人有福了,因为他们必得见神。 使人和睦的人有福了,因为他们必称为神的儿子。 为义受逼迫的人有福了,因为天国是他们的。 人若因我辱骂你们,逼迫你们,捏造各样坏话毁谤你们,你们就有福了。 应当欢喜快乐,因为你们在天上的赏赐是大的。在你们以前的先知,人也是这样逼迫他们。

我们从今天开始要用八周时间,来学习《马太福音》5章3至12节有关八福的系列内容。我们差不多每周学习八福中的一福。但我们今天的重点是在耶稣的传道生涯这个更宽广的背景下,探讨整体的八福。我们先来看几个问题,首先,什么是八福?八福是否是我们承受永生所必需的条件?八福是否是对门徒生命中神的大能的颂赞? 或者二者皆有?我们怎么知道呢?

今天让我们从八福之外的一个更广阔的背景开始,然后我们再回来探讨八福中的每一项祝福。

《马太福音》的结构

请注意《马太福音》4章23节。这一节是对耶稣在世上服侍的总结:“耶稣走遍加利利,在各会堂里教训人,传天国的福音,医治百姓各样的病症。”换句话说,即:耶稣在地上所做的就是向人传讲天国近了的消息、教导人天国之道,并通过医治病人彰显天国的旨意与全能。教训人、传福音和医治病人就是耶稣在地上的事工。

现在来看《马太福音》九章35节。我们可以看到字面上几乎和23节一样的总结:“耶稣走遍各城各乡,在会堂里教训人,宣讲天国的福音,又医治各样的病症。”

那么,在耶稣事工的这两项总结之间是些什么内容呢?在此,我们看到两个主要部分:5到7章主要是关于耶稣的教导,称为登山宝训;8章和9章主要是关于耶稣医治病人的故事。马太在这里展现给我们的是,5章作为一个单元的结构:首先是有关耶稣对天国之道的特别教导;其次耶稣用医病和神迹来展现天国的大能。

认识这一点的价值在于,它能提醒我们不可把这段话的任何小节独立分开。马太是本书的作者,他是受圣灵默示的使徒,他以一种特殊的方式把所有的资料组合在一起。因此,我们应该留意这种方式,因为马太藉此表达出特别的含义。

教导人和医治人的主耶稣

举个例子,我们可以马上告诉你,没有耶稣医治麻风病人和百夫长的仆人、平静风浪以及赶鬼的神迹,你就无法理解耶稣的登山宝训。作者讲到耶稣的教导,自然会提到耶稣行的神迹。现今有些人会霸道地说,他们尊崇这位道德楷模耶稣的登山宝训,但不想和一个能平息风浪和赶鬼的神灵有什么关系。

另一些人可能会陷入另一种试探。他们可能对耶稣行的神迹非常痴迷, 至于耶稣的教训,如“不可称弟兄无知、不可放荡、不可离婚、不可起誓、不可以恶报恶,要爱你的仇敌”――如果让他们接受这类“干涉他们个人生活方式”的教训,他们就对耶稣没什么兴趣了,他们喜欢的是那位能医治他们疾病的神奇术士。

马太的观点是:教导登山宝训的主,与呼召我们在生活中跟随他,并依靠他能力的那位主,是同一位。他的权能和作为与他的教导是不可分割的。实际上,我们很快会在八福中清楚地看到这一点。

群众和门徒

我们来看《马太福音》5章1节

耶稣看见这许多人,就上了山,既已坐下,门徒到他跟前来。他就开口教训他们说……

观众很可能围坐成里外两圈:除了里面坐着门徒,还有外围坐着的群众 。5章1节说耶稣教导他的门徒,但接着我们看到《马太福音》7章28节,这篇讲道的结尾处写道:

耶稣讲完了这些话,众人都希奇他的教训。因为他教训他们,正像有权柄的人,不像他们的文士。

很明显群众在听耶稣的教导,虽然讲道主要是为门徒预备的,但耶稣也想让群众听。我在这想提醒大家,伯利恒教会的主日讲道也是如此。神的道主要是为喂养、坚固、激励神子民的生命。但我祷告祈求,愿越来越多对基督教信仰好奇、观望、怀疑和探寻的人也能来到我们教会,就像那些上山坐在门徒外围听耶稣讲道的群众一样。我们相信,尽管讲道主要是针对信徒的,但充满圣灵恩膏和权柄的神的话语具有唤醒人心的大能,神的话能使失丧者转向基督并一心寻求他的荣美。 我鼓励你们放心地邀请未信主的朋友来参加伯利恒教会的主日崇拜。主对我们所说的话,正是要唤醒人心中归向耶稣的渴望。

讲道开始

门徒围坐在耶稣的脚前,群众坐在外围,耶稣开始给他们讲天国之道。

主会怎么开始讲呢?他一开始就宣告有一种人是有福的。 “福”在拉丁文中是快乐、有福的意思 ,因此我们称这些宣告为“八福”。现在我们来了解这八福是怎么组合在一起的。

八福一体

5章3-8节的八个祝福的描述方式是一样的,都是在说什么样的人有福了。第11节似乎可被视作第九福,但实际上它是第10节“为义受逼迫的人有福了,因为天国是他们的”的延展。第11节中的辱骂是第10节中逼迫的具体例子。

当你注意第一福和第八福时,你可以看出第3-10节的八福是一个整体。注意第3节第一福应许说:“虚心的人有福了,因为天国是他们的。” 再看一下第10节第八福的应许:“为义受逼迫的人有福了,因为天国是他们的。”二者有相同的应许――“天国是他们的。”

但在两福之间的其他六福是完全不同的。第4节说:“因为他们必得安慰。”第5节说:“他们必承受地土。”第6节说:“因为他们必得饱足。”第7节说:“因为他们必蒙怜恤。”第8节说:“因为他们必得见神。”第9节说:“因为他们必称为神的儿子。”

将来的应许包含在现今的保证中

请注意这些都是将来的应许。“他们必受安慰……他们必承受地土……他们必得饱足……”等。但第3节和第10节中的第一和最后一福是关乎现在的:门徒得到确据――“天国是他们的”。

这种前后两福加上中间六福的表述方式有什么含义呢?我认为至少有两点含义。

天国的祝福

首先,在开头和结尾的“天国是他们的”这两个保证中间是六个应许,我认为耶稣是要告诉我们这六个应许是天国的祝福。换句话说,当你成为神国一份子时,你就可以获得这六福。随天国而来的是:拥有安慰、地土、公义 、怜悯、神的异象,和神儿子的尊贵地位。你无需在这些应许中挑挑拣拣,因为它们都属于天国。这是我看见的第一个含义,耶稣以 “天国是他们的” 这个保证开始,并以同样的保证结束,这二者之间夹着六个天国的应许。

现在和将来的国度

这一表述形式还有另一含义。这从句子时态的不同就可以看到。第一个和最后一个保证是现在时态,而它们之间的六福是将来时态, 3节和10节中“天国是他们的”是现在时,而4-9节“他们必得安慰……他们必承受地土……”是将来时。我认为耶稣是以这种方式宣告,门徒现在已在天国之中,(“天国是他们的”)但天国的所有祝福必须等到将来才能完全实现。(“他们必承受地土。”)

我们也可以说,耶稣靠着自己王者的全能和与人的联合,已经把天国带到地上。并且,我可以在地上预尝天国的滋味;但天国生活的全部经历必须等到将来才可体会到。

在八福中我们清楚地看到这一层含义。

受安慰

举几个例子。第4节说,那些哀恸的人有一天将会得到安慰。正如《启示录》21章4节所说,“神要擦去他们一切的眼泪。不再有死亡,也不再有悲哀,哭号,疼痛,因为以前的事都过去了。”但是请看第11至12节:“人若因我辱骂你们,逼迫你们,捏造各样坏话毁谤你们,你们就有福了。应当欢喜快乐,因为你们在天上的赏赐是大的。”换句话说,就算末后安慰的赏赐存留在天上,我们现在仍可在苦难中欢喜。这欢喜不正是因我们预尝了所应许的安慰吗?

蒙怜恤

现在来思想第7节:这一节的应许是,“他们必蒙怜恤。”但在18章23-35节那个仆人不愿饶恕他人的比喻中,国王对这个恶仆人说,“你不应当怜恤你的同伴像我怜恤你吗?”换言之,耶稣教导我们不必等到永生去得怜恤,我们已经因耶稣得蒙怜恤。我们在罪得赦免和今生无数的祝福中已被怜恤。

被称作神的儿子

再思想第9节。它的应许是,“他们必称为神的儿子。”正如《罗马书》8章23节所说,“不但如此,就是我们这有圣灵初结果子的,也是自己心里叹息,等候得着儿子的名分,乃是我们的身体得赎。”所以,作为神子女的所有待遇要等到复活的那天才能完全实现。但第16节说:“你们的光也当这样照在人前,叫他们看见你们的好行为,便将荣耀归给你们在天上的父。”神已经是我们的父!我们已成为他的儿子!也就是说,我们现在已预先享受到儿子的名分。

这三个例子的关键是天国是现在和将来都存在。我们已预先体验了神的统治,但将来会经历到神更大的权柄。我想这就是为什么第3节和第10节应许我们“天国是他们的”,但第4至9节应许将来还有天国的祝福,祝福包括现在和将来。

最重要的一课

这一点对于你了解基督信仰是至关重要的。没有这样的认识你就无法理解登山宝训。如果不以此为前提,你怎么能理解第7节说的神的怜恤作为天国的祝福不仅在今生也在来世?“怜恤人的必蒙怜恤。”这句话是说神保留它的怜悯一直到将来降罚的日子,怜恤人的人才能得他的怜恤吗?这一段看上去就是这个意思。

如果你已经听了天国的福音(4:23; 24:14),就是说,你已经知道天国近了,且耶稣现在正像拖网一样在召聚天国的子民 (13:47-50);如果你知道天国的大能存在于现在和将来,那么,你会明白使我们成为怜恤人(就是现在!)的人是神伟大怜悯的工作,这就是18章33节的关键――“你不应当怜恤你的同伴像我怜恤你吗?”神先怜恤我们,为要我们学习怜恤别人。天国大能的怜恤靠着耶稣基督和圣灵的大能已来到。

神现在怜悯我们,不是只为等到末日审判时看我们是否已有他的怜悯之心。神不是光等着,他好像把网撒在海里,聚拢各样水族,并将人拉回到生命、盼望、喜乐和怜悯之中(13:47-50)。耶稣说:“若不是差我来的父吸引人,就没有能到我这里来的。”(约6:44)。耶稣又说,“所以我对你们说过,若不是蒙我父的恩赐,没有人能到我这里来。”(约6:65)。

天国的怜恤已在人间

天国的怜恤在地上要把人吸引到基督那里,打开人的眼睛看见基督。你还记得当彼得承认耶稣是弥赛亚时,耶稣对他说了什么?“耶稣对他说,西门巴约拿,你是有福的。因为这不是属血肉的指示你的,乃是我在天上的父指示的。”(太16:17)。神并没等彼得是否能认出耶稣是弥赛亚,他亲自开了彼得的眼。彼得不是靠血肉之躯得到这个启示的!这乃是神的作为!

不是你们拣选了我,是我拣选了你们(约15:16)。若不是差我来的父吸引人,就没有能到我这里来的(约6:44)。不是你先认识基督;而是神先开你的双眼(太6:17)。这一切都出自神的怜恤!“据此看来,这不在乎那定意的,也不在乎那奔跑的,只在乎发怜悯的神。”(罗9:16)

试着理解这一点,使之成为你生命中的重要部分。圣经一再教导我们,只要我们现在行在神所定的道路上,将来神必会施恩怜悯我们。另外也有许多经节告诉我们,神已经向我们施怜悯,引导我们行在他的道路当中。这并不矛盾,这是井然有序的合乎圣经的生活。靠着神的怜悯我们重生也成圣了。当我们来到神审判的宝座前时,他会说,“你是一个罪人,但我在你的生命中看到我爱子丰盛怜悯的果实。你对别人的怜悯正是耶稣对你怜悯的凭证。因他的缘故,我现在要再施怜悯给你。来,承受在创世之初早已为你预备的国吧。”

看见八福的本质

除非你看出八福是天国生活的重要部分,否则,你无法理解它的本质。已经拥有这些祝福的人是多么有福气,八福是一种蒙福的宣告,是天国的大能。你可能说:“有福!有福!有福的人是有天国能力运行在他里面,因为他将承受天国无限的欢乐,直到永永远远。”八福是一种宣告:那些虚心、哀恸、温柔、饥渴慕义、怜恤、清心、和平和为义受逼迫的人,他们拥有极大的福气。

不仅如此,八福也在温和地邀请你成为这种蒙祝福的人。门徒坐在耶稣的脚边,听他的教导好像是在听贺词一样,“你们是多么有福阿,我亲爱的弟兄!你们被神拣选是多么有福,你们的眼睛被打开,能够来到救主面前,成为灵里虚心、哀恸、温柔、饥渴、怜恤、清心以及和平的人!欢喜快乐吧!向神感恩,我所爱的门徒们,你就是这样的人,但这不是你们自己的作为!而是神在你们生命中的工作!”所以,门徒听到的八福就像在颂赞神在他们生命中的作为。

那么,那些站在门徒后面的群众呢?他们能听懂这些贺词吗?他们应怎样做才能听懂?如果他们并不虚心、哀恸、温柔,也不渴慕公义、怜恤与和平,那这些话对他们意味着什么呢?显然,这些话对他们不是贺词。你不可能在婚宴上恭祝一个没有穿礼服的客人说他的礼服好看(太22:11-14)。

接下来呢?如果你看到一个受邀参加宴席的人身穿特定的礼服,那迎宾的话语难道不会让你心有所动,也想要一件同样的礼服吗?如果你看见灵里亏缺、哀恸、温柔,渴慕公义、怜恤与和平的人得到永生祝福的应许时,那些应许难道不会召唤你也去成为那样的人吗? 难道你的心中不会种下能萌发这美丽花朵的种子吗?有些人会,有些人或许不会。如果这些应许不在你里面,噢,你应该迫切地祷告求神,不要把你留在困苦和迷惑之中。

所以,八福是给门徒的贺词――他们是已被永生在今生力量所唤醒的一群人。八福也是对那些群众的邀请――那些出于宗教传统、好奇心或是对信仰的质疑而来主日聚会的人。对有些人来说,八福是他们靠着神的大能和怜悯转变人生观念的良言。

八福对你意味着什么?

下周,我们将以一个绝望的罪人所能听到的最好的信息为开始:为了和神建立关系,我们需要经历属灵的破产。这是所有条件中最容易也是最难的一个。有什么比两手空空更容易来到神的面前呢?当然,如果你非要两手抓住你的钱和你的权利不放的话,就另当别论了。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

The Beatitudes and the Gospel of the Kingdom

Seeing the crowds, he went up on the mountain, and when he sat down his disciples came to him. And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying:
"Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
"Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
"Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.
"Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
"Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
"Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
"Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
"Blessed are you when men reviled you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so men persecuted the prophets who were before you."

We begin today an eight week series on the Beatitudes of Matthew 5:3–12. We will devote almost a week to each one. But our focus today has to be on the group as a whole in the wider context of Jesus' ministry. We have to answer the questions, What are these beatitudes? Do they spell out conditions we must meet in order to inherit eternal life? Do they celebrate the power of God in the life of the disciples? Could it be both? How do we know?

Let's begin today by with our lens open more widely than just the beatitudes. Then we will narrow it down to the beatitudes themselves.

The Structure of Matthew

Notice Matthew 4:23. It is a summary statement of Jesus' earthly ministry: "And he went about all Galilee, teaching in their synagogues and preaching the gospel of the kingdom and healing every disease and every infirmity among the people." One way to restate that verse would be to say that Jesus made it his ministry to preach the coming of the kingdom, teach the way of the kingdom, and demonstrate the purpose and power of the kingdom by healing the sick. Preaching, teaching, and healing.

Now turn to Matthew 9:35. Almost verbatim we find the same summary: "And Jesus went about all the cities and villages, teaching in their synagogues and preaching the gospel of the kingdom, and healing every disease and every infirmity."

Then when we look to see what is sandwiched between these two summary descriptions of Jesus' ministry, what we see are two major sections: chapters 5–7 are a collection of Jesus' teaching called the Sermon on the Mount; and chapters 8 and 9 are a collection of stories mainly about his healing ministry. So what it appears we have is a five chapter unit designed by Matthew to present us first with some typical teaching of the Lord concerning the way of the kingdom, and second with some typical healings and miracles to demonstrate the power of the kingdom.

The value of seeing this is that it warns us against treating any little piece of this section in isolation. Matthew is the writer here and he is putting his material together in a particular way. He is the inspired apostle, and we should care about how he chose to put things together. That is the way he gets across his meaning.

The Jesus Who Teaches and Heals 

For example, one thing we can say right off the bat is that you can't have the Jesus of the Sermon of the Mount without the Jesus who cleansed the leper, and healed the centurion's servant, and stilled the storm, and cast out demons. The writer who gives us the one, gives us the other, and it is arbitrary to do what some modern folk try to do: namely, say that they admire the ethical teacher of the Sermon on the Mount but they don't want to get involved with the spooky supernatural Person who stills storms and casts out demons.

Or for some the opposite temptation may overcome them. They may have a charismatic fascination with the miracles of Jesus, but when it comes to reckoning with the One who said, "Don't call your brother a fool, don't lust, don't get divorced, don't swear, don't return evil for evil, love your enemy"—well, they like the miracle worker who heals their diseases, but this radical intruder into their personal lifestyle, they are not so interested in him.

Matthew's point is that the Lord who teaches like this in the Sermon on the Mount is the same Lord who calls us to follow him through life and depend upon his power. His personal work and power are inseparable from his teaching. In fact we will see right away that this is clear even in the beatitudes.

The Crowds and the Disciples 

So let's go to Matthew 5:1ff.

Seeing the crowds, he went up on the mountain, and when he sat down his disciples came to him. And he opened his mouth and taught them saying . . .

The audience is probably two concentric circles: the inner circle of the disciples, and the outer circle of the "crowds." It says in verse 1 that he taught his disciples. But look at the end of the sermon in Matthew 7:28,

And when Jesus finished these sayings, the crowds were astonished at his teaching, for he taught them as one who had authority, and not as their scribes.

So it is clear that the crowds were listening and that Jesus wanted them to listen even though the sermon is primarily addressed to professing disciples. Let me mention here that this is the way our Sunday services at Bethlehem are conceived. Primarily the word is prepared to feed and strengthen and inspire the worship and life of God's people. But we pray that more and more there will be the curious, the onlookers, the skeptical, the searchers, the doubters who come to Bethlehem the way the crowds gathered in behind the disciples on the mount. We believe that the Spirit-anointed, authoritative preaching of the Word of God has a peculiar power to awaken unbelievers to the truth and beauty of Christ—even when it is addressed primarily to disciples. So I would urge you to feel free to invite any and every one to our Sunday services at Bethlehem. It is precisely the things our Lord has to say to US that can awaken desire in others to come to Christ.

The Sermon Begins 

So the sermon begins with the disciples gathered at the feet of Jesus and with the crowds listening in.

How will the Lord begin? He begins by pronouncing a certain kind of person fortunate. We call these pronouncements "beatitudes" from the Latin word for happiness or blessedness. Let's see how the whole group is put together.

Eight Beatitudes, One Unit

There are eight beatitudes worded in the same way. Verse 11 could be viewed as a ninth one, but it is really an expansion of verse 10 and is worded differently from the others. It says, "Blessed are you when men revile you." None of the others say, "Blessed are you." It is probably an expansion of verse 10, which says, "Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness' sake." The reviling in verse 11 is a specific instance of the persecution in verse 10.

You can see that the eight beatitudes of verses 3–10 are a unit when you look at the first and the eighth. Notice the promise of the first beatitude in verse 3: "Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven." And notice the promise of the eighth beatitude in verse 10: "Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Both of them have the identical promise, "For theirs is the kingdom of heaven."

But the other six beatitudes sandwiched between these two are all different. Verse 4: "For they shall be comforted." Verse 5: "For they shall inherit the earth." Verse 6: "For they shall be satisfied." Verse 7: "For they shall obtain mercy." Verse 8: "For they shall see God." Verse 9: "For they shall be called the sons of God."

Future Promises Sandwiched by Present Assurance

Notice that all of these are promises for the future. "They shall be comforted . . . They shall inherit the earth . . . They shall be satisfied . . . " And so on. But the promise of the first and last beatitude in verses 3 and 10 seems to relate to the present: the disciples are assured that "theirs is the kingdom of heaven."

Now what is the meaning of this pattern? I think there are at least two implications.

The Blessings of the Kingdom

First, by sandwiching six promises in between two assurances that such people have the kingdom of heaven, I think Jesus means to tell us that these six promises are blessings of the kingdom. In other words, these six things are what you can count on when you are a part of God's kingdom. This is what the kingdom brings: comfort, earth ownership, satisfied righteousness, mercy, a vision of God, and the awesome title, son of God. You don't have to pick and choose among these promises. They all belong to the kingdom. That is the first implication I see in the fact that Jesus begins with the assurance, "Theirs is the kingdom of heaven," and ends with the assurance, "Theirs is the kingdom of heaven," with six promises sandwiched in between.

A Present yet Future Kingdom

The other implication of this pattern comes from the fact that the first and last assurances are present tense, and the six in the middle are future. "Theirs is the kingdom of heaven" in verses 3 and 10. But, "They shall be comforted . . . They shall inherit the earth . . . " and so on in verses 4–9. I think this is Jesus' way of saying that in some sense the kingdom of heaven is present with the disciples now ("Theirs is the kingdom of heaven") but that the full blessings of the kingdom will have to wait for the age to come ("They shall inherit the earth").

Another way to put it is that Jesus has brought the kingdom of heaven to earth in his own kingly power and fellowship, and we can enjoy foretastes of it here and now; but the full experience of the life of the kingdom will have to wait for the age to come.

You can see exactly what this means right here in the beatitudes.

Being Comforted

Take several examples. Verse 4 says that those who mourn will one day be comforted. As Revelation 21:4 says, "God will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning nor crying nor pain any more." But look at verses 11 and 12: "Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven." In other words, even though the final reward of comfort is kept for us in heaven, we can now rejoice even in the midst of suffering. And is not this joy a foretaste of the promised comfort? There is no joy without some element of comfort.

Obtaining Mercy

Or consider verse 7: It promises, "They shall obtain mercy." But in the parable of the unforgiving servant in Matthew 18:23–35 the king says to the wicked servant, "And should not you have had mercy on your fellow servant, as I had mercy on you?" In other words, Jesus teaches that we do not merely wait for the age to come to receive mercy. It has come in Jesus. We taste it here and now in forgiveness of sins and innumerable blessings of this life.

Being Called Sons of God

Or consider verse 9. It promises, "They shall be called sons of God." As Romans 8:23 says, "We groan inwardly as we wait for the adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies." So the full benefits of being sons of God await the resurrection. But look at verse 16: "Let your light so shine before men, that they may see you good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven." God is already our Father! We are already sons! That is, we have a foretaste of sonship now.

The point of these three examples is that the kingdom of heaven is both present and future. We have foretastes of the reign of God now, but we will experience vastly more in the future. I think this is why verses 3 and 10 assure us that "theirs is the kingdom of heaven," but verses 4–9 promise that the kingdom blessings are still in the future. It is both.

One of the Most Important Lessons 

And this is one of the most important things you can learn about the Christian faith. Without this insight the Sermon on the Mount simply cannot be understood. For example, what will you make of verse 7 without this insight that the kingdom blessings of God's mercy are both present and future? It says, "Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy." Does this mean that God withholds his mercy until the future day of reckoning and waits to see if we will be merciful enough to earn his mercy? That is what it looks like it says.

But if you know the gospel of the kingdom (4:23; 24:14), that is, if you know the good news that the kingdom has already come and is now at work like a dragnet gathering in a people for the kingdom (13:47–50)—if you know that the power of the kingdom is already present as well as future, then you will know that our becoming merciful is (right now!) a work of God's kingly mercy. That is the point of Matthew 18:33—The king said "And should not you have had mercy on your fellow servant, as I had mercy on you?" God's prior mercy enables us to be merciful. The powerful mercy of the kingdom has already come in Jesus Christ and in the power of the Holy Spirit.

God is not just waiting like a Judge at the end of the age to see whether or not we will be able to earn his mercy then by showing mercy now. God is not merely waiting, he is casting the net of mercy into the sea of the world and dragging people to life and hope and joy and mercy (13:47–50). "No one can come to me unless the Father draws him," Jesus said (John 6:44). "No one can come to me unless it is granted him by the Father" (John 6:65).

The Mercy of the Kingdom Already in the World 

The mercy of the kingdom is in the world drawing people to Christ. The mercy of the kingdom is in the world opening people's eyes to Christ. Do you remember what Jesus said to Peter when Peter confessed him to be the Messiah? "Blessed are you Simon Bar-Jona! For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven" (Matthew 16:17). God is not waiting to see if Peter will recognize Jesus as the Messiah. He opened his eyes. Flesh and blood has not revealed this to you Simon! God has!

You did not choose him first; he chose you (John 15:16). You did not come to him first; he drew you (John 6:44). You did not recognize Christ first; God opened your eyes (Matthew 6:17). And all this is mercy, mercy, mercy! "It is not of him who wills or runs but of God who has MERCY" (Romans 9:16).

Try to grasp this and make it part of your very being. Many passages of Scripture teach that God will show mercy on us in the future if we live a certain way now. Many other passages of Scripture teach that God has already shown us mercy, enabling us to live in a certain way now. These are not inconsistent. This is the very fabric of biblical life. We are born anew by the mercy of God. We are sanctified by the mercy of God. And when we get to the judgment seat of God, he will say, "You are still a sinner. But I see in your life the distinguishing fruit of my Son's mercy. Your mercy on others is the evidence of his mercy in you. And for his sake I now show you mercy again. Come, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world."

Seeing the Beatitudes for What They Are 

Unless you see the beatitudes as part of this biblical fabric, you will not be able to understand them for what they are. They are an announcement of how fortunate people are who already possess, as it were, the power of the kingdom. You might say: "Blessed! Blessed! And fortunate are you who have the kingdom power at work within you, for you will inherit the kingdom with all its infinite pleasures forever and ever." The beatitudes are announcements that people like this are very blessed, very fortunate.

But that is not all. The beatitudes also contain an implicit invitation to become this kind of person. The disciples sit at Jesus' feet and hear his words as congratulations. "O how fortunate you are, my dear brothers! O how fortunate you are to be chosen of God, to have your eyes opened, to be drawn to the Savior, to be poor and mourning and meek and hungry and merciful and pure and peaceable! Rejoice! Rejoice and give thanks, my beloved disciples, that you are this kind of person, for it is not your own doing! It is the reign of God in your life." So the disciples hear the beatitudes as words of celebration about the work of God in their lives.

But what about the crowds standing behind the disciples? How do they hear these words of congratulations? How should they hear them, if they are not poor in spirit, if they are not mourning or meek or hungry for righteousness or merciful or pure or peaceable? What do these words mean for them? They are certainly not congratulations. You can't congratulate a guest on his wedding garment if he doesn't have it on (Matthew 22:11–14).

What then? If you see people being welcomed to a feast with a certain garment on, don't the words of welcome stir you up to go get a garment like that? And if you see people being promised the blessings of eternal life because they are poor in spirit and mourning and meek and hungry for righteousness and merciful and pure and peaceable, don't those words of promise beckon you to become that kind of person? Indeed, don't they beget in you the seeds of those very flowers? Perhaps not. But for some they do. And if they don't in you, O, how you should pray that God would not leave you in such a hard and impenitent condition.

So the beatitudes are words of celebration for disciples—people who have been awakened by the present power of the age to come. And they are words of invitation for the crowds—the people who come to worship out of tradition or curiosity or skepticism. And for some they are words of transformation—by the power and mercy of God.

What Are They for You?

Next week we begin with the best news a hopeless sinner could ever hear: the condition we must meet in order to have any dealings with God is spiritual bankruptcy. It is the easiest—and hardest—condition of all. What could be easier than having an empty hand? Unless you are clutching a $1,000 bill, or a personal "bill of rights"?

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org