بيع يوسف وابن الله

كلمات مدهشة لأبرام:

قبل أن نقصّ رواية يوسف وخطية اخوته المذهلة وهدفها الشّامل في تمجيد يسوع المسيح ، دعونا نسترجع تكوين 12. لقد اختار الله أبرام من جميع شعوب العالم بنعمة مجانيّة، وليس من أجل أيّ شيء فيه. في تكوين 12: 2-3، يضع الله أمامه الوعد: "فَأَجْعَلَكَ أُمَّةً عَظِيمَةً وَأُبَارِكَكَ وَأُعَظِّمَ اسْمَكَ، وَتَكُونَ بَرَكَةً. وَأُبَارِكُ مُبَارِكِيكَ، وَلاَعِنَكَ أَلْعَنُهُ. وَتَتَبَارَكُ فِيكَ جَمِيعُ قَبَائِلِ الأَرْضِ." هذا هو بداية شعب إسرائيل والذي منه سيأتي يسوع المسيح، المسيا، ابن الله إلى العالم ليخلصنا من خطايانا.

ثم في الإصحاح 15، عمل الله عهدا رسميّا مع أبرام. واستخدم عملاً رمزيّاً ملحوظاً وبعض الكلمات المدهشة. حيث يقول لأبرام في تكوين 15: 13-16 "اعْلَمْ يَقِينًا أَنَّ نَسْلَكَ سَيَكُونُ غَرِيبًا فِي أَرْضٍ لَيْسَتْ لَهُمْ، وَيُسْتَعْبَدُونَ لَهُمْ. فَيُذِلُّونَهُمْ أَرْبَعَ مِئَةِ سَنَةٍ. ثُمَّ الأُمَّةُ الَّتِي يُسْتَعْبَدُونَ لَهَا أَنَا أَدِينُهَا، وَبَعْدَ ذلِكَ يَخْرُجُونَ بِأَمْلاَكٍ جَزِيلَةٍ. ... وَفِي الْجِيلِ الرَّابعِ يَرْجِعُونَ إِلَى ههُنَا، لأَنَّ ذَنْبَ الأَمُورِيِّينَ لَيْسَ إِلَى الآنَ كَامِلاً."

أَرْبَعَ مِئَةِ سَنَةٍ!

ففي بداية العلاقة العهديّة مع شعبه المختار، تنبأ الله عن بقائهم في مصر لمدة 400 عاما ثم العودة إلى أرض الموعد. "فَيُذِلُّونَهُمْ أَرْبَعَ مِئَةِ سَنَةٍ." ولديه أسباب غريبة لماذا يجب أن يُبقوا لمدة أربعة قرون (فكّر في الأمر!) ولا يرثون الأرض الآن، آية 16 "ذَنْبَ الأَمُورِيِّينَ لَيْسَ إِلَى الآنَ كَامِلاً." عندما يعود إسرائيل ليمتلك الأرض بقيادة يشوع بعد 400 سنة، سوف يدمّرون هذه الشعوب. كيف لنا أن نفهم ذلك؟ تثنية 9: 5 تعطي إجابة من الله: "لَيْسَ لأَجْلِ بِرِّكَ وَعَدَالَةِ قَلْبِكَ تَدْخُلُ لِتَمْتَلِكَ أَرْضَهُمْ، بَلْ لأَجْلِ إِثْمِ أُولئِكَ الشُّعُوبِ يَطْرُدُهُمُ الرَّبُّ إِلهُكَ مِنْ أَمَامِكَ، وَلِكَيْ يَفِيَ بِالْكَلاَمِ الَّذِي أَقْسَمَ الرَّبُّ عَلَيْهِ لآبَائِكَ إِبْرَاهِيمَ وَإِسْحَاقَ وَيَعْقُوبَ." فامتلاك أرض الموعد هو دينونة الله على الشّر في ملء القرون.

يدخل شعب الله في العديد من الآلام:

في الوقت الحالي، يقول الله أن شعبه سيكون غريبا في أرض ليست لهم، وسوف يُذلّوا لمدة 400 سنة، أي في مصر. لهذا هناك خطة الله لشعبه السائح، وهي صورة لحياتك على هذه الأرض إلى أن تصل للسماء. إن كان الله خطط 400 سنة من الذل لشعبه (تكوين 15: 13)، قبل أن يصل إلى أرض الموعد، فلا ينبغي لنا أن نفاجأ عندما يقول لنا "أَنَّهُ بِضِيقَاتٍ كَثِيرَةٍ يَنْبَغِي أَنْ نَدْخُلَ مَلَكُوتَ اللهِ." (أعمال 14: 22).

نبوءة تتحقق من خلال خطية مذهلة:

المسألة بالنسبة لنا اليوم هي: كيف سيتحقق وصول شعب الله إلى مصر؟ وماذا يريد الله أن يعلّم بشأن طرقه وابنه في هذه الغربة في مصر؟ الجواب هو أن الله يحقق هذه النبوءة عن طريق خطيئة مذهلة. ومن خلال هذه الخطيئة، يحفظ على قيد الحياة ليس فقط شعبه إسرائيل العهديّ، ولكن أيضا من النسل الذي سيأتي منه أسد يهوذا ليخلص ويملك على الشعوب. فأشياء ضخمة جدا مرهونة بقصة يوسف.

إبراهيم وإسحاق ويعقوب:

بالعودة إلى أبرام، دعونا نأتي بالقصة ليوسف. أبرام له ابنه إسحاق. إسحاق ابنه يعقوب (الذي اسمه الآخر هو إسرائيل)، ويعقوب له اثنى عشر إبناً الذين سيصبحون آباء اسباط إسرائيل الاثنى عشر. أحد أبناء يعقوب الاثنى عشر، يوسف، كان لديه حلمان. في كل منهما، يسجد له إخوته الأحد عشر ووالديه. يقول تكوين 37: 8 أن إخوته ابغضوه من أجل أحلامه. وآية 11 تقول إنهم حسدوه.

تدمير الحالم:

وجاء اليوم الذي يمكنهم تنفيس غضبهم ضد أخيهم. أرسله والده لينظر سلامة إخوته (تكوين 37: 14). رأوه أتيا وقالوا في الآيات 19-20 "هُوَذَا هذَا صَاحِبُ الأَحْلاَمِ قَادِمٌ. فَالآنَ هَلُمَّ نَقْتُلْهُ وَنَطْرَحْهُ فِي إِحْدَى الآبَارِ وَنَقُولُ: وَحْشٌ رَدِيءٌ أَكَلَهُ. فَنَرَى مَاذَا تَكُونُ أَحْلاَمُهُ." رَأُوبَيْنُ يحاول انقاذ يوسف لكن محاولته ليست سوى نجاحا جزئيّا حيث باع الإخوته يوسف كعبد لقافلة من الإسماعيليين متجهين لمصر (عدد 25). ثم احتفظوا بقميصه الخاص، وغمسوه في دم حيوانيّ، وظن والده أن حيوانات البريّة قد اكلته. وظن الإخوة أن تلك كانت نهاية الأمر.

يد غير مرئيّة تعمل:

ولكن لم تكن لديهم أيّة فكرة عما يحدث. كانوا غافلين تماما عن يد الله الخفيّة في افعالهم. لم يدركوا أنه في غاية مسعاهم لتدمير هذا الحالم، هم يتممون أحلام يوسف. كم من مرات يعمل الله بهذه الطريقة! يأخذ خطايا المدمِّرين نفسها ويجعلها وسيلة لخلاص المدمَّرين.

فوطيفار، والسجن، والعناية:

في مصر، تم شراء يوسف من قبل فوطيفار، وهو خَصِيِّ فِرْعَوْنَ، رَئِيسِ الشُّرَطِ (تكوين 37: 36). هناك خضع يوسف لعناية الله الغريبة وخدم فوطيفار بأمانة. وتقدم بثقة وتأثير في بيت فوطيفار. وربما تظن أن البار ينجح ويزدهر. ولكن يبدو أن العكس كذلك. فزوجة فوطيفار حاولت إغراء يوسف. لكنه هرب من الزنا. والمرأة كانت شريرة وكذبت بشأن يوسف. وعلى الرغم من بره، تم وضعه في السجن.

في السجن، ومرة ​​أخرى، غير مدرك إطلاقاً لما يفعله الله في كل هذا البؤس، يخدم مرة أخرى السجّان بأمانة وأُعطِيَ ثقة ومسؤوليّة. من خلال تفسير حلمي ساقي فرعون والخبّاز، أدى ذلك في نهاية المطاف إلى خروج يوسف من السجن لتفسير احد أحلام فرعون. ثبت صدق تفسيره وحكمته بدت مقنعة لفرعون، لذا أصبح يوسف قائدا في مصر. "أَنْتَ تَكُونُ عَلَى بَيْتِي،" يقول فرعون "وَعَلَى فَمِكَ يُقَبِّلُ جَمِيعُ شَعْبِي إِلاَّ إِنَّ الْكُرْسِيَّ أَكُونُ فِيهِ أَعْظَمَ مِنْكَ" (تكوين 41: 40).

الأحلام تتحقق:

سبع سنوات من الوفرة تليها سبع سنوات من المجاعة ضربت الأرض، تماما كما قال يوسف. انتصر يوسف على المجاعة في مصر من خلال جمع احتياطيات ضخمة من الحبوب خلال السنوات السبع الجيدة. في آخر الأمر، سمع إخوة يوسف أن هناك قمحاً في مصر، وذهبوا لطلب المساعدة. لم يستطيعوا التعرّف على شقيقهم في البداية، ولكن في نهاية الأمر كشف هو عن نفسه. لقد كان سبعة عشر عاما من العمر عندما باعوه للعبودية (37: 2) والآن عندما قال لهم من هو، كان 39 سنة (41: 46، 53؛ 45: 6). حيث مضت اثنان وعشرون عاما. وقد أندهشوا. فقد حاولوا التخلص من الحالم، وبالتخلص منه، قد حقّقوا أحلامه. فأخيرا سجدوا الأخوة ليوسف.

في نهاية المطاف، دعاهم أن يعيشوا في مصر كي ينقذ حياتهم، وهنا بدأت النبوءة القديمة أن نسل إبراهيم سوف يتغرّب 400 سنة في مصر أن تتحقق. لذلك نحن نسأل مرة أخرى، كيف حدث أن شعب الله ذهب لمصر تنفيذا لخطة الله؟ وماذا يريد الله أن يعلمنا عن طرقه وعن ابنه في هذه الغربة في مصر؟

وصفان من الكتاب المقدس لهذا التحقيق:

الجواب عن كيفيّة انتهاء المطاف بالشعب في مصر هو واضح على أحد المستويات: وصلوا إلى هناك عن طريق الخطيئة المذهلة لمحاولة القتل والتعامل الاستعبادي الجشع، والخداع الجاحد للإنسان القديم ذو القلب النجس. ولكن كيف يصف الكتاب المقدس هذا التحقيق لنبوءة الله؟ بطريقتين.

1) أرسل الله يوسف لإستبقاء حياة:

أولا، في تكوين 45 :5، يقول يوسف لإخوته الذين كانوا يخافون منه جدا "وَالآنَ لاَ تَتَأَسَّفُوا وَلاَ تَغْتَاظُوا لأَنَّكُمْ بِعْتُمُونِي إِلَى هُنَا، لأَنَّهُ لاسْتِبْقَاءِ حَيَاةٍ أَرْسَلَنِيَ اللهُ قُدَّامَكُمْ." الطريقة الأولى التي يصف بها الكتاب المقدس هذه الخطيئة المذهلة للأخوة غير أنها كانت وسيلة الله لإرسال يوسف إلى مصر من أجل إنقاذ اؤلئك الذين كانوا يحاولون قتله. "أَرْسَلَنِيَ اللهُ قُدَّامَكُمْ."

ولئلا نظن أن هذا كان تعليقا جانبياً ذو أهمية صغيرة، نقرأ نفس الشيء في مزمور 105: 16-17 حيث نجد أن الأسباب أقوى وأوضح. فلم يكن الله فقط الحاكم لأفعال هؤلاء الإخوة عندما بعثوا يوسف لمصر، ولكن الله كان حاكم المجاعة أيضا: "دَعَا بِالْجُوعِ عَلَى الأَرْضِ. كَسَرَ قِوَامَ الْخُبْزِ كُلَّهُ. أَرْسَلَ أَمَامَهُمْ رَجُلاً. بِيعَ يُوسُفُ عَبْدًا." لذا أخرج من عقلك فكرة أن الله توقّع حدوث المجاعة من تلقاء نفسها أو أنها حدث من قبل الشيطان. استدعى الله المجاعة. وأعد الله الخلاص.

2) ما قصده الإنسان شرا، قصده الله خيرا:

وبالتالي فإن الطريقة الأولى التي يصف بها الكتاب المقدس تحقيق نبوءة الله أن شعبه سيأتي إلى مصر هي بالقول أن الله أرسل يوسف هناك أمامهم. الطريقة الثانية التي بها يصف الكتاب المقدس هذه النبوءة هي أكثر نفاذا وشمولا. فأتى الاخوة أمام يوسف مرة أخرى، لكن هذه المرة بعد وفاة والدهم، وكانوا مرة أخرى خائفين إنه سينتقم منهم. في تكوين 50: 19-20، يقول يوسف: "لاَ تَخَافُوا. لأَنَّهُ هَلْ أَنَا مَكَانَ اللهِ؟ أَنْتُمْ قَصَدْتُمْ لِي شَرًّا، أَمَّا اللهُ فَقَصَدَ بِهِ خَيْرًا، لِكَيْ يَفْعَلَ كَمَا الْيَوْمَ، لِيُحْيِيَ شَعْبًا كَثِيرًا."

الطريقة الثانية التي يصف بها الكتاب المقدس تحقيق الله لنبوته هي: أن الأخوة قصدوا من بيع يوسف شرا، ولكن الله قصد به خيرا. لاحظ أنه لا يقول أن الله استخدم شرهم للخير بعدما قصدوا به شرا. لكنه يقول أنّ لفعل الشرّ هذا نفسه، كان هناك قصدان مختلفان: ففي الفعل الآثم، كانوا يقصدون الشر، وفي الفعل الآثم ذاته، كان قصد الله خيرا.

خطية موجّهة ومنقذة للحياة:

هذا ما رأيناه وسوف نراه أكثر وأكثر: ما يقصده الإنسان أو يقصده الشيطان للشر يقصده الله لخير عظيم. الخير العظيم المذكور في تكوين 45: 5 هو "اسْتِبْقَاءِ حَيَاةٍ." والخير العظيم المذكور في تكوين 50: 20 هو "لِكَيْ يَفْعَلَ كَمَا الْيَوْمَ، لِيُحْيِيَ شَعْبًا كَثِيرًا." ولكن في تلك الكلمات، والقصة كلها عن كيفيّة خلاص الله لشعبه، هي مؤشرات للقصد العالميّ للغرض من هذه الخطيئة، الخطية المنقذة للحياة في مجد يسوع المسيح.

ثلاثة مؤشرات لمجد المسيح:

دعونا ننظر إلى ثلاثة أشياء في هذه القصة تعدنا لنرى مجد المسيح ومن هو حقا.

1) الخلاص يأتي من خلال الخطية والآلم:

أولا، نرى النمط العام الذي يظهر مرات ومرات في الكتاب المقدس، وهو أن إنتصار الله الخلاصيّ لشعبه يأتي عادة من خلال الخطية والألم. اخطأ إخوة يوسف ضده، وهو تألم من جرّاء ذلك. وفي كل هذا، كان الله يعمل لخلاص شعبه، بما في ذلك هم أنفسهم الذين يحاولون تدمير المنقذ. وحقيقة أن يسوع جاء بهذه الطريقة كان يجب ألا تكون مفاجأة لكثير من الناس كما هو الحال. أنه تم الخطأ ضده وتألم في طريق خلاص شعبه هو ما كنا نتوقعه من هذا النمط الذي يظهر مرارا وتكرارا.

لذا ففي قصة يوسف والخطية المذهلة لإخوته، يجُرى إعدادنا كي نرى مجد المسيح، صبره وتواضعه وخدمته، كل هذا ليخلص نفس اؤلئك الذين كانوا يحاولون التخلص منه.

مات عني، من تسببت في آلامه
عني، من تابعه حتى الموت؟
يا لحبٍ! عجيبّ كيف يمكن ذلك
أنك أنت، يا إلهي، من يموت عني؟

2) المتألم هو البار:

ثانيا، قصة يوسف والخطية المذهلة لإخوته تعدنا أن نرى يسوع ليس فقط بسبب النمط العام أن إنتصار الله الخلاصيّ لشعبه غالبا ما يأتي من خلال الآلم والخطية، ولكن بشكل أكثر تحديدا، في هذه الحالة، لأن الشخص ذاته الذي يتألم وتم الخطأ ضده هو بار جدا. برز يوسف في هذه القصة بثباته واخلاصه العجيب في كل العلاقات. حتى في المنفى الذي لا يستحقه، كان وفيّا لفوطيفار وكان مخلصا للسجان. تكوين 39: 22 "فَدَفَعَ رَئِيسُ بَيْتِ السِّجْنِ إِلَى يَدِ يُوسُفَ جَمِيعَ الأَسْرَى الَّذِينَ فِي بَيْتِ السِّجْنِ. وَكُلُّ مَا كَانُوا يَعْمَلُونَ هُنَاكَ كَانَ هُوَ الْعَامِلَ."

وماذا كانت مكافأة يوسف؟ ادّعت عليه زوجة فوطيفار كذبا، وساقي فرعون، الذي فسر يوسف حلمه، بنكران للجميل نسي أمره في السجن لمدة عامين بعد الأحلام. لذا فإن الهدف من كل هذا ليس مجرد أن هناك خطية وألم، وأن الله هو الذي يعمل في ذلك لخلاص شعبه. لكن بشكل أكثر تحديدا، فالهدف هو أن البار، حتى لو كان قد حصل على سوء المعاملة لفترة طويلة، فقد تمّت تبرئته في النهاية من قبل الله. على الرغم من رفض البعض الآخر هذا الحجر البار، فقد جعله الله حجر الزاوية (متى 21: 42). تبرئته اصبحت الوسيلة نفسها لخلاص مضطهديه.

يسوع المسيح هو ذلك البار النهائي والمطلق والكامل (أعمال 7: 52). بدا الأمر للآخرين كما لو أن حياته كانت تسير بشكل سيء لدرجة أنه يجب أن يكون آثما. ولكن في النهاية، قادت كل الخطية ضده، وكلّ ما عاناه في البر الكامل، لتبرئته، وبسبب ذلك، لخلاصنا. إن كان يوسف مدهشا في صموده، فيسوع مدهشٌ 10000 مرة أكثر منه، لأنه اختبر آلاما أكثر 10000 مرة، واستحقها 10000 مرات أقل، وكان ثابتا تماما، وأمينا، وبارا خلال كل ذلك.

3) لاَ يَزُولُ قَضِيبٌ مِنْ يَهُوذَا:

هناك أوجه تشابه أخرى في هذه القصة بين يوسف ويسوع، ولكن ننتقل الآن إلى أهم شيء في هذه القصة عن يسوع وهي ليست متوازية مع يوسف. إنها نبوءة عن مجيء المسيح، والتي لم يكن من الممكن أن تحدث لو مات جوعا أبناء يعقوب الخطاة في المجاعة. كانت الخطية المذهلة لهؤلاء الإخوة طريق الله لإنقاذ سبط يهوذا من الانقراض كي يولد أسد يهوذا، يسوع المسيح، ويموت، ويقوم ويملك على جميع شعوب العالم.

نرى هذا بشكل أكثر توضيحاً في تكوين 49: 8-10. حيث أن يعقوب، الأب، على وشك الموت، وقبل أن يموت، أعلن بركة نبويّة لابنائه جميعا. هذا ما قاله عن يهوذا ابنه:

يَهُوذَا، إِيَّاكَ يَحْمَدُ إِخْوَتُكَ، يَدُكَ عَلَى قَفَا أَعْدَائِكَ، يَسْجُدُ لَكَ بَنُو أَبِيكَ. يَهُوذَا جَرْوُ أَسَدٍ، مِنْ فَرِيسَةٍ صَعِدْتَ يَا ابْنِي، جَثَا وَرَبَضَ كَأَسَدٍ وَكَلَبْوَةٍ. مَنْ يُنْهِضُهُ؟ لاَ يَزُولُ قَضِيبٌ مِنْ يَهُوذَا وَمُشْتَرِعٌ مِنْ بَيْنِ رِجْلَيْهِ حَتَّى يَأْتِيَ شِيلُونُ وَلَهُ يَكُونُ خُضُوعُ شُعُوبٍ.

إنها نبوءة عن ملك إسرائيل النهائي الأتي، أسد يهوذا، المسيا. لاحظ في الآية 10، أن صولجان الحاكم، علامة الملك، سوف يكون في نسل يهوذا إلى أن يأتي من هو ليس ملكا عاديا، لأن كل الشعوب، وليس فقط إسرائيل، سوف تطيعه. آية 10ب "لَهُ يَكُونُ خُضُوعُ شُعُوبٍ."

هذا تحقق في المسيح. استمع إلى الطريقة التي يصف بها يوحنا دور يسوع في السماء بعد صلبه وقيامته:

لاَ تَبْكِ. هُوَذَا قَدْ غَلَبَ الأَسَدُ الَّذِي مِنْ سِبْطِ يَهُوذَا، أَصْلُ دَاوُدَ، لِيَفْتَحَ السِّفْرَ وَيَفُكَّ خُتُومَهُ السَّبْعَةَ. ... وَهُمْ يَتَرَنَّمُونَ تَرْنِيمَةً جَدِيدَةً قَائِلِينَ: «مُسْتَحِق أَنْتَ أَنْ تَأْخُذَ السِّفْرَ وَتَفْتَحَ خُتُومَهُ، لأَنَّكَ ذُبِحْتَ وَاشْتَرَيْتَنَا للهِ بِدَمِكَ مِنْ كُلِّ قَبِيلَةٍ وَلِسَانٍ وَشَعْبٍ وَأُمَّةٍ، وَجَعَلْتَنَا لإِلهِنَا مُلُوكًا وَكَهَنَةً، فَسَنَمْلِكُ عَلَى الأَرْضِ. (رؤيا 5: 5، 9-10).

أسد يهوذا هو الحمل المذبوح:

الشيء الأكثر روعة عن الأسد الذي من سبط يهوذا في تحقيقه لنبوة يعقوب هو أنه يتطلّب الطاعة من جميع شعوب العالم، ليس عن طريق استغلال ذنوبنا وسحقنا بها كي نخضع، ولكن بحمل ذنبنا وتحريرنا كي نحبه ونسبحه ونطيعه بفرح إلى الأبد. أسد يهوذا هو الحمل المذبوح. فهو يفوز بطاعتنا من خلال مغفرة خطايانا، وجعل طاعته الخاصة، وكماله الخاص باعتباره البار، الأساس لقبولنا لدى الله. وفي هذا الموقف الذي لا حصر له من الأمان والفرح، كان كل ذلك بسبب آلامه وبره وموته وقيامته، فهو يفوز بطاعتنا الحرة والسّعيدة.

قصة يوسف هي قصة ذاك البار الذي أخطأنا تجاهه وتألم من أجل الحفاظ على سبط يهوذا والأسد الذي سيخرج منه، والذي سيبرهن أنه أسد كحَمَل، وبآلامه وموته، أشترى وأمكن الطاعة السّعيدة من كل الشعوب، حتى من أولئك الذين قتلوه.

فهل حظيَ بطاعتك؟

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

The Sale of Joseph and the Son of God

Astonishing Words to Abram

Before we retell the story of Joseph and the spectacular sin of his brothers and its global purpose in the glory of Jesus Christ, let’s back up to Genesis 12. God has chosen Abram from all the peoples of the world by free grace and owing to nothing in him. In Genesis 12:2-3, God makes him a promise: “I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and him who dishonors you I will curse, and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.” This is the beginning of the people of Israel through whom Jesus Christ, the Messiah, the Son of God will come into the world to save us from our sins.

Then in chapter 15, God makes a formal covenant with Abram. He uses a remarkable symbolic act and some astonishing words. He says to Abram in Genesis 15:13-16, “Know for certain that your offspring will be sojourners in a land that is not theirs and will be servants there, and they will be afflicted for four hundred years. But I will bring judgment on the nation that they serve, and afterward they shall come out with great possessions. . . . And they shall come back here in the fourth generation, for the iniquity of the Amorites is not yet complete.”

Four Hundred Years!

So at the very beginning of his covenant relationship with his chosen people, God predicts a 400-year stay in Egypt and the return to the promised land. “They will be afflicted 400 years.” He has his strange reasons why they must leave for four centuries (think of it!) and not inherit the land now, namely, verse 15: “the iniquity of the Amorites is not yet complete.” When the Israelites come back to take the land under Joshua in 400 years, they will destroy these nations. How are we to understand that? Deuteronomy 9:5 gives God’s answer: “Not because of your righteousness or the uprightness of your heart are you going in to possess their land, but because of the wickedness of these nations the Lord your God is driving them out from before you, and that he may confirm the word that the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob.” The conquest of the promised land is the judgment of God on the fullness of centuries of wickedness.

God’s People Enter Through Many Afflictions

In the meantime, God says that his people will be sojourners in a land that is not theirs and will be afflicted for 400 years, namely, in Egypt. So there is God’s plan for his pilgrim people—a kind of picture of your life on this earth until heaven. If God plans 400 years of affliction for his people (Genesis 15:13) before the promised land, we should not be surprised that he says to us “through many tribulations you must enter the kingdom of God” (Acts 14:22).

Prophecy Fulfilled Through a Spectacular Sin

The question for us today is: How will it come about that God’s people wind up in Egypt? And what does God want to teach about his ways and about his Son in this strange sojourn in Egypt? The answer is that God fulfills this prophecy through a spectacular sin. And through this sin, he preserves alive not only his covenant people of Israel, but also the line from which the Lion of Judah would come to save and rule the peoples. So huge things are at stake in the story of Joseph.

Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob

Going back to Abram, let’s bring the story up to Joseph. Abram has a son Isaac. Isaac has a son Jacob (whose other name is Israel), and Jacob has twelve sons who become the fathers of the twelve tribes of Israel. One of Jacob’s twelve sons, Joseph, has two dreams. In both of them, his eleven brothers and his parents bow down to him. Genesis 37:8 says his brothers hated him for these dreams. And verse 11 says they were jealous.

Destroying the Dreamer

The day came when they could vent their rage against their brother. His father sends him to see if it is well with his brothers (Genesis 37:14). They see him coming and say in verses 19-20, “Here comes this dreamer. Come now, let us kill him and throw him into one of the pits. Then we will say that a fierce animal has devoured him, and we will see what will become of his dreams.” Reuben tries to save Joseph but his attempt is only partly successful when the brothers sell Joseph as a slave to a caravan of Ishmaelites heading for Egypt (v. 25). They keep his special coat, soak it in animal blood, and his father assumes he was eaten by wild animals. The brothers think that is the end of that.

An Invisible Hand at Work

But they have no idea what is happening. They are utterly oblivious to God’s invisible hand in their action. They do not know that in the very effort to destroy this dreamer, they are fulfilling Joseph’s dreams. Oh, how often God works this way! He takes the very sins of the destroyers and makes them the means of the destroyers’ deliverance.

Potiphar, Prison, and Providence

In Egypt, Joseph is bought by Potiphar, an officer of Pharaoh and captain of the guard (Genesis 37:36). There Joseph submits to God’s strange providence and serves Potiphar faithfully. He rises with trust and influence over Potiphar’s household. And you would think that the righteous would prosper. But it seems to be otherwise. Potiphar’s wife tries to seduce Joseph. He flees adultery. And the spurned woman is vicious and lies about Joseph. And in spite of his righteousness, he is put in prison.

In prison, again, totally unaware of what God is doing in all this misery, he again serves the jailer faithfully and is given trust and responsibility. Through the interpretation of two dreams of Pharaoh’s butler and baker, Joseph is eventually brought out of prison to interpret one of Pharoah’s dreams. His interpretation proves true and his wisdom seems compelling to Pharaoh, and Joseph is made commander in Egypt. “You shall be over my house,” Pharaoh says, “and all my people shall order themselves as you command. Only as regards the throne will I be greater than you” (Genesis 41:40).

The Dreams Fulfilled

Seven years of plenty followed by seven years of famine strike the land, just as Joseph said they would. Joseph preempts starvation in Egypt by gathering huge reserves of grain during the seven good years. Eventually, Joseph’s brothers hear that there is grain in Egypt, and they go for help. They don’t recognize their brother at first, but eventually he reveals himself. He had been seventeen years old when they sold him into slavery (37:2) and now when he tells them who he is he is thirty-nine years old (41:46, 53; 45:6). Twenty-two years had gone by. They are stunned. They tried to get rid of the dreamer, and in getting rid of him, they fulfilled his dreams. The brothers are bowing down at last to Joseph.

Eventually, he invites them to live in Egypt to save their lives, and the fulfillment of the distant prophecy that Abraham’s seed would sojourn 400 years in Egypt begins. So we ask again, How did it come about that God’s people wind up in Egypt in fulfillment of God’s plan? And what does God want to teach us about his ways and about his Son in this strange sojourn in Egypt?

Two Biblical Descriptions of This Fulfillment

The answer to how the people wound up in Egypt is clear at one level: They got there by means of the spectacular sin of attempted murder, greedy slave-dealing, and the heartless deceit of a broken-hearted old man. But how does the Bible describe this fulfillment of God’s prophecy? In two ways.

1) God Sent Joseph to Preserve Life

First, in Genesis 45:5, Joseph says to his brothers who are very afraid of him, “Do not be distressed or angry with yourselves because you sold me here, for God sent me before you to preserve life.” The first way the Bible describes this spectacular sin of the brothers is that it was God’s way of sending Joseph to Egypt in order to save the very ones who were trying to kill him. “God sent me before you.”

And lest we think this was a side comment with little significance, we read the very same thing in Psalm 105:16-17—only there the stakes are raised even higher. Not only was God ruling the actions of these brothers to get Joseph to Egypt, but God was ruling the famine as well: “When he summoned a famine on the land and broke all supply of bread, he had sent a man ahead of them, Joseph, who was sold as a slave.” So put out of your mind the thought that God foresaw a famine happening on its own or happening by Satan. God summoned the famine. And God prepared the deliverance.

2) What Man Designed for Evil, God Designed for Good

So the first way the Bible describes the fulfillment of God’s prophecy that his people would come to Egypt is by saying God sent Joseph there ahead of them. The second way the Bible describes this prophecy is even more penetrating and sweeping. The brothers come before Joseph again, this time after the death of their father, and they are again afraid he will take vengeance on them. In Genesis 50:19-20, Joseph says, “Do not fear, for am I in the place of God? As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.”

The second way the Bible describes the way God fulfilled his prophecy is: The brothers meant the sale of Joseph for evil, but God meant it for good. Notice it does not say that God used their evil for good after they meant it for evil. It says that in the very act of evil, there were two different designs: In the sinful act, they were designing evil, and in the same sinful act, God was designing good.

Pointing, Life-Saving Sin

This is what we have seen and will see over and over: What man designs—or the devil designs—for evil, God designs for some great good. The great good mentioned in Genesis 45:5 is “to preserve life.” And the great good mentioned in Genesis 50:20 is “to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.” But in those words, and the whole story of how God saves his people, are pointers to the global purpose of this sin—this life-saving sin—in the glory of Jesus Christ.

Three Pointers to the Glory of Jesus

Let’s look at three things in this story that prepare us to see the glory of Jesus and who he really is.

1) Salvation Comes Through Sin and Suffering

First, we see the general pattern that turns up over and over in the Bible, namely, that God’s saving victory for his people often comes through sin and suffering. Joseph’s brothers sinned against him, and he suffered for it. And in all this, God is at work to save his people—including the very ones who are trying to destroy the savior. The fact that Jesus came this way should not have been as surprising to as many people as it was. That he was sinned against and suffered on the way to save his people is what we would expect from this pattern that turns up again and again.

So in the story of Joseph and the spectacular sin of his brothers, we are being prepared to see the glory of Christ—his patience and humility and servanthood, all the while saving the very ones who were trying to get rid of him.

Died He for me, who caused His pain—
for me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! how can it be
that Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?

2) The Suffering One Is Righteous

Second, the story of Joseph and the spectacular sin of his brothers prepare us to see Jesus not just because of the general pattern that God’s saving victory for his people often comes through suffering and sin, but more specifically, in this case, because the very one who is suffering and being sinned against is so righteous. Joseph stands out in this story for his amazing constancy and faithfulness to every relationship. Even in undeserved exile, he’s faithful to Potiphar and he is faithful to the jailer. Genesis 39:22: “The keeper of the prison put Joseph in charge of all the prisoners who were in the prison. Whatever was done there, he was the one who did it.”

And what was Joseph’s reward? He was lied about by Potiphar’s wife, and the cupbearer of Pharaoh, whose dream Joseph interpreted, thanklessly forgot about him in prison for two years after the dreams. So the point of all this is not just that there is sin and suffering and that God is at work in it to save his people. More specifically, the point is that the righteous one, even though mistreated for so long, is finally vindicated by God. Even though others have rejected this righteous stone, God makes him the cornerstone (Matthew 21:42). His vindication becomes the very means of the salvation of his persecutors.

Jesus Christ is the final and ultimate and perfect righteous one (Acts 7:52). It looked to others as if his life was going so badly that he must be a sinner. But in the end, all the sin against him, and all the suffering he endured in perfect righteousness, led to his vindication and, because of it, to our salvation. If Joseph is amazing in his steadfastness, Jesus is ten thousand times more amazing, because he experienced ten thousand times more suffering and deserved it ten thousand times less, and was perfectly steadfast, faithful, and righteous through it all.

3) The Scepter Will Not Depart from Judah

There are other parallels in this story between Joseph and Jesus, but we turn now to the most important thing in this story about Jesus and it is not a parallel with Joseph. It’s a prophecy about the coming of Jesus, which could not have happened if these sinful sons of Jacob had starved in the famine. The spectacular sin of these brothers was God’s way of saving the tribe of Judah from extinction so that the Lion of Judah, Jesus Christ, would be born and die and rise and reign over all the peoples of the world.

We see this most clearly in Genesis 49:8-10. Jacob, the father, is about to die, and before he dies, he pronounces a prophetic blessing over all his sons. Here is what he says about his son Judah:

Judah, your brothers shall praise you; your hand shall be on the neck of your enemies; your father’s sons shall bow down before you. Judah is a lion's cub; from the prey, my son, you have gone up. He stooped down; he crouched as a lion and as a lioness; who dares rouse him? The scepter shall not depart from Judah, nor the ruler's staff from between his feet, until tribute comes to him; and to him shall be the obedience of the peoples.

Here is a prophecy of the coming final king of Israel, the Lion of Judah, the Messiah. Notice in verse 10 that the scepter—the ruler’s staff, the sign of the king—will be in the line of Judah until one comes who is no ordinary king, because all the peoples, not just Israel, will obey him. Verse 10b: “To him shall be the obedience of the peoples.”

This is fulfilled in Jesus. Listen to the way John describes Jesus’ role in heaven after his crucifixion and resurrection: “Weep no more; behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals. . . . And they sang a new song, saying, ‘Worthy are you to take the scroll and to open its seals, for you were slain, and by your blood you ransomed people for God from every tribe and language and people and nation, and you have made them a kingdom and priests to our God, and they shall reign on the earth’” (Revelation 5:5, 9-10).

The Lion of Judah Is the Lamb Who Was Slain

The most magnificent thing about the Lion of the tribe of Judah in his fulfillment of Jacob’s prophecy is that he lays claim on the obedience of all the peoples of the world not by exploiting our guilt and crushing us with it into submission, but by bearing our guilt and freeing us to love him and praise him and obey with joy forever. The Lion of Judah is the Lamb who was slain. He wins our obedience by forgiving our sins and making his own obedience, his own perfection as the righteous one, the basis of our acceptance with God. And in this position of immeasurable safety and joy—all of it owing to his suffering and righteousness and death and resurrection—he wins our free and happy obedience.

The story of Joseph is the story of a righteous one who is sinned against and suffers so that tribe of Judah would be preserved and a Lion would come forth, and would prove to be a Lamb-like Lion, and by his suffering and death, purchase and empower glad obedience from all the nations—even from those who put him to death.

Does he have yours?

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org