سقوط الشيطان وانتصار المسيح

وَكَانَتِ الْحَيَّةُ أَحْيَلَ جَمِيعِ حَيَوَانَاتِ الْبَرِّيَّةِ الَّتِي عَمِلَهَا الرَّبُّ الإِلهُ، فَقَالَتْ لِلْمَرْأَةِ: «أَحَقًّا قَالَ اللهُ لاَ تَأْكُلاَ مِنْ كُلِّ شَجَرِ الْجَنَّةِ؟» فَقَالَتِ الْمَرْأَةُ لِلْحَيَّةِ: «مِنْ ثَمَرِ شَجَرِ الْجَنَّةِ نَأْكُلُ، وَأَمَّا ثَمَرُ الشَّجَرَةِ الَّتِي فِي وَسَطِ الْجَنَّةِ فَقَالَ اللهُ: لاَ تَأْكُلاَ مِنْهُ وَلاَ تَمَسَّاهُ لِئَلاَّ تَمُوتَا». فَقَالَتِ الْحَيَّةُ لِلْمَرْأَةِ: «لَنْ تَمُوتَا! بَلِ اللهُ عَالِمٌ أَنَّهُ يَوْمَ تَأْكُلاَنِ مِنْهُ تَنْفَتِحُ أَعْيُنُكُمَا وَتَكُونَانِ كَاللهِ عَارِفَيْنِ الْخَيْرَ وَالشَّرَّ». فَرَأَتِ الْمَرْأَةُ أَنَّ الشَّجَرَةَ جَيِّدَةٌ لِلأَكْلِ، وَأَنَّهَا بَهِجَةٌ لِلْعُيُونِ، وَأَنَّ الشَّجَرَةَ شَهِيَّةٌ لِلنَّظَرِ. فَأَخَذَتْ مِنْ ثَمَرِهَا وَأَكَلَتْ، وَأَعْطَتْ رَجُلَهَا أَيْضًا مَعَهَا فَأَكَلَ. فَانْفَتَحَتْ أَعْيُنُهُمَا وَعَلِمَا أَنَّهُمَا عُرْيَانَانِ. فَخَاطَا أَوْرَاقَ تِينٍ وَصَنَعَا لأَنْفُسِهِمَا مَآزِرَ.

وَسَمِعَا صَوْتَ الرَّبِّ الإِلهِ مَاشِيًا فِي الْجَنَّةِ عِنْدَ هُبُوبِ رِيحِ النَّهَارِ، فَاخْتَبَأَ آدَمُ وَامْرَأَتُهُ مِنْ وَجْهِ الرَّبِّ الإِلهِ فِي وَسَطِ شَجَرِ الْجَنَّةِ. فَنَادَى الرَّبُّ الإِلهُ آدَمَ وَقَالَ لَهُ: «أَيْنَ أَنْتَ؟». فَقَالَ: «سَمِعْتُ صَوْتَكَ فِي الْجَنَّةِ فَخَشِيتُ، لأَنِّي عُرْيَانٌ فَاخْتَبَأْتُ». فَقَالَ: «مَنْ أَعْلَمَكَ أَنَّكَ عُرْيَانٌ؟ هَلْ أَكَلْتَ مِنَ الشَّجَرَةِ الَّتِي أَوْصَيْتُكَ أَنْ لاَ تَأْكُلَ مِنْهَا؟» فَقَالَ آدَمُ: «الْمَرْأَةُ الَّتِي جَعَلْتَهَا مَعِي هِيَ أَعْطَتْنِي مِنَ الشَّجَرَةِ فَأَكَلْتُ». فَقَالَ الرَّبُّ الإِلهُ لِلْمَرْأَةِ: «مَا هذَا الَّذِي فَعَلْتِ؟» فَقَالَتِ الْمَرْأَةُ: «الْحَيَّةُ غَرَّتْنِي فَأَكَلْتُ». فَقَالَ الرَّبُّ الإِلهُ لِلْحَيَّةِ: «لأَنَّكِ فَعَلْتِ هذَا، مَلْعُونَةٌ أَنْتِ مِنْ جَمِيعِ الْبَهَائِمِ وَمِنْ جَمِيعِ وُحُوشِ الْبَرِّيَّةِ. عَلَى بَطْنِكِ تَسْعَيْنَ وَتُرَابًا تَأْكُلِينَ كُلَّ أَيَّامِ حَيَاتِكِ. وَأَضَعُ عَدَاوَةً بَيْنَكِ وَبَيْنَ الْمَرْأَةِ، وَبَيْنَ نَسْلِكِ وَنَسْلِهَا. هُوَ يَسْحَقُ رَأْسَكِ، وَأَنْتِ تَسْحَقِينَ عَقِبَهُ»."

عندما نأتي لسفر التكوين إصحاح 3، يبدو كل شيء على ما يرام. تكوين 1: 31 يقول: "رَأَى اللهُ كُلَّ مَا عَمِلَهُ فَإِذَا هُوَ حَسَنٌ جِدًّا." فالله لم يخلق أي شيء شرير. كان كل شيء حسن جدا.

ثم فجأة عند بداية الإصحاح الثالث، نجد هذه الحيّة. ومن الواضح إنها شريرة. فهي تشكك في كلمة الله. الآية 1 "أَحَقًّا قَالَ اللهُ لاَ تَأْكُلاَ مِنْ كُلِّ شَجَرِ الْجَنَّةِ؟" فهي ملتوية وخادعة ومدمرة. لقد قال الله في تكوين 2: 17 "لأَنَّكَ يَوْمَ تَأْكُلُ مِنْهَا [هذه الشجرة] مَوْتًا تَمُوتُ." ولكن الحية قالت في الآية 4 "لَنْ تَمُوتَا! 5بَلِ اللهُ عَالِمٌ أَنَّهُ يَوْمَ تَأْكُلاَنِ مِنْهُ تَنْفَتِحُ أَعْيُنُكُمَا وَتَكُونَانِ كَاللهِ عَارِفَيْنِ الْخَيْرَ وَالشَّرّ." لذلك، يقول المسيح عن ذلك في يوحنا 8: 44 أنه كذاب وقاتل أيضا. وأضاف "ذَاكَ كَانَ قَتَّالاً لِلنَّاسِ مِنَ الْبَدْءِ، وَلَمْ يَثْبُتْ فِي الْحَقِّ لأَنَّهُ لَيْسَ فِيهِ حَقٌّ. مَتَى تَكَلَّمَ بِالْكَذِبِ فَإِنَّمَا يَتَكَلَّمُ مِمَّا لَهُ، لأَنَّهُ كَذَّابٌ وَأَبُو الْكَذَّابِ."

الشيطان، الحيّة القديمة:

من هي هذه الحيّة؟ نجد الإجابة على أكمل وجه في سفر الرؤيا 12: 9 "فَطُرِحَ التِّنِّينُ الْعَظِيمُ، الْحَيَّةُ الْقَدِيمَةُ الْمَدْعُوُّ إبليس وَالشَّيْطَانَ، الَّذِي يُضِلُّ الْعَالَمَ كُلَّهُ، طُرِحَ إِلَى الأَرْضِ، وَطُرِحَتْ مَعَهُ مَلاَئِكَتُهُ." فالحيّة التي كانت في الجنّة هي الشيطان (ويعني المفتري)، وإبليس (ويعني المشتكي)، ومخادع العالم كله. يدعوه يسوع "الشِّرِّيرُ" (متى 13: 19)، و"رَئِيسُ هذَا الْعَالَمِ" (يوحنا 12: 31؛ 14: 30 ؛ 16: 11). الفريسيون يطلقون عليه "بَعْلَزَبولَ رَئِيسِ الشَّيَاطِينِ" (متى 12: 24). بولس يدعوه "إِلهُ هذَا الدَّهْرِ" (2 كورنثوس 4: 4) و"رَئِيسِ سُلْطَانِ الْهَوَاءِ" (أفسس 2: 2).

هذا هو ما نجده في تكوين 3. هو بالفعل شرير، بالفعل مضل، وبالفعل قاتل حين ظهر في جنة الله. في الآية 15، يتحدث الله إلى الحيّة ويعلن دينونته عليها: "أَضَعُ عَدَاوَةً بَيْنَكِ وَبَيْنَ الْمَرْأَةِ، وَبَيْنَ نَسْلِكِ وَنَسْلِهَا. هُوَ يَسْحَقُ رَأْسَكِ، وَأَنْتِ تَسْحَقِينَ عَقِبَهُ" لاحظ أنه في البداية يبدو أن الحرب ستكون بين ذريتين: "بَيْنَ نَسْلِكِ وَنَسْلِهَا." ولكن في الكلمات التالية يقول شيئا مختلفا: "هُوَ يَسْحَقُ رَأْسَكِ." عمّن يقصد بالضمير "هُوَ"؟ الإجابة: نسل المرأة. عمّن يعود ضمير الملكيّة في كلمة "رَأْسَكِ" ("هُوَ يَسْحَقُ رَأْسَكِ")؟ الإجابة: الحيّة نفسها، وليس نسلها.

سحق الشيطان في الصليب:

سيأتي اليوم، يقول الله، عندما ستُهزم (ليس فقط نسلك) وتُزال من على وجه الأرض. سيسحقك نسل هذه المرأة (انظر رومية 16: 20 وعبراينيين 2: 14). أن الضربة الحاسمة قد وجّهت من نسل المرأة الكامل، يسوع المسيح، عندما مات على الصليب. هذا هو أحد الأسباب التي جعلت ابن الله الأزلي أن يصبح إنسانا، لأنه كان ينبغي أنّ نسل المرأة يسحق الشيطان.

تصف كولوسي 2: 14-15 ما فعله الله لأولئك الذين يثقون بابنه، عندما مات على الصليب: "إِذْ مَحَا الصَّكَّ [سجل الديون التي كانت ضدنا] الَّذِي عَلَيْنَا فِي الْفَرَائِضِ، الَّذِي كَانَ ضِدًّا لَنَا، وَقَدْ رَفَعَهُ مِنَ الْوَسَطِ مُسَمِّرًا إِيَّاهُ بِالصَّلِيبِ، إِذْ جَرَّدَ الرِّيَاسَاتِ وَالسَّلاَطِينَ أَشْهَرَهُمْ جِهَارًا، ظَافِرًا بِهِمْ فِيهِ." عندما مات المسيح من أجل خطايانا، جرّد وهزم الشيطان. وتم انتزاع سلاحه المدمر الأبدي من يده، وهو شكايته أمام الله بأننا مذنبون وينبغي أن نهلك معه. عندما مات المسيح أُلغيت هذه الشكاية. كل من يعهد نفسه للمسيح لن يهلك أبدا. فلا يمكن للشيطان أن يفصلهم عن محبة الله في المسيح (رومية 8: 37-39).

تمرّد الشيطان:

السؤال الذي يصرخ طالبا الإجابة هو: من أين أتى الشيطان؟ ولماذا يجيز الله نشاطه القاتل؟ هو يظهر في سفر التكوين. بين الكمال الموصوف في تكوين 1: 31 ("فَإِذَا هُوَ حَسَنٌ جِدًّا") وظهور الشر في تكوين 3، حدث شيء ما. الخليقة الحسنة قد أُفسدت. رسالة يهوذا القصيرة وبطرس الثانية في العهد الجديد يقدموا لنا تلميحات على ما حدث. يهوذا 1: 6 يقول: "وَالْمَلاَئِكَةُ الَّذِينَ لَمْ يَحْفَظُوا رِيَاسَتَهُمْ، بَلْ تَرَكُوا مَسْكَنَهُمْ حَفِظَهُمْ إِلَى دَيْنُونَةِ الْيَوْمِ الْعَظِيمِ بِقُيُودٍ أَبَدِيَّةٍ تَحْتَ الظَّلاَمِ." و2 بطرس 2: 4 تقول: "اللهُ لَمْ يُشْفِقْ عَلَى مَلاَئِكَةٍ قَدْ أَخْطَأُوا، بَلْ فِي سَلاَسِلِ الظَّلاَمِ طَرَحَهُمْ فِي جَهَنَّمَ، وَسَلَّمَهُمْ مَحْرُوسِينَ لِلْقَضَاءِ."

يبدو إذاً أنه كان هناك ذات مرّة مجموعة من الملائكة المقدسة. وبعض منهم، بما في ذلك الشيطان، "أَخْطَأُوا"، أو كما يقول يهوذا 1: 6 "لَمْ يَحْفَظُوا رِيَاسَتَهُمْ." وبعبارة أخرى، فإن الخطية كانت نوعا من التمرد. والرغبة في مزيد من القوة ومزيد من السلطة أكثر مما عُين لهم من قبل الله وتحت سيادة الله. فأصل الشيطان هو كونه ملاكا مخلوقا قد تمرّد، مع الملائكة أخرى، على الله، ورفضوه ملكا يجدوا فيه كفايتهم للفرح، ووضعوا لأنفسهم مسارا لتمجيد الذات وافترضوا القدرة على تقرير مصيرهم. لم يريدوا أن يكونوا مرؤوسين. لم يريدوا أن يُرسلوا من الله لخدمة الآخرين (عبرانيين 1: 14). بل أرادوا الحصول على السلطة على أنفسهم وأن يمجدوا أنفسهم فوق الله.

أصل خطية الشيطان:

لذلك نحن نسأل الآن مرة أخرى: لماذا؟ كيف يمكن أن يحدث هذا؟ لا توجد إجابة سهلة. في الواقع، فإن الجواب النهائي الكتابيّ يخلق المزيد من الأسئلة. لذا يبدو أنه في هذا الدهر، ونحن نعرف "بَعْضَ الْمَعْرِفَةِ" (1 كورنثوس 13: 12)، بعض الناس يسعفهم القول بأن الملائكة كان لديها إرادة حرة والله لم يمارس معهم ما يكفي من النفوذ لابقائهم في عبادته. ولكني لا أجد هذه الفكرة مفيدة. لأنها ببساطة لا تجيب على السؤال: لماذا يستخدم ملاكا مقدسا تماما، في الحضور البديع لله بلا حدود، إرادته الحرة كي يكره الله فجأة؟

إقتراحٌ فاشل:

فكرة أن الله كان عاجزا عن منع هذا التمرد، وأن الأمر يرجع لإرادة الملائكة البارة التي تقرر بالفطرة مصيرها الذاتي، ليست حلا للمشكلة. إنها لا تفسر لماذا تستخدم هذه الكائنات المقدسة تماما إرادتها لتحتقر من كانت تعبده منذ أن خُلقت. وهي لا تتناسب مع باقي ما يقوله الكتاب المقدس عن سيادة الله على الشيطان.

التوجّه الكتابي:

توجهي لإجابة السؤال عن كيفية التفكير في أصل خطية الشيطان هو قراءة الكتاب المقدس كله مع السؤال: كيف يتعامل الله مع إرادة الشيطان؟ هل الله عاجز أمام إرادة قوى الشر؟ هل هناك قوة خارج نفسه تحد من سيادته عليها؟ أو هل يُقدَّم الله في جميع أجزاء الكتاب المقدس بأن لديه الحق والقوة لكبح الشيطان في أي وقت يشاء؟ وإذا كان الأمر كذلك فلماذا لا يدمّره مباشرة؟

لذلك عندما اقرأ الكتاب المقدس، هذا ما أجده. مجرد غيض من فيض سلطان الله وقوته.

سيادة الله المسيطرة على الشيطان:

1) على الرغم من أن الشيطان دُعي "رَئِيسُ هذَا الْعَالَمِ" (يوحنا 12: 31)، فإن دانيال 4: 17 يقول: "الْعَلِيَّ مُتَسَلِّطٌ فِي مَمْلَكَةِ النَّاسِ، فَيُعْطِيهَا مَنْ يَشَاءُ." ومزمور 33: 10-11 يقول: "الرَّبُّ أَبْطَلَ مُؤَامَرَةَ الأُمَمِ. لاَشَى أَفْكَارَ الشُّعُوبِ. أَمَّا مُؤَامَرَةُ الرَّبِّ فَإِلَى الأَبَدِ تَثْبُتُ. أَفْكَارُ قَلْبِهِ إِلَى دَوْرٍ فَدَوْرٍ." نعم إبليس هو "رَئِيسُ هذَا الْعَالَمِ" لكن الشخص المطلق الذي يملك السيادة الحاسمة هو الله.

2) على الرغم من أن الأرواح النجسة في كل مكان تفعل أشياء خادعة وقاتلة، إلا أن يسوع المسيح لديه كل سلطان عليها، ويقول مرقس 1: 27 أنه "يَأْمُرُ حَتَّى الأَرْوَاحَ النَّجِسَةَ فَتُطِيعُهُ." عندما يأمر المسيح الشيطان، الشيطان يطيع.

3) الشيطان هو أسد زَائِر، يَجُولُ مُلْتَمِسًا مَنْ يَبْتَلِعُهُ. يقول بطرس: "فَقَاوِمُوهُ، رَاسِخِينَ فِي الإِيمَانِ، عَالِمِينَ أَنَّ نَفْسَ هذِهِ الآلاَمِ تُجْرَى عَلَى إِخْوَتِكُمُ الَّذِينَ فِي الْعَالَمِ" (1 بطرس 5: 8-9). وبعبارة أخرى، "الآلاَمِ" هي السبيل الذي من خلاله يحاول الشيطان أن يلتهم القديسين. ولكن بطرس يقول في 1 بطرس 3: 17 "لأَنَّ تَأَلُّمَكُمْ إِنْ شَاءَتْ مَشِيئَةُ اللهِ، وَأَنْتُمْ صَانِعُونَ خَيْرًا، أَفْضَلُ مِنْهُ وَأَنْتُمْ صَانِعُونَ شَرًّا." إِنْ شَاءَتْ مَشِيئَةُ اللهِ. هذه الآلاَمِ، حين تُفتح وتُغلق فكي الأسد الذي يجول خِلسة، هي فقط بحسب مشيئة الله.

4) قال يسوع: نعم، إبليس قاتل منذ البدء (يوحنا 8: 44). لكنه هل أخذ هبة الحياة من يد من أعطاها؟ لا. تثنية 32: 39 تقول: "اُنْظُرُوا الآنَ! أَنَا أَنَا هُوَ وَلَيْسَ إِلهٌ مَعِي. أَنَا أُمِيتُ وَأُحْيِي. سَحَقْتُ، وَإِنِّي أَشْفِي، وَلَيْسَ مِنْ يَدِي مُخَلِّصٌ." ويقول يعقوب في يعقوب 4: 15 "إِنْ شَاءَ الرَّبُّ وَعِشْنَا نَفْعَلُ هذَا أَوْ ذَاكَ." ليس إن شاء إبليس وعشنا نفعل هذا أو ذاك. الرب يعطي والرب يأخذ. فليكن اسم الرب مباركا (أيوب 1: 21).

5) عندما قصد الشيطان أن يدمّر أيوب ويثبت أن الله ليس كنزه، كان لا بد له من الحصول على إذن من الله قبل أن يهجم على ممتلكاته ليدمرها وقبل أن يهجم على جسده بالمرض. في أيوب 1: 12، يقول الله: "هُوَذَا كُلُّ مَا لَهُ فِي يَدِكَ، وَإِنَّمَا إِلَيهِ لاَ تَمُدَّ يَدَكَ." لديك إذن مني للهجوم، لكنك لن تتجاوز الحدود التي وضعتها.

6) إبليس هو مجرب كبير. إنه يريد منا أن نخطيء. لوقا يخبرنا بأن إبليس كان وراء إنكار بطرس للمسيح ثلاثة مرات. لقد جرّبه لكي ينكر يسوع. ولكن كان يمكنه أن يفعل ذلك بدون إذن الله؟ استمع إلى ما يقول يسوع لسمعان بطرس في لوقا 22: 31-32 "سِمْعَانُ، سِمْعَانُ، هُوَذَا الشَّيْطَانُ طَلَبَكُمْ لِكَيْ يُغَرْبِلَكُمْ كَالْحِنْطَةِ! وَلكِنِّي طَلَبْتُ مِنْ أَجْلِكَ لِكَيْ لاَ يَفْنَى إِيمَانُكَ. وَأَنْتَ مَتَى رَجَعْتَ ثَبِّتْ إِخْوَتَكَ."

لم يكن ممكنا لإبليس أن يفعل ما يرغب مع بطرس دون إذن من الله. وعندما أخذ الإذن، تماما مثل قصة أيوب، وضع الله له حدودا لا يتخطّاها "لن تدمّر بطرس. وإنما فقط تجعله يتعثّر هذه الليلة." وهذا هو السبب لما يقوله المسيح: "أَنْتَ مَتَى رَجَعْتَ [ليس إن رجعت] ثَبِّتْ إِخْوَتَكَ." يسوع، وليس إبليس، له اليد العليا هنا. ومسموح لإبليس أن يذهب إلى حيث الحدود التي وضعها الله، وليس أبعد من ذلك.

7) يقول بولس في 2 كورنثوس 4: 4 أن "إِلهُ هذَا الدَّهْرِ قَدْ أَعْمَى أَذْهَانَ غَيْرِ الْمُؤْمِنِينَ." ولكن هل هذه القوة التي تعمي الناس قوة غير محدودة؟ هل يمكن لله التغلب عليها ومقاومتها وإبطالها؟ نعم، يمكنه ذلك. في الآيتين اللاحقتين يقول بولس: "لأَنَّ اللهَ الَّذِي قَالَ: «أَنْ يُشْرِقَ نُورٌ مِنْ ظُلْمَةٍ» ، هُوَ الَّذِي أَشْرَقَ فِي قُلُوبِنَا، لإِنَارَةِ مَعْرِفَةِ مَجْدِ اللهِ فِي وَجْهِ يَسُوعَ الْمَسِيحِ." وبعبارة أخرى، تأثير تعمية إبليس يعطي طريقا لإنارة الله عندما يقول: "ليكن نور."

يحكم الله كل خطوة لإبليس:

الآن نعود إلى السؤال حول منشأ خطية إبليس. هل الله عاجز أمام إرادة ملائكته الخاصة؟ هل هناك قوة خارج نفسه تحد من سيادته عليها؟ استنتاجي هو أنه من غلاف الكتاب المقدس إلى غلافه الأخر يُقدَّم الكتاب المقدّس الله كمتحكم في إبليس وأرواحه النجسة. له الحق والقدرة على كبح جماحهم في أي وقت يشاء.

وبالتالي أختتم بأن الله سمح بسقوط إبليس، ليس لأنه كان عاجزا عن إيقافه، ولكن لأن لديه هدف لذلك. ولأن الله لا يصادفه شيء، فسماحه دائما ما يكون هادفاً. إذا اختار أن يسمح بشيء، يفعل ذلك لسبب - وسبب حكيم بشكل لانهائي. كيف نشأت الخطية في قلب إبليس، نحن لا نعرف الإجابة. الله لم يخبرنا. ما نعرفه هو أن الله صاحب السيادة على إبليس، وبالتالي فإنّ إرادة إبليس لا تتحرك من دون إذن الله. وبالتالي كل خطوة من إبليس هي جزء من هدف وخطة الله الشاملة. وهذ الأمر هو حق وبشكل ما وفي نفس الوقت الله لا يرتكب الخطية أبدا. فالله قدوس بلا حدود، والله قدير بلا حدود. إبليس هو الشرير، وإبليس هو تحت حكمة الله التي تتحكم في الكل.

لماذا لا يُمحى الشيطان؟

لماذا، إذاً، ببساطة لا يمحو الله إبليس؟ فله الحق والسلطة للقيام بذلك. ورؤيا 20: 10 تقول إنه سيفعل ذلك يوما ما. لماذا لم يُلقِ به في بحيرة النار في يوم تمرده؟ لماذا يسمح له أن يثور بالانسانية لعدة قرون؟

الجواب النهائي، كما رأينا الأسبوع الماضي، أن "الكل خُلق بالمسيح وللمسيح" (كولوسي 1: 16). وسوف ينال ابن الله، يسوع المسيح، إكراما أكثر في نهاية المطاف لأنه سيهزم الشيطان من خلال الصبر وطول الأناة، والتواضع، والخدمة، والألم والموت، وليس عن طريق القوة الغاشمة. وكلما ازداد إكرام الابن أكثر، كلما عظمت فرحة أولئك الذين يحبونه.

لملء مجد المسيح:

يصل مجد المسيح لذروته في ذبيحة الطاعة على الصليب حيث انتصر يسوع على الشيطان (كولوسي 2: 15). قال المسيح: "الآنَ [في الساعة الأخيرة] تَمَجَّدَ ابْنُ الإِنْسَانِ وَتَمَجَّدَ اللهُ فِيهِ." (يوحنا 13: 31). وقال بولس: "نَحْنُ نَكْرِزُ بِالْمَسِيحِ مَصْلُوبًا... قُوَّةِ اللهِ وَحِكْمَةِ اللهِ." (1 كورنثوس 1: 23-24). قال المسيح لبولس عن شوكة إبليس التي في جنب بولس "تَكْفِيك نِعْمَتِي، لأَنَّ قُوَّتِي فِي الضَّعْفِ تُكْمَلُ" (2 كورنثوس 12: 9). إبليس، وكل ألمه، يخدم في النهاية إلى تضخيم قوة وحكمة ومحبة ونعمة ورحمة وصبر وغضب يسوع المسيح. لم نكن لنعرفه عنه في ملء مجده لو لم يهزم الشيطان بالطريقة التي فعلها.

كيف نتعامل مع الشر:

لذلك أختم بالسؤال العاجل والعملي: فكيف ينبغي لنا أن نتعامل مع الشر؟ فكيف ينبغي لنا التفكير والشعور والتصرف من جهة قوى الشر الشيطانية – وفاة زاك الصغير في الهجوم الذي وقع في حفرة الثور؟ وفاة ثلاثة أخرين من عمال المناجم في محاولة لانقاذ رفاقهم؟ خمسمائة قتيل في زلزال بيرو؟ الشر الذي تواجهونه في حياتكم الخاصة؟ جوابي هنا هو ملخص. هناك ثمانية أشياء يجب أن تقوم بها مع الشر. وأربعة أشياء لا تقوم بها أبدا.

  1. توقّع الشر. "لاَ تَسْتَغْرِبُوا الْبَلْوَى الْمُحْرِقَةَ الَّتِي بَيْنَكُمْ حَادِثَةٌ، لأَجْلِ امْتِحَانِكُمْ، كَأَنَّهُ أَصَابَكُمْ أَمْرٌ غَرِيبٌ" (1 بطرس 4: 12).

  2. تحمّل الشر. "الْمَحَبَّةُ تَحْتَمِلُ كُلَّ شَيْءٍ، وَتُصَدِّقُ كُلَّ شَيْءٍ، وَتَرْجُو كُلَّ شَيْءٍ، وَتَصْبِرُ عَلَى كُلِّ شَيْءٍ" (1 كورنثوس 13: 7؛ راجع مرقس 13: 13).

  3. قدّم الشكر للتأثير النقي للشر الذي يأتي ضدك. "شَاكِرِينَ كُلَّ حِينٍ عَلَى كُلِّ شَيْءٍ فِي اسْمِ رَبِّنَا يَسُوعَ الْمَسِيحِ، للهِ وَالآبِ " (افسس 5: 20؛ راجع 1 تسالونيكي 5: 18؛ رومية 5 :3-5).

  4. إكره الشر. "اَلْمَحَبَّةُ فَلْتَكُنْ بِلاَ رِيَاءٍ. كُونُوا كَارِهِينَ الشَّرَّ، مُلْتَصِقِينَ بِالْخَيْرِ. " (رومية 12: 9).

  5. صلّ من أجل الهروب من الشر. "وَلاَ تُدْخِلْنَا فِي تَجْرِبَةٍ، لكِنْ نَجِّنَا مِنَ الشِّرِّيرِ" (متى 6: 13).

  6. وبّخ الشر. "وَلاَ تَشْتَرِكُوا فِي أَعْمَالِ الظُّلْمَةِ غَيْرِ الْمُثْمِرَةِ بَلْ بِالْحَرِيِّ وَبِّخُوهَا" (افسس 5: 11).

  7. تغلّب على الشر بالخير. "لاَ يَغْلِبَنَّكَ الشَّرُّ بَلِ اغْلِبِ الشَّرَّ بِالْخَيْرِ" (رومية 12: 21).

  8. قاوم الشر. "قَاوِمُوا إِبْلِيسَ فَيَهْرُبَ مِنْكُمْ" (يعقوب 4: 7).

أما من ناحية أخرى:

  1. لا تيأس أبدا وتظن أن هذا العالم الشرير هو خارج سيطرة الله. "[هو] يَعْمَلُ كُلَّ شَيْءٍ حَسَبَ رَأْيِ مَشِيئَتِهِ" (أفسس 1: 11).

  2. لا تستسلم للشعور بأن الحياة بسبب الشر العشوائي هي عبثيّة وبلا معنى. "مَا أَبْعَدَ أَحْكَامَهُ عَنِ الْفَحْصِ وَطُرُقَهُ عَنِ الاسْتِقْصَاءِ! ... لأَنَّ مِنْهُ وَبِهِ وَلَهُ كُلَّ الأَشْيَاءِ. لَهُ الْمَجْدُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ" (رومية 11: 33، 36).

  3. لا تستسلم أبدا لفكرة أن الله يخطيء، أو أنه غير عادل على الإطلاق أو غير بار في الطريقة التي يحكم بها الكون. "الرَّبُّ بَارٌّ فِي كُلِّ طُرُقِهِ، وَرَحِيمٌ فِي كُلِّ أَعْمَالِهِ" (مزمور 145: 17).

  4. لا تشك أبدا في أن الله هو لك تماما في المسيح. إذا كنت تثق به في حياتك، فأنت في المسيح. لا تشك أبدا أن كل الشر الذي يصيبك، حتى لو أنه أخذ حياتك، هو التأديب المحب، والمنقّي، والمخلص، والأبوي لله. إنه ليس تعبيرا عن عقوبته في غضب. فهذا وقع على يسوع المسيح بديلا عنا. "لأَنَّ الَّذِي يُحِبُّهُ الرَّبُّ يُؤَدِّبُهُ، وَيَجْلِدُ كُلَّ ابْنٍ يَقْبَلُهُ" (عبرانيين 12: 6).

عندما ننبذ مخططات إبليس ونثق في قوة وحكمة وصلاح الله في المسيح، نحقق هدف الله في السماح لإبليس أن يحيا. نمجد القيمة العليا واللانهائيّة للمسيح.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

The Fall of Satan and the Victory of Christ

Now the serpent was more crafty than any other beast of the field that the LORD God had made. He said to the woman, “Did God actually say, ‘You shall not eat of any tree in the garden’?” 2 And the woman said to the serpent, “We may eat of the fruit of the trees in the garden, 3 but God said, ‘You shall not eat of the fruit of the tree that is in the midst of the garden, neither shall you touch it, lest you die.’“ 4 But the serpent said to the woman, “You will not surely die. 5 For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” 6 So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was to be desired to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate, and she also gave some to her husband who was with her, and he ate. 7 Then the eyes of both were opened, and they knew that they were naked. And they sewed fig leaves together and made themselves loincloths. 8 And they heard the sound of the LORD God walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and the man and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the LORD God among the trees of the garden. 9 But the LORD God called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?” 10 And he said, “I heard the sound of you in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked, and I hid myself.” 11 He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten of the tree of which I commanded you not to eat?” 12 The man said, “The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” 13 Then the LORD God said to the woman, “What is this that you have done?” The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.” 14 The LORD God said to the serpent, “Because you have done this, cursed are you above all livestock and above all beasts of the field; on your belly you shall go, and dust you shall eat all the days of your life. 15 I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and her offspring; he shall bruise your head, and you shall bruise his heel.”

As we come to Genesis 3, all is well, it seems. Genesis 1:31 says, “God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good.” God did not create anything evil. It was all very good.

Then suddenly when chapter three opens, there is this serpent. And he is clearly evil. He is calling God’s word into question. Verse 1: “Did God actually say, ‘You shall not eat of any tree in the garden’?” He is devious and deceitful and destructive. God had said in Genesis 2:17, “The day that you eat of [this tree] you shall surely die.” But the serpent says in verse 4: “You will not surely die. For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” Therefore, Jesus says of him in John 8:44 that he is both a liar and murderer. “He was a murderer from the beginning, and has nothing to do with the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies.”

Satan, That Ancient Serpent

Who is this serpent? The fullest answer is given in Revelation 12:9: “The great dragon was thrown down, that ancient serpent, who is called the devil and Satan, the deceiver of the whole world—he was thrown down to the earth, and his angels were thrown down with him.” So the serpent in the garden is the devil (which means slanderer), and Satan (which means accuser), and the deceiver of the whole world. Jesus calls him “the evil one” (Matthew 13:19) and “the ruler of this world” (John 12:31; 14:30; 16:11). The Pharisees call him “Beelzebul, the prince of demons” (Matthewe 12:24). Paul calls him “the god of this age” (2 Corinthians 4:4) and “the prince of the power of the air” (Ephesians 2:2).

That’s the one we meet in Genesis 3. He is already evil, already a deceiver, already a murderer when he appears in the garden of God. In verse 15, God speaks to the serpent and pronounces judgment on him: “I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and her offspring; he shall bruise your head, and you shall bruise his heel.” Notice that at first it looks like the warfare will be between two offsprings: “between your offspring and her offspring.” But in the next words something different is said: “He shall bruise your head.” Who is “he”? Answer: the woman’s offspring. Who is “your” (“he shall bruise your head”)? Answer: the serpent himself, not his offspring.

The Crushing of Satan at the Cross

The day is coming, God says, when you (not just your offspring) will be defeated and removed from the earth. The offspring of this woman will crush you (see Romans 16:20 and Hebrews 2:14). That decisive blow was struck by the perfect offspring of the woman, Jesus Christ, when he died on the cross. This is one of the reasons why the eternal Son of God had to become a man—because it was the offspring of the woman who would crush Satan.

Colossians 2:14-15 describes what God did for those who trust his Son, when he died on the cross: “[The record of debt that stood against us] he set aside, nailing it to the cross. He disarmed the rulers and authorities and put them to open shame, by triumphing over them in him.” When Christ died for our sins, Satan was disarmed and defeated. The one eternally destructive weapon that he had was stripped from his hand—namely, his accusation before God that we are guilty and should perish with him. When Christ died that accusation was nullified. All those who entrust themselves to Christ will never perish. Satan cannot separate them from the love of God in Christ (Romans 8:37-39).

The Insurrection of Satan

The question that cries out for an answer is: Where did Satan come from? And why does God tolerate his murderous activity? In Genesis he just appears. Between the perfection described in Genesis 1:31 (“behold, it was very good”) and the appearance of evil in Genesis 3, something happened. The good creation was corrupted. The little book of Jude and 2 Peter in the New Testament give us clues as to what happened. Jude 1:6 says, “The angels who did not stay within their own position of authority, but left their proper dwelling, he has kept in eternal chains under gloomy darkness until the judgment of the great day.” And 2 Peter 2:4 says, “God did not spare angels when they sinned, but cast them into hell and committed them to chains of gloomy darkness to be kept until the judgment.”

It appears then that once there was a host of holy angels. And some of them, including Satan, “sinned,” or as Jude 1:6 says, “did not stay within their own position of authority.” In other words, the sin was a kind of insurrection. A desire for more power and more authority than they were appointed by God and under God. So Satan originates as a created angel who, with other angels, rebel against God, reject him as their all-satisfying king and joy, and set out on a course of self-exaltation and presumed self-determination. They do not want to be subordinate. They do not want to be sent by God to serve others (Hebrews 1:14). They want to have authority over themselves and exalt themselves above God.

The Origin of Satan’s Sin

So we ask now again: Why? How could this happen? There is not an easy answer. In fact, the ultimate biblical answer creates more questions. So it seems that in this age, while we “know in part” (1 Corinthians 13:12), some people find help in saying that the angels had free will and God could not exert enough influence to keep them adoring him. But I don’t find that idea helpful. It simply doesn’t answer the question: Why would a perfectly holy angel in God’s infinitely beautiful presence use his free will to suddenly hate God?

A Failed Approach

This idea that God was helpless to prevent this rebellion, and that it is owing to the innate self-determining wills of sinless angels, is not a solution to the problem. It doesn’t account for why perfectly holy beings would use their wills to despise what they were created adoring. And it doesn’t fit with what the rest of what the Bible says about God’s rule over the devil.

The Biblical Approach

My approach to answering the question of how to think about the origin of Satan’s sin is to read the whole Bible with the question: How does God relate to Satan’s will? Is God helpless before the will of evil powers? Is there a power outside himself that limits his rule over them? Or is God presented throughout the Bible as having the right and the power to restrain Satan anytime he pleases? And if so why doesn’t he just destroy him?

So when I read the Bible, here is what I find. Just the tip of the iceberg of God’s authority and power.

God’s Sovereign Sway over Satan

1. Though Satan is called “the ruler of this world” (John 12:31), Daniel 4:17 says, “The Most High is ruler over the realm of mankind, and bestows it on whom he wishes.” And Psalm 33:10 says, “The Lord nullifies the counsel of the nations; he frustrates the plans of the peoples. The counsel of the Lord stands forever, the plans of His heart from generation to generation.” Yes, Satan is the “ruler of this world” but the ultimate one—God—holds final sway.

2. Though unclean spirits are everywhere doing deceptive and murderous things, Jesus Christ has all authority over them, and Mark 1:27 says, “He commands even the unclean spirits, and they obey Him.” When Christ commands the devil, the devil obeys.

3. Satan is a roaring lion, prowling and seeking to devour. Peter says, “Resist him, firm in yourfaith, knowing that the same experiences of suffering are being accomplished by your brethren who are in the world” (1 Peter 5:8-9). In other words, “suffering” is the way Satan is trying to devour the saints. But Peter says in 1 Peter 3:17, “It is better, if God should will it so, that you suffer for doing what is right rather than for doing what is wrong.” If God should will it so. This suffering, these jaws of the prowling lion, are opened and closed only according to God’s will.

4. Yes, Satan is a murderer from the beginning, Jesus said (John 8:44). But has he taken the gift of life out of the hand of the Giver? No. Deuteronomy 32:39 says, “See now that I, I am he, and there is no god besides me; it is I who put to death and give life. I have wounded and it is I who heal, and there is no one who can deliver from my hand.” And James says in James 4:15, “If the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that.” Not if Satan wills, we will live and do this or that. The Lord gives and the Lord takes away. And his name is blessed (Job 1:21).

5. When Satan aims to destroy Job and prove that God is not his treasure, he must get permission from God before he attacks his possessions with destruction and before he attacks his body with sickness. In Job 1:12, God says, “Behold, all that he has is in your power, only do not put forth your hand on him.” You have my permission to attack, but you will not go beyond the bounds that I set.

6. Satan is the great tempter. He wants us to sin. Luke tells us that Satan was behind Peter’s three denials. He tempted him to deny Jesus. But could he do that without God’s permission? Listen to what Jesus says to Simon Peter in Luke 22:31-32: “Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded to sift you like wheat; but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail; and you, when once you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.”

Satan could not do what he wished with Peter without God’s permission. And when he had it, just like with Job, God had set him a boundary: “You will not destroy Peter. You will only make him stumble tonight.” Which is why Jesus says, “When you have turned again [not if you turn] strengthen your brothers.” Jesus, not Satan, has the upper hand here. And Satan is allowed to go so far and no farther.

7. Paul says in 2 Corinthians 4:4 that “the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers.” But is this power to blind people an ultimate power? Can God overcome it and resist and nullify it? Yes, he can. Two verses later Paul says, “God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” In other words, the blinding effect of Satan gives way to God’s light when he says, “Let there be light.”

God Governs Satan’s Every Move

So now back to the question about the origin of Satan’s sinfulness. Is God helpless before the will of his own angels? Is there a power outside himself that limits his rule over them? My conclusion is that from cover to cover the Bible presents God as governing Satan and his demons. He has the right and power to restrain them any time he pleases.

I conclude, therefore, that God permitted Satan’s fall, not because he was helpless to stop it, but because he had a purpose for it. Since God is never taken off guard, his permissions are always purposeful. If he chooses to permit something, he does so for a reason—an infinitely wise reason. How the sin arises in Satan’s heart, we do not know. God has not told us. What we do know is that God is sovereign over Satan, and therefore Satan’s will does not move without God’s permission. And therefore every move of Satan is part of God’s overall purpose and plan. And this is true in such a way that God never sins. God is infinitely holy, and God is infinitely mighty. Satan is evil, and Satan is under the all-governing wisdom of God.

Why Not Wipe Out Satan?

Why, then, does God not simply wipe Satan out? He has the right and power to do this. And Revelation 20:10 says he is going to do it some day. Why didn’t he cast him into the Lake of Fire the day after he rebelled? Why let him rampage through humanity for centuries?

The ultimate answer, as we saw last week, is that “all things were created through Christ and for Christ” (Colossians 1:16). The Son of God, Jesus Christ, will be more highly honored in the end because he defeats Satan through longsuffering, patience, humility, servanthood, suffering, and death, rather than through raw power. And the more highly honored the Son is, the greater the joy of those who love him.

For the Fullness of Christ’s Glory

The glory of Christ reaches its apex in the obedient sacrifice of the cross where Jesus triumphed over the devil (Colossians 2:15). Jesus said, “Now [in my final hour] is the Son of Man glorified, and God is glorified in him” (John 13:31). Paul said, “We preach Christ crucified . . . the power of God and the wisdom of God” (1 Corinthians 1:23-24). Jesus said to Paul about Satan’s thorn in Paul’s side, “My power is made perfect in weakness” (2 Corinthians 12:9). Satan, and all his pain, serves in the end to magnify the power and wisdom and love and grace and mercy and patience and wrath of Jesus Christ. We would not know him in the fullness of his glory if he had not defeated Satan in the way he did.

How to Relate to Evil

So I close with the urgent and practical question: How then should we relate to evil? How should we think and feel and act about Satanic evil—the death of little Zach at the attack of a pit bull? The deaths of three more miners trying to save their buddies? Five hundred dead in the Peru earthquake? The evil you confront in your own lives? Here is my summary answer. Eight things to do with evil. Four things never to do.

  1. Expect evil. “Do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you” (1 Peter 4:12).
  2. Endure evil. “Love bears all thing, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things” (1 Corinthians 13:7; cf. Mark 13:13).
  3. Give thanks for the refining effect of evil that comes against you. “Give thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ” (Ephesians 5:20; cf. 1 Thessalonians 5:18; Romans 5:3-5).
  4. Hate evil. “Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good” (Romans 12:9).
  5. Pray for escape from evil. “Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil” (Matthew 6:13).
  6. Expose evil. “Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them” (Ephesians 5:11).
  7. Overcome evil with good. “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good” (Romans 12:21).
  8. Resist evil. “Resist the devil and he will flee from you” (James 4:7).

But, on the other hand:

  1. Never despair that this evil world is out of God’s control. “[He] works all things according to the counsel of his will” (Ephesians 1:11).
  2. Never give in to the sense that because of random evil life is absurd and meaningless. “How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways! . . . For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever” (Romans 11:33, 36).
  3. Never yield to the thought that God sins, or is ever unjust or unrighteous in the way he governs the universe. “The Lord is righteous in all his ways.” (Psalm 145:17).
  4. Never doubt that God is totally for you in Christ. If you trust him with your life, you are in Christ. Never doubt that all the evil that befalls you—even if it takes your life—is God’s loving, purifying, saving, fatherly discipline. It is not an expression of his punishment in wrath. That fell on Jesus Christ our substitute. “The Lord disciplines the one he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives” (Hebrews 12:6).

When we renounce the designs of the devil and trust the power and wisdom and goodness of God through Christ, we fulfill God’s purpose in letting Satan live. We glorify the infinitely superior worth of Jesus.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org