罗马书1-8章那满有权能和恩典的信息

保罗给罗马的教会写这封信,是想动员他们来支持自己的西班牙宣教事工。在《罗马书》15:24他写道,“我切心想望到西班牙去……盼望从你们那里经过,得见你们……然后蒙你们送行([英文译本作,得到你们的帮助]。”他还从来没去过罗马,并且与那里大多数基督徒都是素未谋面的。因此他就在这16章的经文里面,把自己的福音呈现出来给他们看。

多盼望我们所有的宣教士都能明白这本《罗马书》,并且来宣讲它。也盼望我们中那些差派和支持宣教士的人,能够明白这卷书,而且活出其中的信息,以至于差派宣教士时,我们也能像保罗要去西班牙宣教时希望罗马教会做的那样,差派和支持他们。本卷书中那满有权能和恩典的信息,将会让富足的美国人采纳缩衣节食的、如同战时那般的生活方式,好把他们的资源更多地倾倒到福音的伟大事业中去。而《罗马书》中这满有权能和恩典的信息,从那些受苦的宣教士嘴里被传讲出来时,必定要打破黑暗的权势,把基督的教会建造在哪怕是最坚硬的土地之上。

这封书信的多文化、全球性的面貌

你一开始读这封书信,就会发现其中那多元文化和全球化的特点,这不足为奇。在《罗马书》1:5,保罗告诉我们他使徒身份的目的:“我们从他受了恩惠并使徒的职分,在万国之中叫人为他的名信服真道。”他为什么要传福音,为什么要去西班牙,为什么要写这封信,目的就在于:让人在耶稣基督里产生信心,并且由此而来的顺服——“在万国之中”!《罗马书》就是关乎万国万族的——那些未曾信靠基督的诸多族群(people groups)。他们没有称义,也未成圣,也就不能在将来得荣耀,除非他们能够借着福音而被主所得着。

接下来在14节,他再次重申自己的使徒责任:“无论是希腊人、化外人、聪明人、愚拙人,我都欠他们的债。”而且,为了不叫我们以为他忽略了犹太人,在16节他接着说,“我不以福音为耻;这福音本是神的大能,要救一切相信的,先是犹太人,后是希腊人。”犹太人,希腊人,化外人,聪明人,愚拙人!换句话说,《罗马书》中那满有权能和恩典信息,冲破了国家民族的界限,突破了文化和教育的差异。

在这个多元化的时代里,看到这点是极其重要的。我们这个时代跟第一世纪非常相像,当时候基督的教会以极快的速度传播出去。基督教并不是某个部落的宗教,而是要从每一个部落、语言、民族和国家当中,呼召人来作出信靠和委身。耶稣不是许多神中的一位。他乃是万主之主和万王之王,并且在天上地下再没有其它的名,人们可以靠它得到拯救的。《罗马书》那满有权能和恩典的信息,并不是许多得救途径之一。它就是让人得救的那条道路,因为耶稣基督是上帝的儿子,并且是独一的儿子,他才是救主。

这个唯一道路之宣称,一直以来都受到人们的质疑和驳斥。而在今日美国,它尤其受到反驳,甚至是在那些公开承认耶稣的基督徒当中,当然,更是在穆斯林和犹太人当中。上周五本地的《明星论坛报》(Star Tribune)又刊登了一篇文章,反对信靠基督的必须性。一个由天主教神父和美国的犹太教拉比组成的联合委员会,发布了一份文件,名字叫“对于契约和使命的反思。”其主要的观点和贡献,按照作者的说法:“那些企图让犹太人信耶稣的努力已经‘不再是在神学上可以接受的’……因为所有的犹太人已经‘在契约里面与神同住了’”(星期五,2002年9月20日,A版23页)。换句话说,对于那些拒绝基督的犹太人,他们有一条自己的得救之路,而对于那些接受基督的基督徒,则有另外一条得救的道路。

这实在是从基督徒的主教们而来的一个虚假错误和令人心碎的陈述,特别是当我们对照耶稣所说的话时,“信子的人有永生;不信子的人得不著永生(原文作不得见永生),神的震怒常在他身上”(约3:36)。因此,关于那些接受他的外邦人,和那些拒绝他的犹太人,耶稣乃是这么说的,“我又告诉你们,从东从西,将有许多人([外邦人] 来,在天国里与亚伯拉罕、以撒、雅各一同坐席; 惟有本国的子民([那些拒绝接受耶稣的犹太人] 竟被赶到外边黑暗里去,在那里必要哀哭切齿了。”(太8:11-12)

可见,我们必须看明白《罗马书》那个宣告天下的、满有权能和恩典的信息,这是至关重要的。我们在这里所处理的,不是一个来自于人的观念,或者一个出于人的哲学,或者一个自我完善式的励志项目,或一个支派或部落的宗教,或某些地方性的、教区性的事件,因而有其局限性。我们在这里处理和面对的,乃是一个真理的消息,那就是,这位独一的上帝,已经在历史当中独行其是地采取行动,要借着差派他的独生爱子,来为罪人而死,以及从死里复活,达成拯救世人的目的。任何的拒绝接受这个消息的人,只能是走向灭亡的。

这封书信的中心主题:罗马书1:16-17

因此,保罗在《罗马书》1:16-17阐明了他的要点,然后在接下来的书信中进一步解释和带出应用来。“我不以福音为耻;这福音本是神的大能,要救一切相信的,先是犹太人,后是希腊人。因为神的义正在这福音上显明出来;这义是本于信,以致于信。如经上所记:‘义人必因信得生。’”首先,保罗说他的信息——他的福音——乃是有大能的也是有仁慈的,足以拯救人:这本是上帝的大能,为要使人得救。并且这救赎是借着信心而达成的。这个能够带来拯救的福音之大能,就是以在耶稣基督里的信心,来刺穿我们的灵魂的。

然后在17节,他解释了这福音何以有这样的能力:“因为神的义正在这福音上显明出来。”这福音有能力拯救那些信靠基督的人,就是因为它显明了神的义。这又是什么意思呢?

罗马书1:18-3:20:为什么我们所有的人都需要被拯救

在对此做出解释之前,保罗用了大段的经文(《罗马书》1:18-3:19)来告诉我们,为什么我们所有的人都需要被拯救。你可以在《罗马书》3:9那里看到他的总结,“因我们已经证明:犹太人和希腊人都在罪恶之下。”还有19节,“好塞住各人的口,叫普世的人都伏在神审判之下。”原来我们都是罪人哪。我们都是处在上帝的震怒之下的(1:18)。我们没有任何的可以在神面前得着称赞的义,而且3:20更是坦言,我们从来都不可能拯救自己、或是让自己得以称义:“所以凡有血气的,没有一个因行律法能在神面前称义。”我们都是罪人,都在上帝公义和圣洁的震怒之下,而且不能够靠自己的行为,来拯救自己或者让自己称义。

罗马书3:21-31:借着在耶稣里的信心而显明出来的神的义以及它的含义

现在保罗回到了《罗马书》1:16-17所提出来的、主要的观点,并且解释了它的意思,那就是,福音本是神的大能,要救一切相信的人,因为它借着信心把神的义显明出来了。他在3章21-22节说,“但如今,神的义在律法以外已经显明出来([在这里他再次提到17节的神的义之显明这个主题],有律法和先知为证:就是神的义,因信耶稣基督加给一切相信的人,并没有分别。”

因此,这个赋予福音大能并能拯救信徒的神之义的显明,又是指什么呢?就是指“因着信靠耶稣而来的神的义”的彰显。它乃是神的义,因着信心,作为白白的礼物,向我们显明(或说,启示)出来。这就是我们所说的称义。所以保罗在24节说,那些信靠基督的罪人,“如今却蒙神的恩典,因基督耶稣的救赎,就白白的称义。”那使得福音成为神拯救之大能的,神的义之显明,正是指:神的义作为白白的礼物,对那些信靠基督的罪人的彰显。

《罗马书》3:25解释了上帝如何能够使罪人称义,而自己又不会因此就成为不义:“神设立耶稣作挽回祭,是凭著耶稣的血,借着人的信,要显明神的义;因为他用忍耐的心宽容人先时所犯的罪。”换句话说,上帝命定了他的儿子替我们去死,好叫父神的愤怒和咒诅临到他的身上,而不再临到那些信主的人身上。借着这个方式,上帝表明了他对于罪恶的憎恶,以及他对罪的公义的处置。因此,正如26节所说,他就能够“在今时显明他的义,使人知道他自己为义,也称信耶稣的人为义。”

所以,基督的死乃是我们称义的根基。如果我们相信耶稣,上帝就会为着耶稣的缘故算我们为义。我们就被看作是正义的,我们也被按照义人来对待了。这就是称义。而且在28节他很清楚地表明,这个在上帝面前的美好合宜的地位,不是因着行为而是靠着信心而来的。“所以我们看定了:人称义是因着信,不在乎遵行律法。”

这里,请大家不要忽略其中的全球性的、宣教性的、多文化的含义。保罗自己在29-30节就把这个含义带出来了,“难道神只作犹太人的神吗?不也是作外邦人的神吗?是的,也作外邦人的神。神既是一位,他就要因信称那受割礼的为义,也要因信称那未受割礼的为义。”借着在基督里的信心而称义,就是那满有权能和恩典的全球性信息,并且是为我们能够遇到的所有国家、所有族群和所有的人民预备的。只有一位救主,一个十字架,一个复活以及一条道路,能够让人跟独一的真神和好:借着在基督里的信心而获得,那被归算给我们的神的义,这并不是靠着行为。

罗马书第4章:亚伯拉罕的因信称义,且是在行为之外的

在第四章,保罗引用了亚伯拉罕的例子,来讲述和论证因信称义的道理,并且指出那是跟行为无关的:“亚伯拉罕信神,这就算为他的义”(3节)。这卷书里面最为宝贵的经句之一,就是从亚伯拉罕的例子引发出来的(5节):“惟有不做工的,只信称罪人为义的神,他的信就算为义。”不是用行为,而是用信心来使人称义。而且,不是那些敬虔的人,反而是那些不敬虔之人,被称为义了。这的确是好消息——这就是《罗马书》那满有权能和恩典的信息。

罗马书第5章:面对患难和死亡时的盼望和安全感

在第五章,保罗用第一节做了个归纳,“我们既因信称义,就借着我们的主耶稣基督得与神相和。”接着,他就开始探讨称义之人会经历苦难和死亡这个现实——并且期待着后面的第八章对苦难之重要的强调。第三节告诉我们,为什么我们可以在灾难当中喜乐——因为苦难会带来忍耐、老练、和盼望。

然后,针对这个患难的背景,他用了跟第八章完全一样的方式来辩论——按照从大到小的次序——假如神能够做一件艰难的事情,他就能够做一件容易的事情。请回忆一下他在《罗马书》8:32所说的,“神既不爱惜自己的儿子,为我们众人舍了(此乃那件艰难的事),岂不也把万物和他一同白白的赐给我们吗 (此乃那件容易的事)?”这正是保罗在《罗马书》5:9的辩论方式,“现在我们既靠著他的血称义([这是件艰难的事],就更要借着他免去神的忿怒 (这是件容易的事)。”第10节也是同样的辩论法:“因为我们作仇敌的时候,且借着神儿子的死,得与神和好 (这是件艰难的事);既已和好,就更要因他的生得救了([这是件容易的事]。”

这个要点就是,在面对患难和死亡的时候,我们有盼望和安全感,就如同《罗马书》第八章所说的那样。正常地说,基督教和苦难是分不开的。“我们进入神的国,必须经历许多艰难”(徒14:22)。千万不要忘记,《罗马书》的这个满有权能和恩典的信息,乃是在对苦难充满期待之上下文中提出来的。

在一切文化当中,死亡都是件大事。如果你传讲福音,你就必须对死亡做出某些解释,并且在死亡面前能够提供一些盼望。这就是保罗在《罗马书》5:12-21中探讨的,而他使用的方法,就是把两个人进行对比。亚当的悖逆导致了罪与死亡,比较基督,他的顺服带来了义和生命。19节最清晰地把这个对比呈现出来:“因一人([亚当] 的悖逆,众人成为罪人;照样,因一人([基督] 的顺从,众人也成为义了。”亚当犯的罪以及由此而来的咒诅被归算到我们头上,因为我们是借着出生就跟他联合在一起的;同样,基督的顺服和免罪,也被归算到我们头上,因为我们是借着信心跟他联合在一起的。

接下来,保罗在21节总结了恩典借着基督而得胜的情况:“就如罪作王叫人死;照样,恩典也借着义作王,叫人因我们的主耶稣基督得永生。”

罗马书第6章:跟基督的联合就是对罪死以及从奴役中得到解脱

这就把我们引到一个必须解答的问题上:如果我们真的单单因着信心而称义,而且,罪在哪里显多,恩典就更加显多,那么,为什么不可以继续犯罪,好让恩典显得更加多呢?于是保罗就在第6章回答了这个问题,他教导说,信心把我们跟基督联合起来,而且是以一个真实的方式联合的,以至于我们就真确地跟基督一起体验到:对于罪我们已经死了,而且也从罪的奴役中解脱了(6:6, 17-18)。所有那些已经称义的人,都正在经历成圣的过程。

罗马书第7章:对于律法死了,好叫我们归于别人

接着在第七章,保罗继续辩论说,不要以遵守律法作为我们的生活导向,这是不能使我们成圣的——或者有人会误认为这样就可以让我们变得更像耶稣。不是的,“你们借着基督的身体,在律法上也是死了,叫你们归于别人,就是归于那从死里复活的,叫我们结果子给神……我们既然在捆我们的律法上死了,现今就脱离了律法,叫我们服事主,要按著心灵(心灵:或作圣灵)的新样,不按著仪文的旧样”(7:4, 6)。

基督徒的生活,就是要好好维持跟耶稣基督的关系,这既是白白的礼物,又是要诚心追求的,“叫你们归于别人!”(7:4)。耶稣自己,就是基督徒生活的能力、怜悯、模范、和命令。

罗马书第8章:没有什么能叫我们与基督的爱隔离

最近这些个星期当中,我们被带进罗马书第八章——那伟大的第八章。谁能使我们与基督的爱隔绝呢(35节)?你是否看到这句话跟《罗马书》7:4之间的联系?对律法死了,好叫我们能够归于别人——归于那位从死里复活的,耶稣基督。这正是关乎生死的钥节。那么,还有谁能够使我们与基督的爱隔绝呢?答案是:没有了。谁能使我们与神在基督里赐下的爱隔绝呢?答案是:没有了。

“所以,我们或活或死总是主的人。因此基督死了又活了,为要作死人并活人的主”(罗14:8-9)。在他的主权之下,无论生死,我们都可以因着上帝在基督里那永不折回的爱,而大声歌唱。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

The Mighty and Merciful Message of Romans 1-8

Paul writes the letter to the Roman church to mobilize their support for his mission to Spain. In Romans 15:24 he writes, "I hope to see you in passing as I go to Spain, and to be helped on my journey there by you." He has never been to Rome and has never met most of these Christians. So he lays out his gospel for them to see in these 16 chapters.

Oh that all our missionaries would know the book of Romans and preach the book of Romans. And Oh that those of us who send would know the book of Romans and live the book of Romans so that we would send missionaries the way Paul wanted to be sent and supported from Rome to Spain. The mighty and merciful message of this book will make rich Americans strip down to a more wartime lifestyle and pour their resources into the cause of the gospel. And the mighty and merciful message of this book, in the mouths of suffering missionaries, will break the powers of darkness and plant the Church of Christ in the hardest places.

The Multi-Cultural, Global Aspect of This Letter

It’s not surprising then as you start to read this letter, there is a multi-cultural, global point to it. In Romans 1:5 Paul tells us the goal of his apostleship: "We have received grace and apostleship to bring about the obedience of faith for the sake of his name among all the nations." That’s why he preaches. That’s why he is going to Spain. That’s why he writes this letter: to bring about faith in Jesus Christ and the obedience that comes from it – "among all nations!" Romans is about the nations – the people groups who don’t yet believe on Christ. Who are not justified and not yet sanctified and therefore will not be glorified if they are not reached with the gospel.

Then in verse 14 he tells us his apostolic obligation again: "I am under obligation both to Greeks and to barbarians, both to the wise and to the foolish." And lest we think he has left out the Jews, he says in verse 16, "I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek." Jews, Greeks, Barbarians, wise, foolish! In other words, this mighty and merciful message of the book of Romans breaks through national distinctions and cultural distinctions and educational distinctions.

This is utterly crucial to see in our pluralistic time – a time very much like the first century when the church of Christ spread so rapidly. Christianity is not a tribal religion, but calls for faith and allegiance from every tribe and tongue and people and nation. Jesus is not one among many gods. He is Lord of lords and King of kings, and there is no other name under heaven by which all men must be saved. The mighty, merciful message of Romans is not just one way of salvation among many. It is the way of salvation, because Jesus Christ is the one and only Son of God and Savior.

This claim has always been disputed. And it is especially disputed today in America, even among professing Christians, and, of course, among Muslims and Jews. In Friday’s Star Tribune there was another article rejecting the necessity of faith in Christ. A joint commission of Catholic bishops and American rabbis released a document called "Reflection on Covenant and Mission." The main thrust, the author said, is this: "Efforts to convert Jews are ‘no longer theologically acceptable’ . . . because the Jewish people already ‘abide in covenant with God" (Friday, Sept. 20, 2002, p. A23). In other words, there is one way of salvation for Jews who reject Christ, and there is another way of salvation for Christians who receive Christ.

This is a false and heartbreaking statement from Christian bishops in view of what Jesus said, "Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life; whoever does not obey the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God remains on him" (John 3:36). Therefore, concerning the Gentiles who accept him and the Jews who reject him, Jesus said, "Many [the Gentiles] will come from east and west and recline at table with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven, while the sons of the kingdom [the Jewish people who reject him] will be thrown into the outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth." (Matthew 8:11-12).

So it is utterly crucial that we see the universal claims of the mighty and merciful message of Romans. We are not dealing here with a human opinion, or a human philosophy, or a self-improvement program, or a tribal religion, or something parochial and limited. We are dealing here with the true news that the one and only God has acted uniquely in history to save people by sending his one and only Son to die for sinners and rise again. To reject this news is to perish.

The Thesis of the Letter: Romans 1:16-17

So Paul states his point in Romans 1:16-17 and then explains and applies it in the rest of the letter. "I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. 17 For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith for faith, as it is written, ‘The righteous shall live by faith.’" First, Paul says that his message – his gospel – is mighty and merciful to save: it is the power of God unto salvation. And this salvation is through faith. The power of the gospel to save penetrates to our souls with faith in Jesus Christ.

Then in verse 17 he explains why the gospel has this power: "For in it the righteousness of God is revealed." The gospel has the power to save those who trust Christ because it reveals the righteousness of God. What does that mean?

Romans 1:18 – 3:20: Why All of Us Need to Be Saved

Before he explains what it means, Paul spends Romans 1:18 – 3:19 to show why all of us need to be saved. You see his summary in Romans 3:9, "We have already charged that all, both Jews and Greeks, are under sin." And verse 19: "Every mouth [is] stopped, and the whole world [is] held accountable to God." So we are all sinners. We are all under God’s wrath (1:18). We have no righteousness that could commend us to him, and 3:20 makes plain that we can never save or justify ourselves: "By works of the law no human being will be justified in his sight." We are sinners. We are under God’s just and holy wrath. And we cannot save or justify ourselves by works.

Romans 3:21-31: Revelation of the Righteousness of God by Faith in Jesus and Its Implications

Now Paul returns to his main point of Romans 1:16-17 and explains what it means that the gospel is the power of God to save believers because it reveals the righteousness of God by faith. He says in verse 21-22, "But now the righteousness of God has been manifested [here he’s picking up the revealing of God’s righteousness in verse 17] apart from the law, although the Law and the Prophets bear witness to it – 22 the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe."

So what is the revealing of the righteousness of God that gives the gospel its power and saves believers? It’s the manifesting of "God’s righteousness that comes through faith in Jesus." It’s God’s righteousness revealed as a gift to us through faith. It’s what we call justification. So Paul says in verse 24 that sinners who trust Christ "are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus." The revelation of God’s righteousness that makes the gospel the power of God unto salvation is the demonstration and the gift of God’s righteousness to sinners who trust in Christ.

Romans 3:25 explains how God can justify sinners without being unjust: "God put [Christ] forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God's righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins." In other words, God ordained for his Son to die in our place so that the Father’s wrath and curse would be on him and not on those who believe. In this way he shows his hatred for sin and his just dealing with it. So now, as verse 26 says, he can be "just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus."

So the death of Christ is the foundation of our justification. If we believe in Jesus, God counts us righteous for Jesus’ sake. We are seen and treated as just. That is justification. And in verse 28 he makes clear that this right standing with God is not by works but by faith, "For we hold that one is justified by faith apart from works of the law."

And right here don’t miss the global, missionary, multi-cultural implication of this. Paul himself draws it out in verses 29-30, "Or is God the God of Jews only? Is he not the God of Gentiles [the nations] also? Yes, of Gentiles also, 30 since God is one. He will justify the circumcised by faith and the uncircumcised through faith." Justification by faith in Christ is the mighty and merciful global message we have for all the nations and all the people groups and all the people we will ever meet. There is one Savior, one cross, one resurrection and one way to be right with the one God: having his righteousness imputed to us by faith in Christ, not by works.

Romans 4: Abraham’s Justification by Faith apart from Works

In chapter 4 Paul makes the case for justification by faith apart from works by using Abraham as an example: "Abraham believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness" (verse 3). One of the most precious verses in the book is built off Abraham’s example (verse 5): "And to the one who does not work but trusts him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is counted as righteousness." Not work but faith justifies. And not the godly but the ungodly are justified. This is good news indeed – this is the mighty and merciful message of Romans.

Romans 5: Hope and Security in the Face of Suffering and Death

In chapter 5 Paul sums up with verse 1, "Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ." Then he opens the reality of suffering and death for the justified – and anticipates the huge emphasis on suffering in chapter 8. Verse 3 tells us why we can rejoice in tribulation – it leads to patience and approvedness and hope.

Then against the backdrop of this tribulation he argues exactly the same way he does in chapter 8 – from the greater to the lesser – if God can do a hard thing, he can do an easy thing. Recall in Romans 8:32 he says, "He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all [the hard thing], how shall he not with him freely give us all things [the easy thing]?" That’s exactly the way Paul argues here in Romans 5:9, "Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood [that’s the hard thing], much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God [that’s the easy thing]." Same kind of argument in verse 10: "For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son [that’s the hard thing], much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life [that’s the easy thing]."

The point is our hope and security in the face of suffering and death, just like it is in Romans 8. Normal Christianity is tribulation. "Through many tribulations we must enter the kingdom of God" (Acts 14:22). Don’t ever forget that the mighty and merciful message of Romans is put forth in the context of expected suffering.

Death is a massive reality in all cultures. If you have a gospel you must have some explanation of death and some hope in the face of death. That is what Paul takes up in Romans 5:12-21, and he does it by comparing Adam, whose disobedience brought sin and death, with Christ, whose obedience brought righteousness and life. Verse 19 states the contrast most clearly: "For as by the one man’s [Adam’s] disobedience the many were made sinners, so by the one man’s [Christ’s] obedience the many will be made righteous." Adam’s sin and condemnation were imputed to us because we are united to him by birth; so Christ’s obedience and exoneration were imputed to us because we are united to him by faith.

Then Paul sums up the triumph of grace through Christ in verse 21: ". . . So that as sin reigned in death, grace also might reign through righteousness leading to eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord."

Romans 6: Union with Christ Is Death to Sin and Deliverance from Slavery

Which led to a problem that had to be solved: If we are really justified by faith alone and where sin abounds grace abounds all the more, then why not sin that grace may abound? And Paul answers this in chapter 6 with the teaching that faith unites us to Christ in a real way so that we actually experience with him a death to sin and a deliverance from its slavery (6:6, 17-18). All justified people are being sanctified.

Romans 7: Dead to the Law that We May Belong to Another

Then in chapter 7 Paul argues that it is not an orientation on law-keeping that sanctifies us – or makes us like Jesus. No, "you also have died to the law through the body of Christ, so that you may belong to another, to him who has been raised from the dead, in order that we may bear fruit for God. . . We are released from the law, having died to that which held us captive, so that we serve not under the old written code but in the new life of the Spirit" (7:4, 6).

The Christian life is lived in the free gift and earnest pursuit of a relation to Jesus Christ "That you might belong to another!" (7:4). He is the might and the mercy and the model and the mandate of the Christian life.

Romans 8: Nothing Can Separate Us from the Love of Christ

This brought us then in these recent weeks to Romans 8 – the great 8. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ (verse 35)? Do you see the connection between that and Romans 7:4? Dead to the law so that we might belong to another – to him who was raised from the dead, Jesus Christ. That is the key to living and the key to dying. Who then shall separate us from the love of Christ. Answer: Nothing. Who shall separate us from the love of God in Christ? Answer: Nothing.

"So whether we live or whether we die we are the Lord’s, for to this end Christ died and rose again, that he might be Lord both of the living and the dead" (Romans 14:8-9). Live under his lordship, die under his lordship. And always sing to the invincible love of God in Christ.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org