为什么守圣餐,如何去守?

“我现今吩咐你们的话,不是称赞你们;因为你们聚会不是受益,乃是招损。(18) 第一,我听说,你们聚会的时候彼此分门别类,我也稍微的信这话。(19) 在你们中间不免有分门结党的事,好叫那些有经验的人显明出来。(20) 你们聚会的时候,算不得吃主的晚餐;(21) 因为吃的时候,各人先吃自己的饭,甚至这个饥饿,那个酒醉。(22) 你们要吃喝,难道没有家吗?还是藐视神的教会,叫那没有的羞愧呢?我向你们可怎么说呢?可因此称赞你们吗?我不称赞!(23) 我当日传给你们的,原是从主领受的,就是主耶稣被卖的那一夜,拿起饼来,(24) 祝谢了,就擘开,说:「这是我的身体,为你们舍(有古卷:擘开)的,你们应当如此行,为的是记念我。」(25) 饭后,也照样拿起杯来,说:「这杯是用我的血所立的新约,你们每逢喝的时候,要如此行,为的是记念我。」(26) 你们每逢吃这饼,喝这杯,是表明主的死,直等到他来。(27) 所以,无论何人,不按理吃主的饼,喝主的杯,就是干犯主的身、主的血了。(28) 人应当自己省察,然后吃这饼、喝这杯。(29) 因为人吃喝,若不分辨是主的身体,就是吃喝自己的罪了。(30) 因此,在你们中间有好些软弱的与患病的,死(原文作睡)的也不少。(31) 我们若是先分辨自己,就不至于受审。(32) 我们受审的时候,乃是被主惩治,免得我们和世人一同定罪。(33) 所以我弟兄们,你们聚会吃的时候,要彼此等待。(34) 若有人饥饿,可以在家里先吃,免得你们聚会,自己取罪。其余的事,我来的时候再安排。”

在下周回到《罗马书》之前(主若允许),我觉得,要先把主的圣餐放在圣经语境当中,并且把注意力集中在为何以及如何持守这个圣礼,这对我们应该是有好处的。因此,今天我们先把证道的信息讲完,然后借着讲道把主的圣餐引进来。

圣经,是我们生活以及教会毫无错谬的根基,除此之外,在我们教会生活中最重要的文件就是“伯利恒浸信会长老的信仰告白”。我鼓励大家都去读一下这份文件。你可以到教会的网站上,或是“渴慕神”的网页上找到它。当中的第12.4段,就是在主的圣餐方面,对我们所相信和教导的教义的一个总结:

我们相信,主的圣餐乃是主所设立的一个圣礼,聚集在一起的信徒们一同吃主的饼,这饼所表示的是基督为他的百姓所赐下的身体,并且一同喝主的杯,这杯所表示的是用基督的血所立的新约。我们这么作,乃是要记念主,并且因此宣扬他的死,直等到他来。那些按理吃喝的人,就是在同领(分享)基督的身体和宝血,不是在肉体层面的,而是在属灵层面的,故此,靠着信心,他们就得到了滋养,获得了基督借其死亡所成就的各样益处,并且也因此得以在恩典当中长进。

我会分六方面来讲解主的圣餐之圣经基础,好帮助大家了解这圣礼:1)历史的渊源;2)有信心的参与者;3)物质范畴的行动;4)思想范畴的行动;5)属灵范畴的行动;以及6)神圣的严肃性。

1. 圣餐的历史渊源

《马太福音》(26:26及下文),《马可福音》(14:22及下文)以及《路加福音》(22:14及下文)都提到,耶稣临死前一个晚上和门徒一起聚餐,就是最后的晚餐。每本福音书都描述到,耶稣祝谢,或是祝福饼和杯,然后把它们递给门徒,说那个饼乃是他的身体,那个杯乃是约的血,或者说,用他的血所立的新约。在《路加福音》22:19,耶稣说的是,“你们也应当如此行,为的是记念我。”约翰福音并没有记录吃喝的过程,而是描写了那天晚上耶稣的诸多教导和行动。

根据我们能够找到的最早的历史记录,教会的确是遵照耶稣的教导而行了:他们重复进行那个晚餐,为的是记念耶稣并他的死。保罗书信是我们拥有的最早的见证,在《哥林多前书》11:20,他提到了教会生活里的一个事件,称之为“主的晚餐。”之所以这么称呼,可能因为它是主耶稣设立或者说命定的,而且本质上,它是纪念主的死亡的仪式。保罗在《哥林多前书》11:23-24说,“我当日传给你们的,原是从主领受的,就是主耶稣被卖的那一夜,拿起饼来, 祝谢了,就擘开,说:「这是我的身体,为你们舍(有古卷:擘开)的,你们应当如此行,为的是记念我。」”“我……原是从主领受的……”大概是指,主自己对保罗明确表示过(因为保罗并没有像其他使徒那样坐席于第一次的“最后的晚餐”),其他人传给保罗的关于最后晚餐之报告,乃是真实的。

因此,主的圣餐的起源,就是耶稣被钉死于十字架之前的那个晚上,跟门徒所吃的晚餐。这样,圣餐的行动和含义,就都根植于耶稣在那个最后的晚上的言行。耶稣自己正是主的圣餐的起源。他发出命令说,圣餐要继续。并且,他也正是圣餐的焦点和内容。

2. 有信心的圣餐参与者

主的圣餐乃是那些信靠耶稣的人(也就是教会),像家人一样聚在一起,举行的一个活动。它不是未信主之人的行动。或许会有未信主之人在场——我们欢迎他们到场,因为主的圣餐是在公众场合举行的,本来就没有丝毫秘密的成分。它也是具有公开的意义。这不是隐秘的,异教性质的仪式,带着某些魔术般的力量的那种东西。它乃是借由聚集在一起的教会举办的公开敬拜活动。事实上,保罗在《哥林多前书》11:26就说,“你们每逢吃这饼,喝这杯,是表明 [宣告] 主的死,直等到他来。”因此,这个圣餐具有宣告的性质。公开宣告,而不是私下的秘密,应该是圣餐的主要特点。

我们不会禁止人们把主的圣餐带给某些在养老院或者医院中的人,但那种个人性的庆祝圣餐,是特殊情况,不是圣经教导的常态。在《哥林多前书》11章中,保罗提到教会在吃主的晚餐时,5次用“聚集”一词。第17节后半句:“因为你们聚会不是受益,乃是招损。”第18节:“第一,我听说,你们聚会的时候彼此分门别类,我也稍微的信这话。”第20节:“你们聚会的时候,算不得吃主的晚餐。”第33节:“所以我弟兄们,你们聚会吃的时候,要彼此等待。”第34节:“若有人饥饿,可以在家里先吃,免得你们聚会,自己取罪。”

换句话说,他们当时的做法,其实是在贬低主的圣餐,因为他们的圣餐跟寻常的晚宴离得太近,结果有些人吃的很饱,有些人却饿着。所以保罗说,你们要在自己家里先吃饭,再来到聚会中一同享用主的圣餐。

而且,请留意第18节中“教会”一词:“你们 [作为一个教会] 聚会的时候(中文的和合本圣经没有把‘教会’翻译出来。——译者注。)。”这里所说的教会,是基督的身体,是耶稣的跟随者们在一起的聚集,他们已经离弃偶像,单单信靠耶稣,好使自己的罪得着赦免,拥有永生的盼望,并且灵魂得着满足。就是这些基督徒。所以说,参与圣餐的人,是一群在耶稣里聚集的信徒。

3. 圣餐的物质范畴的行动

主的圣餐,并非狼吞虎咽地完成七道菜组成的大餐,而是相当简单的,就是吃点饼,喝一点葡萄汁。23节后半句一直到25节这么说,“主耶稣被卖的那一夜,拿起饼来, 祝谢了,就擘开,说:「这是我的身体,为你们舍(有古卷:擘开)的,你们应当如此行,为的是记念我。」饭后,也照样拿起杯来,说:「这杯是用我的血所立的新约,你们每逢喝的时候,要如此行,为的是记念我。」”

经文并没有具体描述是哪一种面包或饼,也没有具体说明它是如何被擘开的。至于杯子里装的具体是什么,也只有一节经文提到,虽然这句话在《马太福音》、《马可福音》、和《路加福音》都出现了:“但我告诉你们,从今以後,我不再喝这葡萄汁,直到我在我父的国里同你们喝新的那日子。”(太26:29;参见可14:25;路22:18)。因此,它被圣经称为是“葡萄的果子(英文作:fruit of the vine。中文和合本翻译为葡萄汁,其实圣经原文并没有这么明确。——译者注。)”我觉得,非要去争论到底耶稣用的是葡萄“汁”还是葡萄“酒”,没有必要。经文中没有任何线索,命令或是禁止我们,采用这个或是那个。

我们要关心的,是那些随意性的替代品——比如,围坐篝火旁用百吉饼和可乐(bagels and coke )来举行圣餐。主的圣餐玩笑不得。我们应该带着慎重和严肃的情感来庆祝——这方面我们接下来会详细讨论。

我想附带说明的是,在新约圣经中,完全没有提到遵守圣餐的次数(频率)。有些人相信,应该每周一次比较好;另外一些人则是每个季度才进行一次。我们教会采取了居中的做法,通常是每个月的第一个主日来庆祝圣餐。我觉得在这件事上我们可以自由决定,问题的取舍主要是考虑到:1)怎样的频率或是间隔,在其合宜的重要性上面,乃是跟神的话语之事工,能够互相匹配。以及2)怎样的频率或是间隔,会帮助我们切实体验到它的价值,而不会沦为一个司空见惯的形式。这些考虑,其实也不是很容易做出判断的,并且不同的教会就做出了不完全一样的判断和选择。

4. 圣餐的思想范畴的行动

参与圣餐的人,他们有意识地把心思意念集中在耶稣身上,特别是他在历史中的工作——为着我们的罪而死。24节和25节都提到:“你们应当如此行,为的是记念我。”当我们实际地吃喝时,我们在思想层面也同时要有记念的行动。即,我们要有意识地在思想层面,去回忆曾经生活在世上的耶稣这个人,以及曾经死而复活的耶稣所作的那些工作,还有,他的工作对于我们之罪得赦免,有怎样的意义。

主的圣餐是一个朴实而真切的提醒,它反复强调,基督教的信仰不是新纪元之类的灵性修炼。它不是让我们去跟自己“里面的人”达成某种接触,也不是神秘主义的扑朔迷离之追求,相反,它深深扎根于历史事实当中。耶稣在地上生活过。他拥有一个真实的血肉之躯,有带动血液循环的心脏,以及会受伤流血的皮肤。他在罗马统治下的耶路撒冷,在十字架上当众牺牲了,为的是代替罪人的位子,好叫一切信他的人得到拯救,脱离上帝那公义的忿怒。这是历史上真实发生的事,而且一次性地为世人成就了永远的救恩。

因此,那在圣餐中意识范畴的活动,基本上就是关乎记念的。不是去异想天开,不是去做梦,不是试图借此来通灵,不是为着聆听某些声音,也不是漫不经心走过场;圣餐乃是有意识地调整思想和意念的方向,追溯历史中的耶稣,以及我们借助于圣经所知道的关于他的事迹。主的圣餐,总是一再帮助我们扎根于历史的真实细节当中——饼和杯,身体和鲜血,行刑和死亡。

5. 圣餐的属灵范畴的行动

这些方面都很重要。原因在于,我刚才描述的一切,未信主的人也都能做。的确,假如魔鬼能够成为肉身的话,他大概也能做到。吃,喝以及回忆。这些事情本身并没什么必然的内在的属灵成分。因此,为了让圣餐能够达成耶稣所设定的功效,除了吃喝纪念之外,还要有额外的某些事情发生,而那些事情,乃是未信主之人和魔鬼没有能力做到的。

我再读一遍“长老的信仰告白”中那个关键句子,然后我会告诉你,这句话是如何从圣经里面获得的。“那些按理吃喝的人,就是在同领(分享)基督的身体和宝血,不是在肉体层面的,而是在属灵层面的,故此,靠着信心,他们就得到了滋养,获得了基督借其死亡所成就的各样益处,并且也因此得以在恩典当中长进。”

这里面所说的“分享基督的身体和宝血……在属灵层面……靠着信心”这个观点,是从哪里得出来的呢?支持这个观点的最接近的经文,就在之前的那一章,也就是《哥林多前书》10:16-18那里。在我接下来要念给大家听的时候,请留意思考这样一个问题,“经文中的‘同领(分享)’指的是什么意思?”

我们所祝福的杯,岂不是同领基督的血吗 (koinōnia estin tou haimatos tou Christou)?我们所擘开的饼,岂不是同领基督的身体吗(ouchi koinōnia tou sōmatos tou Christou estin)? 我们虽多,仍是一个饼,一个身体,因为我们都是分受这一个饼。你们看属肉体的以色列人,那吃祭物的岂不是在祭坛上有份吗 (koinōnia tou thusiastēriou——该段这些在括号中的是希腊文——译者注)?

这里有某些比单纯的记念,还有来得更加深刻的东西。这些参与者都是信徒——也就是信靠和珍爱耶稣基督的人——并且保罗说,他们乃是在同领(分享)基督的身体和宝血。按照字面意义来说,他们乃是在经历这个分享(koinōnia)基督身体和宝血的过程。他们乃是在经历着基督的死,就像是他的同伴,或说合伙人一般。

靠着信心,在属灵层面,分享基督的身体和宝血

那么,这里的同领、分享、合伙关系,指的是什么意思呢?我认为,第18节就是线索,因为那里用到一个类似的词,只不过是跟犹太人在献祭时所发生的事情进行了比较:“你们看属肉体的以色列人,那吃祭物的岂不是在祭坛上有份 [希腊文中是同一个字,形态稍有不同而已] 吗?”那么,在祭坛上可以分享、有份、一同参与,指的是什么意思呢?其意思就是,他们乃是一同来分享那发生在祭坛上面的事情,或者说一起因此得着献祭之益处。比如说,他们就得以享受罪得赦免,以及恢复跟上帝的团契关系,等等。

因此,我是这样来理解16节和17节的意思的,那些在物质的层面吃饼、喝杯的信徒们,同时在属灵的层面有另外一种的吃与喝。我们所吃所喝的——亦即,我们的生命吸收了某些东西——正是那在十字架上面所发生的事情。靠着信心——因着信靠上帝在耶稣里替我们所成为的一切——我们自己得着了滋养,也就是借着耶稣在十字架上的流血和死亡而替我们获取的那一切,我们能够领受到其中的所有好处。

为此,我们要带领大家,每个月都来到主的圣餐桌子面前,并且从各种角度关注这一圣礼(与神和好,在基督里的喜乐,对将来的盼望,脱离了惧怕并得着了自由,在仇敌面前有平安,在困惑当中蒙引导,疾病得到医治,试探能够胜过,等等)。因为,当耶稣死亡的时候,他身受创伤,流出宝血,替我们献上他自己为祭,就买赎了那从神而来的诸般应许。保罗说,“神的应许,不论有多少,在基督都是是的。”(林后1:20)。从上帝而来的每件礼物,以及我们跟上帝之间所有欢快的团契相交,都是借着耶稣的鲜血换取的。当保罗说,“我们所祝福的杯,岂不是同领基督的血吗?我们所擘开的饼,岂不是同领基督的身体吗?”他的意思乃是说:难道我们在主的桌子面前,不是在享用属灵的盛宴吗?借着信心,我们可以支取每一样的属灵祝福,那都已经被基督的身体和宝血买赎回来了啊!是的,就是这样的。那些未信主之人不能够做到这些。魔鬼更是无份参与这些。这乃是赐给神家的礼物。当我们庆祝主的圣餐时,我们乃是靠着信心,在享受属灵的宴席,那摆在我们面前的,就是那用耶稣的宝血买赎回来的、上帝一切的应许。

6. 圣餐之神圣的严肃性

我准备以保罗在《哥林多前书》11章采用的方式来结束这篇讲道。他警告说,如果你来到主的圣餐桌子前,是以一种漫不经心、无动于衷、随随便便的心态,却没有去分辨那发生在十字架上的事件的严肃性,那么作为信徒,你就可能遭受灭顶之灾,丧失性命,这不是因为神的忿怒,而是因为神的慈父般的管教。请允许我把这段经文,慢慢读给大家听,《哥林多前书》11:27-32,同时,让我们预备好自己的心,一同怀着喜乐又严肃的心情,来到主的圣餐桌前。

所以,无论何人,不按理 [也就是说,没有信靠和珍惜基督这宝贵的礼物] 吃主的饼,喝主的杯,就是干犯主的身、主的血了。28人应当自己省察 [不是去省察自己是否足够的好,而是去省察,你是否愿意转离倚靠自己、以自我为中心的态度,在你的一切所需上,全然信靠耶稣] ,然后吃这饼、喝这杯。29因为人吃喝,若不分辨是主的身体 [亦即,不清楚圣餐的真实意义,比如轻率地把这饼当成一个沙丁鱼的三明治,就像当时哥林多教会某些人所行的] ,就是吃喝自己的罪了。30 [以下就是保罗要表达的意思:] 因此,在你们中间有好些软弱的与患病的,死(原文作睡)的也不少 [这里并不是说他们就会下地狱;接下来的经文会有清楚解释]。31我们若是先分辨自己,就不至于受审。32我们受审的时候,乃是被主惩治 [就是指,教会中那些软弱的与患病的,甚至死去的],免得我们和世人一同定罪。

千万不要轻忽主的圣餐。这是基督赐给自己教会最宝贵的礼物之一。让我们一同来享用吧。

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Why and How We Celebrate the Lord's Supper

But in the following instructions I do not commend you, because when you come together it is not for the better but for the worse. 18 For, in the first place, when you come together as a church, I hear that there are divisions among you. And I believe it in part, 19 for there must be factions among you in order that those who are genuine among you may be recognized. 20 When you come together, it is not the Lord's supper that you eat. 21 For in eating, each one goes ahead with his own meal. One goes hungry, another gets drunk. 22 What! Do you not have houses to eat and drink in? Or do you despise the church of God and humiliate those who have nothing? What shall I say to you? Shall I commend you in this? No, I will not. 23 For I received from the Lord what I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus on the night when he was betrayed took bread, 24 and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, "This is my body which is for you. Do this in remembrance of me." 25 In the same way also he took the cup, after supper, saying, "This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me." 26 For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord's death until he comes. 27 Whoever, therefore, eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of profaning the body and blood of the Lord. 28 Let a person examine himself, then, and so eat of the bread and drink of the cup. 29 For anyone who eats and drinks without discerning the body eats and drinks judgment on himself. 30 That is why many of you are weak and ill, and some have died. 31 But if we judged ourselves truly, we would not be judged. 32 But when we are judged by the Lord, we are disciplined so that we may not be condemned along with the world. 33 So then, my brothers, when you come together to eat, wait for one another—34 if anyone is hungry, let him eat at home—so that when you come together it will not be for judgment. About the other things I will give directions when I come.

Before we return to Romans next week (Lord willing), I thought it would be good for us to put the Lord’s Supper in biblical context and focus our attention on why and how we keep this ordinance. So today we will put the message first and then lead into the Lord’s Supper with the sermon.

After the Bible, which is the infallible foundation of our lives and our church, one of the most important documents in the life of our church is the Bethlehem Baptist Church Elder Affirmation of Faith. I encourage all of you to read it. You can see it at the church website or Desiring God website. Paragraph 12.4 gives the doctrinal summary of what we believe and teach about the Lord’s Supper:

We believe that the Lord’s Supper is an ordinance of the Lord in which gathered believers eat bread, signifying Christ’s body given for His people, and drink the cup of the Lord, signifying the New Covenant in Christ’s blood. We do this in remembrance of the Lord, and thus proclaim His death until He comes. Those who eat and drink in a worthy manner partake of Christ’s body and blood, not physically, but spiritually, in that, by faith, they are nourished with the benefits He obtained through His death, and thus grow in grace.

I will try to give a biblical foundation for this understanding of the Lord’s Supper under six headings: 1) the historical origin; 2) the believing participants; 3) the physical action; 4) the mental action; 5) the spiritual action; and 6) the sacred seriousness.

1. The Historical Origin of the Lord’s Supper

The Gospels of Matthew (26:26ff), Mark (14:22ff), and Luke (22:14ff) all report the Last Supper that Jesus had with his disciples the night before he died. Each describes Jesus giving thanks or blessing the bread and the cup, and giving them to his disciples saying that the bread is his body and the cup is the blood of the covenant, or the new covenant in his blood. In Luke 22:19, Jesus says, “Do this in remembrance of me.” The Gospel of John doesn’t report the eating and drinking, but rather the teachings and actions that filled the evening.

As far as we can tell from the earliest records, the church did what Jesus said: They reenacted that supper in remembrance of Jesus and his death. Paul’s letters are the earliest testimony that we have, and in 1 Corinthians 11:20, he refers to an event in the life of the church called “the Lord’s Supper.” It’s called “the Lord’s Supper” probably because it was instituted or ordained by the Lord Jesus, and because its very meaning celebrates the memory of the Lord’s death. Paul says in 1 Corinthians 11:23-24, “I received from the Lord what I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus on the night when he was betrayed took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, ‘This is my body which is for you. Do this in remembrance of me.’” “I received from the Lord . . .” probably means that the Lord himself confirmed for Paul (who wasn’t at the final supper as the other apostles were) that what the others reported about the Last Supper really happened.

So the historical origin of the Lord’s Supper is that final supper that Jesus ate with his disciples the night before he was crucified. The actions and meaning of it are all rooted in what Jesus said and did on that last night. Jesus himself is the origin of the Lord’s Supper. He commanded that it be continued. And he is the focus and content of it.

2. The Believing Participants of the Lord’s Supper

The Lord’s Supper is an act of the gathered family of those who believe in Jesus, the church. It is not an act for unbelievers. Unbelievers may be present—indeed, we welcome them to be present—there is nothing secretive about the Lord’s Supper. It is done in public. It has a public meaning. It is not a secretive, cultic ritual with magical powers. It is a public act of worship by the gathered church. In fact, in 1 Corinthians 11:26, Paul says, “As often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord's death until he comes.” So there is a proclamation aspect to the supper. Proclamation, not privacy, is the note to strike.

We do not forbid taking the Lord’s Supper to someone in a nursing home or a hospital, but that kind of individual celebration is exceptional, not the Biblical norm. Five times in 1 Corinthians 11, Paul speaks of the church “coming together” when the Lord’s Supper is eaten. Verse 17b: “When you come together it is not for the better but for the worse.” Verse 18: “For, in the first place, when you come together as a church, I hear that there are divisions among you.” Verse 20: “When you come together, it is not the Lord’s supper that you eat.” Verse 33: “When you come together to eat, wait for one another.” Verse 34: “If anyone is hungry, let him eat at home—so that when you come together it will not be for judgment.”

In other words, they were debasing the Lord’s Supper by connecting it too closely to their regular supper, and some people had lots to eat and others had nothing. So he said, Eat your own supper at home and come together to eat the Lord’s Supper.

And notice the word “church” in verse 18: “when you come together as a church.” This is the body of Christ, the assembly of the followers of Jesus. Those who have turned from idols and trusted Jesus alone for the forgiveness of their sins, and for the hope of eternal life, and for the satisfaction of their souls. These are Christians. So the participants in the Lord’s Supper are the gathered believers in Jesus.

3. The Physical Action of the Lord’s Supper

The physical action of the Lord’s Supper is not the consumption of a seven-course meal. It is very simple. It is eating bread and drinking the cup. Verses 23b-25, “He took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, ‘This is my body which is for you. Do this in remembrance of me.’ In the same way also he took the cup, after supper, saying, ‘This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.’”

Nothing is specified about the kind of bread or the way it is broken. The only statement about what was in the cup is given in one verse each in Matthew, Mark, and Luke: “I tell you I will not drink again of this fruit of the vine until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father's kingdom” (Matthew 26:29; cf. Mark 14:25; Luke 22:18). So it is called “the fruit of the vine.” I don’t think we should make a big deal over whether simple grape juice or wine is used. There is nothing in the text that commands or forbids the one or the other.

What we should be concerned about is playful substitutes—say, bagels and coke around a campfire. The Lord’s Supper is not a plaything. We should celebrate it with a sense of weightiness—which we will talk about in just a moment.

I might mention in passing also that there is nothing in the New Testament about the frequency of the Lord’s Supper. Some believe it would be good to do it weekly; others practice it quarterly. We are in the middle and generally celebrate it on the first Sunday of each month. I think we are free in this matter and the question becomes one of 1) What frequency and infrequency corresponds to its proper importance in relation to the ministry of the Word of God? and 2) What frequency or infrequency helps us feel its value rather than becoming callous to it? Those are not easy judgments to make, and different churches make them in different ways.

4. The Mental Action of the Lord’s Supper

The mental action of the participants of the Lord’s Supper is to focus the mind on Jesus and especially his historical work in dying for our sins. Verses 24 and 25: “Do this in remembrance of me.” As we do the physical act of eating and drinking, we are to do the mental act of remembering. That is, we are to consciously call to mind the person of Jesus as he once lived and the work of Jesus as he once died and rose again, and what his work means for the forgiveness for our sins.

The Lord’s Supper is a stark reminder, time after time, that Christianity is not new-age spirituality. It is not getting in touch with your inner being. It is not mysticism. It is rooted in historical facts. Jesus lived. He had a body and a heart that pumped blood and skin that bled. He died publicly on a Roman cross in the place of sinners so that anyone who believes on him might be rescued from the wrath of God. That happened once and for all in history.

Therefore, the mental action of the Lord’s Supper is foundationally remembering. Not imagining. Not dreaming. Not channeling. Not listening. Not going into neutral. It is a conscious directing of the mind back into history to Jesus and what we know about him from the Bible. The Lord’s Supper roots us, time after time, in the nitty-gritty of history. Bread and Cup. Body and blood. Execution and death.

5. The Spiritual Action of the Lord’s Supper

This is all important. The reason is that unbelievers could do everything I have described so far. Indeed, if the devil could put on flesh, he could do it. Eat, drink, and remember. There is nothing inherently spiritual about that. So for the Lord’s Supper to be what Jesus means for it to be, something more must be happening than only eating, drinking, and remembering. Something that unbelievers and the devil cannot do.

Let me read the key sentence from the Elder Affirmation of Faith once more and then show you in the Bible where it comes from. “Those who eat and drink in a worthy manner partake of Christ’s body and blood, not physically, but spiritually, in that, by faith, they are nourished with the benefits He obtained through His death, and thus grow in grace.”

Where does this idea of “partaking of Christ’s body and blood . . . spiritually . . . by faith” come from? The closest text to support this is in the previous chapter: 1 Corinthians 10:16-18. As I read it, ask, “What does ‘participation’ mean?”

The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a participation in the blood of Christ (koinōnia estin tou haimatos tou Christou)? The bread that we break, is it not a participation in the body of Christ (ouchi koinōnia tou sōmatos tou Christou estin)? Because there is one bread, we who are many are one body, for we all partake of the one bread. Consider the people of Israel: are not those who eat the sacrifices participants in the altar (koinōnia tou thusiastēriou)?

Here is something much deeper than remembering. Here are believers—those who trust and treasure Jesus Christ—and Paul says that they are participating in the body and blood of Christ. Literally, they are experiencing a sharing (koinōnia) in his body and blood. They are experiencing a partnership in his death.

Partaking of Christ’s Body and Blood, Spiritually, By Faith

And what does this participation/sharing/partnership mean? I think verse 18 gives us the clue because it uses a similar word, but compares it to what happens in the Jewish sacrifices: “Consider the people of Israel: are not those who eat the sacrifices participants [a form of the same word] in the altar?” What does sharer/participant/partner in the altar mean? It means that they are sharing in or benefiting from what happened on the altar. They are enjoying, for example, forgiveness and restored fellowship with God.

So I take verse 16 and 17 to mean that when believers eat the bread and drink the cup physically we do another kind of eating and drinking spiritually. We eat and drink—that is, we take into our lives—what happened on the cross. By faith—by trusting in all that God is for us in Jesus—we nourish ourselves with the benefits that Jesus obtained for us when he bled and died on the cross.

This is why we lead you in various focuses at the Lord’s table from month to month (peace with God, joy in Christ, hope for the future, freedom from fear, security in adversity, guidance in perplexity, healing from sickness, victory in temptation, etc.). Because when Jesus died, his shed blood and broken body, offered up in his death on our behalf, purchased all the promises of God. Paul says, “All the promises of God find their Yes in him” (2 Corinthians 1:20). Every gift of God, and all our joyful fellowship with God, was obtained by the blood of Jesus. When Paul says, “The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a participation in the blood of Christ? The bread that we break, is it not a participation in the body of Christ?” he means: Do we not at the Lord’s table feast spiritually by faith on every spiritual blessing bought by the body and blood of Christ? No unbeliever can do that. The devil can’t do it. It is a gift for the family. When we celebrate the Lord’s Supper, we feast spiritually by faith on all the promises of God bought by the blood of Jesus.

6. The Sacred Seriousness of the Lord’s Supper

I close the way Paul does in 1 Corinthians 11. He warns that if you come to the Lord’s Supper in a cavalier, callous, careless way that does not discern the seriousness of what happened on the cross, you may, if you are a believer, lose your life, not because of wrath, but as an act of God’s fatherly discipline. Let me simply read slowly 1 Corinthians 11:27-32 as we move joyfully and seriously to the Lord’s table.

Whoever, therefore, eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner [that is, not trusting and treasuring the precious gift of Christ] will be guilty of profaning the body and blood of the Lord. 28 Let a person examine himself, then, [not to see if you are good enough, but to see if you are willing to turn away from yourself trust Jesus for what you need] and so eat of the bread and drink of the cup. 29 For anyone who eats and drinks without discerning the body [that is, without being aware that this bread is not to be treated like a fish sandwich, the way some were doing in Corinth] eats and drinks judgment on himself. 30 [And here is what he means:] That is why many of you are weak and ill, and some have died [not to be sent to hell; the next verse explains]. 31 But if we judged ourselves truly, we would not be judged. 32 But when we are judged by the Lord, we are disciplined [that is, some are weak, and ill, and dying] so that we may not be condemned [that is, go to hell] along with the world.

Don’t take the Lord’s Supper lightly. It is one of the most precious gifts Christ has given to his church. Let’s eat it together.

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org