عجائب من كلمتك

اكْشِفْ عَنْ عَيْنَيَّ فَأَرَى عَجَائِبَ مِنْ شَرِيعَتِكَ.

حاجتنا الماسة لاستنارة الله:

كانت النقاط الثلاث التي رأيناها في هذه الآية في الأسبوع الماضي: 1) هناك عجائب في كلمة الله؛ 2) لا يمكن لأحد أن يرى هذه العجائب على ما هي عليه في الواقع من دون مساعدة الله التي تفوق الطبيعة، 3) ولذلك يجب علينا أن نصلي لله من أجل استنارة تفوق الطبيعة عندما نقرأ الكتاب المقدس.

لذلك كان التركيز في الأسبوع الماضي على الصلاة وحاجتنا الماسة لاستنارة الله التي تفوق الطبيعة لرؤية الأشياء الروحية - لرؤية مجد الله وجماله وتفوقه. يمكنك أن ترى الكثير من الأشياء عندما تأتي إلى الكلمة من دون أن يفتح الله أعين قلبك. يمكنك أن ترى كلمات وانشاءات نحوية. يمكنك أن ترى روابط منطقية. يمكنك أن ترى حقائق تاريخية. يمكنك أن ترى قصد المؤلف المنطقي. يمكنك أن ترى بعض العواطف البشرية. لا شيء من ذلك يتطلب أن يفتح الله عينيك بطريقة روحية خاصة.

ولكن ما لا يمكنك أن تراه هو الجمال الروحي لله وابنه وعملهم في العالم. لا يمكنك أن ترى أن الله فوق كلّ شيء جذّاب بلا حدود. لا يمكن لأي شخص أعمى أن يرى الشمس، رغم أنه بالإمكان أن يعرف حقائق كثيرة عن الشمس، ويجتاز اختبار في علم الفلك بدرجة أعلى من شخص يستطيع أن يرى الشمس. المعرفة عن أمر ما والمعرفة بالرؤية ليسا بنفس الشيء. معرفة أن العسل حلو وتذوق العسل ليس نفس الشيء.

اسمحوا لي أن أقرأ مرة أخرى الوصف الشامل لبولس عن حالتنا ونحن بعيدون عن استنارة الله الخاصة والمخلّصة. يذكر بولس في أفسس 4: 17ب-18 خمس صفات رهيبة للحالة الإنسانية التي تتطلب التدخل الإلهي إذا أردنا أن نرى الواقع الروحي. فهو يقول أن الأمم (وبعبارة أخرى، العالم الطبيعي للبشر بين الشعوب، بدون النعمة) يعيشون "بِبُطْلِ ذِهْنِهِمْ، إِذْ هُمْ مُظْلِمُو الْفِكْرِ، وَمُتَجَنِّبُونَ عَنْ حَيَاةِ اللهِ لِسَبَبِ الْجَهْلِ الَّذِي فِيهِمْ بِسَبَبِ غِلاَظَةِ قُلُوبِهِمْ." عندما نقرأ ذلك بشكل عكسي نستطيع أن نقول أن هناك في كل واحد منا، بعيدا عن النعمة العظيمة لله، غلاظة القلب التي تؤدي إلى الجهل الذي يؤدي إلى الاغتراب عن الله الذي يؤدي إلى الظلام الذي يؤدي إلى عدم جدوى المعرفة والحياة.

لذلك كانت الفكرة في الأسبوع الماضي هي: إن كان هناك أي أمل لدينا لرؤية عجائب في كلمة الله، فيجب أن يكون لدينا قدرة إلهية فائقة الطبيعة تُعطى لنا من قبل الله لأننا لا نتملكها بالطبيعية. وبالتالي يجب أن نصلي من أجل ذلك - "اكْشِفْ عَنْ عَيْنَيَّ." وإن كنا سنظل أحياء في الله ونكون حقيقيين وصادقين وأقوياء في محبتنا له، فيجب أن نكون في أشد الحاجة لهذا التمكين كل يوم. فصَلِّ، وصَلِّ، وصَلِّ. اقرأ مزمور 119، وانظر كم مرة يصلي الكاتب طالبا المساعدة الإلهية في معرفة الله وطرقه.

النظر يعني التغيير:

ولكن اليوم لدي فكرة أخرى أريد أن اشارك بها. ولكن قبل أن أقول ما هي، اسمحوا لي أن اتأكد من أنكم تدركون لماذا هذا الأمر مهم. إنه مهم لأن التغيير إلى شبه المسيح يحدث من خلال رؤية جمال وقيمة وامتياز الله وابنه وأقوالهم وطرقهم. يقول بولس في 2 كورنثوس 3: 18 "وَنَحْنُ جَمِيعًا نَاظِرِينَ مَجْدَ الرَّبِّ بِوَجْهٍ مَكْشُوفٍ، كَمَا في مِرْآةٍ، نَتَغَيَّرُ إِلَى تِلْكَ الصُّورَةِ عَيْنِهَا، مِنْ مَجْدٍ إِلَى مَجْدٍ، كَمَا مِنَ الرَّبِّ الرُّوح." فالنظر يعني التغيير.

هذا هو الطريق المسيحي الوحيد لتغيير السلوك لإكرام الله. نحن نتغير لأننا رأينا جمال وقيمة وامتياز أكبر. إذا نظرت إلى وجه المسيح وبعد ذلك نظرت إلى الرياضة المصورة أو البهجة ولم تتأثر بالجمال والقيمة والامتياز والرغبة الأسمى للمسيح، فأنت إذاً لا تزال غليظ وأعمى وأحمق في ذهنك. تحتاج إلى أن تصرخ قائلا "اكْشِفْ عَنْ عَيْنَيَّ فَأَرَى عَجَائِبَ مِنْ شَرِيعَتِكَ." وسوف تظهر حياتك ذلك. حيث يكون كنزك- رغبتك، وفرحك، وجمالك - هناك يكون قلبك أيضا - وأمسياتك سبوتك وأموالك. نحن نتغير من خلال رؤية مجد الله في كلمة الله. إن لم يكن الله أمجد بالنسبة لك وأروع من بريق ومجد العالم، فأنت لم تره بعد. تقول 3 يوحنا 11 "وَمَنْ يَصْنَعُ الشَّرَّ، فَلَمْ يُبْصِرِ اللهَ." (راجع أيضا 1 يوحنا 3: 6).

لذلك كل هذا مهم لأن كل تغيير الحياة الحقيقي الذي يكرم الله، وله قيمة روحية فيه يأتي من رؤية مجد الله، وليس من صنع لوائح دينية من سلوكيات ومحاولة نسخها.

يكشف الله عن جمال المسيح من خلال كلمته:

فكرة اليوم من هذا النص هي: أن الله يظهر جمال امتياز المسيح فقط لأولئك الذين يتطلعون إلى كلمة الله. لهذا السبب فإن التغيير الروحي الحقيقي يأتي من قراءة وتأمل وحفظ الكتاب المقدس. ليس لأنك تتعلم قواعد تطيعها. لكن لأن هذا مكان حيث يعلن الرب عن جمال وامتياز المسيح.

اسمحوا لي أن أجعل هذه الفكرة أكثر وضوحا. افترض أنك سمعت رسالة الأسبوع الماضي أنه يجب علينا أن نرى مجد الله لكي نتغير، ولكننا لا نستطيع أن نرى ذلك بسبب موتنا وغلاظتنا وعمانا الرّوحي، وأنه يجب أن نصلي لله لكي يحيينا ويلين ويفتح عيوننا. وافترض أنك استنتجت الآتي: حسنا، إذاً، لا بد لي أن أكرس نفسي للصلاة وليس لدراسة أو قراءة أو حفظ الكتاب المقدس لأن مجرد الرؤية الإنسانية والمنطق لا يمكنهما رؤية ما يجب أن يُرى. سيكون هذا استنتاجا خاطئا جدا تستخلصه مما قلته ومن هذا النص.

الفكرة هي: أن الله يفتح عيون العمي لمعرفة مجد الله في كلمته عندما يبحثون في الكلمة. افترض أنك تريد أن ترى مجد جراند كانيون، ولكنك كنت أعمى. وافترض أن الله قال لك، ادعني وتعالَ وصَلِّ لي وأنا سوف افتح عينيك لترى مجد جراند كانيون. هل ستنتقل من ولاية اريزونا إلى ولاية فلوريدا للصلاة؟ أم ستستخدم كل عضلاتك ومشاعرك التي منحهما الله لك للوصول إلى جراند كانيون وتثبت عينيك نحو ما وعد به الله؟ فكرتي هي: أنه لن يظهر لك مجد جراند كانيون إن كنت تصر على العيش من ايفرجليدز، بغض النظر عن كم كنت أصلي.

اسمحوا لي أن أقول ذلك بطريقة أخرى. لقد عيّن الله أن يكون عمل فتح العيون لروحه دائما جنبا إلى جنب مع عمل تنوير العقل لكلمته. فهدفه هو أن نرى مجد ابنه (ونتغير). لذلك فهو يفتح أعيننا عندما ننظر إلى الابن - وليس إلى المسلسلات أو المبيعات. إن عمل الروح وعمل الكلمة دائما يكونان معا في طريق الله الحقيقي عن الإعلان الذاتي الروحي. إن عمل الروح القدس هو اظهار مجد وجمال وقيمة ما يراه العقل في الكلمة.

يجب علينا ألا نقع في خطأ الاعتقاد بأن ما نحتاج إليه من روح الله هو بعض المعلومات الجديدة. لدينا بالفعل معلومات أكثر ألف مرة عن الله في الكتاب المقدس مما يمكننا فهمها أو التمتع بها. ما نحتاج إليه هو أن نرى بأعين قلوبنا! أي معلومات إضافة من الروح إلى ما يمكن أن نراه عن المسيح في الكلمة لا يجعلنا أكثر روحانية مطلقا، أو مرضين لله.

لنفترض أن الروح أعلن لك معلومات جديدة أن صديقتك العقيمة كانت على وشك أن تصبح حاملا. ثم تقول لها ذلك، وعندما يحدث ذلك، تكون أنت وهي في منتهى السعادة والفرح بسبب معجزة النبوة، والحمل. لكن ماذا اكتسبت روحيا؟ لا شيء، إلا إذا تحولت إلى الكلمة ورأيت - بعيون القلب - مجد وجمال المسيح كما يصوره الكتاب المقدس - يسوع الناصري المصلوب والمقام من الموت ليخلص الخطاة ويمجد الله الذي هكذا قد باركك. الإثارة الدينية في وجود المعجزات هو شيء طبيعي وليس له البعد الرّوحي المطلوب الذي يفوق الطبيعة. إن مواهب الروح ثمينة، ولكن الأهم من ذلك بشكل لانهائي هو استنارة الروح القدس التي تفتح العين بحيث نرى مجد المسيح في الكلمة.

إننا لا نحتاج إلى معلومات جديدة، بل عيون جديدة لنرى ما قد أعلن لنا في كلمة الله. اكْشِفْ عَنْ عَيْنَيَّ فَأَرَى عَجَائِبَ مِنْ شَرِيعَتِكَ!

لا تصَلِّ وتنجرف ذهنيا:

اسمحوا لي أن استخلص بعض الآثار المترتبة على ذلك.

الأول هو أنه عندما تصلي لعينيك لكي ترى، يجب أن لا تحوّل عقلك إلى الحيادية. لا تفترض أن جوهرية الصلاة تعني الاستغناء عن الفكر المركز على كلمة الله. عندما تصلي لرؤية مجد المسيح، لا تنجرف ولا تنحدر ذهنيا. فلا تنتظر فقط، بدون أن تفعل شيئا. هذا خطأ كبير، ويأتي من الروحانية الشرقيّة، وليس من الكتاب المقدس. ما هو فريد في المسيحية هو أنها تاريخية ودقيقة. عاش المسيح في زمان ومكان. خطة الله هو أن يفتح عينيك لترى الجمال الروحي وقيمة هذا الرجل، تماما كما هو معلن عنه في الكلمة. إذا كنا نصلي لرؤيته، ولكننا ننجرف عقليا بعيدا عن ذلك، فإننا لا نرى ذلك. لذلك لا تصلي وتنجرف ذهنيا.

ماذا إذاً؟

1. صَلِّ واقرأ:

اقرأ الكلمة! يا له من امتيازا! ويا له من واجب! ويالها من امكانية لرؤية الله! انظر إلى أفسس 3: 3ب - 4. يكتب بولس "أَنَّهُ بِإِعْلاَنٍ عَرَّفَنِي بِالسِّرِّ. كَمَا سَبَقْتُ فَكَتَبْتُ بِالإِيجَازِ. الَّذِي بِحَسَبِهِ حِينَمَا تَقْرَأُونَهُ، تَقْدِرُونَ أَنْ تَفْهَمُوا دِرَايَتِي بِسِرِّ الْمَسِيحِ." عندما تقرأونه! شاء الله أن يتم الإعلان عن أكبر أسرار الحياة من خلال القراءة.

ثم قارن إصحاح 1: 18 حيث يقول بولس: "مُسْتَنِيرَةً عُيُونُ أَذْهَانِكُمْ، لِتَعْلَمُوا مَا هُوَ رَجَاءُ دَعْوَتِهِ." لذلك أفسس 3: 4 تعلّم أن السر يُعرف بواسطة القراءة. وأفسس 1: 18 تعلّم أنه بالنسبة لنا لكي نعرف ما نحن في حاجة إلى معرفته، من الضّروري أن يفتح الله أعيننا كاستجابة للصلاة. نعم، يجب أن نصلي. نعم، نحن عميان بدون مساعدة الله. لكن الفكرة هذا الاسبوع هي: أننا يجب أن نقرأ.

"حِينَمَا تَقْرَأُونَهُ، تَقْدِرُونَ أَنْ تَفْهَمُوا دِرَايَتِي بِسِرِّ الْمَسِيحِ." الصلاة يمكن أن تحل محل القراءة. قد تحول الصلاة القراءة إلى رؤية. ولكن إن كنا لا نقرأ، فإننا لن نرى. أُرسل الروح القدس ليمجد المسيح، ومجد المسيح مصور في الكلمة. اقرأ. افرح أنه يمكنك أن تقرأ.

2. صَلِّ وأدرس:

2 تيموثاوس 2: 15 "اجْتَهِدْ (أو: "أدرس" طبعة الملك جيمس) أَنْ تُقِيمَ نَفْسَكَ ِللهِ مُزَكُى، عَامِلاً لاَ يُخْزَى، مُفَصِّلاً كَلِمَةَ الْحَقِّ بِالاسْتِقَامَةِ." لقد أعطى الله لنا كتابا عن نفسه ليس لكي نقرأه بأي طريقة قديمة بشكل غير مبال كما نريد. بولس يقول: "اجْتَهِدْ... مُفَصِّلاً كَلِمَةَ الْحَقِّ بِالاسْتِقَامَةِ." وهذا يعني اجتهد في الكلمة إن كنت تريد أن تفهمها لأقصى حد.

إن رقّاً السّاعة يتأرجح جيئة وذهابا. يقول البعض صلِّ ثم صلِّ ولا تعتمد على عمل الدراسة الغير روحي والبشري. ويقول آخرون، أدرس ثم أدرس لأن الله لن يقول لك معنى الكلمة في الصلاة. ولكن الكتاب المقدس ليس له أيّة علاقة مع هذا الانقسام الثنائي. يجب علينا أن ندرس بدقة ونفصل كلمة الله باستقامة، ويجب علينا أن نصلي، وإلا لن نرى في الكلمة الشيء الوحيد الضروري، أي مجد الله في وجه المسيح (2 كورنثوس 4: 4، 6).

كتب بنيامين وارفيلد، وهو دارس عظيم في الكتاب المقدس، في عام 1911 "في بعض الاحيان نسمع القول بأن عشر دقائق على ركبتيك سوف تعطيك معرفة أصدق وأعمق وأكثر فاعلية عن الله من عشر ساعات على كتبك. 'ماذا!' هو الرد المناسب، 'عشر ساعات على كتبك، وعلى ركبتيك؟'" ("الحياة الدينية لطلاب اللاهوت،" في مارك نول، الطبعة، لاهوت برينستون [غراند رابيدز: دار بيكر للكتاب، 1983]، ص. 263). هذا يجسد روح الكتاب المقدس. نعم، يجب أن نصلي. فلن نرى عجائب من كلمة الله إن لم يفتح عيوننا. ولكن الصلاة لا يمكن أن تحل محل الدراسة، لأن بولس يقول: "اجْتَهِدْ – أدرس - مُفَصِّلاً كَلِمَةَ الْحَقِّ بِالاسْتِقَامَةِ."

3. صَلِّ وفتش:

ينبغي أن يكون نهجنا في الكتاب المقدس مثل البخيل في اندفاعه نحو الذهب، أو مثل خطيبة فقدت خاتم الخطوبة في مكان ما في المنزل. إنها تفتش المنزل. تلك هي الطريقة التي نطلب بها الله في الكتاب المقدس.

أمثال 2: 1-6 يعلّم،

يَا ابْنِي، إِنْ قَبِلْتَ كَلاَمِي وَخَبَّأْتَ وَصَايَايَ عِنْدَكَ، حَتَّى تُمِيلَ أُذْنَكَ إِلَى الْحِكْمَةِ، وَتُعَطِّفَ قَلْبَكَ عَلَى الْفَهْمِ، إِنْ دَعَوْتَ الْمَعْرِفَةَ، وَرَفَعْتَ صَوْتَكَ إِلَى الْفَهْمِ، إِنْ طَلَبْتَهَا كَالْفِضَّةِ، وَبَحَثْتَ عَنْهَا كَالْكُنُوزِ، فَحِينَئِذٍ تَفْهَمُ مَخَافَةَ الرَّبِّ، وَتَجِدُ مَعْرِفَةَ اللهِ. لأَنَّ الرَّبَّ يُعْطِي حِكْمَةً. مِنْ فَمِهِ الْمَعْرِفَةُ وَالْفَهْمُ.

إقبل، خبىء، إصح، تعطف قلبك، أصرخ، إرفع صوتك، أطلبها كالفضة، إبحث عنها كالكنوز. هذا هو تفتيش الكتاب المقدس كما يستحق. إن كان هناك كنوزا مخبأة، فتصرف كذلك. إن كان هناك فضة، فتصرف كذلك. بكل الوسائل صَلِّ (كما تقول الآية 3) ولكن لا تستبدل الصلاة بالتفتيش. يأمر الله أن يعطي أولئك الذين يسعون بكل قلوبهم (إرميا 29: 13).

4. صَلِّ وفكر:

انظر إلى 2 تيموثاوس 2: 7. "افْهَمْ مَا أَقُولُ. فَلْيُعْطِكَ الرَّبُّ فَهْمًا فِي كُلِّ شَيْءٍ." حرفيا هي "فكر (noei) فيما أقوله". هل هذا يعني أن فهم تعليم بولس هو مجرد عمل إنساني طبيعي للتفكير؟ لا. فنهاية الآية تقول: "فَلْيُعْطِكَ الرَّبُّ فَهْمًا فِي كُلِّ شَيْءٍ." ليس لك أن ترى ذلك بنفسك. الفهم الروحي هو هبة من الله.

ولكن الله قد عين أن يعطي موهبة النور الفوق طبيعي من خلال التفكير. "افْهَمْ مَا أَقُولُ. فَلْيُعْطِكَ الرَّبُّ فَهْمًا فِي كُلِّ شَيْءٍ." ذلك بكل الوسائل صَلِّ واسأل الله أن يمنحك النور الذي تحتاجه. ولكن لا تجعل الصلاة تحل محل التفكير. فكر وصَلِّ. صَلِّ وفكر. هذه هي الطريقة التي وضعها الله. مسيح تاريخي. كتاب للحفظ والإعلان. كل ذلك يقول: اقرأ وأدرس وفتش وافهم. ولكن الكل يضيع هباءً بدون الصلاة. كلا الإثنين معاً، وليس إما هذا أو ذاك.

5. صَلِّ وتحدث:

يقصد الله من الكلمة المكتوبة أن تصبح الكلمة المنطوقة في الوعظ والنصح المتبادل والتوبيخ والإنذار والتشجيع والمشورة لشعبه. تقول كولوسي 3: 16 "لِتَسْكُنْ فِيكُمْ [أو بينكم] كَلِمَةُ الْمَسِيحِ بِغِنىً، وَأَنْتُمْ بِكُلِّ حِكْمَةٍ مُعَلِّمُونَ وَمُنْذِرُونَ بَعْضُكُمْ بَعْضًا..." كلمة المسيح لنا تصبح كلمتنا لبعضنا البعض.

أنا أعظ. هذه هي مشيئة الله لكلمته أن تكون معلنة بشكل جديد مرارا وتكرارا. وأنتم تتحدثون لبعضكم البعض بكلمة الله. هذا هو أحد الأسباب الأساسية للمجموعات الصغيرة في الكنيسة – لكي نجعل كلمة الله لنا تكون كلمة الله من خلالنا. نتحدث بها إلى بعضنا البعض.

هل هذا يعني أننا نستطيع أن نتخلص من الصلاة في تلك اللحظات – أي أن نتمكن من فتح عيون القلب بشكل ما لرؤية عجائب من كلمة الله، لأننا نتحدث بها عن اقتناع أو بحجة مقنعة أو بتحولات مبدعة للعبارة؟ ليس هذا ما يعلمه بولس. في نفس هذا السفر (كولوسي 1: 9-10) هو صلى – ثم صلى! - "لَمْ نَزَلْ مُصَلِّينَ وَطَالِبِينَ لأَجْلِكُمْ أَنْ تَمْتَلِئُوا مِنْ مَعْرِفَةِ مَشِيئَتِهِ، فِي كُلِّ حِكْمَةٍ وَفَهْمٍ رُوحِيٍّ ... وَنَامِينَ فِي مَعْرِفَةِ اللهِ."

إن كانت معرفة الله، في كل حكمة وفهم روحي، تتم بشكل تلقائي عندما تسكن كلمة المسيح بغنى بيننا، إذاً لن يكون بولس في حاجة إلى الصلاة بشكل جدي لله لكي يعطيها لنا.

الكلمة والصلاة معا:

لذا لقد رأينا مرارا وتكرارا: لا غنى عن الصلاة إن كنا نرى مجد الله في كلمة الله. لكننا رأينا أيضا أن قراءة ودراسة وتفتيش والتفكير والحديث بالكلمة هو أيضا ضروري. لقد عين الله أن يكون عمل فتح العين لروحه دائما جنبا إلى جنب مع عمل تنوير العقل لكلمته. هدفه هو أن نرى مجد الله، وأننا نعكس مجد الله. ولذلك فهو يفتح أعيننا عندما نرى مجد الله في الكلمة.

اقرأ، وأدرس، وفتش، وفكر، وتحدث، واستمع، وصَلِّ "اكْشِفْ عَنْ عَيْنَيَّ فَأَرَى عَجَائِبَ مِنْ شَرِيعَتِكَ."

(للحصول على المزيد من الأفكار، راجع لوقا 24: 45؛ وأعمال الرسل 16: 14؛ 2 ملوك 6: 17؛ متى 16: 17؛ 11: 2-6؛ 11: 27).

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Wonderful Things from Your Word

Open my eyes, that I may behold Wonderful things from Your law.

Our Desperate Need for God's Illumination

The three points we saw in this verse last week were: 1) there are wonderful things in the Word of God; 2) no one can see these wonderful things for what they really are without God's supernatural help; and 3) therefore we must pray to God for supernatural illumination when we read the Bible.

So the stress last week was on prayer and our desperate need for God's supernatural illumination to see spiritual things - to see God's glory and beauty and excellence. You can see many things when you come to the Word without God's opening the eyes of your heart. You can see words and grammatical constructions. You can see logical connections. You can see historical facts. You can see an author's rational intention. You can see some human emotions. None of that requires that God open your eyes in a special spiritual way.

But what you cannot see is the spiritual beauty of God and his Son and their work in the world. You cannot see that God is infinitely desirable above all things. A blind person cannot see the sun, though he can know many facts about the sun and pass a test in astronomy with a score higher than a person who can see the sun. Knowing about and knowing by sight are not the same. Knowing that honey is sweet and tasting honey are not the same.

Let me read again Paul's fullest description of our condition apart from God's special, saving illumination. In Ephesians 4:17b-18 Paul mentions five terrible traits of the human condition that necessitate divine intervention if we are to see spiritual reality. He says that the gentiles (in other words, the ordinary world of men among the nations, apart from grace) live "in the futility of their mind, being darkened in their understanding, excluded from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, because of the hardness of their heart." Reading backwards we can say that there is in all of us, apart from the mighty grace of God, a hardness of heart that leads to ignorance that leads to alienation from God that leads to darkness that leads to futility of knowledge and life.

So last week's point was: if there is any hope of our seeing wonderful things in the Word of God, we will have to have a divine, supernatural capacity given to us by God that we do not have by nature. And therefore we must pray for it - "Open my eyes." And if we would stay alive in God and be real and authentic and intense in our love for him, we must be desperate to have this enabling every day. So pray, pray, pray. Read Psalm 119 and see how many times he prays for divine help in knowing God and his ways.

Beholding is Becoming

But today I have a different point to make. But before I say what that is, let me make sure you realize why this is important. It's important because being changed into the likeness of Jesus happens by seeing the beauty and worth and excellence of God and his Son and their words and ways. In 2 Corinthians 3:18 Paul says, "But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as from the Lord, the Spirit." Beholding is becoming.

This is the only Christian way to change behavior so that it honors God. We change because we have seen a superior beauty and worth and excellence. If you look into the face of Christ and then look into Sports Illustrated or Glamour and are not moved by the superior beauty and worth and excellence and desirability of Christ, then you are still hard and blind and futile in your thinking. You need to cry out, "Open my eyes to see wonderful things out of your Word!" And your life will show it. Where your treasure is - your desire, your delight, your beauty - there will your heart be also - and your evenings and your Saturdays and your money. We are changed by seeing the glory of God in the Word of God. If God is not more glorious to you and more compelling to you than the luster and glory of the world, you haven't seen him. 3 John 11 says, "The one who does evil has not seen God" (see also 1 John 3:6).

So all this is important because all true life-change that honors God and has a spiritual worth to it comes from seeing the glory of God, not from making religious lists of behaviors and trying to copy them.

God Reveals Christ's Beauty Through His Word

Today's point from the text is this: God shows the beauty and excellence of Christ only to those who look into the Word of God. This is why true spiritual change comes from reading and pondering and memorizing the Bible. It's not because you learn rules to obey. It's because that is the place the Lord reveals the beauty and excellence of Christ.

Let me put a sharper point on this. Suppose you heard last week's message that we must see the glory of God to be changed, but we can't see it because of our deadness and hardness and blindness, and that we must therefore pray for God to make alive and soften and open our eyes. And suppose that you conclude: Well, then, I must devote myself to prayer and not to study or reading or memorizing the Bible because mere human seeing and reasoning can't see what needs to be seen. That would be a terrible conclusion to draw from what I said and from this text.

The point is: God opens the eyes of the blind to see the glory of God in his Word when they are looking at the Word. Suppose you wanted to see the glory of the Grand Canyon, but were blind. And suppose God said to you, Call on me and come and pray to me and I will open your eyes to see the glory of the Grand Canyon. Would you move from Arizona to Florida to pray? Or would you use every muscle and sense God gave you to get to the Grand Canyon and set your eyes toward what God had promised? My point is: he will not show you the glory of the Grand Canyon if you insist on living by the Everglades, no matter how much you pray.

Let me say it another way. God has ordained that the eye-opening work of his Spirit always be combined with the mind-informing work of his Word. His aim is that we see the glory of His Son (and be changed). So he opens our eyes when we are looking at the Son - not at soaps or sales. The work of the Spirit and the work of the Word always go together in God's way of true spiritual self- revelation. The Spirit's work is to show the glory and beauty and value of what the mind sees in the Word.

We must not make the mistake of thinking that what we need from God's Spirit is some new information. We already have a thousand times more information about God in the Bible than we can fathom or enjoy. What we need is to see with the eyes of our hearts! Any addition of information by the Spirit to what we can see of Christ in the Word would not make us one ounce more spiritual, or pleasing to God.

Suppose the Spirit revealed to you the new information that your barren friend was going to get pregnant. You tell her this, and when it happens, you and she are blown away with excitement at the miracle of prophecy and pregnancy. What have you gained spiritually? Nothing, unless you turn to the Word and see - with the eyes of the heart - the glory and the beauty of the Christ portrayed in the Bible - Jesus of Nazareth, crucified and risen to save sinners and to glorify God who has thus blessed you. Religious excitement in the presence of miracles is a natural thing and has no necessary spiritual or supernatural dimension. The gifts of the Spirit are precious, but infinitely more important is the eye-opening illumination of the Holy Spirit so that we see the glory of Christ in the Word.

It is not new information that we need; it is new eyes to see what has been revealed to us in God's Word. Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things out of your Word!

Don't Pray and Drift

Let me draw out some implications of this.

The first is that when you pray for eyes to see, you must not shift your mind into neutral. Don't assume that the indispensability of prayer means the dispensability of focused thought on the word of God. When you pray to see the glory of Christ, don't drift or coast mentally. Don't just wait, doing nothing. This is a huge mistake, and comes from Eastern spirituality, not the Bible. What is unique about Christianity is that it is historical and particular. Jesus lived in a time and place. God's design is to open your eyes to see the spiritual beauty and value of this particular man just as he is revealed in the Word. If we pray to see it, but mentally drift away from it, then we will not see it. So don't pray and drift.

What Then?

1. Pray and Read

Read the Word! What a privilege! And what an obligation! And what a potential for seeing God! Look at Ephesians 3:3b-4. Paul writes, "By revelation there was made known to me the mystery, as I wrote before in brief. By referring to this, when you read you can understand my insight into the mystery of Christ." When you read! God willed that the greatest mysteries of life be revealed through reading.

Then compare chapter 1:18 where Paul says, "I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened, so that you will know what is the hope of His calling." So Ephesians 3:4 says that the mystery is known by reading. And Ephesians 1:18 says that for us to know what we need to know, God must open our eyes in answer to prayer. Yes, we must pray. Yes, we are blind without God's help. But the point this week is: we must read.

"When you read you can understand my insight into the mystery of Christ." Praying cannot replace reading. Praying may turn reading into seeing. But if we don't read, we will not see. The Holy Spirit is sent to glorify Jesus, and the glory of Jesus is portrayed in the Word. Read. Rejoice that you can read.

2. Pray and Study

2 Timothy 2:15: "Be diligent (or: "study" KJV) to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the Word of truth." God gave us a book about himself not so that we might read in any old careless way we wished. Paul says, "Be diligent to . . . accurately handle the Word of truth." That means work at the Word if you want the most from it.

The pendulum swings back and forth. Some say pray and pray and don't lean on the unspiritual, human work of study. Others say, study and study because God is not going to tell you the meaning of a word in prayer. But the Bible will not have anything to do with this dichotomy. We must study and accurately handle the Word of God, and we must pray or we will not see in the Word the one thing needful, the glory of God in the face of Christ (2 Corinthians 4:4, 6).

Benjamin Warfield, a great studier of the Bible, wrote in 1911, "Sometimes we hear it said that ten minutes on your knees will give you a truer, deeper, more operative knowledge of God than ten hours over your books. 'What!' is the appropriate response, 'than ten hours over your books, on your knees?'" ("The Religious Life of Theological Students," in Mark Noll, ed., The Princeton Theology, [Grand Rapids: Baker Book House, 1983], p. 263). This captures the Biblical spirit. Yes, we must pray. We will not see wonderful things out of God's Word if he doesn't open our eyes. But praying cannot replace studying, because Paul says, "Be diligent - study - to handle the Word accurately."

3. Pray and Ransack

Our approach to the Bible should be like a miser in the gold rush, or a fiancée who has lost her engagement ring somewhere in the house. She ransacks the house. That is the way we seek for God in the Bible.

Proverbs 2:1-6 says,

My son, if you will receive my words And treasure my commandments within you, 2 Make your ear attentive to wisdom, Incline your heart to understanding; 3 For if you cry for discernment, Lift your voice for understanding; 4 If you seek her as silver And search for her as for hidden treasures; 5 Then you will discern the fear of the LORD And discover the knowledge of God. 6 For the LORD gives wisdom; From His mouth come knowledge and understanding.

Receive, treasure, be attentive, incline your heart, cry out, lift your voice, seek as for silver, search as for hidden treasures. This is ransacking the Bible for all that it is worth. If there are hidden treasures, act like it. If there is silver, act like it. By all means pray (as verse 3 says) but don't substitute prayer for ransacking. God ordains to give to those who seek with all their heart (Jeremiah 29:13).

4. Pray and Think

Consider 2 Timothy 2:7. The NASB has "Consider what I say, for the Lord will give you understanding in everything." Literally it is, "Think about (noei) what I say." Does this mean that understanding Paul's teaching is simply a human, natural enterprise of thinking? No. The end of the verse says, "The Lord will give you understanding." It is not you who can see it on your own. Spiritual apprehension is a gift of God.

But God has ordained to give the gift of supernatural light through thinking. "Think over what I say, for the Lord will give you understanding in everything." So by all means pray and ask God to give you the light you need. But don't replace thinking with praying. Think and pray. Pray and think. This is the way God has set it up. A historical Christ. A book of preservation and revelation. All of that says: read and study and ransack and think. But all is in vain without prayer. Both-and, not either-or.

5. Pray and Speak

God means for the written Word to become the spoken word in preaching and in the mutual exhortation and rebuke and warning and encouragement and counsel of his people. Colossians 3:16 says, "Let the Word of Christ richly dwell within [or among] you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another . . ." The Word of Christ to us becomes our word to each other.

I preach. This is God's will for his Word to be heralded afresh over and over. And you speak to each other the Word of God. This is one of the fundamental reasons for small groups in the church - to make the Word of God to us into the Word of God through us. Speak it to each other.

Does this mean that we can do away with prayer in those moments - that we can somehow open the eyes of the heart to see wonderful things out of God's Word because we are speaking it with conviction or persuasive argument or creative turns of phrase? That's not what Paul teaches. In that same book (Colossians 1:9-10) he prays - prays! - "We have not ceased to pray for you and to ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding . . . increasing in the knowledge of God."

If knowing God and having spiritual wisdom and understanding were automatic when the Word of Christ dwells richly among us, then Paul would not need to pray earnestly for God to give it to us.

The Word and Prayer Together

So we have seen over and over: Prayer is indispensable if we would see the glory of God in the Word of God. But we have also seen that reading and study and ransacking and thinking and speaking the Word is also necessary. God has ordained that the eye-opening work of his Spirit always be combined with the mind-informing work of his Word. His aim is that we see the glory of God and that we reflect the glory of God. And so he opens our eyes when we are looking at the glory of God in the Word.

Read, study, ransack, think, speak, listen - and pray, "Open my eyes that I may behold wonderful things out of your Word."

(For further reflection, see Luke 24:45; Acts 16:14; 2 Kings 6:17; Matthew 16:17; 11:2-6; 11:27.)

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org