ما هي إرادة الله، وكيف لنا أن نعرفها؟

فَأَطْلُبُ إِلَيْكُمْ أَيُّهَا الإِخْوَةُ بِرَأْفَةِ اللهِ أَنْ تُقَدِّمُوا أَجْسَادَكُمْ ذَبِيحَةً حَيَّةً مُقَدَّسَةً مَرْضِيَّةً عِنْدَ اللهِ، عِبَادَتَكُمُ الْعَقْلِيَّةَ. 2وَلاَ تُشَاكِلُوا هذَا الدَّهْرَ، بَلْ تَغَيَّرُوا عَنْ شَكْلِكُمْ بِتَجْدِيدِ أَذْهَانِكُمْ، لِتَخْتَبِرُوا مَا هِيَ إِرَادَةُ اللهِ: الصَّالِحَةُ الْمَرْضِيَّةُ الْكَامِلَةُ.

إن الهدف من رومية 12: 1-2 هو أن تصبح كل أشكال الحياة "عبادة عقلية [روحية]." الآية 1: "أَنْ تُقَدِّمُوا أَجْسَادَكُمْ ذَبِيحَةً حَيَّةً مُقَدَّسَةً مَرْضِيَّةً عِنْدَ اللهِ، عِبَادَتَكُمُ الْعَقْلِيَّةَ." إن الهدف من كل حياة الإنسان في عيني الله هو جعل المسيح ظاهرا بذات القيمة التي هو عليها. العبادة تعني استخدام عقولنا وقلوبنا واجسادنا للتعبير عن قيمة الله وكل ما هو لنا في المسيح. هناك وسيلة للعيش، وسيلة للمحبة، لفعل ذلك. هناك طريقة للقيام بذلك تعبر عن القيمة الحقيقية لله. إن لم تتمكن من العثور عليه، قد يعني ذلك أنه يجب تغيير أدوارك. أو قد يعني أن الآية 2 لا تتحقق بالدرجة المطلوبة.

الآية 2 هي إجابة بولس عن كيفيّة إمكانيّتنا لتحويل كل من الحياة إلى عبادة. يجب أن نتغير. نحن يجب أن نتغير. ليس فقط سلوكنا الخارجي، ولكن الطريقة التي نشعر ونفكر بها، أذهاننا. الآية 2: "تَغَيَّرُوا عَنْ شَكْلِكُمْ بِتَجْدِيدِ أَذْهَانِكُمْ.”

أصبح ما أنت عليه:

أولئك الذين يؤمنون بيسوع المسيح قد تمّ بالفعل شرائهم بالدم كخليقة جديدة في المسيح. "إِذًا إِنْ كَانَ أَحَدٌ فِي الْمَسِيحِ فَهُوَ خَلِيقَةٌ جَدِيدَةٌ: الأَشْيَاءُ الْعَتِيقَةُ قَدْ مَضَتْ، هُوَذَا الْكُلُّ قَدْ صَارَ جَدِيدًا." (2 كورنثوس 5: 17). ولكن الآن يجب أن نصبح ما نحن عليه. "إِذًا نَقُّوا مِنْكُمُ الْخَمِيرَةَ الْعَتِيقَةَ، لِكَيْ تَكُونُوا عَجِينًا جَدِيدًا كَمَا أَنْتُمْ فَطِيرٌ." (1 كورنثوس 5: 7).

"وَلَبِسْتُمُ الْجَدِيدَ الَّذِي يَتَجَدَّدُ لِلْمَعْرِفَةِ حَسَبَ صُورَةِ خَالِقِهِ" (كولوسي 3: 10). قد صرتم مجددين في المسيح، والآن يتم تجديدكم يوما بعد يوم. وهذا ما ركزنا عليه الأسبوع الماضي.

الآن نحن نركز على الجزء الأخير من الآية 2، أي الهدف من تجديد الذهن: "وَلاَ تُشَاكِلُوا هذَا الدَّهْرَ، بَلْ تَغَيَّرُوا عَنْ شَكْلِكُمْ بِتَجْدِيدِ أَذْهَانِكُمْ، [الآن يأتي الهدف] لِتَخْتَبِرُوا مَا هِيَ إِرَادَةُ اللهِ: الصَّالِحَةُ الْمَرْضِيَّةُ الْكَامِلَةُ." لذا تركيزنا اليوم هو على معنى مصطلح "إِرَادَةُ اللهِ"، وكيف يمكننا أن نميّزها.

الإرادتان اللتان لله:

هناك معنيان واضحان ومختلفان تماما لمصطلح "إرادة الله" في الكتاب المقدس. نحن بحاجة أن نعرفهما ونقرّر أيّاً منهما مستخدم هنا في رومية 12: 2. في الواقع، إنّ معرفة الفرق بين هذين المعنيين لـ "إرادة الله" هو أمر بالغ الأهمية لفهم أحد الأشياء الأكبر والأكثر حيرة في كل الكتاب المقدس، وهي أنّ الله ذو سيادة على كل شيء ومع ذلك لا يوافق على أشياء كثيرة. الأمر الذي يعني أنّ الله لا يوافق على بعض ما قد عيّنه أن يحدث. وهذا يعني، أنه يحرّم بعض الأشياء التي يجلبها. ويأمر ببعض الأشياء التي يمنعها. أو لوضعها بـأكثر مفارقة: يشاء الله ببعض الأحداث بمعنى واحد حيث لا يشاءها بمعنى آخر.

1. إرادة الله المحتومة، أو الإرادة السّيادية:

دعونا ننظر إلى نصوص من الكتاب المقدس تجعلنا نفكر بهذه الطريقة. انظر أولا إلى النصوص التي تصف "إرادة الله" باعتبارها سيطرته السّيادية على كل ما يحدث. واحدة من أوضح النصوص هي الطريقة التي تحّدث بها المسيح عن إرادة الله في جَثْسَيْمَانِي عندما كان يصلي. قال، في متى 26: 39 "يَا أَبَتَاهُ، إِنْ أَمْكَنَ فَلْتَعْبُرْ عَنِّي هذِهِ الْكَأْسُ، وَلكِنْ لَيْسَ كَمَا أُرِيدُ أَنَا بَلْ كَمَا تُرِيدُ أَنْتَ." إلى ماذا تشير إرادة الله في هذه الآية؟ إنها تشير إلى خطة الله السّياديّة التي ستحدث في الساعات المقبلة. تذكرون كيف قال أعمال 4: 27 - 28 هذا: "لأَنَّهُ بِالْحَقِيقَةِ اجْتَمَعَ عَلَى فَتَاكَ الْقُدُّوسِ يَسُوعَ، الَّذِي مَسَحْتَهُ، هِيرُودُسُ وَبِيلاَطُسُ الْبُنْطِيُّ مَعَ أُمَمٍ وَشُعُوبِ إِسْرَائِيلَ، لِيَفْعَلُوا كُلَّ مَا سَبَقَتْ فَعَيَّنَتْ يَدُكَ وَمَشُورَتُكَ أَنْ يَكُونَ." لذلك فإن "إرادة الله" كانت أن يموت المسيح. كانت هذه خطته، مشورته. ولا يوجد تغيير في ذلك، وانحنى المسيح وقال: "ها هو طلبي، ولكن افعل ما هو أفضل للقيام به." هذه هي الإرادة السّيادية لله.

ولا تغيب عنك النقطة الحاسمة جدا هنا أنها تتضمن خطايا الإنسان. هيرودس، وبيلاطس، والجنود، وقادة اليهود، جميعهم أخطأوا في تحقيق إرادة الله أن يُصلب ابنه (إشعياء 53: 10). لذا كن متأكداً جدا من هذا الأمر: يريد الله لبعض الأشياء أن تتحقق في حين أنه يكرهها.

إليك مثال على ذلك من 1 بطرس. في 1 بطرس 3: 17 يكتب بطرس "لأَنَّ تَأَلُّمَكُمْ إِنْ شَاءَتْ مَشِيئَةُ اللهِ، وَأَنْتُمْ صَانِعُونَ خَيْرًا، أَفْضَلُ مِنْهُ وَأَنْتُمْ صَانِعُونَ شَرًّا." وبعبارة أخرى، قد تكون إرادة الله أن يتألم المسيحيّون لصنع الخير. كان يقصد الاضطهاد. لكن اضطهاد المسيحيين الذين لا يستحقون ذلك، هو خطية. لذلك مرة أخرى، أحيانا يريد الله أن تأتي أحداثٌ تشمل على الخطية. "لأَنَّ تَأَلُّمَكُمْ إِنْ شَاءَتْ مَشِيئَةُ اللهِ، وَأَنْتُمْ صَانِعُونَ خَيْرًا.”

يقدم بولس بيانا موجزا واسعا من هذه الحقيقة في أفسس 1: 11 "الَّذِي فِيهِ [المسيح] أَيْضًا نِلْنَا نَصِيبًا، مُعَيَّنِينَ سَابِقًا حَسَبَ قَصْدِ الَّذِي يَعْمَلُ كُلَّ شَيْءٍ حَسَبَ رَأْيِ مَشِيئَتِهِ." إنّ ارادة الله هي حكمه الله السّياديّة لكل ما يحدث. وهناك نصوص أخرى كثيرة في الكتاب المقدس تعلِّم أنّ العناية الإلهية على الكون تمتد إلى ادق التفاصيل للطبيعة وقرارات الإنسان. لا يسقط عصفور واحد على الأرض بدون علم أبينا الذي في السّموات (متى 10: 29). "الْقُرْعَةُ تُلْقَى فِي الْحِضْنِ، وَمِنَ الرَّبِّ كُلُّ حُكْمِهَا." (أمثال 16: 33). "لِلإِنْسَانِ تَدَابِيرُ الْقَلْبِ، وَمِنَ الرَّبِّ جَوَابُ اللِّسَانِ." (أمثال 16: 1). "قَلْبُ الْمَلِكِ فِي يَدِ الرَّبِّ كَجَدَاوِلِ مِيَاهٍ، حَيْثُمَا شَاءَ يُمِيلُهُ." (أمثال 21: 1).

هذا هو المعنى الأول لإرادة الله: إنها تحكم الله السّيادي لكل الأشياء. ندعو هذا "إرادته السّيادية" أو "إرادته المحتومة." فلا يمكن كسرها. فهي دائما تتحقق. "هُوَ يَفْعَلُ كَمَا يَشَاءُ فِي جُنْدِ السَّمَاءِ وَسُكَّانِ الأَرْضِ، وَلاَ يُوجَدُ مَنْ يَمْنَعُ يَدَهُ أَوْ يَقُولُ لَهُ: «مَاذَا تَفْعَلُ؟»" (دانيال 4: 35).

2. إرادة الله الآمرة:

المعنى الآخر لـ "إرادة الله" في الكتاب المقدس هو ما يمكن أن نطلق عليه "إرادته الآمرة". فإرادته هي ما يأمرنا به. هذه هي ارادة الله التي يمكن لنا أن نعصيها ونفشل في القيام بها. نحن نفعل الإرادة المحتومة سواء كنا نؤمن بها أم لا. أما الإرادة الآمرة فيمكننا أن نفشل في القيام بها. على سبيل المثال، قال المسيح: "لَيْسَ كُلُّ مَنْ يَقُولُ لِي: يَارَبُّ، يَارَبُّ! يَدْخُلُ مَلَكُوتَ السَّمَاوَاتِ. بَلِ الَّذِي يَفْعَلُ إِرَادَةَ أَبِي الَّذِي فِي السَّمَاوَاتِ." (متى 7: 21). ليس الكل يفعل إرادة أبيه. فهو يقول كذلك. ليس كل واحد يدخل ملكوت السموات. لماذا؟ لأنه ليس الكل يفعل إرادة الله.

يقول بولس في 1 تسالونيكي 4: 3 "لأَنَّ هذِهِ هِيَ إِرَادَةُ اللهِ: قَدَاسَتُكُمْ. أَنْ تَمْتَنِعُوا عَنِ الزِّنَا." لدينا هنا حالة محددة جدا لما يأمرنا به الله: القداسة، والتقديس، والطهارة الجنسية. هذه هي إرادته الآمرة. لكن، للأسف، عدد كبير لا يطيع.

ثم يقول بولس في 1 تسالونيكي 5: 18 "اشْكُرُوا فِي كُلِّ شَيْءٍ، لأَنَّ هذِهِ هِيَ مَشِيئَةُ اللهِ فِي الْمَسِيحِ يَسُوعَ مِنْ جِهَتِكُمْ." هناك مرة أخرى جانبا محددا من إرادته الآمرة: اشكروا في كل شيء. ولكن الكثيرين لا يفعلون إرادة الله هذه.

مثال آخر: "وَالْعَالَمُ يَمْضِي وَشَهْوَتُهُ، وَأَمَّا الَّذِي يَصْنَعُ مَشِيئَةَ اللهِ فَيَثْبُتُ إِلَى الأَبَدِ." (1 يوحنا 2: 17). ليس الكل يثبت إلى الأبد. البعض يثبت. البعض الآخر لا يثبت. الفرق؟ البعض يفعل إرادة الله. البعض الآخر لا يفعلها. فإرادة الله، في هذا المعنى، لا تتمّم دائما.

لذلك أنا استنتج من هذه النصوص والعديد غيرها من الكتاب المقدس أنّ هناك طريقتان للحديث عن إرادة الله. وكلاهما صحيح، وكلاهما مهم أن نفهمه ونؤمن به. الأولى يمكن أن نطلق عليها إرادة الله المحتومة (أو إرادته السّيادية) والأخرى يمكن أن نطلق عليه إرادة الله الآمرة. إرادة الله المحتومة تتحقق دائماً سواء كنا نؤمن بها أم لا. أما إرادته الآمرة فيمكن أن نكسرها، وهذا يحصل كل يوم.

روعة هذه الحقائق:

قبل أن اربط هذا برومية 12: 2 اسمحوا لي بأن أعلق على كم هي ثمينة هاتين الحقيقتين. فكلتاهما تنسجمان مع احتياج عميق لدينا جميعا عندما نُجرح بشدة أو نُعاني خسائر كبيرة. فمن ناحية، نحتاج التأكيد أنّ الله هو المتحكم وبالتالي فهو قادر أن يعمل من خلال كل ألمي وخسارتي معا لخيري ولخير كلّ من يحبونه. ومن ناحية أخرى، نحتاج أن نعرف أنّ الله يتعاطف معنا ولا يسر بالخطية أو الألم في حد ذاته. هاتين الحاجتين تتوافقان مع إرادة الله المحتومة، وإرادته الآمرة.

مثلاً، إن كنت قد تعرضت لسوء المعاملة عندما كنت طفلا، وسألك شخص ما "هل تعتقد أن هذه كانت إرادة الله؟" لديك الآن وسيلة لفهم كتابي لهذا الأمر، وتعطي جوابا لا يتعارض مع الكتاب المقدس. يمكنك أن تقول: "لا لم تكن إرادة الله؛ لأنه يأمر البشر ألا يسيئوا معاملة بعضهم، بل أن يحبّوا بعضهم البعض. فالمعتدي قد كسر وصيّته وبالتالي جعل قلبه يغضب ويحزن (مرقس 3: 5). ولكن، بمعنى آخر، نعم، كان ذلك إرادة الله (إرادته ذات السيادة)، لأنه كان يُمكن أن يمنعها بمئة طريقة. ولكن لأسباب لا افهمها تماما بعد، لم يفعل ذلك.”

وما يتطابق مع هاتين الإرادتين هما شيئان تحتاج إليهما في هذه الحالة: أولا إله قوي وذات سيادة بما يكفي لتحويله للخير، والآخر إله قادر على التعاطف معك. فمن ناحية، المسيح هو الملك صاحب السيادة العليا، ولا شيء يحدث بدون إرادته (متى 28: 18). ومن ناحية أخرى، المسيح هو رئيس الكهنة الرّحوم الذي يتعاطف مع ضعفنا وألمنا (عبرانيين 4: 15). يتغلب الروح القدس علينا وعلى خطايانا عندما يشاء (يوحنا 1: 13؛ رومية 9: 15-16)، ويسمح لنفسه أن يُطفأ ويحزن عندما يشاء (أفسس 4: 30؛ 1 تسالونيكي 5: 19). إرادته ذات السيادية لا تُقهر، وإرادته الآمرة يمكن كسرها على نحو محزن.

إننا نحتاج هاتين الحقيقتين - هذين المفهومين عن إرادة الله- ليس فقط لفهم الكتاب المقدس- ولكن للتمسك بالله في الألم.

أيه إرادة مشار إليها في رومية 12: 2؟

والآن، أيّ من هذه الحقائق مقصود في رومية 12: 2 "وَلاَ تُشَاكِلُوا هذَا الدَّهْرَ، بَلْ تَغَيَّرُوا عَنْ شَكْلِكُمْ بِتَجْدِيدِ أَذْهَانِكُمْ، لِتَخْتَبِرُوا مَا هِيَ إِرَادَةُ اللهِ: الصَّالِحَةُ الْمَرْضِيَّةُ الْكَامِلَةُ." الإجابة بالتأكيد هي أن بولس يشير إلى إرادة الله الآمرة. أقول هذا لسببين على الأقل. أولا لأن الله لا ينوي لنا أن نعرف الكثير من إرادته السّيادية مقدما. "السَّرَائِرُ لِلرَّبِّ إِلهِنَا، وَالْمُعْلَنَاتُ لَنَا وَلِبَنِينَا إِلَى الأَبَدِ، لِنَعْمَلَ بِجَمِيعِ كَلِمَاتِ هذِهِ الشَّرِيعَةِ." (تثنية 29: 29). إن كنت تريد أن تعرف تفاصيل المستقبل لإرادة الله المحتومة، فأنت لا تريد الذهن المجدد، بل ترغب في كرة بلورية. هذا لا يُسمى التغيير والطاعة، بل يُسمى العرافة والكهانة.

والسبب الآخر أني أقول إنّ إرادة الله في رومية 12: 2 هي إرادة الله الآمرة وليست إرادته المحتومة هو أن كلمة "لِتَخْتَبِرُوا" تعني أنه يجب علينا أن نقرّ بإرادة الله ثم نفعلها بطاعة. ولكن في الواقع لا ينبغي لنا أن نوافق على الخطية أو نفعلها، حتى وإن كانت جزءاً من إرادة الله السّيادية. فالمعنى الذي قصده بولس في رومية 12: 2 تم إعادة صياغته تقريبا بالضبط في عبرانيين 5: 14، التي تقول: "وَأَمَّا الطَّعَامُ الْقَوِيُّ فَلِلْبَالِغِينَ، الَّذِينَ بِسَبَبِ التَّمَرُّنِ قَدْ صَارَتْ لَهُمُ الْحَوَاسُّ مُدَرَّبَةً عَلَى التَّمْيِيزِ بَيْنَ الْخَيْرِ وَالشَّرِّ." (أنظر إلى إعادة صياغة أخرى في فيلبي 1: 9-11). هذا هو الهدف من هذه الآية: ليس التحري عن إرادة الله السّرية الذي يعتزم القيام بها، لكن تمييز إرادة الله المعلنة والتي يجب علينا أن نفعلها.

ثلاث مراحل لمعرفة وعمل إرادة الله المعلنة:

هناك ثلاث مراحل لمعرفة وفعل إرادة الله المعلنة، أي، إرادته الآمرة، وكلها تتطلب الذهن المجدد بالتمييز المعطى بالروح القدس الذي تحدثنا عنه في المرة السابقة.

المرحلة الأولى:

أولا، إرادة الله الآمرة معلنة بسلطان نهائي وحاسم فقط في الكتاب المقدس. ونحن بحاجة للذهن المجدد لفهم وقبول ما يأمر به الله في الكتاب المقدس. فبدون الذهن المجدد، سنشوه الكتاب المقدس لتجنب وصاياه الجذرية لانكار الذات، والمحبة، والطهارة، والشبع الأسمى في المسيح وحده. إرادة الله الآمرة ذات السلطة موجودة فقط في الكتاب المقدس. يقول بولس أن الكتاب المقدس موحى به ويجعل المسيحي "كَامِلاً، مُتَأَهِّبًا لِكُلِّ عَمَل صَالِحٍ" (2 تيموثاوس 3: 17). ليس فقط لبعض الأعمال الصالحة. "لِكُلِّ عَمَل صَالِحٍ." أوه، يا لها من طاقة ووقت وتكريس ينبغى أن يقضيه المسيحيّون متأملين في كلمة الله المكتوبة.

المرحلة الثانية:

المرحلة الثانية من إرادة الله الآمرة هي تطبيقنا للحق الكتابي في مواقف جديدة قد تكون أو لا تكون موجودة بشكل واضح في الكتاب المقدس. الكتاب المقدس لا يقول لك أي شخص تتزوج، أو أية سيارة تقود، أو ما إذا كنت تمتلك منزلا، أو أين تقضي عطلتك، أو أية شبكة هاتف خلوي تشتريها، أو أي نوع من عصير البرتقال تشربه. أو غيرها من آلاف الخيارات التي يجب أن تتخذها أنت.

ما هو ضروري هو أن لدينا ذهن مجدد، وهذا يعني أنه مشكل تماما ومحكم تماما بإرادة الله المعلنة في الكتاب المقدس، أي أن نرى ونقيم كل العوامل ذات الصلة بفكر المسيح، ونميز ما يدعونا الله للقيام به. هذا يختلف كثيرا عن السعى باستمرار لسماع صوت الله يقول افعل هذا وافعل ذلك. الناس الذين يحاولون أن يعيشوا حياتهم من خلال سماع أصوات ليسوا على وفاق مع رومية 12: 2.

هناك فرق شاسع بين الصلاة والعمل من أجل تجديد الذهن الذي يميز كيف يطبق كلمة الله، من جهة، وعادة سؤال الله أن يعطيك إعلاناً جديداً عما يجب القيام به، من جهة أخرى. العرافة لا تتطلب التغيير. هدف الله هو ذهن جديد، طريقة جديدة للتفكير والتحكيم، وليس مجرد معلومات جديدة. هدفه هو أن نتغير، ونتقدس، ونتحرر بالحق في كلمته المعلنة (يوحنا 8: 32؛ 17: 17). وبالتالي فإن المرحلة الثانية من إرادة الله الآمرة هي التطبيق المميّز للكتاب المقدس في مواقف جديدة في الحياة عن طريق الذهن المجدد.

المرحلة الثالثة:

أخيرا، المرحلة الثالثة من إرادة الله الآمرة هي الغالبية العظمى من العيش بحيث لا يوجد أي تفكير واع قبل أن نتصرف. أجرأ على القول بأن ما يقرب من 95٪ من سلوكك أنت لا تفكر فيه مقدما. أي أنّ، أغلب أفكارك، ومواقفك، وتصرفاتك هي عفوية. هي مجرد امتداد لما هو في الداخل. قال المسيح: "فَإِنَّهُ مِنْ فَضْلَةِ الْقَلْب يَتَكَلَّمُ الْفَمُ. اَلإِنْسَانُ الصَّالِحُ مِنَ الْكَنْزِ الصَّالِحِ فِي الْقَلْب يُخْرِجُ الصَّالِحَاتِ، وَالإِنْسَانُ الشِّرِّيرُ مِنَ الْكَنْزِ الشِّرِّيرِ يُخْرِجُ الشُّرُورَ. وَلكِنْ أَقُولُ لَكُمْ: إِنَّ كُلَّ كَلِمَةٍ بَطَّالَةٍ يَتَكَلَّمُ بِهَا النَّاسُ سَوْفَ يُعْطُونَ عَنْهَا حِسَابًا يَوْمَ الدِّينِ" (متى 12: 34-36).

لماذا ادعو هذا جزءً من إرادة الله الآمرة؟ لسبب واحد. لأن الله يأمر بالأشياء مثل: لا تغضب. لا تكن فخورا. لا تشتهي. لا تقلق. لا تكن غيورا. لا تحسد. وليس لأي من هذه الأفعال تفكيرا مقدما. الغضب والفخر، والاشتهاء، والقلق، والغيرة، والحسد، كلهم يخرجون من القلب بلا تفكير واع أو قصد. ونحن مذنبون بسببهم. فهم يكسرون وصية الله.

أليس من الواضح إذاً أنّ هناك مهمة واحدة كبيرة للحياة المسيحية: تغيروا بتجديد أذهانكم. نحن بحاجة إلى قلوب جديدة وأذهان جديدة. اجعل الشجرة جيدة والثمار ستكون جيدة (متى 12: 33). هذا هو التحدي الكبير. هذا ما يدعوك إليه الله. لا يمكنك أن تفعل ذلك بنفسك. فأنت تحتاج المسيح، الذي مات من أجل خطاياك. وتحتاج إلى الروح القدس ليقودك إلى الحق الممجد للمسيح وليجعلك متواضعا لقبول الحق.

قدم نفسك لهذا. اغمر نفسك في كلمة الله المكتوبة، اشبع ذهنك بها. وصلي أن يجعلك روح المسيح جديدا جدا بحيث ما يخرج منك يكون صالحا، ومقبولا، وكاملا، لإرادة الله.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

What Is the Will of God and How Do We Know It?

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

The aim of Romans 12:1-2 is that all of life would become “spiritual worship.” Verse 1: “Present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.” The aim of all human life in God’s eyes is that Christ would be made to look as valuable as he is. Worship means using our minds and hearts and bodies to express the worth of God and all he is for us in Jesus. There is a way to live—a way to love—that does that. There is a way to do your job that expresses the true value of God. If you can’t find it, that may mean you should change jobs. Or it might mean that verse 2 is not happening to the degree it should.

Verse 2 is Paul’s answer to how we turn all of life into worship. We must be transformed. We must be transformed. Not just our external behavior, but the way we feel and think—our minds. Verse 2: “Be transformed by the renewal of your mind.”

Become What You Are

Those who believe in Christ Jesus are already blood-bought new creatures in Christ. “If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation” (2 Corinthians 5:17). But now we must become what we are. “Cleanse out the old leaven that you may be a new lump, as you really are unleavened” (1 Corinthians 5:7).

“You have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its creator” (Colossians 3:10). You have been made new in Christ; and now you are being renewed day by day. That’s what we focused on last week.

Now we focus on the last part of verse 2, namely, the aim of the renewed mind: “Do not be conformed to this world,but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, [now here comes the aim] that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” So our focus today is on the meaning of the term “will of God,” and how we discern it.

The Two Wills of God

There are two clear and very different meanings for the term “will of God” in the Bible. We need to know them and decide which one is being used here in Romans 12:2. In fact, knowing the difference between these two meanings of “the will of God” is crucial to understanding one of the biggest and most perplexing things in all the Bible, namely, that God is sovereign over all things and yet disapproves of many things. Which means that God disapproves of some of what he ordains to happen. That is, he forbids some of the things he brings about. And he commands some of the things he hinders. Or to put it most paradoxically: God wills some events in one sense that he does not will in another sense.

1. God’s Will of Decree, or Sovereign Will

Let’s see the passages of Scripture that make us think this way. First consider passages that describe “the will of God” as his sovereign control of all that comes to pass. One of the clearest is the way Jesus spoke of the will of God in Gethsemane when he was praying. He said, in Matthew 26:39, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” What does the will of God refer to in this verse? It refers to the sovereign plan of God that will happen in the coming hours. You recall how Acts 4:27-28 says this: “Truly in this city there were gathered together against your holy servant Jesus, whom you anointed, both Herod and Pontius Pilate, along with the Gentiles and the peoples of Israel, to do whatever your hand and your plan had predestined to take place.” So the “will of God” was that Jesus die. This was his plan, his decree. There was not changing it, and Jesus bowed and said, “Here’s my request, but you do what is best to do.” That’s the sovereign will of God.

And don’t miss the very crucial point here that it includes the sins of man. Herod, Pilate, the soldiers, the Jewish leaders—they all sinned in fulfilling God’s will that his Son be crucified (Isaiah 53:10). So be very clear on this: God wills to come to pass some things that he hates.

Here’s an example from 1 Peter. In 1 Peter 3:17 Peter writes, “It is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will, than for doing evil.” In other words, it may be God’s will that Christians suffer for doing good. He has in mind persecution. But persecution of Christians who do not deserve it, is sin. So again, God sometimes wills that events come about that include sin. “It is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will.”

Paul gives a sweeping summary statement of this truth in Ephesians 1:11, “In him [Christ] we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will.” The will of God is God’s sovereign governance of all that comes to pass. And there are many other passages in the Bible that teach that God’s providence over the universe extends to the smallest details of nature and human decisions. Not one sparrow falls to the ground apart from our Father in heaven (Matthew 10:29). “The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord” (Proverbs 16:33). “The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord” (Proverbs 16:1). “The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord; he turns it wherever he will” (Proverbs 21:1).

That’s the first meaning of the will of God: it is God’s sovereign control of all things. We will call this his “sovereign will” or his “will of decree.” It cannot be broken. It always comes to pass. “He does according to his will among the host of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth; and none can stay his hand or say to him, ‘What have you done?’” (Daniel 4:35).

2. God’s Will of Command

Now the other meaning for “the will of God” in the Bible is what we can call his “will of command.” His will is what he commands us to do. This is the will of God we can disobey and fail to do. The will of decree we do whether we believe in it or not. The will of command we can fail to do. For example, Jesus said, “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven” (Matthew 7:21). Not all do the will of his father. He says so. “Not everyone will enter the kingdom of heaven.” Why? Because not all do the will of God.

Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 4:3, “This is the will of God, your sanctification: that you abstain from sexual immorality.” Here we have a very specific instance of what God commands of us: holiness, sanctification, sexual purity. This is his will of command. But, oh, so many do not obey.

Then Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 5:18, “Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” There again is a specific aspect of his will of command: give thanks in all circumstances. But many do not do this will of God.

One more example: “And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever” (1 John 2:17). Not all abide forever. Some do. Some don’t. The difference? Some do the will of God. Some don’t. The will of God, in this sense, does not always happen.

So I conclude from these and many other passages of the Bible that there are two ways of talking about the will of God. Both are true, and both are important to understand and believe in. One we can call God’s will of decree (or his sovereign will) and the other we can call God’s will of command. His will of decree always comes to pass whether we believe in it or not. His will of command can be broken, and is every day.

The Preciousness of These Truths

Before I relate this to Romans 12:2 let me comment on how precious these two truths are. Both correspond to a deep need that we all have when we are deeply hurt or experience great loss. On the one hand, we need the assurance that God is in control and therefore is able to work all of my pain and loss together for my good and the good of all who love him. On the other hand, we need to know that God empathizes with us and does not delight in sin or pain in and of themselves. These two needs correspond to God’s will of decree and his will of command.

For example, if you were badly abused as a child, and someone asks you, “Do you think that was the will of God?” you now have a way to make some biblical sense out of this, and give an answer that doesn’t contradict the Bible. You may say, “No it was not God’s will; because he commands that humans not be abusive, but love each other. The abuse broke his commandment and therefore moved his heart with anger and grief (Mark 3:5). But, in another sense, yes, it was God’s will (his sovereign will), because there are a hundred ways he could have stopped it. But for reasons I don’t yet fully understand, he didn’t.”

And corresponding to these two wills are the two things you need in this situation: one is a God who is strong and sovereign enough to turn it for good; and the other is a God who is able to empathize with you. On the one hand, Christ is a sovereign High King, and nothing happens apart from his will (Matthew 28:18). On the other hand, Christ is a merciful High Priest and sympathizes with our weaknesses and pain (Hebrews 4:15). The Holy Spirit conquers us and our sins when he wills (John 1:13; Romans 9:15-16), and allows himself to be quenched and grieved and angered when he wills (Ephesians 4:30; 1 Thessalonians 5:19). His sovereign will is invincible, and his will of command can be grievously broken.

We need both these truths—both these understandings of the will of God—not only to make sense out of the Bible, but to hold fast to God in suffering.

Which Will Is Referred to in Romans 12:2?

Now, which of these is meant in Romans 12:2, “Do not be conformed to this world,but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” The answer surely is that Paul is referring to God’s will of command. I say this for at least two reasons. One is that God does not intend for us to know most of his sovereign will ahead of time. “The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but the things that are revealed belong to us” (Deuteronomy 29:29). If you want to know the future details of God’s will of decree, you don’t want a renewed mind, you want a crystal ball. This is not called transformation and obedience; it’s called divination, soothsaying.

The other reason I say that the will of God in Romans 12:2 is God’s will of command and not his will of decree is that the phrase “by testing you may discern” implies that we should approve of the will of God and then obediently do it. But in fact we should not approve of sin or do it, even though it is part of God’s sovereign will. Paul’s meaning in Romans 12:2 is paraphrased almost exactly in Hebrews 5:14, which says, “Solid food is for the mature, for those who have their powers of discernment trained by constant practice to distinguish good from evil.” (See another paraphrase in Philippians 1:9-11.) That’s the goal of this verse: not ferreting out the secret will of God that he plans to do, but discerning the revealed will of God that we ought to do.

Three Stages of Knowing and Doing the Revealed Will of God

There are three stages of knowing and doing the revealed will of God, that is, his will of command; and all of them require the renewed mind with its Holy-Spirit-given discernment that we talked about last time.

Stage One

First, God’s will of command is revealed with final, decisive authority only in the Bible. And we need the renewed mind to understand and embrace what God commands in the Scripture. Without the renewed mind, we will distort the Scriptures to avoid their radical commands for self-denial, and love, and purity, and supreme satisfaction in Christ alone. God’s authoritative will of command is found only in the Bible. Paul says that the Scriptures are inspired and make the Christian “competent, equipped for every good work” (2 Timothy 3:16). Not just some good works. “Every good work.” Oh, what energy and time and devotion Christians should spend meditating on the written Word of God.

Stage Two

The second stage of God’s will of command is our application of the biblical truth to new situations that may or may not be explicitly addressed in the Bible. The Bible does not tell you which person to marry, or which car to drive, or whether to own a home, where you take your vacation, what cell-phone plan to buy, or which brand of orange juice to drink. Or a thousand other choices you must make.

What is necessary is that we have a renewed mind, that is so shaped and so governed by the revealed will of God in the Bible, that we see and assess all relevant factors with the mind of Christ, and discern what God is calling us to do. This is very different from constantly trying to hear God’s voice saying do this and do that. People who try to lead their lives by hearing voices are not in sync with Romans 12:2.

There is a world of difference between praying and laboring for a renewed mind that discerns how to apply God’s Word, on the one hand, and the habit of asking God to give you new revelation of what to do, on the other hand. Divination does not require transformation. God’s aim is a new mind, a new way of thinking and judging, not just new information. His aim is that we be transformed, sanctified, freed by the truth of his revealed Word (John 8:32; 17:17). So the second stage of God’s will of command is the discerning application of the Scriptures to new situations in life by means of a renewed mind.

Stage Three

Finally, the third stage of God’s will of command is the vast majority of living where there is no conscious reflection before we act. I venture to say that a good 95% of your behavior you do not premeditate. That is, most of your thoughts, attitudes, and actions are spontaneous. They are just spillover from what’s inside. Jesus said, “Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. The good person out of his good treasure brings forth good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure brings forth evil. I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak” (Matthew 12:34-36).

Why do I call this part of God’s will of command? For one reason. Because God commands things like: Don’t be angry. Don’t be prideful. Don’t covet. Don’t be anxious. Don’t be jealous. Don’t envy. And none of those actions are premeditated. Anger, pride, covetousness, anxiety, jealousy, envy—they all just rise up out of the heart with no conscious reflection or intention. And we are guilty because of them. They break the commandment of God.

Is it not plain therefore that there is one great task of the Christian life: Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. We need new hearts and new minds. Make the tree good and the fruit will be good (Matthew 12:33). That’s the great challenge. That is what God calls you to. You can’t do it on your own. You need Christ, who died for your sins. And you need the Holy Spirit to lead you into Christ-exalting truth and work in you truth-embracing humility.

Give yourself to this. Immerse yourself in the written Word of God; saturate your mind with it. And pray that the Spirit of Christ would make you so new that the spillover would be good, acceptable, and perfect—the will of God.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org