约瑟的被卖和神的儿子

令亚伯兰大为震惊的话语

说到约瑟的故事,还有他哥哥们犯下的骇人罪行,以及这些事在耶稣基督的荣耀里,有怎样的普世性目的,我们先要回头看看《创世记》12章。在世上的万族万民中,上帝拣选了亚伯兰,绝不是因为欠他什么人情,乃是完全出于白白的恩典。《创世记》12:2-3,上帝给亚伯兰一个应许:“我必叫你成为大国。我必赐福给你,叫你的名为大;你也要叫别人得福。 为你祝福的,我必赐福与他;那咒诅你的,我必咒诅他。地上的万族都要因你得福。”这就是以色列民族的起源,而且耶稣基督,那位弥赛亚,神的儿子,日后就是从这个民族而来,拯救我们脱离各样的罪恶。

接下来在15章,上帝跟亚伯拉罕正式立约。神立约的行动极具象征意义,所讲的话也令人吃惊。《创世记》15:13-16,耶和华对亚伯兰说:“你要的确知道,你的后裔必寄居别人的地,又服事那地的人;那地的人要苦待他们四百年。 并且他们所要服事的那国,我要惩罚,后来他们必带着许多财物从那里出来。 …… 到了第四代,他们必回到此地,因为亚摩利人的罪孽还没有满盈。”

整整四百年啊!

如此看来,早在跟自己的选民立约之初,上帝就预言以色列人会在埃及地居住400年,然后才回到他们的应许之地。“那地的人要苦待他们四百年。”神提供的理由似乎有些古怪,为什么亚伯拉罕的后裔必须离开迦南地整整四个世纪(你想,多么漫长的日子啊!),为什么不能当时就承受那地呢?圣经给了我们清楚的答案,就是15节所说的:“因为亚摩利人的罪孽还没有满盈。”400年之后,在约书亚的带领下,以色列众民重新回到迦南,要夺取这地,并要赶尽杀绝当地各族。对于那时的情况,我们该如何解释?《申命记》9:5给我们提供了上帝自己的回答:“你进去得他们的地,并不是因你的义,也不是因你心里正直,乃是因这些国民的恶,耶和华你的神将他们从你面前赶出去,又因耶和华要坚定他向你列祖亚伯拉罕、以撒、雅各起誓所应许的话。”可见,以色列人征服应许之地的战争,其实是上帝所施行的审判——对恶贯满盈的当地原住民数世纪罪恶之清算。

神的百姓进入天国,会经历许多的艰难

与此同时,上帝预言说,他的百姓将会在异国他乡(埃及地)寄居,而且要受苦400年。你看,这就是上帝给他的百姓——他自己的朝圣者,所安排的计划。这就好像一副图画,预表了你们进入天国前在这世上的生活。如果在赐给应许之地前,上帝为自己的百姓安排了400年的苦难(《创世记》15:13),那么听到从神而来的这句话,我们也就不用惊奇了:“我们进入神的国,必须经历许多艰难”(《使徒行传》14:22)。

借助于一个骇人的罪行,预言却得以应验

摆在我们面前的问题是:到底神的百姓是如何颠沛流离地去了埃及地呢?并且,在这段寄居于埃及的奇特经历中,关于神的道路和神的儿子,上帝又想教给我们什么功课?答案居然是,上帝通过一件骇人的罪行,实现了那个预言。而且,他不仅借此养活了那与他立约的百姓以色列,并且那犹大支派的狮子——将要来拯救和统治万民的,也会从以色列人的血脉出来。所以,约瑟的故事真的是意义重大,影响深远。

亚伯拉罕、以撒和雅各

回到亚伯兰,让我们再把这个故事连到约瑟身上。亚伯兰生了一个儿子以撒。以撒有一个儿子叫雅各(他的另一个名字是以色列),而雅各生了十二个儿子,他们就成为以色列十二支派的祖先。雅各的十二个儿子之一约瑟,曾经做过两个梦。情节有别,意思差不多,就是他的十一个兄弟,加上他的父母,都向他跪拜。《创世记》37:8告诉我们,为着这些梦,他的兄弟们非常恨他。11节又说,他们都嫉妒约瑟。

要除掉这个做梦的人

终于有一天,气愤愤的哥哥们要对约瑟采取报复行动了。那天,约瑟的父亲派他去找那些在外面放牧的哥哥们,要看看他们是否平安(《创世记》37:14)。哥哥们一见到约瑟来了,就彼此说(按照19-20节的记载),“你看!那做梦的来了。来吧!我们将他杀了,丢在一个坑里,就说有恶兽把他吃了。我们且看他的梦将来怎么样。”流便试图保护约瑟,但他的努力只取得了部分效果,虽然救了约瑟的命,却不能阻止其他兄弟把约瑟卖给以实玛利人的商队,被当做奴隶卖到埃及(25节)。哥哥们把约瑟的那件彩衣留下来,染上动物的血,好叫他们的父亲误认为约瑟是被野兽吃掉了。哥哥们也以为,故事可以到此结束了。

有一只看不见的手在工作

但他们意想不到的事情正在发生。他们在自己的行动当中,完全无视上帝那看不见的手。他们没有想到,就在试图除灭做异梦的弟弟之时,就在自鸣得意的行动之内,他们正在实现着约瑟的梦所预言的内容!上帝常常不就是这么做事的吗?那些作恶之人的种种罪行,在上帝手中转化成专门用来拯救他们的手段。

波提乏,监狱和神的护理

在埃及买走约瑟的人是波提乏,他是法老的内臣和护卫长(《创世记》37:36)。在波提乏家中,约瑟顺服上帝那令人费解的护理(providence,或译摄理)主权,忠实地服事波提乏。于是他获得了主人的信任和提拔,在波提乏家中其影响力不断提升。或许这时你会说,是啊,义人的道路必然通达啊。但是,好景不长,事与愿违。波提乏的妻子看上了约瑟,想要勾引他。约瑟断然拒绝犯通奸之罪,逃离了她的纠缠。结果呢,这位遭冷落的恶毒的妇人就倒打一耙,诬告约瑟调戏她。于是,尽管约瑟是个义人,却换得了锒铛入狱的下场。

到了监狱里,又一次,在全然不知上帝要借这些麻烦事达成什么目的之时,约瑟依然忠心服事那位司狱(监狱长),并再次获得信任,承担了很多事务。后来,因着给法老的酒政和膳长解了两个梦,约瑟最终被带出监狱,要去给法老解梦。他对法老之梦的解释得到了印证,并且法老也看出了约瑟的超凡智慧,就任命他做埃及全地的宰相。“你可以掌管我的家,”法老说,“我的民都必听从你的话。惟独在宝座上我比你大”(《创世记》41:40)。

那些梦都应验了

7年丰收之后,7个荒年临到,埃及地受灾极重,正如约瑟预先看明的。为应对日后要来的大饥荒,约瑟早已采取预防措施,在7个丰收年里,他已在埃及储备了足够的粮食。渐渐地,饥荒越来越严重,约瑟的兄弟们听说埃及还有粮食,就下到埃及寻求救助。他们一开始并没有认出自己的弟弟来,不过后来约瑟还是向他们亮明了身份。当他们把他卖身为奴的时候,约瑟大约17岁(37:2),而当约瑟告诉他们自己的真实身份时,他已经39岁了(41:46, 53; 45:6)。22年匆匆过去。他们都大为震惊,本来要除掉这个做梦之人的,没想到因此把他的梦付诸实现。你看,这些哥哥后来真的都向约瑟下拜了。

后来,约瑟邀请他的兄弟们去到埃及居住,好叫他们都得以存活,由此,那古老的预言开始应验——亚伯拉罕的后裔将会在埃及寄居400年。因此,我们再来回顾一下之前提出的问题,到底神的百姓是如何按照上帝的计划,流落到埃及地的呢?并且,在这段寄居于埃及的奇特经历中,在关乎神的道路和神的儿子方面,上帝又想教给我们什么功课?

关于该预言之应验,圣经的两段描述

以色列民如何来到埃及?答案似乎很简单:他们去那里,是通过那件可怕的谋杀未遂案,并借助于贪鄙的奴隶贩卖以及对那位心碎老人的无耻欺骗。但是,对于如此“应验”预言的方式,圣经又是怎么解释的?圣经的描述有两方面。

1) 上帝差派了约瑟,为的是保全生命

首先,《创世记》45:5,约瑟对他的哥哥们说(当时哥哥们都非常害怕他),“现在,不要因为把我卖到这里自忧自恨。这是神差我在你们以先来,为要保全生命。”可见,对于哥哥们所犯下的那个大罪,圣经第一处的描述乃是:这是上帝的作为,他要借此把约瑟差派到埃及,为的是来拯救这些杀人犯(尽管杀人未遂)。“这是神差我在你们以先来。”

别以为这只是个无关痛痒的附带评论,在《诗篇》105:16-17,我们会读到一模一样的叙述——只不过在那里,这个筹码被提得更高了。上帝不仅在操控约瑟哥哥们的行动,好把约瑟差派到埃及,并且,上帝也在操控整个的饥荒:“他命饥荒降在那地上,将所倚靠的粮食全行断绝,在他们以先打发一个人去,约瑟被卖为奴仆。” 所以,你千万不要错误地以为,上帝只是预见到有饥荒来临,或者有饥荒是因为撒旦在捣鬼,不,上帝自己命定了那场饥荒。当然,上帝同时也预备了拯救的方式。

2) 人所设计的恶行,却成了上帝所设计的美意

因此,圣经描述上帝预言他的百姓下埃及,其第一个描述是说,上帝差派约瑟在他们之前去到埃及。而圣经里关于这预言的第二个描述,显得更加透彻有力。当雅各去世后,约瑟的哥哥们又一次来到约瑟面前,因为担心约瑟会为过去受到的伤害进行报复。但是,在《创世记》50:19-20,约瑟却对他们说:“不要害怕,我岂能代替神呢? 从前你们的意思是要害我,但神的意思原是好的,要保全许多人的性命,成就今日的光景。”

这样,圣经中对上帝实现其预言的第二个描述是:哥哥们要把约瑟卖掉,的确是出于邪恶的动机,但上帝却有他的美意在其中。请注意,经文没有说,上帝在他们行恶之后,再把那件坏事转化成好事。而恰恰是说,就是在那个恶毒的行动本身当中,已经存在着两个不同的设计:在那罪恶的行径当中,他们的意思是要设计一个恶事,而就在那同一个罪恶的行径里,上帝的设计却是要成就他的美意。

有指向的、拯救生命的罪

这就是我们已经看到并且还会不断看到的:那些被人所设计的——或者魔鬼所设计的——邪恶之事,上帝却另有设计,为要成就某些很奇特的美事。《创世记》45:5提到的很美好的事,乃是“为要保全生命。”而在《创世记》50:20那里提到的很美好的事,乃是“要保全许多人的性命,成就今日的光景。”然而,就是在这些语句当中,包括整个上帝拯救他的百姓的故事,都是指向标,指向这个罪行的全球性的目标——这个拯救生命的罪——乃是在耶稣基督的荣耀里面的。

朝着耶稣的荣耀的三个指向标

通过这个故事中的三件事,我们来看看,上帝如何预备我们,能够看到耶稣的荣耀,认识到耶稣究竟是谁。

1) 救恩乃是借着罪和患难而来

首先我们看到,在圣经里再三出现的一个普遍模式,就是上帝在他子民身上的救赎性的胜利,往往是借助于罪和患难达成的。约瑟的哥哥们对他犯罪,约瑟也因此而受苦。然而就是在这一切的事件当中,上帝在作工,为要拯救他的子民——甚至包括那些企图除灭这位救主的人。耶稣就是这样来到世间的,借着他的受苦来成就美好的救恩,这个事实,不应该让那么多的人感到奇怪才对。在走向拯救他子民的道路上,耶稣被人冒犯和唾弃,也饱经忧患,其实,这正是我们应该预期的模式,因为圣经里有许多这样的例子。

所以,在约瑟的故事以及他的哥哥们所犯的大罪中,我们乃是被更好地预备了,以便看到基督的荣耀——他的忍耐和仆人心态,而且与此同时,他还要拯救那些企图迫害和杀死他的人。

我是何人竟也有分?
罪是我犯,死归祂受,
祂替我死,为将我救!
惊人之爱,何竟如此?
我主我神为我受死!

救主流血所成救恩)

2) 那位受苦的人居然是义人

其次,前面说过,在约瑟的故事以及他哥哥们所犯的大罪中,我们乃是被更好地预备了,以便看到耶稣,这不仅因为那个普遍出现的模式,就是:上帝的救赎性的胜利常常借着患难和罪而实现;而且还有更加具体的一个层面,那就是,在这个案例中,那位被人伤害、冒犯而受苦的,居然是一个义人。就像这个故事当中的约瑟,他总是以其全然的可靠和忠心,出现在每一个关系里面。即使遇到不公平的惩罚,他仍对波提乏忠心,对那位司狱(监狱长)也是忠心的。《创世记》39:22记载:“司狱就把监里所有的囚犯都交在约瑟手下;他们在那里所办的事都是经他的手。 ”

那么,约瑟得到的回报是什么呢?他被波提乏的妻子欺骗和陷害,而那位法老的酒政,因约瑟给他解梦而官复原职,却把约瑟忘在脑后,毫无感恩之心,任凭约瑟在监狱里又呆了两年之久。所以,在这一切事情当中我们认识到世上有患难、罪恶,也认识到上帝依然在作工,在拯救他的子民。更具体地说,我们还认识到,这位正义的人,虽然长期遭受不公正的虐待,最终还是会在神那里得着平反和公正的对待。尽管其他人已经离弃了这块公义的石头,上帝却使它成为房角石(《马太福音》41:42)。神的这个拨乱反正之举,恰恰成为他救赎那些迫害者的途径。

耶稣基督乃是那位最后、最终、完美的义者(《使徒行传》7:52)。虽然在外人看来,他的生活如此糟糕困苦,他似乎更像一个罪有应得的罪人。但是,在最后的结局那里,所有那些针对他的冒犯,以及他在完美的义行当中承受的一切苦难,都导致了他的得胜,让他蒙神悦纳,而且,就因着这个缘故,我们才有机会获得救恩。如果说约瑟很了不起,因为他目标坚定,全然敬畏上帝,那么相比之下,耶稣就千万倍地令人称奇,因为,他所经历的痛苦,所受到的冤屈,都高过约瑟千万倍;并且,耶稣在一生经历中,始终目标明确,坚定不移,忠心到底,全然公义。

3) 圭必不离犹大

在约瑟的故事中,还有其它一些跟耶稣平行对应的地方,不过,我们现在先来看看其中一个最重要的事情,乃是关乎耶稣的,却又不是跟约瑟类似的。这是一个关乎耶稣降临的预言,而且必须借助于雅各的儿子们才能实现,假如他们都在饥荒中饿死了,预言就要落空。这些哥哥的骇人罪行,正是上帝用来拯救犹大支派,使之不至于灭绝的途径。这样,耶稣基督,那位犹大支派的狮子,才能够生到世上,以致后来受死,复活,然后统治地上的万民。

关于这一点,我们可以在《创世记》49:8-10那里很清楚地看到。雅各死期临近了,而就在临死的时候,他一一宣告了对儿子们那预言性的祝福。对于犹大,他是这样说的:

“犹大啊,你弟兄们必赞美你;你手必掐住仇敌的颈项;你父亲的儿子们必向你下拜。 犹大是个小狮子;我儿啊,你抓了食便上去。你屈下身去,卧如公狮,蹲如母狮,谁敢惹你? 圭必不离犹大,杖必不离他两脚之间,直等细罗(就是赐平安者)来到,万民都必归顺。”

这个预言乃是关乎那将要来的以色列最后一位君王,犹大支派的狮子,那位弥赛亚。请留意10节当中的圭——统治者手里所握的杖,是国王的标志——将归犹大血统而出的君王,而这将要来的君王,可不是一般人物,因为不仅以色列民,地上所有的民族和国家,都会归顺他。就像第10节后半句所说的:“万民都必归顺(他)。”

后来这个预言应验在耶稣身上了。在耶稣受死并复活之后,约翰这样来描述耶稣在天上的角色:“不要哭!看哪,犹大支派中的狮子,大卫的根,他已得胜,能以展开那书卷,揭开那七印……他们唱新歌,说:你配拿书卷,配揭开七印;因为你曾被杀,用自己的血从各族、各方、各民、各国中买了人来,叫他们归于神, 又叫他们成为国民,作祭司归于神,在地上执掌王权”(《启示录》5:5, 9-10)

犹大的狮子就是那被杀的羔羊

这位“犹大支派的狮子”,就是雅各在预言中所提到的,其应验方面最壮丽的部分是,他获得全地各族人民的拥戴和顺服,并非通过任何诡诈、强迫的方式,或利用我们的罪咎而迫使我们就范;他乃是背负了我们的罪孽,把被罪压制的我们释放出来,可以自由地来爱他和赞美他,并且满怀喜悦地遵从他,直到永远。犹大的狮子就是那曾经被杀的羔羊。借着饶恕我们的罪,他赢得了我们的顺服,并以他自己的顺服,以他自己作为义者的完全,作为上帝接纳我们的基础。就是在这样一个无限安全和喜乐的位置上——所有这一切都是因着他的牺牲和公义,并他的死亡和复活——他赢得了我们自觉和快乐的顺服。

约瑟的故事乃是一位义者的故事,这位义者被人羞辱和得罪,并且遭受患难,好叫犹大支派得以保存下来,从而那“犹大的狮子”可以降世,而且显明为仿佛羔羊的狮子,并且,因着他的受苦和死亡,从万国万民中买赎人,激发人心甘情愿的顺服——包括那些曾经定他死罪的人。

他是否也赢得了你的心呢?

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

The Sale of Joseph and the Son of God

Astonishing Words to Abram

Before we retell the story of Joseph and the spectacular sin of his brothers and its global purpose in the glory of Jesus Christ, let’s back up to Genesis 12. God has chosen Abram from all the peoples of the world by free grace and owing to nothing in him. In Genesis 12:2-3, God makes him a promise: “I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and him who dishonors you I will curse, and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.” This is the beginning of the people of Israel through whom Jesus Christ, the Messiah, the Son of God will come into the world to save us from our sins.

Then in chapter 15, God makes a formal covenant with Abram. He uses a remarkable symbolic act and some astonishing words. He says to Abram in Genesis 15:13-16, “Know for certain that your offspring will be sojourners in a land that is not theirs and will be servants there, and they will be afflicted for four hundred years. But I will bring judgment on the nation that they serve, and afterward they shall come out with great possessions. . . . And they shall come back here in the fourth generation, for the iniquity of the Amorites is not yet complete.”

Four Hundred Years!

So at the very beginning of his covenant relationship with his chosen people, God predicts a 400-year stay in Egypt and the return to the promised land. “They will be afflicted 400 years.” He has his strange reasons why they must leave for four centuries (think of it!) and not inherit the land now, namely, verse 15: “the iniquity of the Amorites is not yet complete.” When the Israelites come back to take the land under Joshua in 400 years, they will destroy these nations. How are we to understand that? Deuteronomy 9:5 gives God’s answer: “Not because of your righteousness or the uprightness of your heart are you going in to possess their land, but because of the wickedness of these nations the Lord your God is driving them out from before you, and that he may confirm the word that the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob.” The conquest of the promised land is the judgment of God on the fullness of centuries of wickedness.

God’s People Enter Through Many Afflictions

In the meantime, God says that his people will be sojourners in a land that is not theirs and will be afflicted for 400 years, namely, in Egypt. So there is God’s plan for his pilgrim people—a kind of picture of your life on this earth until heaven. If God plans 400 years of affliction for his people (Genesis 15:13) before the promised land, we should not be surprised that he says to us “through many tribulations you must enter the kingdom of God” (Acts 14:22).

Prophecy Fulfilled Through a Spectacular Sin

The question for us today is: How will it come about that God’s people wind up in Egypt? And what does God want to teach about his ways and about his Son in this strange sojourn in Egypt? The answer is that God fulfills this prophecy through a spectacular sin. And through this sin, he preserves alive not only his covenant people of Israel, but also the line from which the Lion of Judah would come to save and rule the peoples. So huge things are at stake in the story of Joseph.

Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob

Going back to Abram, let’s bring the story up to Joseph. Abram has a son Isaac. Isaac has a son Jacob (whose other name is Israel), and Jacob has twelve sons who become the fathers of the twelve tribes of Israel. One of Jacob’s twelve sons, Joseph, has two dreams. In both of them, his eleven brothers and his parents bow down to him. Genesis 37:8 says his brothers hated him for these dreams. And verse 11 says they were jealous.

Destroying the Dreamer

The day came when they could vent their rage against their brother. His father sends him to see if it is well with his brothers (Genesis 37:14). They see him coming and say in verses 19-20, “Here comes this dreamer. Come now, let us kill him and throw him into one of the pits. Then we will say that a fierce animal has devoured him, and we will see what will become of his dreams.” Reuben tries to save Joseph but his attempt is only partly successful when the brothers sell Joseph as a slave to a caravan of Ishmaelites heading for Egypt (v. 25). They keep his special coat, soak it in animal blood, and his father assumes he was eaten by wild animals. The brothers think that is the end of that.

An Invisible Hand at Work

But they have no idea what is happening. They are utterly oblivious to God’s invisible hand in their action. They do not know that in the very effort to destroy this dreamer, they are fulfilling Joseph’s dreams. Oh, how often God works this way! He takes the very sins of the destroyers and makes them the means of the destroyers’ deliverance.

Potiphar, Prison, and Providence

In Egypt, Joseph is bought by Potiphar, an officer of Pharaoh and captain of the guard (Genesis 37:36). There Joseph submits to God’s strange providence and serves Potiphar faithfully. He rises with trust and influence over Potiphar’s household. And you would think that the righteous would prosper. But it seems to be otherwise. Potiphar’s wife tries to seduce Joseph. He flees adultery. And the spurned woman is vicious and lies about Joseph. And in spite of his righteousness, he is put in prison.

In prison, again, totally unaware of what God is doing in all this misery, he again serves the jailer faithfully and is given trust and responsibility. Through the interpretation of two dreams of Pharaoh’s butler and baker, Joseph is eventually brought out of prison to interpret one of Pharoah’s dreams. His interpretation proves true and his wisdom seems compelling to Pharaoh, and Joseph is made commander in Egypt. “You shall be over my house,” Pharaoh says, “and all my people shall order themselves as you command. Only as regards the throne will I be greater than you” (Genesis 41:40).

The Dreams Fulfilled

Seven years of plenty followed by seven years of famine strike the land, just as Joseph said they would. Joseph preempts starvation in Egypt by gathering huge reserves of grain during the seven good years. Eventually, Joseph’s brothers hear that there is grain in Egypt, and they go for help. They don’t recognize their brother at first, but eventually he reveals himself. He had been seventeen years old when they sold him into slavery (37:2) and now when he tells them who he is he is thirty-nine years old (41:46, 53; 45:6). Twenty-two years had gone by. They are stunned. They tried to get rid of the dreamer, and in getting rid of him, they fulfilled his dreams. The brothers are bowing down at last to Joseph.

Eventually, he invites them to live in Egypt to save their lives, and the fulfillment of the distant prophecy that Abraham’s seed would sojourn 400 years in Egypt begins. So we ask again, How did it come about that God’s people wind up in Egypt in fulfillment of God’s plan? And what does God want to teach us about his ways and about his Son in this strange sojourn in Egypt?

Two Biblical Descriptions of This Fulfillment

The answer to how the people wound up in Egypt is clear at one level: They got there by means of the spectacular sin of attempted murder, greedy slave-dealing, and the heartless deceit of a broken-hearted old man. But how does the Bible describe this fulfillment of God’s prophecy? In two ways.

1) God Sent Joseph to Preserve Life

First, in Genesis 45:5, Joseph says to his brothers who are very afraid of him, “Do not be distressed or angry with yourselves because you sold me here, for God sent me before you to preserve life.” The first way the Bible describes this spectacular sin of the brothers is that it was God’s way of sending Joseph to Egypt in order to save the very ones who were trying to kill him. “God sent me before you.”

And lest we think this was a side comment with little significance, we read the very same thing in Psalm 105:16-17—only there the stakes are raised even higher. Not only was God ruling the actions of these brothers to get Joseph to Egypt, but God was ruling the famine as well: “When he summoned a famine on the land and broke all supply of bread, he had sent a man ahead of them, Joseph, who was sold as a slave.” So put out of your mind the thought that God foresaw a famine happening on its own or happening by Satan. God summoned the famine. And God prepared the deliverance.

2) What Man Designed for Evil, God Designed for Good

So the first way the Bible describes the fulfillment of God’s prophecy that his people would come to Egypt is by saying God sent Joseph there ahead of them. The second way the Bible describes this prophecy is even more penetrating and sweeping. The brothers come before Joseph again, this time after the death of their father, and they are again afraid he will take vengeance on them. In Genesis 50:19-20, Joseph says, “Do not fear, for am I in the place of God? As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.”

The second way the Bible describes the way God fulfilled his prophecy is: The brothers meant the sale of Joseph for evil, but God meant it for good. Notice it does not say that God used their evil for good after they meant it for evil. It says that in the very act of evil, there were two different designs: In the sinful act, they were designing evil, and in the same sinful act, God was designing good.

Pointing, Life-Saving Sin

This is what we have seen and will see over and over: What man designs—or the devil designs—for evil, God designs for some great good. The great good mentioned in Genesis 45:5 is “to preserve life.” And the great good mentioned in Genesis 50:20 is “to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.” But in those words, and the whole story of how God saves his people, are pointers to the global purpose of this sin—this life-saving sin—in the glory of Jesus Christ.

Three Pointers to the Glory of Jesus

Let’s look at three things in this story that prepare us to see the glory of Jesus and who he really is.

1) Salvation Comes Through Sin and Suffering

First, we see the general pattern that turns up over and over in the Bible, namely, that God’s saving victory for his people often comes through sin and suffering. Joseph’s brothers sinned against him, and he suffered for it. And in all this, God is at work to save his people—including the very ones who are trying to destroy the savior. The fact that Jesus came this way should not have been as surprising to as many people as it was. That he was sinned against and suffered on the way to save his people is what we would expect from this pattern that turns up again and again.

So in the story of Joseph and the spectacular sin of his brothers, we are being prepared to see the glory of Christ—his patience and humility and servanthood, all the while saving the very ones who were trying to get rid of him.

Died He for me, who caused His pain—
for me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! how can it be
that Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?

2) The Suffering One Is Righteous

Second, the story of Joseph and the spectacular sin of his brothers prepare us to see Jesus not just because of the general pattern that God’s saving victory for his people often comes through suffering and sin, but more specifically, in this case, because the very one who is suffering and being sinned against is so righteous. Joseph stands out in this story for his amazing constancy and faithfulness to every relationship. Even in undeserved exile, he’s faithful to Potiphar and he is faithful to the jailer. Genesis 39:22: “The keeper of the prison put Joseph in charge of all the prisoners who were in the prison. Whatever was done there, he was the one who did it.”

And what was Joseph’s reward? He was lied about by Potiphar’s wife, and the cupbearer of Pharaoh, whose dream Joseph interpreted, thanklessly forgot about him in prison for two years after the dreams. So the point of all this is not just that there is sin and suffering and that God is at work in it to save his people. More specifically, the point is that the righteous one, even though mistreated for so long, is finally vindicated by God. Even though others have rejected this righteous stone, God makes him the cornerstone (Matthew 21:42). His vindication becomes the very means of the salvation of his persecutors.

Jesus Christ is the final and ultimate and perfect righteous one (Acts 7:52). It looked to others as if his life was going so badly that he must be a sinner. But in the end, all the sin against him, and all the suffering he endured in perfect righteousness, led to his vindication and, because of it, to our salvation. If Joseph is amazing in his steadfastness, Jesus is ten thousand times more amazing, because he experienced ten thousand times more suffering and deserved it ten thousand times less, and was perfectly steadfast, faithful, and righteous through it all.

3) The Scepter Will Not Depart from Judah

There are other parallels in this story between Joseph and Jesus, but we turn now to the most important thing in this story about Jesus and it is not a parallel with Joseph. It’s a prophecy about the coming of Jesus, which could not have happened if these sinful sons of Jacob had starved in the famine. The spectacular sin of these brothers was God’s way of saving the tribe of Judah from extinction so that the Lion of Judah, Jesus Christ, would be born and die and rise and reign over all the peoples of the world.

We see this most clearly in Genesis 49:8-10. Jacob, the father, is about to die, and before he dies, he pronounces a prophetic blessing over all his sons. Here is what he says about his son Judah:

Judah, your brothers shall praise you; your hand shall be on the neck of your enemies; your father’s sons shall bow down before you. Judah is a lion's cub; from the prey, my son, you have gone up. He stooped down; he crouched as a lion and as a lioness; who dares rouse him? The scepter shall not depart from Judah, nor the ruler's staff from between his feet, until tribute comes to him; and to him shall be the obedience of the peoples.

Here is a prophecy of the coming final king of Israel, the Lion of Judah, the Messiah. Notice in verse 10 that the scepter—the ruler’s staff, the sign of the king—will be in the line of Judah until one comes who is no ordinary king, because all the peoples, not just Israel, will obey him. Verse 10b: “To him shall be the obedience of the peoples.”

This is fulfilled in Jesus. Listen to the way John describes Jesus’ role in heaven after his crucifixion and resurrection: “Weep no more; behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals. . . . And they sang a new song, saying, ‘Worthy are you to take the scroll and to open its seals, for you were slain, and by your blood you ransomed people for God from every tribe and language and people and nation, and you have made them a kingdom and priests to our God, and they shall reign on the earth’” (Revelation 5:5, 9-10).

The Lion of Judah Is the Lamb Who Was Slain

The most magnificent thing about the Lion of the tribe of Judah in his fulfillment of Jacob’s prophecy is that he lays claim on the obedience of all the peoples of the world not by exploiting our guilt and crushing us with it into submission, but by bearing our guilt and freeing us to love him and praise him and obey with joy forever. The Lion of Judah is the Lamb who was slain. He wins our obedience by forgiving our sins and making his own obedience, his own perfection as the righteous one, the basis of our acceptance with God. And in this position of immeasurable safety and joy—all of it owing to his suffering and righteousness and death and resurrection—he wins our free and happy obedience.

The story of Joseph is the story of a righteous one who is sinned against and suffers so that tribe of Judah would be preserved and a Lion would come forth, and would prove to be a Lamb-like Lion, and by his suffering and death, purchase and empower glad obedience from all the nations—even from those who put him to death.

Does he have yours?

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org