什么是上帝的旨意,我们怎么能知道?

“所以弟兄们,我以神的慈悲劝你们,将身体献上,当作活祭,是圣洁的,是神所喜悦的;你们如此事奉乃是理所当然的。 (2) 不要效法这个世界,只要心意更新而变化,叫你们察验何为神的善良、纯全、可喜悦的旨意。”

《罗马书》12:1-2的目标,是要让我们生命的全部都成为“属灵的敬拜”(spiritual worship,在《和合本圣经》中,译为“理所当然的事奉”——译者注)。第1节说,“你们……将身体献上,当作活祭,是圣洁的,是神所喜悦的;你们如此事奉乃是理所当然的。”在上帝眼里,一切人类生活之目标,都是要让基督的价值被人认识和高举。敬拜(Worship,亦即,worth-ship,——译者注),意思是,用我们的头脑、心灵和身体来表达出上帝的价值(worth),以及他在耶稣里向我们彰显的本质。肯定有种生活方式——一种爱的方式——能做到这些。比如,你可以用某种方式的工作,来表达上帝那真实的价值。如果你找不到这种方式,或许就该换一份工作了。或者呢,就是第2节经文中提到的那些事情,还没有按照其该有的程度,发生在你身上。

第2节经文是保罗的答案,告诉我们生命的全部都要转化成为对神的敬拜。我们必须更新而变化。没错,不仅我们的外在表现,更重要的,我们的感觉和思想方式,都要更新,“要心意更新而变化。”(2节)

活出你真正的身份

凡信靠基督耶稣的人,都已经被宝血买赎,是基督里新造的人。“若有人在基督里,他就是新造的人”(林后5:17)。但我们不能到此为止,还必须活出基督徒的样子。“你们既是无酵的面,应当把旧酵除净,好使你们成为新团”(林前5:7)。

“(你们已经)穿上了新人。这新人在知识上渐渐更新,正如造他主的形像”(西3:10)。意思是,你们已经在基督里成为新人(完成时态);现在正日复一日地更新着(现在进行时态)。这就是上周我们关注的主题。

今天,我们要关注第2节经文的最后部分,心意更新的目标是什么:“不要效法这个世界,只要心意更新而变化,(接下来就提到这个目标了) 叫你们察验何为神的善良、纯全、可喜悦的旨意。”所以接下来的重点就是“神的旨意”这个术语,到底是什么意思,以及我们如何去察验它。

上帝的两个旨意

圣经中“神的旨意”这个词,有两个明确但彼此区别很大的意思,我们都要了解,然后看看《罗马书》12:2这里采用的是哪个意思。事实上,准确把握“神的旨意”这两种意思彼此之间的区别,有助于我们明白圣经中一个最大的难题。那就是,上帝既然对万事万物都有绝对的主权和决定权,他又为什么在许多事情上提出质疑和责备呢。这不自相矛盾吗,因为这意味着上帝对某些他命定的事情提出质疑,或不赞成。换言之,他所禁止的某些事,不正是他要促成的吗。反过来说,神似乎也会赐下一些要求,自己又去拦阻。或者,让我们用最为吊诡的方式来表述吧:上帝在某种意义上愿意达成的事,正是在另一种意义上他不愿意看到的。

1.上帝所命定的旨意,或者说,主权性的旨意

为什么会有这样的结论?我们来看看相关经文。首先看看“上帝的旨意”意思指“统管万有的主权式掌控”的经文。最清晰的例子在耶稣客西马尼园祷告中。《马太福音》26:39耶稣说,“我父啊,倘若可行,求你叫这杯离开我。然而,不要照我的意思,只要照你的意思。”这节经文所说上帝的旨意,指的是什么呢?就是上帝那主权性的计划,也就是接下来几个时辰中就要发生的事件。还记得《使徒行传》4:27-28是如何描述这件事的吗?“希律和本丢彼拉多,外邦人和以色列民,果然在这城里聚集,要攻打你所膏的圣仆(仆:或作子)耶稣, 成就你手和你意旨所预定必有的事。”可见,“上帝的旨意”在此就是指耶稣的受死。这乃是上帝的计划,是他命定发生的,是不可更改的,所以耶稣就低头祷告说,“以上这些只是我的请求,但是,你完全可以按照你认为最好的方式去作。”这就是上帝的主权性旨意。

这里涉及人的罪,千万不要忽略这关键要素!希律王,彼拉多,罗马兵丁,犹太人的领袖……他们都犯了大罪,把耶稣钉死在十字架上,尽管这也促成了上帝旨意的实现(赛53:10)。所以我们要非常清楚:上帝的旨意要成就的,竟可以包括那些他痛恨的事情。

《彼得前书》3:17有另一个例子,“神的旨意若是叫你们因行善受苦,总强如因行恶受苦。”换言之,基督徒因为做好事而受苦,可能正是上帝的旨意。彼得指的是信徒遭遇的逼迫。但对无辜的良善的基督徒施加的种种逼迫,显然是罪恶的啊。因此我们再一次看到,上帝有时会安排某些罪恶的事件发生。“如果那就是神的旨意,那么因行善受苦乃是好的。”

对于这个真理,保罗在《以弗所书》1:11中做过一个总结性的论述 “我们也在他 [基督] 里面得(得:或作成)了基业;这原是那位随己意行、做万事的,照着他旨意所预定的。”上帝的旨意,乃是指他对万事万物的主权式的治理,他决定一切事情的发生与发展。此外,圣经中还有许多其它的经文教导我们,上帝对宇宙的主权和治理延伸到每个角落,包括自然中最微小的细节以及世人的每个决定。若不是天父允许,一只麻雀都不会掉到地上(太10:29)。“签放在怀里,定事由耶和华”(箴16:33)。“心中的谋算在乎人;舌头的应对由于耶和华”(箴16:1)。“王的心在耶和华手中,好像陇沟的水随意流转”(箴21:1)。

这就是上帝旨意的第一个意思:上帝对万事万物的主权性的掌控。我们可以称之为“主权性旨意”或“命定的旨意。”这种旨意不能违背,一定要成就。“世上所有的居民都算为虚无;在天上的万军和世上的居民中,他都凭自己的意旨行事。无人能拦住他手,或问他说,你做什么呢?”(但4:35)。

2. 上帝所命令(所要求)的旨意

而圣经中关于“上帝的旨意”的第二个意思,就是我们通常所说神“命令的旨意。”这是神的命令,我们有可能违背或不去执行。前面提到“命定”的旨意,无论我们相信与否,配合与否,一定会实现,所以我们也就必定会执行。而这个“命令”的旨意,我们可能不去遵行。例如,耶稣说,“凡称呼我‘主啊,主啊’的人不能都进天国;惟独遵行我天父旨意的人才能进去”(太7:21)。不是每个人都会遵行天父的旨意。耶稣也这么说,“不是每个人都会进天国的。”为什么呢?因为不是每个人都会遵行上帝的旨意。

保罗在《帖撒罗尼迦前书》4:3说,“神的旨意就是要你们成为圣洁,远避淫行。”这里我们看到一个非常具体的例子,就是上帝清楚的命令:圣洁,成圣,性行为方面的纯洁。这就是他命令的旨意。但是,不遵行的人可太多啦。

然后,《帖撒罗尼迦前书》5:18又说,“凡事谢恩;因为这是神在基督耶稣里向你们所定的旨意。”这同样是一个具体的、上帝命令的旨意:在一切的环境当中都要感恩。但是同样,许多人并没有遵行。

再看一个例子:“这世界和其上的情欲都要过去,惟独遵行神旨意的,是永远常存”(约一2:17)。世人不会都存到永远,有些人会,有些就不会。为什么?因为有些人遵行神的旨意,另一些人却没有。在这个意义上,上帝的旨意并不总会成就。

从以上这些经文,还有圣经中其它许多经文中,我得出的结论是,对上帝的旨意,我们应该用两种方式来谈论。两方面都是真的,并且对我们之理解和信靠来说,都是重要的。一个可以称之为上帝命定的旨意(或主权性旨意),另一个是上帝命令的旨意。命定的旨意一定会成就,无论我们相信与否。而命令的旨意,人有可能违背——实际上天天都有。

这些真理的宝贵性

把这些和《罗马书》12:2联系起来讨论之前,我先对这两条极为宝贵的真理做个评论。现实中我们可能深受伤害亏损,这时,它们会满足我们内心深处的需要。一方面,我们要有确定的信念,知道上帝掌管一切,他让我的一切痛苦和损失都能互相效力,来达成我们这些爱他之人的益处。另一方面,我们要知道,上帝体恤我们,也不喜悦罪恶或者痛苦,无论是这些事物本身,还是在与它们相关的方面。而我们在这两方面的需要,正好对应于上帝这两个旨意——“命定的旨意”和“命令的旨意”。

比如,假如你在孩童时代受过虐待,有人问你,“你觉得那是上帝的旨意吗?”你现在就能够本着圣经思考,并给出一个与圣经相符的合理答案。你可以这样回答,“不是的,那不是上帝的旨意;因为他的命令就是彼此相爱,虐待是违背他的命令,他会感到愤怒、忧伤(可3:5)。但是另一方面,这也是上帝的旨意(他的主权性旨意),因为他本可以轻易阻止那件事。但是,因为某些我还明白的原因,他没有去阻止。”

而跟这两种旨意相对应的是两件事:一是,我们需要一位足够强壮、有足够权柄的神,把一切转化成好事;另一个是,我们需要一位体恤我们的神。而基督就是拥有主权的至高的君王,若不是他许可,就不会有任何事情发生(太28:18)。而另一方面,他又是满有怜悯的大祭司,完全能够体恤我们的软弱和痛苦(来4:15)。圣灵也是这样,若是愿意,他可以完全掌控我们,克服我们一切的罪恶过犯(约 1:13; 罗 9:15-16);同时,圣灵又是宁愿人消灭他的感动,甚至被人触怒、因人担忧(弗4:30; 帖前 5:19)。他的主权式旨意是战无不胜的,而命令的旨意,却可能被人违反,有时候甚至到令人痛心疾首的地步。

我们同时需要这两方面的真理——对上帝旨意的两方面的认识,不仅为了真正明白圣经,也为了在苦难中更好地去抓住上帝。

《罗马书》12:2是哪种旨意呢?

那么,《罗马书》12:2说的,是哪种旨意呢?“不要效法这个世界,只要心意更新而变化,叫你们察验何为神的善良、纯全、可喜悦的旨意。”这里很明显,指的是上帝命令的旨意。理由至少有两个,一是上帝没打算让我们事先知道大部分主权性旨意。“隐秘的事是属耶和华我们神的;惟有明显的事是永远属我们和我们子孙的”(申29:29)。想要明白上帝命定的旨意,你恐怕不需要心意更新变化,而是一个水晶球。这可不是更新变化与顺服的好倾向,而是占卜预测之类的迷信行为。

我认为《罗马书》12:2所说神的旨意,乃是指上帝命令的旨意而非命定的旨意,还有一层理由,“叫你们察验”这个短语暗示,应该去验证上帝的旨意,然后顺从地去执行。而事实上,我们不该去验证罪或施行之,尽管那也是上帝主权式旨意的一部分。保罗在《罗马书》12:2的意思,几乎原原本本在《希伯来书》5:14被复述了一遍,“惟独长大成人的才能吃干粮;他们的心窍习练得通达,就能分辨好歹了。”(还有腓1:9-11,有另一个类似叙述。)而那就是这节经文的目标:不要费尽心机摸索上帝那隐秘的旨意,窥探他的计划,而是要认真考察他已经显明给我们的旨意,那才是我们应该去好好遵行的。

认识并遵行上帝显明的旨意的三个阶段

在认识并遵行上帝启示的明显旨意方面,通常是有三个阶段(这里当然指的是命令的旨意)。而这几个阶段,都要求更新了的心意(头脑),并且有圣灵所赐的洞察力,我们上次提到过这个。

第一阶段

首先,终极、权威的“命令的旨意”,只有在圣经中被上帝启示出来。所以我们要用更新变化的头脑,来明白和遵行这些命令。没有新意更新,我们就容易曲解圣经,并且试图去逃避圣经中那些激进的命令,比如要我们舍己,有爱心,纯洁以及唯独在基督里获得超然的满足,等等。上帝那权威性的命令的旨意,只有在圣经中才能找到。保罗说圣经都是神所默示的,好叫基督徒“得以完全,预备行各样的善事”(提后3:16)。不仅仅说去行某些善事。乃是“各样的善事,”即所有善事。哇,对上帝留给我们这宝贵的话语,基督徒应该花多大的精力、时间、敬虔,好好的默想啊!

第二阶段

上帝命令的旨意之第二个阶段,就是我们要把圣经真理应用到一些崭新的场合,这些场合圣经或许提到,或许没提到。圣经没有告诉你,你要跟哪个人结婚,要买什么样的车,是否要买房子,去哪里度假,选购怎样的移动电话套餐,喝哪个牌子的橙汁,还有多如牛毛的选择。

那么,我们需要的,就是圣经启示的上帝旨意牵引和掌管的、更新了的头脑,以至我们可以用基督的头脑,来观察评估所有相关的因素(亦即,以基督的心为心),然后去辨别和验证上帝呼召我们去作的是什么。这跟试图听到上帝告诉我们做这做那,是很不一样的。那些总想听到神告诉他们怎么生活的人,跟《罗马书》12:2的教导是格格不入的。

的确,这两种做法有天壤之别,一种做法是,借着祷告和劳苦努力,去追求一个被更新了的头脑,可以自己做出辨别,并知道如何去应用上帝的话语,而另一种做法呢,乃是习惯性地去求问上帝,好让他不断给你新的启示,告诉你什么事情该如何去做。后面这种类似算命和占卜的方法,是不需要心意更新的。而上帝的目标,是让你有被更新的头脑,新的思维和判断方式,而不仅仅是获取新的资讯。他要我们更新转变,成为圣洁,被他显明的话语中的真理释放,过自由的生活(约8:32; 17:17)。所以,在上帝命令的旨意方面,第二个阶段就是借助更新的心意(头脑,思想),带着分辨的能力,把圣经的教训应用于生活中新的场合。

第三阶段

最后,上帝命令的旨意的第三个阶段,关乎我们生活中更广大的领域,在那些领域,我们往往不经过思考就去行动。我敢大胆估计,你们的大部分思想、态度和行为,事先都没有预谋或考虑,都是自发的,是从里面满溢而出的。耶稣说,“因为心里所充满的,口里就说出来。 善人从他心里所存的善就发出善来;恶人从他心里所存的恶就发出恶来。 我又告诉你们,凡人所说的闲话,当审判的日子,必要句句供出来”(太12:34-36)。

为什么我还要把这部分也称为上帝命令的旨意呢?原因只有一个,上帝就是命令了这些层面的事情,比如:不要动怒。不要骄傲,不要有贪心,不要忧虑,不要嫉恨,不要妒忌。这类行为都不用预谋。愤怒、骄傲、贪心、惧怕、猜忌、嫉妒——都是自然从心里出来的,不用事先有意识地反思和图谋。而这些事照样在上帝面前显出亏欠、算为有罪,因为违反了上帝的诫命。

所以明摆着,基督徒生活中有个很大的任务:借着心意更新变化,有新的心灵和头脑。我们要成为好树,结出好果子来(太12:33)。这是巨大的挑战,是上帝呼召我们去做的。靠自己办不到,你要靠基督,就是为你的罪死在十字架上的那位;并且你要圣灵来引领,进入那些高举基督的真理中;你还要让圣灵在你里面作工,有一个欢喜迎接真理的谦卑心态。

为此献上自己吧。沉浸在上帝默示的文字记载的话语中;让你的头脑被神的话语浸透、填满吧。而且你要祈求,让基督的灵彻底更新你的心意,以至你里面生发出来的,都是善良纯全可喜悦的——上帝的旨意。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

What Is the Will of God and How Do We Know It?

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

The aim of Romans 12:1-2 is that all of life would become “spiritual worship.” Verse 1: “Present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.” The aim of all human life in God’s eyes is that Christ would be made to look as valuable as he is. Worship means using our minds and hearts and bodies to express the worth of God and all he is for us in Jesus. There is a way to live—a way to love—that does that. There is a way to do your job that expresses the true value of God. If you can’t find it, that may mean you should change jobs. Or it might mean that verse 2 is not happening to the degree it should.

Verse 2 is Paul’s answer to how we turn all of life into worship. We must be transformed. We must be transformed. Not just our external behavior, but the way we feel and think—our minds. Verse 2: “Be transformed by the renewal of your mind.”

Become What You Are

Those who believe in Christ Jesus are already blood-bought new creatures in Christ. “If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation” (2 Corinthians 5:17). But now we must become what we are. “Cleanse out the old leaven that you may be a new lump, as you really are unleavened” (1 Corinthians 5:7).

“You have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its creator” (Colossians 3:10). You have been made new in Christ; and now you are being renewed day by day. That’s what we focused on last week.

Now we focus on the last part of verse 2, namely, the aim of the renewed mind: “Do not be conformed to this world,but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, [now here comes the aim] that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” So our focus today is on the meaning of the term “will of God,” and how we discern it.

The Two Wills of God

There are two clear and very different meanings for the term “will of God” in the Bible. We need to know them and decide which one is being used here in Romans 12:2. In fact, knowing the difference between these two meanings of “the will of God” is crucial to understanding one of the biggest and most perplexing things in all the Bible, namely, that God is sovereign over all things and yet disapproves of many things. Which means that God disapproves of some of what he ordains to happen. That is, he forbids some of the things he brings about. And he commands some of the things he hinders. Or to put it most paradoxically: God wills some events in one sense that he does not will in another sense.

1. God’s Will of Decree, or Sovereign Will

Let’s see the passages of Scripture that make us think this way. First consider passages that describe “the will of God” as his sovereign control of all that comes to pass. One of the clearest is the way Jesus spoke of the will of God in Gethsemane when he was praying. He said, in Matthew 26:39, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” What does the will of God refer to in this verse? It refers to the sovereign plan of God that will happen in the coming hours. You recall how Acts 4:27-28 says this: “Truly in this city there were gathered together against your holy servant Jesus, whom you anointed, both Herod and Pontius Pilate, along with the Gentiles and the peoples of Israel, to do whatever your hand and your plan had predestined to take place.” So the “will of God” was that Jesus die. This was his plan, his decree. There was not changing it, and Jesus bowed and said, “Here’s my request, but you do what is best to do.” That’s the sovereign will of God.

And don’t miss the very crucial point here that it includes the sins of man. Herod, Pilate, the soldiers, the Jewish leaders—they all sinned in fulfilling God’s will that his Son be crucified (Isaiah 53:10). So be very clear on this: God wills to come to pass some things that he hates.

Here’s an example from 1 Peter. In 1 Peter 3:17 Peter writes, “It is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will, than for doing evil.” In other words, it may be God’s will that Christians suffer for doing good. He has in mind persecution. But persecution of Christians who do not deserve it, is sin. So again, God sometimes wills that events come about that include sin. “It is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will.”

Paul gives a sweeping summary statement of this truth in Ephesians 1:11, “In him [Christ] we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will.” The will of God is God’s sovereign governance of all that comes to pass. And there are many other passages in the Bible that teach that God’s providence over the universe extends to the smallest details of nature and human decisions. Not one sparrow falls to the ground apart from our Father in heaven (Matthew 10:29). “The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord” (Proverbs 16:33). “The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord” (Proverbs 16:1). “The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord; he turns it wherever he will” (Proverbs 21:1).

That’s the first meaning of the will of God: it is God’s sovereign control of all things. We will call this his “sovereign will” or his “will of decree.” It cannot be broken. It always comes to pass. “He does according to his will among the host of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth; and none can stay his hand or say to him, ‘What have you done?’” (Daniel 4:35).

2. God’s Will of Command

Now the other meaning for “the will of God” in the Bible is what we can call his “will of command.” His will is what he commands us to do. This is the will of God we can disobey and fail to do. The will of decree we do whether we believe in it or not. The will of command we can fail to do. For example, Jesus said, “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven” (Matthew 7:21). Not all do the will of his father. He says so. “Not everyone will enter the kingdom of heaven.” Why? Because not all do the will of God.

Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 4:3, “This is the will of God, your sanctification: that you abstain from sexual immorality.” Here we have a very specific instance of what God commands of us: holiness, sanctification, sexual purity. This is his will of command. But, oh, so many do not obey.

Then Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 5:18, “Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” There again is a specific aspect of his will of command: give thanks in all circumstances. But many do not do this will of God.

One more example: “And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever” (1 John 2:17). Not all abide forever. Some do. Some don’t. The difference? Some do the will of God. Some don’t. The will of God, in this sense, does not always happen.

So I conclude from these and many other passages of the Bible that there are two ways of talking about the will of God. Both are true, and both are important to understand and believe in. One we can call God’s will of decree (or his sovereign will) and the other we can call God’s will of command. His will of decree always comes to pass whether we believe in it or not. His will of command can be broken, and is every day.

The Preciousness of These Truths

Before I relate this to Romans 12:2 let me comment on how precious these two truths are. Both correspond to a deep need that we all have when we are deeply hurt or experience great loss. On the one hand, we need the assurance that God is in control and therefore is able to work all of my pain and loss together for my good and the good of all who love him. On the other hand, we need to know that God empathizes with us and does not delight in sin or pain in and of themselves. These two needs correspond to God’s will of decree and his will of command.

For example, if you were badly abused as a child, and someone asks you, “Do you think that was the will of God?” you now have a way to make some biblical sense out of this, and give an answer that doesn’t contradict the Bible. You may say, “No it was not God’s will; because he commands that humans not be abusive, but love each other. The abuse broke his commandment and therefore moved his heart with anger and grief (Mark 3:5). But, in another sense, yes, it was God’s will (his sovereign will), because there are a hundred ways he could have stopped it. But for reasons I don’t yet fully understand, he didn’t.”

And corresponding to these two wills are the two things you need in this situation: one is a God who is strong and sovereign enough to turn it for good; and the other is a God who is able to empathize with you. On the one hand, Christ is a sovereign High King, and nothing happens apart from his will (Matthew 28:18). On the other hand, Christ is a merciful High Priest and sympathizes with our weaknesses and pain (Hebrews 4:15). The Holy Spirit conquers us and our sins when he wills (John 1:13; Romans 9:15-16), and allows himself to be quenched and grieved and angered when he wills (Ephesians 4:30; 1 Thessalonians 5:19). His sovereign will is invincible, and his will of command can be grievously broken.

We need both these truths—both these understandings of the will of God—not only to make sense out of the Bible, but to hold fast to God in suffering.

Which Will Is Referred to in Romans 12:2?

Now, which of these is meant in Romans 12:2, “Do not be conformed to this world,but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” The answer surely is that Paul is referring to God’s will of command. I say this for at least two reasons. One is that God does not intend for us to know most of his sovereign will ahead of time. “The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but the things that are revealed belong to us” (Deuteronomy 29:29). If you want to know the future details of God’s will of decree, you don’t want a renewed mind, you want a crystal ball. This is not called transformation and obedience; it’s called divination, soothsaying.

The other reason I say that the will of God in Romans 12:2 is God’s will of command and not his will of decree is that the phrase “by testing you may discern” implies that we should approve of the will of God and then obediently do it. But in fact we should not approve of sin or do it, even though it is part of God’s sovereign will. Paul’s meaning in Romans 12:2 is paraphrased almost exactly in Hebrews 5:14, which says, “Solid food is for the mature, for those who have their powers of discernment trained by constant practice to distinguish good from evil.” (See another paraphrase in Philippians 1:9-11.) That’s the goal of this verse: not ferreting out the secret will of God that he plans to do, but discerning the revealed will of God that we ought to do.

Three Stages of Knowing and Doing the Revealed Will of God

There are three stages of knowing and doing the revealed will of God, that is, his will of command; and all of them require the renewed mind with its Holy-Spirit-given discernment that we talked about last time.

Stage One

First, God’s will of command is revealed with final, decisive authority only in the Bible. And we need the renewed mind to understand and embrace what God commands in the Scripture. Without the renewed mind, we will distort the Scriptures to avoid their radical commands for self-denial, and love, and purity, and supreme satisfaction in Christ alone. God’s authoritative will of command is found only in the Bible. Paul says that the Scriptures are inspired and make the Christian “competent, equipped for every good work” (2 Timothy 3:16). Not just some good works. “Every good work.” Oh, what energy and time and devotion Christians should spend meditating on the written Word of God.

Stage Two

The second stage of God’s will of command is our application of the biblical truth to new situations that may or may not be explicitly addressed in the Bible. The Bible does not tell you which person to marry, or which car to drive, or whether to own a home, where you take your vacation, what cell-phone plan to buy, or which brand of orange juice to drink. Or a thousand other choices you must make.

What is necessary is that we have a renewed mind, that is so shaped and so governed by the revealed will of God in the Bible, that we see and assess all relevant factors with the mind of Christ, and discern what God is calling us to do. This is very different from constantly trying to hear God’s voice saying do this and do that. People who try to lead their lives by hearing voices are not in sync with Romans 12:2.

There is a world of difference between praying and laboring for a renewed mind that discerns how to apply God’s Word, on the one hand, and the habit of asking God to give you new revelation of what to do, on the other hand. Divination does not require transformation. God’s aim is a new mind, a new way of thinking and judging, not just new information. His aim is that we be transformed, sanctified, freed by the truth of his revealed Word (John 8:32; 17:17). So the second stage of God’s will of command is the discerning application of the Scriptures to new situations in life by means of a renewed mind.

Stage Three

Finally, the third stage of God’s will of command is the vast majority of living where there is no conscious reflection before we act. I venture to say that a good 95% of your behavior you do not premeditate. That is, most of your thoughts, attitudes, and actions are spontaneous. They are just spillover from what’s inside. Jesus said, “Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. The good person out of his good treasure brings forth good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure brings forth evil. I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak” (Matthew 12:34-36).

Why do I call this part of God’s will of command? For one reason. Because God commands things like: Don’t be angry. Don’t be prideful. Don’t covet. Don’t be anxious. Don’t be jealous. Don’t envy. And none of those actions are premeditated. Anger, pride, covetousness, anxiety, jealousy, envy—they all just rise up out of the heart with no conscious reflection or intention. And we are guilty because of them. They break the commandment of God.

Is it not plain therefore that there is one great task of the Christian life: Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. We need new hearts and new minds. Make the tree good and the fruit will be good (Matthew 12:33). That’s the great challenge. That is what God calls you to. You can’t do it on your own. You need Christ, who died for your sins. And you need the Holy Spirit to lead you into Christ-exalting truth and work in you truth-embracing humility.

Give yourself to this. Immerse yourself in the written Word of God; saturate your mind with it. And pray that the Spirit of Christ would make you so new that the spillover would be good, acceptable, and perfect—the will of God.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org