你话语中的奇妙

求你开我的眼睛,使我看出你律法中的奇妙。

我们急切地需要上帝的光照

上个星期我们从这节经文中看到了三个要点,1)在神的话语里面有奇妙的事情;2)如果没有上帝超自然的帮助,就没有人能够看到这些奇妙事情的真实面貌;于是,3)因此我们就必须祷告,求上帝在我们读经的时候,赐下超自然的光照。

所以上周我们所强调的就是祷告,以及我们对上帝那超自然光照的迫切需要,好叫我们看到属灵的事物——上帝的荣耀、美和卓越。其实,上帝即便不开启你心灵的眼睛,你也照样可以在神的话语里看到许多事情。你可以看到那些字词以及语法的构造。逻辑的连接,历史的事实以及作者合理的意图,还可以看到人类的情感。所有这些,都不用上帝以某种特殊的属灵方式开启你的眼睛,就可以做到。

但是,你看不到上帝属灵的荣美,他的儿子还有他们在世上的工作;你也不会有超越一切的对上帝的渴慕。盲人看不见太阳,尽管他也能知道许多关于太阳的事,甚至在天文学考试中的成绩,比那些视力正常、能看见太阳的人还要好。知道蜜甜跟尝过甜蜜不是一回事,同样,耳闻和眼见也不一样。

我们在缺乏从神而来的特殊的、拯救的光照时,会是怎样的光景,让我再为大家读读保罗完整的描述吧。《以弗所书》4:17后半句-18,保罗提到我们的五个很悲惨的处境,在这里需要求助于神圣的介入,才能够让我们看到属灵的现实。他说那些外邦人(换言之,那些没有获得神的救赎恩典的,列国的民众)“存虚妄的心行事。 他们心地昏昧,与神所赐的生命隔绝了,都因自己无知,心里刚硬。”当我们把这段经文倒过来读的时候,可以说,我们每个人里面都有一颗刚硬的心,若不是因着上帝丰盛的恩典,这颗心一定会导致我们的无知,接着又导致我们与神隔绝,接着又导致昏昧,接着又导致在知识层面与生活层面的虚妄。

因此,我们上周讲到的要点就是:单靠我们天然的本性,不靠上帝那神圣、超自然的帮助,就不要指望看到上帝话语中的奇妙事情。所以我们必须祷告祈求——“开我的眼睛。”并且,我们若要长久在神里面,用真实、诚恳、热烈的爱来爱上帝,我们就要每天都迫切寻求这个帮助。因此,祷告,祷告,再祷告吧。让我们仔细读诗篇119,看看诗人有多少次祈求上帝的帮助,好使他认识神,并且认识上帝的道路。

所看见的就是所要成为的

不过今天,我想表达一个不同的观点。但是说出这个观点之前,我要先让你意识到这件事的重要性。其重要性在于,要变成耶稣的模样,往往要借助于看见上帝和他儿子的荣美、价值和卓越,以及这些在他们的言语和行为上的表露。在《哥林多后书》3:18那里,保罗说,“我们众人既然敞著脸得以看见主的荣光,好像从镜子里返照,就变成主的形状,荣上加荣,如同从主的灵变成的。” 你注视什么,就会成为什么。或者说,你所看见的,就是你所要变成的样子。

这就是惟一的基督徒改变行为的方式,好让我们尊敬和荣耀上帝。我们能够改变,是因为已经看到那超越性的美丽、价值和卓越。如果你看到了基督的面容,然后又看着《体育画报》(Sports Illustrated)或者《时尚》杂志(Glamour),而你并没有被基督的超越性,或者他的荣美、价值、优秀以及吸引力所震撼,那么,只能说你的心依然刚硬,你的思想也是盲目和虚空的。这时你要大声呼叫说,“开我的眼睛,使我看出你话语中的奇妙吧!”而且,你的生活方式,也会显明这个道理。你的财宝在哪里——你的渴望、喜好、美人——你的心就在哪里,还有你的晚上,你的周末、以及你的花费等等。我们之被改变,因为在上帝的话语中看到他的荣耀。对你来说,如果上帝并不比这个世界更有光彩,更荣美,更吸引你,那么,你就是还没有真的看到他。《约翰三书》11节说,“行恶的未曾见过神”(并参,约一3:6)。

所以,这一切都很重要,因为所有那些给上帝带来荣誉,有属灵价值的、真实的生命改变,都是因着目睹上帝的荣耀而产生的,而不是通过列出一长串宗教行为清单,然后进行模仿和复制。

上帝借着他的话语启示出基督的荣美

今天我们从这节经文所提出的观点乃是:上帝只把基督的荣美和卓越,彰显给那些查考神话语的人。因此,真正属灵的改变,来自于对圣经的阅读、揣摩和记忆。这不是因为你要学会遵守某些规则。而是因为主耶和华就在这里,启示出基督的荣美和卓越。

说得更准确点儿。假设你听了上周的信息,知道我们必须看到神的荣耀,才能够被改变,而靠着自己,又不能够看见,因着我们死在罪中,眼瞎心硬,所以我们才需要向神祷告,让他帮助我们得以活过来、心里柔软起来、并打开我们的眼睛。而且,假设你由此得出结论:好吧,我必须全然投入到祷告当中,不用再去研究、阅读或是背诵圣经啦,反正靠着人的眼光和思考,绝对看不见那些应该被看见的事物。若是这样,你从我的信息和这节经文里得出的结论可真是太离谱了。

要点在于:上帝打开了瞎子的眼睛,使他在注视神的话语时,能够由此看到神的荣耀。假设你想看到大峡谷的荣耀,但你却是瞎眼的;再假设上帝告诉你,呼求我,到我面前来祷告,我就打开你的眼睛,可以看见大峡谷的荣耀美景,你会不会跑到远离大峡谷的佛罗里达去祷告呢?或是,你会使出上帝所赐全部的行动和感知力,要来到大峡谷,好让你的眼睛得见上帝的应许呢?我的意思是:你要是坚持住在佛罗里达的艾弗葛莱兹(Everglades国家公园),他不会把亚利桑那州大峡谷的荣耀显现给你看的,无论你的祷告多么虔诚多么频繁。

换个方式来说。上帝已经命定了,他借着圣灵而作的打开眼睛的工作,总是跟借助于他的话语所作的开启头脑的工作相结合。他的目标就是要我们看见他儿子的荣耀(从而被改变)。因此,当我们注视圣子,而不是盯着肥皂剧或广告片,这时候上帝就打开了我们的眼睛。圣灵以及神的话语,总是携手工作的,这就是上帝的方式,为要真实地在属灵的层面将他自己启示出来。圣灵的工作,就是要把我们的头脑在神的话语当中所看到的荣耀、美丽和价值,展现出来。

我们不要错误地认为,我们从神的灵所需要的,乃是一些新的信息。其实,圣经里有关于神的,超出我们理解力和享受能力成千上万倍的信息量。我们要的,乃是用我们心中的眼睛来观看!任何所谓的从圣灵而来的额外的信息,若是超出了我们从圣经当中能够看到的基督,都不会让我们变得更加属灵,或更加讨神的喜悦,一丁点儿也不会。

假设说圣灵启示你,说你的一位不能生育的朋友不久会怀孕。你把信息告诉你的朋友,然后事情真的成就了,面对预言成就的奇迹,你们都超级兴奋,可是在属灵方面,你有什么得着呢?什么也没有,除非你回到神的话语,打开心里的眼睛,看见圣经中所描绘的基督的荣耀和美丽,就是拿撒勒人耶稣在十字架上受死,然后复活,为要拯救众罪人,并且荣耀那位如此祝福你的上帝。看到神迹奇事,我们就会产生宗教兴奋,不见得一定有什么必然的属灵或超自然层面的意义。圣灵的恩赐当然很宝贵,但相比之下更加重要的,乃是圣灵那开启眼睛的光照,好叫我们看到神话语当中的基督的荣耀。

我们不需要新信息,要的是新的眼睛,好看见那些已经被启示在上帝话语里的事物。主啊,打开我的眼睛吧,使我可以看见你话语当中的奇妙!

不要一边祷告,一边飘荡

让我从这里引出一些隐含的意义吧。

首先,当你祷告好叫眼睛被打开的时候,不应该让你的头脑挂在空挡上(如同车子,没有往前或者往后的动力)。不要以为,认识到祷告的责无旁贷与不可或缺,就不用去专心思考神的话语。当你祷告希望看见基督的荣耀时,心思可不能随风飘荡或者漫无目的地滑行。也不要只是等候,什么事情也不去做。这是个很大的错误,乃是从东方的灵修传统而来的,并不是出自圣经。基督教信仰的独特之处,就是建基于历史,而且是关于特定的具体事件的。耶稣曾经在某时某地真实地活在世上。上帝的设计和安排,就是要打开你的眼睛,好叫你看到这个独特的人,他属灵的美丽和价值,正如圣经启示出来的那样。假如我们祷告说想要看见,而头脑却随风飘荡,从神的话语挪移了视线,我们就看不见什么东西。所以呢,不要一边祷告,一边让你的思绪飘荡。

接下来怎么办呢?

1. 祷告并且阅读

阅读神的话语!这是怎样的特权,怎样的责任,其中又蕴藏着怎样的潜能,引导我们看见神!看《以弗所书》3:3-4。保罗写道,“用启示使我知道福音的奥秘,正如我以前略略写过的。你们念了,就能晓得我深知基督的奥秘。 ”就是在你念的时候!上帝的旨意就是要让生命中最大的奥秘,借着阅读被启示出来。

再比较第一章18节,在那里保罗说,“并且照明你们心中的眼睛,使你们知道他的恩召有何等指望。”可见,《以弗所书》3:4提到的奥秘,是借着阅读得知的。而1:18已经指出,为了让我们知道那必须知道的,上帝要回应祷告,先打开我们的眼睛。是的,我们必须祷告,是的,若不借着上帝的帮助,我们就是瞎眼的;但是本周信息的要点却是:我们也必须阅读神的话。

“你们念了,就能晓得我深知基督的奥秘。”祷告并不能取代读经。只是可以把读经转变成看见(译注,就是指看见基督,看见神的荣耀等等)。但是假如不去读,我们就看不见什么。圣灵被差派到世上,乃是要来荣耀耶稣的,而耶稣的荣耀,已经在话语中描绘出来。读吧。并为着你能够而欢喜快乐吧!

2. 祷告并且研究

《提摩太后书》2:15:“你当竭力在神面前得蒙喜悦,作无愧的工人,按着正意分解真理的道。 ”上帝把一本关于他自己的书赐给我们,不是让我们漫不经心地,按照某种陈旧的自以为是的方式来读。保罗说,“当竭力……按着正意分解真理的道。 ”这意思是,你要想从神的话语获得最大的收益,就必须努力去读。

就像钟摆像两极摆动。有些人说,要祷告再祷告,而不要依靠那些不属灵的、来自于人的研究工作。另一些人却说,要研究再研究,因为上帝不会在祷告当中来告诉你某个圣经字词的意思。然而,圣经的立场是平衡的,它并没有主张这种二分法。不错,我们必须研究,好按着正意分解神的话语,而同时,我们也必须祷告,否则就不能够在话语里看见那最要紧的,就是神荣耀的光显在基督的面上(林后4:4, 6)。

本杰明·沃菲尔德(Benjamin Warfield),一位伟大的圣经研究者,在1911年如此写道,“有时候我们会听到这样的说法,说什么跪着祷告十分钟,比你花十个小时研读书本,能得到更真实、更深刻和更有效的、关于上帝的知识‘什么!’人们如此回应不奇怪,‘超过十个小时读书之工?你在膝盖上获得了什么?’”(参见“神学生的宗教生活”,普林斯顿神学,[贝克书房,1983年],263页。"The Religious Life of Theological Students," in Mark Noll, ed., The Princeton Theology, [Grand Rapids: Baker Book House, 1983], p. 263)。这话实在是抓住了圣经的精髓。是的,我们必须祷告。如果上帝不打开我们的眼睛,我们不会看到神的话语里面那些奇妙的事物。但是,祷告并不能取代研究,因为保罗说得好,“你当竭力——研究——按着正意分解真理的道。”

3. 祷告并遍寻

我们对于圣经的进路应该像淘金热当中的守财奴,或者像在屋子某处丢失了订婚戒指的未婚妻 。她翻箱倒柜的在整个屋子里到处寻找。我们在圣经里寻找上帝,就该是这个样子的。

《箴言》2:1-6如此说,

“我儿,你若领受我的言语,存记我的命令,侧耳听智慧,专心求聪明,呼求明哲,扬声求聪明,寻找他,如寻找银子,搜求他,如搜求隐藏的珍宝,你就明白敬畏耶和华,得以认识神。因为,耶和华赐人智慧;知识和聪明都由他口而出。”

领受,存记,侧耳听,专心求,呼求,扬声求,如同找银子那样寻找,如同找隐藏的珍宝那样搜求。这就是遍寻(或译,彻底搜索)圣经的方法,直到把一切有价值的事物都寻获。如果那里面真的有隐藏的珍宝,你就要采取相应的行动。如果那里面真的有银子,你就要拿出相称的努力。无论如何,你都必须祷告(正如第3节所说的),但是,不要以祷告代替了遍寻。上帝的命定就是,那些全心寻求的,就必然要寻见(耶29:13)。

4. 祷告并且思考

思考《提摩太后书》2:7这节经文,“我所说的话你要思想,因为凡事主必给你聪明。”参考新美国标准版(NASB)圣经,原文直译是,“好好思考(希腊文noei)我所说的话。”那么,这里的意思,是不是说,要明白保罗的教导,乃是一个简单的属乎人的、天然的思考过程呢?那也不是的。这节经文的末尾就提到,“主必给你聪明。”可见,不是你靠着自己就能够看到什么。属灵的理解力乃是上帝所赐的礼物。

然而,上帝所命定的方式,就是要把这个超自然的亮光,借助于思考而赐下。“我所说的话你要思想,因为凡事主必给你聪明。”因此,无论如何都要祷告,求上帝赐给你所需要的亮光。但是,不要用祷告来代替思考。边思考边祷告。边祷告边思考。这就是上帝给你的方法。一个历史性的基督,一本保存下来的而且是关乎启示的书籍。所有这些都在说:阅读吧,研究吧,遍寻吧,思考吧。不过,这一切若离开祷告,就一事无成。两方面都是需要的,两手都要抓,而不是择其一而行之。它们乃是“并且”的关系,而不是“或者”的关系。

5. 祷告并且传讲

上帝的心意,乃是要让这书写下来的话语,在讲道当中被传讲,并且成为他的百姓彼此交流的话语,彼此劝勉,督责,警戒,鼓励以及辅导,等等。《歌罗西书》3:16写道,“当用各样的智慧,把基督的道理丰丰富富的存在心里(或作,存在你们之间),用诗章、颂词、灵歌,彼此教导,互相劝戒……”

我讲道,这是上帝的旨意,要他的话语被不断以鲜活的方式传扬。而你们也要彼此用神的话语来交通。因此在教会里要设立小组——好让上帝给我们的话语成为上帝借着我们所传讲的话语。我鼓励你们用他的话语来彼此交通。

这是不是说,那时候我们就不用祷告了呢——既然我们彼此已经在讲诉神的话语,而且是带着确信,或是借着满有说服力的辩论,或者通过其它的创造性的词藻和措辞,是不是这样我们就能够以某种方式,打开大家心中的眼睛,得以看到神话语当中的奇妙了呢?不对,保罗没有这么教导。在同一本书(西1:9-10)里,他祷告——真的是祷告了!——“因此,我们自从听见的日子,也就为你们不住的祷告祈求,愿你们在一切属灵的智慧悟性上,满心知道神的旨意; 好叫你们……渐渐的多知道神。”

认识神、有属灵的智慧悟性,若能自动达成——只要让基督的话语丰丰富富地藏在我们心里就行了,那么,保罗就不需要如此迫切地为我们祷告,求神把它赐给我们啦。

话语和祷告乃是并行的

所以,我们已经反复看到:若想在神的话语当中看到上帝的荣耀,祷告乃是必不可少的。但是,我们也看到,阅读、研究、遍寻、思考和传讲神的话语,也同样是必要的。上帝已经命定了,圣灵那开启眼睛的工作,总是要与那启发头脑的话语相结合。他的目的,就是要我们看见神的荣耀,并且返照神的荣耀。这样,当我们在神的话语里寻求他的荣耀时,上帝就会打开我们的眼睛。

阅读,研究,遍寻,思考,传讲,聆听——还有祷告,“求你开我的眼睛,使我看出你话语中的奇妙。”

(进一步揣摩,请参考以下经文,路24:45;徒16:14; 王下 6:17;太16:17; 11:2-6; 11:27。)

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For Internet posting, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org

Wonderful Things from Your Word

Open my eyes, that I may behold Wonderful things from Your law.

Our Desperate Need for God's Illumination

The three points we saw in this verse last week were: 1) there are wonderful things in the Word of God; 2) no one can see these wonderful things for what they really are without God's supernatural help; and 3) therefore we must pray to God for supernatural illumination when we read the Bible.

So the stress last week was on prayer and our desperate need for God's supernatural illumination to see spiritual things - to see God's glory and beauty and excellence. You can see many things when you come to the Word without God's opening the eyes of your heart. You can see words and grammatical constructions. You can see logical connections. You can see historical facts. You can see an author's rational intention. You can see some human emotions. None of that requires that God open your eyes in a special spiritual way.

But what you cannot see is the spiritual beauty of God and his Son and their work in the world. You cannot see that God is infinitely desirable above all things. A blind person cannot see the sun, though he can know many facts about the sun and pass a test in astronomy with a score higher than a person who can see the sun. Knowing about and knowing by sight are not the same. Knowing that honey is sweet and tasting honey are not the same.

Let me read again Paul's fullest description of our condition apart from God's special, saving illumination. In Ephesians 4:17b-18 Paul mentions five terrible traits of the human condition that necessitate divine intervention if we are to see spiritual reality. He says that the gentiles (in other words, the ordinary world of men among the nations, apart from grace) live "in the futility of their mind, being darkened in their understanding, excluded from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, because of the hardness of their heart." Reading backwards we can say that there is in all of us, apart from the mighty grace of God, a hardness of heart that leads to ignorance that leads to alienation from God that leads to darkness that leads to futility of knowledge and life.

So last week's point was: if there is any hope of our seeing wonderful things in the Word of God, we will have to have a divine, supernatural capacity given to us by God that we do not have by nature. And therefore we must pray for it - "Open my eyes." And if we would stay alive in God and be real and authentic and intense in our love for him, we must be desperate to have this enabling every day. So pray, pray, pray. Read Psalm 119 and see how many times he prays for divine help in knowing God and his ways.

Beholding is Becoming

But today I have a different point to make. But before I say what that is, let me make sure you realize why this is important. It's important because being changed into the likeness of Jesus happens by seeing the beauty and worth and excellence of God and his Son and their words and ways. In 2 Corinthians 3:18 Paul says, "But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as from the Lord, the Spirit." Beholding is becoming.

This is the only Christian way to change behavior so that it honors God. We change because we have seen a superior beauty and worth and excellence. If you look into the face of Christ and then look into Sports Illustrated or Glamour and are not moved by the superior beauty and worth and excellence and desirability of Christ, then you are still hard and blind and futile in your thinking. You need to cry out, "Open my eyes to see wonderful things out of your Word!" And your life will show it. Where your treasure is - your desire, your delight, your beauty - there will your heart be also - and your evenings and your Saturdays and your money. We are changed by seeing the glory of God in the Word of God. If God is not more glorious to you and more compelling to you than the luster and glory of the world, you haven't seen him. 3 John 11 says, "The one who does evil has not seen God" (see also 1 John 3:6).

So all this is important because all true life-change that honors God and has a spiritual worth to it comes from seeing the glory of God, not from making religious lists of behaviors and trying to copy them.

God Reveals Christ's Beauty Through His Word

Today's point from the text is this: God shows the beauty and excellence of Christ only to those who look into the Word of God. This is why true spiritual change comes from reading and pondering and memorizing the Bible. It's not because you learn rules to obey. It's because that is the place the Lord reveals the beauty and excellence of Christ.

Let me put a sharper point on this. Suppose you heard last week's message that we must see the glory of God to be changed, but we can't see it because of our deadness and hardness and blindness, and that we must therefore pray for God to make alive and soften and open our eyes. And suppose that you conclude: Well, then, I must devote myself to prayer and not to study or reading or memorizing the Bible because mere human seeing and reasoning can't see what needs to be seen. That would be a terrible conclusion to draw from what I said and from this text.

The point is: God opens the eyes of the blind to see the glory of God in his Word when they are looking at the Word. Suppose you wanted to see the glory of the Grand Canyon, but were blind. And suppose God said to you, Call on me and come and pray to me and I will open your eyes to see the glory of the Grand Canyon. Would you move from Arizona to Florida to pray? Or would you use every muscle and sense God gave you to get to the Grand Canyon and set your eyes toward what God had promised? My point is: he will not show you the glory of the Grand Canyon if you insist on living by the Everglades, no matter how much you pray.

Let me say it another way. God has ordained that the eye-opening work of his Spirit always be combined with the mind-informing work of his Word. His aim is that we see the glory of His Son (and be changed). So he opens our eyes when we are looking at the Son - not at soaps or sales. The work of the Spirit and the work of the Word always go together in God's way of true spiritual self- revelation. The Spirit's work is to show the glory and beauty and value of what the mind sees in the Word.

We must not make the mistake of thinking that what we need from God's Spirit is some new information. We already have a thousand times more information about God in the Bible than we can fathom or enjoy. What we need is to see with the eyes of our hearts! Any addition of information by the Spirit to what we can see of Christ in the Word would not make us one ounce more spiritual, or pleasing to God.

Suppose the Spirit revealed to you the new information that your barren friend was going to get pregnant. You tell her this, and when it happens, you and she are blown away with excitement at the miracle of prophecy and pregnancy. What have you gained spiritually? Nothing, unless you turn to the Word and see - with the eyes of the heart - the glory and the beauty of the Christ portrayed in the Bible - Jesus of Nazareth, crucified and risen to save sinners and to glorify God who has thus blessed you. Religious excitement in the presence of miracles is a natural thing and has no necessary spiritual or supernatural dimension. The gifts of the Spirit are precious, but infinitely more important is the eye-opening illumination of the Holy Spirit so that we see the glory of Christ in the Word.

It is not new information that we need; it is new eyes to see what has been revealed to us in God's Word. Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things out of your Word!

Don't Pray and Drift

Let me draw out some implications of this.

The first is that when you pray for eyes to see, you must not shift your mind into neutral. Don't assume that the indispensability of prayer means the dispensability of focused thought on the word of God. When you pray to see the glory of Christ, don't drift or coast mentally. Don't just wait, doing nothing. This is a huge mistake, and comes from Eastern spirituality, not the Bible. What is unique about Christianity is that it is historical and particular. Jesus lived in a time and place. God's design is to open your eyes to see the spiritual beauty and value of this particular man just as he is revealed in the Word. If we pray to see it, but mentally drift away from it, then we will not see it. So don't pray and drift.

What Then?

1. Pray and Read

Read the Word! What a privilege! And what an obligation! And what a potential for seeing God! Look at Ephesians 3:3b-4. Paul writes, "By revelation there was made known to me the mystery, as I wrote before in brief. By referring to this, when you read you can understand my insight into the mystery of Christ." When you read! God willed that the greatest mysteries of life be revealed through reading.

Then compare chapter 1:18 where Paul says, "I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened, so that you will know what is the hope of His calling." So Ephesians 3:4 says that the mystery is known by reading. And Ephesians 1:18 says that for us to know what we need to know, God must open our eyes in answer to prayer. Yes, we must pray. Yes, we are blind without God's help. But the point this week is: we must read.

"When you read you can understand my insight into the mystery of Christ." Praying cannot replace reading. Praying may turn reading into seeing. But if we don't read, we will not see. The Holy Spirit is sent to glorify Jesus, and the glory of Jesus is portrayed in the Word. Read. Rejoice that you can read.

2. Pray and Study

2 Timothy 2:15: "Be diligent (or: "study" KJV) to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the Word of truth." God gave us a book about himself not so that we might read in any old careless way we wished. Paul says, "Be diligent to . . . accurately handle the Word of truth." That means work at the Word if you want the most from it.

The pendulum swings back and forth. Some say pray and pray and don't lean on the unspiritual, human work of study. Others say, study and study because God is not going to tell you the meaning of a word in prayer. But the Bible will not have anything to do with this dichotomy. We must study and accurately handle the Word of God, and we must pray or we will not see in the Word the one thing needful, the glory of God in the face of Christ (2 Corinthians 4:4, 6).

Benjamin Warfield, a great studier of the Bible, wrote in 1911, "Sometimes we hear it said that ten minutes on your knees will give you a truer, deeper, more operative knowledge of God than ten hours over your books. 'What!' is the appropriate response, 'than ten hours over your books, on your knees?'" ("The Religious Life of Theological Students," in Mark Noll, ed., The Princeton Theology, [Grand Rapids: Baker Book House, 1983], p. 263). This captures the Biblical spirit. Yes, we must pray. We will not see wonderful things out of God's Word if he doesn't open our eyes. But praying cannot replace studying, because Paul says, "Be diligent - study - to handle the Word accurately."

3. Pray and Ransack

Our approach to the Bible should be like a miser in the gold rush, or a fiancée who has lost her engagement ring somewhere in the house. She ransacks the house. That is the way we seek for God in the Bible.

Proverbs 2:1-6 says,

My son, if you will receive my words And treasure my commandments within you, 2 Make your ear attentive to wisdom, Incline your heart to understanding; 3 For if you cry for discernment, Lift your voice for understanding; 4 If you seek her as silver And search for her as for hidden treasures; 5 Then you will discern the fear of the LORD And discover the knowledge of God. 6 For the LORD gives wisdom; From His mouth come knowledge and understanding.

Receive, treasure, be attentive, incline your heart, cry out, lift your voice, seek as for silver, search as for hidden treasures. This is ransacking the Bible for all that it is worth. If there are hidden treasures, act like it. If there is silver, act like it. By all means pray (as verse 3 says) but don't substitute prayer for ransacking. God ordains to give to those who seek with all their heart (Jeremiah 29:13).

4. Pray and Think

Consider 2 Timothy 2:7. The NASB has "Consider what I say, for the Lord will give you understanding in everything." Literally it is, "Think about (noei) what I say." Does this mean that understanding Paul's teaching is simply a human, natural enterprise of thinking? No. The end of the verse says, "The Lord will give you understanding." It is not you who can see it on your own. Spiritual apprehension is a gift of God.

But God has ordained to give the gift of supernatural light through thinking. "Think over what I say, for the Lord will give you understanding in everything." So by all means pray and ask God to give you the light you need. But don't replace thinking with praying. Think and pray. Pray and think. This is the way God has set it up. A historical Christ. A book of preservation and revelation. All of that says: read and study and ransack and think. But all is in vain without prayer. Both-and, not either-or.

5. Pray and Speak

God means for the written Word to become the spoken word in preaching and in the mutual exhortation and rebuke and warning and encouragement and counsel of his people. Colossians 3:16 says, "Let the Word of Christ richly dwell within [or among] you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another . . ." The Word of Christ to us becomes our word to each other.

I preach. This is God's will for his Word to be heralded afresh over and over. And you speak to each other the Word of God. This is one of the fundamental reasons for small groups in the church - to make the Word of God to us into the Word of God through us. Speak it to each other.

Does this mean that we can do away with prayer in those moments - that we can somehow open the eyes of the heart to see wonderful things out of God's Word because we are speaking it with conviction or persuasive argument or creative turns of phrase? That's not what Paul teaches. In that same book (Colossians 1:9-10) he prays - prays! - "We have not ceased to pray for you and to ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding . . . increasing in the knowledge of God."

If knowing God and having spiritual wisdom and understanding were automatic when the Word of Christ dwells richly among us, then Paul would not need to pray earnestly for God to give it to us.

The Word and Prayer Together

So we have seen over and over: Prayer is indispensable if we would see the glory of God in the Word of God. But we have also seen that reading and study and ransacking and thinking and speaking the Word is also necessary. God has ordained that the eye-opening work of his Spirit always be combined with the mind-informing work of his Word. His aim is that we see the glory of God and that we reflect the glory of God. And so he opens our eyes when we are looking at the glory of God in the Word.

Read, study, ransack, think, speak, listen - and pray, "Open my eyes that I may behold wonderful things out of your Word."

(For further reflection, see Luke 24:45; Acts 16:14; 2 Kings 6:17; Matthew 16:17; 11:2-6; 11:27.)

©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Used by Permission.

Permissions: You are permitted and encouraged to reproduce and distribute this material in physical form, in its entirety or in unaltered excerpts, as long as you do not charge a fee. For posting online, please use only unaltered excerpts (not the content in its entirety) and provide a hyperlink to this page. For videos, please embed from the original source. Any exceptions to the above must be approved by Desiring God.

Please include the following statement on any distributed copy: By John Piper. ©2014 Desiring God Foundation. Website: desiringGod.org